India’s chance to create history

mkyawar

I feel this is. India’s chance to win overseas. If they can win this test, they are going to win the test series. I feel they can beat England in their yard. Only tough test is going to be in Australia

4 wickets fall in the morning and someone dedeuces that India can win the test series and then go on to England and win the test sereis there as well...

Gimme what you are having bruh! :95:

Premature something something of a thread, this one.

India would be huffin' n puffin' to get past the three figure mark.

It'll take a tremendous effort to chase 200+ on this pitch against SA.

LOL... jinx thread? They are already 180 ahead with ABD at crease. We will be chasing > 250 for sure on this pitch which is extremely tough. It will be a massive achievement if we even come close to the target.

SA are a bowler short. So yea Ind are favs for this match.

LOL... jinx thread? They are already 180 ahead with ABD at crease. We will be chasing > 250 for sure on this pitch which is extremely tough. It will be a massive achievement if we even come close to the target.

No Dale Steyn. And by the look of things they might not even make it past 200.

SA are a bowler short. So yea Ind are favs for this match.

Steyn or no Steyn - Morkel, Rabada and Philander are good enough to take 10 wickets on this pitch. Add in that its Day 5, and that balls are starting to spit up, even Maharaj comes into play - uneven bounce will make him into a wicket taking option.

SA will win this hands down...even if India knock them over for 120 this innings. Anything more than that, it becomes impossible for India to even have a chance.

Best approach from Kohli would be to bowl dry, and take time out of the test.

Steyn or no Steyn - Morkel, Rabada and Philander are good enough to take 10 wickets on this pitch. Add in that its Day 5, and that balls are starting to spit up, even Maharaj comes into play - uneven bounce will make him into a wicket taking option.

SA will win this hands down...even if India knock them over for 120 this innings. Anything more than that, it becomes impossible for India to even have a chance.

You are underestimating Ind. All the momentum is with Kohli’s men.

Refer to 1st innings and India's top order.

Would have been bowled out for less than 100 were it not for Pandya...who was dropped, and batted like he had nothing to lose. He won't be able to take the same approach to an innings again.

Even if you allow for the top order to perform better, 200 is still to steep a task. SA look like getting to 150 at this rate anyway. Pandya, as a bowler, leaks runs. Needs to bring on Ashwin vs Maharaj, and get someone like Kumar to bowl a consistent line to AB.

South Africa's pacers are going to bowl on the same pitch, FYI. History making won't be that easy.

We (India) will lose. These playing conditions aren't for our FTBs.

But amazingly well done to our bowlers!

Well this has Barbados Test written all over it 1997. When chasing 120, India choked and were bowled out for less than 100. Morkel Rabada and Philander will clean them up. India to lose by 20-25 odd runs. Match will be over by the end of the day.

Barbados pitch and this pitch are planets apart. We may lose this but we are favourites here. If we negotiate the first spell from Phillander and Rabada, we get to pick on Maharaj.

India are the favorites right now.

With Steyn out all they need is to survive the 1st hour.

After that Kohli can chase it.

This is litmus rest for Kohli, if he wants to go down as GOAT he needs to deliver here with the bat.. These are the sort of matches where you step up and perform to be called the GOAT.. Can kohli do it, we will find it shortly..

Well this has Barbados Test written all over it 1997. When chasing 120, India choked and were bowled out for less than 100. Morkel Rabada and Philander will clean them up. India to lose by 20-25 odd runs. Match will be over by the end of the day.

This is in the bag. India surely cannot lose this especially with Kohli in the side. Great fightback by Pandya and the bowlers.

There are no demons in the pitch. All India needs to do is show some patience.

Today is the 4th day.

Hopefully India will chase it down. This Indian side is the most impressive Asian Test team I have seen in a long, long time. I think they are superior to the mid 2000s Indian side, and there are certainly no other competitors when it comes to Asian Test teams of the last 15 years or so.

Outstanding performance and they deserve to win.

Not only as batsman, but Kohli is also racing to greatness as a Test captain.

Good to see so many Pakistani brothers having confidence in Indian team, maybe to jinx maybe they genuinely want India to win either ways good to see such brotherhood here..

Unfortunately I expect the pitch to ease out. It was going to be difficult for the first 20 overs in the day with the rain just juicing it up for a bit, after that it would calm down.

It has to happen with the new ball for SA. 10-4 pls

Good to see so many Pakistani brothers having confidence in Indian team, maybe to jinx maybe they genuinely want India to win either ways good to see such brotherhood here..

I certainly do not want them to win. You are mistaken.

No lolz. No Pakistani wants India team to win.

But we will always appreciate a well competitive Indian win :)

India has won 2 test before with similar performances, but always fell short... this match is still 65-35 in SA favour

Hopefully India will chase it down. This Indian side is the most impressive Asian Test team I have seen in a long, long time. I think they are superior to the mid 2000s Indian side, and there are certainly no other competitors when it comes to Asian Test teams of the last 15 years or so.

you are very kind sir.

It is a horrible batting line up and Kuldeep can easily take place of Ashwin in THESE conditions where Ashwin is useless anyways and his batting has gone downhill

No lolz. No Pakistani wants India team to win.

But we will always appreciate a well competitive Indian win :)

It’s ok mate we have understood your subtle hints of how much you love and want Indian cricket team to always win.. :asif

Thank you for your support..

India’s game to lose now. Amazing come back.

Please apply for Indian nationality....

India are one lucky team, steyn out of this match and cant bowl anymore, and needless to say SA a bowler down.

stop whining, Ind also 1 bowler and 2 batsmen short by team selection. I have been saying from the start, we will be lucky to score 150.may be 120!

lol... 77-6..

Looks like India will lose this series and England series as well going by OP's prediction :10:

Hold your horses, the last batting pair is in.

3-0 and more humiliation coming up for FTBs and HTBs!!_ yeahhh
#no mercy

Hold your horses, the last batting pair is in.

There are no horses to hold. I hope(d) India would win, but it was too tough to call who would actually go on to win. A brilliant Test match by two very good teams, and the sizable lead that India conceded in the first innings has proved to be pivotal.

I think the Man of the Match award should go to de Villiers. His counter-attack half-century on day 1 proved to be the difference in my view.

Its all done..SA is winning this.
Luck favoured India with rain, injury and all but yet a loss was guaranteed. SA just too good.

Very useful runs there from de Villiers and SA bowlers doing it easily.

Not sure how you made that assessment. Is it just because you like them? With how they are rolling over right now, i fail to see their superior side. Please enlighten us.

I was just about to say it's time for Pandya to grab the MOTM award by the neck.

Rahane sat at home like

04XME_f-maxage-0.gif

Not sure how you made that assessment. Is it just because you like them? With how they are rolling over right now, i fail to see their superior side. Please enlighten us.

No doubt India is the best Asian test as well as ODI side.

Rahane in place of Rohit could have made huge difference. Indian bowlers deserved better output. This is pretty poor from Indian batters.

Not really all these hypotheticals of using x instead of y are just used to ease the pain.. The fact is simple we are a mediocre bunch always have been and always will be.

We have made history of being mediocre in everything we do..

It's not over yet.

Very strange things have happened in test cricket.

Plus India (bowlers at least, so far) have played like #1 team.

Far for mediocrity. I am surprised by Indian bowlers here.

Rahul could have made a big difference here. This guy could play a counter attacking inning in any condition and his runs would have really reduced huge pressure from india while chasing or even in first inning.

Same for Rahane. Indian team has it to become one of the best Asian sides of all time if Kohli and Shashtri stop messing up things with their poor selection choice.

Rohit shouldnt be brought back in team before the home season begins from now onwards.

It's not over yet.

Very strange things have happened in test cricket.

Plus India (bowlers at least, so far) have played like #1 team.

Far for mediocrity. I am surprised by Indian bowlers here.

It’s over and you chose to accept mediocrity if you think we played like #1 team in a game like cricket which is by far the most played sport in India and not the first sport in any other major country apart from Pakistan (who themselves suck) we can’t dominate just reeks of pure mediocrity.. But our entire society is filled with it and we have learnt to live with it and become happy with one of performers like bowlers did well etc..

Bhai, arent you just 26? You haven't seen ANY cricket for a "long, long time".
I have to believe no Pakistani would root for India like that. Certainly no Bangladeshi does.

I mentioned it before the start of Indian innings and yet nobody believed in it.

Deserve to win? Not sure how, compared to South Africa their batting has not been a match even though there was a freak innings by Pandya who was actually dropped at one point.

They've bowled well and put a fight in the field but in general have been behind South Africa.

South Africa have just been too good.

He probably just started watching cricket after 2011.

lol last 15 years. He would have been 11 at that time. Lord.

It is possible he was a keen follower of cricket as a kid.

I remember quite distinctly games involving players like Wasim and Waqar that I watched when I was under 10 for example.

Pachees saal ka badla :srt

Bhai kuchh to sharm kar, everyone knew Indian batting not good enough to chase 150+ here. phir bhi pandya counter attack aur SA ka wicket girta dekh 2 din chhipa raha,aa phir se aaya bil se.It is sad such hatred is driving your life. PP is unfortunate to be let down by citizens like you from its mother country. Har post me dehshatgardi ugalta hai par kyun??

It's just friendly banter... perhaps you are new here. Indian members do the same when we lose. We all laugh enjoy our time here and then tomorrow is a new day. Dil pe lehne ki zarorat nahi.

What an epic jinx!! Well done mate

One more away Test, where 2nd class citizens set the Test for much vaunted batting line-up. Starting from Adelaide 1992, this is probably 6th or 7th Test I can recall, Indian bowlers must feel that life isn't fair.

It's just friendly banter... perhaps you are new here. Indian members do the same when we lose. We all laugh enjoy our time here and then tomorrow is a new day. Dil pe lehne ki zarorat nahi.
Ok i will give you that.

btw: I had a bet at workplace about India getting all out for 130 chasing this.
Will get the party tomorrow ..sigh.... but it was coming....100%

One more away Test, where 2nd class citizens set the Test for much vaunted batting line-up. Starting from Adelaide 1992, this is probably 6th or 7th Test I can recall, Indian bowlers must feel that life isn't fair.

This. They did the job this time. Aussies pacers would be proud of this effort.

Your overhyping of Indian cricketers is ridiculous.