Has the Pakistani cricket golden era finally arrived?

ahmedwaqas92

With Sarfaraz's SEVENTH consecutive T20 series win I personally feel that the much talked about 'Golden Era' has finally arrived for Pakistan cricket. Two World Class Fast Bowlers, A 19 Y/O leg spinning prodigy, 2 World Class pace bowling alrounders, a batting depth that rivals any other team out there and players who understand the modern game.

The Golden Era is here my friends!

I'm not trying to bust your bubble when I say this...but how many times have we assumed this before?

Nothing can be said until they perform consistently. We lost the ODI series in NZL 4-0. We still have a long way to go, yes there are signs there but it's a work in progress. We need to hope that the players keep working hard and don't think now that they are stars they can do anything.

Lol at golden era after winning couple of T20I games. :)) that too ones against Windies z grade team. :smh

I'm not trying to bust your bubble when I say this...but how many times have we assumed this before?

Nothing can be said until they perform consistently. We lost the ODI series in NZL 4-0. We still have a long way to go, yes there are signs there but it's a work in progress. We need to hope that the players keep working hard and don't think now that they are stars they can do anything.

This is Sarfraz's Seventh consecutive win in a T20 series and we've played away in NZ too and won there as well. The ODI were lost because our batting (which included a very one dimensional lineup) were the real culprits. With this current XI I personally think that problem is over.

Mickey and Inzi have done really well to assemble a good group of young talented cricketers.

This is definitely very exciting for us fans but I wouldn't call it a golden era just yet lol. For that to happen we need all these young guns to develop into world class players who can challenge the very best in alien conditions.

They have won overseas T20 series, the current batch after a bit of experience, will no doubt, perform to the same level in ODIs and Tests as well.

The signs are good but the majority does not give T20s that much importance. The current team is far better than what we had before Sarfraz era but they will only gain respect if they win a couple of overseas series or even give a good fight.

With Sarfaraz's SEVENTH consecutive T20 series win I personally feel that the much talked about 'Golden Era' has finally arrived for Pakistan cricket. Two World Class Fast Bowlers, A 19 Y/O leg spinning prodigy, 2 World Class pace bowling alrounders, a batting depth that rivals any other team out there and players who understand the modern game.

Certaibly our best team since 1999

Solid T20 unit - has displaced WI from the top perch. Although I feel the one with Gul, Ajmal and Afridi was better.

The skeleton is there. I'd say there is more positive vibe now than even after CT. The next few months are going to be very crucial. I think the team is going to play ENg, Saffers,Aussies, India this year. If they do well, they will be battle heardened by WC 2019. If not, there will be more questions than answers.

I for once thinks this is start of something special, not golden era yet. this team is gelled together, is really remarkable, in Sarfraz they have mature aggressive leader, Babar has realize his weakness and strength, Shabaz khan is just amazing, he outperform himself in every game, Amir is starting to take wickets, Fakhar is the aggressor they were searching for at top of the order, and I know it’s too early but Hussein Talat can be the answer to our middle order problems.
I personally think they need to give Sarfraz another 3 years to captain Pakistan and let him groom a new captain.
To truly get the best out of this team, we Pakistanis should all stand behind the youngsters coming through and support this team in good or bad. It will take courage to keep learning and growing, not just for players but fir fans too.
There’s no more politics and no more favouritism ( besides one or two).
PAKISTAN ZINDABAD
SARAY JAHA SAY ACHA 🇵🇰 HUMARA

The best bit is that in all this hoopla Harris 'The Saviour Messiah' Sohail has no place in the team now! If Haris is warming the due competition then clearly we're going in the right direction.

Not the golden era but reminds me of India when Ganguly took over and introduced players like Zak,Nehra,Yuvi,Bhajji etc.

Sarfaraz is doing the same by inducing players like Fakhar,Babar,Talat,Haris and moving himself up the order.

I reckon this is one of the best LOI batting lineups in our history.

Bro, Bangladeshi fans say the same when they win a match at home :))

Not yet. Our test team is in shambles and Amir's brilliance in the upcoming series won't change that.

Most teams don’t take t20i seriously outside of the World Cup but despite that I think the golden era for Pakistan started with the Champions trophy.

The T20I squad is rounding out nicely.

But success in the shorter format has little to do with how the team does in ODI/Test cricket. Pakistan has a lot of work to do.

This will become clear as soon as Pakistan goes to England in May.

Can't call it a golden era after beating West Indies C. But it has the potential to be a good team. The SA series and the WC next year will give us a better indication.

Jumping the gun a bit. Just consider the last tours of Australia and NZ. A couple of T20 wins against WI A is not really a "golden era". But Pakistan does seem to be heading in the right direction. The competition for places is more intense than I have seen for a long time.

Nah, let's see how we do in non-Mickey Mouse cricket first

Yes with the emergence of youngesters like Fakhar, Talat, Asif Ali, Fahim, Shadab etc we can score 200 in any day with ease and have capability to Chase down 200 in any given day.

Need to find one more batsman like Asif Ali who can hit cleanly.

Yes Pakistan has a good stable of young and talented players on whose shoulders a strong team can be built upon. But the challenge will be how the players develop themselves through hardwork and dedication. Examples like Umar Akmal, Ahmed Sehzad etc following on wayside shouldn't happen.

While a win is a win irrespective of conditions or opponent I think the 'Golden era theory' will have greater context following the upcoming away tours.

I also sincerely hope this thread doesn't come back to bite on e in the backside!

However the biggest noticeable difference is the massive improvement in fitness and fielding standards.

Potentially a world class team at T20 level. However, so much to do in terms of batting for ODIs.

erm....Hate to break it to you but the golden era was around for most of the 80s and 90s.

This could be Part II but there is a long way to go and the 2019 WC will show us how far the limited overs side has progressed and test series against Eng and NZ will show us if the team has recovered post MisYou.

Haris will be an integral part of our ODI and test team. I agree about the golden era part.

Apart from 5-0 thrashing in New Zealand, 2-0 whitewash against mighty Sri Lankan in so called fortress, definitely golden era of Pakistani cricket is upon us.

the 90s were quite golden, the 2000s should have glimmered more...from 1999-2011:

Batters: Inzamam, Yousuf, Younis, Misbah, Anwar (still hitting 100s in 2003 - i don't think this 5 played together in any format)

All-rounders: Razzaq, Mahmood, Afridi, Malik (appreciate nearly all are bowling all-rounders)

Bowlers: Akhtar, Asif, Amir, Gul, Kaneria, Ajmal

Cases above where players, for one reason or another (as is the case with Pak cricket) did not fulfil their full potential in terms of ability/longevity - perhaps only Younis did?

This is without mentioning players like Sami - I still can't believe he's slamming it down at 140ks plus, how we never got more out of him...

If the subject is T20s, one can debate if OPs idea has legs or not.

Not so much for other formats.

In ODIs and Tests, Pakistan is 6th and 7th.

Test team is completely unsettled post Younis/Misbah. With them in, at least you were assured of solid performances at home and good results against weaker teams overseas (not including Aus/SA/NZ.) Now we don't know where the team will go.

ODI team may get some players from T20 team and it may improve. However, we don't have any data points so far.

He has stated facts only...if you think winning few T20s here n there Golden era of Pakistan begin then good luck to you

Did you read the thread? It doesnt sate we are the best cricketing team in the world, it says it might be start of a golden era.

Ever wondered why he said that? He said that because we have got some talented youngsters not only in the team but on bench as well, they have got the potential which was shown at the CT 17, Hassan Ali was the highest wicket taker and Fakhar played gem of an innings under pressure. Shadab, Babar, Talat Faheem, Shaheen, Shinwari etc are some players with a lot of potential. Youngsters are coming through at some speed, have already got some new faces post CT 17. Not many teams have the luxury atm of so many emerging youngsters in bowling and batting. This is possibly the best fielding side Pakistan has had in last few decades.

Yes we lack consistency at the moment but that is something which is expected with a young team. We have got good balance, talented youngsters who are performing as well just need to translate it all into consistency and victories. It shouldnt surprise anyone if one says it might be the start of a golden as this team has got everything to do so. :akhtar

What Pak need now is to play 5 odi series in Aus, saf, newzealand, and england with these youngsters to further improve them and get ready for world cup 2019

Once Shaheen settles into international cricket we will have an ATG attack

Amir
Hasan
Shaheen
Faheem
Shadab

Wow wow wow :bow:

Golden era in the Mickey Mouse format led by a Mickey Mouse captain....

Humiliation in other formats are being ignored!

Once Shaheen settles into international cricket we will have an ATG attack

Amir
Hasan
Shaheen
Faheem
Shadab

Wow wow wow :bow:

It's a pretty slick attack must say - Faheem is improving, couple of cobras in Hasan and Amir, Shaheen has all the ingredients, and Shadab is just brilliant.

Hopefully they can make it stick - Shadab I reckon can be our premier test bowler given time, in fact these players could comprise our 7-11 in a more modern test XI, which acknowledges a genuine 5th bowling option.

We are definitely the champs in this format.

mickeygolden.jpg

It's too early to say, They have shown consistency only in T20 format. Let them be same on ODI & Test.

Well this is at the very least the bronze era.

I don't know if the golden era has arrived since it's too early to say IMO, but we are definitely on the upswing with our modern LOI lineup.

Yaar I genuinely love this team of ours. It's such an upgrade from what we've been witnessing.

Not long ago, these were our last 5 in the ODI team

Afridi
Ajmal
Rahat
Irfan
Junaid

And even tho Ajmal was a beastly bowler out of this lot and Afridi had a second homecoming of sorts, the others were average at best and to add to that all of them had batting skills that would have been bested by their cardboard cutouts placed in front of the wicket. Add to that the terrible fielding ability of these four and our team was like trying to hide all four at places where the ball was least expected to go. The amazing bit was that the top six had a couple of batsmen that in certain conditions and against good/international class bowlers (read. Hafeez vs. Steyn: Shehzad vs. Anyone faster than 120 kph bowling with a new ball: Maqsood not playing on pitches where the ball would bounce higher than the shins) were exact replicas of the bottom 5 in terms of batting skills.

And then came the master upgrade of Bhatti and Anwar Ali and woah the times were tough being a Pakistani cricket fan.

Yes we won in India and South Africa but those series were won by bowlers, one of them would go on to never bowl like that ever again and the other was proved a chucker and ultimately had to leave cricket as a very ordinary bowler.

None of our youngsters have proven their mettle completely and are considered world class by the world but our team did well in the last ICC tournament that it played and the bedrock of the performance were mostly the younger guys. It is a significantly small sample size but the signs are there that pressure doesn't faze these guys as it did for the older generation (class of 2000 etc.).

As of now, no matter how we analyze Talat, Shadab, Fahim, Hassan, Amir it's obvious that they are an upgrade to a lot of players that regularly donned the green color in recent times (Bhatti, Bilal Asif, Anwar Ali, Tanvir etc). On a personal level, these players may flicker for a brief moment and disappear, or they may stay - only time will tell - but what's visible is that we have a team that has flair, ability, and potential (ceiling and potential are the new buzzwords replacing talent so I've upgraded my post too). Whatever the world is doing, we shouldn't care, and with some good bench strength and traditional mighty powers like South Africa and Australia struggling a wee bit, we might do well in upcoming ICC tournaments as well.

The test team will take time to heal from the massive loss of Younus, traditionally we aren't a batting oriented team so a loss of a batsman hurts us more than a bowler. Maybe tomorrow Babar wakes up and realizes his major shortcoming in test cricket and starts his path to being a 40 plus average test bat, Asad finally realizes that it's now or never and that one century at the end of the series in a losing cause will not make him immortal in the cricketing annals, Harris stops getting unfit getting out of bed, and one of Talat or Fahim becomes test class to give us an extra bowling option for overseas test so we can compete but that's basically wishful thinking at best.

The LOI team however is winning fans back, and no matter what naysayers say about our cricket being dead and Pakistan cricket being a story of bygone era with Youtube video montages as our only escape from harsh realities of present-day-cricket, we are competing and beginning to punch exactly as we should. This may or may not be the start of our second golden era, but it's going to make us fans watch cricket with expectation and not hope and wing of prayers.

For a die hard fan who has seen our cricket go to the dogs and then finally have a late surge of revival, that's all that matters.

Take it easy bro.. we're no where close at the moment. Let this team win some games/series against big teams and overseas and then we'll talk.

change the title to say golden era in T20s only and then this thread will make sense

I thought pakistani will come back to earth after that whitewash in Newzealand,but no your arrival on earth will commence in asia cup and you will finally arrive on earth when we will beat the life out of your team (just like we always do) in world cup 2019.
Till then enjoy your whitewash in test matches in eng.

Nobody is saying ct 17 was a fluke, but it was unexpected just like wc 1983,we beat wi in final but that didn't t made us a better team than windies or aus etc etc.

I know the stat...i was referring that ODI and test are the ultimate test,not some Mickey Mouse t20 cricket...

still better in odi.Ranking has improved.has won one of the premier icc tournament and many oldies are going out.Future certainly looks better.

7 series win out of which 4 are against the mighty Srilankans and the WI .

Bhai these "mighty" WIs beat you last time they played you. Just because Pakistan is making short work of them doesn't mean everybody will.

Shaheen debuts today. We are well and truly in the golden era of Pakistani cricket. Anything less than the test mace, World Cup, breaking the Streak and the World T20 by 2020 would be shameful for this team.

Bhai these "mighty" WIs beat you last time they played you. Just because Pakistan is making short work of them doesn't mean everybody will.

Let them moan over our consecutive victoriesn.Next he will say t20i srenot important.

Way too premature. T20's is cool and stuff, but great teams are built on their Test and then ODI performances. The sporting victory over this Windies team doesn't count; however, the fact the played in Pakistan is a victory for the sport.

We're however on the right track to build something special I think. More importantly, International cricket desperately needs a strong Pakistan. What with Sri Lanka quasi-collapsing, Bangladesh forever in a growth space, SA due to have some massive retirements coming up, Australia losing their two best batsman for a while and well the Windies (let me not go there), it really has hurt the kind of competitiveness in international cricket.

There's still no outstanding team in world cricket and I kind of put that down to a lot of teams being average to middling. When you had that Aussie side of the noughties, you had to be at your best to even compete. The lower heights that teams need to hit nowadays to be considered special is something that's constantly visible.

Dont know about Golden Era but yea I am happy we have solid players now who will be playing ODIs and T20s in a way they should be played. The Misbah era was as a cricket fan the most boring era as a Pakistan cricket fan. This side packs a punch. There are exciting players. I would pay money to watch players like Fakhar, Babar, Talat, Asif Ali, Shadab, Hassan Ali etc. It doesn't matter whether we win or lose or have a golden era. At the very least I will enjoy watching them. Very unlike the previous eras where we would timidly unfold which really as a Pakistani cricket fan growing up in the 90s I was never accustomed to. Lastly, a great thing to see has been we are still willing to change players and improve even after the Champions Trophy win. It is important we keep on improving our combination and to not settle or get too comfortable.

It arrived when Sarfraz became the captain!

A team which was struggling to directly qualify for World Cup, won the Champios Trophy an year later! A team whose 'superstar' ex captain said there is no talent in Pakistan after world T20 humiliation, hasn't lost a series after that. Mainly because of 1 man, Sarfraz Ahmed! Cant think of any other captain who would have made such a remarkable recovery.

The Golden era would have arrived much earlier if they had appointed Sarfraz captain after 2013 CT but this is expecting too much from Pakistanis who prefer looks, English accent, nice press conferences and degrees in a National cricket captain!

It arrived when Sarfraz became the captain!

A team which was struggling to directly qualify for World Cup, won the Champios Trophy an year later! A team whose 'superstar' ex captain said there is no talent in Pakistan after world T20 humiliation, hasn't lost a series after that. Mainly because of 1 man, Sarfraz Ahmed! Cant think of any other captain who would have made such a remarkable recovery.

The Golden era would have arrived much earlier if they had appointed Sarfraz captain after 2013 CT but this is expecting too much from Pakistanis who prefer looks, English accent, nice press conferences and degrees in a National cricket captain!

But but CT 2017 was fluke because the same team lost 5-0 in NZ!

Golden era in ODIs and T20s.

Miserable and worrying era in Tests.

Pakistan will become a legendary team, others will tremble with fear just the thought of playing Pakistan cricket team. :cobra

In other words, Pakistan will be getting even less international games than before. :yk