India announce squad for SA Tests (Jasprit Bumrah ruled out due to lower back stress fracture)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the 15-member squad for the upcoming Test series against South Africa on Thursday and It was bad news for KL Rahul as the opener was dropped from the team and was replaced by youngster Shubman Gill. With 101 runs from two matches, Rahul did not have a good outing in the last series against West Indies and Indian cricket team chief selector MSK Prasad revealed after the team selection the Rohit Sharma will be opening the batting along with Mayank Agarwal against South Africa.

“Rohit Sharma has been selected in the side as an opener. He will open in the three matches and also for the Board President XI. Want to give him an opportunity to open the innings in Tests,” Prasad said in the press conference.

Earlier, Rohit found support from a number of former cricketers who believe that he can succeed as an opener in Test cricket. “There is no reason why Rohit Sharma cannot be successful in Test cricket. In India, most definitely he can play as an opener. There might be more challenging times abroad in South Africa, England and Australia,” said former Australia wicket-keeper Adam Gilchrist while responding to the topic.

Former India chief selector Dilip Vengsarkar also echoed Gilchrist’s sentiments and said that Rohit is a world class player who only needs a platform to perform.“To make him bat in the opening position or No. 3 or 4 doesn’t really make much of a difference. It is just about the mental state. It is a good thing that he will be opening; he will get a dedicated slot to bat in. He is a world-class player and has proved it. Give him a platform, and he will perform. He delivered when the whole world was watching during his innings [of 140] against Pakistan in the World Cup. He is a big-match player, so I am sure he will succeed,” Vengsarkar told Mid-day.

India’s squad for 3 Tests: Virat Kohli (Capt), Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Shubman Gill

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...tting-order/story-64WbQ385LsJkgxLXkudLmO.html

No doubt he may score a lot of runs opening the batting as India have a lot of home series ahead but I don't think it's a worthy long-term move.

We will continue to be dominant at home but stay average outside Asia. I am assuming this XI to start for South Africa tests:-

Rohit
Agarwal
Pujara
Kohli(c)
Rahane
Vihari
Pant(wkt)
Jadeja
Ashwin
Shami
Bumrah

Rohit to open against Rabada, Vernon and co? Mmm can’t see that going well for him.

Should just make Saha open, he would probably survive more than both.

Hope he scores 6 ducks.

He has not played FC cricket for years. Has not played test cricket regularly.

He is simply not a test match player, let alone a opener.

God forbid if he scores runs in India, then we are stuck with a walking wicket outside Asia.

Poor Shaw and Gill.

Why Rohit Why? Please stay away from Test cricket. At 33 what are you going to do in a format that requires a lot of patience?

Why select Gill if he is not going to play anyways. This is like getting married and someone else takes your bride :facepalm:

Hope he scores 6 ducks.

He has not played FC cricket for years. Has not played test cricket regularly.

He is simply not a test match player, let alone a opener.

God forbid if he scores runs in India, then we are stuck with a walking wicket outside Asia.

Poor Shaw and Gill.
I do not know why are Indian selectors obsessed with him.

Why Rohit Why? Please stay away from Test cricket. At 33 what are you going to do in a format that requires a lot of patience?

Why select Gill if he is not going to play anyways. This is like getting married and someone else takes your bride :facepalm:

His time will come. There are too many passengers in the team. We got rid of one already. :inti

As if we have any better players :))
You know players like Abid Ali and god knows who else from the Pakistan reserves but don't know who's been scoring runs from among the Indian reserves.

Jesus dude, we know you're keeping up a gimmick but can you make it less obvious?

Problem, as i see it, is tht Rohit Sharma might score some runs on the dead indian wickets .. but when he goes anywhere where there is liiiiittttlle bit of swing, he will be found out straight away .. thts the problems with dead wickets..

an argument can be tht scoring freely on dead wickets or home advantage wickets give you the bosst that you need on away tours.. but tht shld be reserved for a newish player..not a 33 year old who has been in the circuit for over 15 years

If Indian batsmen can out runs on the board, they should fancy chances of winning this series, current SA test team is very poor indeed. india missed a huge change on last tour to win a series there.

Really Rohit should not be opening or in the squad. It's a travesty of justice if that happens. Forget his start and stop career in Test cricket, he really does not have any significant performance as opener in domestics. Actually he did not even play enough long form cricket in recent times.

Put yourselves in the shoes of Priyank Panchal and Abhimanyu Easwaran who have been consistently scoring runs at the top. You will realize how corrupt the current dispensation is and how strong the nexus they have.

Rohit doesn't deserve the opening slot opportunity. He hasn't batted there in domestics and it's the harded and the most important batting place to bat when we go abroad neither does he have the most compact technique or temperament.

Only if Shaw was available. We may even have got rid of KL from tests in West Indies itself.

Umesh Yadav replaces Jasprit Bumrah in India's Test squad

Jasprit Bumrah has sustained a minor stress fracture in his lower back and has been ruled out of the upcoming Tests against South Africa.

Serious injury and one that could plague a sportsman’s career. Hope it isn’t too serious
An

Stress fracture recovery time is usually 3 months minimum, so no cricket for Bumrah for probably at least 4 months.

TBH i was amazed that he hadnt got a back in jury before because his action requires so much effort at the point of delivery that its bound put stress on his back. He is the best fast bowler in the world and on his way to becoming one for the ages but he needs to be bowling less to keep him healthy.

Rohit doesn't deserve the opening slot opportunity. He hasn't batted there in domestics and it's the harded and the most important batting place to bat when we go abroad neither does he have the most compact technique or temperament.

Only if Shaw was available. We may even have got rid of KL from tests in West Indies itself.

Rohit is a waste of spot at the opening slot. I cannot believe he is still in the plans for Test squad let alone open the innings.

KL is strictly T20 material. He is not good enough for Tests.

Gill and Shaw should be playing Tests.

Bumrah is the jewel of India, not Kohli. His health should be the biggest priority for Indian cricket, should skip needless LOI tours and also sacrifice IPL cricket.

Horrible news about Bumrah. Never want to see any sportsman get a potentially serious injury, much less an exciting fast bowler, who provide cricket's greatest spectacle.

Unsurprising given that action. If he wants a long career he will have to remodel it.

With that short run up the kind of speed Bumrah generates it makes him susceptible to injuries.
He'll soon have to make adjustments in his actions

Bumrah is the jewel of India, not Kohli. His health should be the biggest priority for Indian cricket, should skip needless LOI tours and also sacrifice IPL cricket.

He would not skip IPL unless BCCI reimburse him his IPL contract

Quite sad news for India actually. I read it’s a minor stress fracture, but that doesn’t give much confidence - it only tells they could identify the crack at early stage, which wasn’t the case for DK Lillee or Imran and it cost them two years; for Mo Zahid, it cost his career.

It’s good that they could trace it at early stages, but Bumrah’s action is the most complex (I won’t say ugly) that I have seen, and extremely stressful for his shoulders & lower back, therefore it’s was just waiting to happen - guy has bowled his heart out for last 15 months in like 20 Tests and an ODI WC. I hope he recovers completely and come back stronger, but I am not sure if he’ll be same Bumrah, if they make even slightest adjustments in his action to increase sustainability. Waquar was never the bowler after 1993 WIN tour!!!!!

BCCI must not hurry - though I don’t know the details and I am not an expert, but my hunch is that Bumrah’s 2019-20 season is over. Stress fracture normally takes much longer than expected and it’s such an injury that fast bowlers can start training only after 100% recovery, otherwise they often aggravate recurring injuries. In my view, bigger loss for India than the Tennis elbow of Tendulkar.

Man I was actually looking forward to seeing how Bumrah foes in Indian conditions in tests.

But more excited to see how this new South African team does. We know how good India are. Want to see if this new South African team can stand up. Also want to see De Kock carry his form on.

Only a matter of time before Bumrah was going to be injured.

With that action, he needs to be managed better than he has been so far in his career.

Unsurprising given that action. If he wants a long career he will have to remodel it.

Part of the reason behind his success is his action is so awkward for batmen to face. After remodeling, he probably won't be anywhere as threatening.

Feel bad for Bumrah. Wish him recovery.

PS: It is funny Indians complaining about Rohit Sharma. Lolz wo koi Hafeez hai kya? :facepalm:

recover soon champ. best bowler in the world, period. all formats. Would be a shame if it was a serious injury. back stress is extremely dangerous. He needs to skip meaningless LOI tours and t20 ******** bilaterals. Use him only for tournaments and tests plus ipl.

Apart from IPL nothing is meaningless in your post. International cricket can never be meaningless for any player. So he should skip IPL first otherwise he should get used to getting injured again and again. He should also get used to missing important series.

He was injured for first two tests against England last year if I remember correctly. Then he got injured during IPL this year also before World Cup. When you are an important bowler of your team you should give your body enough rest before important series. :inti

Apart from IPL nothing is meaningless in your post. International cricket can never be meaningless for any player. So he should skip IPL first otherwise he should get used to getting injured again and again. He should also get used to missing important series.

He was injured for first two tests against England last year if I remember correctly. Then he got injured during IPL this year also before World Cup. When you are an important bowler of your team you should give your body enough rest before important series. :inti

you are correct sir but ipl is like champions league or the world cup for these players because they rake in a lot of cash. He can skip the LOI tours imo. no need to use him for bilaterals and t20 bilaterals. Asia cup he can be rested there too.

The best Ind fast bowler in my lifetime- he is on his way to greatness, but has been overplayed and its taken its toll.

Quite sad news for India actually. I read it’s a minor stress fracture, but that doesn’t give much confidence - it only tells they could identify the crack at early stage, which wasn’t the case for DK Lillee or Imran and it cost them two years; for Mo Zahid, it cost his career.

It’s good that they could trace it at early stages, but Bumrah’s action is the most complex (I won’t say ugly) that I have seen, and extremely stressful for his shoulders & lower back, therefore it’s was just waiting to happen - guy has bowled his heart out for last 15 months in like 20 Tests and an ODI WC. I hope he recovers completely and come back stronger, but I am not sure if he’ll be same Bumrah, if they make even slightest adjustments in his action to increase sustainability. Waquar was never the bowler after 1993 WIN tour!!!!!

BCCI must not hurry - though I don’t know the details and I am not an expert, but my hunch is that Bumrah’s 2019-20 season is over. Stress fracture normally takes much longer than expected and it’s such an injury that fast bowlers can start training only after 100% recovery, otherwise they often aggravate recurring injuries. In my view, bigger loss for India than the Tennis elbow of Tendulkar.
Even minor stress fractures specifically of the back take time to recover, [MENTION=134981]Bhaag Viru Bhaag[/MENTION] BCCI should compensate him for IPl in future and manage his workload.

And when he does that, it will be the start of a slippery slope.

We've been here so many times before.

Action of Bumrah and Al Amin of Bangladesh, hands down the most un easy things in cricket to watch.

While Al Amin chucks clearly, Bumrah with this action wont last long in international circuit I guess as such actions are prone to back injuries.

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/s...hy-is-he-so-much-better&p=9503220#post9503220

Called it almost couple of years ago.

Though Bumrah has been much more stronger than I expected and its unfortunate that it has happened to him. With his small run up and generating all the pace and angle from the back and shoulder right at the end, it was inevitable.

In my opinion remodeling wont work with him as every aspect from run up to delivery is aligned with his action and he isnt in his teenage anymore to start using different bowling muscles suddenly.

He will require better workload management, strength training of back and bit of luck to have a long career.

Someone told me ots not a injury at all. Dont know how true is that.

What do you even mean then lol?

Either he is:
a) Made to sit out tough back breaking Indian tracks and be an overseas specialist where he gets more purchase?
b) Has some issue with the cricket board or team leadership and is being not selected due to that

What do you even mean then lol?

Either he is:
a) Made to sit out tough back breaking Indian tracks and be an overseas specialist where he gets more purchase?
b) Has some issue with the cricket board or team leadership and is being not selected due to that

If he plays the next series then its A with a bit of modification.

With such an unusual action this was bound to happen.

But I have got a feeling that he was overburdened somewhat. Test, ODI, T20, IPL...too much cricket. Stress fracture cut short career of player like Waqar. Not a good news for Indian cricket

If he plays the next series then its A with a bit of modification.

If they would have wanted him to take break they could have said so, why would they want to present an injury and that too a stress fracture of lower back just for him to have a break?

Bumrah has been rested quite a few times in the past as well without it being presented as an injury.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Rohit Sharma is out for a 2nd ball duck! Philander with the big wicket.<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/BPXIvSA?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#BPXIvSA</a> LIVE updates<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/IndVsSA?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#IndVsSA</a> <a href="https://t.co/5r6fWXmIZh">https://t.co/5r6fWXmIZh</a></p>— Sportstar (@sportstarweb) <a href="https://twitter.com/sportstarweb/status/1177816635744219136?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 28, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

you are correct sir but ipl is like champions league or the world cup for these players because they rake in a lot of cash. He can skip the LOI tours imo. no need to use him for bilaterals and t20 bilaterals. Asia cup he can be rested there too.

Choice is his. He can either earn millions by risking his body or he can skip IPL for few years. At the end of his career he can play in that low quality league again to earn easy money. Win win situation for everyone. :inti

The low quality league is the reason this guy got his place in indian team.
He will never refuse to play a league which made him what he is, posters here should not assume that a humble guy like bumrah has the same selfish mentality as they have.

I think low quality league fans will be happy to see him injured throughout the indian season just so that he can remain fit for the biggest tamasha of the year next year. Thank god we have some sane fans in Indian cricket. :inti

Bumrah has been overworked, Kohli might go with Saini soon.

believe it or not saini and evem siraj are very good test bowlers. People will be surprised when they travel abroad. Especially saini will be useful in australia and s.africa.

bumrah will come back stronger than ever.

The low quality league is the reason this guy got his place in indian team.
He will never refuse to play a league which made him what he is, posters here should not assume that a humble guy like bumrah has the same selfish mentality as they have.

actually bumrah has a phenomenal 1st class record too.

believe it or not saini and evem siraj are very good test bowlers. People will be surprised when they travel abroad. Especially saini will be useful in australia and s.africa.

bumrah will come back stronger than ever.

Not sure about Siraj but Saini will be making Test debut this year. With Ishant and Shami being rotated throughtout. Kohli needs new bowl bowlers.