Indian Cars and Bikes scene

The reason why Chinese cars do not dominate Chinese market is because most Chinese are fascinated by the Western brands.

There is a growing sense of Westernization among Chinese young generation.

And BMW, Ferraris and Mercedes are what younger generations want if they have the money.

My question to u is this

Do Indian rich people prefer homemade cars to Bmw and Mercedes if they have a choice?

Cause in China they don't.

I think again you are taking up two different scenarios.Cars aren't meant for ultra rich alone and Indian automakers don't make "high end" cars yet as that of ferrari or BMW.

Now lets compare the big brands Renault,Ford,Volkswagen,Toyoto,Honda,GM all have sedan model ,SUV models and budget ones specific for Indian market but lot of Indians go ahead and choose Indian automobiles inspite of all those options available.

No, even we prefer Audi/ Jaguar/ Range/ Land rovers if we can afford them but Jaguar and rovers are owned by TATA.

I think again you are taking up two different scenarios.Cars aren't meant for ultra rich alone and Indian automakers don't make "high end" cars yet as that of ferrari or BMW.

Now lets compare the big brands Renault,Ford,Volkswagen,Toyoto,Honda,GM all have sedan model ,SUV models and budget ones specific for Indian market but lot of Indians go ahead and choose Indian automobiles inspite of all those options available.

Is it because Indian models are cheaper ? For the same level of Toyota or Honda?

If the price range is competitive and there is no difference, then could it be because Indian vehicles have easier spare parts and cheaper spare parts if there is a technical problem in the car?

The way I see it, no one buys cars that are less well known just because of patriotism.

Its a car, and people are spending huge money on it.

And like it or not, Indian market isn't internationally acclaimed to get that sort of trust.

So there must be a reason the Indians are preferring, lesser known local cars.

One of the most common SUV in India and its flagship model of Mahindra also.
When it came out few years ago it was a bumper sale, now it has newer model. Great SUV, built around the concept of cheetah. its also exported and takes part in international offroad races

Mahindra XUV

Mahindra-XUV500-launced-in-Italy-7.jpg

ImageResizerWM.ashx?n=http%u00253a%u00252f%u00252fi.haymarketindia.net%u00252fExtraImages%u00252.jpg

20140326102644_xuvn6.jpggaurav-gill-1463766.jpg

Is it because Indian models are cheaper ? For the same level of Toyota or Honda?

If the price range is competitive and there is no difference, then could it be because Indian vehicles have easier spare parts and cheaper spare parts if there is a technical problem in the car?

The way I see it, no one buys cars that are less well known just because of patriotism.

Its a car, and people are spending huge money on it.

And like it or not, Indian market isn't internationally acclaimed to get that sort of trust.

So there must be a reason the Indians are preferring, lesser known local cars.

I meant in India mate ,lot of Indians buy Indian Suvs or Hatchbacks eventhough there are options available for similar price in Chev,Renault,Ford,Honda,Hyundai eventhough most of them have spare parts available here as its being manufactured in India.
Its not about patriotism its about lot of factors-Looks,Design functioning on Indian roads,After Sale service,Mileage.

Indian cars to have impact on other markets obviously we have long way to go but this was in comparison to Chinese vs Indian automobile and its market internally.

Also there is no comparison between German,British,Jap automakers to Indian ones we have just started with the innovation hardly even 15 years of it they are way ahead.

Ofcourse Tata Prima also runs at domestic Delhi (Noida) Truck Race (Yes India has a truck racing event)

img67b.jpg

img64b.jpg

img60b.jpg

Tata-T1-Prima-Truck-Racing-Championship-Start-720x540.jpg

One of the most popular SUV among rich and powerful is Toyoto Fortuner. Great SUV, best in its category.

Fortuner-india-launch-2016-10.jpg

2016-Toyota-Fortuner-front-three-quarter-on-the-showroom-floor-post-unveil.jpg

2016-Toyota-Fortuner-headlight-revealed-Australian-spec.jpg

The omnipresent Toyota Innova

Most common suv in India and most popular among taxis and big families.

This one is probably best bang for the buck

Innova-Track-L.jpg

28mp_innova2_JPG_875894f.jpg

Toyota-Innova-facelift-front.jpg

Thats the story with custom bikes, people like to get bike with vintage looks.

Most proud vehicle in India is enfield bullet which is actually from 40s if i am not wrong.

And Rajpoots love their vintage bikes and cars, that too high on power.

Yeah, it's pretty cool to see India producing their self-made vehicles. But a liking for vintage bikes and car, why? lel ALOO

Its not vintage, its a modern bike made to look like vintage.
There are many modern race bikes available in India, and there is Harley and others, but if you want something vintage then you will have to go custom. Especially in Rajasthan, the land of Rajas and rajpoots we like fast, old bikes and cars, horses,old wine, guns and forts.

I wish the U.S. received the Ford Endeavor which is at least body-on-frame instead of the unibody Ford Explorer.

Chevy Trailblazer.

I remember back in the days there were only two options in SUV segment, Jeep or Gypsy, now there are so many.

ImageResizerWM.ashx?n=http%u00253a%u00252f%u00252fi.haymarketindia.net%u00252fGalleries%u00252f2.jpg

chevrolet-trailblazer_650x310_81441615989.jpg

chevrolet-trailblazer-2_650x398_61423484240.jpg

Second most popular cars among taxis

Chevy Tavera, really never became popular among civil population, got cursed as a taxi very early on.

IMG_7309.jpg

IMG_7295.jpg

2013Feb011216560.jpg

Chevy's entry in compact SUV segment

Chevy Captiva

Chevrolet-Captiva-in-India.jpg

Chevrolet-Trailblazer-Left-Front-Three-Quarter-59024.jpg

By the Way, I am not posting any imports in this thread. :sachin

I am posting cars made in India which are available for general people. Imports give a confusing picture of what actually we drive and what is main stream.

I don't see anyone driving any of those cars. Maybe they're only for window shopping :hafeez2

Reality Check

indian-commuters-cross-the-road-amid-heavy-rush-hour-traffic-in-on-picture-id482478966

^^ You mean you dont see state of the art Autos in busy streets of Kolkatta?

Dont be jealous just because you dont have these space age autos ;)

India Bike week starts in Goa today.

Its largest bike carnival in India with over 25000 bikers attending it from all over the world.

1193569d1390163226t-pictures-india-bike-week-2014-1.jpg

Different convoys entering the venue at the sandy beaches in Goa

1193570d1390163226t-pictures-india-bike-week-2014-parade.jpg

1193571d1390163226t-pictures-india-bike-week-2014-parade001.jpg

1193575d1390163226t-pictures-india-bike-week-2014-parade005.jpg

1193578d1390163226t-pictures-india-bike-week-2014-parade008.jpg

Its a Mecca of Custom Bikes

Speedstrs arrive

1193585d1390163336t-pictures-india-bike-week-2014-parade015.jpg

1193628d1390164063t-pictures-india-bike-week-2014-11customs010.jpg

1193642d1390164155t-pictures-india-bike-week-2014-25customs024.jpg

1193707d1390165328t-pictures-india-bike-week-2014-03misc1002.jpg

Interesting, there is no Toyota Corolla in that list. It's the best selling car in Pakistan, preferred over City(which is quite a big hit in India)
Toyota sells more of SUVs then cars in India, Havent seen much of corolla altis on the streets, Toyota Etios however is a famous choice among taxis though.

Car market is largely captured by Maruti suzuki, Hyundai and Honda.

Indians are way too inspired by the Americans what's with the hilly-billy beards?

Thats Goa for you, too many foreigners and too much foreign influence.

But its not that common, just few people here and there multiplied by sheer number of total Indians. back in the days these guys would become Sadhu's , but now they become hippy

Thats Goa for you, too many foreigners and too much foreign influence.

But its not that common, just few people here and there multiplied by sheer number of total Indians. back in the days these guys would become Sadhu's , but now they become hippy

Yeah true its better this than that at least they contribute something to the economy :P

Interesting, there is no Toyota Corolla in that list. It's the best selling car in Pakistan, preferred over City(which is quite a big hit in India)

Buddy, City and Corolla are not even in the same segment.. How are you comparing the sales figures of the 2??

Corolla is 1.5 times the price of City.. City will ideally compete with Etios

Buddy, City and Corolla are not even in the same segment.. How are you comparing the sales figures of the 2??

There is like only 1 lacs difference here in Pakistan, not that much.

What's the sale figure of Corolla and Civic in India? Looks like Toyota hasn't got a strong hold in India.

You guys are lucky that new City model is out in india but we are deprived from that. City is a wonderful , affordable sedan and reliable car.

Why Pakistan has stopped producing Baleneo. Yea it never got the success that was expected but should have given more time to it. Monstrous success in India.

I own a Honda Vezel, will sell that once the newer Civic model comes out. Many people will be eagerly waiting to book this car.

CR-Cars-II-New-Civic-Rear-10-15.jpg
CR-Cars-II-New-Civic-Interior-10-15.jpg

^^ That is actually very good looking. Are Automatic cars common in Pakistan?

Look at those Karas and bisceps is it Kila Raipur Games??

You missed the huge sword. :D

Its taken from british magazine, they featured his huge pagadi. He does go to those games though

Scrolling through this thread is a pain

I realize that now, posts per page is 80 and i posted too many pics per post.

page has become too cumbersome. i will post one pic per post to make them lighter.

Yes, that trend started after Japanese cars were imported(99% were automatic).

I guess that is the biggest difference between Indian and Pakistani car scene. We drive 99% manual cars, only very few cars are automatic, especially which are imported.

If we are able to change the auto policy by also allowing Semi Knock down parts then many companies like Audi, and other EURO brands would come to invest in Pakistan.

The cartel of three Japanese auto brand wouldn't allow that, they have got so much control over the Pakistan auto policy. They can sell a junk like Mehran which has no safety features at all without any objection from Pakistan government.

If we are able to change the auto policy by also allowing Semi Knock down parts then many companies like Audi, and other EURO brands would come to invest in Pakistan.

The cartel of three Japanese auto brand wouldn't allow that, they have got so much control over the Pakistan auto policy. They can sell a junk like Mehran which has no safety features at all without any objection from Pakistan government.

So did you get your 10000 bucks:D

I think the main difference would be a much smaller middle class in Pakistan, Indian car scene boomed with rising middle class in this century, while Pakistan has fallen behind. From what can be seen from the comments its only the very rich have cars and they can afford to buy the luxury segment cars, small and middle segment cars which need huge volume need to have a market of a large middle class.

Am i right [MENTION=130419]shah_1[/MENTION]?

As for automatics: Personally I despise them, Test driving them gives absolute no pleasure compared to kind of stuff you can pull off on manual transmission. I understand the extreme ease it provides for newbie drivers, but for true petro heads... its always the Manual transmission, where you control!!

I think the main difference would be a much smaller middle class in Pakistan, Indian car scene boomed with rising middle class in this century, while Pakistan has fallen behind. From what can be seen from the comments its only the very rich have cars and they can afford to buy the luxury segment cars, small and middle segment cars which need huge volume need to have a market of a large middle class.

As for automatics: Personally I despise them, Test driving them gives absolute no pleasure compared to kind of stuff you can pull off on manual transmission. I understand the extreme ease it provides for newbie drivers, but for true petro heads... its always the Manual transmission, where you control!!

Here is the interesting thing :)

This is a Honda Civic 2010 being sold for 5.5 lacs INR in India
http://www.cartrade.com/buy-used-cars/ghaziabad/honda/civic/2013997.html

Look at same model sold in Pakistan for 9.18 lacs INR

http://www.pakwheels.com/used-cars/honda-civic-2010-for-sale-in-lahore-1499614

Here is the interesting thing :)

This is a Honda Civic 2010 being sold for 5.5 lacs INR in India
http://www.cartrade.com/buy-used-cars/ghaziabad/honda/civic/2013997.html

Look at same model sold in Pakistan for 9.18 lacs INR

http://www.pakwheels.com/used-cars/honda-civic-2010-for-sale-in-lahore-1499614

Not the same models
Indian one is manual bro... Pak one is Automatic...

and 2nd hand car prices depend hugely on the market, From my observation.. smaller markets tend to have higher prices for 2nd hand cars. Delhi (NCR) is much bigger market compared to Lahore.

Indian car market is booming

Kind of jelly we don't have that many options . Luxury cars can't be imported because the price would be ridiculous. A good example would be buying an imported Brand new Honda Accord for over 1 crore. :D

Not the same models
Indian one is manual bro... Pak one is Automatic...

and 2nd hand car prices depend hugely on the market, From my observation.. smaller markets tend to have higher prices for 2nd hand cars. Delhi (NCR) is much bigger market compared to Lahore.

The prices difference isn't much for Automatic and Manual. Anyway Pakistan cars prices don't depreciate at all as they get older, which can be problematic and expensive for many people who dream to buy a good car.

The second hand cars are dirt cheap in India. This is great

I travelled around many countries. In every place car price depreciate but Pakistan cars don't. You are going make a profit if you sell your car after 7-10 years :))

It's a mystery

I travelled around many countries. In every place car price depreciate but Pakistan cars don't. You are going make a profit if you sell your car after 7-10 years :))

It's a mystery

Supply and demand man.... as i said smaller car markets have expensive 2nd hand cars..
People in smaller markets own the cars for much longer than in bigger markets.
Less number of cars are actually available for sale 2nd hand, hence the higher price tag.
I guess in African countries you would find the rate of depreciation even lower than what you get in Pakistan.

Supply and demand man.... as i said smaller car markets have expensive 2nd hand cars..
People in smaller markets own the cars for much longer than in bigger markets.
Less number of cars are actually available for sale 2nd hand, hence the higher price tag.
I guess in African countries you would find the rate of depreciation even lower than what you get in Pakistan.

Makes sense

As for automatics: Personally I despise them, Test driving them gives absolute no pleasure compared to kind of stuff you can pull off on manual transmission. I understand the extreme ease it provides for newbie drivers, but for true petro heads... its always the Manual transmission, where you contro
l!!

I used to think the same way about automatic cars, but when you are stuck in traffic then you will start appreciating automatic cars. In big cities where traffic moves slow the automatic car is a life saviour.

agreed .... but for the true thrill of driving ... Manual anytime..
I have been testing these vehicles years before they come to market, hated the testing of automatics. Easy to drive but no fun.

The Japanese basically flooded the market and to this day have a monopoly of selling junk at crazy prices.

I'd rather have second-hand Japanese domestic market vehicles than locally-built Japanese vehicles flooding the market.

They have proven to be reliable and withstand tough environments. There's a reason why Russians in Siberia would prefer to drive a second-hand Land Cruiser or Patrol than a Russian-built vehicle.

Can't blame the Japanese manufacturers when the average Pakistani consumer doesn't demand quality.

Little sister of Ambassador.

Premier Padmini.

premier-padmini-photo.jpg

Still can be seen on Mumbai streets as a Taxi

These two cars have ruled the Indian streets for decades with no competition around

M_Id_407250_Padmini_Taxis.jpg

If you didnt want Ambassador or Padmini then you had third option as Contessa. Very few people opted for this vehicle, mostly rich young boys of back in the days.

434413d1286259079-contessa-club-meets-bangalore-car3.jpg

• M_Id_407250_Padmini_Taxis.jpg
    M_Id_407250_Padmini_Taxis.jpg
    67.5 KB · Views: 300
Despite having so many muscle cars and high powered and expensive car, no car has more aura or oozes power more then this humble old all metal relic from past. It is govt vehicle and preferred cars of our Netas.

At least our babus dont spend too much money on cars

View attachment 65029

Ambassadors were the only cars that could be bulletproofed in India in the past, and hence all the VVIPS had them. Hence the power symbol.

Now with Scorpio, Pajero etc, scenario has changed.

PS: Bulletproof ambassador is not cheap and absolute garbage as a piece of engineering.

^^ Also as they were the only option available. Between Padmini , contessa and Ambassador only the later one had enough space and aura for being a VIP car. Also white Ambys also give white color as color of choice for powerful people, hence now 80% cars if not more are white , especially the ones which are either expensive or high power.

In US the color which reflects power is usually Black.

I agree that now Scorpio is getting that kind of respect.

^^ Also as they were the only option available. Between Padmini , contessa and Ambassador only the later one had enough space and aura for being a VIP car. Also white Ambys also give white color as color of choice for powerful people, hence now 80% cars if not more are white , especially the ones which are either expensive or high power.

In US the color which reflects power is usually Black.

I agree that now Scorpio is getting that kind of respect.

MY work :D