How long before the PCB run out of patience with the Misbah/Waqar partnership?

Savak

World Star
The PCB already fired Azhar Ali as test captain after one year because his captaincy on the tour to England was beyond pathetic and they were not going to let his acha bacha, obedient, polite nature pollute their decision making that he was not the right fit for the job.

Misbah has already had the CS taken away from him and hence his pay has been adjusted. How long will the PCB tolerate his directionless coaching and team planning for Pakistan because under his tenure we have lost in England, Australia and are now looking down the barrel. Does anyone in the team management bother to do any homework on the pitches, boundaries or the opposition players?

Less said about Waqar the better, under his watch we have seen the following

- Not a single Pakistani bowler opted to bowl around the wicket to David Warner in Australia which was shocking because in the previous series Stuart Broad tortured him by dismissing him in the slips, caught behind from around the wicket. Making Labuschane looking like the second coming of Don Bradman whereas the Indians have exposed him brutally so far

- Not a single bowler bothered to pepper Chris Woakes with bouncers early on in his innings even though Woakes was known to have a problem against the short pitched deliveries.

- Haven't really seen any of the younger bowlers really develop under Waqar's watch, Naseem Shah had a shocking tour of England, Shaheen was already on the upswing before Waqar took charge and he still bowls hot and cold, Musa is still a scattergun, Haris Rauf is a scattergun, Wahab is a scattergun. Hasnain has a 5 wicket haul but it came against Zimbabwe

Don't really know where the team is going in general under the present team management, it appears everyone is just happy to collect a nice paycheque

Hopefully Wasim Khan does not tolerate Misbah's nice guy antics for long and actually takes him to account for the teams performances.

Data. All our problems can be solved with data, even if our bowling coach is a microwave.

I remember the times when Pakistan used to treat playing in New Zealand like match practice. They would be one sided matches.
How times have changed.

Unless Pakistani batsmen develop aggression there will be no progress. Looks like the section on "batting strike rate" is not present in PCB's coaching manual. This is not a new problem, it has been around for about 15-20 years.

PCB and Arsenal football club are “cut from the same cloth”.

They will not change them until 2022 group stage exit in Australia

Waqar coached pakistan 5 times, how on earth he is with the team after failing 5 times as coach. Shaheen was on an upswing and now he is inconsistent.

Regarding Misbah, we are back in the 2013-2015 phase, where we’re really really sucked. Defensive mindset made us lose games time and again and this is no different. Where is Strategy from Misbah when we can’t even get a breakthrough in this game? Also what’s up with playing exactly the same team when you have 25 players.
Pakistan was #1 team with sarfaraz as captain before Misbah took over. Misbah dropped sarfaraz and made us think he is the problem. We know where the problem is now.

Please kick Misbah out so save pakistan cricket. Coaches like him will give u failures time and again.

Misbah became cricket committee head and axed mickey arther and himself became coach.

You can't belame youngsters he as coach pressurize them to play like he did and bowl line and length amd not try anything.

Get a foreign coach if youngsters don't perform i willl accept that they aren't good enough

As soon as Misbah took over we have seen the downfall it will keep on continuing untill we keep getting humiliated .

The PCB already fired Azhar Ali as test captain after one year because his captaincy on the tour to England was beyond pathetic and they were not going to let his acha bacha, obedient, polite nature pollute their decision making that he was not the right fit for the job.

Misbah has already had the CS taken away from him and hence his pay has been adjusted. How long will the PCB tolerate his directionless coaching and team planning for Pakistan because under his tenure we have lost in England, Australia and are now looking down the barrel. Does anyone in the team management bother to do any homework on the pitches, boundaries or the opposition players?

Less said about Waqar the better, under his watch we have seen the following

- Not a single Pakistani bowler opted to bowl around the wicket to David Warner in Australia which was shocking because in the previous series Stuart Broad tortured him by dismissing him in the slips, caught behind from around the wicket. Making Labuschane looking like the second coming of Don Bradman whereas the Indians have exposed him brutally so far

- Not a single bowler bothered to pepper Chris Woakes with bouncers early on in his innings even though Woakes was known to have a problem against the short pitched deliveries.

- Haven't really seen any of the younger bowlers really develop under Waqar's watch, Naseem Shah had a shocking tour of England, Shaheen was already on the upswing before Waqar took charge and he still bowls hot and cold, Musa is still a scattergun, Haris Rauf is a scattergun, Wahab is a scattergun. Hasnain has a 5 wicket haul but it came against Zimbabwe

Don't really know where the team is going in general under the present team management, it appears everyone is just happy to collect a nice paycheque

Hopefully Wasim Khan does not tolerate Misbah's nice guy antics for long and actually takes him to account for the teams performances.

Don't think Wasim Khan has any power over Misbah. Misbah has great influence on Mani and IK.

Well a lot has been said about accountability in PCB, they need to practically show it when it comes to national team as well. Pak has been ordinary in white ball cricket for sometime and under current coaching setup it has only deteriorated while test cricket against decent sides has been poor as well.

Around 1.5 years have passed and there is no progress to show at all.

You can’t relay Data to guys who struggle to read properly

Yes you can. You need a good intermediary - that’s the data analyst’s job.

Naseem Shah doesn’t need to know that Chris Woakes has a 0.87 false shot percentage against the short ball. He just needs to be told that Woakes is weak against bouncers.

The coach doesn’t need to be told by the analyst that Khushdil has a dot ball percentage of 0.94 against length balls on the 5th stump line. The analyst should ensure the selector never passes Khushdil on to the coach at all until he has developed his offside game.

Shaheen doesn’t need to know that Stuart Broad dismissed Warner x times with a certain type of delivery. He just needs to know what kind of delivery Warner is susceptible to.

Data is king. Stop blaming Misbah for making stupid decisions and start blaming Misbah for not using data to guide those decisions.

Waqar is proven failure don't know why they get him again and again.
How come they sacked a good coach like Micky , I can't believe

A DATA DRIVEN construction of the T20 team:

1. Fakhar Zaman
2. Babar Azam (c)
3. Haider Ali
4. Mohammad Hafeez
5. Shadab Khan
6. Iftikhar Ahmed
7. Imad Wasim
8. Azam Khan (wk)
9. Hassan Ali
10. Shaheen Afridi
11. Haris Rauf

Shaheen Shah hasn't really justified his Cat A contract has he.

Pakistan hasn't lost these T20 matches because of Babar's absence. It was bound to happen. When you have players like Rizwan and Khushdil who play 20 balls and barely hit strike rate of 100 there is a huge problem. It is not just a problem with these players - on another day it would be other batsmen. It might be Babar himself. The problem is with the team's mindset.

You could see this mindset even in some matches vs Zimbabwe, where Pakistani batsmen were giving too much respect to unknown bowlers.

Naseem Shah doesn’t need to know that Chris Woakes has a 0.87 false shot percentage against the short ball. He just needs to be told that Woakes is weak against bouncers.

The coach doesn’t need to be told by the analyst that Khushdil has a dot ball percentage of 0.94 against length balls on the 5th stump line. The analyst should ensure the selector never passes Khushdil on to the coach at all until he has developed his offside game.

Shaheen doesn’t need to know that Stuart Broad dismissed Warner x times with a certain type of delivery. He just needs to know what kind of delivery Warner is susceptible to.

Data is king. Stop blaming Misbah for making stupid decisions and start blaming Misbah for not using data to guide those decisions.

Bro I have a hunch that the data is all there. They all have their worksheets and plans. The execution however....

One shot, one six or one misfield can upset everything. The other issue is the ego nearly all of them possess. They don’t want to know, learn cricket from Data Analysts. They want to learn it from “Legends” like “Wasim bhai” and “Waqar Bhai”. It nearly cost Grant Flower his life relaying Data to the great Younis Khan.

Culture change first and then Data can actually matter.

Pak really hasnt adapted to modern requirements of cricket. They need to hire overseas professionals to maybe implement that at all levels as other than maybe a coach or two others wont even be receptive and have much knowledge.

Surprisingly there are analysts with the team, not sure what exactly is their job is when Pak is not even implementing information available to fans as well.

Bro I have a hunch that the data is all there. They all have their worksheets and plans. The execution however....

One shot, one six or one misfield can upset everything. The other issue is the ego nearly all of them possess. They don’t want to know, learn cricket from Data Analysts. They want to learn it from “Legends” like “Wasim bhai” and “Waqar Bhai”. It nearly cost Grant Flower his life relaying Data to the great Younis Khan.

Culture change first and then Data can actually matter.

Hence, bring in a data-friendly coach. There are a lot of them these days.

Pak really hasnt adapted to modern requirements of cricket. They need to hire overseas professionals to maybe implement that at all levels as other than maybe a coach or two others wont even be receptive and have much knowledge.

Surprisingly there are analysts with the team, not sure what exactly is their job is when Pak is not even implementing information available to fans as well.

These analysts are third rate. I have been observing their progress for two years now and they are utterly mediocre compared to the kind of setup CricViz has.

Really surprising how Wasim Khan hasnt looked into the data analytics aspect much and implemented it to all levels or atleast at top level.

Another problem is if Waqar can get a job after failing 5 times , Misbah can do the same as well...

Just like the TTFs in players in Pakistan Waqar has started the new trend for coaches.

I’m sure these two will come again when the team is on an upward progress to try out their failed old methods again and it goes in a circle.

Really surprising how Wasim Khan hasnt looked into the data analytics aspect much and implemented it to all levels or atleast at top level.

Wasim Khan isn’t a bold administrator and relies heavily on Imran Khan to make the big calls. Let’s be honest, whilst the man is the best professional we can hope for...he is a yes man, and is only there to approve what Imran Khan wants.

There will be no great improvements even if another coach came in. Too much emphasis is put on the coach, whereas in cricket its the captain that will make a difference. I expected little for the shorter formats but if we are losing tests and then we have serious thinking to do.

Another problem is if Waqar can get a job after failing 5 times , Misbah can do the same as well...

Just like the TTFs in players in Pakistan Waqar has started the new trend for coaches.

I’m sure these two will come again when the team is on an upward progress to try out their failed old methods again and it goes in a circle.

This.

We will never see the end of Misbah

Its gonna take a humiliating ICC tournament defeat till we change this management.

Only thing that can change our fate

Waqar is proven failure don't know why they get him again and again.
How come they sacked a good coach like Micky , I can't believe

He is not either a good coach we got worst low in his tenure 2 time lost test series for proving his wrong to play 1 spinner as right utterly shamefull

Why was Misbah's appointment made in the first place? Why was someone with no coaching experience made to coach the nation's first team? This should be the pressing question.

In hindsight, Mickey was a more suitable option. Misbah is a disaster.

Are these the analysts who didn't have footage of De Grandhomme, who has played over 100 international matches across 3 formats since his debut 9 years ago?

This is what we deserve now as we sacked a professional coach and hired Misbah Ul Haq. As Ramiz says now we can only hope against hope that we'll win and play some fighting cricket someday under this management. Otherwise Losing is our destiny for now like that way it was mostly when Misbah played for Pakistan Team.

I don't think board will ever realise this otherwise nobody in this world will hire Misbah Ul Haq as a coach.

Wasim Khan should be sacked first. This guy is nothing but puppet and don't have any power to exercise. Why waste millions of $ for a puppet?

Do people now see why I defended Mickey Arthur ?

This clueless combination of Misbah and Waqar has taken white ball teams back to dark days of 2014-16. They don't know requirements of modern game.

They never bothered with data when they were playing so why would they use it as coaches ?

Wasim Khan should be sacked first. This guy is nothing but puppet and don't have any power to exercise. Why waste millions of $ for a puppet?

If he starts saying no to Imran Khan, he'd be sent packing.

He's done wonders, with the Women's game, relations with top boards (besides BCCI), bringing teams at home, broadcast deal, getting better domestic structure and getting it televised, forming cricket committee, etc. There are certain things he would not object to if they come right from the top

Waqar is not going away in the next century or so. In the last 10 years, he has been fired thrice and then brought back again to take the charge. This is madness!

All you guys going on about data, even if we had data I am absolutely certain we would have no clue how to use it anyway.

But on the future of Misbah and Waqar, they will get until the World T20 at least. Then we have to hope Wasim Khan is not too stubborn. Admits that he was wrong and sacks Misbah and Waqar.

Waqar is not going away in the next century or so. In the last 10 years, he has been fired thrice and then brought back again to take the charge. This is madness!

He was coach now he is bowling coach. Its like President becoming secretary after the end of his presidency. He really is desperate for power.

Are these the analysts who didn't have footage of De Grandhomme, who has played over 100 international matches across 3 formats since his debut 9 years ago?

Probably.

My answer leads to my next criticism — there’s barely any info, transparency, or track record on our data team. So... probably.

All you guys going on about data, even if we had data I am absolutely certain we would have no clue how to use it anyway.

But on the future of Misbah and Waqar, they will get until the World T20 at least. Then we have to hope Wasim Khan is not too stubborn. Admits that he was wrong and sacks Misbah and Waqar.

It doesn’t work like that. There are two components to a data analytics process.

1. The data analyst. The mathematician, the statistician, the video footage analyst. All they need to do is do their job and relay the numbers to the head coach. “Hey Andy, Woakes’s top two weaknesses are a 0.86 false shot percentage against the short ball and we’ve also found that if you cramp him for room by bowling at his body, he has a balls per boundary ratio of 63.”

2. The head coach. “Hey Abdullah, run up to the boundary and tell Shaheen that the best bet is to target Woakes with the short ball. Tell Azhar to bring Naseem on in a bit too once he’s rested.”

Lo and behold, there’s your first Test series victory in England since *checks watch*.

Still remember the disaster of WC 2015 when ODI debutants were sent with the squad and represented our bowling. Yasir Shah was taken just because Mushtaq Ahmed was part of 92. Younis Khan was selected because he threatened the PCB. Despite poor show, Jamshed was persisted with and kept failing with both bat and in the field.

I wouldn't put too much weight on a t20 series loss...

If we get thrashed in the test series then that should be it for the dynamic duo

Look, we are all disappointed in how we're playing. Everybody here agrees that Misbah has not progressed the team at all. Waqar, except for Shaheens overall white ball performances, has not made a substantive difference on the other bowlers.

The team line ups are regularly debatable, and the coaching uninspiring. Data is great, but only if it's paired with positive man management and inspiring coaching. Case in point, Abdullah Shafique is the new whipping boy following his two ducks. But what did you as a coaching staff do to get him into a positive mindset where he didn't seem terrified of his own shadow?

And for all those saying that Misbah's appointment is on Wasim Khan? For all his terrific work elsewhere he needs to take a decision on Misbah (and Waqar) sooner rather than later.

Firing Misbah won't make Pakistan worldbeaters overnight, but at the very least, it may InshAllah stop the complete stagnation in place right now

This.

We will never see the end of Misbah

Misbah and Waqar - out to ruin Pakistan cricket.

PCB loves them, not sure why. They have no performances, yet keep coming back in one capacity or another.

Please let's get rid of them

Firstly, Wasim Khan is incompetent who has completely goofed up on this front.

He allowed Misbah to be part of the panel that decided Mickey’s future and then handed the same job to him on a platter before advertising the role on PCB website.

He then did the dual role drama and called it a “necessary innovation”, only to trash that necessary innovation after 12 months because Misbah wasn’t comfortable doing both jobs at the same.

He then politely asked Misbah to pick between head coach and chief selector and he picked head coach because it is more lucrative.

Meanwhile, Wasim Khan never explained to the public and to the media why Misbah was retained as coach and removed as selector and why wasn’t it vice versa.

In other words, what qualities did Misbah show as coach that he failed to show as selector?

By only trying one person in the dual role and scrapping it to suit Misbah, we never found out if the dual role was the problem or if Misbah was the problem.

If Wasim was competent and professional, he would have gone through 2-3 different people in the dual role which would have revealed if the system works or not.

He also has no stomach to bear with criticism and thought he would be welcomed with open arms from all quarters because he played the “I left England to help Pakistan” card and speaks a fancy British accent.

No wonder he is planning to go back to England soon when his contract expires next year. He is a weak and confused administrator with low intelligence.

I wouldn't put too much weight on a t20 series loss...

If we get thrashed in the test series then that should be it for the dynamic duo

Agreed. Though I can't see anything other than a thrashing in the Tests, so they better start packing their bags please

Secondly, Pakistan’s problems run deeper than Misbah. Sure Misbah should be walking a tightrope now because this is a result oriented business, but having said that, the Pakistani coach and selector are impossible jobs because there is no talent in Pakistan.

It is not a problem to have no talent but the issue is that fan and media expectations are very high.

We are a deluded nation that cannot accept the reality of where we stand as a cricket nation and where we are heading.

Wasim Khan is basically a sycophant. That is how he rose through the ranks in ECB and that is how he got picked by Imran Khan for this job.

Secondly, Pakistan’s problems run deeper than Misbah. Sure Misbah should be walking a tightrope now because this is a result oriented business, but having said that, the Pakistani coach and selector are impossible jobs because there is no talent in Pakistan.

It is not a problem to have no talent but the issue is that fan and media expectations are very high.

We are a deluded nation that cannot accept the reality of where we stand as a cricket nation and where we are heading.

There’s talent, but the talent gets over looked because the management want a player with 1% body fat, 6 pack, and all the other non essential crap. It’s T20 cricket, players aren’t running around for 90 mins like footballers.

Misbah doesn’t seem to understand that, he hold fitness higher than talent.

There’s talent, but the talent gets over looked because the management want a player with 1% body fat, 6 pack, and all the other non essential crap. It’s T20 cricket, players aren’t running around for 90 mins like footballers.

Misbah doesn’t seem to understand that, he hold fitness higher than talent.

Umar Akmal has a problem with his brain and it will be revealed if he gets an MRI scan.

Unfortunately in Pakistan, mental health issues are largely ignored and brushed aside as bad attitude.

I must admit I wonder if other coaches could get much more out of the current group of players.

I think we need to realise that most of our players are pretty average cricketers and as a team we are pretty average in all formats.

Umar Akmal has a problem with his brain and it will be revealed if he gets an MRI scan.

Unfortunately in Pakistan, mental health issues are largely ignored and brushed aside as bad attitude.

Umar Akmal could have cerebral palsy and he’ll still be better than Rizwan the batsman.

It is not 2014 anymore. Umar is history, we need to move on.

He got two chances against Sri Lankan reserves last year in the home T20I series and he got golden ducks in both games. He has no one to blame but himself.

Right now. Rizwan is more likely to score more runs than Umar.

I must admit I wonder if other coaches could get much more out of the current group of players.

I think we need to realise that most of our players are pretty average cricketers and as a team we are pretty average in all formats.

Our current lot of players almost won a Test series in England, with the difference being Andy Flower/a data analyst.

We’ve also been less competitive than we could have been — maybe wouldn’t have won in Australia, or in New Zealand either, but the selections themselves of folks like Mohammad Irfan were questionable.

We are indeed pretty average right now, but there is no reason we should not be more competitive. A professional setup is also what separates us from developing the next Babar or Shaheen. We need to stop looking for ready to go cricketers, and instead look for the right ingredients, grooming them properly from the young ages.

Look at Saim Ayub and Mubasir Khan. Their Indian equivalents are getting coached by Rahul Dravid, while they’re being coached by pretty much no one because they didn’t make the U19 team last year. Now they’re too old to play the 2022 World Cup.

If they were lucky like Huraira or Haider Ali, their batting mentor would have been Ijaz Ahmed — that’s the difference in quality as far as the system is concerned. If we want to start producing above average cricketers, we’re going to need to put in place an above average system.

It doesn’t work like that. There are two components to a data analytics process.

1. The data analyst. The mathematician, the statistician, the video footage analyst. All they need to do is do their job and relay the numbers to the head coach. “Hey Andy, Woakes’s top two weaknesses are a 0.86 false shot percentage against the short ball and we’ve also found that if you cramp him for room by bowling at his body, he has a balls per boundary ratio of 63.”

2. The head coach. “Hey Abdullah, run up to the boundary and tell Shaheen that the best bet is to target Woakes with the short ball. Tell Azhar to bring Naseem on in a bit too once he’s rested.”

Lo and behold, there’s your first Test series victory in England since *checks watch*.

Firstly, you can have all the data you want, but at the end of the day, the only thing that matters is execution in the heat of the moment.

The management can communicate to Shaheen that he needs to bowl bouncers to Woakes, but will Shaheen remember this information as he runs in to bowl? Even if he does, will he be able to bowl a well-directed bouncer?

There are serious question marks over the ability of our players to ingest and interpret information and feed it into their system.

Moreover, most of our players are short on skill as well and they are usually not able to execute what they want to execute.

This fancy data stuff won’t work for mediocre sides because it is no substitute for skill and ability to handle pressure.

In 2018, Mickey gave Faheem a long lecture on how to bowl to Grandhomme. After Mickey left to talk to another player, Faheem looked towards Sarfraz with a confused look and said:

“I understood everything else but what is Grandhomme?”

This is the mental level of our players. You cannot expect them to do much with data and analysis and all that.

Secondly, these superior sides are not sitting idle and waiting for Pakistan to get their hands on data analysis so that they can beating them.

If Woakes is weak against the short ball, the England management will take note of it and work with him. Considering he is probably smarter than most Pakistani players who have less developed cognitive abilities due to lack of basic schooling, there is a better chance of Woakes overcoming his short ball weakness than some Pakistani bowler exploiting this weakness with data.

That would take Wasim Khan admitting he was wrong after bending all the processes to get his man the job.

There's nothing to suggest that Wasim Khan is capable of admitting that he made such a monumental failure. We will have to wait until the time comes that Misbah's incompetence means he is literally being pushed out of the door and who knows how many humiliations we'll have to endure until then.

Epic wins against Bangla and Zim have helped stave that off for the time being i guess.

Both should be flunged out asap. Also, can somebody tell me what does Waqar actually do apart from getting sacked/resigning, getting rehired, getting sacked again, rinse and repeat.

The longer these buffoons are at the helm, the more time is going to get wasted which we can ill afford at this juncture.

Both should be flunged out asap. Also, can somebody tell me what does Waqar actually do apart from getting sacked/resigning, getting rehired, getting sacked again, rinse and repeat.

The longer these buffoons are at the helm, the more time is going to get wasted which we can ill afford at this juncture.

Waqar has made more returns to PCB than HHH and Undertaker returned to
WWE.

He is a gimmick that keeps coming back rebranded

Waqars failure this time is even more alarming given that he was strictly the bowling coach this time around ie he only had one job to do and ie strictly focus on the pacers therefore he cannot even use the I had so many other responsibilities card this time around

It depends on who u play and what role u assign them. It’s all about building the team, just look at what MA assigned Babar for t20s to open , ODIs no.3, Tests no.4 .. this is basically what I expect from a coach to build team and players according to their strengths suiting the formats.

If Babar was made to play at no.3 in all formats would he have that success he has now especially in T20s

Similarly he plugged the opening spot with Imam ul Haq at the top which literally shut the door for shehzad

MA was building the team very well, there is significant difference which is clearly seen now with Misbah in charge

I seriously doubt our players would process the information and be able to make use of it on the pitch. You have way too much faith in these players.

Firstly, you can have all the data you want, but at the end of the day, the only thing that matters is execution in the heat of the moment.

The management can communicate to Shaheen that he needs to bowl bouncers to Woakes, but will Shaheen remember this information as he runs in to bowl? Even if he does, will he be able to bowl a well-directed bouncer?

There are serious question marks over the ability of our players to ingest and interpret information and feed it into their system.

Moreover, most of our players are short on skill as well and they are usually not able to execute what they want to execute.

This fancy data stuff won’t work for mediocre sides because it is no substitute for skill and ability to handle pressure.

In 2018, Mickey gave Faheem a long lecture on how to bowl to Grandhomme. After Mickey left to talk to another player, Faheem looked towards Sarfraz with a confused look and said:

“I understood everything else but what is Grandhomme?”

This is the mental level of our players. You cannot expect them to do much with data and analysis and all that.

Secondly, these superior sides are not sitting idle and waiting for Pakistan to get their hands on data analysis so that they can beating them.

If Woakes is weak against the short ball, the England management will take note of it and work with him. Considering he is probably smarter than most Pakistani players who have less developed cognitive abilities due to lack of basic schooling, there is a better chance of Woakes overcoming his short ball weakness than some Pakistani bowler exploiting this weakness with data.

Basically this when it comes to data.

Writing tour reports asking the board to get rid of Shehzad and Umar Akmal.

We are average. I still think Azhar Mahmood got the better out of seamers than anyone did since 2007 maybe apart from Mohammad Akram with Junaid Khan in 2012-14.

While everyone is saying we need analysts and data friendly coaches, but can data help Abdullah Shafiq not play the shot he did yesterday? Could data prevent Wahab from bowling down the legside?
Can data teach a pacer to swing one back in after bowling 3 or 4 swinging away?

That isn't the company CEO's job. They've hired Grant Bradburn as Head of High Performance Coaching. It would be his job to look into this. Lets see what he does.

Lol at the people trying to convey that Shaheen and Naseem are some Alzheimer’s patients with amnesiac memory. They know what a bouncer is and they know what the short ball is. They can process that. It doesn’t have to suit your convenient worldview that Pakistan will always lose no matter what.

In modern cricket, information is key. Catch up or miss out. Some people, of course, are happy to keep missing out as it suits their critical agendas.

While everyone is saying we need analysts and data friendly coaches, but can data help Abdullah Shafiq not play the shot he did yesterday? Could data prevent Wahab from bowling down the legside?
Can data teach a pacer to swing one back in after bowling 3 or 4 swinging away?

These are different problems altogether.

People are expecting data to be a silver bullet solution to every problem in the book. That is incorrect. And it is a false equivalence to say “well, if it doesn’t solve EVERY problem, we might as well not use it at all!”

Data is integral when it comes to analyzing your opposition’s weaknesses. It might not teach Naseem Shah to bowl a bouncer, but if he already knows how to, it can help Naseem Shah be a little more intelligent about how he bowls to Woakes.

There are about 10 different things that need to be done in Pakistan cricket to amend the system. This is just one of them, not the magic cure. But it is the first of many steps.

That isn't the company CEO's job. They've hired Grant Bradburn as Head of High Performance Coaching. It would be his job to look into this. Lets see what he does.

I wasnt sure if data analytics at all levels is an area completely under Grant, if it is than fair enough.

Micky Authur was million times better than Misbah, still he was sacked. At least we won CT17 and did reasonably well in CWC2019

Do you really believe it was Wasim Khan's call or even Mani's? This came from the top as Imran is easily manipulated by ......kissers. This doesn't mean Imran wants something bad for the team or for the country but he doesn't have the novice to differentiate good people with bad. Till someone close to him convince him about incompetency of Misbah and Waqar we are to live with this nightmare for the foreseeable future.

A guy scored for 10 years in FC cricket after which he got selected to represent the Pakistan team. Yesterday, he came in at 30 odd for 4 and won us a game in NZ on tracks which the senior team was getting exposed playing T20s. The day Pakistan starts using data and analytics to pick players based on specialized roles the day we'll see some form of consistency. Micky made us into a consistent LOI outfit and he did that using metrics and running numbers day in day out.

He could've made more strides in the longer format had we given him the chance to fully understand the players and pool of players he wanted to pick (based on the direction he was aiming for). Right now we've essentially handed the team's charge to a guy who couldn't get the job done 4 times prior to being selected as the bowling coach currently and a bloke who fired the previous coach and then took over his job.

A guy scored for 10 years in FC cricket after which he got selected to represent the Pakistan team. Yesterday, he came in at 30 odd for 4 and won us a game in NZ on tracks which the senior team was getting exposed playing T20s. The day Pakistan starts using data and analytics to pick players based on specialized roles the day we'll see some form of consistency. Micky made us into a consistent LOI outfit and he did that using metrics and running numbers day in day out.

He could've made more strides in the longer format had we given him the chance to fully understand the players and pool of players he wanted to pick (based on the direction he was aiming for). Right now we've essentially handed the team's charge to a guy who couldn't get the job done 4 times prior to being selected as the bowling coach currently and a bloke who fired the previous coach and then took over his job.

At the end of Mickey’s tenure, Pakistan lost 24 of its last 34 ODIs including a 12 match consecutive losing streak.

And this happened 4 years into his coaching, which clearly shows that Mickey failed and whenever fancy stuff he was doing with numbers and metrics and all that was not working.

A DATA DRIVEN construction of the T20 team:

1. Fakhar Zaman
2. Babar Azam (c)
3. Haider Ali
4. Mohammad Hafeez
5. Shadab Khan
6. Iftikhar Ahmed
7. Imad Wasim
8. Azam Khan (wk)
9. Hassan Ali
10. Shaheen Afridi
11. Haris Rauf

Interesting. This is a good team. In what sense is it data driven? I don’t know whether the data would support Hasan Ali’s inclusion? Clearly the data would have to recommend our highest ranked LOI bowler. Also I assume the data would suggest that Azam Khan would have to bat above Imad Wasim if we consider s/r’s.

As soon as Misbah got appointed I knew Pakistan cricket will go back a decade. Don't even watch matches anymore until Misbah is removed. Funny seeing a guy who left us 7th in tests, 8th in ODIs after retiring being so highly regarded as our savior. An avg Cricketer and an awful coach.