Is Hardik Pandya good enough to play as batsman in LOIs?

The P&P combo (Pandya and Pant) will hurt a lot of teams over the next decade. India is so, so lucky to have them both.

Two unfit players who hardly can find their place in the playing xi we'll see where this goes when the big boys come around.

Why do you have to be so bitter? India won, Pandya played well, he's still not the best player in the team or the greatest allrounder in the world and I still don't like him much (and neither do I love IPL, for your reference). But, so what? I know you're entitled to your opinion and you have the freedom to express it, yes, but can't you just leave your anger aside and be happy for a change? It was a good game, nice entertainment on a Sunday afternoon.

Because I know he is going to flop when the team India needs him. Anyone can play a good inning here and there if they are given multiple chances like this. You can look at Yusuf Pathan's stats for a start. He played much better innings than Pandya in his career but he was inconsistent. Even though I don't rate him I would still like to see him in T20 team because India doesn't have good batsman and finishers. :inti

The P&P combo (Pandya and Pant) will hurt a lot of teams over the next decade. India is so, so lucky to have them both.

Pant has gone down a bit on current form. Iyer is doing a good job for now. But its something for our Viru brother to tinker about now.

KL Rahul - ✓
Hardik Pandya - ✓

Next in line, Rishabh Pant??

Because I know he is going to flop when the team India needs him. Anyone can play a good inning here and there if they are given multiple chances like this. You can look at Yusuf Pathan's stats for a start. He played much better innings than Pandya in his career but he was inconsistent. Even though I don't rate him I would still like to see him in T20 team because India doesn't have good batsman and finishers. :inti

It's ok viru Bhai let them enjoy this success over Sam's Tye and Abbot I'm surprised Australia managed to take it till the last over with a Zimbabwe's type of bowling attack

Team India top 6 in LOIs in 5 years:

Shaw
Rahul (c)
Gill
Iyer/Samson
Pandya
Pant (wk)

Wow.

Assuming Kohli retires in 2025 at the age of 37, which is very likely. He will probably retire from T20Is before that though.

Why so serious bro? You just need to read that match thread. Most of these posters who are jumping now were comparing Indian bowling attack with Australia's. Most of them were calling it India C vs Aus C. Now suddenly Australian bowling attack has become world class because Pandya ji has finished the match for the first time in many years. :inti

Bro I have written this elsewhere as well that I think he should just play as a batsman because he is quite a mediocre bowler, but his batting is very good. I am not guilty of downplaying his batting ability so I can fairly say that this Bhangra by Pro Pandya (anti Shadab) fans needs to tone down. He is far better than being celebrated for Killing Andrew Tye and Daniel Sams...he needs to now be ready to do this against Starc and Cummins at the back end in 2021 wc if it comes to this.

For a change, I completely agree with you here :)

No he doesn't. If he continues this way for another 3-4 years he will.

He is world class though.

Contrary to what every expert says including Non Pakistanis.

Give it a rest.

Babar Azam is easily Top 5 right now. If he continues he will be Number 1.

Numbers don't lie. Check the stats over the last year or so.

Pant has gone down a bit on current form. Iyer is doing a good job for now. But its something for our Viru brother to tinker about now.

KL Rahul - ✓
Hardik Pandya - ✓

The great thing about BCCI is that they really good at recognizing gems and they back them as well.

They refused to give up on Rohit in spite of 5 years of disappointment. Same will happen with Pant. He might take a while to deliver on his potential, but it is inevitable that he will.

He is the most talented WK batsman to emerge out of Asia since Dhoni in 2004.

KL Rahul - ✓
Hardik Pandya - ✓

Are you talking about T20's or ODI's? I don't care about Pandya if he plays in T20's. In LOI's I was the first one here who wanted KL Rahul to keep wickets to save his career and also to throw Pant out of the team. Pandya has a lot to prove. Even Yusuf Pathan played innings like these but was inconsistent. And Pandya isn't even bowling in ODI's so I would still prefer a specialist there. :inti

Contrary to what every expert says including Non Pakistanis.

Give it a rest.

Babar Azam is easily Top 5 right now. If he continues he will be Number 1.

Numbers don't lie. Check the stats over the last year or so.

How many centuries by Babar outside Asia in tests?

He is the most talented WK batsman to emerge out of Asia since Dhoni in 2004.[/QUOTE]

If there ever was a oh lord the guy can't get his belly out of the way and can't keep wickets to save his life and is being mentioned in the same sentence as The living legend Mahendra Singh Dhoni whotook India from Slumdog to millionaire in a matter of years this is just blasphemy.

Are you talking about T20's or ODI's? I don't care about Pandya if he plays in T20's. In LOI's I was the first one here who wanted KL Rahul to keep wickets to save his career and also to throw Pant out of the team. Pandya has a lot to prove. Even Yusuf Pathan played innings like these but was inconsistent. And Pandya isn't even bowling in ODI's so I would still prefer a specialist there. :inti

Atleast two of the three formats.

So what?

Didn't know that was the only metric for rating batsmen. You obviously know better than the cricket experts. That includes the Non Pakistan experts.

Please name the 5 non pakistan experts who said Babbar is among top 5. With appropriate references.

Our pakistani friends are really hurt. I mean its obvious, when your team cant win jack in Australia and Indian team claims a series in a format. It must seriously hurt.

Enjoying his best series to date Pandya. Wonder if he will get a chance in Tests as well.

Please name the 5 non pakistan experts who said Babbar is among top 5. With appropriate references.

Nasser Hussain Shane Warne Mark Waugh Akash Chopra like so many lol I can't even name all they've said it on comentary and in tweets like even a blind man can say it though he is definetly top 5 in the world without competittion I bet if you even ask kl he rates him more highly than him Kuldeep who's bunny he is rates Babar very highly lmao

Enjoying his best series to date Pandya. Wonder if he will get a chance in Tests as well.

He is a 50+ test batsman. I have said it before and still stand by it. Give him 10 uninterrupted test matches and then we can talk. His bowling is a bonus though and will not be very handy in test matches.

The Finisher of India - the way he has been batting in this series - has taken the tag - The box office & MVP.
Hardhik

90(76)
28(31)
92*(76)
16(15)
42*(22)

He's giving glimpses of '05/'06 Dhoni when he used to be a finisher and also hit sixes with regularity.

Hardik Pandya, Player of the Match (2nd T20I)

It's very simple. I like to look at the scoreboard and play so that I know which bowlers to target. I have been in these situations many times and I learnt from my mistakes in the past. My game is always around the confidence which I carry, it has that fine line where I back myself and not become overconfident. I always remember all those times when we chased big totals and it helps. In T20s you actually have more time than you think. If we need 70-80 odd in 30 balls, I don't look at the whole thing and I break it down to 12 balls and focus more on the process than the end result. They were batting really well and we wanted to be positive and special mention to Natarajan as well. I thought he should be the Man of the Match, because the bowlers struggled here and he had a really good game.

Pandya may win a WC for India with his “inconsistent” performances.

It is funny to see some fans who used to make fun of these bilaterals are now taking it seriously because Pandya ji won a match for his team. It is not easy to score runs against the likes of Zampa, Tye, Sams and Swepson. :inti

True but he did perform vs Starc Cummins and Hazelwood in odi as well mate. That's the whole point. Even the great skeptic in me is willing to accept a talented player when I see one. This kid is special.

But yes I agree it remains to be seen if he can do it in semis or finals. I totally understand how frustrating it is from an Indian perspective especially after us choking in so many semi finals and finals despite playing well, topping groups in league stages and dominating bilaterals etc.

Can pandya do it in 2021 and 23? I believe so. Let's see

Though this particular innings was against lesser bowlers, but makes me very envious . . he has played a few good innings this tour already . . against the likes of Hazlewood, Starc and Cummins too . .

Hand on heart, there is no Pakistani all rounder or even batsman who can play such an innings . . especially under pressure, chasing! The last one who could was probably Razzaq . .

Then I read the comments above from Pandya after winning, and understnad the psyche of the team . . they think! its not just about going out and hitting sixes . . they have a plan . . what they do is educated . . It stems from their captain!

Like many, I have obviously been in awe of Virat's batting . . but if someone asks me what is it about him that I would love to have in the Pakistan team? Shockingly, it wouldn't be his batting . . but the way he thinks about the sport . . the margins, the processes, the way he breaks it down, the analysis and clarity he has, the focus he places on fitness and the difference that makes, etc. etc. . we just dont have that level of analysis in our team . . and it reflects in folks like Pandya! Which is why captaincy matters! Virat may not be the most tactically/strategically astute captain on the field . . but his persona, body language and ability to understand the game reflects in his team . . and that could only stem from how he guides, speaks and shapes the narrative behind the scenes

Though this particular innings was against lesser bowlers, but makes me very envious . . he has played a few good innings this tour already . . against the likes of Hazlewood, Starc and Cummins too . .

Hand on heart, there is no Pakistani all rounder or even batsman who can play such an innings . . especially under pressure, chasing! The last one who could was probably Razzaq . .

Then I read the comments above from Pandya after winning, and understnad the psyche of the team . . they think! its not just about going out and hitting sixes . . they have a plan . . what they do is educated . . It stems from their captain!

Like many, I have obviously been in awe of Virat's batting . . but if someone asks me what is it about him that I would love to have in the Pakistan team? Shockingly, it wouldn't be his batting . . but the way he thinks about the sport . . the margins, the processes, the way he breaks it down, the analysis and clarity he has, the focus he places on fitness and the difference that makes, etc. etc. . we just dont have that level of analysis in our team . . and it reflects in folks like Pandya! Which is why captaincy matters! Virat may not be the most tactically/strategically astute captain on the field . . but his persona, body language and ability to understand the game reflects in his team . . and that could only stem from how he guides, speaks and shapes the narrative behind the scenes

Brilliant post

Sorry to hurt your feelings. I still think he 'will' choke under pressure. :inti

Lol, Viru (your profile name and pic) in 2011 WC final, scored 0. Hypocrite much. You should be the last one to talk about chocking under pressure. 82 in WC 2003 final but India lost.

See I hurt your feelings. I am sorry bro. There is no need to drag Sehwag into this. Pandya is not even fit to tie his shoe laces lol. Don't do this because you will look like a fool here. I have seen Pyjama League fans like you put Pandya over Dhoni, Yuvi and Raina also. This further proves that you haven't watched much cricket outside IPL. :inti

To burst your bubble, I am a big fan of test matches probably bigger fan than you. I hate T20 leagues more than you. Bad manner to lable someone blindly when you don’t know anything about one. I am a fan of Sehwag of test matches, was just pointing out your hypocrisy here. Once in a while you should appreciate players when they play match winning inning, even though the player is from a different country than yours. I have no desire to project you as a fool one though, you yourself is doing great job at it.

After making bold claims that Pandya only perform once in three years, even trolls didnt expect it will backfire so quickly. Now they are trying to justify by writing rubbish to clean some of the eggs from the face. But unfortunately the damage is already being done and they are being made to look total fool :inti

This is why knowledge in cricket is so important. Its a sport afterall and not a place to peddle agenda. A good player need to be appreciated and a bad player need to be called out. It is as simple as that. Sports is not politics that you need to follow a certain ideology, you just got to call spade a spade.

Anyone that understands cricket can see Hardik Pandya is supremely talented. I have said this even before this series started that he is a proper no.7 test batsman who if given a proper stint has the potential to avg 50+ in test cricket. He has got all the ingredients to become a superstar. There are some players you look at and your cricketing sense should tell you whether they will be a star. Pandya is crying for a superstar player in making. You should have the vision to see it. Similarly, there are few who you know will never be great. Players like Shreyas Iyer, Mayank Agarwal, Ambati Rayudu etc will never make it big irrespective of how many games you give them. This is called cricket sense.

Only thing that can hold Pandya back is his back injury and fitness. I know he had a good series but he only played 60% of his potential. His off side game is totally restricted due to lower back and also not getting enough power on his leg side shots. You may also noticed, often his one hand coming off the bat when trying to hit because he is unable to balance properly due to injured back. Anyone who has watched Pandya between 2016 - 2018 (sept) would tell you he is an even better batsman than what we have seen here. I hope they pack him up after this series and let him regain his full fitness. Then come back strong during June period - Asia cup, WT20 and then Eng tour as no 7 batsman in tests.

To burst your bubble, I am a big fan of test matches probably bigger fan than you. I hate T20 leagues more than you. Bad manner to lable someone blindly when you don’t know anything about one. I am a fan of Sehwag of test matches, was just pointing out your hypocrisy here. Once in a while you should appreciate players when they play match winning inning, even though the player is from a different country than yours. I have no desire to project you as a fool one though, you yourself is doing great job at it.

You are pretty dumb. Why will I talk about Sehwag(a retired player) in a thread related to Pandya? First you brought Sehwag's name into this thread and now hiding behind your love for test matches when I exposed your hypocrisy. You are nobody to tell me what, how and when should I talk about a certain player. At least I don't hide behind other players stats to defend my favorite players. :inti

It's ok viru Bhai let them enjoy this success over Sam's Tye and Abbot I'm surprised Australia managed to take it till the last over with a Zimbabwe's type of bowling attack

I believe they're top performers of BBL, it's not India's fault their top performers are just Zim level quality..

Sorry to hurt your feelings. I still think he 'will' choke under pressure. :inti

You still have time BVB bhai. .You still can join Kung Fu Pandya Fan club. If Pandya play this kinda innings in World cup and end up winning one for India then you will look like a fool after exhausting all the available excuses in the world. Come on get on the other side.. ☺️

Its good to see him improve hopefully keeps carrying on and gets fit to bow as well, in swinging conditions he will come handy but currently based on batting alone he makes the team.

After making bold claims that Pandya only perform once in three years, even trolls didnt expect it will backfire so quickly. Now they are trying to justify by writing rubbish to clean some of the eggs from the face. But unfortunately the damage is already being done and they are being made to look total fool :inti

This is why knowledge in cricket is so important. Its a sport afterall and not a place to peddle agenda. A good player need to be appreciated and a bad player need to be called out. It is as simple as that. Sports is not politics that you need to follow a certain ideology, you just got to call spade a spade.

Anyone that understands cricket can see Hardik Pandya is supremely talented. I have said this even before this series started that he is a proper no.7 test batsman who if given a proper stint has the potential to avg 50+ in test cricket. He has got all the ingredients to become a superstar. There are some players you look at and your cricketing sense should tell you whether they will be a star. Pandya is crying for a superstar player in making. You should have the vision to see it. Similarly, there are few who you know will never be great. Players like Shreyas Iyer, Mayank Agarwal, Ambati Rayudu etc will never make it big irrespective of how many games you give them. This is called cricket sense.

Only thing that can hold Pandya back is his back injury and fitness. I know he had a good series but he only played 60% of his potential. His off side game is totally restricted due to lower back and also not getting enough power on his leg side shots. You may also noticed, often his one hand coming off the bat when trying to hit because he is unable to balance properly due to injured back. Anyone who has watched Pandya between 2016 - 2018 (sept) would tell you he is an even better batsman than what we have seen here. I hope they pack him up after this series and let him regain his full fitness. Then come back strong during June period - Asia cup, WT20 and then Eng tour as no 7 batsman in tests.

You cant beat agenda.

Your standards are pretty low if you are jumping in joy after this inning of Pandya which was against Tye, Sams and Swepson lol. Yusuf Pathan also played innings like these and was rightfully dropped because of his inconsistency. The only thing that can save Pandya's career is his bowling. I don't think he can survive as a batsman alone for long. Make sure you keep participating in this thread in the future as well. :inti

I believe they're top performers of BBL, it's not India's fault their top performers are just Zim level quality..

And the most funny part is that his team actually lost a game against mighty Zimbabwe team that too at home and he is trolling Indian team for celebrating for winning a match against Australian team in Australia.. 😂

You still have time BVB bhai. .You still can join Kung Fu Pandya Fan club. If Pandya play this kinda innings in World cup and end up winning one for India then you will look like a fool after exhausting all the available excuses in the world. Come on get on the other side.. ☺️

Let him play that inning first. :inti

Why you keep mentioning Zampa? He's a quality bowler.. and others may done well in BBL hence given the chance..

Just like Chahar and Saini? So why were some indian fans calling this Indian C team? :inti

Like Saini and Natarajan.. Chahar was in the team quite sometime and he did performs reasonably well.. Calling B or Z (which i didn't) is just banter or excuses :inti

You are pretty dumb. Why will I talk about Sehwag(a retired player) in a thread related to Pandya? First you brought Sehwag's name into this thread and now hiding behind your love for test matches when I exposed your hypocrisy. You are nobody to tell me what, how and when should I talk about a certain player. At least I don't hide behind other players stats to defend my favorite players. :inti

Thanks for labeling me first as a fool and then as a dumb.
Yes, I am no one to tell you anything but you continue to do it to everyone.
I hope you get better comprehension skills.
Try to figure out why I mentioned Sehwag and tests.
I am sure you are smart enough to figure it out.

That is inevitable. You can only hope Pandya somehow mess up big time and save you from embarrassment

I don't have to hope. He will most probably do it himself. You just have to remove your blue tinted glasses and actually follow his career graph to know that. :inti

Your standards are pretty low if you are jumping in joy after this inning of Pandya which was against Tye, Sams and Swepson lol. Yusuf Pathan also played innings like these and was rightfully dropped because of his inconsistency. The only thing that can save Pandya's career is his bowling. I don't think he can survive as a batsman alone for long. Make sure you keep participating in this thread in the future as well. :inti

Few posts above you wrote this -

'You are pretty dumb. Why will I talk about Sehwag(a retired player) in a thread related to Pandya?'

Not sure why you bringing Pathan then? Lol.

Anyway, dont want to bug you much as its pretty evident you are upset and not making much sense what you are typing. I would suggest lets participate on this thread in future as you suggested. Lol

Thanks for labeling me first as a fool and then as a dumb.
Yes, I am no one to tell you anything but you continue to do it to everyone.
I hope you get better comprehension skills.
Try to figure out why I mentioned Sehwag and tests.
I am sure you are smart enough to figure it out.
When and where did I stop anyone from posting their opinion? And where did I go offtopic? Kindly mention it. Also this thread is about Pandya. Don't be so insecure if I point it out. :inti

'You are pretty dumb. Why will I talk about Sehwag(a retired player) in a thread related to Pandya?'

Anyway, dont want to bug you much as its pretty evident you are upset and not making much sense what you are typing. I would suggest lets participate on this thread in future as you suggested. Lol

Hey, he can bring anyone’s name he wants, we can not.

When and where did I stop anyone from posting their opinion? And where did I go offtopic? Kindly mention it. Also this thread is about Pandya. Don't be so insecure if I point it out. :inti

You are right, this thread is not about Pathan which you keep mentioning from nowhere. I mentioned Sehwag because of your profile name and pic. Now can you please enlighten us (if you can) why did you bring Pathan’s name to begin with?

I said Pathan played similar innings and was dropped later. That is not equivalent to someone bringing Sehwag's(who is in my DP) failure in the final and try to compare his performance with Pandya's. I didn't even say that Pathan was better than Pandya or vice versa. It's like saying similar innings have been played by others also and I mentioned Pathan's name to give an example. :inti

You are right, this thread is not about Pathan which you keep mentioning from nowhere. I mentioned Sehwag because of your profile name and pic. Now can you please enlighten us (if you can) why did you bring Pathan’s name to begin with?

Reply given above. Read carefully and do tell me what has player in my DP got to do with this? If you wanted to score a cheap point then that's ok because you have been doing it for a long time in this forum. Just an attention seeker. :inti

I said Pathan played similar innings and was dropped later. That is not equivalent to someone bringing Sehwag's(who is in my DP) failure in the final and try to compare his performance with Pandya's. I didn't even say that Pathan was better than Pandya or vice versa. It's like saying similar innings have been played by others also and I mentioned Pathan's name to give an example. :inti

No need to mellow down. Your style is to be being rude, insulting and labeling people.

I gave my reason. Now please tell why you took Sehwag's name? What was the intention? I am pretty aware of your style too. Your petty one liners and taking cheap shots is getting pretty boring. :inti

Reply given above. Read carefully and do tell me what has player in my DP got to do with this? If you wanted to score a cheap point then that's ok because you have been doing it for a long time in this forum. Just an attention seeker. :inti

Its just expose your hypocrisy. On one side you put your profile picture of a final chocker and continue to claim that Pandya will be chocking in semifinals and finals. That’s why I mentioned 2011 WC final chocker’s name. Get it now?

I don't have to hope. He will most probably do it himself. You just have to remove your blue tinted glasses and actually follow his career graph to know that. :inti

Pandya's failure is your wishful thinking. And unfortunately probability that your wishful thinking will becomes reality is very less. And if someone need to remove any glasses and see reality it is you sir. Humble pie waiting for you.

Just base on a past career graph you can not predict how that player will perform in future. There are many players who improvise and becomes better with the experience and the age.

Tom Moody (in Cricinfo) "Hardik Pandya is emerging as one of the best finishers, his ball striking is unbelievable - in Australia, he quickly turning out to be one of the favorites".

Its just expose your hypocrisy. On one side you put your profile picture of a final chocker and continue to claim that Pandya will be chocking in semifinals and finals. That’s why I mentioned 2011 WC final chocker’s name. Get it now?

Lol just to score some points you are ready to put even Sehwag down. Sehwag hasn't done anything else in cricket? Pandya has a lot to prove. Get over it. :inti

Pandya's failure is your wishful thinking. And unfortunately probability that your wishful thinking will becomes reality is very less. And if someone need to remove any glasses and see reality it is you sir. Humble pie waiting for you.

Just base on a past career graph you can not predict how that player will perform in future. There are many players who improvise and becomes better with the experience and the age.

So how are you so sure about it? :inti

Good to see some indian fans have started respecting Dhoni again after abusing him, calling him buddha, politician and what not. He has set the bar so high that now even they feel honoured when a firangi coach compare their Golden boy Pandya to him. :inti

Lol just to score some points you are ready to put even Sehwag down. Sehwag hasn't done anything else in cricket? Pandya has a lot to prove. Get over it. :inti

Lol, even after explaining to you, you came to the conclusion that I was comparing Pandya with Sehwag? Why do you consider everyone fool? I would be the last one to compare an opening batsman with middle/middle lower order one. I am not even mentioning Sehwag’s legendary status in tests as this thread is about limited overs cricket. Comprehension skills my friend, lots of room for improvement there.

Good to see some indian fans have started respecting Dhoni again after abusing him, calling him buddha, politician and what not. He has set the bar so high that now even they feel honoured when a firangi coach compare their Golden boy Pandya to him. :inti

Nice diverting strategy.