India v New Zealand | Compaq Cup | Colombo | 11/9/09

IAJ

New Zealand have won the toss and elected to bat.

A huge score from NZ is required to really test the indians.

What on earth is happening? New Zealand 5/2 after 3 overs and both big-hitters gone!

Well this game is almost over already lol.

And RA welcomes Ashish "The Duck" Nehra back into the Indian side. People watching this, watch him run in to bowl and tell me he does not remind you of a duck, head bobbing along back and forth.

indiancricketer said:
I rate Nehra very high. He can be quick and moves the ball both ways.

Yeah so do I. Probably the best bowler in the world when in top form.

Uzi said:
Yeah so do I. Probably the best bowler in the world when in top form.

who is NOT the best bowler in the world when in top form ??? :D .. the idea is to try and remain in top form for longer durations...

Uzi said:
He is a great bowler. He would probably get into any side in the world.

ok ab yeh bhi sun liya hai, is ki kami thi.

He is an average bowler, nothing more than that. I hope he plays against Pakistan i CT as well.
He takes two wickets on a bowling friendly wicket and you describe him as a great bowler, wow!!
I am sure Sreesanth is the greatest bowler in your opinion?

IAJ said:
ok ab yeh bhi sun liya hai, is ki kami thi.

He is an average bowler, nothing more than that. I hope he plays against Pakistan i CT as well.
He takes two wickets on a bowling friendly wicket and you describe him as a great bowler, wow!!
I am sure Sreesanth is the greatest bowler in your opinion?

Sreesanth is probably one of the finest bowlers India has ever produced, but Nehra just edges him.

Yuvraj Singh to Guptill, OUT, Yuvraj strikes in his first over. Fine catch by Rahul at first slip. It was pushed through around off stump, turned a touch and Guptill stabbed it low to left of Rahul who makes a sharp catch look very easy
MJ Guptill c Dravid b Yuvraj Singh 22 (42b 3x4 0x6) SR: 52.38

Yuvraj Singh to Guptill, OUT, Yuvraj strikes in his first over. Fine catch by Rahul at first slip. It was pushed through around off stump, turned a touch and Guptill stabbed it low to left of Rahul who makes a sharp catch look very easy
MJ Guptill c Dravid b Yuvraj Singh 22 (42b 3x4 0x6) SR: 52.38

rahul dravid i ssuch an asset to our team... apart from dependable batsman he's been a very dependable fielder for us :D

Kiwis are going to struggle to post a competative total here. There batting has been exposed once again!

Let them bat in peace please. If they can make 220 they will have a good chance.

Close call but Elliot survives that stumping.

Could have gone either way, benefit given to batsman.

Ohhh the 3rd umpire is Gamini Silva. The legend.

Anyone remember the guy?

Elliot now goes, another good leg side catch by Mahi.

After watching this Kiwi side, I can see why we are No. 4 in ICC rankings. Its because of teams like England and New Zealand, who are just aweful.

It is about time jacob oram played some responsible cricket. I can't remember when he played a decent knock.

Highly unlikely that Kiwis will get to 200 now.

116/7

Broom gone.

Blimey this New Zealand side is so poor. I'd say they would be worse than West Indies/Bangladesh/Zimbabwe if they didn't have Bond!

Captain Talk:

Harbhajan Singh to Broom, 2 runs, stays back to punch the off break to between long-on and deep midwicket. They turn back for the second. Harbhajan isn't too happy and says to his fielders "Ek doosre ka mooh kya dekh rahe ho?!" (why are guys looking at each other's faces?)

from cricinfo commentary!

NZ simply dont know how to bat do they...i wish we had them in our group...

Then again we did have them in the last CT and lost to them.

Why not take the Batting Powerplay, I mean when you are 8 down whatelse you are waiting for?

Eh? Have I missed something?

Its says Match 2 of the Compaq Cup. When was the first one? and who won?

Even though New Zealand have got a poor score so far I'm still looking forward to Shane Bond bowling again.

Edit. Just realised. Sri Lanka beat New Zealand in the first one.

^^^^ I dont think NZ have a poor score actually, it may prove to be very competitive in Sri Lanka.. Thing to do in Sri Lanka is; win toss and bat first which is an almost 70 % gauranteed win.. Oh these Lankans and their wickets, no wonder they cant win against a club side outside Sri Lanka barring Pakistan....

Luton Bad Boy said:
Captain Talk:

Harbhajan Singh to Broom, 2 runs, stays back to punch the off break to between long-on and deep midwicket. They turn back for the second. Harbhajan isn't too happy and says to his fielders "Ek doosre ka mooh kya dekh rahe ho?!" (why are guys looking at each other's faces?)

from cricinfo commentary!

Epic! :)))

Yuvraaj is Yuvraaj while bowling.
Harbhajan is Harbhajan while bowling .
Only RP is the "SINGH".:p

I really wanted to see how good this Indian bowling attack is, and boy the Kiwis made them look better than the Windies attack in the years gone by.

156 is nothing.
If Viru was there it wouldve been done in 15 overs

I really wanted to see how good this Indian bowling attack is, and boy the Kiwis made them look better than the Windies attack in the years gone by.

Agreed...but we shouldnt be complaining :). The only concern is that the bowlers should realize that neither their bowling was extraordinary nor the opposition was very good. They did a decent job after coming back from a break but need to focus on the job at hand and be prepared for the tougher battles ahead without getting carried away by this performance.

And yes..no game is over untill the final ball is bowled and though I am optimistic about our chances, I still would want them to finish the job first ASAP and then retrospect about what went right or wrong.

ace_allrounder said:
Epic! :)))

Yuvraaj is Yuvraaj while bowling.
Harbha is Harbha while bowling .
Only RP is the "SINGH".:p

What is "Harbha"?

You didnt get me..

I was asking whether you are "punning' his name by calling Harbha :). I wasnt sure if "Harbha" had some hilarious meaning in Punjabi.

And the short name of Harbhajan is either Bhajji or Harby (the Oz version). So you need not call out his loooong name always.

^^ Are you seeing it on TV? How did the decision seem on first glance?

dani2k said:
^^ Are you seeing it on TV? How did the decision seem on first glance?

Down legside. 200% down legside. Didn't need a replay.

What a **** decision. I can't believe he's umpiring an international match.

He made quite a few shocking decisions when we played SL aswell.

Yup. He gave some shockers against Sachin in our last trip there as well...Doesnt he realise that he is jeopardizing his own career as an ump?

And I remember Ranatunga chiding him jokingly after he gave some shockers against Sachin "People have come to see Tendulkar bat...not you umpiring! " :))

Is Dravid playing a test match? Its going to be tough to score once the ball gets old and the slow bowlers come on.

Let him take his time mate..It is understandable. He is having an international hit after 6 months and an ODI hit after 2 long years :)

They only need 3 runs an over. If it was Pakistan bowling 1 run will be awarded as extras. So you just have to make 2 runs an over. I will prefer 10 maidens so run rate gets to 4

Sachin is playing beautifully. What a master. we can see the difference in class of both the players on a slow pitch.

The jinx of Premadasa not affecting India today. They are playing superbly. New Zealand have been embarrassing.

giri26 said:
Sachin is playing beautifully. What a master. we can see the difference in class of both the players on a slow pitch.

yeah , tendulkar is always in full flow when there is no pressure ...thats the difference between two players & why some rate Dravid above Tendulkar

Out!!

Oram to Dravid, OUT, trapped in front. Fullish, straight on the middle and leg line, Dravid shuffled across to flick it across the line, misses and it would have crashed into the leg stump. Dharmasena makes the correct decision.

R Dravid lbw b Oram 14 (45b 1x4 0x6) SR: 31.11

^^ Thanks mate..planning to go home in a short while anyway..will watch from home.

Vettori to Tendulkar, OUT, Oh my ... what a soft dismissal! The ball stopped a touch on Tendulkar who was on the back foot and he ended up chipping it straight to cover. Tame way to get out. Vettori can't believe his luck.

SR Tendulkar c Guptill b Vettori 46 (55b 6x4 0x6) SR: 83.63

Rahul Oak: "One side scoring 155 and the other taking their time getting there! There couldn't have been a more exciting start to the 'Who Cares Cup'."
- cricinfo

Yuvi out to Vettori
India 84/4 (24.0 ov)
India require another 72 runs with 6 wickets and 26.0 overs remaining

Raina hiding down the order, coming in at number 6. So much for being brave, confident and not hiding like an Indian poster claimed. ;-)

Indias batting always tend to have one or two batsmen who will come to the party and win games for them.

Come on India..Finish it off..
Hope we continue with the same form into the next match...

Extreme Pace said:
Raina hiding down the order, coming in at number 6. So much for being brave, confident and not hiding like an Indian poster claimed. ;-)

different situation today ,we needed experience more than being brave .....but wait till CT is over .

you admit or not , our batsmen are fearless :)

pitch is a shocker...so slow and two-paced....really a disgrace....
Anyways good game for India....this has now become a 2 match series vs SL...I am hoping for 2-0 to us to become No#1!

Overall a good work out, though I would have expected to lose 1 wicket less..but looking at the positive side, most of the batting line up spent decent time in the middle which is not bad.

deep82 said:
pitch is a shocker...so slow and two-paced....really a disgrace....
Anyways good game for India....this has now become a 2 match series vs SL...I am hoping for 2-0 to us to become No#1!
hmmm!! You lose the second one you lose the cup!! How can it become what you have just said?