"I bowled Kohli in India in front of his fans so it won’t be a problem in England" : Junaid Khan

kukkad kamaal

"I bowled Kohli in India in front of his fans so it won’t be a problem in England" : Junaid Khan

KARACHI: Pakistan fast-bowler Junaid Khan has his eyes set on Indian skipper Virat Kohli when the two arch-rivals clash in their Champions Trophy opener on June 4.

While Kohli is one of the finest batsmen in the world, Junaid is understandably confident of dismissing the right-hander considering his track record against him.

“I have dismissed him in three out of the four matches we have faced each other. He is a brilliant batsman but he has failed against me,” Junaid told The Express Tribune. “I bowled Kohli in India in front of his fans so it won’t be a problem in England.”

Junaid feels he has the psychological advantage over Kohli and will be looking to use that to his advantage. It has been four years since the two last faced each other but Junaid believes he still has the upper hand.

“When I face him, I will consider him the same Kohli. I may be wrong but I think he will also think of me as the same Junaid that has taken his wicket before, which might make him go on the defensive a bit more and therefore lose his wicket.”

Kohli has never struck a boundary against Junaid. In fact, Junaid’s record is so superior that his arrogance seems justified. The 27-year-old Junaid has bowled 22 deliveries to Kohli, with the Indian star making two runs off him and being dismissed thrice.

“He has been hitting sixes and fours all over the world but none of them have come against me, which is an honour for me and I will try to keep that record intact in the upcoming Champions Trophy,” he said.

Pakistan has won four out of the five matches against India in which Junaid has played and the Swabi-born revealed he has been working on his swing to further improve on that record.

“I have been working on my swing, which is my speciality and my biggest weapon, since many of my seniors have told me that my swing has gotten weaker,” he said. “However, Kohli is not the only good player in their side and my focus will be on all of their batsmen. I have been watching their videos and have prepared myself to face them too.”

Junaid feels his experience of playing county cricket in England puts him in good stead. “I know how these wickets behave in this weather, so I know what kind of deliveries to bowl and how to bowl them,” he added.

The left-arm pacer also had words of praise for new ODI skipper Sarfraz Ahmed. “I have played two ODI matches under his captaincy against the West Indies and we won both matches, with me claiming three wickets,” said Junaid. “He is a good leader and encourages the bowlers to bowl the way they want to, while also giving his own input.”

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1420667/junaid-khan-confident-dismissing-virat-kohli/

"I bowled Kohli in India in front of his fans so it won't be a problem in England."

:))) :))), awesome by Junaid !

Got to admire the confidence lol.

Mamoons reaction to this thread will be interesting

Kohli has failed against all Pakistani bowlers. Junaid, Sohail, Amir etc.

I admire the chutzpah but Junaid should remember he won't have the benefit of seam/swing friendly conditions that we saw in India in 2012/13.

English pitches offer nothing for bowlers these days.

He was lucky to return to the national squad after failing in the domestic 50 over tournaments, and to keep his place for the CT despite doing precious little in Aus, WI and Pakistan Cup.

Excellent stuff from junaid this kind of trash talk is what make cricket matches a lot more exciting.. I hope Kohli answers him back with both his bat and his mouth..

Finally game on hai [MENTION=134981]Bhaag Viru Bhaag[/MENTION]

Excellent stuff from junaid this kind of trash talk is what make cricket matches a lot more exciting.. I hope Kohli answers him back with both his bat and his mouth..

Only bat no mouth. We know how kohli answers with his mouth. MCBC. Cricket is a gentleman's game. Let's keep it that way on and off the field.

Hahaha yea well kohli hai to dilliwala hi.. I wouldn't mind some MC BC fights on the ground either.. Passionate fights on the ground makes the match 10 times more exciting to me as a fan..

Junaid forgot that Kohli faced him last CT in England without any issue and India won easily

''Without any issue''.... He got out to Junaid in 3 out of 4 matches they played and has never scored a boundary off Junaid, including in CT in England..... Guy's a proper bunny to Junaid Khan....

I think this is good for India because kohli is active on social media and knows what others are saying about him. May be this will fire him up.

Used to be Tendu now it's Kohli to get cheap publicity and attention.

Will be taken to the cleaners, mediocre bowler these days, especially considering the pitches right now too

I would take this with a pinch of salt.
But again, i like this from the pakistan bowlers.

Lol

Sohail khan before WC 15: Kohli hoga apne ghar ka Kohli

Junaid Khan before CT 17: Kohli apne ghar ka Kohli bhi nahi hai. Kyunki maine usko uske ghar mei ghuske uske fans ke aage out kiya hai.

"I bowled Kohli in India in front of his fans so it won't be a problem in England."

:))) :))), awesome by Junaid !

Yes Junaid, that's the spirit 💪, show these indians we ain't backing down , hoping the boys finally come to fight this time

Worst bowler of the tournament, should have salvaged some izzat by not taking names of big players like Kohli.

He's going to get demolished.

why do the pak players always say something just do your talking on the field with the bat and ball, no point of saying something before, and than losing the match after, hopefully he does get him out early

Well if you get under the skin of Kohli, it can work for you or against you, Kohli however the batsman is not the same since he became captain...

Confidence is sexy in a world of haters and downers. You have to be your own uplifter and Junaid will do well with that attitude and self belief.

Junaid is easily the weakest link in this attack, he will go for plenty. Immature statement this sometimes i wonder how educated these clowns are. The conditions in India helped him greatly with swing and penetration off the pitch, doubt it would be similar in England. Even if it is overcast, he will be gun barrel straight like he has been for many years now.

As usual you will hear nothing from Kohli and co, they will proceed in destroying us on the field like they have done many times in the past.

It will be epic if somehow he gets Kohli's wicket in their next match. It's like Maven eliminating Undertaker from rumble match.

This dude was getting ruined by Tamim Iqbal and then was talking trash about getting Kohli out....come on man. Sit down. Be humble.

No harm in running your mouth, but he needs to back it up too.

And all those PP'ers who are denouncing his statement would probably like to go back to the "good boy" era of Misbah and Azhar.

Pitches are flat and if kohli gets back to form he is in for a customary phainty.

Gotta love Juni :))) , he essentially knows he'll be benched for the game since that is why he clearly gave these statements.

The bigger troll would be if we somehow manage to win by getting Kohli out on a cheap score. :P I'd love for Juni to come out and say something to the effect of....Getting him out was so easy, my services weren't even needed on the field. :)) :))

No harm in running your mouth, but he needs to back it up too.

And all those PP'ers who are denouncing his statement would probably like to go back to the "good boy" era of Misbah and Azhar.

Indeed.

Gotta love Juni :))) , he essentially knows he'll be benched for the game since that is why he clearly gave these statements.

The bigger troll would be if we somehow manage to win by getting Kohli out on a cheap score. :P I'd love for Juni to come out and say something to the effect of....Getting him out was so easy, my services weren't even needed on the field. :)) :))

I would like it even more if he gets him out on a cheap score and does an Ajmal-esque post-match interview saying "I Done" :faf

Like the jazba and iAllah Junaid will back his statements. However, I disagree with his idea that he has a psychological advantage over Kohli. I doubt Kohli will be under any pressure against Junaid or any bowler. He seems not that batsman to be psychologically affected by any bowler... except for Jimmy in England :jimmy

LOL kya baat hai would love to see virat smashing him all around the park.His career is going to end after match against India. Sheikh chilli ke khwaab hain junaid bhai.Bohut khoob

Our players talk to much. At the end of the match he will give away 100 plus runs in 10 overs

It looks like last ditch effort from Junaid khan to salvage place in playing 11 vs india.
It puts pressure on team management to select him irrespectve of performances in warmups.

I don't rate junaid highly but I hope he does really well if he plays the game against India, for Pakistans sake because I support the team. We need this kind of aggression back. I guess some people deserve our timid, boring, dry, friendly ODI teams under Misbah and Azhar.

The chances of him in the playing 11 is quite bleak, he knows that very well. He is trying to make a point here that he is the one who can stop Virat Kohli from scoring runs.

Junaid's stats in ODIs since his return to the team: 53-0-342-8

Average 42.75
Economy 6.45

Kohli will surely be shivering looking at these stats. :jf

Junaid's stats in ODIs since his return to the team: 53-0-342-8

Average 42.75
Economy 6.45

Kohli will surely be shivering looking at these stats. :jf

Why did you have to use that smiley.

Now, it bring back lots of memories and I'll probably be using it in every post. :jf

I think kholi will be under pressure some people saying too much against Junaid but who knows what happen on that day kholi is world class player but Junaid may get him out cheaply again

''Without any issue''.... He got out to Junaid in 3 out of 4 matches they played and has never scored a boundary off Junaid, including in CT in England..... Guy's a proper bunny to Junaid Khan....

Aane do series almost 5 years ago? Where the par score was below 150? Where even if MS Dhoni had bowled seam, he would take wickets on those pitches? That makes someone a bunny? BTW, that CT Junaid averaged over 100 with the ball. Look at Junaid's performance after that series almost 5 years ago and what Kohli achieved post that. Living in the past is fun but often leads to rude wake up in the real world

Yet the so-called swing king BK couldn't get even Nasir Jamshed out :))) :))) :)))

Par score was 150 for India, not Pakistan.... Thanks to Junaid....

Kohli must be licking his lips at the prospect of facing Junaid. Who knows, kohli might score his maiden double ton on the 4th of July. :yk

Junaid is only one part of our bowling attack. Our attack also comprises of Amir, Hasan, Shadab and Imad. The latter three Kohli or the Indians have never faced.

Please circle back here when Kohli inevitably fails to score a double ton.

Junaid is too over-rated. I can see Hassan Ali taking the Kohli wicket by clean bowling him with a reverse swinging delivery at 147 kmph, while Junaid will get targeted and go for 20 runs each over.