India to take part in Champions Trophy; BCCI not to send legal notice to ICC [Update Post #86]

NEW DELHI: The uncertainty surrounding the Indian cricket team’s participation in the ICC Champions Trophy seems to be affecting the national team’s players too.

According to a report on India Today website, national team cricketers have been calling the Supreme Court-appointed Committee of Administrators (CoA) to enquire about their chances of travelling to England for the prestigious tournament which begins from 1 June.

“A number of Indian cricketers are ringing us up to ask, ‘Are we going or not?’ Why do we need to put them in such a situation?” a CoA member told India Today on Saturday.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), which has already missed the April 25 deadline for the submission of the squad lists, is said to be mulling a boycott of the eight-team tournament, still smarting after having seen its share of revenue from International Cricket Council (ICC) from 2016 to 2023 slashed almost by half — from $570 million to $293 million. This came about after the BCCI were outvoted at the recent ICC board meeting in Dubai.

BCCI was the only full member to object to ICC’s new financial model besides being just one of two full members to vote against the new changes in governance. India won the tournament in 2013, but may not get the opportunity to defend their title.

The report added that the CoA was not in favour of the Indian team pulling out of the tournament and had expressly stated this to the BCCI.

“The consequences of such a move will be legal. We may have to cough up a heavy figure. Besides it will give Indian cricket a bad name,” the CoA source said.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1331536/i...-as-bcci-yet-to-select-champions-trophy-squad

They have decided to participate in CT during the meeting, so it ends all speculations.

So indian cricketers don't even know whether we are going to participate in the CT or not. How professional is this?

Why what wrong has those boards done in this case? They were all screwed over back in 2014 by BCCI, ECB and CA who messed everything up by shoving their Big 3 garbage down the throats of everyone else and looting the place. The only difference is that ECB and CA played their cards right and came off looking somewhat like saviours of the game in the end, whereas BCCI just kept shooting themselves on the foot.

I already explained above, their decision won't sit well with real BCCI honchos. India needs CA, CSA etc for IPL but other boards are dispensable. Other boards might make more Money for now but in long, don't be surprised if it hampers them.

Don't you think something is fishy when BCCI members unanimously decide to play CT?

Anyways, that's a matter for some other time, INDIA is playing CT and we should just support them now.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Sunday unanimously decided that the Indian cricket team will participate in the upcoming ICC Champions Trophy 2017 set to be held in England and Wales, starting June 1. The selection meeting to pick the squad for the ICC event will be held on Monday, May 8, in New Delhi. Also, softening its previous stand against the International Cricket Council (ICC), the Indian board decided not to send a legal notice to the world body, calling it a conciliatory approach.

Current joint secretary Amitabh Choudhary has been tasked with negotiating with the ICC on behalf of the BCCI while keeping its legal options open.

"The Board unanimously authorized the acting Hony. Secretary of the BCCI to continue negotiations with the ICC in the best interest of the BCCI while keeping its legal options open," the BCCI said in a press release.

"The BCCI SGM unanimously decided that the Indian cricket team will participate in the upcoming ICC Champions Trophy. The All-India Senior Selection Meeting will be held tomorrow, May 8, in New Delhi to pick the team," the Indian board added.

"It was a unanimous decision that the Indian team will be participating in the Champions Trophy. We will not take any legal recourse in the matter. Mr Amitabh Choudhary and CEO Rahul Johri will negotiate with ICC," a senior office-bearer told PTI.

Former president N Srinivasan attended the SGM via Skype but refrained from speaking about a pull-out after gauging the general mood.

The BCCI was earlier mulling to pull its team out of the premier tournament in protest against the revised revenue module.

BCCI lost the vote on 'governance and constitutional changes' on April 26 by a 1-9 margin while the revenue model, which was the bigger bone of contention, saw India getting walloped by a 2-8 margin.

On Thursday, the Supreme Court-appointed CoA had directed the BCCI to convene a selection committee meet and announce the Indian squad for the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 "immediately".

The CoA asked BCCI's Amitabh Choudhary why the team has not yet been selected despite April 25 being the deadline.

The CoA also questioned the manner in which BCCI negotiated the entire revenue model deal with the International Cricket Council (ICC) at a meet held in Dubai recently.

https://sports.ndtv.com/icc-champio...ot-to-send-legal-notice-to-world-body-1690524

It was a unanimous decision that the Indian team will be participating in the Champions Trophy. We will not take any legal recourse in the matter. Mr Amitabh Choudhary and CEO Rahul Johri will negotiate with ICC.

Alright, something is really dodgy happening inside the doors.

[MENTION=134300]Tusker[/MENTION] - so looks like despite being ICCs largest source of income the BCCI have realised that they are in no position to pull out of the CT or take legal action against the ICC..

"It was a unanimous decision that the Indian team will be participating in the Champions Trophy. We will not take any legal recourse in the matter. Mr Amitabh Choudhary and CEO Rahul Johri will negotiate with ICC," a senior office-bearer told PTI.

They seem to have realised that they need the support of the ICC and the ICC members more than the ICC needs the BCCI's money.

BCCI also seems to have realised that it's a lot less humiliating for them to settle such issues with negotiations behind closed doors, rather than pull off such pathetic publicity stuns, making promises they cannot keep, only to end up looking silly in the end.

Kher- politics aside - glad to see that despite running their mouth for so long the BCCI didn't make a stupid decision and the Indian team will participate in the Champions Trophy, which is best for everyone. It would really make you question the worth of the tournanment and the winners of the tournament if the defending champions didn't show up.

Egg on the faces of all the BCCI cheerleaders who thought India would pull out of the CT. :))) :)))

[MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] [MENTION=139678]Zak_Fan[/MENTION] What are your opinions on the current situation? This was the best time to show we can walk the talk which once again we wasted. What are your plans now? Are you going to boycott watching CT? :inti

Lols poor guys, they will come up with new excuses...

Exactly. They should admit they were wrong. So far they have been in hiding though.

I never believed India would pull out of the CT. Thought it was just empty threats.

Exactly. They should admit they were wrong. So far they have been in hiding though.

I never believed India would pull out of the CT. Thought it was just empty threats.

ICC showed who is the father of whom here. Can't believe some fans were thinking that BCCI will boycott champions trophy.

Was never going to happen. India needs international cricket for the reasons you have mentioned on other threads.

I joke around here most of the times as evident by my posts but the ICCC hasn't shown anyone that they're the father or such. Rather all they've shown is that no one is above the game in terms of law and governance. A unanimous decision was taken by all the world's boards on a new structure of governance and financial distribution and the BCCI as a part of that organisation needs to respect that and they have eventually. Only the jingoistic posters on here and politicians had anything against it. It was a vote, fair and everyone adheres to that decision. Pure and simple.

No country is above the game. BCCI was going that route and I cannot believe that one of their own forced them on the RIGHT path, i.e. Manohar who every blind jingoist is hating on these days.

Manohar saved the game of cricket from the mafia running bcci.

No country is above the game. BCCI was going that route and I cannot believe that one of their own forced them on the RIGHT path, i.e. Manohar who every blind jingoist is hating on these days.

Manohar saved the game of cricket from the mafia running bcci.

These same guys wanted corrupt Srini in place of Manohar.

[MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] [MENTION=139678]Zak_Fan[/MENTION] What are your opinions on the current situation? This was the best time to show we can walk the talk which once again we wasted. What are your plans now? Are you going to boycott watching CT? :inti

Lol.. you are on a tagging spree like you won some kind of battle. I would have preferred a boycott, but since it is not happening, I'll watch CT. In the end, it is about supporting Indian Cricket, and I support the stance that I feel serves us the best.

Glad better sense or should I say common sense prevailed at BCCI. Best way for India to answer ICC is to win the tournament.

Also sad day for chest thumpers who were claiming India doesn't need international cricket LMAO.

Hahahaha Bhai you are enjoying this a lot aren't you? :yk3

Glad better sense or should I say common sense prevailed at BCCI. Best way for India to answer ICC is to win the tournament.

Also sad day for chest thumpers who were claiming India doesn't need international cricket LMAO.

BCCI is not run by morons they are smart guys they were never going to boycott CT, the comments in media about all options being opened is just a way to threaten/bluff.. Negotiations would go backdoor and BCCI/ICC would agree on a number..

People here on PP get carried away on small things but don't look at the bigger picture..

Lol.. you are on a tagging spree like you won some kind of battle. I would have preferred a boycott, but since it is not happening, I'll watch CT. In the end, it is about supporting Indian Cricket, and I support the stance that I feel serves us the best.

Haha, of course you will watch it, and as I said earlier here it's good that BCCI is not run by some wannabe arrogant posters here. But one thing coming out of this is really good: true colours of some posters have been presented.

Cricket won in the end and greed, arrogance, keyboard warriors lost. :inti

How can you say that and want a boycott at the same time???:inti

[MENTION=134300]Tusker[/MENTION] - so looks like despite being ICCs largest source of income the BCCI have realised that they are in no position to pull out of the CT or take legal action against the ICC..

"We have not conceded anything at all," Choudhary said after the BCCI's special general body meeting (SGM). "Let that be absolutely, unequivocally clear. That the BCCI concedes nothing. And in any case, there is adequate legal room for further action."

Thats what the BCCI Acting Secretary has said on this matter ... so picture abhi baaki hai :)) .... what they have done is that they will probably do some back channel negotiations and try to settle it. If ICC continues to be hot headed then they will re-consider their position at that time.

Its about BCCI taking down one enemy at a time.Their bigger enemy at this point in time is the CoA.The diktat from the CoA during the meeting with the members of BCCI on 5th and 6th May, before the SGM was very clear, "Play the CL,Dont send any notice and negotiate", else we will take away your chairs and take you to the Supreme Court.

The BCCI members had no option but to obey the CoA. They have to survive today to fight the ICC tommorow.The MPA runs till 2023. The BCCI can invoke it anytime they wish,something Amtabh Choudhary already said. The CoA is likely to be disbanded in a few months and then the BCCI will be free to take on the ICC.The tap that makes the money flow to ICC is in India,it can be turned off anytime.The vultures guarding that tap have to be dealt with first.
[MENTION=142162]Napa[/MENTION] [MENTION=90888]Itachi[/MENTION] [MENTION=134300]Tusker[/MENTION] [MENTION=139678]Zak_Fan[/MENTION] @r0hit

The time to show who is the boss to others and some alleged Indians will come.

BCCI is not run by morons they are smart guys they were never going to boycott CT, the comments in media about all options being opened is just a way to threaten/bluff.. Negotiations would go backdoor and BCCI/ICC would agree on a number..

People here on PP get carried away on small things but don't look at the bigger picture..
Exactly this. BCCI did the right thing. Some players were already getting confused regarding playing in CT. In the end cricket fans want to see cricket whereas keyboard warriors are more interested in SGM Meetings and behind the door politics.
:misbah

Its about BCCI taking down one enemy at a time.Their bigger enemy at this point in time is the CoA.The diktat from the CoA during the meeting with the members of BCCI on 5th and 6th May, before the SGM was very clear, "Play the CL,Dont send any notice and negotiate", else we will take away your chairs and take you to the Supreme Court.

The BCCI members had no option but to obey the CoA. They have to survive today to fight the ICC tommorow.The MPA runs till 2023. The BCCI can invoke it anytime they wish,something Amtabh Choudhary already said. The CoA is likely to be disbanded in a few months and then the BCCI will be free to take on the ICC.The tap that makes the money flow to ICC is in India,it can be turned off anytime.The vultures guarding that tap have to be dealt with first.

[MENTION=142162]Napa[/MENTION] [MENTION=90888]Itachi[/MENTION] [MENTION=134300]Tusker[/MENTION] [MENTION=139678]Zak_Fan[/MENTION] @r0hit

Exactly ... Manohar is smart. He is trying to make the best use of this time when the BCCI is at its weakest. If a Dalmiya or Sreeni was still running BCCI he would be singing a very different tone right now.

Question: When is the CoA getting dissolved ? I don't normally follow the BCCI/Indian politics scene so don't know how they got involved in the first place.

BCCI taking on ICC? Only in your dreams sir. And this was the perfect time to show who is the boss but BCCI didn't. They did the right thing by not boycotting CT.

How can you say that and want a boycott at the same time???:inti

Because I do believe that BCCI got rough end of the stick and this decision to comply by ICC was another one of the blunders forced by CoA. An unrestrained BCCI has enough clout to get what it rightfully deserves, and it will be the case sooner or later.

"We have not conceded anything at all," Choudhary said after the BCCI's special general body meeting (SGM). "Let that be absolutely, unequivocally clear. That the BCCI concedes nothing. And in any case, there is adequate legal room for further action."

Thats what the BCCI Acting Secretary has said on this matter ... so picture abhi baaki hai :)) .... what they have done is that they will probably do some back channel negotiations and try to settle it. If ICC continues to be hot headed then they will re-consider their position at that time.

Surely the closed doors (or back channel - as you call them) negotiations should have been the first thing to do, before threatening to pull out of the CT and throwing a tantrum in the media?

Yes....ICC were being hit headed.... :|

Who was complaining in the media again? ICC or BCCI?

Who was threatening to pull India out of the CT? ICC or BCCI?

Who is still apparently complaining and inning their mouth? ICC or BCCI?

Who just talk a big talk and end up looking foolish because they can't actually do anything? ICC or BCCI?

I'll give you a hint - the answer to all the above questions is the same and it's not ICC

You keep waiting for BCCI to take down the ICC - but I wouldn't hold your breath. Pulling out of the CT was BCCIs ideal opportunity to take a significant stance of any sort, however, instead, they realised where they stand with respect to the ICC and what they are actually worth.

Cricket won in the end and greed, arrogance, keyboard warriors lost. :inti

Unfortunately some keyboard warriors are still not shutting up and are continuing to portray themselves as fools, calling people who disagree with them 'alleged Indians'

Sad state of affair

Exactly ... Manohar is smart. He is trying to make the best use of this time when the BCCI is at its weakest. If a Dalmiya or Sreeni was still running BCCI he would be singing a very different tone right now.

Question: When is the CoA getting dissolved ? I don't normally follow the BCCI/Indian politics scene so don't know how they got involved in the first place.

The CoA was to implement the Lodha Reforms and disband in June.The GOI has filed objections to how Supreme Court can force these reforms.Many BCCI members are incorporated under companies act some under societies act,how can SC dictate them regarding who should be their office bearers,members etc.The SC will have to decide on that in June. If the GOI wins, the CoA goes away atthat very moment.If the GOI loses then the COA will get may be another 3-4 months to implement the reforms and then they go away.Either way the CoA is not expected to see the light of 2018.

BCCI taking on ICC? Only in your dreams sir. And this was the perfect time to show who is the boss but BCCI didn't. They did the right thing by not boycotting CT.

BCCI has taken on the ICC plenty of times.Starting from 1992.They will do it again..We will both see it.So will the others who are gloating here, because for once they have gotten something, or so they believe.

The CoA was to implement the Lodha Reforms and disband in June.The GOI has filed objections to how Supreme Court can force these reforms.Many BCCI members are incorporated under companies act some under societies act,how can SC dictate them regarding who should be their office bearers,members etc.The SC will have to decide on that in June. If the GOI wins, the CoA goes away atthat very moment.If the GOI loses then the COA will get may be another 3-4 months to implement the reforms and then they go away.Either way the CoA is not expected to see the light of 2018.

What I don't understand is why the Lodha Panel ( i.e the SC ) got involved in BCCI business in the first place ?

You keep waiting for BCCI to take down the ICC - but I wouldn't hold your breath. Pulling out of the CT was BCCIs ideal opportunity to take a significant stance of any sort, however, instead, they realised where they stand with respect to the ICC and what they are actually worth.

Typical Jingo Keyboard warrior response ... it looks like you wanted a Phainta for ICC but are miffed that BCCI took a cautious approach lol

Why don't you tell us where BCCI Stands ? I mean backed by some credible evidence and not trolling ? The reality of the matter is ICC cannot survive without BCCI.

Here read this and see if it sobers you : http://indianexpress.com/article/sp...rs-to-even-produce-amitabh-choudhary-4633735/

BCCI has taken on the ICC plenty of times.Starting from 1992.They will do it again..We will both see it.So will the others who are gloating here, because for once they have gotten something, or so they believe.

If it were so simple, why have your predictions been wrong on two consecutive occaisions?

1) after February ICC meeting outvoted BCCI 8-2, you said the BCCI would easily make it 6-4 come April. That did not happen.

2) then you claimed that BCCI would easily pull out of MPA. That did not happen.

How is any rational person supposed to consider your comments seriously. Because at is it stands now, it appears as though you are someone who is pretending to have inside or expert knowledge of the BCCI and legal matters and occaisionally throwing around latin phrases to that effect.

What I don't understand is why the Lodha Panel ( i.e the SC ) got involved in BCCI business in the first place ?

Some idiot went to court regarding Srini and his conflict of interest of owning CSK and also be bcci president.

The SC decided to wade in and change all rules in bcci rather than limit to what was the case.

If it were so simple, why have your predictions been wrong on two consecutive occaisions?

1) after February ICC meeting outvoted BCCI 8-2, you said the BCCI would easily make it 6-4 come April. That did not happen.

2) then you claimed that BCCI would easily pull out of MPA. That did not happen.

How is any rational person supposed to consider your comments seriously. Because at is it stands now, it appears as though you are someone who is pretending to have inside or expert knowledge of the BCCI and legal matters and occaisionally throwing around latin phrases to that effect.

1.It shocked everyone.Including bcci officials.No one was aware of the 19mn and 40mn dole outs to ZCA and WICB.

2.The CoA dictated otherwise.

I never claimed to be associated with the bcci.I am just an ordinary iron miner.

Shouldn't this be about cricket better, improvement, and adding more nation to cricket rather than filling your pocket and getting rich? BCCI and their puppets are morally corrupt.

[MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] [MENTION=142162]Napa[/MENTION] [MENTION=139678]Zak_Fan[/MENTION]
See this is embarrassing stuff. What did we get in the end? That is why I was asking it to solve behind the closed doors and not give empty threats. Yet some of you wanted to teach Bangladesh a lesson or boycott CT. We can't live without ICC and other international players. Hopefully you will keep boycotting CT and won't post it in the India vs Pak match threads.

I am excited for India vs Pak match now. :shezzy :kohli

We can very well live with the ICC. The ICC is an anachronistic organization and it has outlived its usefulness.

How long do you want India to continue in the ICC where countries contributing 1% or 2% have the same voting power as India which contributes 70%?

The only economically rational outcome is for India to dump ICC and take complete control of the money that is being produced in India. Otherwise money will keep flowing out of India.

When India plays a foreign country, that country will obviously share the money generated. But we don't need ICC sucking money out, the colonial days are long past.

India's continuation in ICC doesn't make sense given that it contributes 70% of revenues while it have the same voting power as countries contributing 1% to 2%.

In the next phase of the game we will have the drain of Indian money out of India stopped. Indians are not fools when it comes to money.

Typical Jingo Keyboard warrior response ... it looks like you wanted a Phainta for ICC but are miffed that BCCI took a cautious approach lol

Why don't you tell us where BCCI Stands ? I mean backed by some credible evidence and not trolling ? The reality of the matter is ICC cannot survive without BCCI.

Here read this and see if it sobers you : http://indianexpress.com/article/sp...rs-to-even-produce-amitabh-choudhary-4633735/

So let me get this straight - your go to article to back up your point of view regarding the importance of the BCCI is an article in the INDIAN express, which quotes the secretary of the BCCI itself....? :)) :))

Hilarious :))

Also - please tell me this - if the ICC and consequently the ICC memebers stop supporting the BCCI (aka. stop sending their teams to play against India, stop sending their players to the IPL etc.) - how much money exactly would the BCCI make? How many crore do you think the Rajni trophy generates?

The reality of the matter is that BCCI didn't become a financial power house until the mid-2000's which culminated in the birth of the IPL in 2007 & from there BCCI has no doubt become a money making machines

However, please tell me, before the mid-2000's were their no ICC events? Did the ICC not exist?

The ICC has been around for 107 years. BCCI has been rich for about 10-12 of those years. If you don't believe me, go to the BCCI website and look at their annual fianancial reports over the years. In 2004/05 BCCI had an income of $67million & in 2014/15 this figure had risen to $241million

ICC has done very well when the BCCI has been making money, however they have proven they can do well without the BCCIs money. In fact I would go as far as saying the ICC was doing a better job at arranging ICC events and help the sport grow around the world before the BCCI's money became a significant factor.

An article in which the secretary of a company says his company is important, isn't sobering - it's a flipping joke.

You know what the saddest thing in all this is. Look at what the BCCI want and what the ICC have offered them:

1ptqi9.jpg

What is the main difference between the two? I'll tell you what it's is. The only difference is that the BCCI wants the associates money.

That is an absolute joke.

The BCCI do not want to invest in the growth of the game.

They aren't taking any money from ECB, CA or even the likes of PCB, SLC, WICB etc. They are just wanting to swallow the pot of money which the ICC wants to invest in associate nations such as Ireland, Holland, Scotland, Canada etc. to help the game grow.

That is just so messed up, on so many levels it's insane. It's literally a case of the mighty BCCI trying to bully the associates, with the ICC and ICC members trying to stop the BCCI.

You're basically supporting the playground bully.

So let's summarise:

- When you're trying to make a point and look smart, please use credible articles

- If ICC and ICC members don't send their teams to India or their players to the IPL, the BCCI will be worthless

- The ICC was fine before the BCCI got rich, so they will be fine if the BCCI decide to take their ball and go home

- Stop supporting the bully. The BCCI is nothing but a bully who are trying to take the money of the associates. The BCCI are greedy and they only care for themselves. They do not want cricket to grow and are very happy to take money from the weaker teams - that's is the text book definition of a bully and by supporting the BCCI you are supporting a bully

You see - it's at the end of a post like this that you can say checkmate.

What is the main difference between the two? I'll tell you what it's is. The only difference is that the BCCI wants the associates money.

The bigger joke is the idea that Indian money is needed to pay an Irish teenager $26 for cricket development while the Indian teenager gets $1.

Obviously a dollar spent will have more impact in the development of the game in India compared to Ireland. The Irish already have the money needed for their teenagers to buy kits etc.

I was expecting a boycott bro. Obviously I am happy because we will get to watch India vs Pak match soon. :inti

Exactly this. BCCI did the right thing. Some players were already getting confused regarding playing in CT. In the end cricket fans want to see cricket whereas keyboard warriors are more interested in SGM Meetings and behind the door politics.
:misbah

Haha mate everyone will enjoy India vs Pakistan whatever they may say here.. The lack of series between the two nations right now are making the once in a while match 1000 times bigger and hyped.. I do agree with some of the points some posters said regarding the whole issue but the boycott part was just stupid to even think it will ever happen..

Anyways get your blue t shirt out mate gotta paint the town blue..

The bigger joke is the idea that Indian money is needed to pay an Irish teenager $26 for cricket development while the Indian teenager gets $1.

Obviously a dollar spent will have more impact in the development of the game in India compared to Ireland. The Irish already have the money needed for their teenagers to buy kits etc.

Wow - that argument is a whole new level of stupid

Firstly the ICC's money is needed to develop the game in Ireland

How do the Irish already have money? You mean Ireland as a country is better off than India? So it's the government who should help cricket grow in each of the country's and not the ICC?...

...raaaiggght :afaq

Please remind me how much does BCCI get from GoI?

Also, you do know that as far as cricket is concerned, India is already probably the most developed country in the world right? And normal people look to develop things where they don't already exist... :afaq

Unless your the BCCI of course in which case they just want the rich to get richer and the poor to get poorer.

There is also a fundamental flaw with your "bigger impact" argument.

BCCI's income is approximately $241million whilst Cricket Ireland's is approximately $7million. Therefore if you give an additional million to the BCCI, their income goes up by 0.4%, meanwhile if you give an extra million to Ireland, their income goes up 14%.

The impact on Irish cricket for the same amount of money is much larger clearly :afaq

It's really funny though - you responded to my post in such a selective manner, however, you still couldn't get it right.

The irony is, your argument is based on the premise that India is a poor country so a dollar in India goes a lot further than a dollar in Ireland, however, I thought the whole point of BCCI wanting a bigger cut of the revenue was because they were so much richer than all the other boards and contributed so much more to the ICC than the other boards?

Of all the ways one can waste their lives, name calling on internet forums is probably the most futile... bye bye.

When did I name call - I called the idea stupid not you - don't take it to heart :msd

But the fact that you went running away without any sort of comeback kind of proves that you realised that you were talking rubbish.

Bye bye :)

Some idiot went to court regarding Srini and his conflict of interest of owning CSK and also be bcci president.

The SC decided to wade in and change all rules in bcci rather than limit to what was the case.

So if I sue the Indian Railways the Supreme Court will similarly usurp control of Indian Railways and start running it ... Do they not have better things to do ? :facepalm:

So India tucked its tail between its legs after posturing like a lion.

Even a cat is a lion in her own lair.

So let me get this straight - your go to article to back up your point of view regarding the importance of the BCCI is an article in the INDIAN express, which quotes the secretary of the BCCI itself....? :)) :))

Also - please tell me this - if the ICC and consequently the ICC memebers stop supporting the BCCI (aka. stop sending their teams to play against India, stop sending their players to the IPL etc.) - how much money exactly would the BCCI make? How many crore do you think the Rajni trophy generates?

The reality of the matter is that BCCI didn't become a financial power house until the mid-2000's which culminated in the birth of the IPL in 2007 & from there BCCI has no doubt become a money making machines

However, please tell me, before the mid-2000's were their no ICC events? Did the ICC not exist?

The ICC has been around for 107 years. BCCI has been rich for about 10-12 of those years. If you don't believe me, go to the BCCI website and look at their annual fianancial reports over the years. In 2004/05 BCCI had an income of $67million & in 2014/15 this figure had risen to $241million

ICC has done very well when the BCCI has been making money, however they have proven they can do well without the BCCIs money. In fact I would go as far as saying the ICC was doing a better job at arranging ICC events and help the sport grow around the world before the BCCI's money became a significant factor.

An article in which the secretary of a company says his company is important, isn't sobering - it's a flipping joke.

You know what the saddest thing in all this is. Look at what the BCCI want and what the ICC have offered them:

1ptqi9.jpg

They aren't taking any money from ECB, CA or even the likes of PCB, SLC, WICB etc. They are just wanting to swallow the pot of money which the ICC wants to invest in associate nations such as Ireland, Holland, Scotland, Canada etc. to help the game grow.

That is just so messed up, on so many levels it's insane. It's literally a case of the mighty BCCI trying to bully the associates, with the ICC and ICC members trying to stop the BCCI.

So let's summarise:

- When you're trying to make a point and look smart, please use credible articles

- If ICC and ICC members don't send their teams to India or their players to the IPL, the BCCI will be worthless

- The ICC was fine before the BCCI got rich, so they will be fine if the BCCI decide to take their ball and go home

- Stop supporting the bully. The BCCI is nothing but a bully who are trying to take the money of the associates. The BCCI are greedy and they only care for themselves. They do not want cricket to grow and are very happy to take money from the weaker teams - that's is the text book definition of a bully and by supporting the BCCI you are supporting a bully

If you think the article is not credible feel free to link what you feel is a more credible article. There is no need to type 10 page long response ... tl;dr.

The BCCI can certainly survive on IPL but there is a fat chance that the ICC will survive without the Indian donations to ICC.

If you think the article is not credible feel free to link what you feel is a more credible article. There is no need to type 10 page long response ... tl;dr.

The BCCI can certainly survive on IPL but there is a fat chance that the ICC will survive without the Indian donations to ICC.

Any article which doesn't have the secretary of a company bragging about the importance of the company is more credible then that

I love how my 10 page long response proved that your argument is complete rubbish, so instead of responding to it, you just reiterate your argument - which already has been proven to be trash - and disappeared. Worst of all you used the phrase "fat chance" as if that would prove any sort of validity to your argument :))

Now unles you actually have something logical, sensible or factual to say (for a change) - I've wasted enough time on you and already proven that your just running your mouth and talking complete trash - ironically just like the BCCI. In fact you yourself have said on numerous occasions that you are just trolling so please go and waste someone else's time.

Sanity prevails in the end. It's not like BCCI had any other viable option really. India needs international cricket just as much as the rest needs India. Besides it appears that BCCI didn't have a legal leg to stand on either despite all the threats.

BCCI on weak legal ground

Documents HT have accessed suggest BCCI is on weak legal ground. Late in April, the advice of Herbert Smith Freehills, a law firm headquartered in London, was sought about BCCI’s rights under Members Participation Agreement (MPA), exercising which the BCCI hawks have threatened to pull out of ICC events like Champions Trophy.

It has said BCCI has limited options to prevent ICC from amending the 2014 constitution (that gave India a larger share in revenue and governance). At best, BCCI can approach the MPA Dispute Resolution Committee for damages.

If the law firm’s assessment is correct, then confrontation will only lead to more embarrassment.

Any article which doesn't have the secretary of a company bragging about the importance of the company is more credible then that

Well then it should be really easy to disprove it ... after all he is just bragging Right ? So lets see that evidence then

What costs more? Building a completely new building or maintaining a current one?

A lot of India already has cricket infrastructure and they have so much money they can spend that doesn't come from the ICC's distribution, whereas Ireland has nothing.

1.It shocked everyone.Including bcci officials.No one was aware of the 19mn and 40mn dole outs to ZCA and WICB.

2.The CoA dictated otherwise.

I never claimed to be associated with the bcci.I am just an ordinary iron miner.

1) Should still have been 8-2 but I guess the BCB finally got a calculator and figured they'd get a better deal from the ECB and CA.

2) You already knew the COA's position...you said the BCCI would revoke the MPA regardless.

3) you give off an insider air due to the matter of tone...hoitoba bangla to english translation er jonno???

My take is this: the vote is done and was so lopsided the BCCI couldnt physically offer enough carrots to enough teams to flip it. How many tour can you promise to Bangladesh to cover the 56 million dollars plus pissing of ECB, CA, PCB? Then theres Zimbabwe and West Indies. There arent enough months in the year, lol.

The BCCI can only threaten the ICC - and yes they can devestate the ICC - but like a bee's sting it will cripple the BCCI as well. They probably have a strong legal case but don't you think 9 board chieves would have calculated the costs of warring with BCCI?

That they still chose that means they're willing to face the wrath.

We can very well live with the ICC. The ICC is an anachronistic organization and it has outlived its usefulness.

How long do you want India to continue in the ICC where countries contributing 1% or 2% have the same voting power as India which contributes 70%?

The only economically rational outcome is for India to dump ICC and take complete control of the money that is being produced in India. Otherwise money will keep flowing out of India.

When India plays a foreign country, that country will obviously share the money generated. But we don't need ICC sucking money out, the colonial days are long past.

thats called democracy...one person one vote. or in this case country.

donald trump is a billionaire and i'm broke. we both still had 1 vote last November...you want a plutocracy.

What costs more? Building a completely new building or maintaining a current one?

A lot of India already has cricket infrastructure and they have so much money they can spend that doesn't come from the ICC's distribution, whereas Ireland has nothing.

I think most smaller towns in India have very little infrastructure. Even when I am in Delhi, I see kids in relatively affluent South Delhi play on rough ground with makeshift sticks for wickets.

thats called democracy...one person one vote. or in this case country.

donald trump is a billionaire and i'm broke. we both still had 1 vote last November...you want a plutocracy.

Yeah sure, let's make it one vote for every Indian and one vote for every Bangladeshi, one for every Irish, one for every Australian and so on.

I think most smaller towns in India have very little infrastructure. Even when I am in Delhi, I see kids in relatively affluent South Delhi play on rough ground with makeshift sticks for wickets.

1) BCCI has money coming from other places as well, Ireland doesn't
2) Just because kids are playing on the street doesn't mean there is no infrastructure, maybe they're just having fun...

1) BCCI has money coming from other places as well, Ireland doesn't
2) Just because kids are playing on the street doesn't mean there is no infrastructure, maybe they're just having fun...

If you are lower middle class or lower class in India, you get very little opportunity for development. And that may be around 60% of the population.

I may just be guessing here, but in spite of its economic progress much of India is still quite poor. Also the difference between the rich and the poor can be quite sharp in India.

I don't deny that your points are well made, I think the truth may be somewhere between your and my views.

Yeah sure, let's make it one vote for every Indian and one vote for every Bangladeshi, one for every Irish, one for every Australian and so on.

You didn't have a problem with this system when it was working in your favour, now all of a sudden it is the spawn of devil. :14:

This is just poor handling of situation by the ICC, BCCI have no business unilaterally laying rules that suit their agenda, they have missed the deadline for submitting the team for CT and now, on being drilled some sense by the honourable supreme court, they decide to participate in the event, ICC is just a puppet sorry to say but, it is setting a dangerous precedent by first mollycoddling the Bully and offering an extra 100m, then not imposing a hefty fine for their theatrics. Any sane organisation would have banned BCCI for all the melodrama and burned a gaping hole in BCCI's pocket to deter them from such insouciant and callous attitude.

conveniently forgot China and the US, eh?

besides, individual citizens arent members of the ICC...countries are. you want more votes? pull a USSR first.

My Goodness me..... What a horrendous muck up it would have been to boycott the CT (if they were planning to do).....

This is beyond comprehension tbh.....What were they trying to achieve ???

They are not trying to achieve anything or bully someone, they were just asking their share which they rightly deserve.

Rightful share as in what 33% of the pie plus the $100+ mil in hosting fees for the cycle. Which would mean the others will have to make up for the Associates’ share with the lowly 6-8% of the pie they are set to get. So all in all that “rightful share” ends up being over six times that of everyone else. When you actually think about it that does sound very reasonable doesn’t it.

BCCI is asking 6 times more coz they contribute 60 times more than others. Does is make sense when other boards contribute 1% and get 7% share?

Its not that simple to say other boards don't contribute as much as BCCI. It takes two teams to play a cricket match, 10 to play a World Cup.

India hosts Australia for 4 Tests and then hosts Zimbabwe for 4 Tests...do both tours make the exact same amount of money? No, the Australia tour makes a ton more. But the Indian team is constant. Therefore the Australian team must be the 100% determining factor in whatever the difference in revenue is.

Same happens when Australia hosts India vs Zimbabwe. In this case India generates 100% of the revenue difference.

Is the revenue difference 5x more when India tours Australia?

Well then it should be really easy to disprove it ... after all he is just bragging Right ? So lets see that evidence then

Umm I've already shown you the evidence, however it proved your point of view to be rubbish so you didn't respond to it :afaq

1ptqi9.jpg

So let's summarise:

Now the onus is on you to prove what you are saying is correct.

So far you have not provided any evidence to back up what you are saying. The only so called 'evidence' which you have provided is the secretary of the BCCI claiming that the ICC need the BCCI :)) :))