Indian Guru sentenced to 20 Years in Jail for Rape, Fined Rs 30 lacs [Update Post #182]

Don't worry about one Pak media report.

They are nothing like the garbage Indian media. Rather than worrying about media reports worry at the fact a Baba getting convicted has caused so much instability and should be a national embarrassment on how your incompetent government has no control.

unfortunately for most of the people in india , their religions , their babas and all are above anything. Our constitution allows everyone to be equal in anything.
These uneducated or may be educated too plus politics and incompetency has hurt tge country. punjab is though very much stable. Few burning of things here and tgere only.
haryana suffered the most but looks ok nowm But these babas have thousands of gundas.,wont rule them out so early

Many babas do practise secret tantric vidhyas which give them hypnotising energy and aura.

Most people who follow these babas do so because the babas are either rich or politically connected , or both. Faith and aura have very little to do with it.

I personally know many of the late Sai Baba's followers. They are all self-seeking crooks. Every single one of them.

Most people who follow these babas do so because the babas are either rich or politically connected , or both. Faith and aura have very little to do with it.

I personally know many of the late Sai Baba's followers. They are all self-seeking crooks. Every single one of them.

The Older dead Sai's followers seem more reasonable, but the recent "Satya sai" dude was a class a fraud. I have relatives who subscribe to his magazine and all that BS, you have to read the stuff they write about him in it. It's like some serialized version of the Bible .

I was listening to Yoginder Yadav (I have utmost respect for this personality) yesterday on ndtv, and he recapped the incidents of last 17/18 years so I now I believe that judiciary (actually one judge) is right in this instance.

That's why I laugh at the notion of Asian countries becoming future superpower.

Not happening when you manage to stay 100 years behind the west in every social aspect.

For last two days I have spoken to many people in Haryana side and even Punjab and this is what it is, he is getting the dalit followers, Sikkhism was based on anti -caste but looks like many Dalit ones actually got his dera or at least have soft spot for him because Jatts are casteist in many villages,what I didn't know was the amount of Dalits in Punjab, pretty high.

Above is pretty much hearsay,but what confuses me is that no big shot gets sentenced in India unless they are on opposite side,so either BJP put him under the bridge because Akalis would get the Dalits back or Congress did it coz of National politics , so not clear

The Older dead Sai's followers seem more reasonable, but the recent "Satya sai" dude was a class a fraud. I have relatives who subscribe to his magazine and all that BS, you have to read the stuff they write about him in it. It's like some serialized version of the Bible .

Don't make the mistake of dividing them and labelling them akin to the good and bad Taliban. They're all a bunch of assorted donuts that we as a society must trash, full stop.

Yes, never make the mistake of nuanced judgement. Always use the broadest brush to paint them.

Completely agree with you.. Classifying them into good and bad will only cause further harm and it applies to every terrorist and extremist organisation.

Such a utopian society doesn't exist.

There's no black and white or good and evil divide. There is a lot of grey murky areas and that's the truth whether people accept it or not.

ROHTAK, HARYANA: Self-styled spiritual guru Gurmeet Ram Rahim Singh has been sentenced to 10 years in prison for the rape of two women followers. The 50-year-old chief of the Dera Sacha Sauda sect wept as he was sentenced at a jail in Haryana's Rohtak by Judge Jagdeep Singh, who flew down by a government helicopter to conduct a prison-side court hearing. Thousands of soldiers are guarding the prison and the army is on stand-by. No civilians are being allowed within 10 km of the prison. Over a lakh of Ram Rahim's followers had gathered in Panchkula, where he was convicted on Friday, and they erupted in violence that left 38 people dead and over 200 injured.

http://www.ndtv.com/india-news/ahea...ss-10-points-1742766?pfrom=home-lateststories

What I got out of the previous post is that even though the whole thing started way back in 2002 some how the judge had a hunch of something wrong somewhere gave the case to cbi another team to follow up and during all this time however slow the process seemed to be everyone in my mind did their job and followed through a successful investigation including a final verdict. Just wished the guy got a longer sentence.

A very satisfying ending to this baba who thought he was above the law just because he had millions of supporters. Wish could witness him begging for mercy in the court.

Gurmeet Ram Rahim Singh Sentenced to 20 Years in Jail for Rape, Fined Rs 30 lakh

New Delhi: A special CBI court on Monday (August 28) sentenced Dera Sacha Sauda chief Gurmeet Ram Rahim Singh to 20 years in prison – 10 years each for two rape cases that will run consecutively and not concurrently, as was earlier understood. The sentencing hearing was held in Sunaria jail, Rohtak. A special court was set up in the jail premises to prevent a repeat of the violence which was witnessed following the announcement of the conviction of the Dera head on Friday.

The CBI court also fined the Dera chief Rs 30 lakh for three separate offences including attempt to murder and criminal intimidation. The court allowed him a separate cell, but no attendants or special facilities After the verdict, 50-year-old Singh was seen weeping profusely as he sat on the floor outside the courtroom. He was then forcibly taken away by security personnel.

While the CBI lawyer termed it a victory for the process of justice, the defence counsel said the court had given him a light sentence in view of his work for social causes. He also said an appeal would be filed in the high court against the CBI court order.
Judge Jagdeep Singh, along with the court staff, was flown in from Chandigarh by helicopter earlier in the morning. Rohtak was placed on high alert for the hearing. Rohtak deputy commissioner Atul Kumar had earlier declared that shoot at sight orders have been issued. He added that a three-tier security ring has been put in place around Sunaria district jail, where Singh is lodged, with 4,000 security personnel manning the area.

“We will not allow anyone to create any sort of trouble in Rohtak. Anyone breaking law or indulging in acts of violence or arson will himself be responsible for his fate. Anyone creating trouble will be given a warning first and if he still pays no heed, then he will have to face the bullet,” he had said.

TV channels reported that Singh broke down in court and pleaded for leniency before the judge announced his sentence. His followers set ablaze two cars in Phoolka area of Haryana’s Sirsa while the sentencing hearing was in session, ANI reported. While the CBI asked for life imprisonment, his lawyer asked for leniency because of his social work record.

On August 25, Singh was convicted of raping two female followers. The sections he was convicted under entail a minimum punishment of seven years and a maximum of life imprisonment.

After Singh was convicted on Friday, his followers, who had gathered in large numbers outside the court in Panchkula, Haryana, turned violent, destroying property, and burning media OB vans and burning buses. Violence spread to other parts of Haryana, as well as Punjab and Delhi. Thirty one people died in the clashes that ensued with the police and over 250 were injured. The Centre and Haryana government were widely criticised, including by the Punjab and Haryana high court, for allowing crowds to gather despite knowing what may happen.

The rape Singh has been convicted of dates back to 1999. A case was filed in 2002, when an anonymous letter written by the complainant reached the Punjab and Haryana high court and then Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee. The complainant said in her letter:

One night, at about 10 pm, I was called by Guru Maharaj to his gufa (den). I found him … with a revolver lying next to his pillow. He told me that as I, a sadhvi, had dedicated my mind and body to the ‘seva‘ of the guru, he, the guru, wanted to claim his due. When I protested, he told me that I should have no doubt he indeed was god. ‘Didn’t Lord Krishna make love to his gopis every night? Yet people regard him as god,’ he told me. When I was still not convinced, he told me he could shoot me here and now and no one would raise a finger, not even my parents. ‘The chief ministers of Punjab and Haryana and many central ministers come and touch my feet. I can get your family members removed from their jobs and get them killed if you protest,’ he told me.

There are about 40 unmarried women between 35-40 years of age in the ashram regarded as devis. We are not allowed to even look at another man, have to keep our heads covered with a white dupatta … But our life here is worse than that of prostitutes. Even if our parents call we are not allowed to talk to them without the guru’s permission. If any sadhvi goes back home and tells her family members about what has happened to her, goondas from the deras threaten the family members with death threats, forcing them to keep quiet. If you get the sadhvis of the dera medically examined you will learn that they are not sadhvis….
Singh is also accused in the murder of journalist Ram Chander Chhatrapati, who exposed the rape accusations against Singh in his newspaper Poora Sachh. The police had refused to name Singh in the original FIR; the case was transferred to the CBI after Chhatrapati’s son filed a petition in the Punjab and Haryana high court. The case is now being heard in the same CBI court in Panchkula that found Singh guilt of rape.

Dera Sacha Sauda has close to 50 million followers worldwide, according to some estimates, many of whom are from ‘lower’ caste and marginalised backgrounds. Singh is known as a ‘Rockstar Baba’ – he has produced three films about himself starring himself, where he fights bad guys, sings and rides a flying motorcycle.

https://thewire.in/171503/gurmeet-ram-rahim-singh-sentence/

Imo this is how avatars/messengers were born. What you think [MENTION=26195]DW44[/MENTION]

The rape cases are over, now it's time for his murder cases.

Panchkula: Weeks after Dera Sacha Sauda chief Gumreet Ram Rahim Singh was sentenced to 20 years in prison for raping two of his women followers, the CBI court is today hearing arguments in two murder cases against the 50-year-old self-styled godman. Ram Rahim, who is currently lodged at Rohtak's Sunaria jail, isn't physically present in the court. He is attending the hearing through video conferencing.

http://m.ndtv.com/india-news/hearin...ideo-conference-1751041?pfrom=home-topstories

Religious mode on.

This is Kali Yuga where hypocrites/evil men are considered pious and leaders.

Religious mode off.

Was this baba a hindu or a sikh, or neo hindu/sikh? Or if it is considered a sect, then which religion it belonged to?

Please share the evidence which led the court to convict him. All I know is that he was a secular person with message of peace for everyone and did a lot of charity work. I am willing to change my opinion if you show the clinching evidence.

Are you gonna change your name?

More charges against Gurmeet Ram Rahim Singh.

New Delhi: The CBI today filed a charge sheet against rape convict and Dera Sacha Sauda chief Gurmeet Ram Rahim Singh and two doctors for allegedly forcibly castrating 400 followers of the sect, officials said.

Gurmeet Ram Rahim Singh, who is serving a 20-year jail term after being convicted in two rape cases, has been charged along with doctors Pankaj Garg and MP Singh.

They allegedly castrated the men at the Sirsa-based Dera, officials said

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/cbi...-castration-case-1807448?pfrom=home-topscroll

Don't know what happens to the judiciary in the case of salman khan and tarun tejpal. the indian judiciary is THE MOST corrupt institution in the country, so i doubt the motives.

dera sacha sauda is a peaceful sect and there are powers who dont want the dalits to move towards this sect. I think baba ji has been set up, and there are ulterior reasons for this judgement.

Salman Khan was acquitted while Tarun Tejpal is on bail with passport submitted to police (Cannot go out of the country).

I don't like to engage morally superior people, so please spare me the sermon. All I am asking is for the evidence which proves he is a rapist. If you are sure that he did commit the crime, please share me your knowledge to so that I can condemn him, maybe no as eloquently as you do, but still.

Have you finally got the evidence?

Not only he committed rapes on multiple women he also castrated many boys! Hope he rots in jail for rest of life. All of his so called 5 crore followers have left him!

Pakistani judiciary is much better than the indian one, which is rotten to the core.

Pakistani judiciary is not even Independent and listen to their army generals.

Indian Judiciary is totally independent of any political and/or Army/navy/airforce clout.

Now it's Asaram's turn.

How many will his supporters kill?

An Indian spiritual guru who claims to have millions of followers worldwide has been found guilty of rape.

A court in the northern city of Jodhpur ruled that Asaram Bapu raped a 16-year-old girl in 2013 at his ashram there. He is likely to appeal against the verdict in a higher court.

The guru, who is 77, has 400 ashrams around the world where he teaches meditation and yoga.

He is also on trial in another rape case in Gujarat state.

Jodhpur is on high alert because of concerns there could be violence from the guru's supporters. The court is expected to announce his sentence later in the day.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-india-43889797

Parole is legal. And the Jail superintendent can only tell what happened inside the jail. If ram rahim has behaved in a good way in the jail then thats the truth.

The jail superintendent has gone further than that - he’s stated that Ram Rahim “isn’t a hardcore criminal”. If someone who is convicted of two separate rapes plus a murder isn’t a “hardcore criminal” then who is a hardcore criminal?

Now he has the police on his side too.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sirsa police recommends 42-day parole for rape and murder convict Gurmeet Ram Rahim Singh, says he has not committed any crime in prison<a href="https://t.co/Th89DMGwFi">https://t.co/Th89DMGwFi</a></p>— OpIndia.com (@OpIndia_com) <a href="https://twitter.com/OpIndia_com/status/1143587160517271552?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 25, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Now he has the police on his side too.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sirsa police recommends 42-day parole for rape and murder convict Gurmeet Ram Rahim Singh, says he has not committed any crime in prison<a href="https://t.co/Th89DMGwFi">https://t.co/Th89DMGwFi</a></p>— OpIndia.com (@OpIndia_com) <a href="https://twitter.com/OpIndia_com/status/1143587160517271552?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 25, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
42-days parole for such a criminal? Only in India!

Mera desh vakai mein badal gaya hai....:(

https://www.timesnownews.com/india/...am-rahim-granted-one-day-secret-parole/678733

Chandigarh: The Manohar Lal Khattar government in Haryana on October 24, granted a day's parole to controversial Dera Sacha Sauda head Gurmeet Ram Rahim, who is serving a 20-year jail sentence for raping two of his disciples and has been denied bail several times by the courts.

Sources privy to the development told IANS that Ram Rahim was granted parole on his wife Harjit Kaur's plea that his mother Naseeb Kaur, 85, suffering from a heart disease was seriously ill.

The Dera chief met his mother, who is hospitalised in Gurugram, officials confirmed on Saturday. He was taken under heavy security to the Gurugram hospital where he stayed during the day and was brought to the jail in the evening, a police official said.

The 52-year-old is currently lodged at the high-security Sunaria jail in Rohtak, 250 km from state capital Chandigarh.

His bail pleas have been rejected by the Courts several times. On April 24, his three-week parole to meet his ailing mother was rejected on two counts. First, the parole could create law and order problems in the state at the time of his release and surrender later.

Second, a report by a panel of doctors, who examined his mother, said she was suffering from a heart disease, but was not in critical condition.

In June 2019, Ram Rahim Singh had withdrawn his parole plea after the state BJP government was cornered by opposition parties for favouring the self-styled godman, who sought parole for 42 days to tend to his agricultural fields at his sect's headquarters in Sirsa town.

Also, the high court had in May last year rejected his parole plea for attending the wedding ceremony of his foster daughter.

Ram Rahim was sentenced to 20 years in jail in August 2017 for raping two women.

A special CBI court in Panchkula January last year also sentenced him and three others to life imprisonment for the murder of a journalist over 16 years ago.

His conviction on August 25, 2017, had led to violence in Panchkula and Sirsa, leaving 41 people dead and over 260 injured.

Ram Rahim was patronised by political leaders and parties in Punjab and Haryana for nearly two decades due to his ability to influence the votes of his followers.

So a secret parole for this murderer-cum-rapist. Well done Khattar.

Rape Convict Ram Rahim Out On Parole, BJP Leaders Line Up For Event

New Delhi: Sentenced to 20 years in prison for rape and murder, religious leader Gurmeet Ram Rahim Singh hosted a virtual 'satsang' event on Wednesday, counting many politicians, including the mayor of Haryana's Karnal and several leaders of the ruling BJP, among guests.

The Dera Sacha Sauda chief, who was convicted in 2017, was granted a 40-day parole last week following an application filed by his family. He hosted the satsang from Uttar Pradesh's Baghpat.

Earlier, the Dera chief had come out of prison on a month-long parole in June. Before that, he was granted three weeks' furlough in February.

Alleging that the influential spiritual leader was granted parole to influence next month's by-election and panchayat polls in Haryana, the opposition attacked the BJP over its leaders participating in Ram Rahim's event.

Among the BJP leaders who attended the meet were Karnal Mayor Renu Bala Gupta, Deputy Mayor Naveen Kumar and Senior Deputy Mayor Rajesh Aggi, news agency ANI reported, besides other candidates for the elections.

"I was invited to the satsang by the 'sadh sangat'. Online satsang was done from UP. Many people in my ward are associated with Baba. We reached the program from social connection, and it has nothing to do with the Bharatiya Janata Party and the upcoming bypoll," Mr Kumar was quoted as saying.

Asked whether he wanted Ram Rahim's blessings to win the election, Mr Kumar said only the public decides who wins elections. "It is necessary to have the blessings of the people," he said.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/har...rape-convict-gurmeet-ram-rahims-event-3446726

sanghis at it again. Parole being given to serial rapist and a murderer just because he can influence a section of electorate in an upcoming election.

This will only encourage more rapes in the rape capital of the world. After the Bilkis Bano affair it again shows India's lethargic and careless attitude towards rape.

3 Of 6 Shooters Arrested In Murder Of Sacrilege Accused Dera Follower In Punjab

Chandigarh/New Delhi:

Three suspected shooters were caught in Punjab's Patiala district early on Friday in connection with the murder of a Dera Sacha Sauda follower a day ago, police said.

The special cell of the Delhi Police raided Bakshiwala area, about 30 km from Patiala city, around 3 am following intelligence inputs, it said.

One of the suspects, Jitender, has been arrested, while two others are minors, Delhi Police spokesperson Suman Nalwa said.

Pardeep Singh, 37, who was an accused in a 2015 sacrilege case, was shot dead on Thursday morning at his dairy shop in Kotkapura. His security man and another person sustained bullet injuries in the incident.

Canada-based gangster Goldy Brar is said to have claimed responsibility for the murder in a purported social media post. He is the main accused in the murder case of Punjabi singer Sidhu Moosewala, who was shot dead in May.

Punjab additional director general of police (law and order) Arpit Shukla told PTI that all the six shooters involved in the murder had been identified. Four shooters are from Haryana and two are from Punjab. Efforts are on to arrest the remaining three shooters.

The different modules were being handled independently by Brar, an associate of fugitive Harvinder Singh and jailed gangster Lawrence Bishnoi, police said.

Pardeep Singh was on bail in a case of theft of a Guru Granth Sahib copy from Burj Jawahar Singh Wala village in Faridkot in June 2015. He was also an accused in a case linked to torn pages of the Sikh holy book being found scattered in Bargari in the district in October that year.

Pardeep Singh's killing comes days after the November 4 murder of Shiv Sena (Taksali) leader Sudhir Suri in Amritsar. Both the victims had police protection.

NDTV

Rape Convicts Ram Rahim Back In Haryana Jail After 40-Day Parole Ends

Chandigarh: Dera Sacha Sauda chief Gurmeet Ram Rahim Singh was back in Sunaria jail in Haryana's Rohtak district on Friday at the end of his 40-day parole.

The Dera chief, who is serving a 20-year jail term for raping his two disciples, had gone to his Barnawa ashram in Uttar Pradesh after his release on October 14.

"At the end of his parole, he (Gurmeet Ram Rahim Singh) returned to Sunaria jail Friday evening," a police official said.

Notably, during his parole period, the 55-year-old Sirsa Dera chief held several online 'satsangs' at the Barnawa ashram. Some of these were also attended by BJP leaders from Haryana, including Deputy Speaker Ranbir Gangwa.

The Dera chief's parole had once again coincided with some polls in the region, the third such instance in the current year.

Haryana witnessed three-phase panchayat elections between October 30 and November 25, and the bypoll to the Adampur Assembly seat was held earlier this month.

The Dera chief had come out of prison on month-long parole in June ahead of the elections to 46 municipalities in Haryana.

He was granted three weeks furlough from February 7, barely two weeks before the Punjab Assembly elections.

The Sirsa Dera has a large number of followers in Haryana, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, and Rajasthan.

The Shiromani Gurdwara Parbandhak Committee (SGPC), the apex religious body of the Sikhs, had earlier raised an objection to the 40-day parole of Gurmeet Ram Rahim Singh.

SGPC president Harjinder Singh Dhami had alleged that while "special kindness" was being shown to Gurmeet Ram Rahim Singh, Sikh prisoners lodged in jails for three decades were not being released even after completing their sentences.

The Dera chief was last year also convicted along with four others for hatching a conspiracy to kill Ranjit Singh, a dera manager.

The Dera chief and three others were convicted in 2019 for the murder of a journalist more than 16 years ago.

NDTV

Rape Convict Ram Rahim Gets 40-Day Parole, 2 Months After Last One

Chandigarh: Dera Sacha Sauda chief Gurmeet Ram Rahim Singh was on Friday again granted a 40-day parole, officials said.

The latest parole to the Dera chief, who is serving a 20-year jail term for raping his two disciples, comes three months after he was granted a similar parole.

"The parole has been granted for 40 days. It has been granted as per rules," Rohtak's Divisional Commissioner Sanjeev Verma told PTI over the phone.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/der...in-rape-case-gets-40-day-parole-again-3710794