How Pakistan can and should win in South Africa?

Nikhil_cric

ODI Star
The loss to BD should not come as a complete shock to most cricket fans.

Pakistan haven't done well at home since the mid 90's. In '96 , they lost a Test to an equally weak NZ team and in '98 they lost to Zimbabwe who have never before or since won a Test in a Top 8 nation in their history .

However, I can't think of a single reason why PAK can't compete in a place like South Africa .

South Africa have declined massively and barely have a batting lineup to talk of .

PAK have the tools to exploit this weakness. The first Test is at Centurion . A highveld venue which has a lot of pace and bounce on offer.

Pakistan have to play 4 pace bowlers to take advantage of the conditions.

In Southern Hemisphere , you need at least 2 tall quicks who can hit the deck and get bounce from a full length.

So Shaheen is an automatic selection. Next selection should be Mohammad Zeeshan whose real age is probably around 23-24 and ideal for a Test debut. But more importantly at 6'8", he can bounce the ball from 4m length from batsmen.

5'9" bowlers like Naseem have to be very quick and skilled otherwise they are completely useless in such conditions. He should only play if 6'4" Ihsanullah is not fit enough to be a 3rd seamer by then .

The 4th seamer has to be a seam allrounder and Aamer Jamal walks into this spot as he is the best seam allrounder in the world and lengthens the batting by coming in at 8.

The batting is bound to be weaker suit but the only real change is probably to replace 28 averaging Shan with Huraira and that is possibly the best lineup available .

On paper at least, this team should be too strong for the South Africans and PAK should start as favourites.

Talk about rubbing it in Pak ain’t won a session in SA never mind a test in recent memory. India still waiting to win a test series aswell.

India dont have quality 6'5" and 6'8" quality bowlers like SSA and Zeeshan. Also, no Test class fast all rounder like Jamal. That's why we couldn't win.

Pakistan can win nothing if the things happening in Pakistan right now continue. Pakistan needs a drastic overhaul.

Which players need to brought in after the over haul?

South Africa are not a great side right now and are there for the taking

Pakistan haven't done well at home since the mid 90's. In '96 , they lost a Test to an equally weak NZ team and in '98 they lost to Zimbabwe who have never before or since won a Test in a Top 8 nation in their history .

PAK simply can't dominate in home conditions for reasons that I won't articulate here.

However, I can't think of a single reason why PAK can't compete in a place like South Africa .

South Africa have declined massively and barely have a batting lineup to talk of .

PAK have the tools to exploit this weakness. The first Test is at Centurion . A highveld venue which has a lot of pace and bounce on offer.

In Southern Hemisphere , you need at least 2 tall quicks who can hit the deck and get bounce from a full length.

So Shaheen is an automatic selection. Next selection should be Mohammad Zeeshan whose real age is probably around 23-24 and ideal for a Test debut. But more importantly at 6'8", he can bounce the ball from 4m length from batsmen.

5'9" bowlers like Naseem have to be very quick and skilled otherwise they are completely useless in such conditions. He should only play if 6'4" Ihsanullah is not fit enough to be a 3rd seamer by then .

The 4th seamer has to be a seam allrounder and Aamer Jamal walks into this spot as he is the best seam allrounder in the world and lengthens the batting by coming in at 8.

The batting is bound to be weaker suit but the only real change is probably to replace 28 averaging Shan with Huraira and that is possibly the best lineup available .

On paper at least, this team should be too strong for the South Africans and PAK should start as favourites.
Brother Nikhail, I love you and you're a great poster but let's be honest.

Ik when someone is trolling and pretending to be humble. 🤣🤣.

Despite South Africa's batting being at a relative low, at home with the bowling arsenal they have, difficult to see Pakistan winning a test - be good to see a contest though, which Pak are capable of.

@nikhil, agreed on Jamal's selection, in red ball cricket, Naseem doesn't offer anything more/different - plus Jamal can be a menace with the bat. Salman/Jamal at 7&8 has the makings of a long-term combination. An in contention Abrar might change this however, if 4 quicks are to play. Ayub's offbreaks could be useful also.

Despite everything, Pakistan does have the makings for a decent to good test side:

Batters: Shafique, Ayub, Ghulam, Babar, Shakeel, Hurraira

ARs+W: Rizwan, Salman, Jamal

Bowlers: Shaheen, Zeeshan, Naseem, Shahzad, Ihsanullah

Shaheen and Babar have been disappointing of late however, this is a concern given their premier status in pak cricket.

Despite South Africa's batting being at a relative low, at home with the bowling arsenal they have, difficult to see Pakistan winning a test - be good to see a contest though, which Pak are capable of.

@nikhil, agreed on Jamal's selection, in red ball cricket, Naseem doesn't offer anything more/different - plus Jamal can be a menace with the bat. Salman/Jamal at 7&8 has the makings of a long-term combination. An in contention Abrar might change this however, if 4 quicks are to play. Ayub's offbreaks could be useful also.

Despite everything, Pakistan does have the makings for a decent to good test side:

Batters: Shafique, Ayub, Ghulam, Babar, Shakeel, Hurraira

ARs+W: Rizwan, Salman, Jamal

Bowlers: Shaheen, Zeeshan, Naseem, Shahzad, Ihsanullah

Shaheen and Babar have been disappointing of late however, this is a concern given their premier status in pak cricket.
Yeah that's my point. Jamal was the best seamer with the ball in Australia and damn good with the bat. He hits the deck hard and gets bounce. And can bowl even after kook ball has lost its swing.

I don't think specialist spinners will be useful because I'm not convinced PAK have any good ones, including Abrar

Centurion is a terrible pitch for spinners . And even Cape Town is mostly swing and seam venue.

With the loss against Bangladesh; the pakistan cricket team is again in the position where it becomes more dangerous.... The cornered tiger. And as it has been in the past, when pakistan e enters the cornered tiger phase, they punches above their capability.

So I believe pakistan can win against RSA.

They just have to believe themselves and have the cornered tiger attitude.

PAK simply can't dominate in home conditions for reasons that I won't articulate here.

The 6'8 giant and The generational talent Rohail Nazir must play.. SA is there for the taking.

Pak fans will do well to keep their expectations low. FOr instance if India loses a series in Australia i won't be dreaming about beating another team in another country. lol One is not a replacement for another. In Pakistan's case this is the 4th home series in a row and they are yet to win a Test. That is a far far bigger problem than winning in SA. Not winning in SA is no big deal.

Going to be difficult but not impossible.

If the Fab 4 clicks, you never know.

Bro you are causing a lot of Chaos here.. if you know...you know..
Naw, it's just today I've been a bit more jittery and chirpy then I usually am, but how can I not be?

My day started with that moronic javed miandad thread claiming babar is the best pakistani batter all time 🤣🤣

Yeah that's my point. Jamal was the best seamer with the ball in Australia and damn good with the bat. He hits the deck hard and gets bounce. And can bowl even after kook ball has lost its swing.

I don't think specialist spinners will be useful because I'm not convinced PAK have any good ones, including Abrar

Centurion is a terrible pitch for spinners . And even Cape Town is mostly swing and seam venue.
Jamal can be game changer. He's literally a player that the Pakistani system wasn't built to output.

Shaheen and Naseem are automatic given the conditions will be better for pacer. For 4th option Khurram is one. He gets good seam movement and lines. Performed in Australia too. Trapped Smith twice.

Another option can be Haris Rauf if he can agree to play red ball. He can be used in short burts because of his pace.

@Nikhil_cric nice threads, keep coming.

I also think same as fast bouncy pitch suitable for Pakistan pacers compared to slow pitch.

Dean Elgar retiring is massive for visiting teams to South Africa. He was the rock, the glue holding together that brittle line up. He was the difference when India toured last year and ensured a drawn series.

Pakistan have to exploit this opportunity.

Dean Elgar retiring is massive for visiting teams to South Africa. He was the rock, the glue holding together that brittle line up. He was the difference when India toured last year and ensured a drawn series.

Pakistan have to exploit this opportunity.
Yeah. Pakistan are possibly up against the weakest Saffer batting lineup since readmission.

Every time India goes to SA, we think this is probably the year but it never happens. SA somehow manage to pull one back. SA at home is not as strong as other teams but they almost every time have one good game at least. But again this time they don't have Dean Elgar who was the reason India lost the first Test, so maybe Pakistan does have a chance.

South Africa is going to blow Pakistan away with pacy, seaming, bouncy wickets and sorry, Pakistan does not have the pacers to take advantage.

Every time India goes to SA, we think this is probably the year but it never happens. SA somehow manage to pull one back. SA at home is not as strong as other teams but they almost every time have one good game at least. But again this time they don't have Dean Elgar who was the reason India lost the first Test, so maybe Pakistan does have a chance.

Even Sri Lanka have won a series in South Africa and we haven't.

Sadly, there are no test tours to SA lined up in the FTP. And even if one comes up later, I'm sure it won't be more than 2 tests.

India dont have quality 6'5" and 6'8" quality bowlers like SSA and Zeeshan. Also, no Test class fast all rounder like Jamal. That's why we couldn't win.
I see you are subscribing to the Junaids theory. Speaking of whom, where has he disappeared?

We don't stand a chance with our current team and even our best possible Xi will struggle however maybe with the right combination we can eek out a win just like Sri Lanka did

For that we would need:
1. Sharjeel/Abdullah/Fakhar
2. Saim
3. Saud
4. Omair/Saad Khan
5. Kamran g
6. Saifi
7. Jamal
8. Amir
9. Abrar
10. Hasnain/Dahani
11. Mir Hamza

Impossible line up but only one that could do something

We don't stand a chance with our current team and even our best possible Xi will struggle however maybe with the right combination we can eek out a win just like Sri Lanka did

For that we would need:
1. Sharjeel/Abdullah/Fakhar
2. Saim
3. Saud
4. Omair/Saad Khan
5. Kamran g
6. Saifi
7. Jamal
8. Amir
9. Abrar
10. Hasnain/Dahani
11. Mir Hamza

Impossible line up but only one that could do something
This is actually a gun team?

Although I'd swap the orders.

I'd play Omair at 3 and Kamran Ghulam at 4. Saud is fine at 5 in test because he's a gun player of spin and can handle the spinners on turners. Plus you need a solid contributor at the back end and I don't see anyone besides saud doing so.

As for opening I forward fakhar zaman in test but at the other end, maybe try Hurraira? Ik alot of people don't like him but to be 100% fair he has earned his call up given how he's performing.

The lineup you chose shows exactly what's wrong with our current setup. They have zilch vision on cultivating the future, Babar and Rizwan have an obsessive need to Shove their face in every series.

I already called it at the start of this series that Babar and rizwan will perform( I was wrong about babar) and fans will overhype them as if it's their shaadi and next wc you'll get another bashing of epic proportions.

Every team in the planet sends their b sides against other teams to cultivate the future and form a team. While pur fans and pcb have an obsessive need to make rizwan or Babar the shining stars while the rest of the team flops like a fish and people so bhrangra

This is actually a gun team?

Although I'd swap the orders.

I'd play Omair at 3 and Kamran Ghulam at 4. Saud is fine at 5 in test because he's a gun player of spin and can handle the spinners on turners. Plus you need a solid contributor at the back end and I don't see anyone besides saud doing so.

As for opening I forward fakhar zaman in test but at the other end, maybe try Hurraira? Ik alot of people don't like him but to be 100% fair he has earned his call up given how he's performing.

The lineup you chose shows exactly what's wrong with our current setup. They have zilch vision on cultivating the future, Babar and Rizwan have an obsessive need to Shove their face in every series.

I already called it at the start of this series that Babar and rizwan will perform( I was wrong about babar) and fans will overhype them as if it's their shaadi and next wc you'll get another bashing of epic proportions.

Every team in the planet sends their b sides against other teams to cultivate the future and form a team. While pur fans and pcb have an obsessive need to make rizwan or Babar the shining stars while the rest of the team flops like a fish and people so bhrangra
Wouldn't call it a gun team but it is the best we have

I think what's important to consider is Saifi as captain. During the 2017 CT he had a very inexperienced line up (Fakhar on debut, Babar and Hassan with 1 year of intl experience, Amir had just had his ban lifted and yet we won the tournament. This shows that his leadership skills are enough to get the best out of all players

Now with the line up I've selected their is plenty of experience in the form of Sharjeel, Kamran, Saud and Hamza who have grinded in domestics for years. Combine that with the raw talent of the others and I can see this team doing very well.

Regarding Saud at 3, imo it is paramount to have your best batsmen their in order to control the flow of the game. Ideally he would be batting at 4 but with Babar proving to be useless, I would rather take Kamran their and lessen his chance of facing a newer ball. Saud I believe has the skills to adapt and giving him the extra responsibility I believe will elevate his game

Wouldn't call it a gun team but it is the best we have

I think what's important to consider is Saifi as captain. During the 2017 CT he had a very inexperienced line up (Fakhar on debut, Babar and Hassan with 1 year of intl experience, Amir had just had his ban lifted and yet we won the tournament. This shows that his leadership skills are enough to get the best out of all players

Now with the line up I've selected their is plenty of experience in the form of Sharjeel, Kamran, Saud and Hamza who have grinded in domestics for years. Combine that with the raw talent of the others and I can see this team doing very well.

Regarding Saud at 3, imo it is paramount to have your best batsmen their in order to control the flow of the game. Ideally he would be batting at 4 but with Babar proving to be useless, I would rather take Kamran their and lessen his chance of facing a newer ball. Saud I believe has the skills to adapt and giving him the extra responsibility I believe will elevate his game
Sarfi's biggest skill that every captain especially Babar and Misbah lack is his ability to move on. This is something that people don't notice.

It is extremely difficult to be motivate and motivate a team after getting thrashed by your rival nation in the opening game. India murked pakistan once in Asia Cup and since then mentally pakistan has not recovered.

Yes pakistan in asia cup was weak however the players themselves aren't that bad that they flop against USA, The bowling and batting was average, right now it's awful and that's entirely due to the fear that India generated.

The skill of getting a thrashing and just being unfazed and heck even more motivated to win the tournament is something that extremely rare in a captain.

Very few captains like pat cummings, Epin Morgan etc can just shake it off like Sarfi could. But again rn you have a loud mouth clown(Shan) as captain and an effeminate male (Babar) as captain so what can you expect.

Pakistan players have very little talent. But Test cricket is declining everywhere especially South Africa so maybe they can beat SA with some luck.

South Africa surely hasn’t fallen so low that they would get defeated by this nikhatu side on their home ground.

That Burger dude alone is enough to dismantle all the burgers Pakistan have in their batting lineup.

I think it's a crazy idea to think Pakistan can win a Test match in South Africa. The South African team is so strong at home. Their fast bowlers are amazing and our batters can't handle them. Our bowlers also struggle to get their batters out especially with pace of 130 KPH lol

Oh they have. Their batting lineup post Elgar is utterly mediocre.
still they can beat this Pakistan side with their B side because atleast they have a better bowling combination and for Pakistan we have Babar Azam jis k pass "Data bohattttt hai"

It depends on how well Pakistan batters can play Burger, Rabada, Jansen, Nortje and Maharaj. SA bowling overall is very good but unfortunately Pakistan bowling isn't. So the series might be decided as to which batting team under performs. There is a huge gulf between the two bowling sides. Even better Pakistan bowling line-ups have failed to win a test SA in the last 17 years. The last Test win for Pakistan in South Africa was in 2007. They have won only 2 Tests and drawn 1 out of 15 Tests there. So I would still give the struggling SA the edge at home. Pakistan can pull one Test back if they play well but don't see them winning the series.

Let pakistan beat Bangladesh at home first then we can even imagine of pakistan beating south africa in away conditions. This team is not going to win any game. No hopes

BD beating PAK was a bit of a fluke. Rain , and threat of rain, forced Shan to declare early.

BD will be cut down to size in this Test.

Also, Pakistan pitches don't suit your fearsome pace quartet. They'll come alive on those fast, bouncy green mambas

Think title of this thread should be

"What makes Pakistan think they can win in South Africa?"

Think title of this thread should be

"What makes Pakistan think they can win in South Africa?"
An even better title would have been " Should PAK humiliate SA in SA and whitewash them or go easy with a 1-1 and let them go with dignity intact " :inti

BD beating PAK was a bit of a fluke. Rain , and threat of rain, forced Shan to declare early.

BD will be cut down to size in this Test.

Also, Pakistan pitches don't suit your fearsome pace quartet. They'll come alive on those fast, bouncy green mambas
Needs to be more subtle, lol.

PSL is the best fast bowling league in the world with most bowlers clicking 145 + . On SA pitches , they'll make batters dance.
Everyone knows the speed guns in psl were rigged.

I watched psl and if that's 145 kph aka what shaheen was bowling, then I live on a planet where I'm faster then Usain bolt

Is there anything in Pakistan that you think is right???

Shaheen does bowl with some pace in the t20s and most of the time he is 140+. Nothing wrong with the machines I think

The question is can this team beat South Africa??? I think NOPE... Chances are next to none.

Is there anything in Pakistan that you think is right???
Shaheen does bowl with some pace in the t20s and most of the time he is 140+. Nothing wrong with the machines I think

The question is can this team beat South Africa??? I think NOPE.... Chances are next to none.
is their anything in pakistan that you think is right?

Yes, Fakhar at opening in odi

So speed guns were rigged but Fakhar's performance was not mediocre???
Fakhar is like Ijaz Ahmed, Ijaz was also like this, in test he would switch off against every team except WI, Australia and England were he'd average 50 amd would smoke em.

In odi he'd usually switch off but would produce a blinder here and their like his 139 of 87 against India, to top it off ijaz also had am awkward and ugly stance.

However i didn't see you complaining about Ijaz? Where were your complaints then? The only difference is that falhar is a lone warrior while ijaz was privileged to bat with Anwar, Sohail, Inzi, Miandad etc etc.

Appreciate the guy who after psl saved you all from a humilating NZ 400 drs bash. Wo na hota to kya kartei?

They weren't rigged bro. Shaheen occasionally clocked similar speeds even this year in IT20's

Yeah. Pakistan are possibly up against the weakest Saffer batting lineup since readmission.
That may be true but they are still good players in home conditions. They may not necessarily have established themselves yet but Markram, Stubbs and David Bendingham can be the rock of South Africa's batting for years to come. Bendingham in particular is a very underrated player who absolutely murders short-pitched bowling.

Best Pakistan can hope for is to steal a close win. More likely outcome will be a drubbing where most Pakistani batters will struggle to cope with the pace and bounce, while the Pakistani seamers will be too wayward or inconsistent to make full use of the helpful conditions.

It's very common for bowlers to bowl quick in T20s (because they only have to bowl four overs) and bowl slower in tests because they have to bowl much longer spells and can't sustain that pace.

That may be true but they are still good players in home conditions. They may not necessarily have established themselves yet but Markram, Stubbs and David Bendingham can be the rock of South Africa's batting for years to come. Bendingham in particular is a very underrated player who absolutely murders short-pitched bowling.

Best Pakistan can hope for is to steal a close win. More likely outcome will be a drubbing where most Pakistani batters will struggle to cope with the pace and bounce, while the Pakistani seamers will be too wayward or inconsistent to make full use of the helpful conditions.
But Stubbs' reputation is based on league cricket. Bedingham destroys bowlers in County Cricket

Neither have done great at Test level and are every inexperienced.

That lineup looks very inexperienced and vulnerable .

But Stubbs' reputation is based on league cricket. Bedingham destroys bowlers in County Cricket

Neither have done great at Test level and are every inexperienced.

That lineup looks very inexperienced and vulnerable .
Stubbs smashed a triple ton in domestic not too long ago. That's what earned him a place in the test side. Bedingham hasn't played much but he's a good player.

On top of that, Pakistan's line-up has alot of inexperience too. Besides Babar, Shan and Rizwan, the batting line-up is mostly new. As are the bowlers.

The bowling may do well. Specially Shaheen and Naseem can comeback.

It is the batting that Pakistan have to worry about. The seam movement along with steep bounce will be very difficult to face.

The kind of form that Babar and Abdullah is in. I only expect Shan and Rizwan to do well with the bat.

Aamer Jamal can be of benefit if he can become fully fit by that tour.

The bowling may do well. Specially Shaheen and Naseem can comeback.

It is the batting that Pakistan have to worry about. The seam movement along with steep bounce will be very difficult to face.

The kind of form that Babar and Abdullah is in. I only expect Shan and Rizwan to do well with the bat.

Aamer Jamal can be of benefit if he can become fully fit by that tour.
SHan is gonna fail. as he has been doing since he made his debut.

With such a mediocre team we can only win a Test match on planet Mars where we won’t have to bother competing with anyone.

Well guys after looking what happened to this sri lankan team getting all out in their 40 people are blaming Jayasuriya for creating spin tracks at home that way sri lanka couldn't cope with sa pitches and pak is also coming from series win vs england in those spin tracks how difficult is it going to get for pak to change to these hard south african pitches plz discuss.

SA has very tall fast bowlers. THey are not short guys. That gives them an instant advantage over many teams. Especially Asian teams who are likely to be slightly shorter. When you combine natural bounce and movement they are likely to be more effective as they are used to hitting those lengths consistently. They don't have "floaty" bowlers like Asian team has. If i am right Olivier bounced out Babar Azam three times in a row.

Pakistan Fast bowling suks no chance of winning in SA add to it our batters act like jokers against short pitch bowling so alot of easy wickets for SA bowlers

Nah pak got actually good chance here with saim good at short bowling attacking opener with that you have spin attack of sajid and noman pak should fancy their chances
Doubt any of Sajid and Nauman would play. I think they will go with 4 pacers with Salman providing the spin option.

Probable pace options for Pakistan

SSA, Naseem, Khurram, Jamal

They are no world beaters by mean and also have fitness issue

Don't think Pak will lay a glove on SA will be similar to previous tours expect all the tests to end within 3-4 days.

The T20s and Odis they have a chance

Don't think Pak will lay a glove on SA will be similar to previous tours expect all the tests to end within 3-4 days.

The T20s and Odis they have a chance
Nope again wrong just because sri lanka is getting beaten doesn't mean pak will just need to practice on their pitches and game will be on.

Probable pace options for Pakistan

SSA, Naseem, Khurram, Jamal

They are no world beaters by mean and also have fitness issue
agreed they are no world beaters. But if our batting can put 300+ on the board, things could become interesting

Nope again wrong just because sri lanka is getting beaten doesn't mean pak will just need to practice on their pitches and game will be on.
Pak have never beaten Sa in Sa and I don't think that will change we had a much better batting and bowling attack on previous tours and still couldn't lay a glove on them.

Apart from that SL tour a few years ago which in itself was an anomaly, sub continent teams can never beat Sa at home, even the so called 'atg' India team hasn't won a series there what chance do we have😅

SA is probs the 2nd best bi lateral side after India.

They suck in world cups, however even in 2023 they bullied Australia into submission in the series prior to wc

Pak have never beaten Sa in Sa and I don't think that will change we had a much better batting and bowling attack on previous tours and still couldn't lay a glove on them.

Apart from that SL tour a few years ago which in itself was an anomaly, sub continent teams can never beat Sa at home, even the so called 'atg' India team hasn't won a series there what chance do we have😅
Bro i get that but we are forgetting noman and sajid contribution these guys are proper test players you never know.

SA is probs the 2nd best bi lateral side after India.

They suck in world cups, however even in 2023 they bullied Australia into submission in the series prior to wc
Bro i am getting this good feeling with saim kg noman and sajid pak actually has decent test players just need these guys to click on the day game will be on We should remember kg sajid and noman are proper test players.

If i rememebr right SA bowlers targeted pakistan batsman's body, heady last time.. sharing a piece from an article

Pakistan batsmen bullied by South African pacers​

"Olivier, Kagiso Rabada and Dale Steyn targeted the head, torso and fingers of each and every Pakistan batsman over after over. There was simply no relief. Fakhar Zaman, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam and tailender Shaheen Afridi were all bounced out."

Bro i get that but we are forgetting noman and sajid contribution these guys are proper test players you never know.
You think noman and sajid can bowl in tandem in SA😂 not a chance we got lucky at home vs England now we must face the bowling attack of SA

It will be a miracle if Pakistan even scores 300 in an innings

Pakistan also paid tribute to NBA teams in SA during 2013 tour , when they registered Centurion 49ers.

So no chance closely contested games will be enough in Tests