India's obsession with lighter skin

Yes there is a white superiority problem.. recently that guy Dhanush from 'Raanjhanaa' was also being racially taunted from both Indian and Pakistani awaam

nothing wrong with people who want to look fair but when they discriminate who isn't that's where the main problem lies.. sadly this things will always exist no matter what

Wonder if this is as bad as Caucasian obsession with tanning. Tanning is a multimillion dollar business in America.

no it is not, unless those who are not tanned are discriminated and seen as inferior and made fun of.

Indian's are about as obsessed with lighter skin as whites here are with tanning. Get over it.

whenever i open this thread, the banner ad shows Roop Amrit: say no to pimples and darkness.

adSense at work.

Caste system isn't a religious thing. Its cultural.

@Ambi-

Which scripture contains racist stuff? Care to elaborate?
The Purusha Sukta explains how the different castes were formed from different parts of the body of Purusha, the first cosmic man
His mouth became the Priests; his arms were made into the Warrior, his thighs the People, and from his feet the Servants were born.
Rig Veda 10.90
This spoils the claim that caste is ascertained by qualifications and not by birth
I don't think i need to explain anything about manusmriti so called divine code of conduct which enforces casteist and gender discrimination.

Haha F_C got owned

Iam sure we can find discriminatory verses in few other hindu scriptures as well.I have gone through various articles related to this most of them were written in my native language,i don't remember the names of exact scriptures or verses to quote those.

How is this different from Pakistanis discriminating darker Bengalis?

That's true actually. Pakistanis didn't recruit them for military, considered them inferior and discriminated a lot.

To be honest, I think the human mind doesn't allow a person to be completely happy or satisfied in any situation, you always want to be, who you aren't. You always want, what you don't have.

Yes, a big part of it, is a massive inferiority complex which is ravenous throughout the Indian subcontinent, which some how means a person of a lighter shade (through nothing of their own doing) is better or more pursuable than that of a dark shade. Extremely tragic though. Personally, I found it funny how whilst at University, my 'white' friends were desperate to get 'tanned' in some way or the other whilst 'our' people ridicule/degrade/insult eachother for being of a darker shade (mostly due to again, nothing of their own doing)

what if black people had ruled the world. if they had colonized every major country and a black nation was a super power, and most of the developed countries were black majority.

wouldnt people be trying to look like them?

what if black people had ruled the world. if they had colonized every major country and a black nation was a super power, and most of the developed countries were black majority.

wouldnt people be trying to look like them?

I'm not particularly well travelled, but some of my (white) friends who have been to many countries felt a certain warmth and good treatment towards them for no apparent reason.

lol, you will get these sort of gems from the likes of Harsha and Manjerakar. Both of them are from the 1960's school of cricket. You see both of them, Harsha weighs hardly 50 kgs and if you kick him, he will not hit back. He is a nerd and thinks like a nerd. you will get these sort of gems from that unmanly fool. You will hear these sort of gems from Manjerakar as well. He has hardly hit sixers in his life, his strike rate has to be one of the worst in indian cricket. He thinks like that, passive, non aggressive manner.

These are the people who should have never made it to the higher levels, but getting educated in good schools have got them in these positions. If we want to know real india, you gotta hear people like sehwag, gavaskar or bhajji.

Gem of a post Singham. You got a lot of khunnas against these irritating fools :yk

I'm not particularly well travelled, but some of my (white) friends who have been to many countries felt a certain warmth and good treatment towards them for no apparent reason.

i dont understand the context of your post.

i wanted to throw a question, that what we "perceive" as desirable/cool/prestigious might be a result of us wanting to acquire the tastes/habits/norms of the high and mighty.

why most in desi countries think that listening to the same music and having the same food as the western nations is cool.

why desi muslims want to be like arab muslims and not like indonesian muslims.

why copying african americans is cool but not nigerians and somalians.

if we change the world, replacing whites with blacks.. would the rest of world be wanting to copy them and be like them?

Ganguly won my respect just for that act of baring his chest on the so called mecca of cricket. loved it to see the offense it caused. if flintoff can do it in mumbai, ganguly did it at their sanctum sanctorum of cricket and defiled its holiness.

#respect for Sourav!

Best Indian captain ever! (with :msd's permission)

Too much bollywood masala/crap has 'spoiled' Indians' mentality in past decades.

Tourist trade might be the mysterious reason.

saw that in college. the desi brown guys would make sure to take pics with white acquaintances and show them off on facebook. i wouldn't lie about myself either..when i talked to white guys i would be always watching their skin, the hair on the skin, the blue/green eyes..the sharp pointed noses..the well set teeth..etc. but the white guys didnt seem to scrutinize me like that..they only maintained eye contact while talking as if i am just another person..not a person from another race.

When dark Indians will form their own country?

Ps. Stop blaming us for an issue resolved over 40 years ago

that is for the dark indians to decide..maybe when they are discriminated as much as bengalis were.

ps: dont take a blame personally for an event when you were not even born.

You have to sympathise with sub-continental women.

One commenter below that Guardian article makes a stark and very valid point - basically says there is a tacit 'points system' for young women especially when it comes to marriage.

You earn lots of 'points' for a good education, lots for a good job, for being tall, and then you get deducted a whole heap of points for being dark. Why is it that women have to be held to a higher standard than men ?

This is not unique to the sub-continent but also you see Chinese/Japanese, and even westerners all trying to get that ideal skin colour. What a waste of time it all is, and only goes to show the power of suggestion the advertising industry can exert on the minds of consumers.

saw that in college. the desi brown guys would make sure to take pics with white acquaintances and show them off on facebook. i wouldn't lie about myself either..when i talked to white guys i would be always watching their skin, the hair on the skin, the blue/green eyes..the sharp pointed noses..the well set teeth..etc. but the white guys didnt seem to scrutinize me like that..they only maintained eye contact while talking as if i am just another person..not a person from another race.

Nothing wrong in it:

“I choose my friends for their good looks, my acquaintances for their good characters, and my enemies for their good intellects.” - OW

Absolutely. This is a fact. I have also seen my friends do this. The thing is that south asians do like fair skin :P

I wouldn't know, I just see a lot of posters on PP speaking of an awkward veneration of western peoples who visit overseas countries.

You are right. And this is reserved for the white folks, even well to do Africans or other people with dark skin are looked down upon when visiting countries like India

lol, you will get these sort of gems from the likes of Harsha and Manjerakar. Both of them are from the 1960's school of cricket. You see both of them, Harsha weighs hardly 50 kgs and if you kick him, he will not hit back. He is a nerd and thinks like a nerd. you will get these sort of gems from that unmanly fool. You will hear these sort of gems from Manjerakar as well. He has hardly hit sixers in his life, his strike rate has to be one of the worst in indian cricket. He thinks like that, passive, non aggressive manner.

These are the people who should have never made it to the higher levels, but getting educated in good schools have got them in these positions. If we want to know real india, you gotta hear people like sehwag, gavaskar or bhajji.

Come on, your post about under-weight, non-aggressive people is as full of stereotypes as Harsha's opinion on white vs brown. It is very important to recognize such stereotypes and avoid them. Just like some of the most aggressive players are brown, some of the best achievers, even in sports were nerdy, so called weak guys. You cannot counter a complex/stereotype (whites better than browns) using another stereotype (nerds/non-aggressive) as an example

This Giriraj Singh of the BJP has a habit of making tasteless and idiotic statements but I wonder how true this is?

Giriraj Singh's remarks over Sonia Gandhi skin colour irk Congress, Nigeria government

NEW DELHI: Union minister Giriraj Singh is no stranger to controversy, from threatening to dispatch Modibaiters to Pakistan (during a rally in Godda, Jharkhand last year), to the contretemps over the mismatched account of the booty recovered by the police after a burglary at his house.

The recovered loot was far in excess to what Giriraj had claimed was his wealth. This time, however, he has managed to offend not just home grown liberals and the Congress but also the government of NNigeria, where elections have just been won by a party whose symbol is a broom (is it a sign?). The Nigerian High Commission in India has confessed to being "very hurt" by the remarks made by the minister.

His remarks, about his doubts over whether Congress president Sonia Gandhi would have made it to that position had she been Nigerian (the reference was to the Indian obsession with white skin) have raised a storm of protest.

He has, rather sheepishly, offered an apology, the "if I have offended anyone" variety, but it is at odds with his personal style, which attempts to imitate his self confessed heroes— late Chinese leader Mao Zedong and one of the founder's of the Naxal movement Kanu Sanyal.

The "tough guy" template inspired by these heroes, has been very much a part of Singh's style book for a long time. For years, he had been defying Bihar CM Nitish Kumar and his former deputy Sushil Modi, by celebrating PM Narendra Modi's birthday in Patna, a city where Modi had been declared persona non grata by Kumar even as he was in alliance with the BJP.

Singh as minister for animal husbandry in Nitish's government thought this an impertinence and defiantly cut a birthday cake in Modi's name every year on September 17th. As a Bhumihar leader in BJP, Singh is said to enjoy much clout among the community.

Read more at:
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com...ofinterest&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=cppst

Why are Indians obsessed with lightening their skin? Latest rage using cancer drug as skin lightener

This from a mainstream Indian newspaper. According to the article, this obsession to have fairer skin is getting worse not less. (read last paragraph)

India’s fair skin obsession takes risky pharma turn

Sanchita Sharma, Hindustan Times, New Delhi| Updated: Apr 05, 2015 09:27 IST

The Indian obsession with fair skin has turned a little known drug meant to help cancer patients cope with chemotherapy toxicity into the latest rage. This drug is an anti-oxidant called Glutathione, and skin lightening is a side-effect of its use. Glutathione’s ominous provenance hasn’t kept it from being a runaway success in India’s whitening revolution, and it is now far more popular as a skin-whitening agent than its original use in cancer drug regimens.

Glutathione capsules come in strengths of 100 mg and 500 mg which lightens skin tone by two shades when had once a day for two to three months. Even more dangerous is the off-label use of the drug in injectable doses of 1,200 mg, usually prescribed for 10 consecutive weeks after which people are asked to switch to the capsules to retain their newfound lighter complexion.

According to the FDA, the US drug watchdog, side-effects of the injection range from skin rashes, disruption in thyroid function, kidney damage, Stevens-Johnson syndrome and toxic epidermal necrolysis. The last two life-threatening conditions cause fever, severe rash, blisters and skin peeling. Affected people have to be treated in the hyper-sterile burns wards of hospitals.

Each vial costs Rs 7,000 but Delhi techie Rita Saxena, 35, is not complaining. “I wanted to be fairer all my life and now I noticeably am two shades lighter. The treatment set me back by almost Rs 90,000 but every shot was worth it,” says the Hauz Khas resident.

Age and gender is no bar when it comes to seeking fairness at a cost ranging between Rs 10,000 to Rs 2 lakh. “Most people come to us (dermatologists) after experimenting with over-the-counter fairness products or after having scrubbed themselves pink with a loofah. Fixing the damage takes as much time as customising solutions for clients,” says dermatologist Dr Rashmi Shetty, who runs a clinic in Mumbai. Some of her clients are well into their 70s.

Almost all skin-lightening products come with risks. “Most fairness creams contain steroids that increase risks of skin infections, acne, and slow wound healing. Hydroquinone inevitably causes dark patches (hyper-pigmentation) or untreatable skin (ochronosis), which are difficult to treat,” says senior dermatologist Shehla Agarwal, who runs Mehak Skin Clinic in Delhi.

Skin-lightening is among the fastest-growing beauty segment, standing at Rs 3,000 crore in 2013. “Over the past two years, the skin-whitening sector has grown by 20-25%,” says Ajay Kumar Babel, general manager at Ethicare Remedies, a pharma company.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/welln...takes-risky-pharma-turn/article1-1334026.aspx

What's up with fair skin anyways, I don't want to lie in saying I find Fair Skin (ASIAN) girls more attractive but i don't understand why you'd bleach yourself and harm your body for you ideal look, why would you want become more white anyways, white people now tan themselves to make themselves more brown lol, i don't hear stories of olive skinned Italians, greeks etc wishing they were white, skin colour will never change unless you get pigmentation surgery or something, so just accept yourself as how you are.

You've given the answer yourself.

This obsession is all over the sub-continent. Why single out Indians? In fact it is found in a country like Thailand as well. One of the many dark underbellies of South Asian culture.

Why are Indians obsessed with lightening their skin? Latest rage using cancer...

We probably saw Shahid Afridi starring in a Pakistani ad for a fairness cream, and copied that like we do for most other Pakistani things. :afridi

BTW most Asian and African cultures will have a

Read up on how South Korea is the leader in plastic surgeries. In fact, some kids get 'plastic surgery' as a high school graduation gift. They mostly focus on changing their face around the nosed and eyelids to make them look more 'Western'.

And the amount of 'juggat' and ridicule that is meted out to black color in Pakistani popular culture is worse than in Indian popular culture.

This obsession is all over the sub-continent. Why single out Indians? In fact it is found in a country like Thailand as well. One of the many dark underbellies of South Asian culture.
The article is written by an Indian, about Indians, in an Indian newspaper.

We probably saw Shahid Afridi starring in a Pakistani ad for a fairness cream, and copied that like we do for most other Pakistani things. :afridi
That's it blame Afridi for the Persian, Mughal and British invasions of India. :))

“Indians are racist; it’s a deep-rooted thing here,” Das says. “There are two factors driving this absurd mania,” says Urvashi Butalia, co-founder of Kali for Women, India’s first feminist publisher. “Firstly there’s the invasions, with the idea that the Aryans are superior to the Dravidians; secondly the caste system, the upper castes supposedly being fairer skinned than their lowlier fellows. India’s rulers have often been white, from the Aryans to British colonialists. A pale skin is associated with the exercise of power.”

Prahlad Kakkar, a Mumbai advertising director, seconds the view that successive Persian, Mughal and British invasions explain why fair skin is associated with supremacy. “This complex is part of the black man’s burden which must be endured after being invaded and plundered by whites,” he says.

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/jul/24/dark-skin-india-prejudice-whitening

Arabs are obsess with fair skin, they bleach their skin, do plastic surgery -its very common there and wear colored contacts + dye their hair blonde. In Iran women and men get nose jobs to make their big noses look European and they cake their faces in make up to whiten themselves to look like the Aryans they want to be.

In Latin America it's the same with the racism there and in East Asia, Korean and Japanese women stay out of the sun, wear umbrellas to prevent darkening as well as bleaching their skin, they also get double eye lid surgery to look caucasian

Not just a desi thing

So what? Why is your line of reasoning so superficial at times? Appears that you can't stomach criticism. Either grow a thicker skin or disengage.

You need to bring in a few Pathans/Kashmiris/Afghanis/Balouchis and have plenty of babies with them.

Overtime your population will become whiter..

There should be no discrimination against languages people speak, skin color or religion. There should be equality in our society that does not give a person (a reason) to pick up guns. - Malala Yousafzai

This topic would have been interesting if this was something not discussed before.

Same case with Pakistan, Bangladesh and also some West African countries

So what? Why is your line of reasoning so superficial at times? Appears that you can't stomach criticism. Either grow a thicker skin or disengage.
I saw no criticism. I simply pointed out the source of the article. Seem's as if you have a problem with that. You appear to like posting racist comments against some ethnic groups (based upon other threads), and yet start ranting when those closer to home are criticised. Tough!

Stop making it seem like its an indian thing.

Light skin , sleek jaw bones and sharp nose are the three features of beauty that people like universally...that is the truth even if its politically incorrect to say so.

Stop making it seem like its an indian thing.

Light skin , sleek jaw bones and sharp nose are the three features of beauty that people like universally...that is the truth even if its politically incorrect to say so.

It mainly is a Indian thing though so stop getting so defensive about it and admit it instead of crying and saying it happens everywhere, just like the gang rape problem.

Not true ..It is arguably worse in Pakistan.I have heard many Pakistanis make race related insults , even if in a casual manner or conversation.They don't even realise it , it has become second nature.Same goes for the rape problem.

The point is India has a highly aware and active civil society with a insatiable media to complement , so everything gets scrutinised and reported to the last detail.So any problem seems to get magnified .. even if it exists in other countries to the same extent.

Not true ..It is arguably worse in Pakistan.I have heard many Pakistanis make race related insults , even if in a casual manner or conversation.They don't even realise it , it has become second nature.Same goes for the rape problem.

The point is India has a highly aware and active civil society with a insatiable media to complement , so everything gets scrutinised and reported to the last detail.So any problem seems to get magnified .. even if it exists in other countries to the same extent.

It's a lot,lot worse in India. Your Bollywood industry is a good example of how obsessive you are over fair skin even though the average Indian is fairly dark.

You are too deluded and brainwashed to take any constructive criticism.
Take those bharatis spectacles off and smell the coffee.

It's a lot,lot worse in India. Your Bollywood industry is a good example of how obsessive you are over fair skin even though the average Indian is fairly dark.

I hope the coffee is not dark

Every girl holds a dream of what she wants to truly pursue, a dream to carve out her own identity before she gets married. We understand the value of these dreams, and the need to invest in your future, in order to become self-reliant. - Fair and Lovely Foundation, India

To be honest, Pakistani's are far more obsessed with fair skin than the rest of the subcontinent. But still, this kind of mentality just shows how idiotic subcontinent people still are.

Haha look who's talking, I reckon you brag about being a war baby

^
Its just ironic.

Whites want to be darker, browns want to be lighter, blacks don't care lol.

Blacks do care also buy they can't really do much to"improve" their hue apart from a total overhaul like MJ. What they can do, is replicate white people hair which most of their women do religiously.

I actually find dark skin more attractive than white tbh, exotic complex I guess or whatever its called

Seriously though, the lighter skin obsession is not reserved for Indian girls it's a desi girl mentality. The amount of South Asian girls i've seen in my area who slap foundation on their faces you would think they used chapatti flour instead of make up. Even when they take their selfies they will always stand where there's alot of sunshine so their skin looks more fairer and they'll adjust that brightness too :))

I saw videos of shahid afridi and fawad khan in fairness cream ads.. I really shocked ! they are already fair. what are they aiming for ? Albino Look!

For the same reason you see beautiful girls selling beauty products. Do you really think such ads featuring Akmals or Wahab work?

He said that, and was 'FORCED' to apologize in the Parliament. [MENTION=7898]Gabbar Singh[/MENTION]

Its not only skin.Most religions have made it sound like white the 'colour' is pure,it is righteous,its fair.Dark side,bright side.
We have been programmed over the years to think of White as superior and not just the skin colour but the actual colour.

Do Indians really believe that white is superior? I doubt that.

We need a perspective here. If an Indian is asked to choose a skin-tone for the rest of his life, I doubt they would want to go all white. What they would prefer instead is to be a ****-chitta Indian, which in my opinion is more desirable than being white.

Similarly, whites may prefer tan, but they wouldn't want to go all black. I think there is an intermediate skin tone (Salma Hayek for example) that we all desire. Indian's don't use Fair and Lovely to be whites, they just want to be like other brighter Indians.

Nice to know the mentality of Pakistanis like you. :) . BTW West Indians are good looking people.

Junaids comment is an example of what I said - Pakistanis are far more race conscious than Indians.It always comes up in their conversations.But for some reason it's India that always get the spotlight on this issue .. like they set a higher bar of civility for us. :facepalm:

Wrong .. Bollywood is no different from any other movie industry out there in the world where all the leading actresses are fair.Look at hollywood - can you point out a single black female movie superstar ? It is a shame but that's how the world works.

Blacks are in minority USA. I would say american media is obsessed with blondes there.

In Desi world, the darker you are, the lesser you care about Fair and Lovely. Do you think South Indians fall for that nonsense? No, they are aware that nothing can help them achieve the so called "ideal" skin color, so they don't even try.

North Indians and Pakistanis on the other hand are the most insecure bunch, because most of them fall in this light-brown to dark-brown category, they have hopes of getting a few shades lighter. This is the bunch that is most racist.

Perception of Race and Skin Color in Pakistan

http://expatheather.com/2010/06/18/perception-of-race-and-skin-color-in-pakistan/

Very Interesting article.

The most popular beauty product in Pakistan is Fair and Lovely cream. As you can see in the commercial above (in Hindi-Urdu), a dark-sinned girl and her father go to a “modern beauty company” and are turned away. The father dramatically gets some Fair and Lovely cream, and the girl’s skin changes to several shades lighter. She puts on a more fashionable outfit, straightens her hair, and goes back to the same place where she ends up turning heads with her lighter skin color.

Recently, Emami has come up with a skin-bleaching product for men called Fair and Handsome. The commercials show a darker skinned young man sulking because he can’t get a date. After putting on the cream, his skin tone becomes quite a bit lighter. Suddenly the scene changes and he’s a glowing white-faced man surrounded by supermodels. Even Indian actor Shahrukh Khan has starred in a Fair and Handsome commercial, bringing him a lot of flack from the more Westernized Indian press (video below).
Many Pakistanis, and their Indian neighbors, are obsessed with the desire to be white. Women stay out of the sun, get whitening facials, and wear powder white makeup for their wedding pictures. The less sophisticated end up looking like ghosts with bright white faces in the photo albums. When parents are looking for a bride from their son, they will certainly be looking for a girl who is fair skinned. Pakistanis usually consider the Pashtuns and the Kashmiris to be among the most attractive of the local people. Both of these people groups have fairer skin than many other Pakistani peoples.

Women desire to be fair skinned for good reason, as it seems the majority of local men are more attracted to lighter skinned beauties. In Bangkok‘s red light district, there is an entire area catering to Pakistani, Indian, and Middle Eastern men. The women working there are not Thai, but Central Asian women with lighter skin. Combine this reality with Hollywood movies and pornography, and you end up with scores of Pakistani men who can only associate fair skinned women with prostitution and loose morals. Those Pakistanis who have lived and worked abroad in the West for longer periods of time know otherwise, but unfortunately the majority of the population has a strong association of white women as harlots.

On the other end of the pigment spectrum, darker skinned people can also have a hard time living in Pakistan. The words ‘negro’ and ‘******’ are commonly used to describe skin color, and they do not seem to set off alarm bells in anyone’s heads. When Pakistanis use these words, they are usually only using them to refer to the color of someone’s skin and should not be taken as an insult. In Pakistan, most of the upper class people have lighter skin, and many of the lowest caste have the darkest skin.
There is a strong system of caste in Pakistani and Indian society, even though the majority of the country adheres to Islam. Most families prefer to marry within their own caste and live with their own caste, or social group. Many people of the lowest socioeconomic class used to belong to the Hindu Dalit (untouchable) caste before converting to Christianity. Even after leaving the Hindu system, their caste stuck with them. There are even some middle class, educated families who refuse to allow ‘black’ Christians to work as cooks.

If you are a foreigner thinking of moving to Pakistan, it’s best to have these perceptions in mind before you set your feet on the ground. If you have lighter skin, you can expect to have a lot of respect merely because of your skin color. If you’re a white woman, it’s best to dress and act modestly as you need to overcome the stereotype that white women are easy to go to bed with. If you have darker skin, stay confident in yourself and don’t allow remarks on your skin color to bother you. Some locals may drive you a bit crazy trying to offer you solutions to make your skin whiter. I have really white skin, and I was offered skin bleaching almost every time I went to get my hair cut at a beauty salon.

If you’re part of an interracial couple, be prepared to be gawked at and questioned. For the lighter skinned partner, people may openly ask you (in front of your spouse) why you married a dark skinned person. They are not asking you this to offend you, they are honestly confused because this makes little sense in the local culture. One friend confided to me that the first time he left the country and saw a white woman with a black man he was shocked. He couldn’t imagine why the woman would choose to be with the darker skinned man. On the other hand, although at times you may feel uncomfortable, you have the opportunity to set an example to those around you.

Perception of Race and Skin Color in Pakistan

http://expatheather.com/2010/06/18/perception-of-race-and-skin-color-in-pakistan/

Very Interesting article.

The most popular beauty product in Pakistan is Fair and Lovely cream. As you can see in the commercial above (in Hindi-Urdu), a dark-sinned girl and her father go to a “modern beauty company” and are turned away. The father dramatically gets some Fair and Lovely cream, and the girl’s skin changes to several shades lighter. She puts on a more fashionable outfit, straightens her hair, and goes back to the same place where she ends up turning heads with her lighter skin color.

Recently, Emami has come up with a skin-bleaching product for men called Fair and Handsome. The commercials show a darker skinned young man sulking because he can’t get a date. After putting on the cream, his skin tone becomes quite a bit lighter. Suddenly the scene changes and he’s a glowing white-faced man surrounded by supermodels. Even Indian actor Shahrukh Khan has starred in a Fair and Handsome commercial, bringing him a lot of flack from the more Westernized Indian press (video below).
Many Pakistanis, and their Indian neighbors, are obsessed with the desire to be white. Women stay out of the sun, get whitening facials, and wear powder white makeup for their wedding pictures. The less sophisticated end up looking like ghosts with bright white faces in the photo albums. When parents are looking for a bride from their son, they will certainly be looking for a girl who is fair skinned. Pakistanis usually consider the Pashtuns and the Kashmiris to be among the most attractive of the local people. Both of these people groups have fairer skin than many other Pakistani peoples.

Women desire to be fair skinned for good reason, as it seems the majority of local men are more attracted to lighter skinned beauties. In Bangkok‘s red light district, there is an entire area catering to Pakistani, Indian, and Middle Eastern men. The women working there are not Thai, but Central Asian women with lighter skin. Combine this reality with Hollywood movies and pornography, and you end up with scores of Pakistani men who can only associate fair skinned women with prostitution and loose morals. Those Pakistanis who have lived and worked abroad in the West for longer periods of time know otherwise, but unfortunately the majority of the population has a strong association of white women as harlots.

On the other end of the pigment spectrum, darker skinned people can also have a hard time living in Pakistan. The words ‘negro’ and ‘******’ are commonly used to describe skin color, and they do not seem to set off alarm bells in anyone’s heads. When Pakistanis use these words, they are usually only using them to refer to the color of someone’s skin and should not be taken as an insult. In Pakistan, most of the upper class people have lighter skin, and many of the lowest caste have the darkest skin.
There is a strong system of caste in Pakistani and Indian society, even though the majority of the country adheres to Islam. Most families prefer to marry within their own caste and live with their own caste, or social group. Many people of the lowest socioeconomic class used to belong to the Hindu Dalit (untouchable) caste before converting to Christianity. Even after leaving the Hindu system, their caste stuck with them. There are even some middle class, educated families who refuse to allow ‘black’ Christians to work as cooks.

If you are a foreigner thinking of moving to Pakistan, it’s best to have these perceptions in mind before you set your feet on the ground. If you have lighter skin, you can expect to have a lot of respect merely because of your skin color. If you’re a white woman, it’s best to dress and act modestly as you need to overcome the stereotype that white women are easy to go to bed with. If you have darker skin, stay confident in yourself and don’t allow remarks on your skin color to bother you. Some locals may drive you a bit crazy trying to offer you solutions to make your skin whiter. I have really white skin, and I was offered skin bleaching almost every time I went to get my hair cut at a beauty salon.

If you’re part of an interracial couple, be prepared to be gawked at and questioned. For the lighter skinned partner, people may openly ask you (in front of your spouse) why you married a dark skinned person. They are not asking you this to offend you, they are honestly confused because this makes little sense in the local culture. One friend confided to me that the first time he left the country and saw a white woman with a black man he was shocked. He couldn’t imagine why the woman would choose to be with the darker skinned man. On the other hand, although at times you may feel uncomfortable, you have the opportunity to set an example to those around you.

madam do you think that girls of kashmiri origin, hazara (KPK) origin & pashtun origin need these creams. I dnt think that you have met these peoples. Even their men are more ***** than your lightest model girls.

In Desi world, the darker you are, the lesser you care about Fair and Lovely. Do you think South Indians fall for that nonsense? No, they are aware that nothing can help them achieve the so called "ideal" skin color, so they don't even try.

North Indians and Pakistanis on the other hand are the most insecure bunch, because most of them fall in this light-brown to dark-brown category, they have hopes of getting a few shades lighter. This is the bunch that is most racist.

Good Point. But my question is are there only north and south indians existing in india. Are they no other indians?? And u are saying there are no dark skinned people in north. because i have met many. And there are plently of light brown people in south also. But i agree north indians pakistanis and afghanis are the most racist. In south and oher parts of india i don't see racism on day to day basis. but when i lived in north people are so casual about it like it is not even an insult. i really feel sorry for dark skinned people in North.