IPL 2026 - Discussion thread

Are you sure? :inti

IPL's value has been dropping for the last 3 years.

IPL suffered losses 3 years in a row --> "IPL has faced two consecutive years of ecosystem valuation decline from ₹92,500 crore ($11.2 billion) in 2023 to ₹82,700 crore ($9.9 billion), in 2024, and further down to ₹76,100 crore ($8.8 billion) in 2025, an earlier report by D&P Advisory stated." (source: https://www.outlookbusiness.com/new...w-to-96-bn-in-2025-amid-real-money-gaming-ban)
IPL values decreasing or increasing is not my problem. Neither is it my concern.

My point was about the freedom of choice and the free market.

IPL can choose to have as long a season that they want. Similarly, people can choose to watch or ignore. Free market, freedom of choice at play.

Many here may be aware that i follow cricket economics closely, but even fore the bidders names in ipl team sale were surprising, with the exception of cvc capitals ipl teams have been majority owned by indian investors.
Now us pe firms like kkr eqt tpg have bid for ipl teams, Blackstone is part of the consortium now owning RCB. Walmart and ford families are part of the consortium owning RR, why this sudden interest in owning a cricket teamin india?

Many here may be aware that i follow cricket economics closely, but even fore the bidders names in ipl team sale were surprising, with the exception of cvc capitals ipl teams have been majority owned by indian investors.
Now us pe firms like kkr eqt tpg have bid for ipl teams, Blackstone is part of the consortium now owning RCB. Walmart and ford families are part of the consortium owning RR, why this sudden interest in owning a cricket teamin india?
Because they are naive and ignorant with no business acumen. If only they spoke to a certain lungi wearing rickshaw puller from Bangladesh on this forum.​

Theres a reason why their cricket economy is a failure,

IPL is the worst thing to happen to cricket in its 400+ years of existence as a sport.

IPL is overhyped/overvalued junk.

I also blame IPL for India's decline in Test. :inti

Pat Cummins speaking during an interview:

"I'm still recovering from a back injury, but it's good. I'm back bowling in the nets. The IPL is starting soon. I won't make the start of that, but it shouldn't be too long before I'm back out there playing."

"I'm back bowling. I'm bowling basically every third day at the moment. We've mapped out a plan to get me right by [the] middle of the tournament, so hopefully, if nothing goes wrong, [I'll] play the back half plus the finals."

"Ishan's had a really successful captaincy stint with his local side in the last year or so. Those guys, you're leaning on anyway. We've got quite an experienced bowling group of local guys, so a few of the younger guys that come through that I don't know as well, particularly early on in a season, I'm definitely leaning on the local guys who do know them well - or even speak the language."

"Most of the guys speak really great English, but some of them don't, and there are local dialects, so that can be a little bit of a barrier for an international captain."

I don't recall Bengaluru hosting an inaugural match in recent times or ever. RCB has the loudest fan base due to Kohli. IT is going to be a contrasting opening ceremony compared to PSL.

His job is to criticize India. Our job should not be convincing him lol Even pakistan fans have started isolating him.
He still refers to year old appraisal reports rather than the ground truth of franchise values they have been sold at. Burying your head in sand is bad enough, but an empty head at that is crazy. I know he secretly watches all IPL games and still calls them boring.

His modus operandi is deliberately trying to be stupid to get a reaction. But little does he realize he is actually one.

I don't recall Bengaluru hosting an inaugural match in recent times or ever. RCB has the loudest fan base due to Kohli. IT is going to be a contrasting opening ceremony compared to PSL.
It should be. PSL management didn't make the correct decision of not allowing crowds to come to the stadiums.

Defending champion, that's why they are hosting The final as well. :kp

"2 Year Ban Not Working": Sunil Gavaskar Asks BCCI For Stricter Punishment To IPL Defaulters

England batter Ben Duckett's decision to withdraw from the 2026 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) left many fans disappointed. The England opener was bought by Delhi Capitals for ₹2 crore at the auction and was expected to open the innings alongside KL Rahul. However, Duckett chose to pull out of the tournament to focus on his international commitments with England. The announcement, made just days before the start of the IPL, has come as a setback for Delhi Capitals' preparations ahead of the new season.

Former India captain and veteran commentator Sunil Gavaskar strongly criticised Duckett for withdrawing at the last moment and urged the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to take stricter measures against overseas players who opt out of the tournament so close to its commencement.

"It is a tough one. Clearly, Ben Duckett had a very good Ashes series, and if he had not been bought for the amount he was at The Hundred auction, maybe things would have been different. One can understand that, having been bought at a very good price in The Hundred, he was probably quite happy to miss this and say he wants to focus on his England Test career," Gavaskar said on India Today.

"But yes, what should be done is something for the BCCI to think about as well, because a two-year ban is obviously not working. You have to look at something that will have an impact. As long as it's not having an impact on the player and his chances of coming back to the IPL, it won't work," he added.

For the unversed, BCCI has implemented two-year ban policy on the overseas stars, who pull out of IPL at the last moment, citing personal issues. As per this rule, a player is barred from participating in the IPL or the auction for two years.

England lost the Ashes 1-4 against Australia earlier this year. Duckett, who averaged 20.2 in Australia with a top score of just 42, was also filmed seemingly drunk during a controversial mid-series break in Noosa.

"I wasn't proud of how things went in Australia," Duckett said on Friday. "Hopefully, moving forward, we'll just see over time how much playing for England means for us."

"This is not why I've done it but pulling out of the IPL, turning down a good chunk of money and missing the opportunity to play with and against some of the best players in the world to be here playing for Notts is a step in the right direction to show how much playing cricket for England means to me personally," he said.

Booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooriiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiing

i fell asleep yet again, been told i was snoring really loud, (i never snore), that how boring this game was

Murali Karthik is just as bad as Sivaramakrishnan! To begin the commentary he said Samson changed from yellow to red and Jadeja from red to yellow … dude, it’s pink, not red - Pink City = Jaipur!!
Then he jumps the gun on Sarfaraz apparently edging a ball to the keeper and screams “another one gone…”, dude, wait for it - RR didn’t even take a review!
Overall, un insightful, boring and drab commentary. Worse than radio style!

Next one in line to cry discrimination?

IPL batsmen are on another level they can score big even in conditions which are not batting friendly oh wait........ :clown

Who are the script writers for this year , hopefully Jay Shah has gone Hollywood for Tarantino and Warner Bros

Who is this dibbly-dobbly trundler, Brijesh Sharma?
He is bowling at 130 like Praveen Kumar, but troubling batsmen with his lengths and variations.

CSK net run rate about to take a big hit, Rajasthan already 40 in 4 overs. Suryavanshi 24 of 9 balls

Booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooriiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiing

Game made me fall asleepAGAIN, that 3 times in as many days

Jadeja is 37. Don't go by this match. He as largely useless as a finisher for CSK. Because of the Chennai pitch he was doing okay. Now they have changed the pitch. Will be more useless.
No, I am not going to this match. Jadeja is average in T20Is, but he is a gun player for CSK in the IPL.
He has been one of the main pillars of CSK’s success over the years.

My two favorite teams, CSK and RCB, face off next at Chinnaswamy on coming Sunday. I hope I can get a ticket.
Hope Samson and Ruturaj score well in the next match :djb

I wish Kohli scores some runs but I still want RCB to lose to CSK :p.
Though, based on current form, that seems highly unlikely, RCB look like a beast right now. :uak

How is he in other formats does he have test or ODI potential?
He was MOM in 50 overs U19 world cup final that India won just a month ago. He smashed a record-breaking 175 runs off 80 balls (15 fours, 15 sixes, SR 218.75) against England U19 in the final. I'd say he will be an all format star soon, if he stays fit and disciplined.

Booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooriiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiing

Game made me fall asleep AGAIN, that 3 times in as many days

Bengaluru Woman Alleges Phone Theft at Chinnaswamy Stadium: "Organised Crime"​

The woman claimed that the suspects were wearing RCB jerseys and had complimentary match tickets.​

A Bengaluru woman has come forward alleging that her husband's phone was stolen at Chinnaswamy Stadium during the IPL match between Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH). The woman, Ritu Tiwary, claimed that not just her husband's, but also around 50-60 phones were stolen from the P3 stand-alone, with many victims reporting similar incidents. In an Instagram post, she revealed that her husband had left his phone on his seat to grab some water during the first innings break. When he returned, the phone was gone.

"...We went to ask the stadium police for some help, but they were least interested. So we went back to the police station where there were lots of people complaining about the same," she said in the video.

The woman alleged that the thefts appear to be organised. "This shouldn't go unheard because it's such an organised crime where so many phone's were stolen and it's such a breach of trust & security," she wrote in the caption.

She has filed an FIR and urged the public to be vigilant. "I request Bangalore Police to take strict action against this and get hold of the belongings and criminals," she added.

In the video, she said that the police had "already caught 10 to 12 kids and they were all minors dressed in jerseys and they also had complimentary tickets." The suspects were wearing RCB jerseys and had complimentary match tickets. Authorities are reviewing CCTV footage to identify the perpetrators.

"...When I looked up on Google, the same thing happened at the Chennai and Wankhede stadiums as well. So this is happening at all the IPL matches. Most of this thing happened at the second innings when lots of people went out to get some drinking water or some refreshments."

The incident has raised concerns about security at the stadium. Fans are demanding better crowd monitoring and surveillance. The post gained significant traction with over 314,000 views and nearly 10,000 likes.

"I am sorry hear the loss but please don't spread panic and fear unnecessarily. I have attended multiple matches at Wankhede and have never faced such instances or any of my friend also faced the same. It can be a fringe incident and not a IPL-wide issue. Stop generalizing," one user wrote.

"Really concerning, people should feel safe at public events," another user wrote.

"Why keep your phone unattended. We have a habit of holding our phones in our hand even when we don't need it. Keep it in your purse or pocket securely," a third user suggested.

Source:

Anyone agree with me - seeingvthe bowling speeds Kartik Tyagi generated, in the KKR match? Dude was close to 145 kmph.
gotv hit aplenty but pace is pace yaar...he looks to have changed actions , running faster etc....i feel he is terrific all format prospect....what do u think 🤔?

And yashshvi is crawling 20(24) RizBar type inmings
He was the attacker in the last tournament but a designated statpadder now due to vaibhav.That's the main reason samson was not willing to stay in RR as dravid said he should come down at 3 as per Sr.

LOL... people getting their phone stolen in world biggggesttttt leagueeeeee.. IPHHEEEELLLLLL
You haven't replied so again asking - are you enjoying the Ball tempering in a low level league where white ball becomes pink in between the overs 😂😂

:klopp :kp

Bengaluru Woman Alleges Phone Theft at Chinnaswamy Stadium: "Organised Crime"​

The woman claimed that the suspects were wearing RCB jerseys and had complimentary match tickets.​

A Bengaluru woman has come forward alleging that her husband's phone was stolen at Chinnaswamy Stadium during the IPL match between Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH). The woman, Ritu Tiwary, claimed that not just her husband's, but also around 50-60 phones were stolen from the P3 stand-alone, with many victims reporting similar incidents. In an Instagram post, she revealed that her husband had left his phone on his seat to grab some water during the first innings break. When he returned, the phone was gone.

"...We went to ask the stadium police for some help, but they were least interested. So we went back to the police station where there were lots of people complaining about the same," she said in the video.

The woman alleged that the thefts appear to be organised. "This shouldn't go unheard because it's such an organised crime where so many phone's were stolen and it's such a breach of trust & security," she wrote in the caption.

She has filed an FIR and urged the public to be vigilant. "I request Bangalore Police to take strict action against this and get hold of the belongings and criminals," she added.

In the video, she said that the police had "already caught 10 to 12 kids and they were all minors dressed in jerseys and they also had complimentary tickets." The suspects were wearing RCB jerseys and had complimentary match tickets. Authorities are reviewing CCTV footage to identify the perpetrators.

"...When I looked up on Google, the same thing happened at the Chennai and Wankhede stadiums as well. So this is happening at all the IPL matches. Most of this thing happened at the second innings when lots of people went out to get some drinking water or some refreshments."

The incident has raised concerns about security at the stadium. Fans are demanding better crowd monitoring and surveillance. The post gained significant traction with over 314,000 views and nearly 10,000 likes.

"I am sorry hear the loss but please don't spread panic and fear unnecessarily. I have attended multiple matches at Wankhede and have never faced such instances or any of my friend also faced the same. It can be a fringe incident and not a IPL-wide issue. Stop generalizing," one user wrote.

"Really concerning, people should feel safe at public events," another user wrote.

"Why keep your phone unattended. We have a habit of holding our phones in our hand even when we don't need it. Keep it in your purse or pocket securely," a third user suggested.

Source:

LOL! Hilarious.

Too many criminal activities in India. :inti

You haven't replied so again asking - are you enjoying the Ball tempering in a low level league where white ball becomes pink in between the overs 😂😂

Pink ball is not hurting mee... is it??

Getting my phone stolen will definitely be a bad name... and talking about ball tempering?? YOUUUUUU Indians???

LOL

Pink ball is not hurting mee... is it??

Getting my phone stolen will definitely be a bad name... and talking about ball tempering?? YOUUUUUU Indians???

LOL
Ball tempering is in Pakistani players DNA .they are just continuing their legacy. . Tappa laga hua hai. ....

Once aamir sohail revealed : " we used to win by ball tampering "

Look how proudly he was talking about it. ..🤣🤣

IPL: BCCI set for Rs 1,550 crore payday after RR–RCB record sale - here’s why​

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is set to earn big after the sale of two Indian Premier League (IPL) franchises, Rajasthan Royals and Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB). The two teams were sold earlier this week, and the ownership will come into effect after the IPL 2026 season concludes.

Rajasthan Royals were bought by US-based entrepreneur Kal Somani. RCB, on the other hand, were acquired by the Aditya Birla Group, US sports investor David Blitzer, and private equity firm Blackstone.

RCB were sold for USD 1.78 billion, while RR were sold for USD 1.63 billion. The combined value of the two teams amounts to USD 3.4 billion (approximately Rs 31,000 crore). The BCCI is set to earn between Rs 1,550 crore and Rs 1,583 crore from the sales due to a 5 per cent transfer fee on both deals.

The exact amount for the sale of Rajasthan Royals is not fully known, as there is speculation that Paarl Royals and Barbados Royals may also be included in the deal. RR were previously owned by Emerging Media Ventures, led by British-Indian businessman Manoj Badale. On the other hand, a total of four groups combined to acquire a 100 per cent stake in RCB.

The 5 per cent transfer clause is valid in all ten franchise agreements, ensuring that the Indian cricket board benefits financially from every ownership deal.

The stage is set for the IPL 2026 season, which begins on Saturday (March 28) with a match between defending champions RCB and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH). A total of 74 matches will be played over the next two months. The final will take place on May 31. The venues for the playoff fixtures are yet to be announced.

Why Americans are pouring money into IPL​

The twin IPL franchise sales on Tuesday commanded a combined $3.41 billion — nearly five times the $723.59 million paid by the league’s eight founding franchises in 2008.

The Manoj Badale-led Emerging Media consortium exited Rajasthan at a staggering 2,333% return, selling its stake for $1.63 billion — a dramatic leap from the original outlay of $67 million. Within hours came confirmation that Royal Challengers Bengaluru had also found new owners, commanding $1.78 billion.

Driving these soaring valuations is a clear common thread: American capital.

Rajasthan’s new ownership group includes US-based entrepreneur Kal Somani, Walmart heir Rob Walton — who also owns NFL franchise the Denver Broncos — and the Ham family, owners of the Detroit Lions.

RCB has been acquired by the Aditya Birla Group and the Times Group alongside US-based firms Bolt Ventures and Blackstone. Bolt Ventures is led by prominent sports investor David Blitzer, whose portfolio spans multiple leagues and continents — from the NBA’s Philadelphia 76ers and the NHL’s New Jersey Devils to the Premier League’s Crystal Palace and MLS side Real Salt Lake.

Over the past decade, American investors have increasingly turned to global sport, particularly European football and the English Premier League, as fertile investment ground. Now, that playbook is extending to cricket.

According to Simon Chadwick, professor of Afro-Eurasian Sport at Emlyon Business School, the surge in US interest in cricket is being driven by a mix of factors: the growing Indian diaspora in North America, cricket’s inclusion in the 2028 Los Angeles Olympics, and the sport’s expanding commercial footprint worldwide.

The Manoj Badale-led Emerging Media consortium exited Rajasthan at a staggering 2,333% return, selling its stake for $1.63 billion — a dramatic leap from the original outlay of $67 million. Within hours came confirmation that Royal Challengers Bengaluru had also found new owners, commanding $1.78 billion.

Rajasthan’s new ownership group includes US-based entrepreneur Kal Somani, Walmart heir Rob Walton — who also owns NFL franchise the Denver Broncos — and the Ham family, owners of the Detroit Lions.

RCB has been acquired by the Aditya Birla Group and the Times Group alongside US-based firms Bolt Ventures and Blackstone. Bolt Ventures is led by prominent sports investor David Blitzer, whose portfolio spans multiple leagues and continents — from the NBA’s Philadelphia 76ers and the NHL’s New Jersey Devils to the Premier League’s Crystal Palace and MLS side Real Salt Lake.

Over the past decade, American investors have increasingly turned to global sport, particularly European football and the English Premier League, as fertile investment ground. Now, that playbook is extending to cricket.

The American Playbook Comes to Cricket​

US investors replicate their European football strategy in the IPL
$3.41B

Combined value of RCB + Rajasthan Royals deals — nearly 5× the $723M paid by all 8 founding franchises in 2008
🇺🇸 The American Investors

Rob Walton
Rajasthan Royals
Walmart heir · Owns NFL's Denver Broncos
Ham Family
Rajasthan Royals
Owners of NFL's Detroit Lions
David Blitzer / Bolt Ventures
Royal Challengers Bengaluru
76ers (NBA) · Devils (NHL) · Crystal Palace (EPL) · Real Salt Lake (MLS)
Blackstone
Royal Challengers Bengaluru
US private equity giant · Global sports & media investor
💰 Why IPL Is a Bargain Buy
$5.1B
Avg NFL franchise value
$3.9B
Avg NBA franchise value
$1.78B
RCB sale price (2025)
2,333%
Return on RR's original $67M investment
What's Driving US Interest in Cricket
Growing Indian diaspora in North America
Cricket at 2028 LA Olympics
India's sports economy crossed $2B in 2025
Cricket's 89% share of India's sports revenue
Pre-empting Saudi PIF investment interest
IPL franchises: only 10 exist, few ever for sale
"The Indian market has volume, and the Olympics will expand its global footprint, while investment interest from Saudi Arabia and UAE adds further impetus."

According to Simon Chadwick, professor of Afro-Eurasian Sport at Emlyon Business School, the surge in US interest in cricket is being driven by a mix of factors: the growing Indian diaspora in North America, cricket’s inclusion in the 2028 Los Angeles Olympics, and the sport’s expanding commercial footprint worldwide.

Chadwick said the ‘Indian diasporas across North America have rapidly become the heartbeat of cricket’s impending global revolution’ and are ‘accentuating cricket’s commercial proposition’.

“The likes of Google CEO Sundar Pichai have become prime movers in promoting the game, especially in the US — the world’s biggest domestic market for sport. They have convinced investors that there’s a strong business case for investing in cricket,” Chadwick told The Indian Express. “The Indian market has volume, and the Olympics will expand its global footprint, while investment interest from the Saudi Arabian and UAE governments adds further impetus.”

There’s also the affordability factor. The average franchise value in the NFL stands at $5.1 billion and in the NBA at $3.9 billion, according to The Conversation. IPL teams, in this context, are bargain buys — especially given the potential for high returns on investment.

A WPP Media report earlier this week revealed India’s sports economy crossed $2 billion in 2025. Cricket dominates with an 89 per cent share, including 81 per cent of sponsorship spends, 87 per cent of endorsements, and 95 per cent of media investments — most of it driven by the IPL.

The twin IPL franchise sales on Tuesday commanded a combined $3.41 billion — nearly five times the $723.59 million paid by the league’s eight founding franchises in 2008.

Chadwick said the ‘Indian diasporas across North America have rapidly become the heartbeat of cricket’s impending global revolution’ and are ‘accentuating cricket’s commercial proposition’.

“The likes of Google CEO Sundar Pichai have become prime movers in promoting the game, especially in the US — the world’s biggest domestic market for sport. They have convinced investors that there’s a strong business case for investing in cricket,” Chadwick told The Indian Express. “The Indian market has volume, and the Olympics will expand its global footprint, while investment interest from the Saudi Arabian and UAE governments adds further impetus.”

There’s also the affordability factor. The average franchise value in the NFL stands at $5.1 billion and in the NBA at $3.9 billion, according to The Conversation. IPL teams, in this context, are bargain buys — especially given the potential for high returns on investment.

A WPP Media report earlier this week revealed India’s sports economy crossed $2 billion in 2025. Cricket dominates with an 89 per cent share, including 81 per cent of sponsorship spends, 87 per cent of endorsements, and 95 per cent of media investments — most of it driven by the IPL.

Chadwick pointed to the ‘size of India’s domestic market alongside the maturity in large sport markets such as the UK and Australia’. “One can see there’s a firm platform for expansion. One also needs to remember that the Arabian Gulf region has rapidly emerged as an important cricket hub. Current US investment in Indian cricket could, in part, be an attempt to pre-empt possible investment from the likes of Saudi Arabia’s Public Investment Fund,” he said.

Santosh N, managing partner at D&P Advisory, said American investors may not be taking a long-term position. He cited CVC Capital, which made a significant profit by selling a 67 per cent stake in Gujarat Titans to the Torrent Group for approximately Rs 5,025 crore in 2025 — having purchased the franchise for Rs 5,625 crore in 2021, recovering most of its initial investment while retaining a 33 per cent stake.

“The way these guys look at it is they will say, okay, I’ll hold on to it for five years, eight years… If I’m able to make a 30 per cent per annum sort of return, I’m going to sell and exit and make money,” Santosh said.

**For Indian conglomerates, a ‘trophy asset’**

If IPL investments are a means of making a quick profit for American capitalists, for Indian owners these are ‘trophy assets’, Santosh added — their high valuations a product of a skewed demand-supply ratio.

“This is a prestige issue. I want it. This gives me satisfaction. These are assets that massage your ego,” he said. “Everybody knows some of these assets don’t really make money in the long run. But it is very important for rich people to have them.”

Santosh added that entry points into the IPL are limited for Indian billionaires, given only 10 franchises exist and half are owned by conglomerates unlikely to sell. “There are so many billionaires interested in acquiring a team and hardly two or three available for purchase. So there is a huge premium out there.”

Suryavanshi scored 15 ball fifty on the pitch where CSK scored 127 in 118 balls

British National, Working With BCCI For IPL Matches, Found Dead At Mumbai Hotel

A British national working as a broadcast engineer with the BCCI for IPL matches was found dead in his room at Mumbai's Trident Hotel, the police said. He was 76.

The man has been identified as Ian Williams Langford.

He had been staying at the Trident Hotel since March 24 in connection with IPL match coverage.

On March 29, after the match, Ian returned to his hotel room. A day later, on March 30, when the receptionist tried calling his room, there was no response.

Hotel staff then went to check on him.

As there was no response from inside, they opened the room using a master key and found him lying on the floor, the hotel said.

The hotel's in-house doctor was informed, who declared the man dead.

An accidental death report has been registered at Marine Drive Police Station, and further investigation is underway.

NDTV