Iran confirms supreme leader Khamenei is dead after US, Israeli attacks [Update@ Post 563]

How will Iran react to the attack from Israel?

They have unhealthy obsessions. Why should China intervene, it will fight if and when at a time of its choosing.

Seems like Indians are more concerned about when China should enter war to protect its image :LOL:

Why isnt India getting involved, it has investments to protect in Iran... no? Or have the Americans blown away their investment in Chabahar already.
Actually China is on the verge of losing a lot.

As a part of their BRI operations nearly 25 Billion USD (if not more) have already been invested in Iran (Bandar Abbas port upgrades, High Speed Train project, Petrochemical projects, South Pars Oil/Gas Fields investment, Telecom Equipments, Defence Equipments, Power Industry).

China was getting highly subsidized oil (nearly 90% of Iranian Oil was being exported to China) for the products they were selling to Iran. It was a system similar to bartering Iranian Oil for the defence equipments, Huawei/ZTE telecom + Technology to help Iran monitor its own citizens 24x7x365, HQx Air Defense Systems (a damp squib) & etc. Subsidized oil from Venezuela is already lost and now a larger proportion of subsidized oil from Iran may soon be lost. This type of Oil trade is not the case with India. I expect there will be some Inflationary effect in China because of the loss of subsidized oil sources.

Other nations in BRI will look at the response of China to the destruction of it's most closest ally in Middle-East ...i.e., Iran ... both in 2025 and now and decide that China will never walk the talk.

Actually China is on the verge of losing a lot.

As a part of their BRI operations nearly 25 Billion USD (if not more) have already been invested in Iran (Bandar Abbas port upgrades, High Speed Train project, Petrochemical projects, South Pars Oil/Gas Fields investment, Telecom Equipments, Defence Equipments, Power Industry).

China was getting highly subsidized oil (nearly 90% of Iranian Oil was being exported to China) for the products they were selling to Iran. It was a system similar to bartering Iranian Oil for the defence equipments, Huawei/ZTE telecom + Technology to help Iran monitor its own citizens 24x7x365, HQx Air Defense Systems (a damp squib) & etc. Subsidized oil from Venezuela is already lost and now a larger proportion of subsidized oil from Iran may soon be lost. This type of Oil trade is not the case with India. I expect there will be some Inflationary effect in China because of the loss of subsidized oil sources.

Other nations in BRI will look at the response of China to the destruction of it's most closest ally in Middle-East ...i.e., Iran ... both in 2025 and now and decide that China will never walk the talk.

You are conflating economic partners with allies. There are genuinely only two allies that China has and that is North Korea and Pakistan. Pakistan military and Chinese militaries are very integrated, as seen with what happened last May with real time intelligence sharing.

You underestimate the strides China has taken in renewables sector which now accounts for about 35% of its energy production.

With Iran taking out production facilities in the gulf, who are being affected?

Even now, only Chinese and Iranian ships are coming out of the Straits of Hormuz.

You cannot goad China into a war, as I said, they will goto war on their own terms. Economic ties are just that, economic ties. China is a large market, there will always be people wanting to sell to it.

Why aren't Indians protecting their interests in Iran?

Israel attacked in Beirut, Lebanon...

Meanwhile, Iran increased missiles attack on sunni Muslim nations like Saudi and Bahrain rather than Israel

Agreed. It's all very easy to have a superbly planned succession on paper but after 36 years of power in one man's hands, it's never going to be smooth in real life. Many factors including the preferences of the revolutionary guard, the regular army, the civilian leadership and the Shura council will come into play.

Khamenei himself was not the logical person to take over when Khomeini died. Montazeri was. The constitution had to be modified to allow someone who was neither a Marja nor even an Ayatollah to take over as Supreme Leader.

Here's the clip (leaked years later). The man with the gavel (Rafsanjani) engineered the whole thing because he thought once President he could control a weak Supreme Leader that lacked the religious credibility of a marja (highest ranking Shia cleric). Big mistake. Despite being arguably one of the most powerful post-Revolution figures (as I said imagine an Iranian Zardari), Rafsanjani himself ended up enstranged from the establishment in the last years of his life.

People in the comments say Khameini was showing humility by saying he wasn't qualified. Perhaps, but he wasn't lying either. @IMMY69 can correct me as I'm not Shia but I read one of the qualifications to become a marja is to produce a resala - basically a religious document that's approved by other Shia clerics. Again, Khameini didn't have that in 1989.

Now Khomeini did endorse Khameini as his successor. But the Iranian Constitution is clear only the Majlis can elect a Supreme Leader. And the guy most qualified to be Supreme Leader (whose religious credentials were impeccable even as per his opponents) spent years under house arrest for saying things like...maybe we shouldn't kill all dissenters (he still believed in clerical rule BTW).

Only my guess but I think the election saga made Khameini paranoid for the rest of his life about internal opponents, real or imagined, which meant like many Revolutions, the Iranian Revolution ate its own children and became so repressive. It's no wonder people inside Iran's system were willing to conspire with foreign agents.

To be clear, I'm not saying he deserved to die at the hands of President Paedophile and PM Crook. However it's important to give people the full historical context. Iran is a very complex and polarised country with constantly shifting allegiances and factions that puts Game of Thrones to shame.

This is a bunch of fake news and your fellow Pak supporters are falling for these fake lies and fake tweets. None of this is even remotely true.. but yeah if it keeps you happy in your delusional world go for.it lol! Such a bunch of bull ..😂
What do expect Fake Propagandist like @Rana. He only can fake news and meme. .ye isi limit hai 🤡🤡🤡🤡 :klopp :kp

This is a bunch of fake news and your fellow Pak supporters are falling for these fake lies and fake tweets. None of this is even remotely true.. but yeah if it keeps you happy in your delusional world go for.it lol! Such a bunch of bull ..😂

You’re probably right, after all, you’d know better than the rest of the world since he’s the father of India.

Here's the clip (leaked years later). The man with the gavel (Rafsanjani) engineered the whole thing because he thought once President he could control a weak Supreme Leader that lacked the religious credibility of a marja (highest ranking Shia cleric). Big mistake. Despite being arguably one of the most powerful post-Revolution figures (as I said imagine an Iranian Zardari), Rafsanjani himself ended up enstranged from the establishment in the last years of his life.

People in the comments say Khameini was showing humility by saying he wasn't qualified. Perhaps, but he wasn't lying either. @IMMY69 can correct me as I'm not Shia but I read one of the qualifications to become a marja is to produce a resala - basically a religious document that's approved by other Shia clerics. Again, Khameini didn't have that in 1989.

Now Khomeini did endorse Khameini as his successor. But the Iranian Constitution is clear only the Majlis can elect a Supreme Leader. And the guy most qualified to be Supreme Leader (whose religious credentials were impeccable even as per his opponents) spent years under house arrest for saying things like...maybe we shouldn't kill all dissenters (he still believed in clerical rule BTW).

Only my guess but I think the election saga made Khameini paranoid for the rest of his life about internal opponents, real or imagined, which meant like many Revolutions, the Iranian Revolution ate its own children and became so repressive. It's no wonder people inside Iran's system were willing to conspire with foreign agents.

To be clear, I'm not saying he deserved to die at the hands of President Paedophile and PM Crook. However it's important to give people the full historical context. Iran is a very complex and polarised country with constantly shifting allegiances and factions that puts Game of Thrones to shame.
Thank you for taking the effort to write this. I was aware of some of the facts but you've explained the context really well.

The way Muslim world has betrayed Iran is disgusting. I can proudly say that as long as Bharat stands, no one can even cast an evil eye on our Sanatani brothers Nepal. That will be the end of them.

You’re probably right, after all, you’d know better than the rest of the world since he’s the father of India.
Yeah the context of that speech is probably lost . You didnt know what he was saying right? Just saw some random tweet and now fatherland father father blah blah.

Iran got a new ayatollah. Also, they are now retaliating. They are not bogged down.

Seems like Israel taking out a bunch of leaders didn't have the desired affect.

Iran needs to start taking Israeli Terorrist regime leadership as well... But those cowards run to other countries the moment their aparthied regime starts getting hit like their Nazi leader who ran off to Germany, surprised he the fatherland didn't run to his wife named Modi in motherland India lol

Read Israeli airforce head was taken out, not sure if true as Israelis are liars and never confirm their hits. The amount of hits they are taking now with those ballistics, it's not possible they aren't taking major hits. That 12 days war showed how capable Iran is in decimating those Nazis....

Again fake news fake tweets. The IQ of posters to beleive fake news is incredibly high I must say! 🙂🐼
Flipping hell @Rana I would have thought that the joke video of a dog in a bombed victim was actually Netanyahu. Thanks to deltexas bhai for his rigorous fact checking and for calling you out.

He wasn’t a peadophile like Trump , butcher like Modi or thief like Sharif . Loved by majority too . It’s fair to add this context too .

Yeah the context of that speech is probably lost . You didnt know what he was saying right? Just saw some random tweet and now fatherland father father blah blah.

you know back in the days in Bollywood movies when they wanted to lick someone's boots they would normally sit in their feets and say "ye mera mai baap hai" is it the same context here

Flipping hell @Rana I would have thought that the joke video of a dog in a bombed victim was actually Netanyahu. Thanks to deltexas bhai for his rigorous fact checking and for calling you out.
DV - look we may and we will have disagreements and differences and different opinions sure and yes we will also agree to disagree- no worries there. But simply posting fake news fake tweets from random fake news sources is simply a disservice to all here no matter whether you agree with the attack on Iran or not. It just becomes a joke of a forum if you are just posting fake stuff.

You are a disservice to humanity by only looking for news that supports child killers.

you know back in the days in Bollywood movies when they wanted to lick someone's boots they would normally sit in their feets and say "ye mera mai baap hai" is it the same context here
Yeah that's USA gov does to Pak gov since time immemorial 😂

You are a disservice to humanity by only looking for news that supports child killers.
ok lol got it... coming from a guy who just posts fake news. News has to be true and not fake posts- whether you agree with what happened thats a different matter..🐼🐼

He wasn’t a peadophile like Trump , butcher like Modi or thief like Sharif . Loved by majority too . It’s fair to add this context too .
Loved by the majority is tough to say. The election of Pezeshkian definitely exposed some cracks. It was clear that Khamenei wasn't in favour of him - in fact, Pezeshkian was using a song from an imprisoned singer as his campaign song. The fact that he won the election despite opposing Hijab laws showed that people were tiring of Ayatollah and Mullah rule even if they were nowhere near ready to go full on liberal.

Over 90% of global netizens condemn US-Israel aggression on Iran: survey​

A whopping 93% of netizens have condemned the joint US-Israeli military action in Iran, shows an online poll released by China Global Television Network (CGTN), calling it a violation of Iran’s sovereignty, security and territorial integrity. Respondents urged an immediate halt to military operations to prevent further escalation.

The US-Israeli strike occurred amid ongoing diplomatic negotiations between Washington and Tehran. According to the survey, 86.8 per cent of respondents criticised the US for intensifying military deterrence during talks, describing it as an example of “American hegemony.” They argued that such actions undermine international law and diminish the prospects for resolving disputes through diplomacy.

A total of 79.8 per cent of respondents agreed that force is not an effective means of settling international disputes, warning that military pressure often deepens hostility and narrows space for negotiation rather than resolving core differences.

The military action has reportedly resulted in significant casualties. International bodies, including the United Nations, along with leaders and governments from various countries, have condemned the strikes and called for restraint and a return to dialogue.

Ninety per cent of survey participants expressed concern that the already fragile peace process in the Middle East could rapidly deteriorate, stressing that continued escalation would serve no party’s interests.

Moreover, 94.7 per cent said that what they described as an “American hegemony” approach — disregarding international law and established norms of international relations — risks undermining global trust in multilateral mechanisms and destabilising strategic stability worldwide.

The survey was published across CGTN’s English, Spanish, French, Arabic and Russian platforms, drawing 23,464 responses from around the world within 24 hours.

Source: The Express Tribune

Loved by the majority is tough to say. The election of Pezeshkian definitely exposed some cracks. It was clear that Khamenei wasn't in favour of him - in fact, Pezeshkian was using a song from an imprisoned singer as his campaign song. The fact that he won the election despite opposing Hijab laws showed that people were tiring of Ayatollah and Mullah rule even if they were nowhere near ready to go full on liberal.

Mullah rule in Iran is better than wahabi rule in Arab nations, Pandit rule by RSS nut jobs etc .

Millions are out in the street mourning , the Shia world is out in alll nations . He was the spiritual leader don’t confuse him with the governments of Iran .

Will they though ? Iran has been saying for decades we will wipe out USA from the map.. Whats taking so long ?
You are so full of it. They didn’t say that. They have been saying a US war would be bad for everyone.

Jo dil mai aya buss woh he vomit kar de. Make it a little realistic.

You are so full of it. They didn’t say that. They have been saying a US war would be bad for everyone.

Jo dil mai aya buss woh he vomit kar de. Make it a little realistic.
The bombastic statements by the Iranian mullah regime against USA and Israel are well documented. Not last 2 weeks. I am talking the last 2 decades or more. Personally , I know they didnt mean to jack do anything but its for the local Iranian public consumption.

Don't worry. I'm in the safest place in the world.. kisi ko Aaukat nahi hai. ..

But same can't be true for you. .. .

:klopp :kp
You are absolutely correct, Lacknow is probably the safest place for Hindutva but for Muslims and Christian not so safe.

Khameni dies.

Iranians celebrate world wide.

Converted Muslims from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Bradford is crying.

This is not even close to true though, Pakistanis are barely aware of Khameini or most of the ayatollahs ruling Iran. In fact it is India who has been closer allies of Iran for the past few decades, so not really sure why you have suddenly started cheering Netenyahu and his Epstein island child molesters.

Imagine what Iranians must be thinking of their hindutva allies if they are reading this today.

You are absolutely correct, Lacknow is probably the safest place for Hindutva but for Muslims and Christian not so safe.
Kya Lucknow Kya Delhi ,kya Kashmir - whole india is safest place. ...kisi ki aukaat nahi hai .. kuch chuje ne try Kiya tha last year. Sabko hawa m uda Diya. ....

:klopp :kp