India lost the final of ICC World Cup 2023, but I am still proud of this Indian team

Devadwal

Yes we lost the final to Australia and feeling really sad but still I love this Indian team and proud off .
Yes we not won the ICC trophy from last 10 year but we will try again and Again untill we won .
Congratulations Australian team as they play amazing cricket in final .

I thought they were better than this to be honest. A real let down, they played like timid hamsters.
Yes we play very timid in middle over period and Rohit Captioncy was not great either .after reducing Australia 47-3 we not created enough pressure

Not tonight. I love sports and can take losses but that was not good enough for a final.

Dissapointed with the effort when the going got tough

Fair Play, India had been the best team in the tourney until that final game.

Should be proud to make the finals and play the kind of cricket India has been playing.

1.5 billion people behind you, backed by trillions dollar economy, backed by a $100 billion cricket industry, backed by Bollywood, backed by your local pitches, the best ever Indian bowling attack and still failed to win the WC at home.

Country of India and Indian Cricket Team ko Chullooo main paani daal ke Sharam se doob ke mar jaana chahiye

I am always proud of Indian team.

But writing was on the wall. Murphy's law will come in to play at any point of time. These players were not ready for it. And I was surprised they missed to address the greatest weakness in the Indian Team i.e. the middle order.

I thought they were better than this to be honest. A real let down, they played like timid hamsters.

It happens in big finals. We all thought that Pak team of 99 WC was much better after beating Aussies in group stages but got humiliated in finals. So that is the nature of the game....some days it goes your way and sometimes doesn't.

On topic, very proud of this team of what is has done over the course of last 2 months. Now the focus must shift on T20 cricket in preparation for next T20 WC.

@Devadwal told you so that Australia are winning this in the England vs India thread. You asked me to wait for 11 PM on 19th November. I am here way before 11 PM. Mind you that doesn't mean that I wasn't supporting India but that clearly means I know the limit of this current Indian team. Once again, I was proven right. :inti
To me, it felt like India lost after Gill departed. The very first wicket seemed so pivotal.

1.5 billion people behind you, backed by trillions dollar economy, backed by a $100 billion cricket industry, backed by Bollywood, backed by your local pitches, the best ever Indian bowling attack and still failed to win the WC at home.

Country of India and Indian Cricket Team ko Chullooo main paani daal ke Sharam se doob ke mar jaana chahiye
So it all about money ?? Why England haven't won the world cup before 2019 as they were invented cricket .India won when we have no resources at all in 1987 so it's not all about money , People's.

It's always difficult after such a loss but Indian cricket is in a good place. You'll be back again, competing and fighting at the top the game.

It happens in big finals. We all thought that Pak team of 99 WC was much better after beating Aussies in group stages but got humiliated in finals. So that is the nature of the game....some days it goes your way and sometimes doesn't.

On topic, very proud of this team of what is has done over the course of last 2 months. Now the focus must shift on T20 cricket in preparation for next T20 WC.

Pakistan did have a great side in 99 but in the final they choked against another great side, that was nothing to be proud of.

Compare this to the kind of threads we had when Pakistan lost in the final last year :LOL:

Our fans should learn humility from Indian fans.

It's always difficult after such a loss but Indian cricket is in a good place. You'll be back again, competing and fighting at the top the game.
Yea 10 year is not a great period where we not won any icc trophy but we will try again until we won. System is there now need result.
No need to change the whole team just becouse we lost the final.

Gavaskar literally crying 😭😂😂 and blaming it on bad luck in the final

It's not synchronised swimming. The winning of the final is all that matters. The rest are just also rans
So winning is final is matter than what about England football , or before England team who even invented cricket? Yes win is important but all is not lost . We will try again and again but no need to changes the system like Pakistan cricket is doing right now.

Yes we lost the final to Australia and feeling really sad but still I love this Indian team and proud off .
Yes we not won the ICC trophy from last 10 year but we will try again and Again untill we won .
Congratulations Australian team as they play amazing cricket in final .
Your over confidence when India is winning is laughable. Learn to stay humble in victory.

Commiserations

I support u guys no matter the result....u played like champions

Yeah. They played well enough. You need some luck as well to beat a team who can match you in skills and firepower.

At least we didn't lose to weaker teams like NZ and PAK in KO's, who we had no business losing to,which we did under Kohli.

We lost to a team of some real high quality and high class.

So winning is final is matter than what about England football , or before England team who even invented cricket? Yes win is important but all is not lost . We will try again and again but no need to changes the system like Pakistan cricket is doing right now.
No winning is all that matters in professional Sport. Participation is important at the amateur level.

How many of Virat, Rohit, Shami, Jadeja, Rahul, Surya and Pandya will play in 2027? They are a seriously old team.

Gavaskar literally crying 😭😂😂 and blaming it on bad luck in the final
So are all the Indian fan ,we are really heartbroken but can't leave our team in difficult time .they gave us happiness so just becouse we lost the final .Virat and Rohit gave all to this world cup but things don't go our way today.

Yeah. They played well enough. You need some luck as well to beat a team who can match you in skills and firepower.

At least we didn't lose to weaker teams like NZ and PAK in KO's, who we had no business losing to,which we did under Kohli.

We lost to a team of some real high quality and high class.
Not really. With a bit if luck we could have made the SF with the umpires call against SA but we didn't because we weren't good enough, which is exactly like you guys. Just not good enough

We still play brilliant cricket apart from one game unlike other team who can't win even against Afghanistan

Not to add salt to the wound, but there are no prizes for second place. All that the history books will care about is who won, and unfortunately for you, that’s once again not India. You had every advantage possible, and you still lost. The fact that you played good cricket until now is, I’m afraid, completely meaningless - when it counted, you failed and miserably too.

Your over confidence when India is winning is laughable. Learn to stay humble in victory.

Commiserations
Unlike you we can't create controversy when other team are winning .you were crying about toss ,icc= BCCI etc. But today we lost fair and well played Australia so they deserve to win the final.

Not really. With a bit if luck we could have made the SF with the umpires call against SA but we didn't because we weren't good enough, which is exactly like you guys. Just not good enough

Agree to disagree. There was only 1 team which had the skill and firepower to match us and they won. Rest of the teams don't compare.

Especially not with their awful bowling.

Agree to disagree. There was only 1 team which had the skill and firepower to match us and they won. Rest of the teams don't compare.

Especially not with their awful bowling.
Isn't that what happens. You only have to lose to one team in the final and you are also losers

No winning is all that matters in professional Sport. Participation is important at the amateur level.
Winning is matter no question about it .but this is not the ends. We still have 2nd best record of winning icc trophy. yes we were not won any ICC trophy from past 10 year . Some great team of sports not even won trophy from 20 -30 year still they are not losing hope's just becouse you lost the final .this Indian team is done very well and we have respect for them .

When two champion team are playing then one has to be lose as simple as that.
Reaching to final is big achievement for any team

Better team on the day won and won quite comprehensively, but through out the tournament Indian team played like champions albeit in their familiar conditions backed by loyal and vocal fans.

when push came to shove india turned into Pakistan, timid, and afraid of losing, gave aus the initiative through the middle overs, and then made a strategic blunder by bringing both spinners on to bowl together when the pressure was on. if i was an india supporter, i would not be happy. the game was there for the taking and it was a lack of balls which lost it in the end.

Aram karo ab saarey.. narendra modi stadium main nahi jeet sakte to kahin nahi jeet sakte.
Lord's ,Johannesburg etc are Indian ground right?? Btw we already humiliated Pakistan at Narendra Modi stadium in this world cup. :shh

So sad, modi ji bhi chankana baja ker tasweerein khicha ke ghar lot Jayein gay apne hi stadium se khaali haath

Kia pitch change karney ka moka nahi mila tum logon ko?

Of course Indian fans should be proud of this team. They played incredibly well. Not sure Rohit and Kohli have a future in ODIs though. They need to start grooming youngsters right away. There are already a few waiting in the wings. This Indian team is a champion team. They went further than the last two teams. Just need that final push and 2027 could be the one.

So sad, modi ji bhi chankana baja ker tasweerein khicha ke ghar lot Jayein gay apne hi stadium se khaali haath

Kia pitch change karney ka moka nahi mila tum logon ko?
Have you heard about gabba pitch or perth pitch? Do you know how to play on that bouncy and pacy pitch?? We won there back to back series and some team can't even draw a match there. :shh

Of course Indian fans should be proud of this team. They played incredibly well. Not sure Rohit and Kohli have a future in ODIs though. They need to start grooming youngsters right away. There are already a few waiting in the wings. This Indian team is a champion team. They went further than the last two teams. Just need that final push and 2027 could be the one.

Lol no chance in SA. This was the golden chance. India and Pakistan ain't winning a WC for a long time now.

Ummm no. We’re still very proud of our team. They played amazingly well in this tournament and one bad game does not make them bad. Go India!

Second time India got pwned by Australia in a final. The Joburg final was a historic thukai than this one though. But still in narendra modi stadium aisy beizzati nakable bardasht hai.

Iss se acha tha Sri Lanka main moonsoon season mein final rukh letey

Lol no chance in SA. This was the golden chance. India and Pakistan ain't winning a WC for a long time now.
The last two-word cups held in SA - India won one and went to the final in another

Player are already there after Rohit and Virat . Jaiswal ,Rituraj Gill,pant ( will comeback soon ) will be batting pillars for India team for next decade .

Yep. If it was a bit closer game then it would give something for Indian fans to hold onto, but this turned into a thrashing in front of angry home fans. Not a good day.
Enjoy the time! Congrats! I’ll take our overall performance during this WC and enjoy the good times when they came. Grateful for those good times.

Second time India got pwned by Australia in a final. The Joburg final was a historic thukai than this one though. But still in narendra modi stadium aisy beizzati nakable bardasht hai.

Iss se acha tha Sri Lanka main moonsoon season mein final rukh letey
Atleast we were not bowled out under 135 .1999 final yad to h na ? We won already two world cup Final. 2nd best after Australia

This has been the biggest humiliation for India. The team, the fans they were already acting like they had won the world cup. If you want to see how low the indian fans will stoop, check out Travis head's instagram account which is being bridgaded by rabid haters.

Player are already there after Rohit and Virat . Jaiswal ,Rituraj Gill,pant ( will comeback soon ) will be batting pillars for India team for next decade .
Yep. Time to bring them on. Give them time and exposure. They are aggressive too

This has been the biggest humiliation for India. The team, the fans they were already acting like they had won the world cup. If you want to see how low the indian fans will stoop, check out Travis head's instagram account which is being bridgaded by rabid haters.
Reaching at the final is humiliation then what we called for not even qualified for Semifinals?? :kp

Exactly.

How on earth you can be proud of losing after having every single advantage imaginable in your favour is beyond me.

Imagine all this:

1 billion population who only play cricket
Unlimited funds
Control over the ICC
Tons of practice in home conditions including a never ending IPL
Full crowd support
Pick and choose what pitches you want

And you are still proud of coming 2nd. Unfortunately this shows the Indian mentality as even South Sudan would win you an ICC trophy with all that.

Let their fans and themselves down at the biggest of occasions but there's no doubt that they were the best team in the tournament. Australia were tactically better on the day and outplayed them like they've done to many other great teams in the past.

Imagine all this:

1 billion population who only play cricket
Unlimited funds
Control over the ICC
Tons of practice in home conditions including a never ending IPL
Full crowd support
Pick and choose what pitches you want

And you are still proud of coming 2nd. Unfortunately this shows the Indian mentality as even South Sudan would win you an ICC trophy with all that.
Pakistan population is 1/5 of Indian population, right? How many medal Pakistan won in recent Asian game only 3 and India won 100+ .
If population is parameter then Pakistan atleast should have won 20 but they won 3. Sp here goes the theory of population.
Population is nothing to do with sports .

Glad they lost it or else the arrogance from the india member

Pakistan population is 1/5 of Indian population, right? How many medal Pakistan won in recent Asian game only 3 and India won 100+ .
If population is parameter then Pakistan atleast should have won 20 but they won 3. Sp here goes the theory of population.
Right this moment we are not bothered what we won we are happy you lost 🤣

Fireworks tonight 🎆🎇🧨

Pakistan is a broke board with no international support and did not even get to play at their home until recently.

They are excluded from the IPL and hardly ever get to practice LOI's against the best teams.

Even so our ICC trophy cupboard is not bare....

I am sorry but we are not the same. If Pakistan had everything India had we would definitely have multiple trophies - it is nothing short of humiliation that India have none.

Take it up with your board as they are too busy cashing cheques than to actually win anything for the fans.

Unlike you we can't create controversy when other team are winning .you were crying about toss ,icc= BCCI etc. But today we lost fair and well played Australia so they deserve to win the final.
No doubt this was a rigged tournament.
Any tournament held in India from now onwards cannot be taken seriously

Pakistan is a broke board with no international support and did not even get to play at their home until recently.

They are excluded from the IPL and hardly ever get to practice LOI's against the best teams.

Even so our ICC trophy cupboard is not bare....

I am sorry but we are not the same. If Pakistan had everything India had we would definitely have multiple trophies - it is nothing short of humiliation that India have none.

Take it up with your board as they are too busy cashing cheques than to actually win anything for the fans.
Pakistan were strong in 90s than India but still india were the first team apart form westindies to win the world cup. We won 1998 World championship. We won all the three world cup game against Pakistan in 90s .

No doubt this was a rigged tournament.
Any tournament held in India from now onwards cannot be taken seriously
If this was rigged then India would have champion.
Some people's only talk about conspiracy theory that it .it's nature that can't change .

when push came to shove india turned into Pakistan, timid, and afraid of losing, gave aus the initiative through the middle overs, and then made a strategic blunder by bringing both spinners on to bowl together when the pressure was on. if i was an india supporter, i would not be happy. the game was there for the taking and it was a lack of balls which lost it in the end.
Tbh Australia had dominated the game, the only India had a sniff was when Aussies were 3 down, so apart from that India had no opportunity to win.