Imran Khan should resign as Prime Minister for letting Nawaz Sharif leave the country

Imran’s legacy is ruined forever. In fact, it is probably irrelevant now. He will be remembered as someone who made a lot of noise, created a lot of chaos and propagated a lot of hate but ultimately achieved nothing in the long-term.

According to his hardcore loyalists, his ultimate goal was not to become the PM but to put the so-called criminals behind the bars and recover the alleged looted wealth.

They claimed that as PM, he would ensure that justice is served and they Nawaz and Bhutto dynasties are laid to rest.

Unfortunately for them, he has failed to keep his word and has not been able to deliver what he promised. He will be remembered as a leader who made a lot of compromises and took a lot of U-turns to become the PM, but ultimately failed to achieve his objective.

He fought valiantly but he lost. We must be gracious in victory and appreciate the fact that he put up a good fight and threatened to ruin the political futures of PMLN and PPP. It all went south quickly but he did make his mark.

His reckless behavior and shallow personality ultimately led to his failure. He sided with the wrong people and his naivety cost him. Some of his methods were not appropriate and everyone except the followers of his cult could see why.

The best advice for Imran at this stage would be to swallow his pride and not embarrass himself further.

Complete your term quietly and try to do well with whatever authority the establishment has given you. He has zero say on the foreign policy and strategic decisions, but he has some power over certain administrative decisions.

If he can do a decent job on that front the people might vote him in for another term before PMLN and PPP start taking turns again.

IK's legacy ruined forever? Lol, abhi to party shuru hui hai, one year down, another 29 to go.

Good post. This is what happens when people idolize one person too much. Imran was supposed to be the "savior" of Pakistan according to his staunch supporters but we can all see what's happening now.

I might have missed whole lot of events, since Imran Khan has miserably failed in 1 year so who is the next saviour exactly?

Good post. This is what happens when people idolize one person too much. Imran was supposed to be the "savior" of Pakistan according to his staunch supporters but we can all see what's happening now.

Idolize?

Who do you support and why?

Let's all just hope powers that be keep this dude and his family away from ruling Pakistan again. I will be happy with that, he can enjoy irrelevance in London for the rest of his life as long as him and his family stay away from politics.

ISLAMABAD: There is gloom in Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf ranks as majority of the prominent party leaders feel ‘demoralised’ over the departure of former premier Nawaz Sharif to London that they believe may politically damage the ruling party, with its slogan of ‘One Law, One Pakistan’ fast losing credibility.

Background interviews with a number of key PTI members, including some federal ministers, reveal that during in-house discussions with Prime Minister Imran Khan on the matter on various occasions, the hawkish elements and old guards had strongly opposed the idea of giving unconditional permission to Mr Sharif to travel abroad on health grounds whereas government allies were putting pressure on the PM to let him go.

Sources said federal ministers Fawad Chaudhry and Faisal Vawda, besides Special Assistant to the Prime Minister Zulfi Bukhari, were the most vocal opponents of the idea, but there was one PTI member holding a key position in the federal cabinet who tried to persuade Mr Khan on various occasions to let the ex-PM leave the country.

A federal minister claimed that the idea of making Mr Sharif’s departure conditional with the submission of over Rs7 billion indemnity bond had actually been floated by the National Accountability Bureau in a meeting of the special committee headed by Law Minister Farogh Nasim.

“The party is experiencing a sense of loss after Sharif’s departure,” said a senior PTI leader, who holds a key position in the government and remained a part of the consultative process. He said the leadership would have to work hard to pacify PTI loyalists and supporters who were feeling dejected, which was evident from their comments on social media.

“It was the same frustration that the PM vented in his speech on the occasion of Hazara motorway inauguration on Monday,” he added.

The PTI leader said there were two views within the party, but it would be wrong to say that there was any rift or division as a clear majority was opposing Mr Sharif’s departure.

He said those in favour of the permission argued that it would damage the PML-N, and not the PTI, while the government would get an opportunity to focus on governance and highlight its achievements, while those opposing the idea were of the opinion that the PTI would be negating its basic principle of equal justice for all and it would be an injustice to other prisoners in need of medical treatment.

The PTI leader said PM Khan was very much concerned about Mr Sharif’s health condition, but there were genuine legal hitches in allowing a convicted man to proceed abroad.

Another senior PTI leader, while referring to the photos that went viral on social media showing Mr Sharif sitting in special air ambulance with no apparent sign of illness, remarked: “What if tomorrow the nation sees pictures of the ex-premier shopping at Harrods in London.”

Minister for Science and Technology Fawad Chaudhry, when contacted, said the PTI had been propagating its slogan “One Law, One Pakistan” for years, but after this move people would be justified to question them as it may lose its effectiveness.

Mr Chaudhry also expressed his surprise over the “delay” in Mr Sharif’s departure, saying if there was no emergency, why the PML-N had pleaded before the Lahore High Court to take up the case on a holiday. The case could have been heard on Monday, the minister said.

“It is Pakistan, and not the PTI or the PML-N that will ultimately suffer from the recent developments,” said a PTI lawmaker from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa while commenting on the PML-N supremo’s departure.

Source: https://www.dawn.com/news/1517672/pti-rank-and-file-demoralised-over-nawazs-departure.

on one hand im really dissapointed. He should be rotting in jail..
on the other hand he is now out of the country and a rallying point for the PMLN is gone..the govt can now change the narrative and focus on other issues..they can also look to do something about the lahore high court which should renamed the sharif high court.

IK's legacy ruined forever? Lol, abhi to party shuru hui hai, one year down, another 29 to go.

The party has been crashed. In 29 years, PTI won’t even exist. Imran won’t be around (or will be too old) and the lotas would be absorbed back into the other parties by then.

Parties with weak roots have no long-term future in Pakistan politics. Imran’s only hope was to put an end to the Sharif and Bhutto dynasties but he has failed.

At the end of the day, it was still Imran Khan's decision to let Nawaz Sharif go abroad. The Lahore High Court never ordered Imran Khan to send Nawaz Sharif abroad. As Chief Justice has pointed out Imran Khan could have said no but he did not. History will remember this as a failure of Imran Khan. This is a NRO whether we accept it or not.

on one hand im really dissapointed. He should be rotting in jail..
on the other hand he is now out of the country and a rallying point for the PMLN is gone..the govt can now change the narrative and focus on other issues..they can also look to do something about the lahore high court which should renamed the sharif high court.

We are not learning from the mistakes. That is how Nawaz Sharif came to the power twice in the first place. Every times he leaves whether through the forced or military takeover, he comes back with the guaranteed to win the election. He was favorite in 2007 but due to Benazir Bhutto being murdered and suspicious deal between Musharraf and Zardari, Zardari became PM of Pakistan.

Nawaz Sharif just left Pakistan. Few years later, people will forget why Nawaz Sharif left and they will be open to Nawaz Sharif once they get fed up with Imran Khan and the impression of him as puppet of main establishment.

He is brand. That brand cannot be killed easily. We are still dealing with 'Bhutto abhi zinda hai'.... :facepalm:

The party has been crashed. In 29 years, PTI won’t even exist. Imran won’t be around (or will be too old) and the lotas would be absorbed back into the other parties by then.

Parties with weak roots have no long-term future in Pakistan politics. Imran’s only hope was to put an end to the Sharif and Bhutto dynasties but he has failed.

Why 29 and not 30 years? :)))

You're deluded even though you claim to live in Pakistan. Imran Khan is the most popular leader in Pakistan for decades.

PLMN and PPP are done, they wont win the next election, PTI will with a huge majority because no ballet boxes will be allowed to be tampered with by the corrupt.

29 years is a long time to take a break from robbing the nation. :)

The lottas of PML N and PPP have masterfully learnt from their masters, just make loud noise to create disturbance and demoralization. They are even criticizing IK for letting their masters leave temporarily on humanitarian grounds after criticizing him for incarcerating them when it was the courts who ordered the incarceration

We are not learning from the mistakes. That is how Nawaz Sharif came to the power twice in the first place. Every times he leaves whether through the forced or military takeover, he comes back with the guaranteed to win the election. He was favorite in 2007 but due to Benazir Bhutto being murdered and suspicious deal between Musharraf and Zardari, Zardari became PM of Pakistan.

Nawaz Sharif just left Pakistan. Few years later, people will forget why Nawaz Sharif left and they will be open to Nawaz Sharif once they get fed up with Imran Khan and the impression of him as puppet of main establishment.

He is brand. That brand cannot be killed easily. We are still dealing with 'Bhutto abhi zinda hai'.... :facepalm:

Zardari killed the narrative of “Bhutto Abhi Zindabad Hai”.

NS will come back but not to be re-elected.

Time to stop this melodramatic narrative.

You're deluded even though you claim to live in Pakistan. Imran Khan is the most popular leader in Pakistan for decades.

PLMN and PPP are done, they wont win the next election, PTI will with a huge majority because no ballet boxes will be allowed to be tampered with by the corrupt.

Savak said 1 year down and 29 to go. That is why I said 29 and not 30.

You don’t understand Pakistan politics. Every election has been rigged by the military and they have ensured that they candidate of their preference (at the time) has come into power so that they can run the show from the background.

The ugliest and most rigged election in Pakistan history was the presidential election of 1965 when General Ayub rigged the election against Fatima Jinnah, an early example of the military’s disgusting lust for power.

Both the 2013 and 2018 elections were rigged as well, but it is also true that PMLN and PTI would still have won because they had the popular vote at the time.

However, things are starting to change and Imran is losing popular support because of multiple reasons.

Firstly, while PTI is good at fudging numbers and pretending that the economy is heading in the right direction, the common people on the streets do not care about numbers and future projections; they only care about results and how their lives are going to improve.

Under PTI’s rule, the condition of the poor has only worsened. Everything including the daily necessities have become increasingly expensive and thus the business owners are suffering as well. People are being laid-off in the private sector.

Those who are struggling to pay for meals today because of the price hikes are not going to care about the future promises. Besides, Imran has time and time again proved that he either deliberately misleads the public or does not have the capability to walk the talk.

His government has been failing in KP for 6 years. People gave them a chance again in 2018 in the hope that they might turn things around with experience but they have only made things worse.

Moreover, the Nawaz situation has destroyed Imran’s credibility. He talked about bringing accountability and justice and ending VIP culture, but on his watch, Nawaz has gone to London for treatment without paying a penny.

His supporters cannot justify or excuse him either way. If they say that it wasn’t his decision, it makes him look weak and powerless. If they say it was his decision, he comes across as a hypocrite.

The blind followers will support him even if he kills children, but other people voted for him because they believed in his mission, and so far he has proved that he is all talk and no action.

People are finally coming to terms with the reality that he is a con-artist. The military will back him until he is of use to them, but if the masses turn on him they will be forced to remove him as was the case with Nawaz and Benazir before him.

and I will win the lottery and become a multi millionaire. We can all dream I guess

Okay, if you say so bro. The PTI cult have this uncanny ability to see the future

I wouldn’t know as i’m not a member of any cult.
However I do have a hatred for anyone who supports or tries to argue for corruption..
I know hatred is a strong word but people like yourself are complicit in the murder of thousands of poor people in Pakistan...

I wouldn’t know as i’m not a member of any cult.
However I do have a hatred for anyone who supports or tries to argue for corruption..
I know hatred is a strong word but people like yourself are complicit in the murder of thousands of poor people in Pakistan...

It's so easy to talk big when you're not even in Pakistan. I could sit in the grand old United Kingdom and keep talking about Pakistan without being aware of the ground realities or being exposed to everything that is happening there.

Someone who has been paying taxes to the UK government so that they can kill thousands of Muslims in the Middle-East is taking a moral high ground and talking about being complicit in the murder of poor people.

Irony just died and it was a painful death.

So someone who has been paying taxes to the UK government so that they can kill thousands of Muslims in the Middle-East is taking a moral high ground and talking about being complicit in the murder of poor people.

:))) At least we pay taxes. You want NS back so that the flow of brown envelopes are reinstated. You have more blood on your hands for supporting crooks in Pakistan who murder, mane, and support terrorists.

Come back when you have earned an honest day's crust and paid taxes on it.

Someone who has been paying taxes to the UK government so that they can kill thousands of Muslims in the Middle-East is taking a moral high ground and talking about being complicit in the murder of poor people.

Many would be on the social handouts from the Uk government and dont pay taxes. So they dont really have any moral high ground of any sort.

Anything that’s against Imran Khan and Army theatrics is automatically Anti-Pakistan for them.

The mental midget strikes again. After you humiliation( once again) over the "excellent" LHC decision, which was a decision by the establishment or was it? I was very confused as to the rubbish you spout, I thought you might actually think before you opened your mouth! As far as taxes are concerned you paid taxes in America and the Americans have killed more muslims than anyone. That means by your own logic that have killed muslims,Whilst you are at, call out all your Ind friends for their taxes as they have killed 1000s in Kashmir and are holding the place hostage. The mind boggles at your stupidity

Many would be on the social handouts from the Uk government and dont pay taxes. So they dont really have any moral high ground of any sort.

Anything that’s against Imran Khan and Army theatrics is automatically Anti-Pakistan for them.

I pay taxes, so whats your point? Your friend is calling the owner of this site an accessory to murder, whilst using his site. He himself paid taxes in America, does that make him an accessory. The logic of your argument is more stupid than it sounds.

You have to be a complete idiot to try and use someone’s place of residence to try and deflect.

Maybe a little bit of education on the valuable contribution of ex pats would help. Google Remittances to PK by ex pats and then tell me the Current deficit with these contributions included, and then use a calculator to tell us what it would be if there were none. Come on mate lets talk about grand realities. I hope to hear from you after you bit of research!

after PM resignation, i also want resignation from the current top judges of SC and HC ....

Another idiot.

Can’t win any argument because of complicity and so have to resort to James Cameron level fantasies which only your equally corrupt friends will defend...

Birds of s feather flock together.

The mental midget strikes again. After you humiliation( once again) over the "excellent" LHC decision, which was a decision by the establishment or was it? I was very confused as to the rubbish you spout, I thought you might actually think before you opened your mouth! As far as taxes are concerned you paid taxes in America and the Americans have killed more muslims than anyone. That means by your own logic that have killed muslims,Whilst you are at, call out all your Ind friends for their taxes as they have killed 1000s in Kashmir and are holding the place hostage. The mind boggles at your stupidity

That idiot is on my ignore list ��

Looks like a couple more will be added by the end of the day..

:))) At least we pay taxes. You want NS back so that the flow of brown envelopes are reinstated. You have more blood on your hands for supporting crooks in Pakistan who murder, mane, and support terrorists.

Come back when you have earned an honest day's crust and paid taxes on it.

Don’t change the topic. Your friend, the armchair PTI warrior in London, claimed that people who support Nawaz and Zardari are complicit in the murder of thousands of poor people.

If we accept this logic, we can also apply this to the people who have been permanently living in the UK and have paid taxes to their poodle government so that they can dance to the tunes of the Pentagon and kill Muslims in the Middle-East.

Hence, if supporters of corrupt parties are complicit in the murder of thousands of poor people, then so are the UK taxpayers.

He certainly has.

He posts in English. Signs up to a site registered in the UK. Supports Arsenal, and English Premier League team. Reads the BBC, Daily Mail, and the Sun, and above all is looking to migrate to the UK, Isle of Man last I read, but has a problem with paying taxes in the UK.

Basically his UK VISA was rejected and he is venting his anger on all that is English/British!

Don’t change the topic. Your friend, the armchair PTI warrior in London, claimed that people who support Nawaz and Zardari are complicit in the murder of thousands of poor people.

If we accept this logic, we can also apply this to the people who have been permanently living in the UK and have paid taxes to their poodle government so that they can dance to the tunes of the Pentagon and kill Muslims in the Middle-East.

Hence, if supporters of corrupt parties are complicit in the murder of thousands of poor people, then so are the UK taxpayers.

I see no denial.

You have blood on your hands. You terrorist sympathiser.

Logical arguments are too difficult for PTIs youth generation. Now they cant even sing their default mantra after Nawaz’s release. Despite growing up in west, many seem to lack the basic mental grooming and thinking capacity. Yet are adamant they know Pakistans situation better than Pakistanis.

Explaining anything to them is a waste of time.

Yes if you support it, then you are complicit, how hard is that to understand? With taxes you dont have a choice! Did you have a choice when you paid Americans to kill Muslims?

Logical arguments are too difficult for PTIs youth generation. Now they cant even sing their default mantra after Nawaz’s release. Despite growing up in west, many seem to lack the basic mental grooming and thinking capacity. Yet are adamant they know Pakistans situation better than Pakistanis.

Explaining anything to them is a waste of time.

What are your logical arguments? The person that you agree with believes that they are not crooked and you on the other hand believe that he shouldnt be allowed to leave. Tell me how you are agreeing with him? Where is the logic.

I live in West and do pay taxes here. Living here is a Choice that i ve made.

Now from the taxes i pay, things get done which i dont agree with and hence it ‘should’ (and does) have an effect on my conscience. Its simple as that.

As for Nawaz being corrupt, i believe that to be the case and thats not the point i was agreeing/disagreeing with anyone.

It seems paying taxes is a new concept for someone who chooses to live in the West. Though I suspect they are working cash in hand and are not paying taxes anyway. Arrived on a student VISA, and made the choice to break all VISA conditions. Yup, that's all we need!

Probably your observations and world is limited to what you see in your family and surroundings. Typical cabbie and takeaway attitude..

I live in West and do pay taxes here. Living here is a Choice that i ve made.

Now from the taxes i pay, things get done which i dont agree with and hence it ‘should’ (and does) have an effect on my conscience. Its simple as that.

As for Nawaz being corrupt, i believe that to be the case and thats not the point i was agreeing/disagreeing with anyone.

So you agreeing with the people you said you are disagreeing with.

Imran Khan should complete his entire tenure, InshaAllah.

The cry babies of political parties will keep on crying for full 5 years. So be it.

Probably your observations and world is limited to what you see in your family and surroundings. Typical cabbie and takeaway attitude..

:))) Struck a nerve there! I was spot on then! You can spot your type from a mile away.

If India is so great and progressive, why come to the UK? Fair and lovely and all that? No I got it, you wanted to pay taxes. :)))

After all that has happened: Countless U-turns, going back on every single promise made to his purblind followers, doing away with the country's market and economy, showing no ounce of self-restraint (even in the role of PM) when it comes to answering back his political counterparts, and most of all, having his own hypocrisy exposed in the face of 'foreign funding case' and it is evident that the radiant angel does not practice what he preaches.

And you would still hope that he will still have any dignity left, so as to respectfully resign?

After all that has happened: Countless U-turns, going back on every single promise made to his purblind followers, doing away with the country's market and economy, showing no ounce of self-restraint (even in the role of PM) when it comes to answering back his political counterparts, and most of all, having his own hypocrisy exposed in the face of 'foreign funding case' and it is evident that the radiant angel does not practice what he preaches.

And you would still hope that he will still have any dignity left, so as to respectfully resign?

Glad you mentioned economy and entered my arena. So sit down son, school is in session. Allow me to rip you a new one munnay :asad1

1. Exports up by 10% in Oct 2019 and around 5% in the first quarter of the financial year
2. Inland tax revenue up by 15%, total collections up by 25%
3. Trade deficit down by 40%
4. Massive increase in tax filers
5. 240% increase in foreign investment
6. Current Account Deficit down by 70+% and infact there was a CAD surplus in Oct 2019.
7. Stock exchange up by 8000 points in last 3 months

It's interesting that the Nooras and ppp have finally been asked about the Foreign funding. You will notice that some people have been going on about this for years have gone quiet because the Nooras and Billo Khusri party have to show their funding. [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]

Glad you mentioned economy and entered my arena. So sit down son, school is in session. Allow me to rip you a new one munnay :asad1

1. Exports up by 10% in Oct 2019 and around 5% in the first quarter of the financial year
6. Current Account Deficit down by 70+% and infact there was a CAD surplus in Oct 2019.

It is easy to pile up misleading statistics, and fool the public. Unfortunately, no amount of triumphal jubilation, over mere raw statistical data, from purblind PTI supports like you, will change ground realities of hightened inflation rates, several-fold increases in unemployment, and just poor governance overall.

Looking at you reminds me of my former PTI purblind self--Until the bleak reality of this inapt political party dawned on me..like it will to you too, someday, son. And while we are at it, don't forget to save yourself some burnols for that day.

It is easy to pile up misleading statistics, and fool the public. Unfortunately, no amount of triumphal jubilation, over mere raw statistical data, from purblind PTI supports like you, will change ground realities of hightened inflation rates, several-fold increases in unemployment, and just poor governance overall.

Looking at you reminds me of my former PTI purblind self--Until the bleak reality of this inapt political party dawned on me..like it will to you too, someday, son. And while we are at it, don't forget to save yourself some burnols for that day.

So you want to Noora stats? Tell us which states are fake? BTW Why do you think that inflation increased? I bet you run all thick Nooras because we know the answer?

Thanks for raising the white flag so early.... I was just getting started.

He certainly has.

He posts in English. Signs up to a site registered in the UK. Supports Arsenal, and English Premier League team. Reads the BBC, Daily Mail, and the Sun, and above all is looking to migrate to the UK, Isle of Man last I read, but has a problem with paying taxes in the UK.

Basically his UK VISA was rejected and he is venting his anger on all that is English/British!

As I have stated multiple times before, England/UK is very close to my heart because I have lot of British Pakistanis in my family and I have spent most of my childhood summer holidays in the UK. That is why I grew up supporting England cricket team as my second team after Pakistan and also fell in love with Arsenal.

Isle of Man? My uncle worked there for many years and I think it is a lovely little family place. I am not looking to migrate there or anywhere else in the UK. However, it is not because I love Pakistan - I really don’t, but unfortunately I am stuck here because my parents are here and so are my assets. But I do curse my luck because you only get to live once and I was born in Pakistan of all countries.

Beautifully put.

Everyone in Pakistan is complaining about the inflation, price hikes and the down hill economic conditions. Still the PTI ********* sitting in their cozy computer desks abroad are floating on their cloud#9. Throwing up random unverified stats to back up their tall claims is the way PTI works.

Waisay bhi Nawaz k jaane ka Dukh, in ko andar se Kha raha hai. So they are even more emotionally instabil now a days.

Not the first Political party that had to make U-turns and won't be the last political party, matter of fact, you can't find a single democratic party which has not taken few U-turn, if and when you do then please remind me, I will be waiting.

You are factually incorrect about economy, [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] has provided some facts, dispute them or you are just making things up out of in spite or you do not understand simple facts regarding economy, i am sure you are a better educated than a common Pakistani.

Foreign funding case will be decided in the court and if court find him guilty then he must leave the office, if he doesn't after being found guilty then you can call him hypocrite, a very simple concept to understand.

Why would he resign? People do not resign on made up facts by critics. lol

As I have stated multiple times before, England/UK is very close to my heart because I have lot of British Pakistanis in my family and I have spent most of my childhood summer holidays in the UK. That is why I grew up supporting England cricket team as my second team after Pakistan and also fell in love with Arsenal.

Isle of Man? My uncle worked there for many years and I think it is a lovely little family place. I am not looking to migrate there or anywhere else in the UK. However, it is not because I love Pakistan - I really don’t, but unfortunately I am stuck here because my parents are here and so are my assets. But I do curse my luck because you only get to live once and I was born in Pakistan of all countries.

Well those British Pakistanis in your family are tarred with the same brush, we all have blood on our hands for paying taxes and not having squat control on what our taxes are spent on.

Do you remind your British Pakistani family they kill thousands of Muslims in the Middle-East and are complicit in the murder of poor people because they pay their taxes?

100Ms hearts destroyed with a mere 7 bullets.

The power of the truth!

Well done! :19:

Abhi es per comment anay wala hai

1. Dallar ka rate neechay nahi oper gaya hai.
2. Tamater ka rate bahut oper gaya hai.
3. Ghareeb ki cheenkhain nikal rahi hai.
4. Ameer aur Ameer ho raha hai.

:-D

Facts!

Abhi es per comment anay wala hai

1. Dallar ka rate neechay nahi oper gaya hai.
2. Tamater ka rate bahut oper gaya hai.
3. Ghareeb ki cheenkhain nikal rahi hai.
4. Ameer aur Ameer ho raha hai.

:-D

But Why? I dont Understand economics, so tell me what IK has done with the Dollar/rupee rate?

Savak said 1 year down and 29 to go. That is why I said 29 and not 30.

You don’t understand Pakistan politics. Every election has been rigged by the military and they have ensured that they candidate of their preference (at the time) has come into power so that they can run the show from the background.

Evidence? Or do you expect me to take YOUR word, being pro-India and anti-Pakistan?

The ugliest and most rigged election in Pakistan history was the presidential election of 1965 when General Ayub rigged the election against Fatima Jinnah, an early example of the military’s disgusting lust for power.

Both the 2013 and 2018 elections were rigged as well, but it is also true that PMLN and PTI would still have won because they had the popular vote at the time.

However, things are starting to change and Imran is losing popular support because of multiple reasons.

Firstly, while PTI is good at fudging numbers and pretending that the economy is heading in the right direction, the common people on the streets do not care about numbers and future projections; they only care about results and how their lives are going to improve.

Under PTI’s rule, the condition of the poor has only worsened. Everything including the daily necessities have become increasingly expensive and thus the business owners are suffering as well. People are being laid-off in the private sector.

Those who are struggling to pay for meals today because of the price hikes are not going to care about the future promises. Besides, Imran has time and time again proved that he either deliberately misleads the public or does not have the capability to walk the talk.

His government has been failing in KP for 6 years. People gave them a chance again in 2018 in the hope that they might turn things around with experience but they have only made things worse.

Moreover, the Nawaz situation has destroyed Imran’s credibility. He talked about bringing accountability and justice and ending VIP culture, but on his watch, Nawaz has gone to London for treatment without paying a penny.

His supporters cannot justify or excuse him either way. If they say that it wasn’t his decision, it makes him look weak and powerless. If they say it was his decision, he comes across as a hypocrite.

The blind followers will support him even if he kills children, but other people voted for him because they believed in his mission, and so far he has proved that he is all talk and no action.

People are finally coming to terms with the reality that he is a con-artist. The military will back him until he is of use to them, but if the masses turn on him they will be forced to remove him as was the case with Nawaz and Benazir before him.

When you have leaders and others robbing the nation via corruption, others will have to suffer for the economy to become stable again and for the nation to save itself from going down the bankruptcy toilet.

Your post is a big joke. You cannnot be caring for the poor or worse off when you have are one of the causes of this.

haha. What a load of **. This has to be the stupidest post that I've ever seen on here and trust me I've seen a lot of stupid posts. First of all, this guy posts random stuff that he does not know anything about and he got owned in another thread when he started talking about PIA and PSM and now here he thinks he's some big shot economist when he's posting something which is complete **.

Also, next time please mention the source of your data munnay and not post random statistics that make no sense.

1. Exports: Yes, exports in PKR have definitely increased but the reason behind the increase in the depreciation of the currency. If we look at this statistic as currency neutral there has been a drop in exports from 23.2m USD from 2018 to 22.9m USD this year. (Source: PBS)

2. Trade Deficit decreased by 33.5% falling from $11.7 billion recorded from July-October of FY18-19 to $7.8bn during the same period this year. So, the comparison is in the years that PTI has been in power. As per the data from PBS, the trade deficit was actually lower in FY16-17 and also slightly lower than it currently is in the FY17-18.

3. Tax Collection. Even though tax collection have gone up in the first quarter of the curren FY vs the same period last FY, FBR has missed a quarterly target of Rs. 1,071 billion, reflecting a shortfall of Rs. 111 billion. The amnesity programs offered by the sitting government has indeed resulted in additional tax filers interestingly enough the same government spoke out vehemently against such programs when they were offered by previous governments.

In addition to the above, let's also look at a couple of other statistics:

Government debt as a % of GDP was around 64% when the previous government left, this is now at almost 70% (Source: CEIC)

Consumer Price Index was around 3.7% when the previous government left, this is now hovering at close to 12% (Source: CEIC)

I could really go into much more detail and rip you to shreds but honestly I really don't have the time and I believe this should suffice.

In summary, no doubt there are some positive things happening with regards to the economy but those are not filtering down to the people yet. Inflation is at an all time high and the additional loans that the government has taken is being filtered down to the people in terms of indirect taxes and increased prices. The hope is that the sitting government can turn this around soon enough as this will be its biggest victory.

Well those British Pakistanis in your family are tarred with the same brush, we all have blood on our hands for paying taxes and not having squat control on what our taxes are spent on.

Do you remind your British Pakistani family they kill thousands of Muslims in the Middle-East and are complicit in the murder of poor people because they pay their taxes?

I would if they would act holier than thou and claim that people who support Nawaz and Zardari are complicit in the killing of thousands of poor people.

People who pay taxes to western governments have no right to point fingers at others. It will only expose their double-standards.

Evidence? Or do you expect me to take YOUR word, being pro-India and anti-Pakistan?

When you have leaders and others robbing the nation via corruption, others will have to suffer for the economy to become stable again and for the nation to save itself from going down the bankruptcy toilet.

Your post is a big joke. You cannnot be caring for the poor or worse off when you have are one of the causes of this.

If you need evidence for the fact that the military of Pakistan has rigged election historically, you obviously have little understand of the history of Pakistan politics.

In fact, you are not even aware of the fact that Imran Khan himself accused the military in the past when he wasn’t polishing their boots to come into puppet power.

Also for reference, there are plenty of books and other sources that are available which you can read to understand the dirty tactics of our military in the election process, most famously in 1965 when Gen. Ayub humiliated Fatima Jinnah, who wanted to preserve her brother’s belief that the military should not have any say in politics.

Nonetheless, you will dismiss the claims of these sources and authors because they have been conveniently dubbed as anti-Pakistan by the establishment controlled media who don’t want the public to learn the truth, since they thrive on ignorance of the masses.

Speaking of tax collection that PTI supporters are doing bhangra on, here are the real facts.

The 2018-19 period was the first time in 51 years with negative growth in revenue collection.

Following is the historical revenue collection figures since 1948/1949:

(PKR in million)

(+ positive growth; – negative growth)

Year Total
1948-49 311 +
1949-50 448 +
1950-51 785 +
1951-52 951 +
1952-53 882 –
1953-54 701 –
1954-55 775 +
1955-56 965 +
1956-57 884 –
1957-58 978 +
1958-59 1,281 +
1959-60 1,178 –
1960-61 1,400 +
1961-62 1,565 +
1962-63 1,760 +
1963-64 2,083 +
1964-65 2,498 +
1965-66 2,686 +
1966-67 3,299 +
1967-68 3,213 –
1968-69 3,902 +
1969-70 4,610 +
1970-71 4,984 +
1971-72 5,162 +
1972-73 6,508 +
1973-74 9,019 +
1974-75 10,937 +
1975-76 13,193 +
1976-77 15,664 +
1977-78 19,188 +
1978-79 22,399 +
1979-80 30,016 +
1980-81 34,764 +
1981-82 38,551 +
1982-83 43,308 +
1983-84 50,331 +
1984-85 52,410 +
1985-86 59,202 +
1986-87 65,301 +
1987-88 75,425 +
1988-89 90,381 +
1989-90 104,233 +
1990-91 110,493 +
1991-92 139,776 +
1992-93 153,238 +
1993-94 172,591 +
1994-95 226,578 +
1995-96 268,037 +
1996-97 282,087 +
1997-98 293,631 +
1998-99 308,509 +
1999-00 347,104 +
2000-01 392,277 +
2001-02 404,070 +
2002-03 460,627 +
2003-04 520,843 +
2004-05 590,387 +
2005-06 713,442 +
2006-07 847,236 +
2007-08 1,008,091 +
2008-09 1,161,150 +
2009-10 1,327,382 +
2010-11 1,558,014 +
2011-12 1,882,693 +
2012-13 1,946,360 +
2013-14 2,254,532 +
2014-15 2,589,978 +
2015-16 3,115,054 +
2016-17 3,367,900 +
2017-18 3,843,755 +
2018-19 3,828,482 –

PTI and their supporters should to their propaganda and figure-fudging with folks who cannot see through their act and do not have access to actual data.

Speaking of tax collection that PTI supporters are doing bhangra on, here are the real facts.

The 2018-19 period was the first time in 51 years with negative growth in revenue collection.

Following is the historical revenue collection figures since 1948/1949:

(PKR in million)

(+ positive growth; – negative growth)

Year Total
1948-49 311 +
1949-50 448 +
1950-51 785 +
1951-52 951 +
1952-53 882 –
1953-54 701 –
1954-55 775 +
1955-56 965 +
1956-57 884 –
1957-58 978 +
1958-59 1,281 +
1959-60 1,178 –
1960-61 1,400 +
1961-62 1,565 +
1962-63 1,760 +
1963-64 2,083 +
1964-65 2,498 +
1965-66 2,686 +
1966-67 3,299 +
1967-68 3,213 –
1968-69 3,902 +
1969-70 4,610 +
1970-71 4,984 +
1971-72 5,162 +
1972-73 6,508 +
1973-74 9,019 +
1974-75 10,937 +
1975-76 13,193 +
1976-77 15,664 +
1977-78 19,188 +
1978-79 22,399 +
1979-80 30,016 +
1980-81 34,764 +
1981-82 38,551 +
1982-83 43,308 +
1983-84 50,331 +
1984-85 52,410 +
1985-86 59,202 +
1986-87 65,301 +
1987-88 75,425 +
1988-89 90,381 +
1989-90 104,233 +
1990-91 110,493 +
1991-92 139,776 +
1992-93 153,238 +
1993-94 172,591 +
1994-95 226,578 +
1995-96 268,037 +
1996-97 282,087 +
1997-98 293,631 +
1998-99 308,509 +
1999-00 347,104 +
2000-01 392,277 +
2001-02 404,070 +
2002-03 460,627 +
2003-04 520,843 +
2004-05 590,387 +
2005-06 713,442 +
2006-07 847,236 +
2007-08 1,008,091 +
2008-09 1,161,150 +
2009-10 1,327,382 +
2010-11 1,558,014 +
2011-12 1,882,693 +
2012-13 1,946,360 +
2013-14 2,254,532 +
2014-15 2,589,978 +
2015-16 3,115,054 +
2016-17 3,367,900 +
2017-18 3,843,755 +
2018-19 3,828,482 –

PTI and their supporters should to their propaganda and figure-fudging with folks who cannot see through their act and do not have access to actual data.

Can you give your source?

Is there a point? You will call the source fake and the numbers fabricated. Anyway, there are plenty:

https://www.brecorder.com/2019/11/2...for-poor-performance-in-revenue-mobilization/

https://www.thenews.com.pk/print/56...y19-turns-negative-first-time-in-half-century

KARACHI: Pakistan has witnessed a negative growth in tax collection during the last fiscal year, first time in more than half a century due to dismal performance in revenue mobilisation, official data showed on Friday.

The Federal Board of Revenue’s (FBR) Year Book 2018/19 showed that the FBR collected Rs3.828 trillion during the last fiscal year and failed to reach numbers of Rs3.844 trillion in the preceding fiscal year. Tax collection declined 0.4 percent or Rs15.3 billion year-over-year. Last time, the negative growth of 2.6 percent was recorded in 1967/68 in the FBR revenue collection, according to the annual year book.

Its funny that you use the News- Which is worthless junk. The other source doesnt even make sense. How long was the period we are talking about. "Though monthly growth trend indicated the increase in July 2018 to May 2019, but during the remaining ten months either growth was below the double digit or negative.

As you are using it as a source please explain!

Its funny that you use the News- Which is worthless junk. The other source doesnt even make sense. How long was the period we are talking about. "Though monthly growth trend indicated the increase in July 2018 to May 2019, but during the remaining ten months either growth was below the double digit or negative.

You don’t have to say it because I covered it before you replied. These are fake sources with fake numbers because they are not catering to the PTI propaganda.

I don’t think the year by year figures that I posted are available on the Internet yet because I don’t think the FBR have publicly released their annual report for 2018-2019, but you can wait till December.

You can call it lies or whatever but you are always welcome to post the actual figures and prove that the revenue collection under PTI government has not been negative.

Quoting the statistics of the FBR's annual report, PIAF Chairman Mian Nauman Kabir said that the tax agency collected Rs 3.83 trillion during the FY19 and failed to even reach the preceding fiscal year target of Rs 3.85 trillion. Last time, the negative growth of tax collection was recorded in fiscal year 1967-68.

PIAF chairman said the overall growth in net tax collection declined by Rs 15.3 billion in FY2019 when compared with the collection of the preceding fiscal year.

You don’t have to say it because I covered it before you replied. These are fake sources with fake numbers because they are not catering to the PTI propaganda.

I don’t think the year by year figures that I posted are available on the Internet yet because I don’t think the FBR have publicly released their annual report for 2018-2019, but you can wait till December.

You can call it lies or whatever but you are always welcome to post the actual figures and prove that the revenue collection under PTI government has not been negative.

Its your Sources and i am quoting from them. The IMF came recently and said they were happy with progress that has been made( with much work to do). Their targets are much stiffer, so until we get a full context, this is just rubbish. But all will be revealed because figures cant be hidden for long( unless you are Dar, and then you can hide for 5 years and do a runner)

Quoting the statistics of the FBR's annual report, PIAF Chairman Mian Nauman Kabir said that the tax agency collected Rs 3.83 trillion during the FY19 and failed to even reach the preceding fiscal year target of Rs 3.85 trillion. Last time, the negative growth of tax collection was recorded in fiscal year 1967-68.

PIAF chairman said the overall growth in net tax collection declined by Rs 15.3 billion in FY2019 when compared with the collection of the preceding fiscal year.

But this contradicts the IMF visit recently- I would wait until judgement is passed.

Its your Sources and i am quoting from them. The IMF came recently and said they were happy with progress that has been made( with much work to do). Their targets are much stiffer, so until we get a full context, this is just rubbish. But all will be revealed because figures cant be hidden for long( unless you are Dar, and then you can hide for 5 years and do a runner)

The sources I mentioned for you talked about the negative growth in revenue collection, they don’t have year by year figures. For that you will have to wait for the FBR annual report.

haha. What a load of **. This has to be the stupidest post that I've ever seen on here and trust me I've seen a lot of stupid posts. First of all, this guy posts random stuff that he does not know anything about and he got owned in another thread when he started talking about PIA and PSM and now here he thinks he's some big shot economist when he's posting something which is complete **.

Also, next time please mention the source of your data munnay and not post random statistics that make no sense.

1. Exports: Yes, exports in PKR have definitely increased but the reason behind the increase in the depreciation of the currency. If we look at this statistic as currency neutral there has been a drop in exports from 23.2m USD from 2018 to 22.9m USD this year. (Source: PBS)

2. Trade Deficit decreased by 33.5% falling from $11.7 billion recorded from July-October of FY18-19 to $7.8bn during the same period this year. So, the comparison is in the years that PTI has been in power. As per the data from PBS, the trade deficit was actually lower in FY16-17 and also slightly lower than it currently is in the FY17-18.

3. Tax Collection. Even though tax collection have gone up in the first quarter of the curren FY vs the same period last FY, FBR has missed a quarterly target of Rs. 1,071 billion, reflecting a shortfall of Rs. 111 billion. The amnesity programs offered by the sitting government has indeed resulted in additional tax filers interestingly enough the same government spoke out vehemently against such programs when they were offered by previous governments.

In addition to the above, let's also look at a couple of other statistics:

Government debt as a % of GDP was around 64% when the previous government left, this is now at almost 70% (Source: CEIC)

Consumer Price Index was around 3.7% when the previous government left, this is now hovering at close to 12% (Source: CEIC)

I could really go into much more detail and rip you to shreds but honestly I really don't have the time and I believe this should suffice.

In summary, no doubt there are some positive things happening with regards to the economy but those are not filtering down to the people yet. Inflation is at an all time high and the additional loans that the government has taken is being filtered down to the people in terms of indirect taxes and increased prices. The hope is that the sitting government can turn this around soon enough as this will be its biggest victory.

In your 3 points you basically just rewrote what I said, exports went up, tax collection went up and trade deficit decreased. Talk about being stupid :)))

Also the increase in exports (10% in Oct and 5% in 1st quarter) is in dollar terms, but I wouldn't expect a patwari to understand it.

Am I missing something, how was it Imran Khan’s fault to let Nawaz go?The LHC ordered the government to strike his name off.