"I can become the all-rounder that Pakistan needs" : Hussain Talat

I wouldn't mind him being in national squad. Seems to have talent and can play the modern game.

today he scored 57*(46) batting at number 7 with the tail, to help the team get to a decent total of 233. Opened the bowling and did well too.

Should be opening the batting. Need to get him for Champions Trophy with Shizzy at the top.

Isn't he a top order batsman?

Yes, he can bowl and can be considered as allrounder but he is more of a batsman who can bowl few overs. I am afraid if start treating him as an allrounder and start hiding him at No. 6 or No. 7.

Today even with U23s he was playing at 7.

Isn't he a top order batsman?

Yes, he can bowl and can be considered as allrounder but he is more of a batsman who can bowl few overs. I am afraid if start treating him as an allrounder and start hiding him at No. 6 or No. 7.

Today even with U23s he was playing at 7.

the genius captain Rizwan, who is a walking wicket himself and failed to score runs in all 3 matches, is hogging the number 4 spot which is ideal for Talat

Rizwan now failing even against U23 bowling attacks.

What happened the so-called "best finisher in the country" ? A pathetic hack these days.

Rizwan now failing even against U23 bowling attacks.

What happened the so-called "best finisher in the country" ? A pathetic hack these days.

correct, he's failing against u23 sides of minnows.
he's not giving up number 4 spot for Talat and making him bat in the lower order when everyone knows that he's a middle/upper order batsman. Rizwan shouldn't get selected again until he performs extraodinarily with the bat in the domestic tournaments.

Hussain Talat impressing with a fifty today. He should be higher up the order not rotting at 7.

correct, he's failing against u23 sides of minnows.
he's not giving up number 4 spot for Talat and making him bat in the lower order when everyone knows that he's a middle/upper order batsman. Rizwan shouldn't get selected again until he performs extraodinarily with the bat in the domestic tournaments.

i know he is not doing it for this reason, but it works for Pakistan that Talat is playing at 6.

Right now Babar, Sarfaz, Malik are locked into the middle order. sarfraz would be batting at 4 if he wasn't accomadting professor. So that leaves openers and number 6 as the spots to fill. I think talat can do both, but we have far fewer options at 6. Like i said i feel its between him and Hammad for odis . In t20s we need both

i know he is not doing it for this reason, but it works for Pakistan that Talat is playing at 6.

Right now Babar, Sarfaz, Malik are locked into the middle order. sarfraz would be batting at 4 if he wasn't accomadting professor. So that leaves openers and number 6 as the spots to fill. I think talat can do both, but we have far fewer options at 6. Like i said i feel its between him and Hammad for odis . In t20s we need both

I was talking about the current tournament though, Talat's best position is number 4 and he should be utilised there instead of being used as a number 7 hitter who have to bat with tail. I agree that Talat can be used at 6 in the national side.
But realistically, Hafeez is playing both t20 and ODi, and he's not getting dropped soon neither he will bat in the lower order because of the seniority culture,he will keep batting at 4 sadly, that leaves Sarfraz at 6 which is not his ideal position. For now Fakhar should definitely replace Hafeez in the squad no matter where Fakhar bats, he'll do a better job than Hafeez at both batting and bowling, Talat can do that as well

I was talking about the current tournament though, Talat's best position is number 4 and he should be utilised there instead of being used as a number 7 hitter who have to bat with tail. I agree that Talat can be used at 6 in the national side.
But realistically, Hafeez is playing both t20 and ODi, and he's not getting dropped soon neither he will bat in the lower order because of the seniority culture,he will keep batting at 4 sadly, that leaves Sarfraz at 6 which is not his ideal position. For now Fakhar should definitely replace Hafeez in the squad no matter where Fakhar bats, he'll do a better job than Hafeez at both batting and bowling, Talat can do that as well

Talat was batting at #3 for ISLU, He should open.

Also if he can score quick runs, He will be critical.

that was t20, in list A his batting position was 4 and 5 in the recent tournaments

Doesn't matter, In Pakistan XI #3,4 and 5 spots are booked.

So he can only grab the opening spot, Should be able to do well there. Would be a waste at #6, Should replace Kamran Akmal who shouldn't be in the team except t20 maybe.

Doesn't matter, In Pakistan XI #3,4 and 5 spots are booked.

So he can only grab the opening spot, Should be able to do well there. Would be a waste at #6, Should replace Kamran Akmal who shouldn't be in the team except t20 maybe.

Hafeez sahab will play at 4, with Malik at 5 and Sarfraz at 6, openers are not getting dropped soon as well.
The problem is Hafeez sahab simply

Hafeez has been performing poorly continuously but one half-decent innings bring him back for next series. He only played one decent innings and whole PSL, got selected in the team and in playing XI as well.

bhai samjh nhi ata hassain ya roye

lol

although we shouldn't be hoping for someone's injury but Hafeez doesn't get injury much as well :40:

he had knee injury issues last year, let's just hope he gets a duck today and Sarfraz drop him for Fakhar

I was hoping he could be at 6 in odi , now that Umar is out. But clearly the selectors have something else in mind. This would have been my batting order for Wi and CT,

1. Azhar Ali
2. Shehzad
3. Babar Azam
4. Malik
5. Sarfaraz
6. Hussain Talat
7. Shadab Khan

the genius captain Rizwan, who is a walking wicket himself and failed to score runs in all 3 matches, is hogging the number 4 spot which is ideal for Talat

Not a fan of Rizwan, but in the last match he remained not out and scored a cameo at 150 SR, which was crucial since the top order had batted at snail's pace.

Try to be a little more objective.

Not a fan of Rizwan, but in the last match he remained not out and scored a cameo at 150 SR, which was crucial since the top order had batted at snail's pace.

Try to be a little more objective.

bhai jan 18 runs 150 SR se bna lena bari baat hai? record dekh lo minnows u23 k against so far

vs Nepal: 10(18) chasing 183
vs Hong Kong: 18(12) team total 327
vs Bangladesh: 12(20) team total 233

total 30 runs at an average of 15 and SR of 60.

Talat scored 57*(46) SR of 123 alone today, he would have scored more if he played at 4, instead of bradman Rizwan.

bhai jan 18 runs 150 SR se bna lena bari baat hai? record dekh lo minnows u23 k against so far

vs Nepal: 10(18) chasing 183
vs Hong Kong: 18(12) team total 327
vs Bangladesh: 12(20) team total 233

total 30 runs at an average of 15 and SR of 60.

Talat scored 57*(46) SR of 123 alone today, he would have scored more if he played at 4, instead of bradman Rizwan.

Talat had a 0(3) in the one innings he batted before. One fifty didn't make him a Bradman.

Talat single-handedly saved today's match by scoring a quickfire 57 and taking 2 important wickets, Rizwan has been a liability nothing more, Rizwan's innings are worst than Talat's duck because he now has a tag of "test player" and also played couple dozen ODIs.

Yes scoring runs is worse than scoring a duck. Ok thanks for your time.

I like the fact that how you ignored the first half of my comment, running out of excuses to save Rizwan and belittle Talat.
Talat would do much better than Rizwan with the bat if he's drafted into the team right now.
Rizwan is a joke nowadays

talat is great talent both with the ball and bat..rizo is out of sorts these days..

I don't doubt that. I have a problem with posters who try to big up a player by putting down another player and disregarding his performance.

Talat is indeed a good talent, but one good match and all of a sudden he is a world-beater for some folks.

I was hoping he could be at 6 in odi , now that Umar is out. But clearly the selectors have something else in mind. This would have been my batting order for Wi and CT,

1. Azhar Ali
2. Shehzad

3. Babar Azam
4. Malik
5. Sarfaraz
6. Hussain Talat
7. Shadab Khan

you do realise we cant draw odis right

It's great to see him doing well.

I hope he scores 50s in the SF as well as the final so that Inzi and co. can start considering him.

For what it's worth Inzi has definitely introduced some youngsters into the side. It's the fact that he also selects undeserving seniors that makes the squad look like diarrhea.

It's great to see him doing well.

I hope he scores 50s in the SF as well as the final so that Inzi and co. can start considering him.

For what it's worth Inzi has definitely introduced some youngsters into the side. It's the fact that he also selects undeserving seniors that makes the squad look like diarrhea.

final will be telecast i hope we reach and he scores 50 at least

Talat should have been on that plan to the Windies instead of failure Professor :facepalm:

Now they might induct him in the side after the series and he will debut in the Champion's Trophy which might be too much pressure for a young lad and a failure may cause him to be dropped

Talat should have been on that plan to the Windies instead of failure Professor :facepalm:

Now they might induct him in the side after the series and he will debut in the Champion's Trophy which might be too much pressure for a young lad and a failure may cause him to be dropped

100% agreed bhai jaan
Talat deserved to play at least ODIs but sadly Hafeez is preferred because of seniority culture

I don't doubt that. I have a problem with posters who try to big up a player by putting down another player and disregarding his performance.

Talat is indeed a good talent, but one good match and all of a sudden he is a world-beater for some folks.

and off the topic plz when will hafiz career end...this guy is a joke....talat should have been there in odi..

we need prayers Dr sahab, don't need medicine just prayers for Pakistan team to make sensible selections

Unfortunately until Inzi is there you will keep getting one TTF replaced by another TTF.

I fully expect a situation where Hafeez is dropped for his lack of performance and someone like a Salman Butt or Azhar Ali is called up in his place.

Unfortunately until Inzi is there you will keep getting one TTF replaced by another TTF.

I fully expect a situation where Hafeez is dropped for his lack of performance and someone like a Salman Butt or Azhar Ali is called up in his place.

There is still hope, my friend. :hafeez

I hope he bats well in SF and Final. However giving him debut in CL will be career destroying.
Lets induct him with Imam ul haq after CL for the future.

Talat should definately take Rizwan's place in SF an Final.
Hope Talat do not waste himself in being an all rounder ok in both, best in nothing.

took 2 early wickets today after opening the bowling, to put Afghanistan under pressure.
Also opened the batting and scored 37.
good all-round performance.
:razzaq

He was first spotted in a ramzan tournament in khi when he was 15-16. Than he was selected for Pak Under 17 I guess.

It's good that the system hasn't ruined him so far. Hopefully we pluck him out of it sooner rather than later otherwise he will regress like no tomorrow.

I demanded his selection the moment I saw him at the PSL.

He's special, but INZI the REVOLUTIONARY is destroying our cricket. Haven't seen a more incompetent selector in my life.

Hasn't really had a good chance this tournament, looks a way off Pakistan call up tbh

The way he batted in his PSL final showed that he has real class. He can be a brilliant player. It is up to him how far he goes.

Pakistan shouldn't forget Hussain Talat!

With this victory competition is getting tougher than ever before, players are going to cement their places.

Haffeez and Malik reaching their end, it's time we develop a lower order hitter and Hussain Talat is ideal for this place let's hope he performs better than any other number 6 batsman.

Fully agree

I know it's not his natural position but Talat will have better chance of breaking into the team if he targets the number 6 spot

And with Sharjeel coming back we might be able to play to modern cricket and now Babar has to establish himself against good quality bowling in seam and swing conditions because both Sharjeel and Fakhar won't be able to perform consistently if given some quality swing bowling.

not just Talat, there's still a lot of talent that can be in the team (Asghar, Fahim, Yamin, Sahibzada, Gohar, Haris...)

Here's hoping some of these bilateral series can be used to test more talent to get ready for asia cup 18 and WC 19

South Africa ODI tour 2018 we are playing with

Sharjeel Khan
Fakhar Zaman
Babar Azam
Sarfaraz Ahmed
Haris Sohail
Hussain Talat
Faheem Ashraf
Shadab Khan
M. Amir
Hassan Ali
Junaid Khan.

This is deep batting and 8 bowling options!! No off spinner though.

One of PSL matches he scored a good fifty looked like a solid figure and he gives you the feeling of a good striker of the ball!

Thanks. I've heard lot's about him, admittedly haven't done my research however- I will now. I just hope he has that energy and aura of Shahdab in the field too. We've all seen what energetic players, brimming with passion can do for the morale of the team.

Sharjeel Khan
Fakhar Zaman
Babar Azam
Sarfaraz Ahmed
Haris Sohail
Hussain Talat
Faheem Ashraf
Shadab Khan
M. Amir
Hassan Ali
Junaid Khan.

Azhar at 1. Malik at 5.

Yes he only played a 1 or 2 matches in the end for Islamabad in psl but looked great. One to watch out for!

Sharjeel Khan
Fakhar Zaman
Babar Azam
Sarfaraz Ahmed
Haris Sohail
Hussain Talat
Faheem Ashraf
Shadab Khan
M. Amir
Hassan Ali
Junaid Khan.

Like this team .

We have some really good youngsters coming up. Hoping the CT win lifts their standards and they work double on their game and fitness. Particularly I would like to mention Saud Shakeel , Saif Badar and Hussain Tallat.

Sharjeel Khan
Fakhar Zaman
Babar Azam
Sarfaraz Ahmed
Haris Sohail
Hussain Talat
Faheem Ashraf
Shadab Khan
M. Amir
Hassan Ali
Junaid Khan.

This assumes Sharjeel will be cleared. That aside, it might be a little risky to rely on Ashraf/Talat/Zaman/Sohail to bowl ten overs at this moment in time.

The future is actually starting to look a little bright for once! There's time for even more new talent to be uncovered before the world cup too.

In my opinion Azhar keeps his opening slot - even if Sharjeel comes back. Bring Fakhar at 3. Azhar has shown the importance of an anchor role when the others are looking to play their shots. As long as he works a little harder at his LOI game he can become very good by 2019, but we need to invest in him by keeping him in the team.

Very good talent. Hope he is in the squad in the neat future.

Give him 6 months under Arthur and he'll improve further. Mark this post.

This assumes Sharjeel will be cleared. That aside, it might be a little risky to rely on Ashraf/Talat/Zaman/Sohail to bowl ten overs at this moment in time.

That was the only worry we need a good off spinner right now don't know who yet, [MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] any upcoming off spinner we can rely on?