Have you ever smoked?

social smoker from late teens to mid twenties. that still means quite a lot of cigarettes tho. had a chest x-ray that showed mild emphysema. go figure

Started smoking in early 2008 and left in early 2017.I really enjoyed smoking.Sometimes,I used to smoke 20 cigs a day.But had to quit smoking due to health problems.
I feel more fresh and active without smoking.Hope that I will never smoke again.

I smoked in the past. I took it up as my friends circle would do it and it was the cool thing to do. It was also a way to socialize and try to calm nerves.

I stopped as I was coughed out blood once. Also in the UK its very expensive habit. Aur Bibi toh passand nahi karti

social smoker from late teens to mid twenties. that still means quite a lot of cigarettes tho. had a chest x-ray that showed mild emphysema. go figure

Really? I am a social smoker too, don't smoke daily but do go overboard now and then, how much did you smoke till mid twenties

not an every day smoker, at least never for long, but a binge smoker when socializing, i would say i probably averaged more than 5 but less than ten a 10 day overall

Yes,I smoked a cigarette for the first and the last time 2 years ago.
I have smoked sheesha a couple of times with friends.

More than a year on,I smoke a couple of cigarettes after every few days and sheesha like once a week.

I really hope this is just a summer thing.

Been a very long time since I was a smoker now. Really glad I gave up.

Health reasons are one thing, but even financially it would be a difficult habit to maintain nowadays. From what I hear, a 20 deck can now set you back about 12 pounds sterling. Insanity.

I remember the good times when I used to get 20 cheap brand superkings for less than 4 quid. Also I was more wilfully / unwilfully ignorant then, so I did not take the cancer risk seriously enough.

Smoked 10 a day, for 8 years.

Started when I was a foolish 15 year-old trying to impress girls: subsequently I achieved a net amount of zero girls, and a net amount of one serious addiction.

I still remember running for a bus when I was a trim youth and feeling like my lungs were about to explode. A supremely nauseating and utterly frightening experience.

Gave up cold turkey several years ago - one of the best decisions that I have made.

Most of the people who successfully quite smoking, do that cold turkey. Congratulation, you must have strong will power and I'm sure that must have helped you in other matter is life too.

I've smoked only 3 times with friends, first time at 16 and 17, I only took a couple puffs and gave it to my friend. Third time was last year, smoked half a cig gave it to my roommate lol. Next morning I had chest pains, it felt weird and from then on I haven't smoked again.

Have never smoked in my life and hopefully never will. Not only is it bad for your health but is terrible for those around you as well. Don't understand how people who smoke in public in front of young children live with themselves..

yeah... Roughly 2 or 3.... per year, when I get ultra bored... though when I taste first time I was just 7 year old..

Been smoking since I was 13, and I still continue to be a heavy chain smoker (I am 26 right now). Mostly what I smoke are unfiltered ciggeretes (direct tobacco) rolled; 20+ a day.

A word of advice from a a more elderly member.
If you don't smoke, then never get in to it. Before you know it you'll be caught in the nicotine trap.
If you smoke socially, or just a few every year and you inhale, then stop doing this immediately.
You're probably already in the nicotine trap and just don't know it.

Smoking is like driving a Ferrari at full speed around a race track knowing that there is a thick brick wall somewhere along the track and you're going to hit it at some point. It could be the millionth cigarette or the very first one you ever smoke that takes you down.

The worst and most visible part of smoking is that ot ages you far too quickly than you normally would. Who wants to look like an oldie in his youth.

I used to think it was disgusting but very rarely I will have a cigarette if my friends etc are having it. It feels really good I have to admit and releases stress. But I will never pay for them, I only smoke cigarettes when people offer them for free. I can't remember when my last cig was tbh.

Been smoking since I was 13, and I still continue to be a heavy chain smoker (I am 26 right now). Mostly what I smoke are unfiltered ciggeretes (direct tobacco) rolled; 20+ a day.

Kum kar larkay.... itni zayda cigarettes achi nahi hai teray liyay... Try to reduce one cig per week.

I dont think he even smokes cigrattes.
We call them beedi in here. Either the guy is trolling or he's royally screwed since that amount of direct tobacco ain't good for you esp at this age.

I used to think it was disgusting but very rarely I will have a cigarette if my friends etc are having it. It feels really good I have to admit and releases stress. But I will never pay for them, I only smoke cigarettes when people offer them for free. I can't remember when my last cig was tbh.

Take my advice and immediately put an end to it. I was in a similar situation around couple of years ago and things only get nasty from here.
Just quit it altogether. You will thank me later.

Cool song on this topic from the movie "no smoking".
'Jab bhi cigarette jalti hai main jaltaa hoon.'

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/9pyBgc3S27w?rel=0&controls=0" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Never understood the fascination with smoking.

It causes too much suffering and pain to enjoy the "buzz" for a few minutes.

To me, its one of the dumbest decisions a human being can make and thus, I have not smoked or drank anything.

Yar I've literally tried it so many times however, its just that nothing every truly worked. I've turned to patches, e-cig, vape, even normal filtered cigarettes, heck I even tried chewing coffee beans (someone told me that that could get me off of it) but this is probably the only vice I have in my life.

I dont think he even smokes cigarettes.
We call them beedi in here. Either the guy is trolling or he's royally screwed since that amount of direct tobacco ain't good for you esp at this age.

Why would I lie or troll about such a topic? You have to severely insecure to make up a story and that too on having cigarettes :facepalm: - I use Harvest rolling paper and a rolling box every night so that I can prepare 20-22 sticks for the next day. For tobacco I use Camel (menthol) or Marlboro (classic).

Here's the big revelation.
That good feeling every smoker says they have, well its actually the feeling of suffication. You are literally reducing the amount of oxygen going to your brain and that is what gives you the feeling of being high and relaxed.

Put it this way. Anyone who lights up a ciggy for the first time, they don't suddenly feel relaxed or less stressed, or high..They usually cough uncontrollably. For some the cough, or choking, continues for a few puffs. For others it takes three to four cigarettes before they stop coughing.. By this time they are addicted to the nicotine and that feeling of high is just oxygen deprevation.

Try to reduce it gradually bro. This many are so high that thought of cold turkey is hard to even contemplate.

When you're back in Pakistan visiting family what's their reaction? It's that many that it's even hard to hide

That good feeling every smoker says they have, well its actually the feeling of suffication. You are literally reducing the amount of oxygen going to your brain and that is what gives you the feeling of being high and relaxed.

Put it this way. Anyone who lights up a ciggy for the first time, they don't suddenly feel relaxed or less stressed, or high..They usually cough uncontrollably. For some the cough, or choking, continues for a few puffs. For others it takes three to four cigarettes before they stop coughing.. By this time they are addicted to the nicotine and that feeling of high is just oxygen deprevation.

Yes I coughed first couple of times.

Sadly I do shisha in Karachi quite regularly since past couple years

Many people say that it's worse than cigarettes even though it doesn't affect me remotely in the the same negative way as even second hand smoke let alone an actual puff

Take my advice and immediately put an end to it. I was in a similar situation around couple of years ago and things only get nasty from here.
Just quit it altogether. You will thank me later.

Don't worry I know I will never get into it. I think last time must have been in either March or April.

Yar I've literally tried it so many times however, its just that nothing every truly worked. I've turned to patches, e-cig, vape, even normal filtered cigarettes, heck I even tried chewing coffee beans (someone told me that that could get me off of it) but this is probably the only vice I have in my life.

Why would I lie or troll about such a topic? You have to severely insecure to make up a story and that too on having cigarettes :facepalm: - I use Harvest rolling paper and a rolling box every night so that I can prepare 20-22 sticks for the next day. For tobacco I use Camel (menthol) or Marlboro (classic).
My apologies.
I hope you quit asap.

Actually you feel good due to the delivery of nicotine in the system, but nowadays cigarettes are filled with other chemicals like ammonia etc which speed up the delivery. Smoking from a pipe is much less harmful than cigarettes, I buy natural Dokha which is much powerful than cigarettes and a couple of puffs every few hours is enough.

I dont think he even smokes cigrattes.

Cigarettes are very expensive here. I also used to roll my own cigarettes when I was a student as you can choose how much tobacco is good for you etc. Also there are filters which are used when rolling the ciggies, it's the same as a normal cigarette albeit cheaper, although I have stopped from a long time as the tobacco makes your hands smell a lot.

I don't smoke, but I don't necessarily hold a taboo against it unlike a lot of people on here. Yes, I have smoked numerous times in my life however, nothing more than the occasional puffing with a few friends once every 4-5 months. Sometimes, and only sometimes, you need to light up a smoke in the glacial winds of the North of Pakistan to enjoy and savour the beauty properly.

I started when I was 14. Basically as it was the "cool" thing to do. Allhamdullilah I stopped 7 years ago. One of the reasons was it was quite expensive. But other reasons were that your clothes smell which isnt pleasant. I have the one or two a year but that due to the company of close friends.

I have never had cigarette in my life. Used to smoke sheesha occasionally long time ago.

Today I was out with friends and had a couple of cigarettes.We went to a sheesha cafe afterwards and after a few puffs I started to feel nauseous and dizzy.I don't think I'm ever having sheesha again.

As I said in posts before, I would do it once very rarely, now I'm doing it on every night out...

Never smoked in my life and never felt like giving it a try either.

I'm a smoker and have smoked for many years now, however I only smoke a 5/6 a day and in Ramadan it's only a couple. I've never tried to quit but really should try. The price of cigarettes in the UK is crazy now, around £10 for a pack(20) for a decent brand.

We pay $26 for a 20 pack in Australia buddy! haha

Same here, did smoke pot when I was younger but when it got to where it was a daily thing I knew I had to ditch it. I never saw the attraction of cigarettes themselves. I mean put some dope in there and at least you get a hit.

This is my experience , precisely. I'll never understand why people liked cigarettes. Might as well smoke pot.

My urge to smoke cigarettes is very low nowadays. I gave up a number of years ago though and to say that there is still an urge at all shows how addictive nicotine is.

A Christmas cigar is tempting this year though. Never smoked a cigar.