How did Pakistan's economy perform during Imran Khan's era?

[MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] can you please post the trends of the stock market. You were here everyday when it was falling where are you now that it is growing faster than it has grown in a decade?

He will be back with his copy paste when it goes down a little...

You have to be an absolute tool to think economic situation will struggle for long under a leader who is not corrupt, tackles corruption at higher level, and doesn't loot nation's money. Such traits eventually earn investors trust in a developing market and brings in more cash from local and international investors. If security situation keeps getting better then an honest leader, growing middle class and secured country is bound to return goods.

Funny how we still have fans of other terrible leech parties who stole the very last cent of Pakistan. Can't wait to see them all thrown behind bar, sooner rather than later.

Budget session started in NA

Dr Hafeez Sheikh is not a MNA so Hammad is the one presenting it.

IIRC Miftah wasn't a MNA but he was allowed to present the budget last year?

Opposition benches are looking empty that means a boycott by opposition. Hammad will be able to present the budget without any issues i guess...

ok opposition finally arrived...

Any updates from the budget?

My God the obsession of these Indians. I do not even know when India's financial year starts, who their finance minister is or when their budget is presented. Here these guys are going to tune in.

Lol I’m the only Indian who asked that question here. This poor soul earns a living by studying the events and movements in an economy. Asked about Pakistan’s budget because I wish to know how the government plans to tackle the challenges in front of it. It’s in a very precarious situation. The entire list of budget announcements are just a click away, but I’m only interested in the key announcements. Hopefully someone will post it.

Don’t worry I’m not here to criticise your PM or your party :vk2

Its a good thing that they are not there- every bit of rona dona from them seems to be why daddy, mummy, uncle or auntie have been arrested for looting!

Lol I’m the only Indian who asked that question here. This poor soul earns a living by studying the events and movements in an economy. Asked about Pakistan’s budget because I wish to know how the government plans to tackle the challenges in front of it. It’s in a very precarious situation. The entire list of budget announcements are just a click away, but I’m only interested in the key announcements. Hopefully someone will post it.

Don’t worry I’m not here to criticise your PM or your party :vk2

Look at the Pakistan DAWN WEBSITE- Inds are obsessed with PK- outside Modi, i have no idea who his fellow fascists are in the BJP

Its a good thing that they are not there- every bit of rona dona from them seems to be why daddy, mummy, uncle or auntie have been arrested for looting!

They arrived a bit late and thn there was lot of rona dhona while IK kept smiling and in the end he trolled them you should watch the clip :))

Only Bhachray & Garam Aanday sectors saw some improvement so far. Ok, I know we will have to give them atleast 5 years to see the direction & min 30 years for a complete turnaround. Don't remind me please.

Bring back loans and subsidies..then you can cry for the army after ten years..

Man, I feel that the heart of IK is in the right place and wonder why India is not responding to his calls.

On the topic, one has to remember that while building a structure up, one has to begin with digging down. Long-term gains require short-term pains.

I've a habit of jotting down useful tidbits from internet. Here's one:

Every system in our universe obeys certain laws:

1) To permanently change a system, you have to change its structure.

2) Every system has special points where small changes can bring about lasting changes to the system.

3) The more complex a system, the farther away are cause and effect.

4) The more feedback loops in a system, the harder it is to predict behavior.

5) How to find the special points and how to stimulate them to the desired goal are never obvious.

6) When we find and stimulate a special point toward the desired goal, the results usually get worse before they get better. Immediate good results are suspect.

7) When we have detected a nuance, we must then amplify it to the point of obtaining an unexpected reaction, to gain insight into its ramifications.

In my opinion, Pakistan is going through the right change and I hope that it emerges stronger after the transition. As Nietzsche said, "what that doesn't kill you, makes you stronger."

Bulls return to Pakistan Stock Exchange as benchmark index climbs 2.8pc

The Pakistan Stock Exchange (PSX) adopted a positive trajectory on Wednesday as the benchmark KSE-100 Index climbed whopping 1,010 points to close at 35,959 — up 2.8 per cent.

The market opened on a positive note and maintained the mood throughout the session. The market opening at 34,949 remained a day low, while the benchmark index hit a day high at 35,993 near the end of the session.

The volume of shares traded in the benchmark index increased from 122.8 million shares to 151.5m shares. Similarly, the value of shares traded increased to Rs7.2 billion as compared to Rs6.9bn yesterday.

The Bank of Punjab (BoP), Fauji Cement Company Ltd (FCCL) and Unity Foods Limited (UFL) remained the top active scrips with 17.4m shares, 11.8m shares, and 9.9m shares traded respectively.

"Investors celebrated the news reports of the confirmation of government support fund which is aimed at stabilising the stock market," said Next Capital Limited's head of foreign institutional sales, Mohammad Faizan.

The government support fund will be managed by National Investment Trust (NIT) and will be injecting funds in state-owned listed companies.

He added that the market participation for the benchmark index increased by 24pc on a day-on-day basis.

"Major contribution to total market volume came from BOP, FCCL, and UNITY churning 39m shares out of the total market share of 182mn shares."

"Daily traded value for the 100 Index increased to $48m from $46m in the previous session," he said.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1485305/b...stock-exchange-as-benchmark-index-climbs-28pc

Meray bhaee 20 Arab rupay jawaari ne jhonkay thay stocker market uthaanay k liye aor dou din baad stock exchange again plunge ker gaee.

PTI Government gave stat injection dose of Rs.20 Billion to Stock Exchange thinking it will revive and see upsurge and end result ? Stock exchange plummeted after two days :)

Comparison Of First 8 Months Of Economics – PPP Vs PMLN Vs PTI

On Apr 13, 2019

The newly elected PTI Govt faced huge criticism on the economic end. Majority of the mainstream media has been bashing PTI for its economic policies. Opposition parties aligned with the media in bashing the ruling party.

Let’s have a comparative look at the tenure of PPP, PMLN, and PTI [first 8 months ]

The infographic clearly shows the positive indicators of the economy under the PTI Govt.

The decrease:

The imports have been decreased by 6%.

The trade deficit is down by 11 %.

The fiscal deficit has been decreased by 22 %.

And external debts were dropped by 37%.

The increase:

A whopping 17% increase in the foreign direct investment [excluding CPEC ].

Remittances increased by 11.8%

Exports increase by 2%

Foreign exchange reserves: 10.4 Billion USD

Tax returns increase by 1.4 million.

As you can clearly see in the graph, there has been a gigantic 11.8% growth in the remittances in the first 8 months of PTI Government. It shows the trust of overseas Pakistanis in the incumbent Govt.

Talking about loans:

Pakistan has to return 37 Billion dollars in the next 5 years. 9 Billion dollars need to be paid back within 2019. On top of that, 1700 Million dollars to be paid back just in terms of interest.

Guess what? Not a single penny of these loans was taken by the PTI Govt.

Foreign Exchange Reserves:

Talking about the first 8 months of government, PTI had an increase of 270 Million dollars whereas PMLN had a decrease of 3.21 Billion dollars.

The comparison of exchange rate:

Comparing the three governments, it can be clearly seen that the highest increase in the exchange rate was under the era of PPP.

The minister of finance in PMLN’s tenure, Miftah Ismail had openly accepted that Ishaq Dar was artificially controlling the exchange rate of US dollar.

Billion of dollars were taken as a loan and used just to artificially stable the Rupee against the US dollar.

The pace of external debt:

State bank of Pakistan shows the comparison of PMLN and PTI Govt’s pace of taking the external debts. It can be clearly seen how PTI Govt has lowered down the pace of taking the external loans.

Conclusion:

The economic indicators so far are better than PMLN and PPP. The rupee was artificially strengthened against the US dollar and now it is being accepted by Miftah Ismail.

https://trendspak.com/comparison-economics-ppp-pmln-pti/

O Meray Bhai Khuda ko Maan yaar. Khuda ko jaan deni hai Imran ko Zardari ko Nawaz ko naheen.

FDI has plunged 49 pc in last 11 months

I was repeatedly updating Pakpassion since PTI took over educating you people with State bank of Pakistan figures alerting you that FDI is declining. Read my relevant posts.

KARACHI: The foreign direct investment (FDI) sharply declined by 49 per cent during the first 11 months of the current fiscal year reflecting the uncertain macro*economic conditions, the State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) reported on Tuesday.

According to data released by the central bank, the total FDI fell to $1.606 billion during the July-May period of the outgoing fiscal year compared to $3.161bn in the same period last year.

19-06-2019 report https://www.dawn.com/news/1489097

Under Ishaq Dar in first 3-4 years Pakistan first achieved macroeconomic stability. (You could not afford massive devaluation at that time)

Miftah Ismail than did much needed rupee devaluation by 10 % and what was the result ? 13 % increase in exports

Where as in last 1 year PTI lead government has devalued rupee by 30 % and it’s impact on exports ? 0.3 % decrease

Great times to be alive, great times to be in Pakistan, witnessing Tabdeeli live. Dollars are floating all over in the drainage lanes. Deserts are filled with gold. Seas can't hide oil & gas reserves no more. Traffic jam on mountains due to tourists tsunami. Salt has gone pink.
We all here have witnessed an economic boom of Nuclear proportions.

Thanks to brave soldiers, judges & handsome. Long live the Partnership.

Great times to be alive, great times to be in Pakistan, witnessing Tabdeeli live. Dollars are floating all over in the drainage lanes. Deserts are filled with gold. Seas can't hide oil & gas reserves no more. Traffic jam on mountains due to tourists tsunami. Salt has gone pink.

dont worry brave Bilawal is getting ready to save you again. And bhutto will come on a white horse waving the flag to help..

Man, I feel that the heart of IK is in the right place and wonder why India is not responding to his calls.

The issue is not where Imran’s heart is, the issue for India is whether there can be credible guarantees that money and arms will stop being given to the Kashmiri terrorists?

The current Indian government has concluded that IK cannot deliver such guarantees as this is controlled by the Army/ISI. So why waste time and energy talking to IK?

India’s calculation at this point is that the Army’s support for Kashmiri terrorists will only stop when the side effect of lack of security within Pakistan poses too high a cost on the Army. India-Pakistan talks right now won’t make it happen sooner.

As Nietzsche said, "what that doesn't kill you, makes you stronger."

You can hit yourself on the head with a hammer, however it will neither kill you nor make you stronger.

[MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION]

It's the first time in the history of Pakistan that a PM is sitting with his team to answer the questions on different TV channels. Imran Khan and his team Hafeez Shaikh (Finance Minister), Shabbar Zaidi (FBR) and Hammad did it on Geo first thn on PTV and now they are doing it on ARY.

I think it will be impossible to live in pakistan during PTI's tenure.

The issue is not where Imran’s heart is, the issue for India is whether there can be credible guarantees that money and arms will stop being given to the Kashmiri terrorists?

we are not beholden to modi and co to give you guarantees. We arent an indian colony. Sort your own internal problems out e.g stop raping kashmiri women and their men wont come onto the streets.

The current Indian government has concluded that IK cannot deliver such guarantees as this is controlled by the Army/ISI. So why waste time and energy talking to IK?

The current indian government is irrelevant to pakistan as it is lead by a right wing fascist. The army's sole purpose is to combat threats from abroad and internally including the hundreds of terrorists supported by the indian government from afghanistan. We are not here to provide any guarantees to an organisation that cannot provide a straight press conference to the worlds media let alone control their own troops in kashmir from committing atrocities.

India’s calculation at this point is that the Army’s support for Kashmiri terrorists will only stop when the side effect of lack of security within Pakistan poses too high a cost on the Army. India-Pakistan talks right now won’t make it happen sooner.

can you tell me how many indian civilians have been killed due to pakistans support for kashmiri "terrorists" in the last ten years?

Your govt has killed over a 100k pakistanis and we have taken the hit knowing what the stakes are. You killed 148 chuildren in a school and now are supporting the PTM to create more problems for us. I want numbers. Not a single one of your friends on this forum has provided me with the stark numbers and incidents where a pakistani has been involved in terror in India. On the otehr hand we have your "monkey" singing like a canary.

You can hit yourself on the head with a hammer, however it will neither kill you nor make you stronger.

[MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION]

I suggest you worry about teh rapes and lynchings of Muslims in your country

You have to be an absolute tool to think economic situation will struggle for long under a leader who is not corrupt, tackles corruption at higher level, and doesn't loot nation's money. Such traits eventually earn investors trust in a developing market and brings in more cash from local and international investors. If security situation keeps getting better then an honest leader, growing middle class and secured country is bound to return goods.

Funny how we still have fans of other terrible leech parties who stole the very last cent of Pakistan. Can't wait to see them all thrown behind bar, sooner rather than later.

Those who are honest with themselves understand that. Surprisingly a lot of Pakistanis this time are being patient, which hasn't always been the case with previous governments. The first 2 years of PTI were going to be a pain, and I think Imran Khan should have been more clear about that...because people thought the second he came to power everything would be okay.

This is 30 years of rot being cleared out. It's not going to take a year or two...I've even been adamant that changes won't be physically seen until the next election cycle begins.

The problem is that when you implement changes in sectors like education and health, the outcomes of those changes aren't felt until 5 or 10 years down the road, which is why many previous governments simply ignored it and concentrated on infrastructure which could be physically seen.

As far as the economy is concerned, again 30 years of rot won't be cleared out in a year or two. People do have to be patient and let the economic team work its magic.

The only ones who are crying foul are supporters of PMLN - the only supporters left of this party are family members and people who own crooked businesses. That's it.

Roti price increased from 8 to 12Rs & Naan price increased from 10 to 15Rs in twin cities. Flour price increased from 48 to 50Rs per Kg. Sugar's official price is 80Rs per Kg but selling at 85Rs. Price increased on many goods on which no new tax imposed. Where is price control department?

There is no control in general, let alone prices.

Shocking that no one even mentioned huge number of train accidents recently causing finncial and human loss.

“Mai sab ko rulaonga”

He was telling the truth, but at that time, we didn’t know he was talking about the poor people.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]

Not only poor but middle class/upper middle class as well.

He is ripping people of pakistan apart.

Not only poor but middle class/upper middle class as well.

He is ripping people of pakistan apart.

The ones with black money are getting amnesty schemes while the rest of the country has to pay taxes for breathing air. This was the mighty Khan’s genius solution for the prosperity of Pakistan.

Anyway, let’s not worry. This is all “temporary”. In 5 years, rivers of milk and honey will be flowing in Pakistan and money and jobs will grow on trees,

Impossible. Prices are unlikely to come down back, Neither HACPL nor IMC revised their Car Prices despite ruppee appreciation.

Imran Khan is the worst thing to have happened to this country, leave jobs alone, all the companies are surrendering and downsizing.

I myself cannot find a job at an MNC.

Roti price increased from 8 to 12Rs & Naan price increased from 10 to 15Rs in twin cities. Flour price increased from 48 to 50Rs per Kg. Sugar's official price is 80Rs per Kg but selling at 85Rs. Price increased on many goods on which no new tax imposed. Where is price control department?

Who owns the flour mills and the sugar mills in Pakistan? Cronies of PMLN and PPP.

Indirect pressure tactics will not work - we will catch these sugar and wheat mafias who are targeting the common man to indirectly hit the government

Who owns the flour mills and the sugar mills in Pakistan? Cronies of PMLN and PPP.

Indirect pressure tactics will not work - we will catch these sugar and wheat mafias who are targeting the common man to indirectly hit the government

All price hikes have been implemented in the market. When is Govt going to take actions? Shall we wait for 5 years in this matter too?

Impossible. Prices are unlikely to come down back, Neither HACPL nor IMC revised their Car Prices despite ruppee appreciation.

Imran Khan is the worst thing to have happened to this country, leave jobs alone, all the companies are surrendering and downsizing.

I myself cannot find a job at an MNC.

I was being sarcastic. PTI has no clue and it is a train-wreck. Their incompetence and inexperience has been badly exposed and this is only the beginning.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Honda and Indus shut down their factories. Traders on strike. On top of rising unemployment, prices of medicine, electricity and bread reaching unbearable levels. This is not an economic strategy but an all-out attack on ordinary people.<a href="https://t.co/sPalhf2VgE">https://t.co/sPalhf2VgE</a></p>— Ammar Ali Jan (@ammaralijan) <a href="https://twitter.com/ammaralijan/status/1149936713776730112?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 13, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

There is no control in general, let alone prices.

Shocking that no one even mentioned huge number of train accidents recently causing finncial and human loss.

I was being sarcastic. PTI has no clue and it is a train-wreck. Their incompetence and inexperience has been badly exposed and this is only the beginning.

When [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] says this is only the beginning he is absolutely right.

As per UNDP report PML N lifted 6.2 % population out of poverty

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2011528/1-pml-n-govt-lifted-6-2-population-poverty/?amp=1

What about this corrupt, incompetent, subservient stooge and his siasi tabbar ?

8 million people may go below poverty line in next two fiscals

About 0.8 to 1 million have already got unemployed in less than one year

https://www.thenews.com.pk/print/466143-8m-people-may-go-below-poverty-line-in-next-two-fiscals

Before any paid employee of Establishment, beneficiary of Establishment’s corruption sitting in UK, Australia, Canada or USA after business immigration or Cult followers of Imran Khan Niazi attack Dr.Hafeez Pasha I would like to remind them that Dr Hafeez Pasha is highly respected Economist in PTI Circles.

Evidence :

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Economist Hafeez Pasha acknowledges success of PTI govt in KP (& first time PTI formed govt) by saying despite excessive load shedding (more than the rest of Pakistan) & suffering most from terrorism , KP economy grew faster than rest of Pakistan. <a href="https://t.co/yQWiJLIiVl">pic.twitter.com/yQWiJLIiVl</a></p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/982847475911397376?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 8, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Hafeez Pasha is the best economist in Pakistan: Asad Umar<br><br>This Govt could not present any economic framework in-front of IMF. Their economic performance has been so poor that IMF will demand even tougher actions: Hafeez Pasha <a href="https://t.co/7PVzsTwKQf">pic.twitter.com/7PVzsTwKQf</a></p>— Shahzeb Khanzada (@shazbkhanzdaGEO) <a href="https://twitter.com/shazbkhanzdaGEO/status/1121864055256506368?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 26, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-cards="hidden" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Traders against the CNIC requirement for invoicing, who are on strike today, say that home-based businesses do not want to come into the tax net. Does that sound reasonable? <a href="https://t.co/0YfGIcT7nK">https://t.co/0YfGIcT7nK</a></p>— Benazir Shah (@Benazir_Shah) <a href="https://twitter.com/Benazir_Shah/status/1149963653606776832?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 13, 2019</a></blockquote>

Most of these posters who live in Pakistan who are complaining about how PTI ruined the country, have maids, cooks, drivers. Their children go to private school, they eat at posh restaurants, buy very expensive designer clothes. They have the lifestyle of people who are millionaires in the West.

They are finally being asked to pay more their fair share, and instead of doing the right thing, they are throwing tantrums.

Are you for real? [MENTION=148149]Gharib Aadmi[/MENTION]

Millionaires in West don't drive Suzuki Swift/Honda Civic/Toyota Corolla.

You are missing the point. People need to pay their taxes. Hopefully, Khan is able to grow the tax net immensely.

People in Pakistan pay Rs 5k to 15k per month for servants whereas people in the west will be paying $35,000 a year minimum for the same.

The people of Pakistan especially middle class and upper middle class are living an easier life compared to the middle class, upper middle class in the west. The middle class in Pakistan and Upper Middle Class in Pakistan do not realize the priceless benefits of cheap labour that they are employing to help them out to save a good 8-10 hours of daily work for them

Their incomes are not on par with people in the west. [MENTION=2501]Savak[/MENTION]

The core point was that people in Pakistan who are well off, lets say in the Top 10%, which is pretty much every poster on this forum who lives in Pakistan, need to pay more in tax. If you don't pay then who will? You have no idea how much tax people in the West are paying for a very average life.

Even though i have lived abroad my entire life, i have been to Pakistan numerous times, and the lifestyle that my cousins have is something I cant even dream about having.

I would gladly move to Pakistan if I could have the lifestyle of the Upper Middle Class in Pakistan.

Good press conference briefing on cabinet meeting today.

1. Murad Saeed spoke at length about fact finding reports regarding the Sharifs and Zardari/Bhuttos loot plunder during their time in government with numbers and statistics

2. Malik Amin Aslam spoke about tree plantation being initiated soon after monsoon with 400 events planned across the country to plant 140 million trees.

3. Amin Aslam also spoke about a pilot project starting from Islamabad from 14th August to ban plastic bags, gave statistics about production figures of these bags etc. Also presented cloth and alternate plastic bags that will be used in the place of the traditional "shopper". Eventually program will be extended to whole country.

4. Firdous Apa spoke about preliminary approval of e-commerce policy by cabinet. Within next 3 months any officer in any ministry working on adhoc basis will be relieved of additional charge and proper hiring will take place to improve good governance.

5. Euro bond and Sukok bond will be launched

6. Chairman NEPRA and NAVTEC director changed

7. Comprehensive roadmap/mechanism to be worked at with provincial governments for land records recommendations to be presented to cabinet in next meeting

Amongst other things

The real solution to Pakistan's economic issues:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Since independence, Pakistan has gone to the IMF 22 times. Is there an alternative solution to Pakistan's economic crisis? <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/TeamSoch?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#TeamSoch</a> takes a look at a position paper published by the Awami Workers Party that outlines a progressive solution.<a href="https://t.co/VhnBiqpnZy">https://t.co/VhnBiqpnZy</a></p>— Soch سوچ (@SochVideos) <a href="https://twitter.com/SochVideos/status/1150763294782885894?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 15, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

As someone who believes in the power of social democracy and the social aspects of Islam there isnt much i can disagree with in that video. However there are some caveats:

1) To reduce the role of the military you must first try adn understand why their role is so disproportionate in the first place. Once you understand this you can then create a strategy where the military can concentrate on its primary role.

2) The issue of a planned economy. I cant disagree with this but at the same time you cannot stifle capitalism and the creation of wealth within a society.

3) They talk about the empowerment of women. yes and no. We are seeing the effects that the western idea of the empowerment of women is having on western societies. We should look at all of the models available especially teh scandinavian and german ones, and then proceed.

4) The rentier state issue. yes cant disagree. But the new paradigm means we cant do this anymore. We should use our strategic location to enhance our economic future.

Anothher important area this ignored was law and order and internal security. To implement the above , the country needs to be secure and people have to feel safe. Therefore a parallel focus on law and order must be undertaken to ensure that when your labour does go out to work, they are not robbed at gunpoint.

Workers rights and legislation to deal with this must be enacted. Its one area Im a bit scpetical about with regards to the PTI. I havent ehard anything abour workers rights, unions, woorking time directives, minimum wage etc properly yet..basic income etc..

The video did conveniently ignore the immediate issue of the IMF loan. The country had no choice but moving forward I cant disagree with the majority of the proposal.

Planned economy? No thanks! We already went through nationalisation in the 70s and look how that stopped the rapid economic growth of Pakistan.

Asad Umar says inflation will peak in next few months and then slowly start going down

Former finance minister and PTI leader Asad Umar on Tuesday said that according to his assessment inflation rates would peak in the next two to four months.

While on Geo News' programme 'Aaj Shahzeb Khanzada Kay Saath', Umar said that after the two to four-month period, slowly the inflation rate would start going down. He said that this would then be reflected in the monetary policy and interest rates would also go down.

The former finance minister was responding to a question regarding keeping a fiscal deficit of 7.1 per cent along with a revenue target of Rs5.5 trillion. Anchor Shazeb Khanzada asked Umar if this was the one target to focus on.

In response, Umar said that revenue targets affect the economy in many ways and this was a central factor that needed to be looked at. However, he said that during the period of adjustment when they were getting out of a balance of payments crisis, the fiscal deficit was not the primary factor to look at.

He explained that this was because during this time, in order for demand compression and overcome losses in the energy system, decisions are made that increase inflation and to counteract that policy rates have to be increased.

"A big reason for the increase in the fiscal deficit is due to policy decisions of increasing inflation," he said, adding that even in discussions with the International Monetary Fund (IMF) the target focus was the primary deficit.

While giving his analysis that inflation would peak over the next few months and then slowly go down, Umar said that right now it was important to pay attention to whether progress was being made on the primary deficit. He said this year there was less progress than they wanted and hoped that next year there would be further progress.

Earlier in the month, State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) raised its main policy rate by 100 basis points to 13.25 per cent, citing increased inflationary pressures and a likely near-term rise in prices from higher utility costs.

At the time, SBP Governor Reza Baqir had said: "If you look at the time-path of this inflation, in the next few months, due to one-time factors, inflation will be higher. These have been accounted for [in our projections]. In the second half of the fiscal year, according to our projections, inflation will be lower. By the start of the next fiscal year, there will be a noticeable decrease in inflation."

In Tuesday's interview, Khanzada asked the PTI leader if the (economic) situation had improved or worsened since he had left his post as finance minister.

"The direction hasn't changed [they] are still going in the same direction adopted by the PTI government from day one," Umar replied, adding that there are multiple views about every individual decision.

He said that the overall direction was firstly to take Pakistan out of the "worst balance of payments crisis in [its] history" and noted that some "milestones" had been reached in achieving this.

The former finance minister was asked if the direction, based on a model going towards exportable surplus and import substitution, was correct and whether the country would go into a crisis again.

"This will be the real test because the way of getting out of a balance of payments crisis is a classic textbook way of demand and import compression," he said, adding that the "real test" would unfold over the next couple of years regarding two areas: how is the competitiveness of the economy improved and the revenue target.

Khanzada said that a revenue target of 35 per cent with GDP growth of 2.4pc had never been achieved and asked Umar if it was possible.

"It is a very big challenge," he responded, adding that currently, Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) Chairman Shabbar Zaidi had the most difficult job.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1497266/a...t-few-months-and-then-slowly-start-going-down

Somebody please give this post a POTW medal. Hilarious stuff.

Imran Khan is doing his best. He is not trying to loot his country. He inherited a pretty bad economy that he is trying his best to help recover. This much every one agrees with.

So why can our Pakistani friends not be patient with the man. I mean, there have been big crooks who have run and ruined the economy before. Things cannot get much worse than what it was before IK came around. Who knows the man may surprise the world with what he achieves.

It is my personal opinion that if IK gets 10 years as the PM, Pakistan would be unrecognizable with what it achieves. And that would be very good for all nations in the subcontinent.

It's the first time in the history of Pakistan that a PM is sitting with his team to answer the questions on different TV channels. Imran Khan and his team Hafeez Shaikh (Finance Minister), Shabbar Zaidi (FBR) and Hammad did it on Geo first thn on PTV and now they are doing it on ARY.

That is LEADERSHIP right there being displayed by Imran Khan. The man proved his leadership credentials on the cricket field. I am sure he will do just as well as the PM.

People just need to be patient with him. The gentleman is honest. He is sincere. He is a hard worker. Why on earth will success not be his. Succeed he will.

Imran Khan is doing his best. He is not trying to loot his country. He inherited a pretty bad economy that he is trying his best to help recover. This much every one agrees with.

So why can our Pakistani friends not be patient with the man. I mean, there have been big crooks who have run and ruined the economy before. Things cannot get much worse than what it was before IK came around. Who knows the man may surprise the world with what he achieves.

It is my personal opinion that if IK gets 10 years as the PM, Pakistan would be unrecognizable with what it achieves. And that would be very good for all nations in the subcontinent.

It takes at least 20-30 years to change a country. This is why most politicians build roads, malls and bridges which increases their popularity instead of building useful things like schools, hospitals or make reforms.

It's virtually like Imran Khan is batting after follow-on. His team trailing by a massive margin.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The best advice for the youth of Pakistan: No one has ever achieved anything significant in life who fears failure or criticism. <a href="https://t.co/R5crGDbIwM">pic.twitter.com/R5crGDbIwM</a></p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1170959831638990848?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 9, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Myths around Naya Pakistan’s economic performance

Until the lion learns how to write, every story will glorify the hunter. This African proverb nicely describes the battle of narratives surrounding Pakistan’s economy — which posted surprisingly good macroeconomic numbers last week. The opposition is on a fierce hunt for facts to support its doom and gloom narrative while PTI roars and squeals like a wounded lion, unsure whether it wants to attack or run away.

In this piece, I’ll unpack the narratives building around Naya Pakistan’s economic performance, seeking to separate myths, facts and fiction. The most powerful narrative the opposition has successfully established is that the economy is collapsing and the PTI government has no control over its downward spiral. Like any myth, there’s a nugget of truth buried within this largely false narrative.

The truth is that Pakistan’s economy isn’t doing well. But it’s not because the government doesn’t have control, it’s precisely the opposite: the government has control and is trying to suppress demand. Take the positive news of trade deficit collapsing by 42% in August. This happened because we devalued the rupee, raised interest rates and took other demand compression measures successfully. This is the only way to break the cycle of debt and make this our last IMF package: by living within our means.
Why did we have to do demand compression? Because the previous government was spending borrowed money to fuel current consumption via expensive imports. We’re now paying for their sins — with interest. This is a painful moment for the economy but we’re reducing the dollars we need to borrow by shrinking our current account deficit, which is down by $1.58 billion or 55% in the first two months of this fiscal.

Next narrative, the PTI has an inexperienced economic team. Once again, some truth used to build a largely false narrative. Take for instance, Shabbar Zaidi. The man is quietly championing the boldest reform agenda within Naya Pakistan: making sure only the salaried middle class isn’t paying taxes by fighting with retailers and wholesalers to bring them in the tax net. Tax collection is up 30% despite a weak economy and collapsing imports. This comes behind strategic interventions like shuffling over 1,000 FBR officials, changes in tax policy like real estate valuations and expedited tax refunds to build trust with the industry.

Next narrative, the accountability process is scaring investors and slowing the economy down. At first, I thought this was an opposition scare tactic but this is actually true. Here’s one poignant example: NAB is pulling a Punjab Police on corporate Pakistan, with Sheikh Imranul Haque’s curious detention — without a reference — for over a month and a half now. Haque is a highly respected corporate success story, who served the country as head of PSO. How are you going to attract top talent to work in state-owned enterprises, if innocent men will be held hostage to political maneuvering between the government and opposition?

Next narrative, the PTI bungled the IMF programme. Here, the opposition has been constantly shifting goal posts. First, they criticised Asad Umar for taking too long to enter the IMF (tacitly accepting they had left the economy in a bad shape). When Pakistan entered the IMF deal, they said the conditions were too harsh and we would never be able to meet them (why do you think Umar was negotiating anyway?). Finally, when the IMF came to Pakistan last week, they said it’s an SOS mission as the government is off-track on the programme. Silence then, when the IMF was encouraged by Pakistan’s progress on structural reforms.

Improving macroeconomic indicators doesn’t mean everyday life will get better overnight or growth will return immediately but they show Pakistan is stabilising, and reforms are working. Meanwhile, the wounded PTI lion needs to learn how to tell its story before the hunter comes in for the kill.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2062105/6-myths-around-naya-pakistans-economic-performance/

Myths around Naya Pakistan’s economic performance

Until the lion learns how to write, every story will glorify the hunter. This African proverb nicely describes the battle of narratives surrounding Pakistan’s economy — which posted surprisingly good macroeconomic numbers last week. The opposition is on a fierce hunt for facts to support its doom and gloom narrative while PTI roars and squeals like a wounded lion, unsure whether it wants to attack or run away.

In this piece, I’ll unpack the narratives building around Naya Pakistan’s economic performance, seeking to separate myths, facts and fiction. The most powerful narrative the opposition has successfully established is that the economy is collapsing and the PTI government has no control over its downward spiral. Like any myth, there’s a nugget of truth buried within this largely false narrative.

The truth is that Pakistan’s economy isn’t doing well. But it’s not because the government doesn’t have control, it’s precisely the opposite: the government has control and is trying to suppress demand. Take the positive news of trade deficit collapsing by 42% in August. This happened because we devalued the rupee, raised interest rates and took other demand compression measures successfully. This is the only way to break the cycle of debt and make this our last IMF package: by living within our means.
Why did we have to do demand compression? Because the previous government was spending borrowed money to fuel current consumption via expensive imports. We’re now paying for their sins — with interest. This is a painful moment for the economy but we’re reducing the dollars we need to borrow by shrinking our current account deficit, which is down by $1.58 billion or 55% in the first two months of this fiscal.

Next narrative, the PTI has an inexperienced economic team. Once again, some truth used to build a largely false narrative. Take for instance, Shabbar Zaidi. The man is quietly championing the boldest reform agenda within Naya Pakistan: making sure only the salaried middle class isn’t paying taxes by fighting with retailers and wholesalers to bring them in the tax net. Tax collection is up 30% despite a weak economy and collapsing imports. This comes behind strategic interventions like shuffling over 1,000 FBR officials, changes in tax policy like real estate valuations and expedited tax refunds to build trust with the industry.

Next narrative, the accountability process is scaring investors and slowing the economy down. At first, I thought this was an opposition scare tactic but this is actually true. Here’s one poignant example: NAB is pulling a Punjab Police on corporate Pakistan, with Sheikh Imranul Haque’s curious detention — without a reference — for over a month and a half now. Haque is a highly respected corporate success story, who served the country as head of PSO. How are you going to attract top talent to work in state-owned enterprises, if innocent men will be held hostage to political maneuvering between the government and opposition?

Next narrative, the PTI bungled the IMF programme. Here, the opposition has been constantly shifting goal posts. First, they criticised Asad Umar for taking too long to enter the IMF (tacitly accepting they had left the economy in a bad shape). When Pakistan entered the IMF deal, they said the conditions were too harsh and we would never be able to meet them (why do you think Umar was negotiating anyway?). Finally, when the IMF came to Pakistan last week, they said it’s an SOS mission as the government is off-track on the programme. Silence then, when the IMF was encouraged by Pakistan’s progress on structural reforms.

Improving macroeconomic indicators doesn’t mean everyday life will get better overnight or growth will return immediately but they show Pakistan is stabilising, and reforms are working. Meanwhile, the wounded PTI lion needs to learn how to tell its story before the hunter comes in for the kill.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2062105/6-myths-around-naya-pakistans-economic-performance/

So the moral of the story - a decent start but more pain ahead because of the disastrous short term of the Nooras and AZ.

Pakistan's economy is expected to stabilise. Is growth next?

By now almost everyone acknowledges that the consumption-driven growth model that Pakistan has come to rely on to achieve high growth rates is unsustainable. Most commentators also agree that Pakistan must shift towards exports as the key driver of growth.

This narrative has given significant room to the present Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf government to implement necessary stabilisation measures aimed at containing consumption while, at the same time, providing incentives to export industries.

However, these and similar policy proposals by most commentators (including me) seem to have given rise to a fallacy that implementing stabilisation policies alone to address macroeconomic imbalances will somehow give rise to high growth path that does not lead to the International Monetary Fund. This is incorrect.

Stabilisation policies — which include fiscal and monetary policies — remain what they are: they stabilise the economy around its underlying productivity growth rate. Another way to view it is that, every time the real gross domestic product grows by more than the underlying productivity growth rate, macroeconomic imbalances start to emerge, requiring policymakers to respond with stabilisation policies.

Appreciating this alone can help policymakers reorient their focus away from macroeconomic stabilisation as the ultimate policy objective towards improving the productivity of the economy. The need for this shift cannot be overemphasised. As Paul Krugman — a Noble Laureate economist — puts it, “productivity isn’t everything, but in the long run it is almost everything.”

Appreciating the importance of improving productivity will help break through another related fallacy often pointed out by economists: that the government has its hands tied with reference to implementing growth-friendly policies when under an IMF programme.

A cursory look at data presents a depressing outlook demanding immediate policy response. Every time the growth rate exceeds 4 per cent for few years, macroeconomic imbalances start emerging. For example, between fiscal years 2014 and 2018, the real GDP grew at more than 4pc. However, the current account worsened from -1.49pc of the GDP to -6.14pc.

The growth episode during 2000s also presents a similar picture. While the economy grew at more than 5pc between FY04 and FY08, the current account deficit worsened from -0.8pc to -9.2pc of the GDP. Both these episodes culminated in large fiscal deficits primarily due to rising debt servicing costs and governments’ desire to delay undertaking necessary adjustments.

This leads to an obvious conclusion that any attempt to raise GDP growth rate beyond 4-5pc must come from increasing the productivity of the economy rather than from implementing expansionary fiscal and monetary policies.

The importance of shifting our focus towards improving productivity can be further appreciated by acknowledging the critical role it plays in a country’s export performance. In a 2002 paper published in the Journal of International Economics, researchers use data on Spanish manufacturing firms to show that it is essentially the more productive firms that are more likely to enter the export market.

In a 2005 paper published in the Review of World Economics, researchers at the Bocconi University and the Centre for European Economic Research found similar results for German manufacturing firms. A 2008 paper published in the American Economic Review shows the same for Taiwanese electronics producers.

The precise factors determining the productivity of an economy have been a subject of much debate that continues to remain unresolved. But what can be said with relative certainty is that productivity growth rate depends on how effectively a country’s economic resources can come together for production purposes.

To be sure, policymakers must not restrict their attention to the quality of resources alone. Instead, and as emphasised by Robert Solow (another Nobel Laureate economist), social norms and institutions can also be important enabling or limiting factors in a country’s pursuit towards improving its productivity.

Considering this, any policy that facilitates interaction between a country’s resources — land, labour and capital — or improves the quality of such resources will contribute towards raising the productivity of the economy.

In many cases, a plethora of archaic and poorly researched rules and regulations present key hurdle in coming together of economic resources. In other cases, the lack of adequate laws is what is hindering development of markets.

Similarly, addressing critical infrastructure and diplomatic bottlenecks with the aim to develop trade linkages with regional Central and South Asian economies can go a long way in improving the productive potential of the economy. Reforming technical and vocational training programmes is another area which has not received necessary attention.

Now that the government has already put in place most stabilisation measures, the focus must shift towards productivity-improving reforms. The economy is expected to start stabilising in a year’s time. However, all this means is growing at a meagre rate of around 4pc.

If the government does not initiate these reforms now, political considerations closer to election will once again force the government to rely on expansionary macroeconomic policies to fulfil pre-election promises. This will be a disaster or a repeat thereof.

Ahmed Jamal Pirzada has a PhD in Economics. He currently teaches at the University of Bristol and is a visiting fellow at the SDPI.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1507479/pakistans-economy-is-expected-to-stabilise-is-growth-next

Can Harvard Business School graduates and IMF chief economists for the Asia Pacific region [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] and [MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] comment on the rise of nearly 4500 points in the stock exchange in the last 50 days and more specifically 2400 in the last 6 days. We kept hearing from these experts how the economy is plummeting whenever stock exchange dropped by 200 points.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Stock Market gains 2400 points in 6 days of positivity.<br><br>NOBODY REPORTS THIS.<br><br>Why ? Because some Anchors do not digest positivity. When positivity comes, they can’t sell their CHOORUN.<br><br>4 weeks ago I <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/tweeted?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#tweeted</a> that i see a turn around in the economy.<br><br>Insha Allah it will happen.</p>— Mir Mohammad Alikhan (@MirMAKOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/MirMAKOfficial/status/1181207395629961217?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 7, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

I really hope so, because there is no other way out now. No to any Dharnas. Let PM IK complete his term. His performance has been abysmal though, so far.

Because he refused to make cosmetic changes for short term electoral gains, people dont like the pain they are going through but they had to go through this one day one way or another. But yes if everything is still same or worse after 5 years then people should be well within their rights to vote him out.

I agree, he should be given a complete 5 years term.

The common man does not care about the excuse that we have to go through a tough period to get out of this mess. The only thing they see is that during PTI’s regime and everything has become ridiculously expensive. They couldn’t care less about what would happen 4-5 years from now when they cannot even afford three meals a day anymore.

Imran Khan is rapidly losing support with the common man. Their support was his strength back then. The fruit-sellers, street-vendors, taxi drivers, grocery store owners etc. are all abusing him. Overseas PTI supporters are not aware of the ground realities because they do not have interaction with the common. All they see is online PTI trolls who are unaffected by the inflation and they assume that Imran still has the support of the nation.

Also, there is no guarantee that things will get better in the future and that he is on the right track right now. PTI supporters need to stop living in denial and accept that Naya Pakistan has been a circus so far.

The common man does not care about the excuse that we have to go through a tough period to get out of this mess. The only thing they see is that during PTI’s regime and everything has become ridiculously expensive. They couldn’t care less about what would happen 4-5 years from now when they cannot even afford three meals a day anymore.

Imran Khan is rapidly losing support with the common man. Their support was his strength back then. The fruit-sellers, street-vendors, taxi drivers, grocery store owners etc. are all abusing him. Overseas PTI supporters are not aware of the ground realities because they do not have interaction with the common. All they see is online PTI trolls who are unaffected by the inflation and they assume that Imran still has the support of the nation.

Also, there is no guarantee that things will get better in the future and that he is on the right track right now. PTI supporters need to stop living in denial and accept that Naya Pakistan has been a circus so far.

But you kept droning on that he has been "selected" and does not have popular support to begin with and if free and fair elections were held someone from the Sharif khandaan would be PM.

Now you are saying he is losing his popular support amongst the common man.

So which one is it Mr. corrupt hypocrite?

The common voted for crooks and they are paying the price. If they dont like IK they will vote him out, but IK should not back down because the future of the country is at stake. I think he should have cut spending and borrower harder to balance the books, i know why he hasnt dont it, but i dont agree. It just puts off the pain for longer. A country cannot just borrow money and i hope that the consequences go away because we dont have the tax payer base to fund the borrowing.

But you kept droning on that he has been "selected" and does not have popular support to begin with and if free and fair elections were held someone from the Sharif khandaan would be PM.

The MENTAL MIDGET is confused again.

The 2018 election was rigged in PTI’s favor but they still had enough popularity to win the election thanks to the political witch-hunting and all the lies and false allegations against PMLN. So yes, he was clearly selected as PM but it also true that he also had the popular vote in his favor.

However, because he appointed jokers like Asad Umar and a former PPP crook like Hafiz Shaikh as his financial gurus, he has no idea where the economy is heading. Their decision-making is erratic and they don’t know what they are doing or where they are heading. The fall-back is obviously on the poor people whose expenses have doubled and they are now poorer than they were under the previous government.

Imran Khan wasn’t wrong when he said that “mai sab ko rulaonga”. Unfortunately, no one is crying harder than the poor people of Pakistan.

The common voted for crooks and they are paying the price. If they dont like IK they will vote him out, but IK should not back down because the future of the country is at stake. I think he should have cut spending and borrower harder to balance the books, i know why he hasnt dont it, but i dont agree. It just puts off the pain for longer. A country cannot just borrow money and i hope that the consequences go away because we dont have the tax payer base to fund the borrowing.

Have some shame if not empathy. The common man does not have the knowledge and the resources to make astute decisions on whom to vote for. They are swayed by rhetoric and demagogy. They voted for PPP in 2008 because of Benazir’s death, and they voted for PMLN in 2013 because PPP’s reputation took a hit and PMLN’s election campaign was stronger than PTIs.

During 2014 to 2017, the constant witch-hunting, accusations, long marches as well as Imran Khan’s lies and false promises were enough to win the support of the common man, who were genuinely fooled into believing that he will bring change and improve their conditions.

Stuff like promising to abolish Governor Houses and Chief Ministers Houses, stating that he will not having VIP protocol, his social media team taking staged pictures of him sleeping on the floor and praying etc. sells with the common man. Imran the con-artist was able to fool them in masses, but considering his and his government’s incompetency, it has only taken over a year for the masses to realize that he is incapable of running the country.

Considering he has failed to live up to his promises so far, people have started to question his credibility and do not buy his excuse that Pakistan will have to suffer to get out of this mess. They have no reason to believe that he knows what he is going and he is taking the correct measures today that will bear fruit in the future.

Moreover, PTI is also losing support in KP - the province where his support has been immense since 2011-2012. The major reason is the flop education and health reforms. Doctors are on strike frequently because of the antics of the Health Minister, and the biggest own goal by PTI has been the BRT disaster. One of the worst infrastructure projects in history of Pakistan that has badly exposed the inexperience and cluelessness of this government.

The KP public has started to lose faith in this con-artist because they can see that after 6 years of rule in KP, PTI has not achieved anything. What will change after 5 years of federal rule? Again, nothing. If you can’t run a province how can you run a country?

Have some shame if not empathy. The common man does not have the knowledge and the resources to make astute decisions on whom to vote for. They are swayed by rhetoric and demagogy. They voted for PPP in 2008 because of Benazir’s death, and they voted for PMLN in 2013 because PPP’s reputation took a hit and PMLN’s election campaign was stronger than PTIs.

During 2014 to 2017, the constant witch-hunting, accusations, long marches as well as Imran Khan’s lies and false promises were enough to win the support of the common man, who were genuinely fooled into believing that he will bring change and improve their conditions.

Stuff like promising to abolish Governor Houses and Chief Ministers Houses, stating that he will not having VIP protocol, his social media team taking staged pictures of him sleeping on the floor and praying etc. sells with the common man. Imran the con-artist was able to fool them in masses, but considering his and his government’s incompetency, it has only taken over a year for the masses to realize that he is incapable of running the country.

Considering he has failed to live up to his promises so far, people have started to question his credibility and do not buy his excuse that Pakistan will have to suffer to get out of this mess. They have no reason to believe that he knows what he is going and he is taking the correct measures today that will bear fruit in the future.

Moreover, PTI is also losing support in KP - the province where his support has been immense since 2011-2012. The major reason is the flop education and health reforms. Doctors are on strike frequently because of the antics of the Health Minister, and the biggest own goal by PTI has been the BRT disaster. One of the worst infrastructure projects in history of Pakistan that has badly exposed the inexperience and cluelessness of this government.

The KP public has started to lose faith in this con-artist because they can see that after 6 years of rule in KP, PTI has not achieved anything. What will change after 5 years of federal rule? Again, nothing. If you can’t run a province how can you run a country?

The common man has to live with the decisions he makes like all of us. They knew they were corrupt and voted for them and got robbed and then realised a little too late that the crooks had taken everything. And what you are saying is that they want those same crooks back to finish the job.
Great!
You said they were losing in support in KP before the last election and they won a 2/3 majority, so forgive me if I think you are talking out of your backside like you normally do.

The common man has to live with the decisions he makes like all of us. They knew they were corrupt and voted for them and got robbed and then realised a little too late that the crooks had taken everything. And what you are saying is that they want those same crooks back to finish the job.
Great!
You said they were losing in support in KP before the last election and they won a 2/3 majority, so forgive me if I think you are talking out of your backside like you normally do.

Don’t fret about losing support. As long as Imran “Pakistan Army is guilty of extrajudicial killings and is like a bull in China shop” continues to polish boots, he will remain in apparent power. Apparent because the PM has no real power compared to the Army Chief.