ICC World Cup 2019 : Points table, Net Run Rates, qualifying scenarios & Stats thread

We have brought it down from -5 to -2 now . A few more wins and it should improve further. Everything that could have gone wrong for us in the West Indies game did . I’m positive for the future .
This World Cup is Showing that middling scores of 270-280 might be enough on some occasions which puts Pakistan right in the mix . Amir and wahab have their tail up. . Once Hassan comes to the party and with Shadab showing good signs we have a good chance to topple other teams as well inshallah

It really isn't going to improve much unless you get a win similar to your loss. The -5 was an aberration that was going to get better the minute you played out 50 overs.

Why specifically that game? You think Pakistan is going to lose against Australia and India for sure?

well we its criminal to be 'sure' about if pakistan is going to lose or win lol but I think its unlikely we win against aus/ind, so yes thats why nz game is most crucial

If today's match ends up being a draw , that'll be a huge stumbling block for Pakistan's chances..

What are the chances of Pakistan going through with 4 wins and 1 no result

We have to back South Africa to beat WI tomorrow to improve our chances and still have to hope for the top 4 to falter.

We have matches against AUS, NZ, IND so in theory our fate is still in our control - we could beat them to push them down the table however unlikely that is.

Rain could top the table (if it wins today) after having played in 3 matches.

After the aus match, if any of pak's matches get washed out. The chances of pak making the semis will dimish.

The rain is causing many issues.... the top 4 looks to be Ind,Aus,Eng and NZ :(

england are still to play against Australia and India.
A lot will depend on those matches. if england win both we have a very good chance. but even if they defeat Australia we are in with a chance but we will have to beat Australia. and who knows if newziland beat Australia they could be out of semi finals too

The rain is causing many issues.... the top 4 looks to be Ind,Aus,Eng and NZ :(

Pak will need to win 4 out of the remaining 5 if Aus match is washed off. Dont know how many more washouts will be there.

What may help also is if Teams like Bang/Afg/SL beats the current top4 that will be something...

What are the chances of Pakistan going through with 4 wins and 1 no result

With that number of wins and points, a higher probability is they will be going through Heathrow Terminal before Semifinals.

Enough of tournaments in England ,seriously!
All these years of rain didn’t prompt them to make stadium with covers!

It's straight forward for Pakistan. Win all their remaining games and they'll be through :ashwin

if we consider no more washouts after Australia Pak game then pak will have 4 points from first four matches and will need to win 4 out of next 5, and they will be certainly thorough, so they can afford to lose one more match.

NZ vs Ind game if washed out, would be a blow to Pakistan's chances of qualifying. It was a game which NZ should have supposed to lose, if were to have any shot at number 4.

It will be pretty sad if game against bangladesh or afghanistan would be a washout too.

NRR isn’t an issue as long as the team is on a healthy winning spree.

Hoping India wouldn’t drop more than 2 games.

Considering the weather forecast for next few days, I think most of the teams will get max 7 or 8 matches. Based on this fact, we will need 4 or 5 wins (not 5 or 6) in total to qualify for semis. Even if Aus game is washed out, we can still afford one (or two) defeat in remaining matches.

Washout against Australia and then win 4 of the remaining 5 fixtures ending up with 12 points -equivalent to 6 wins and 3 defeats which would be enough to qualify for the semis.

Its a long tournament though so expect more twists and turns especially with the weather playing a part too.

If Pakistan win tomorrow they go 2nd in the table. All is not lost! :sarf

Unfortunately its rain prediction for tmw as well. If this happens we will get to 6th and Aus to 2nd.

If tmw is also a washout, ideally Pak should win atleast 4 out of the remaining 5.

Even if we lose, we still can easily qualify by winning 4 out of 5 games. So it would be better for us that we play. In that case, we would have a chance of getting two points.

Okay so after today loss, do we need to calculate new scenarios?

Have to win the next 5 coz nz will get a point tomorrow coz of the rain so our nr point will be neutralised.
4 wins won't be enough coz nz have a much better nrr than us.

Have to win the next 5 coz nz will get a point tomorrow coz of the rain so our nr point will be neutralised.
4 wins won't be enough coz nz have a much better nrr than us.

What if england beats nz?
Aus beat nz?
Pak beat nz?

4 wins required out of 5. Isnt?

What if england beats nz?
Aus beat nz?
Pak beat nz?

4 wins required out of 5. Isnt?

As I said.

Nz already have 3 wins and tomorrow it is likely to be a washout so...
6+1 =7

Win vs wi
Win vs sa

These two are expected. So they'll have 11 points (same as pak if they win 4/5)

Nz match vs pak will be decisive

Based on the assumption tommorrow’s game is rained off (Ind vs NZ) - what is now needed for us to qualify? Is it as simple as 5 wins in a row?

Man had Mushy collected that ball against Nz properly we would been in 2nd place now.

As I said.

Nz already have 3 wins and tomorrow it is likely to be a washout so...
6+1 =7

Win vs wi
Win vs sa

These two are expected. So they'll have 11 points (same as pak if they win 4/5)

Nz match vs pak will be decisive

7 points after Indian match.

Then they have -

South Africa on the 19th

West Indies on the 22nd

Pakistan on the 26th

Australia on the 29th

England on 3rd of July

I think they should beat South Africa and West Indies - So 11 points.

They just need to beat one of Pak/Aus/Eng to go through.

We have to win the following to make sure it doesn't come to run rate.

India
South Africa
New Zealand
Afghanistan
Bangladesh

Then they have -

South Africa on the 19th

West Indies on the 22nd

Pakistan on the 26th

Australia on the 29th

England on 3rd of July

India
South Africa
New Zealand
Afghanistan
Bangladesh

What if they lose against SA and WI?

Then they have -

South Africa on the 19th

West Indies on the 22nd

Pakistan on the 26th

Australia on the 29th

England on 3rd of July

India
South Africa
New Zealand
Afghanistan
Bangladesh

So it's simple.
If we win all 5 of our remaining games we go through

Then it becomes easier for us and then we have to worry about WI potentially taking the 4th spot.

The issue is

India
England
Australia

are all but confirmed.

Windies + Pak blew a great opportunity to take Australia out of the equation by flucking it up.

Realistically no way we are beating India unless the other Pakistan turns up.

Man we should have won against the Aussies.

Malik, Asif and Shaheen you idiots.

Then it becomes easier for us and then we have to worry about WI potentially taking the 4th spot.

The issue is

India
England
Australia

are all but confirmed.

Windies + Pak blew a great opportunity to take Australia out of the equation by flucking it up.

Yeah both games were lost in the same manner...

Best case scenario:

Pray that:

India
England
Australia

These teams win all of their matches except when it's against us.

And an upset of west indies team with lower grade will be good for us, or against those who are almost out.

thats what we really need to hope for i guess, better that it is SA and not WI as somehow WI can end up in similar points as us too perhaps... so basically hope that NZ only end on 9 points and we end on 11 points with 4 wins with the loss being against India and not one of the potential SF competitor like NZ.
really hard to imaging winning 5 in a row, today was a great chance to consolidate but screwed it up. also there is chance maybe one more game gets rained out, what if its against AFG/BAN then all over.

Best case scenario:

Pray that:

India
England
Australia

These teams win all of their matches except when it's against us.

And an upset of west indies team with lower grade will be good for us, or against those who are almost out.

We beat England, need to beat India

Then hope Bangla Brothers can defeat West Indies.

And I guess it is better to start focussing on my studies again instead of the WC :((

Why Pakistan why?

InshaAllah [MENTION=136446]Mainul[/MENTION]

We know you can.

InshaAllah I hope so. It won't be easy . We have to bring our A+ game to win it as WI is in super duper form.
From now on every match is vital for both BD and Pak and given the context of rainy weather we should win every completed match.

Equation is simple, if you don't wanna depend on external factors and prayers and other teams results Pak have to win 5/5, but considering India is a must loss, and then we will have typical Pakistani style comeback win 4/4 from last 4 games and hope the other results go in our favor and prayers works one more time. So even after Inida loss we Wil be in it but just about. So still a lot to play for, and English weather and expected washouts can bring up many unexpected scenarios, but Pakistan can't afford another washout, maybe vs India only, Becuse it will give us 1 point where 0 points is certainty

ka4uixS.png

India and Eng are 3 and 4. It will be hilarious if one of them gets knocked out due to rain.

Nobody is getting knocked out due to rain.

If a team has 6 Wins + 2 Draws + 1 Loss, they aint getting knocked out. Rain will only play spoilsport for the teams on the cusp. So, a good team can win most matches and expect to get into the semis even if they have a couple of washouts.

Thus, if England and India end up losing more than 2 matches, then they cant complain about the rain.

InshaAllah I hope so. It won't be easy . We have to bring our A+ game to win it as WI is in super duper form.
From now on every match is vital for both BD and Pak and given the context of rainy weather we should win every completed match.
Sadly, rain has ruined this tournament...

You guys have beaten West Indies and you guys can do it again imho.

I wonder if we are focusing on wrong team to displace for semis. NZ is number 1. How about England or India even. With a few losses and few washouts against weak teams maybe we can displace one of them if we win the next 5 or 4 plus 1 washout?

Pakistan's road to qualification:
Exact scene yeh hai k Australia vs newzealand wala match jo team bhi haarey, wohi team dua karo k England aur South Africa se bhi haarey. Aur doosri taraf Pakistan India se haarney k baad apne saarey match jeetay. To qualify karega warna nahi karega

Pakistan's road to qualification:
Exact scene yeh hai k Australia vs newzealand wala match jo team bhi haarey, wohi team dua karo k England aur South Africa se bhi haarey. Aur doosri taraf Pakistan India se haarney k baad apne saarey match jeetay. To qualify karega warna nahi karega
Acha ji, well Australian team isn’t that good, so they can lose against SA, England and NZ or/and Sri Lanka can fluke a win too on their day...

On the other hand, Pakistan needs to win all matches to assure they do their job.

Bad result for Pakistan. Pakistan needs India and England, as they will surely qualify, to win every match so that it opens up Pakistan's chances.