"I don’t understand why you have to eat things like bats" : Shoaib Akhtar angry at the Chinese

Former Pakistan fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar expressed his disappointment after the global outbreak of coronavirus impacted sporting events worldwide including the shortening of Pakistan Super League (PSL) and postponement of Indian Premier League (IPL).

PCB on Friday decided to hold the remaining matches of PSL in Lahore, including the semi-finals and final behind closed doors. The PSL matches on Friday were being held in empty stadiums.

The Board also said instead of the play-offs, the top four teams will now play semi-finals and then the final on March 17 and 18. The final was originally scheduled to be held on March 22.

“The biggest reason for anger is PSL… Cricket returned to Pakistan after so many years, the PSL was happening in our country for the first time now even that is at risk. The foreign players are leaving, it will take place behind closed doors,” said Akhtar on his Youtube channel.

Akhtar slammed the Chinese people for their eating habits and blamed them for putting the world in danger.

“I don’t understand why you have to eat things like bats, drink their blood and urine and spread some virus across the globe… I’m talking about the Chinese people. They have put the world at stake. I really don’t understand how can you eat bats, dogs, and cats. I’m really angry.

“The whole world is at risk now. The tourism industry has been hit, the economy is badly affected, and the whole world is going towards a lockdown,” Akhtar said.

The former Pakistan pacer also suggested a new law to stop this practice.

“I’m not against the people of China but I’m against the law of animals. I understand this may be your culture but this is not benefitting you now, it is killing humanity. I’m not saying you boycott the Chinese but there has to be some law. You cannot go on an eat anything and everything,” Akhtar added.

Coronavirus, which originated in China’s Wuhan city, has so far spread to more than 100 countries, infecting over 1,20,000 people. The total number of confirmed COVID-19 cases across India has risen to 82. In India, there has been two deaths along with 80 plus positive COVID 19 cases.

The remaining two matches of the India vs South Africa series, New Zealand tour of Australia and Australia’s return tour have also been postponed because of the virus outbreak.

IPL 2020, which was originally slated to begin from March 29 has been pushed till April 15.

“I’ve also heard that IPL has been postponed till April 15. The hotel industries, travel industries, broadcasters everything will incur losses because of this.

“God forbid the virus doesn’t reach India. There are around 130 crore people there. I’ve been in touch with my friends in India and wishing them well,” Akhtar added.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...us-outbreak/story-oZe93lTcuRyWhdPzudy4lI.html

Even in this emergency situation he is worried about India instead of Pakistan. This guy is a complete joke.

Because he thinks Pakistan with 250 million people are not at risk. India has 1.3 billion so he is more worried about india. Facepalm.

Yes, hate him for no reason. He already talked about Pak.

And he is IN PAK. He's just saying what he heard about a foreign country with his friends there.

Haters.

Problem with Akhtar is - he doesnt realize how the masses will take his statement and react to it.

What if there are hate crimes against the Chinese in Karachi?

Shabby bhai has given a phenta to all the bat eaters with his dalair comments. :akhtar

Problem with Akhtar is - he doesnt realize how the masses will take his statement and react to it.

What if there are hate crimes against the Chinese in Karachi?

Well then they would pay a hefty price for it. The Chinese are our masters and we cannot get away with hate crimes against them.

Dont think you understand the gravity of this.

I am talking about the Chinese from the 60s who are settled in Karachi etc. Newer ones will have to watch out also

Dont think you understand the gravity of this.

I am talking about the Chinese from the 60s who are settled in Karachi etc. Newer ones will have to watch out also

It doesn’t matter. They are still Chinese and the authorities do not have the option of ignoring hate crimes against them.

They have nothing to worry about as far as hate crimes against them are concerned. Our people cannot dare to touch them.

He had to somehow put India into this.

A truly shameless character. I thought he would tone down a bit after the humiliation from Sehwag, but this clown is something special.

Haha, lol, spot on comment by Shoaib.

"I don’t understand why you have to eat things like bats, drink their blood and urine and spread some virus across the globe… I’m talking about the Chinese people. They have put the world at stake. I really don’t understand how can you eat bats, dogs, and cats."

It doesn’t matter. They are still Chinese and the authorities do not have the option of ignoring hate crimes against them.

They have nothing to worry about as far as hate crimes against them are concerned. Our people cannot dare to touch them.

That's ridiculous. People dont work on what the government says - that's what mob rule is about.

Kindly keep your political leanings off this thread.

Shohaib is a real knucklehead. I don’t really understand why he can’t be more responsible with his comments that are surely going to be read by his more than 1m adoring fans (or passing online traffic with nothing better to do) he’s propagating stereotypes that borders on racism. He should be more careful.

As he purports to have such a huge following he should perhaps be saying that virus from animals frequently pass onto humans. Perhaps he could attack the middle east for passing MERS from camels to humans and suggest camels should be banned for both eating and consumption. Or swine flu so all swine eating countries can be blamed for putting humanity at risk. Or the British should be more careful regarding their cows for spreading foot and mouth.

If he had a little bit more intelligence perhaps he could point at the real culprit here which is live unregulated animal markets. But this is not unique to China. Hands up all of us who have been to a market , picked out an animal and seen it slaughtered right in front of us and handed over to us or our parents to eat at home.

But of course he loves India and the coolest thing he could say is look at the extent of vegetarianism in India perhaps that’s an example we should all follow and stop slaughtering animals for our consumption when there are perfectly good plant based alternatives. No meat, no killing, no new virus to worry about.

People are linking it to bats but there is no proof.Chinese have to stop eating bats and other revolting food.I have asked Chinese people why they eat wild animals,insects etc.Their answer is that in the past there were many famines in China and people started eating whatever they could find.They got used to it.China is not as poor as it used to be so they should stick to proper food .There is a reason why Islam and Judaism have strict dietary laws.

Changing an entire nation's dietary habits will take a generational shift.

Since this was the cricket section, I thought for a second he was on about cricket bats.

Halal food is the cleanest option In most abbotoirs
Also done in the quickest and humanest way possible

Shoaib needs to understand you dont need spicy videos everyday to increase followers rather different perspectives and new kind of content can also make people notice you especially now when he already has so many subscribers.

Are you guys okay? There is a very clear link between wet markets and the eating of wild animals in Wuhan and the outbreak of COVID-19 otherwise known as the novel coronavirus. Please do some research lol, Akhtar is absolutely right. Vox has a great video on YouTube on this if you want to get up to speed quickly.

His concern for India rather than Pakistan is a little suspect, but that is another matter. Better suited to discussing is attention seeking on another thread. But the fact remains he is completely right. The Chinese, and specifically the richest 1% who indulge in “delicacies” such as bats, snakes, bears, pangolins, and tigers, are 100% to blame as they are the reason these wet markets still exist. This is well documented. If you want to act entitled and as know it alls to hate on every cricketer talking about the virus, you could do some research before doing so.

This guy is so dumb. No one know yet it came from bats.

It does, its been traced back to bats. Its not clear whether someone ate bats directly, more likely another animal ate the bat and someone in Wuhan ate that animal

Nonetheless, racist statement by Akhtar - by Western standards at least. Sounds Trumpian here

It had to be someone with jazba and daleri to give it to these chamkaadad kutte billi ka ghost eating Chinese.

Well done Shabby.

No desrespect but for the sake of humanity th Chinese must change their eating habits.

With love

It does, its been traced back to bats. Its not clear whether someone ate bats directly, more likely another animal ate the bat and someone in Wuhan ate that animal

Nonetheless, racist statement by Akhtar - by Western standards at least. Sounds Trumpian here

Racist? Wild animals are held in cages one on top of another, each of them being drenched in each other’s excrement, pus, blood, and urine. There are very clear health issues associated with these wet markets and those in China (mind you, the top 1% and not the majority of Chinese, i.e still several 10s of millions of people) need to stop this. The government especially.

This is how SARS broke out two decades ago and it is how COVID-19 is breaking out now. They outlawed these wet markets after SARS and then made them legal again after some time to pander to the rich lobbies. It is not wrong to blame the chinese government. There is no racism involved here, just as it is not racist to blame any other government that is endangering the lives of its citizens.

Shoaib is not saying anything wrong barring the shameless mention of India in his video. Chinese have put the entire world at risk with their disgusting eating habits

He is correct this time. Calling Chinese people disgusting is an understatement. The world is suffering because of Chinese people.

Are you guys okay? There is a very clear link between wet markets and the eating of wild animals in Wuhan and the outbreak of COVID-19 otherwise known as the novel coronavirus. Please do some research lol, Akhtar is absolutely right. Vox has a great video on YouTube on this if you want to get up to speed quickly.

His concern for India rather than Pakistan is a little suspect, but that is another matter. Better suited to discussing is attention seeking on another thread. But the fact remains he is completely right. The Chinese, and specifically the richest 1% who indulge in “delicacies” such as bats, snakes, bears, pangolins, and tigers, are 100% to blame as they are the reason these wet markets still exist. This is well documented. If you want to act entitled and as know it alls to hate on every cricketer talking about the virus, you could do some research before doing so.

Lol are u using vox as a source lmaooooo

It came from a test facility in wuhan... its already been disproven that it started from someone eating a bat...

I agree they shouldnt be eating that shiiit, if u actually did some research and not watch a utube video you would know they dont actually eat bats in wuhan.

Lmao vox this cracks me up

😂😂 This is perhaps the first time I have seen a celebrity directly and bluntly attack a nation and community

he is an idiot, illiterate person. thre are many countries in that region who have wet markets and eat bat,snake type of stuff, its not only Chinese people....

he need to do some research before making videos for his favt "nation" .... otherwise, he will gt into trouble in future ....

This is what happens when you give an ignorant dehati a voice. This is nothing but just plain discrimination against the Chinese. If the reverse happened, everyone would be in uproar calling out racism etc.

Akhtar needs to be censored for these unfortunate comments.

He is wrong only because he is a celebrity. I have seen so many people saying the same thing. And they are not completely wrong. :inti

Lol are u using vox as a source lmaooooo

It came from a test facility in wuhan... its already been disproven that it started from someone eating a bat...

I agree they shouldnt be eating that shiiit, if u actually did some research and not watch a utube video you would know they dont actually eat bats in wuhan.

Lmao vox this cracks me up

Telegraph:
The source of the coronavirus is believed to be a "wet market" in Wuhan which sold both dead and live animals including fish and birds.
Such markets pose a heightened risk of viruses jumping from animals to humans because hygiene standards are difficult to maintain if live animals are being kept and butchered on site. Typically, they are also densely packed.
The animal source of the latest outbreak has not yet been identified, but the original host is thought to be bats. Bats were not sold at the Wuhan market but may have infected live chickens or other animals sold there.
Bats are host to a wide range of zoonotic viruses including Ebola, HIV and rabies.

CDC.gov (US government)
Coronaviruses are a large family of viruses that are common in people and many different species of animals, including camels, cattle, cats, and bats. Rarely, animal coronaviruses can infect people and then spread between people such as with MERS-CoV, SARS-CoV, and now with this new virus (named SARS-CoV-2).
The SARS-CoV-2 virus is a betacoronavirus, like MERS-CoV and SARS-CoV. All three of these viruses have their origins in bats. The sequences from U.S. patients are similar to the one that China initially posted, suggesting a likely single, recent emergence of this virus from an animal reservoir.
Early on, many of the patients at the epicenter of the outbreak in Wuhan, Hubei Province, China had some link to a large seafood and live animal market, suggesting animal-to-person spread.

BBC:
Pangolins and other wild species, including a variety of species of bat, are often sold in wet markets, he says, providing opportunities for viruses to move from one species to another. "Wet markets, therefore, create ideal conditions for the spillover of pathogens from one species to another, including to people."
The market in Wuhan, which was closed down after the outbreak, had a wild animal section, where live and slaughtered species were on sale, including body parts of camels, koalas and birds. The Guardian reports that an inventory at one shop listed live wolf pups, golden cicadas, scorpions, bamboo rats, squirrels, foxes, civets, hedgehogs (probably porcupines), salamanders, turtles and crocodiles.

—————————————
You are, of course welcome to subscribe to any conspiracy theories you want about labs in Wuhan.

What do you expect if you stick a mic in this guy's face? He was never the sharpest tool in the box.

Normally I don't agree with Shoaib but he is bang on re bats. It is clear and there is evidence that the first few victims of Coronavirus were people who used to work at Wuhan wet market.

I think we need to stop being diplomatic for once and look at the DESTRUCTION caused by this virus. Look at the death toll in Iran and Italy, old or not, no one deserves to die this way.

China as a country should be boycotted until they change their habits. I m a huge fan of Chinese tech especially their smartphones but from now onwards, I will be boycotting it.

Telegraph:
The source of the coronavirus is believed to be a "wet market" in Wuhan which sold both dead and live animals including fish and birds.
Such markets pose a heightened risk of viruses jumping from animals to humans because hygiene standards are difficult to maintain if live animals are being kept and butchered on site. Typically, they are also densely packed.
The animal source of the latest outbreak has not yet been identified, but the original host is thought to be bats. Bats were not sold at the Wuhan market but may have infected live chickens or other animals sold there.
Bats are host to a wide range of zoonotic viruses including Ebola, HIV and rabies.

CDC.gov (US government)
Coronaviruses are a large family of viruses that are common in people and many different species of animals, including camels, cattle, cats, and bats. Rarely, animal coronaviruses can infect people and then spread between people such as with MERS-CoV, SARS-CoV, and now with this new virus (named SARS-CoV-2).
The SARS-CoV-2 virus is a betacoronavirus, like MERS-CoV and SARS-CoV. All three of these viruses have their origins in bats. The sequences from U.S. patients are similar to the one that China initially posted, suggesting a likely single, recent emergence of this virus from an animal reservoir.
Early on, many of the patients at the epicenter of the outbreak in Wuhan, Hubei Province, China had some link to a large seafood and live animal market, suggesting animal-to-person spread.

BBC:
Pangolins and other wild species, including a variety of species of bat, are often sold in wet markets, he says, providing opportunities for viruses to move from one species to another. "Wet markets, therefore, create ideal conditions for the spillover of pathogens from one species to another, including to people."
The market in Wuhan, which was closed down after the outbreak, had a wild animal section, where live and slaughtered species were on sale, including body parts of camels, koalas and birds. The Guardian reports that an inventory at one shop listed live wolf pups, golden cicadas, scorpions, bamboo rats, squirrels, foxes, civets, hedgehogs (probably porcupines), salamanders, turtles and crocodiles.

—————————————
You are, of course welcome to subscribe to any conspiracy theories you want about labs in Wuhan.

Yes they were using bats to extract and expairiment... do a deepe dive then MSM...

The genome of the virus has been released, which contains an hiv varient that would only be possible with human intervention i.e created in a lab.

There is a lab in wuhan.

Wet markets need to disposed of because the risk is not worth the benefit. That too only the rich benefit.

Majority of chinese dont eat all these animals its the rich who do. As said in ur vox video lmao

Shoaib Akthar has a good point here. Also, I think he is entitled to his opinion.

Not all Chinese people are at fault but a percentage of East Asians eat highly dangerous foods. It is very dangerous for the whole world as we have seen with Coronavirus. There is also the topic of animal cruelty.

It is about time all cultures show common sense.

Yes they were using bats to extract and expairiment... do a deepe dive then MSM...

The genome of the virus has been released, which contains an hiv varient that would only be possible with human intervention i.e created in a lab.

There is a lab in wuhan.

Wet markets need to disposed of because the risk is not worth the benefit. That too only the rich benefit.

Majority of chinese dont eat all these animals its the rich who do. As said in ur vox video lmao

Yes and as said in my original post about the 1%. If you look at the numbers, this 1% is larger than the population of most countries (10-20 million) and there is therefore a huge demand for wet markets. Fact remains Akhtar is right about bats and pangolins. There is no racism here.

Would also appreciate if you could provide a credible source about labs in Wuhan. Most reputable media outlets have disproved this (with the only article i can find being one by the Washington Post consisting of *speculation*, and dated a month and a half ago). However i would be more than happy to read a credible article with evidence that this originated in test facilities. Ball in your court.

So many Pakistanis bashing Shoaib for this correct statement he has made.

Shoaib Akthar has a good point here. Also, I think he is entitled to his opinion.

Not all Chinese people are at fault but a percentage of East Asians eat highly dangerous foods. It is very dangerous for the whole world as we have seen with Coronavirus. There is also the topic of animal cruelty.

It is about time all cultures show common sense.

Replace certain words with 'Islam' and note how you will sound like a member of the far right.

Shoaib is out of order here.

Replace certain words with 'Islam' and note how you will sound like a member of the far right.

Shoaib is out of order here.

I have also attacked certain European food practices and African food practices on another thread. It was not just a dig at China rather it was a dig at bad food practices (doesn't matter whether Chinese or non-Chinese).

What’s wrong in what he said? He might be crude in the way he speaks but everything points out to the Chinese wet market as the origin for this virus. Have people seen the pictures of these wet markets?

Obviously you don’t expect Akthar to break it down at a scientific level but he is not that far off.

Seriously? People are Getting offended that so called good friend China is being “accused” here?

Shoaib was never the brightest person in cricket

Instead of attacking the chinese like a internet lout or thug to his fans he really shouldve been offering encouragement and advice on how to get through this difficult time

Hes exhibited his lack of education more than once over his last 25 years so nothing new here

Assuming you are a science expert, can you tell me the origin of this virus? Just curious.

I am not arguing about the science, just commenting on Akhtar's usual penchant for making crass comments. That doesn't mean this one in isolation either FYI, if you don't know his style then should best not bother.

He's uneducated and racist, I hope ESPN and all western base sports channels boycott him.

It had to be someone with jazba and daleri to give it to these chamkaadad kutte billi ka ghost eating Chinese.

Well done Shabby.

No desrespect but for the sake of humanity th Chinese must change their eating habits.

With love

They eat dogs in Korea and Vietnam, octupus and sharks in Japan. It's not just China.

video toh yunh banai hai jaisay yeh china ka president hai aur chineese lazmi vid daikhain ge

Racist? Wild animals are held in cages one on top of another, each of them being drenched in each other’s excrement, pus, blood, and urine. There are very clear health issues associated with these wet markets and those in China (mind you, the top 1% and not the majority of Chinese, i.e still several 10s of millions of people) need to stop this. The government especially.

This is how SARS broke out two decades ago and it is how COVID-19 is breaking out now. They outlawed these wet markets after SARS and then made them legal again after some time to pander to the rich lobbies. It is not wrong to blame the chinese government. There is no racism involved here, just as it is not racist to blame any other government that is endangering the lives of its citizens.

I don't disagree with anything you have said, but generalizing and demeaning an entire nation of 1.5B definitely has racist undertones, akin to calling all Muslims terrorists.

These types of statements have led to (in the US) Chinese people being harassed, even physically harmed in the last 2 weeks

The entire world needs to announce sanctions on these chinese if they dont change their eating habits

I don’t want to get political but it makes it hard for me to sympathise with China with how they are treating Muslims there ie placing them in concentration camps. If Chinese are saying that we should work together in this epidemic then it’s a catch 32 release the Muslims in concentration camps.

Fact is you must have a limit, why eat something that looks ugly???? Just go look at the clip of the girl eating bat soup and the guy eating live baby mice.

Pigs themselves cause tapeworm if not cooked properly. If that is the state of cooking pigs then what about these other wild animals???

My dad made a valid point on Jummah that what China lacks is religious values and that’s why this is all happening.

COVID-19 has been linked to bats and snakes as bats carry the virus and snakes prey on bats.

I know Pakistani's love up China...and Shoaib's tone is racist...but he's not wrong about the bats...

How many flus is it now that the Chinese have caused?...and it's pure selfishness on their part...you would have thought they would stop their wet markets after Sars...or at least ban the sales of bats but hey poor Chinese need to make a living and rich Chinese need to buy exotic animals to eat...

Sulawesi in Indonesia stopped selling monkeys at their markets because the government intervened...but of course the Chinese would prefer to blame the Americans and arrest whistleblowers rather than take responsibility or actually route out the cause of the mess they have created...again...

Sadly this isn't going to be the last time they have caused a flu...

Shoaib needs to understand you dont need spicy videos everyday to increase followers rather different perspectives and new kind of content can also make people notice you especially now when he already has so many subscribers.

I would agree with you if Kardashians weren’t that huge.

I know Pakistani's love up China...and Shoaib's tone is racist...but he's not wrong about the bats...

How many flus is it now that the Chinese have caused?...and it's pure selfishness on their part...you would have thought they would stop their wet markets after Sars...or at least ban the sales of bats but hey poor Chinese need to make a living and rich Chinese need to buy exotic animals to eat...

Sulawesi in Indonesia stopped selling monkeys at their markets because the government intervened...but of course the Chinese would prefer to blame the Americans and arrest whistleblowers rather than take responsibility or actually route out the cause of the mess they have created...again...

Sadly this isn't going to be the last time they have caused a flu...

You nailed it. Best post on this thread.

There is a serious problem in China and other East Asian countries. It is called wet market. Pointing this out is not racism.

When there is a problem, it is better to talk about it and fix the problem.

Shoaib isn't wrong but he isn't right either.

Issue is that there are many uneducated, racist people out there in the world who will get emboldened by hearing such comments and continue their bigotry masquerading as "people who are just being honest and caring".

Nope. If you are honest, you would do proper research and make sure you attack the right persons/entity. By the way, Chinese people started eating everything under the sun due to huge famines that occured several decades back and it stuck on.

Dumb and uneducated people can't and don't do research so when we defend people like Shoaib, we are giving them an easy escape route.

That's the issue.

As for this an issue.

Yes, Chinese govt need to take action.

Yes, we need to put pressure.

Yes, pressure will only be exerted if we are relentless and not too polite.

But rants like "these Chinese are disgusting..how can they eat this ****" angle doesn't help much. It's only going to affect poor Chinese people living in western countries. That's all.

My thoughts.

Shoaib isn't wrong but he isn't right either.

Issue is that there are many uneducated, racist people out there in the world who will get emboldened by hearing such comments and continue their bigotry masquerading as "people who are just being honest and caring".

Nope. If you are honest, you would do proper research and make sure you attack the right persons/entity. By the way, Chinese people started eating everything under the sun due to huge famines that occured several decades back and it stuck on.

Dumb and uneducated people can't and don't do research so when we defend people like Shoaib, we are giving them an easy escape route.

That's the issue.

As for this an issue.

Yes, Chinese govt need to take action.

Yes, we need to put pressure.

Yes, pressure will only be exerted if we are relentless and not too polite.

But rants like "these Chinese are disgusting..how can they eat this ****" angle doesn't help much. It's only going to affect poor Chinese people living in western countries. That's all.

My thoughts.

Shoaib can have ANY personal view he has.

But when he is shooting a video that reaches millions of people, maybe some research and a better choice of words would have helped.

Shoaib is bang on correct here.

To those moaning about racism, what Shoaib has said is nothing compared to the racism shown by the Chinese against the Uighurs.

Its pathetic to see Pakistan bend over backwards to the Chinese

?

Swine flu started out in mexico, bird flu was predominantly in Thailand. Where does the Spanish flu and Dengue virus originate from?

Spanish Flu originated in China
Swine Flu is alleged to have been started in China not Mexico

They have a bad track record...

Spanish Flu originated in China
Swine Flu is alleged to have been started in China not Mexico

They have a bad track record...

There are multiple hypothesis for Spanish flu. One of them being from China.

Swine flu - mexico.

China has an issue with diseases no doubt but you are falling prey to confirmation bias by declaring possibility as certainty (Spanish Flu) and disregarding certainty as possibility (Swine Flu).

I don't disagree with anything you have said, but generalizing and demeaning an entire nation of 1.5B definitely has racist undertones, akin to calling all Muslims terrorists.

These types of statements have led to (in the US) Chinese people being harassed, even physically harmed in the last 2 weeks

You’re right, and that’s obviously not okay. However, I dislike the idea that people associate racist undertones to criticism of foreign governments. Why is it racist to criticize the Chinese government, or anti-semitic to criticize Israel? Why is it islamophobic to criticize terrorism?

The answer is that people conflate the two things and assume they are the same (i.e all Muslims are terrorists, all Chinese eat pangolins and bats).

The issue is with the people making that assumption. If they act on it in racist ways or conflate anything in a racist manner, that is their fault. There should be no issue with the act of criticizing. Which is what Akhtar is doing.

On a lighter note, Shoaib himself ate careers of many batsman during his playing days. :inti

You nailed it. Best post on this thread.

There is a serious problem in China and other East Asian countries. It is called wet market. Pointing this out is not racism.

When there is a problem, it is better to talk about it and fix the problem.

Well you have defeated your own argument there by saying other east Asian countries also have the same culture of poor hygiene, so in fact it is racism to target Chinese people. I would argue that hygiene in the third world in general leaves a lot to be desired, we should look at how to educate across the world on food preparation standards.

I never used the word hygiene anywhere. This is not a hygiene issue at all. This is about eating unusual foods in unusual ways. Also, there is the topic of animal cruelty.

As an animal lover, I always call out all practices that are unethical and unfair to the animals. It doesn't matter whether it is Chinese, Indian, African or whatever.

I never used the word hygiene anywhere. This is not a hygiene issue at all. This is about eating unusual foods in unusual ways. Also, there is the topic of animal cruelty.

As an animal lover, I always call out all practices that are unethical and unfair to the animals. It doesn't matter whether it is Chinese, Indian, African or whatever.

Never quite sure if you are trolling, but if you were that much of an animal lover you would probably take inspiration from our Hindu friends and not eat meat at all.

Eat meat but kill the animal properly first. That's all I am saying.

This is now how a civilized person should eat in 21st century. I don't care if you think I am a troll.

Tell me you support eating mice alive while it is breathing. This is not how anyone should eat meat.

He has edited the video. So the racist/controversial part is cut.

Seems like someone from the chinese embassy has pulled some strings.

The issue regarding animal welfare is another topic. But what may seem normal to some may not seem normal to others in the case of bat eating and whatnot.

Each to their own I say.

Tell me you support eating mice alive while it is breathing. This is not how anyone should eat meat.

Why would I support it? My point is, that everyone thinks other culture's are strange. Westerners probably think it's weird that people in India or Bangladesh eat curry and rice with their fingers rather than using cutlery.

We can't tell Chinese people to stop eating insects or wild animals, but their own authorities should be outlawing practises which are dangerous to the population.

Changing an entire nation's dietary habits will take a generational shift.
Chinese government has already started working on it; they are now teaching Chinese that eating wild animals can result in such virus outbreaks and you will keep losing your loved ones; Chinese are not stupid they will realize this practice should be stopped

This is so untrue lol...

The SARS outbreak was also the result of bats at a wet market...

Live animals are literally stacked in cages on top of each other...and end up sharing blood, excrement annd pus...which helps viruses jumping from one animals to another...

These markets like Wuhan stock wildlife like bats...

Poor peasant households chose to farm wildlife to make a living and the Chinese government encouraged them to do so...encouraged them to breed wildlife for human consumption...it also encourages trafficking of endangered animals...

SARS was caused by one of these wet markets...and the Chinese government banned these wet markets...but then decided a few months later to remove the ban...

And they have marketed these animals as having properties such as tonics, sex enhancement, disease fighting etc...ie absolute ** to increase sales...

Shoaib is wrong when he laments the Chinese for eating bats...it's actually just peasants who farm this wildlife and rich chinese people who purchase this wildlife...it's an industry for the elite just like ivory is...so even the eating of bats is a minority pursuit...

They have as it stands banned the wet markets again...but when this outbreak is over we will see if they actually do the right thing and put the needs of their majority population over the needs of their elite...

If they don't ban these markets permanently then we will another flu again...

But when the government would prefer to blame the USA and arrest whistleblowers then frankly I have little faith in them not shafting us again....