How important are Imran Khan's speaking/writing skills in URDU for his success as Pakistan's PM?

Today during the oath taking ceremonies, he seemed to make some blunder which could have been attributed to nervousness but may well be due to his non-proficiency in the country's national language.

Could this effect how he runs the country, Or is this not an issue?

If late Bibi Bhutto could lead this country there is no doubt whatsoever that Imran will do it. He was only nervous and mister President deliberately made it tough for him :)

"Non-proficiency in the national language", have you seen his speeches. Watch his his acceptance speech, he was pretty fluent. Everybody can get nervous and make mistakes, it isn't that deep.

To be honest, no one in pakistan really cares about non-proficiency of the urdu language in Pakistan.

Yes they bash bilalwal for it, but they only do it for now because people have no other excuses against him.

As for the earlier point i mentioned. Benazir's urdu was quite bad. This oath by immy was nothing, benazir often use to make mistakes like these.

But people didnt mind. So its a non issue really.

It does show at the end of the day how difficult urdu language is.

How many Pakistanis understand the highly complex Urdu that Imran was made to speak during the oath?

In Kashmir, Urdu is our official language and i had no clue about some of the words he was made to say. I think the language should have been kept simple so that everybody understands it and its easy for the oath taker as well.

I laughed at how tough the Urdu was. secondly all our most recent PMs took oath in English - Imran wanted to appear different lol - should have prepared.

Finally even Obama messed up his oath and had to redo it so overall not a big deal.

PS: that Oath reading part was the only bit where I wished that I could hear Bilawal read it - we would be their for a few hours before he got through all that lol

As long as he can speak basic Urdu that's fine. But, I'm confused, why can't he speak Urdu? He was born and raised in Pakistan, and surely in the dressing rooms and team meetings during his cricket days, surely he would have picked up on some Urdu then. Why can't he speak the official language of his country? I only found out today he isn't fluent at it, really shocked by that.

his urdu is fine, and it should not matter as long as he understands and can convey his message in Urdu.

Same for Bilawal who gets unnecessary criticism.

To be honest, no one in pakistan really cares about non-proficiency of the urdu language in Pakistan.

Yes they bash bilalwal for it, but they only do it for now because people have no other excuses against him.

As for the earlier point i mentioned. Benazir's urdu was quite bad. This oath by immy was nothing, benazir often use to make mistakes like these.

WRONG

People bashed those who were impressed by his British accent. Not Bilawal for having British Accent.

People bash Bilawal for being in a party that has documented reputation of party of corrupt that has done nothing to improve the life of ordinary Pakistani after holding the PM position multiple times.

Two very important differences.

As long as he can speak basic Urdu that's fine. But, I'm confused, why can't he speak Urdu? He was born and raised in Pakistan, and surely in the dressing rooms and team meetings during his cricket days, surely he would have picked up on some Urdu then. Why can't he speak the official language of his country? I only found out today he isn't fluent at it, really shocked by that.

Has he been speaking french in all of his speeches and interviews?! If you don't call that fluent then nobody's fluent.

I have heard bits, his urdu seems fine and I heard his speeches from a while ago but only today have I found out that urdu isn't his first language etc which confused me.

People make fun of bilawal because he sounds like a girl.

I have heard bits, his urdu seems fine and I heard his speeches from a while ago but only today have I found out that urdu isn't his first language etc which confused me.

The Urdu spoken in official things like oath ceremony is not common Urdu which we speak in daily life. Imrans Urdu is perfectly fine. Bilawal needs some work but even i am fine with it because as a Urdu speaker i understand everything what he says even though a bit broken with some grammar mistakes.

I'm pretty sure urdu is now his 1st language as in the language he thinks in and speaks at home but he was raised in Lahore so Punjabi would be his original language.

The Urdu spoken in official things like oath ceremony is not common Urdu which we speak in daily life. Imrans Urdu is perfectly fine. Bilawal needs some work but even i am fine wit it because as a Urdu speaker i understand everything what he says even though a bit broken with grammar mistakes.

He got stuck with some basic words and I would suggest that his aides should have prepped him for this.

well he messed up some basic words like qayadat but i would say that had more to do with nervousness and excitement..

Some of the words like raghbat o inaat are not used in daily life.

He's used those words in thousands of interviews and speeches, does he not know urdu or was he just nervous like anybody can be?

His Urdu has improved in recent times though his pronunciation is not always classical.

It depends on the level of Urdu one is referring to - Most Pakistanis will have a reasonable grasp over day to day Urdu but that's not always the case with the unusual, or more complex words (of which there seemed to be a few in the oath).

Pretty damn good I’m sure. You can question his politics but the man is probably the most educated PM we’ve had since Benazir.

Khan sahab is not a fluent speaker in any language. He has many gifts but fluent speaking(specially in public) is not one of them. He speaks best when every thing comes from his heart without any script. He will not be comfortable with pre-written speeches in any language.

I'm from Urdu speaking family and I have no idea what kind of Urdu was being spoken in the oath taking. In everyday Urdu he is as well versed as the next guy. Funny that people are comparing him to Baby Billoo who can't string two sentences together in Urdu.

It is not at all an issue when we realise how poor Quaid Jinnah's Urdu was. He can always improve his vocabulary and pronunciation skills. Knowing IK he'll be working on it immediately but he will never speak the language on a scholarly level.

ok here is the copy of oath if anyone want to read

Dk54PxUXcAAJLbv.jpg:large

Jinnah was poor in urdu, so why should it matter for anyone else especially in this day and age where the world is connnected and everything in english.

I'm from Urdu speaking family and I have no idea what kind of Urdu was being spoken in the oath taking. In everyday Urdu he is as well versed as the next guy. Funny that people are comparing him to Baby Billoo who can't string two sentences together in Urdu.

No one is comparing but I just mentioned that Bilawal gets unnecessary criticism. I also belong to Urdu speaking family and listening to Bilawal i understand what he tried to convey in is speeches. As long as we understand what someone means it is hardly an issue.. he needs some work though but that will come with time.

Btw Mr Jinnah Quaid e Azam wasn't also fluent in Urdu. Like i said fluent Urdu should be least of our problems or concern as long as people understand what they are trying to convey.

Ab ye na kna k i compared Bilawal with Jinnah :p and han rationally putting ones point doesn't make you a Billo etc fan.

How many Pakistanis understand the highly complex Urdu that Imran was made to speak during the oath?

In Kashmir, Urdu is our official language and i had no clue about some of the words he was made to say. I think the language should have been kept simple so that everybody understands it and its easy for the oath taker as well.

Hamari roz marra ki guftgu mein angrezi alfaaz ki iss qadr amezish ho chuki hai k ab sada urdu bolne mein bhi dushwari pesh ati hai.

Jinnah was poor in urdu, so why should it matter for anyone else especially in this day and age where the world is connnected and everything in english.

Jinnah was born in colonial era. At that time we needed someone who could comfortably interact with the British and can fight our case with them.

Should have written it in Roman Urdu :bbz

(Yes I just made that smiley :yk)

Yeh smiley ke undraaj pe aek ehtisaab commission tashkeel ki jayegi.... Karra ehtisaab hoga... Na koi muq muqa na koi NRO. Tayyar hojain :pmik

Lol at comparing IK with Bilawal. IK can get his point across quite vividly and eloquently without sounding like a total tool. He may struggle with some words while reciting high and pure Urdu but he can can totally and ably understand and converse with the common man. I even noticed others like Mengal and others speaking Urdu with and accent in the NA the other day but they mostly had a problem with accent and not grammar and vocabulary and not with basic sentence formation.

And then we have this joker Bilawal whose own supporter Shirin couldn't stop from hiding her embarrassment and contempt for his "Urdu". At least learn the language of the people you're trying to loot boy.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">For those mocking Imran Khan for his little fumble during the oath speech, let me tell you that he is the first prime minister in 20 years to take his oath Urdu. Nawaz Sharif and even Musharraf took their oaths in English. This is a moment of pride.</p>— Tallie Dar (@talliedar) <a href="https://twitter.com/talliedar/status/1030904349457768448?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 18, 2018</a></blockquote>

LAHORE/ISLAMABAD:
The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) on Friday lashed back at Prime Minister Imran Khan’s fresh embrace of attack on the political rivals, accusing the latter of “peddling” same trite rallying cries and hurling epithets against rivals.

The prime minister had earlier on Friday admitted that allowing former premier Nawaz Sharif to go abroad for medical treatment was the biggest mistake of his government. Addressing a public gathering in Mandi Bahauddin, PM Imran referred to the opposition leaders as a “gang of thieves and a bouquet of dacoits”.

“They want to topple the government through no-confidence motion soon so that they may save themselves just like they did during Musharraf’s tenure,” Imran said. “It’s my message to Sharif family today,” he said, whatever you do, we are ready for that; Kaptan [captain, a reference to himself] is ready for all your plans”. “You will not just be defeated but go to jails,” Imran claimed.

Speaking to The Express Tribune, PML-N Punjab President Rana Sanaullah said that PM Imran was rehashing and parroting the same old speech he used to deploy during his container days of 2014.

The PML-N leader said calling opposition leaders names was akin to disgracing his own stature as head of state. “It is unbecoming of a head of state to call national level leaders absconders.”

Sanaullah said the premier’s address at the rally betrayed the panic in the PM house.

“PDM’s announcement to bring no-confidence motion has visibly shaken Imran and PTI which is why they are forking out billions of rupees to their MNAs in the name of development funds,” he alleged.

Asked about the timeframe of their no-confidence move, Sanaullah said the further the better, adding the opposition would first want to muster the required support needed to pass the no-confidence motion.

When asked to respond about reports of a committee being formed in Punjab to work out a plan for a no-confidence motion in Punjab, he said that he was not at liberty to say anything about the committee, but he said that he can confirm that PMLN was indeed working on their plan for a no-confidence motion in Punjab.

Senior Vice President Shahid Khaqan Abbassi said Prime Minister Imran Khan does not have any place to hide. He said people are not ready to attend his rallies.

Reacting to the premier’s Mandi Bahaudin rally, he said, "Nowhere in the world has it ever happened that the price of petrol shoots up by Rs12 but the army of ministers and advisors of the federal government does not even talk about it.”

He went on to claim that people these days were missing the rule of Nawaz Sharif. "Nawaz Sharif has never used any foul word for anyone. To a question about the no-confidence motion, he said move will surely succeed.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2344286/opp-slams-pm-for-hurling-foul-language