"Indians not as large hearted as us" : Shahid Afridi

Just Shut up Man!!!!!!!! The more you open your mouth, the more you make your self look like fools. Just play cricket and put a big sock in your mouth because you do not have the intellectual capability to have an adult conversation.

This.Stop digging it even more.

So he did pinpoint gambhir's comments....let go of him Afridi!!! The guy is scum....you are better than all this.

Afridis cute Kids are more mature than him :P Pehle tuk-tuk baad mein boom boom !! Awww !!

Afridis Mental condition jus reflects in his batting.. Unstable :P

Why Hate India!

let me give you an answer, Because we have beaten you in WC semi-final and are a better team than you ever had! He should hate India!

But i dont think Afridi Fan should hate india, he watches Indian movies and dances to Indian numbers!

Yes that's why we have beaten you more times in both formats.

Not sure why Indian fans are getting depressed over Afridi's comments?

He was generalising about the Indian media, government and cricketing authorities and he is correct they are small/weak hearted.

After the attacks in Mumbai the weak hearted stopped bilateral ties with Pakistan, stopped cricketing ties with Pakistan, stopped allowing Pakistan cricketers in the IPL and some of those who had the smallest weakest hearts and were ignorant of modern warfare wanted a war with Pakistan. lol

Obviously not all 1.2billion Indians are the same but the general message of Afridi is true so accept who you are from your proven words/actions and enjoy your win while looking forward to the IPL circus. :afridi

pls use this thread for all heart-related discussions induced by Mr. Afridi's analysis.

I have heard of "U" turn, this must be a "W" turn in progress.

where is he heading? :13:

support-resistance.gif

Now Afridi Offends the Pakistanis

Shahid Afridi, Pakistan’s cricket captain, swiftly inserted his other foot in his mouth in an Indian television interview shortly after offending Indians by saying they don’t have as “pure hearts” as Pakistani Muslims.

Afridi could do with a dose of media training.
In what appeared to be an effort to placate annoyed Indians, he said in an interview aired on India’s NDTV Tuesday that cricketers are more valued in India than Pakistan, a comment likely to cause annoyance at home.

“I’ve enjoyed cricket the most in India,” he said. “We get a lot of love there. I think the value given to cricketers there is greater than what it is in Pakistan.”

Ouch.

Mr. Afridi is undoubtedly a great cricketer. He was the joint top wicket-taker in the Cricket World Cup in India which concluded at the weekend. He’s energized the Pakistan team and won fans for his graciousness after Pakistan was defeated by India last week.

But Mr. Afridi could do with a dose of media training. He doesn’t seem to understand that comments made to one country’s media outlets can easily be picked up elsewhere.

He could even have learned this simple lesson at the weekend when he responded to a question on Pakistani television about his World Cup experiences by saying that Indians don’t have as “pure hearts” as Pakistani Muslims.

Mr. Afridi went into damage-control mode on NDTV, saying his words were taken out of context.

“I like India, I like its people, I like playing cricket there, a big deal shouldn’t be made out of small issues,” Mr. Afridi told NDTV. “In my 14- to 15-year career I’ve never seen this, making distinctions between Hindus and Muslims. I was trying to say that when we go to India, we/they also show a big heart, so relations will be good.”

Unfortunately for Mr. Afridi it’s hard to be taken out of context when you are talking live down the phone to a television channel. To recap, here’s an English translation of what Mr. Afridi told Samaa TV, a Pakistani channel, in Urdu at the weekend:

“If I speak truthfully, they just can’t have the kind of heart a Muslim has or a Pakistani has. I think they don’t have the sort of big hearts, pure hearts, Allah has given us. It is a very difficult thing for us to be together or to have a long-term relationship.”

Source: Wall Street Journal

I think his comments were a bit sad, but they were not anti-India per se. He thinks Pakistanis have a bigger heart, and most Pakistanis will feel that way. As most Indians will feel that Indians have a bigger heart.

The main thing is that he doesn't think that Indians desire a fight, as he said "hum aapas main ladna nahi chaahte". We are two different peoples, but if we can stop killing each other, that is a decent start.

Yeah bowman, he meant neither Pakistanis nor Indians want to fight but there are third forces which want to take advantage and want us to keep at it.

His comment are pointing to the fact that yes, there are differences but it doesn't mean that we have to hate each other.

pls use this thread for all heart-related discussions induced by Mr. Afridi's analysis.

Indian and Pakistan Media proudly presents a seminar titled " The anatomic and physiological differences in the structure of Human Heart"
By Renounced Cardiologist Dr Shahid Khan Afridi. MD PHD (Matric Fail)

There was once an ever-young Pathan

The best hitter to come out of Pakistan

But when he opened his mouth

Things rapidly when south

That headstrong Pathan from Pakistan

Indian and Pakistan Media proudly presents a seminar titled " The anatomic and physiological differences in the structure of Human Heart"

:D:D:D

Doctor saab chha gaye.

I think his degree is MBBF (Matric Baar Baar Fail)

Renounced :))) brilliant

:D:D:D

Doctor saab chha gaye.

I think his degree is MBBF (Matric Baar Baar Fail)

ahhahhahahahh

Dr Afridi MD Cardiology :P jus shudder to think if was a Doc in real life :P Would Afridi the Doc be like Afridi the Batsman... Exceptional 1-2 day in a year and sub-par the rest of the days :)

BTW I jus remembered that a lot of Pakistanis come to India for heart treatment :) I wish Afridi would hv remembered that before blurtin Indians have small hearts !!!

we may have small hearts but we certainly know how to mend the broken and the damaged hearts MR Afridi :)

ahhahhahahahh

Dr Afridi MD Cardiology :P jus shudder to think if was a Doc in real life :P Would Afridi the Doc be like Afridi the Batsman... Exceptional 1-2 day in a year and sub-par the rest of the days :)

BTW I jus remembered that a lot of Pakistanis come to India for heart treatment :) I wish Afridi would hv remembered that before blurtin Indians have small hearts !!!

we may have small hearts but we certainly know how to mend the broken and the damaged hearts MR Afridi :)

If he were a doctor, he would have his personal chain of graveyards

Where's all the clowns who were making fun of Indian bowling attack. Top seamer wicket taker = Zaheer Khan of India...talk now

:afridi More like

51781-16145-munna-bhai-mbbs.jpg

Afridi has just embarassed himself yet again, except this time off the field.

It just goes to show how dumb he can be.

Hard to believe it's our captain making these ridiculous statements he has no business making.

In this situation, I for one feel for Afridi.

He wants to say one think but I believe at times he does not use the right words. I believe his real issue was with the Indian media and how the portrayed him rather than a generic comment aimed at all of India.

On a different note, even our media has not been kind as of late. Especially the likes of Aamir Sohail, Arif Abassi, and the Dunya TV host. It became exceedingly clear that some try to put a spin on things in illusions of grandeur. It was clear that the two were making innuendos as they want to be running things in the PCB. I say this as I have not heard Afridi say anything against Younis and Misbah.

I agree with some posters - he should now just stay away from the media. Make some good performances in W.Indies and all these buffoons will go away.

Dr. Khan, you feeling sorry for Afridi? He does need to keep his mouth shut.

It was a dumb comment from a dumb person. We don't really expect much else from Afridi to be honest, our expectations are not that high Pakistan being a failed state full of terrorists and illegal bookmakers.

I don't know why the Indian media is making a big issue out of it though. Were they similarly offended when Gambhir brought the mumbai bombings into the semi-final unnecessarily? You would like to think so as India is considered a far more mature democracy where this sort of petty squabbling should be beneath them.

^Did Gambhir make that comment in context of SF ? I thought he said it after winning the finals in mumbai. I am honestly not sure why tribute 26/11 victims in Mumbai would be an issu

Btw Indian media is not a monolith. Section who look only for TRPs, this is news and they will pump it up. FOX has the highest ratings in US. Hum kis khet ki muli hai

It was a dumb comment from a dumb person. We don't really expect much else from Afridi to be honest, our expectations are not that high Pakistan being a failed state full of terrorists and illegal bookmakers.

I don't know why the Indian media is making a big issue out of it though. Were they similarly offended when Gambhir brought the mumbai bombings into the semi-final unnecessarily? You would like to think so as India is considered a far more mature democracy where this sort of petty squabbling should be beneath them.

Indian media is the worst thing on the face of the planet. Afridi and Indian media complement each other really well. A pair made in Dumbistan

He was clearly bring ironic after watching that Samaa TV host in a previous "Debate" Nod like a sheep to a "Scholar" that perverted parts of the Quran re: The Blast-for-me law....

As YK would say about desi media:

"Its a fun game"

Sure. Indians can talk about him. No one is stopping them. But this is fun for me. Because I didn't like when he made his 1st comments but now, I am back to my Afridite best. :afridi
And why do you think Indians are disheartened?

Afridi is giving good foddler to the Indian crazy media and they are making most money out of it by selling it. They are also having fun.

Don’t agree with Afridi on pure hearts bull crap, but I do have to say from my own experience that when it comes to Indians and Pakistani's, we have less hate mongering against India as demonstrated by Pakistani media and its hospitable people when the Indian team last visited Pakistan. There was positivity in the air as opposed to our WC visit recently. Everything coming out of India was negative. People in India do seem to love to hate everything that is Pakistani. If anyone disagrees, you should check out some of the many Indian forums on the net. They put FOX news bias to shame.

Most of the Pakistani’s on this forum are condemning Afridi's foolish statements, but I wonder if anyone on Indian forums is condemning Ghambir’s statement?? Infact, Indian supporters even on this forum are trying to justify his idiotic remarks. It’s quite telling of the two mentalities.

Talking about Indian media, there are about twenty news channels that I get on my TV. I don't really follow the Hindi channels, but barring a couple, the English channels are alright. The one I follow the most is CNN-IBN who were not overtly critical of the Pakistan team as far as I remember.

I do not know which comments in Indian news channels hurt the Pakistani cricketers, but if they were watching some third rate Hindi news channel(and there are a few), they should have just flicked channels or watched on to see how pathetic they are, with respect to everything.

Also, the atmosphere in Chandigarh and in the ground in Mohali was quite friendly and there were no instances of unnecessary rudeness or ill-will among the Indian and Pakistani cricket fans.

Is he going to be a stock trader ?

Yeah. A laughing stock trader.

Kids, learn from Afridi. Learn how to avoid being a fool like him.

Also learn from Sachin / Inzi. They do their job on the field. Then they know they're not qualified to comment on politics, the sizes of people's hearts etc.

Afridi thinks he knows it all and by captaining Pak's cricket team, he can speak for entire Pakistan and even all the muslims in the world.

Matric fail indeed.

shut up afridi..

stop brining religion into everything ...

get over it and stop all this non sense with every tv channel..

He is right becoz when ever in world cup india beat pakistan,,,,, in india the people of majority community abuse india muslim in most part of the country,,,,,, even they don't think that they are also indian...

:facepalm

Can you prove this ?

people with internet access can be so misinformed too.

For me his first statement was more correct. His so called clarification, is hardly that.

To me it just seems like he's trying to deflect all this criticsm that's heading his way, by downplaying the statement. Which in reality is only an observable reality (in general) at least from my experiance with people. There are exceptions but when we talk generally, there's no need to mention all of the exceptions.

It's similar to when Afridi tried to downplay the biting incident initially by claiming he was smelling the ball. Soon, once the media blows this up beyong all recognition he'll have to do a full backtrack.

Sam thanks for the interview really clarifies what he was trying to say earlier and how the media played on with his statement of large hearted.

Unfortunately, no matter how much pakistan or Shahid Afridi will say that he was sayign about the media not being big hearted, it will always be showcased that he pointed it towards the general public of India

Yeah, a much better interview. And a lot more clear too.

Having said that, Afridi's 10 interviews per day isn't exactly the best thing to do.

Aaram karo Lala!

like that attitude that if umar fakes an injury he will back hom on the next flight :)

Afridi has had a harddisk failure..

Blaming media, Blaming indians..

In india there are over 50 tv channels half of them are news channels majority of them have no business broadcasting news.. they try to sensationalize news..

I guess Afridi was not used to it..
Most of us ignore the channels that sensationalize news.

You cant paint the entire population with the same brush..

Afridi just washed away all the good will earned by one of the best matches of the WC.

I was hoping it would have restarted the Indo pak tours and Pak players in IPL..

Going by afridis mouth it might not be happening soon..

And why do you think Indians are disheartened?

Afridi is giving good foddler to the Indian crazy media and they are making most money out of it by selling it. They are also having fun.

Who is India crazy media selling this fodder to?

Love India, was mis quoted: AFridi

http://www.hindustantimes.com/Love-India-was-misquoted-Afridi/Article1-681421.aspx

After creating a furore by stating that Indians are not “large-hearted”, Shahid Afridi said he was misunderstood and quoted out of context. “Media makes a big deal of small issues. It is shameful. I have always done my bit to improve Indo-Pak ties but sometimes you say something and it is interpreted the other way. I have been quoted out of context,” Afridi told a channel.
“I have enjoyed my cricket in India and I love Indian people. Don't take my comments negatively. I have always got a lot of love and affection from Indian fans. And I request the media to play a more positive role and not waste time on such trivial issues.”

A close aide of Afridi said that, “Whatever Shahid said about Indo-Pak relations was after he was asked about the statement made by Gautam Gambhir that the World Cup victory is dedicated to the victims of the Mumbai terror attacks.

“Watch the show again. It is clear Shahid was speaking in general terms when he was reminded that while he had said on returning home that Pakistanis should not treat India like a enemy, Gambhir had talked politics and tried to play up anti-Pakistan sentiments.”

Afridi’s aide said while he spoke positively about India, the players across the border were doing the opposite about Pakistan. “That is when he made the remarks about Indians not being big hearted like Pakistanis.”

In Afridi’s defence

It was on Gautam

Whatever Shahid said about Indo-Pak relations was after he was asked about the statement made by Gautam Gambhir that the World Cup victory is dedicated to the victims of the Mumbai terror attacks.

Misquoted

While Afridi spoke positively about India, the players across the border were doing the opposite about Pakistan. That is when he made the remarks about Indians not being big-hearted like Pakistanis.

Media hype

In Afridi’s words, "I have been quoted out of context. I request the media to play a more positive role and not waste time on such trivial issues. Sometimes you say something and it is interpreted the other way. Indian media is very negative about Pakistan."

This is getting out of control now. Enough of this love, hatred, love, going to WI, not going, going again....

This is getting kinda ridiculous at this point. Afridi has a different message every day. Can he decide whether he loves or hates already.

@captain

To a lot of Indians and a lot of Pakistanis. There is no scarcity of stupid people either side.

Seems like Shahid motormouth Afridi has dropped himself in it again.

He just can't keep his trap shut can he. Every time he opens his big gob, he drops himself in it.

Yoiu'd think that he would learn lesson, but he doesn't.

Afridi clarifies himself here further. This time sensibly I must say he blown away the sad reality of TIMES NOW

<iframe title="YouTube video player" width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/Rimco4Wcx80" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

'Shahid Afridi is a coward'

(Latest from Times Of India. Link is at the end of this post)

Sorry, Guys didnt know if this was already posted in this thread (if it was, I will delete it). Just stumbled upon this, and thought I should feast upon it with fellow PPers chomping at the bit here...

"People of India are shocked by Shahid Afridi's statements in the Pakistani media. He has accused India of being a bad host and has said that Indians don't have a large heart. There's a lot of criticism pouring in against the Pakistan cricket captain. Suniel Shetty, who was present during the Mohali encounter, and saw firsthand what Indians did for the people from across the border, is angry too. "Afridi is a coward.

Before making angry comments he should ask his brother what all Indians did for him. His brother was constantly with us bonding and chatting throughout the match in Mohali. We made sure he, his girlfriend, other friends and relatives who were in the stadium, didn't feel left out. We looked after them and made them feel at home. I think we were really sensitive to them as well as all the other Pakistanis who came to see the match in Punjab. If Afridi had issues, he should have opened his mouth here. Why say things after going back home? Clearly, he wants to divert attention of his team's loss to India by stoking the tension that the two countries historically have. This is really cheap, given that both the countries and its people want peace. A captain of a national team should be a responsible man."

Anna adds, "Pakistan played awesome cricket through the tournament and Afridi's rant has just taken away all that from our minds. His statements are not true. I saw how people on the streets welcomed Pakistanis and had meals with them. When the Pakistani premier and his janta of reporters wanted to see the match from the stands, we made sure that they got space. We crunched and stood but made sure that they had the best view.

Afridi should ask Shoaib Akhtar about the adulation he got. People, including me, went up to him, hugged him and said that they will miss him because it was his last international match. Afridi should concentrate on his cricket and play a little better next time to get the spotlight. He should do a poll with the people who came to India and ask them about India's hospitality before shooting his mouth off. I have lost respect for him and I am not afraid to say this — maybe in front of entire India."

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...id-Afridi-is-a-coward/articleshow/7883064.cms

Why are you guys so upset when Ian Chappell calls Afridi crazy ? I guess Ian was very charitable. How can a guy who changes his colors so many times in a week be a role model ?

PCB should appoint Younis Khan captain. Younis is not only sane but is also one who has good fighting & leadership qualities.

There was once an ever-young Pathan

The best hitter to come out of Pakistan

But when he opened his mouth

Things rapidly when south

That headstrong Pathan from Pakistan

You surely need to work on your grammar.

(Latest from Times Of India. Link is at the end of this post)

Sorry, Guys didnt know if this was already posted in this thread (if it was, I will delete it). Just stumbled upon this, and thought I should feast upon it with fellow PPers chomping at the bit here...

"People of India are shocked by Shahid Afridi's statements in the Pakistani media. He has accused India of being a bad host and has said that Indians don't have a large heart. There's a lot of criticism pouring in against the Pakistan cricket captain. Suniel Shetty, who was present during the Mohali encounter, and saw firsthand what Indians did for the people from across the border, is angry too. "Afridi is a coward.

Before making angry comments he should ask his brother what all Indians did for him. His brother was constantly with us bonding and chatting throughout the match in Mohali. We made sure he, his girlfriend, other friends and relatives who were in the stadium, didn't feel left out. We looked after them and made them feel at home. I think we were really sensitive to them as well as all the other Pakistanis who came to see the match in Punjab. If Afridi had issues, he should have opened his mouth here. Why say things after going back home? Clearly, he wants to divert attention of his team's loss to India by stoking the tension that the two countries historically have. This is really cheap, given that both the countries and its people want peace. A captain of a national team should be a responsible man."

Anna adds, "Pakistan played awesome cricket through the tournament and Afridi's rant has just taken away all that from our minds. His statements are not true. I saw how people on the streets welcomed Pakistanis and had meals with them. When the Pakistani premier and his janta of reporters wanted to see the match from the stands, we made sure that they got space. We crunched and stood but made sure that they had the best view.

Afridi should ask Shoaib Akhtar about the adulation he got. People, including me, went up to him, hugged him and said that they will miss him because it was his last international match. Afridi should concentrate on his cricket and play a little better next time to get the spotlight. He should do a poll with the people who came to India and ask them about India's hospitality before shooting his mouth off. I have lost respect for him and I am not afraid to say this — maybe in front of entire India."

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...id-Afridi-is-a-coward/articleshow/7883064.cms

First of all, Sunil Shetty is a peace of ****. I don't know why he opened his mouth and barked. Second Afridi did't say anything wrong, it's just your country's ever green media have taken it negatively, and they are negitive no doubt about it.

Why are you guys so upset when Ian Chappell calls Afridi crazy ?
I think Chappell was bein very generous to motormouth when he said that.

There's a sign at my hairdressers that says "put brain into gear before operating mouth". Seems like Afridi just opens his gob before thinking.

Afridi is in no postion to talk about Indian Heart. We can't even tolerate muslim brothers in our own country . Neighbors killing neighbors, stealing money. you name the corruption we have it. Afridi needs to look at his own country, sadly it happens to be mine too. Enough said

we are still waiting for Part 2 of Dr. Afridi's thesis.

Afridi is in no postion to talk about Indian Heart. We can't even tolerate muslim brothers in our own country . Neighbors killing neighbors, stealing money. you name the corruption we have it. Afridi needs to look at his own country, sadly it happens to be mine too. Enough said
Agree wit you 100%

Salam Dr. Saheb. Instead of a big heart, had he shown:
1. Mentality of a cornered tiger, like Imran Khan
2. Calm and cool while batting, like Inzamam
3 Courage to take the power play while he was batting
4. Leadership quality to tell Misbah let's get moving, defensive
doesn't mean we shouldn't score runs.

World cup would have been ours inspite of bad fielding effort.

I thought i heard the latest interview of Shahid Khan Afridi, and yet, the latest interviews continue to...well....(how can donkey walk....duck datta tak ....duck datta tak.....duck datta tak....) to this now (Umar Sharif quote - ).

Afridi thinks media is against him, and what he doesn't understand the more he talks, the more both media will continue to sensationalizes, and in fact, because of Afridi stupidity, is what give both media businesses to run.

The way he has commented, made it seems like he was over smart, trying to fool both of us (Pakistan - India audiences) by throwing few good words to mend the broken relationship (IPL).

I think he should continue to comment, and i really hope by the time he is finished with this saga, i hope to see the decline of his popularity, his supporters, Insha'Allah! (Sorry to offend, but that guy is full of ego, defensive captaincy, teenage mind trapped in 35 years old man body). It's kind of embarrassing. He is lucky to get away of his controversial spotlight because of Trio scandal.

Salam Dr. Saheb. Instead of a big heart, had he shown:
1. Mentality of a cornered tiger, like Imran Khan
2. Calm and cool while batting, like Inzamam
3 Courage to take the power play while he was batting
4. Leadership quality to tell Misbah let's get moving, defensive
doesn't mean we shouldn't score runs.

World cup would have been ours inspite of bad fielding effort.

Salaam Insaaniyat!

I agree with you. You are absolutely right, my friend. I have feared this when Afridi was appointed as captain before the WC. But then, thank to our bowling attack somehow managed to reach to semi final. It doesn't change the fact that we were relying on miracle in every matches by being defensive, and finally, that was exposed in semi final. Imran Khan has rightly summarized the fact that Pakistan team has played like the opposite of concerned tiger.

It's obvious that several celebrities are already calling him coward. I don't blame them. How can we hate them by being honest about their opinion? We deserve this by supporting defensive and coward captain.

Salaam Insaaniyat!

I agree with you. You are absolutely right, my friend. I have feared this when Afridi was appointed as captain before the WC. But then, thank to our bowling attack somehow managed to reach to semi final. It doesn't change the fact that we were relying on miracle in every matches by being defensive, and finally, that was exposed in semi final. Imran Khan has rightly summarized the fact that Pakistan team has played like the opposite of concerned tiger.

It's obvious that several celebrities are already calling him coward. I don't blame them. How can we hate them by being honest about their opinion? We deserve this by supporting defensive and coward captain.

Salam Bhai, as usual well said. Just don't understand how one can support him as a leader, seriously. I remember him saying he had the perfect team for the world cup. Our perfect team could only muster a qtr final win. I need a team with some flaws which can win it all.:) Like Imran Khan's 1992 team

I think his comments were a bit sad, but they were not anti-India per se. He thinks Pakistanis have a bigger heart, and most Pakistanis will feel that way. As most Indians will feel that Indians have a bigger heart.

The main thing is that he doesn't think that Indians desire a fight, as he said "hum aapas main ladna nahi chaahte". We are two different peoples, but if we can stop killing each other, that is a decent start.
I basically agree with this, though Afridi was too general I hear aunties, uncles etc talk like this all the time, things like "well you know they're not as generous across the border as we are here". Generalizations, many of them probably skewed or incorrect, but a pretty valid opinion.

If Dhoni said the same thing regarding Pakistanis (though he's too sensible to say such a thing on air as captain of a national team) I wouldn't hold it against him.

Afridi pleads with BCCI: "Dont treat us Pakistani Players as untouchables"

New day, New tune...

Here is the latest from the 'big hearted' Afridi quoted by the Times of India (article is pasted three paragraphs down, and the link is at the end of this post) where he basically pleads with the BCCI: "Please allow us Pakistani players into the IPL party". As for criticizing Gambhir, he says that since he never heard Gambhir say anything like that, how could he have criticized Gambhir.

Read on Guys. The huge heart makes yet another U turn. Can someone help this man make up his mind please. One day he loves Indians to bits. Next day, back in Pakistan, he realizes Indian have small and unclean hearts, and no matter how much the Indian people try they can never have the huge hearts that almighty Allah has gifted Pakistanis. The day after that he remembers that Indians may not be bad after all. Now here he is going down on his knees in front of BCCI to please let the Pakistani players also get a hand into the IPL cookie jar. Pretty please.

C'mon guys, dont be too critical of him...today is the inauguration of the IPL freakshow in India, and its going to be too difficult for him to have to sit out and watch his favorite SRK sing and dance (SRK is performing to a medley of Tamil/Telugu song/dances at the IPL today), the cheerleading girls kicking a ruckus with their pom poms, players (some barely out of their teens, some into their 40s, but most far less talented than Afridi) in those clownish IPL outfits grinning from ear to ear at the ungodly money thats been thrown at them for this nonsense, and the overall festive feel to this masala kirkit...

NEW DELHI: Shahid Afridi feels deeply hurt and has appealed to the Indian cricket board that Pakistan players shouldn't be treated as "untouchables" when it comes to including them in the cash-rich Indian Premier League.

"It is high time that Pakistani cricketers should also get a place in IPL. For three seasons including the current one, we haven't been a part of the IPL. We have no problems playing in India as we have just played a World Cup semifinal there. We are deeply hurt that they are treating us like 'untouchables'," Afridi said from Karachi.

He further added that Pakistani public feel hurt that their players are not playing in IPL.

"I am not saying that I want to play IPL but it could be a great platform for youngsters. They could make a mark for themselves."

As many as 11 Pakistan players were part of inaugural season of IPL in 2008. Afridi was the costliest Pakistani player who was bagged by the Hyderabad team for $675,000.

Shoaib Akhtar, Umar Gul, Mohammad Hafeez and Salman Butt (Kolkata Knight Riders), Younis Khan, Sohail Tanveer and Kamran Akmal (Rajasthan Royals), Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Asif ( Delhi Daredavils) and Misbah Ul Haq (Royal Challangers Banglore) were the other players .

Pakistani players missed out on the 2009 and 2010 editions due to security concerns in the wake of Mumbai terror attacks.

Afridi has said that Indian PM Manmohan Singh's invitation to Pakistani PM for the semifinals was a positive sign and that is the way to go forward.

"Our PM Yusuf Raza Gilani responded in positive on that invitation. Now IPL can be a platform to further ease the tension," he said.

"We should play more and more against each other. This will not only ease the pressure but will also reduce the unwanted media hype surrounded with Indo-Pak matches," he said.

For Afridi, Indo- Pak matches are not war as players of both teams share great rapport off the field.

"On field, yes there are moments of pressure and tension whenever we play but off it, we are all friends. I share great bond with Harbhajan and respect Sachin a lot," said Afridi.

On his criticism of Gautam Gambhir's statement about dedicating the WC win to the people who died in Mumbai terror attack, Afridi said that he did not say anything about Gambhir.

"I never heard Gautam saying anything like that, so how could I react over that. It is ridiculous," he said.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...fridis-appeal-to-BCCI/articleshow/7912808.cms

In news just in, sources have reported Shahid Afridi spotted a journalist at the hairdressers, chased him down the street and made the following statement:

Veh ahmaq media hai, Indians kiya mujhe tere noor na gayal!

India duniya ka sab se behtar tareen hai.

I, Afridi, zehni tor per kamzor haen.

Apka Shukriya , madad ke liay.

In news just in, sources have reported Shahid Afridi spotted a journalist at the hairdressers, chased him down the street and made the following statement:

Veh ahmaq media hai, Indians kiya mujhe tere noor na gayal! Doesn't make sense!

India duniya ka sab se behtar tareen Mulk hai.

I, Afridi, zehni tor per kamzor hoon.

Apka Shukriya , madad ke liye.

Nice try :afridi

Can we change Afridi's statement to .... BCCI not large hearted at all !!!

Afridi has always been and will always be the Balotelli of Cricket. He's a stupid idiot but cricket ain't the same without him. Afridi will go down as a good allrounder who had a lot more potential than his stats say, even then he has plenty of match-winning performances.