IPL franchise owners openly being allowed to discriminate in non-Indian leagues?

ECBs letter means nothing. Franchise owners will simply not buy Pak cricketers saying 'on merit'. So how can one prove discrimination? And lets be honest, Pak players are no world beaters either to think otherwise.

Bottomline is, Indian owners are not permitted to buy any Pak & BD players. We all saw what happened with SRK and KKR during Mustafizur saga. So any Pak cricketer and we destroy peace in social media. Let a non Indian owner buy a team and have all Pak XI featuring in it for all we care. However, an Indian owner cannot have a Pak player. Simple.

Why bring your filth abroad then?

Only 2 of the 8 teams are majority directly owned by IPL investors. Those 2 teams have already hired 4 non-Indian head coaches between them. The owners are clearly going to have to reveal their position as bigoted criminals to someone if that's the route they're wanting to go down.

4 teams are owned by by ipl owners and you are kidding yourself if you think that the coach is the decision maker in these teams, the coach will just sit and watch and speak when asked to

Reading all the news, updates coming through in regards to IPL owners buying teams in South African franchise league and BBL. Apparently some have openly declared zero intention to hire Pakistani cricketers due to the current ban on them in IPL.

I don’t understand how the governments of the nations allowing these IPL franchise owners to openly discriminate like this in their countries? South Africa openly prides its quota system as a response to historical racial discrimination, whilst Australia is on its own mission to remove perceptions of not being accepting to diversity.

If this really is the case, have these questions been posed to the government officials of these nations or are they knowingly putting a blind eye over this issue? Eventually, these owners will buy 90% franchises in all foreign cricket leagues and that means Pakistani players will just be ousted all together from world cricket?

Go question the sa governmet or csa or your naqvi can threaten to boycott South Africa.🤣

4 teams are owned by by ipl owners and you are kidding yourself if you think that the coach is the decision maker in these teams, the coach will just sit and watch and speak when asked to

Again, they're only the majority direct owner for 2 of those teams. As well as having non-Indian coaches already appointed all of those teams also have multiple British directors.

Who made you the judge of what is filth, what you call filth gave ecb a 500mn gbp life line

Why don’t Pakistanis buy a team no they don’t they just cry and whine to get some attention and contract

Even if they did and if they didn't pick any Indian when pool of Indian are available then we ll use the same filth terminology if PCB or Pakistani government were to instruct them not to pick any Indian players on a foreign land. That's next level of filthness.

How you can't process simple notion of hatefilled racism shouldn't become business and sporting practices, but being Indian we don't expect you to process that in your head

Even if they did and if they didn't pick any Indian when pool of Indian are available then we ll use the same filth terminology if PCB or Pakistani government were to instruct them not to pick any Indian players on a foreign land. That's next level of filthness.

How you can't process simple notion of hatefilled racism shouldn't become business and sporting practices, but being Indian we don't expect you to process that in your head
How many non muslim players play for countries like Pakistan or Afghanistan? Is that not discrimination? Have you or likes of Mo Ali ever spoke about that?

I advise all sincere Pakistani’s, British Pakistanis who have the best interest of humanity to not even debate with racist Indian scum posters here.

There is no justification for racism and discrimination. Tunn ke Rakho in besharmo ko.

@Major @DeadlyVenom @sweep_shot @shaz619 @topspin @emranabbas @GLORY OF '92

We all know these guys have no shame. Deep down they know full well that they’ve turned cricket into a joke.

The English and Aussie fans also not oblivious to this either.

Even if I was some low life Indian and I saw these shenanigans as a “sauce of pride for my kountryy”, I certainly wouldn’t be making time to be doing bhangra or acting like some self-appointed spokesperson of BCCI and BJP on some Pakistani forum, like they way Joshila does. Taking low life behaviour to a new low.

Reading all the news, updates coming through in regards to IPL owners buying teams in South African franchise league and BBL. Apparently some have openly declared zero intention to hire Pakistani cricketers due to the current ban on them in IPL.

I don’t understand how the governments of the nations allowing these IPL franchise owners to openly discriminate like this in their countries? South Africa openly prides its quota system as a response to historical racial discrimination, whilst Australia is on its own mission to remove perceptions of not being accepting to diversity.

If this really is the case, have these questions been posed to the government officials of these nations or are they knowingly putting a blind eye over this issue? Eventually, these owners will buy 90% franchises in all foreign cricket leagues and that means Pakistani players will just be ousted all together from world cricket?

The only hope is to fight this discrimination in the Hundred and set an example for the rest of the World. A win through the UK justice system would do wonders for World cricket. The ball is in your court British Pakistanis

What we need is you to be the lawyer. Just turn up to court and tell them “Indian owned franchises should be fighting it out to buy Babar Azam because he can hit 6 fours in a super over”.

While it's not nice to see, I've never had an issue with the IPL keeping Pakistani players out. It's a domestic competition and everything is India-centric (i.e., fans, sponsors, teams). They have to keep that in mind as they're running a business and it's the crown jewel of their cricketing setup. While Pakistani players would add a unique flavor to the league, it's not the end of the world for those involved.

However, spreading the same mindset to other leagues is unacceptable and shouldn't be supported by anyone.

What we need is you to be the lawyer. Just turn up to court and tell them “Indian owned franchises should be fighting it out to buy Babar Azam because he can hit 6 fours in a super over”.

Baatein kra lo. Tere se toh kuch hona nahi, at least @Rana will take up the fight

I have no problem pakistan players playing 100. But i am not sure anyone is good enough. Even usman tariq who is a poor fielder and batsman. Can't rely on pause to get a gig. 100 is shorter than T20. So among pak players there are no power hitters, no outstanding fast bowlers. May be shaheen or Hasan Ali as the conditions are English conditions. But Shaheen had a bad outing in BBL. That's about it. Haris Rauf is suitable for Australia. Not sure about England. Rest of the guys are not really good enough. There are 3 or 4 franchisees have no indirect pressure not to hire pak players. Let us see what they do.

Okay, but its not really about that.

Indians dont go around asking to be picked in franchise teams, nor do Indian fans whine about it.

I'm sure the Bangladeshi BPL franchises will still be available so all is not lost.

Ranaji aur mat ro aur dard nahi diya jaayega, yesterday on a Bengali news channel some very well known sports journalists were discussing the issue and it seems that the ipl owners have reached an agreement with ecb and 1-2 token bids for pakistani players may be made but they will let them selves be out bided by others and stick to buying players from their sister franchises

I'm sure the Bangladeshi BPL franchises will still be available so all is not lost.
Pakistan and Pakistanis will play in England

They will earn from ECB, no matter where the money is funnelling through from

The players will pay taxes to the Pakistan Government from that salary earned

Those taxes will be used for State Defence, this will further help the cause of bringing down Indian armed forces.

Indians will just make Bollywood movies crying about Pakistan penetrating them.

Jo ukhaar na hai ukhaar le. Yehi hoga.

Those taxes will be used for State Defence, this will further help the cause of bringing down Indian armed forces.

Then you have nothing to worry about. Peace out.

Indians will not hire pakistanis, no matter how much you cry here or on the media,taxes is paid in uk on salaries earned in uk,

Well, the be quiet and sit down.

Keep your cheap suggestions about BPL or CanadaT20 to yourself.

Eh..no - it's an open forum and I'll voice my (correct) opinion: even if Indian franchises shut Pakistani players out around the world, they cannot do so in Pakistan of course, and Bangladesh.

Continue voicing your opinion on how racism should be promoted?

No.

No.

Any racism is indeed condemnable. Hence, the Bangladeshis should be commended for resisting such temptations and allowing Pakistani players in the BPL now and beyond.

No.
Racism? Aren't Pakistanis and Bhartiya's same race?

Indians dont want Pakistanis in their side because of the terrorism. They dont want Indian money going into Pakistani's hands. So you can make 'bewkoof' to Angrez by using big words like racism etc. but Indians are made of different cloth and will simply not fall for these sort of dramebaazi.

I asked a simple question yesterday - how many non muslim players in Pakistan side and whether or not its a discrimination and you ran away.

Any racism is indeed condemnable. Hence, the Bangladeshis should be commended for resisting such temptations and allowing Pakistani players in the BPL now and beyond.
Wait for a few hours,

I’ll ruin your day.

Sadly for Pakistani cricketers I don't think they will have much of a legal argument for discrimination without being able to provide evidence that they had better performances in the UK than other players selected. This is likely to be pretty much impossible to prove. The general British public are unlikely to be overly concerned unless it was British Pakistanis who were being excluded unfairly from selection. They would have actual performances in other domestic tournaments to use as evidence of discrimination. I doubt even Indian team owners would be foolish enough to open that particular can of worms.

From a legal perspective did PCB screw over the Pak players with their threat to violate a written contract out of spite?

I mean, a very strong legal defense would be point to PCB and their record of not honoring contracts.

From a legal perspective did PCB screw over the Pak players with their threat to violate a written contract out of spite?

I mean, a very strong legal defense would be point to PCB and their record of not honoring contracts.
Again,

What does that have to do with Racism and discrimination 🤡

Again,

What does that have to do with Racism and discrimination 🤡
I suppose the Indian teams could point out that it's possible that Mohsin Naqvi could suddenly declare at the last minute that no NOC would be issued for Pakistani players playing for Indian owned teams. Which is why they could not take the risk and therefore did not select Pakistani players.

After all there is track record of the Pakistan government/army announcing an India boycott out of the blue at the last minute.

I suppose the Indian teams could point out that it's possible that Mohsin Naqvi could suddenly declare at the last minute that no NOC would be issued for Pakistani players playing for Indian owned teams. Which is why they could not take the risk and therefore did not select Pakistani players.

After all there is track record of the Pakistan government/army announcing an India boycott out of the blue at the last minute.
Matlab backwas as usual?

Indians dont go around asking to be picked in franchise teams, nor do Indian fans whine about it.

Again keep your hate within your thrid world sh*thole. Don't pollute other regions where you think your hatefilled racism will get by. I would rather want Indians completely out of foreign leagues as they will take their filth there as well which we can already see.

Ya your few billionaires spending money because entire 2 billion country is obsessed with one game, still doesn't give you the right to take your thrid class attitude elsewhere

Team internal records can be subpoenaed and checked to see whether Pakistani players were evaluated similarly to other international players, whether there were any communications from team owners instructing coaches and officials not to select Pakistani players. Non-Indian team officials can whistleblow. Unless teams have gone through an elaborate coverup to show cricketing reasons, it can be discovered.

I suspect the difference here is the actual IPL owners make the final call on the selection of players, not the coaches or staff .. so there won't be any kind of trail of documentary evidence or witness testimony.

If there's one thing, I've learned over the years, it's never to bet against the arrogance and stupidity of these 'captains of industry'. Look at the idiotic way so many corresponded with Epstein even after he was a convicted criminal and there was reason to suspect communication might be monitored by the Justice department. Look at any number of scandals - the Sony email leak as an example.

It's not like someone in the Ambani family is going to turn up and make final calls on the selection of players. If an actual, serious investigation is done (and I fully expect it won't be), I wouldn't be surprised by some smoking gun email turning up from some idiot owner to the manager saying he 'talked to Jay Bhai and we should avoid bidding on any Pakistani player' blithely copied to some British coach.

If there's one thing, I've learned over the years, it's never to bet against the arrogance and stupidity of these 'captains of industry'. Look at the idiotic way so many corresponded with Epstein even after he was a convicted criminal and there was reason to suspect communication might be monitored by the Justice department. Look at any number of scandals - the Sony email leak as an example.
Word.
It's not like someone in the Ambani family is going to turn up and make final calls on the selection of players. If an actual, serious investigation is done (and I fully expect it won't be), I wouldn't be surprised by some smoking gun email turning up from some idiot owner to the manager saying he 'talked to Jay Bhai and we should avoid bidding on any Pakistani player' blithely copied to some British coach.
Not sure it will exactly be all that consequential from a legal perspective. Then it is upon whatever regulator to step up and defend PCB and its actions

Word.

Not sure it will exactly be all that consequential from a legal perspective. Then it is upon whatever regulator to step up and defend PCB and its actions
Yeah a 'naughty naughty' finger wag is the most likely outcome. Maybe if they're feeling very brave, they might work themselves up to a gentle slap on the wrist in a year or two. That Ambani kid may have to cut a couple of peanuts from his elephants' diet.

Are we really going to pretend this is a semantics debate about NOCs? Yes, the PCB has used NOCs as leverage before, but they are well-aware of the repercussions of doing such a thing now and would not be pulling Pakistani players from a league like The Hundred if they were picked - unless ofcourse it was a case of national duty... and even that would be for a limited window. They pulled player NOCs before the BBL too, mainly as a cheap scare tactic directed at the players, but fell right in line when it came time for the tournament to begin.

Let's not act like this is what it's about. This is about India and Indians finding more ways to blackball Pakistani players from franchise T20 leagues. I think Indian posters on this forum should have the courage to call a spade a spade instead of making lame excuses, and being apologists for their government at every turn. The Indian government could blow up children's orphanage with a bazooka and some posters here would be telling us how it wasn't a bazooka, but a rocket launcher... and how it was a 'controlled detonation'.

England is not South Africa. It is home to one of the largest British-Pakistani populations in the world. Cities that host Hundred teams - Birmingham, Manchester, London - have deep-rooted South Asian cricket audiences. From a pure business perspective, Pakistani players are an asset in that environment. You can't just sideline Pakistani players and not expect people to speak up.

Ensuring The Hundred is inclusive, welcoming and open to all

A statement from The Hundred and the eight teams.

The England and Wales Cricket Board and all eight of The Hundred team franchises reaffirm their commitment to ensuring The Hundred continues to be a competition that is inclusive, welcoming and open to all.

The Hundred was established to reach new audiences, grow the game of cricket and ensure that everyone – regardless of their ethnicity, gender, faith, nationality or other – can feel they belong in our sport. This has been a guiding principle from the outset and remains at the heart of everything we do.

As the governing body responsible for running the tournament, the ECB is committed to ensuring there is no place for discrimination, and has regulations in place to take robust action to tackle any such conduct. Players must not be excluded on the grounds of their nationality.

All eight teams commit to selection being based solely on cricketing performance, availability, and the needs of each team.

This reflects the broader commitment of the ECB to make cricket the most inclusive sport, creating opportunities, breaking down barriers and ensuring that players from all backgrounds have a fair and equal pathway to the top of the game.

We want The Hundred to feature the very best talent from across the world, and will continue working proactively to ensure that the competition is a benchmark for inclusivity.

Haan tujhe Amit Shah ne personally bataya hoga? 🤡

Amit and Jay are pretty narrow minded and this is public knowledge to everyone. They don't need to personally tell anybody anything.

And you are no different.

Plenty of evidence here.

Yes. I continue to say that the two "safe" leagues for Pakistani players will be the PSL of course, and the Bangladeshi Premier League.

You continue to promote casual racism and discrimination with crappy views

Keep it up (y)

Then be quiet and stop making assumptions 🤡

No assumptions. It is a very safe fact: Pakistani cricketers will be welcomed today, tomorrow and beyond in their home PSL, and the Bangladeshi Premier League.

Are we really going to pretend this is a semantics debate about NOCs? Yes, the PCB has used NOCs as leverage before, but they are well-aware of the repercussions of doing such a thing now and would not be pulling Pakistani players from a league like The Hundred if they were picked - unless ofcourse it was a case of national duty... and even that would be for a limited window. They pulled player NOCs before the BBL too, mainly as a cheap scare tactic directed at the players, but fell right in line when it came time for the tournament to begin.

Let's not act like this is what it's about. This is about India and Indians finding more ways to blackball Pakistani players from franchise T20 leagues. I think Indian posters on this forum should have the courage to call a spade a spade instead of making lame excuses, and being apologists for their government at every turn. The Indian government could blow up children's orphanage with a bazooka and some posters here would be telling us how it wasn't a bazooka, but a rocket launcher... and how it was a 'controlled detonation'.

England is not South Africa. It is home to one of the largest British-Pakistani populations in the world. Cities that host Hundred teams - Birmingham, Manchester, London - have deep-rooted South Asian cricket audiences. From a pure business perspective, Pakistani players are an asset in that environment. You can't just sideline Pakistani players and not expect people to speak up.
You are knocking a strawman. I haven't come across a single Indian poster who has stated that this is anything else.

what is being stated is how it can be legally defended in a court. Indian team owners have got to thank PCB for that

I think a lot of Indians, including me, will admit this entire boycott of Pakistani players in every league is obviously childish and petty. I wouldn't go so far as to call it blackballing since there's no pressure on non-Indian teams to not select them but yes it's wrong to take this boycott to foreign leagues.

The fact remains though that picking Pakistani players for Indian owners is high-risk/low reward equation

On the risk side

1. They risk a backlash from right-wing Indian fans. It'll be a social media storm in a teacup but still annoying nevertheless

2. The backlash could get worse if some old social media post from the selected player is dug up. Already a lot of players are persona non-grata. Can you imagine the backlash if an Indian team picked Haris Rauf for example after he mocked crashing Indian planes? Who know which has said something in some forum or some post somewhere. I know I wouldn't want my posts on this forum to be dug up if I ever had a background check from a Pakistani company (and I'm a pretty mild guy)

3. The actual discrimination is difficult to prove and the punishment, if any, when discovered is likely to be light

As far as the reward is concerned, it's not like any of the Pakistani players are Travis Head level superstars who'll make a fundamental difference to the fortunes of a team.

I think a lot of Indians, including me, will admit this entire boycott of Pakistani players in every league is obviously childish and petty. I wouldn't go so far as to call it blackballing since there's no pressure on non-Indian teams to not select them but yes it's wrong to take this boycott to foreign leagues.

The fact remains though that picking Pakistani players for Indian owners is high-risk/low reward equation

On the risk side

1. They risk a backlash from right-wing Indian fans. It'll be a social media storm in a teacup but still annoying nevertheless

2. The backlash could get worse if some old social media post from the selected player is dug up. Already a lot of players are persona non-grata. Can you imagine the backlash if an Indian team picked Haris Rauf for example after he mocked crashing Indian planes? Who know which has said something in some forum or some post somewhere. I know I wouldn't want my posts on this forum to be dug up if I ever had a background check from a Pakistani company (and I'm a pretty mild guy)

3. The actual discrimination is difficult to prove and the punishment, if any, when discovered is likely to be light

As far as the reward is concerned, it's not like any of the Pakistani players are Travis Head level superstars who'll make a fundamental difference to the fortunes of a team.

Reliance has a 200bn usd india business, their hundred investment in comparison is a paltry 60mn, no sane man will risk 200 bn for 60 mn they are more likely to walkout with their money than risk their base business for ec.

Yes, they can run off!

Racism and discrimination is not welcome in England!

Tumko bahut dard ho raha hai, dikh raha hai
Dard tou tujhe hoga jab Sahibzada Farhan MI London ke liye khelega…

He will earn money from Indian businesses

Then he will pay taxes in Pakistan with those earnings.

It's not like it's that much of risk. People are not going to throw away their Jio phones and stop buying at Reliance Mart because some Ambani owned team in the UK bought Saim Ayub. The noise will be more in the right wing social media echo chamber with a few TV channels shouting themselves hoarse. Even that can be controlled given the amount of influence the likes of Ambanis & Adanis have over the media.

The risk is if something worse happens. Say they select a player and it turns out he made a post mocking Pehalgam or Pulwama that even he barely remembers but the internet doesn't forget. That could easily turn out to be a public relations disaster.

It's not like it's that much of risk. People are not going to throw away their Jio phones and stop buying at Reliance Mart because some Ambani owned team in the UK bought Saim Ayub. The noise will be more in the right wing social media echo chamber with a few TV channels shouting themselves hoarse. Even that can be controlled given the amount of influence the likes of Ambanis & Adanis have over the media.

The risk is if something worse happens. Say they select a player and it turns out he made a post mocking Pehalgam or Pulwama that even he barely remembers but the internet doesn't forget. That could easily turn out to be a public relations disaster.
Its not some thing Ambani has to worry about is it. /S

On the risk side

Now that's just cruel. I like it.