Is Haris Sohail's International career over?

I've had the pleasure of watching Haris bat in real life sitting in the stands in several games, and I can honestly say the man is pure class. He is lightyears ahead of the current middle order. His ability to perform in key moments is truly special. This man NEEDS to be back in our side without delay.

People laughed but on pure talent Haris is ahead of even Babar...

Ofcourse to reach that level you need hard work, game awareness

That's what separates the best from the rest

I've had the pleasure of watching Haris bat in real life sitting in the stands in several games, and I can honestly say the man is pure class. He is lightyears ahead of the current middle order. His ability to perform in key moments is truly special. This man NEEDS to be back in our side without delay.

I'm sure you're not talking about the guy who scored a grand total of 28 runs in recent test series in New Zealand .

People laughed but on pure talent Haris is ahead of even Babar...

Ofcourse to reach that level you need hard work, game awareness

That's what separates the best from the rest

I'm not sure about that as Barbar is supremely talented mashallah. However Haris is truly gifted. He is certainly a more talented batsman than Rizwaan and Rizwaan is himself excellent.

I smoke all day and I am probably fitter then 90% of people my age. Closer to the game, I am sure many so called fit cricketers also smoke. I rather have Harris then the likes of Asif Ali, Nawaz or Danish Aziz.
A fat guy in the long run will be healthier than you in the old age..

Smoking is the worst thing one can do for your health/fitness

I'm sure you're not talking about the guy who scored a grand total of 28 runs in recent test series in New Zealand .

That's red ball cricket. Since when is selection for limited overs cricket based on test match performances? Which other nation in the World does that.

Haris has a problem in red ball cricket where his open bat face leaves him susceptible to edging behind to the slip cordon. That doesn't happen in white ball cricket. In white ball cricket, he has performed brilliantly whenever it has mattered.

A fat guy in the long run will be healthier than you in the old age..

Smoking is the worst thing one can do for your health/fitness

And there is high risk that a chain smoker will have difficulty in breathing when in 40s and will die of Lung or bladder cancer in his 50s. Smoking is nothing but a slow poisoning.

I'm not sure about that as Barbar is supremely talented mashallah. However Haris is truly gifted. He is certainly a more talented batsman than Rizwaan and Rizwaan is himself excellent.

Ofcourse Babar is talented you can't reach that level without being talented

But I was watching a Babar interview he himself said about Haris that he is extremely talented (with awe) but stays in his room all day (hinting towards him being lazy)

When saying "natural talent" it doesn't mean he is a better batsman cause even UA is very talented but you need a lot more in cricket to be successful

Talent alone won't cut it

Ofcourse Babar is talented you can't reach that level without being talented

But I was watching a Babar interview he himself said about Haris that he is extremely talented (with awe) but stays in his room all day (hinting towards him being lazy)

When saying "natural talent" it doesn't mean he is a better batsman cause even UA is very talented but you need a lot more in cricket to be successful

Talent alone won't cut it

Whilst I agree that both Barbar and Haris are extremely talented, and that Babar has applied that talent much better than Haris has, I still maintain that Babar is more talented than not just Haris, but just about any batsman to come from Pakistan in recent times.

Getting back to the point of the thread, I think we both agree that Haris should be in this team and also that Haris himself should be more proactive in keeping himself fit.

Nothing personal, I strongly believe one has be a sportsman first before becoming a cricketer. And if someone smokes and doesn't care about his fitness-------and has been a failure lately , he should not be considered for national team selection.

If Harris was fit he would make the team in odis easily but he isn't so he should not make the squad.

M Wasim has already said that fitness isn’t the only criteria for selection do let’s see. Is Harris at the NCA right now working on his game?

Haris Sohail makes a return to the Pakistan ODI squad for England and West Indies tours:

Mohammad Wasim : “Mohammad Abbas has regained his form, Naseem Shah and Haris Sohail have reclaimed the required fitness standards, while Imad Wasim has been recalled considering the T20 World Cup is likely to be held in the UAE and he enjoys an excellent record there.

“Haris Sohail has reclaimed the required fitness standards. Middle-order is an area of concern, which is why we have made changes to strengthen that area"

Haris Sohail makes a return to the Pakistan ODI squad for England and West Indies tours:

Mohammad Wasim : “Mohammad Abbas has regained his form, Naseem Shah and Haris Sohail have reclaimed the required fitness standards, while Imad Wasim has been recalled considering the T20 World Cup is likely to be held in the UAE and he enjoys an excellent record there.

“Haris Sohail has reclaimed the required fitness standards. Middle-order is an area of concern, which is why we have made changes to strengthen that area"

Strange ways to bring him back in - not sure why he wasnt there in the first place and what he did to improve himself?

A lot of chopping and changing by M Wasim which is keeping all the players on their toes.

Whether this is deliberate or not, it is actually a good thing if you know what I mean.

I expect Imad and Haris to come back with a vengeance of a performance and that will be great for our cricket.

A lot of chopping and changing by M Wasim which is keeping all the players on their toes.

Whether this is deliberate or not, it is actually a good thing if you know what I mean.

I expect Imad and Haris to come back with a vengeance of a performance and that will be great for our cricket.

Or maybe they will be more complacent knowing that they made comeback based on fact that their replacement sucked and not due to some extra ordinary domestic performance.

Its ridiculous to bring back this chronically unfit player. Haris Sohail can't run, can;t field and more importantly can't score again any decent bowling.

Reality is sadly there are no alternatives for now, whatever they were they sucked even more in last tour, so can't blame the selectors, and he have domestic stats light years ahead of them. So not as bad a choice as you are making, plus it's PCB quacks who destroyed his knees, and his smoking habit made things worse.

Chalo jee at least Mohd Wasim done one good selection by selecting him.He is much better than all the hacks were tried in the middle order.He is very much needed in the team

I'd have picked him for the Test squad too.

So it looks like he's fitter now and that's the basis of his recall. Let's see if it's accurate.

Or maybe they will be more complacent knowing that they made comeback based on fact that their replacement sucked and not due to some extra ordinary domestic performance.

I doubt if they would be taking a comeback lightly, unless of course they are not serious about international cricket. Sooner or later a replacement will start firing based on the law of probabilities.

Haris was absolutely awful in NZ, so much so that Zafar Gohar looked a much better player than him. Maybe it's the injuries,or he is just lazy but he is lucky to get this chance. He needs to take it, because if I was the selectors, I would have Saud a run without pressure.

If fit, Harris is sure start in ODIs

But given how selectors work within PCB (good performing youngish batsman keep waiting until the older ones Hafeez, Malik, etc. empty the spot) Misbah really set the worst example of all

Even Inzi & Yousuf, retired at 37 (one of the modern days best players)

My XI

Sharjeel/Shan (if fit) : Shan is a decent choice, also need a confident person in a team full of timid players who get threatened easily by Misbah/Waqar
Fakhar : Good choice, but learnt how to play big innings
Babar
Rizwan/Saifi
Haris : Good batsman, can give few overs as well if needed
Imad : Good AR
Shadab : Good AR
Faheem : Okay AR (but can do well)
Hasan : Decentish batsman
Shaheen
Amir (if he returns else Haris Rauf/Naseem, or whoever)

I agree he should not be in the squad but now he is in the squad he will most likely be in the starting xi

But given how selectors work within PCB (good performing youngish batsman keep waiting until the older ones Hafeez, Malik, etc. empty the spot) Misbah really set the worst example of all

My XI

Sharjeel/Shan (if fit) : Shan is a decent choice, also need a confident person in a team full of timid players who get threatened easily by Misbah/Waqar
Babar
Rizwan/Saifi
Shaheen

Saud shakeel should have been given ago before they brought haris back In the squad

Haris Sohail looks like a changed man.

Lost a ton of weight and seems to be in very good shape aswell.

Hopefully it isn't a case of Inzamam at the 2003 World Cup and he manages to actualy do well with the bat too.

Haris Sohail looks like a changed man.

Lost a ton of weight and seems to be in very good shape aswell.

Hopefully it isn't a case of Inzamam at the 2003 World Cup and he manages to actualy do well with the bat too.

What are you basing this on btw? Link?

Haris Sohail missed today's inter-squad practice session after suffering a strain in his right leg. The team physio will assess the injury tomorrow.

Unfortunate. It doesn't do well for Haris if he keeps picking up minor injuries, the team management will probably go for Saud Shakeel now.

Another fitness concern for Haris.

He must be one the unluckiest cricketers ever.

Let's see what the medics say tomorrow - could be an early flight home for him.

Unfortunate for Haris, but there reoccurring issues and fitness concerns do not bode well for him and for the team and constant injuries creates instability and uncertainty for the management .

Get Saud Shakeel into the starting 11 and give him a good run now and see if he can cut the mustard .

Mr Moghul will be happy with this news.

You got that right, I don;t like smokers in general, particularly if one is so called sportsman , chronically unfit and non-performing.

But he was my favorite for couple of years, he was a very good batsman and I had high hopes from him. Getting injured is unfortunate but smoking and not trying to be fit and being lazy is simply stupidity.

Haris was actually badly needed for the England ODI series. His bowling offered some much needed balance in a squad with a few too many specialists.

Without him involved i guess we can look forward to seeing Shadab coming at 6.

If Harris is not fit the batting order may look something like this

Fakhar
Imam
Babar
Rizwan
Maqsood
Saud/ sarfaraz
Shadab
Faheem
Hasan
Shaheen
Rauf/hasnain

Maqsood will play . They will look to get him comfortable again with international cricket before the t20. It’s down to the management whether they go with Saud or sarfaraz.

Saud deserves a run now . Hopefully he gets it .

That sixth bowling option is missing which could be a worry .

You got that right, I don;t like smokers in general, particularly if one is so called sportsman , chronically unfit and non-performing.

But he was my favorite for couple of years, he was a very good batsman and I had high hopes from him. Getting injured is unfortunate but smoking and not trying to be fit and being lazy is simply stupidity.

The rest I can agree but non performing? His last innings was 71 the one before a match winning 50 he’s been averaging over 50 over the last 2 years. So much for non performing.

Haris Sohail injury update

Derby, 5 July 2021:

Middle-order batsman Haris Sohail is still feeling slight pain in his right leg and, as such, he will not take part in next two practice sessions scheduled on 5 and 6 July in Derby. Haris had also missed the intra-squad practice matches due to the same injury last week.

The left-handed batsman has already started his rehabilitation and will undergo an MRI scan on 6 July in Cardiff, following which decision on his availability for the 8 July ODI against England will be made.

The three-match ODI series between Pakistan and England which is also part of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League will commence from Cardiff on 8 July.

Pakistan team is scheduled to travel to Cardiff on 6 July.

Another fitness concern for Haris.

He must be one the unluckiest cricketers ever.

Let's see what the medics say tomorrow - could be an early flight home for him.

Why unlucky though, Saj?

It's not like he's an injury magnet or something. If he makes fitness a priority and works hard to improve on it, I'm sure he can overcome his never ending injury issues.

Why unlucky though, Saj?

It's not like he's an injury magnet or something. If he makes fitness a priority and works hard to improve on it, I'm sure he can overcome his never ending injury issues.

Not all the injuries have been his fault.

Incompetence on the part of medics was also a factor.

If Harris is not fit the batting order may look something like this

Fakhar
Imam
Babar
Rizwan
Maqsood
Saud/ sarfaraz
Shadab
Faheem
Hasan
Shaheen
Rauf/hasnain

Maqsood will play . They will look to get him comfortable again with international cricket before the t20. It’s down to the management whether they go with Saud or sarfaraz.

Saud deserves a run now . Hopefully he gets it .

That sixth bowling option is missing which could be a worry .

I would go with below Salman and saud can provide the 6th bowling option.saud should bat at 4 he hasnt got the power game but relies on classy shots.

Imaam
Fakhar
Babar
Saud
Rizwan
Haris if fit (salman agha)
Shadab
Fahim
Hassan Ali
Husnain
Shaheen

Not all the injuries have been his fault.

Incompetence on the part of medics was also a factor.

I mean prior to him being selected was he subjected to a Yoyo test and did he pass? What did the med reports say about his fitness before him taking off? This is ridiculous, you have a selection wasted where it could've gone to someone else. He'll be a passenger now for the rest of tour.

Well I'm led to believe that all players are selected these days only after having passed the required fitness tests.

Well how did this pass the med team then? He's always been a problem cricketer as far as injuries are concerned.

I brought up this issue before when he was selected for the NZ test series and it doesn't look like his issues are being addressed correctly. Either fix the issues or if these injuries are persistent/unfixable, unfortunately you must retire otherwise you are just wasting a space for others.

Well how did this pass the med team then? He's always been a problem cricketer as far as injuries are concerned.

I brought up this issue before when he was selected for the NZ test series and it doesn't look like his issues are being addressed correctly. Either fix the issues or if these injuries are persistent/unfixable, unfortunately you must retire otherwise you are just wasting a space for others.

It sounds like he picked up the injury while he was practising in the UK and not in Pakistan.

It's getting comical at this stage Saj, there was question marks in NZ and question marks again now, even then if you remember he didn't participate in the practise game in NZ and in the actual tests he just looked uncomfortable.

The lack of emphasis on fitness in Pak cricket has seriously become a joke and before considering the re-selection of Haris he needs to go through some training programme or something. I mean it's not as if Haris has been playing consistent cricket, he's been inactive since NZ and only played a handful of List A games in domestic.

He is already 32 officially which means he must be like 35. Personally, i think this should be the end of the road for him, it's not only the injury issues but I think he has got mental issues as well with all those ghost stories.

That was one time lol but think the injuries are just becoming a joke. I mean come on you did nothing since NZ, only played a handful of list A games. It's not as if you were playing matches back to back lol. What exactly brought about your injuries this time?

My XI

Babar
Rizwan/Saifi
Shaheen

any team with Sarfraz above Rizwan is a joke

Harris sohail is a talented batter but he has always had fitness issues and he isn't getting younger.

Joke of a player

It's comical to say the least, he's gonna be a passenger throughout this tour now again. Essentially, he's on holiday.

The med team here are to blame, this guy needs either full rehabilitation or to better yet retire.

He's not available for the 1st ODI.

They are waiting for the MRI scan results and will then see if he can play in the 2nd or 3rd ODIs.

Now that haris is not fit enough for the first odi saud shakeel should be garrenteed in the final xi.

Haris Sohail has been ruled out from the tour of England due to a hamstring injury. The MRI conducted here on Wednesday revealed a grade three tear injury, which he had picked up during a training session in Derby last week.

The PCB medical panel has advised the left-handed middle-order batsman to undergo a four-week rehabilitation programme before a reassessment is carried out.

Haris, who was selected for the ODIs only, will return to Pakistan to undergo the rehabilitation programme at the National High Performance Centre in Lahore.

Haris Sohail: “I was keenly looking forward to the ODIs as part of my objective to contribute in the side’s success and also cement my position in the side. In this background, I am disappointed that my tour has been cut-short, but I will return to Lahore and undergo a rehabilitation programme so that I can fully recover for the 2021-22 season.”

A three-match ODI series between Pakistan and England will commence later today, which will be followed by three T20Is on 16, 18 and 20 July. The side will depart for the West Indies on 21 July were they will play five T20Is and two Tests from 27 July to 24 August.

Haris Sohail has been ruled out from the tour of England due to a hamstring injury. The MRI conducted here on Wednesday revealed a grade three tear injury, which he had picked up during a training session in Derby last week.

The PCB medical panel has advised the left-handed middle-order batsman to undergo a four-week rehabilitation programme before a reassessment is carried out.

Haris, who was selected for the ODIs only, will return to Pakistan to undergo the rehabilitation programme at the National High Performance Centre in Lahore.

Haris Sohail: “I was keenly looking forward to the ODIs as part of my objective to contribute in the side’s success and also cement my position in the side. In this background, I am disappointed that my tour has been cut-short, but I will return to Lahore and undergo a rehabilitation programme so that I can fully recover for the 2021-22 season.”

A three-match ODI series between Pakistan and England will commence later today, which will be followed by three T20Is on 16, 18 and 20 July. The side will depart for the West Indies on 21 July were they will play five T20Is and two Tests from 27 July to 24 August.

Unlucky for him.

While we can say it’s been unlucky for him to get so many injuries in his career especially at times when all looked set for in Pak team - but seriously has Haris Sohail ever looked like a international level sportsman in terms of physique and fitness ? You would think if he took things seriously he would worked even harder on improving fitness in recent years and if that means changing diet and giving up Favourite desi foods etc , spending hours in the gym doing cardio and weights … there would have been some result, but it clearly doesn’t look like it.

Really sad that he is our second best middle order batter for ODIs and he gets injured before a very important series not just for the team but for his career too.

Now it's been 7 years since he's been with the PCB and should know better about their medical staff (actually physiotherapists, doubt there's a proper orthopedist or sports physician in PCB's medical staff).

He should take his fitness goals upon himself, hire himself a good trainer, dietician and go see a good orthopedist or someone with sports medicine affiliation.

Yes, that seems to be the case.

He has so much ability but no desire and hunger (for runs). A very lazy individual who has refused to work hard and make up for his lost time.

His decision to chicken out of the England tour last summer was the beginning of the end for him.

OMG!! I for once agree with Mamoon 😲

How can he get such an injury - must be lack of warmup or just not conditioned right?

This guy is a waste if space. Don’t know why they bother selecting him.

How can he get such an injury - must be lack of warmup or just not conditioned right?

Lack of fitness and conditioning. Let be honest hes most likely 35 plus and with his attitude towards fitness throughout his career at this age he will keep getting small injuries..

He should be dropped for good now.

Seen it with my own eyes…outside a restaurant during CT17. And was the only one smoking.

That played a big part in his downfall. Such a shame, PCB quacks, His smoking and above all his lack of will and hunger for becoming the best version of himself and keeping his shape are biggest reasons. Plus he was made to debut late. He must have been a regular from 2010 till 2023, and he had talent to be a great all format player and reliable finisher. Only weakness was vs quality bouncers otherwise guy was a complete package and second best batsman after Babar post Yk. He could have 10k test and ODI runs and also a good consolidator in T20s as well specially pre babar era. But now it's time to move on. He ain't worth the trouble and investment.

Dude is over weight and smokes cigarettes way too much but but but lets not forget the amazing cover drive he played in WC 2015. He's as lucky as Azhar Ali to have Misbah and Waqar treat him like he's the next legend in the making. Even after all this support all of Misbah & Waqar's chose players have completely failed.

I hate this guy so much inspite of his talent. Total opposite of a clutch player. Always goes missing in crisis

He is lazier than a sloth and has the fitness of my grandma, but in spite of that, he should be drafted back into the team right away.

A disinterested, unfit Haris is still miles better than most of the ODI batsmen in the country.

When he is in form, he is clear of Babar as well.

He is lazier than a sloth and has the fitness of my grandma, but in spite of that, he should be drafted back into the team right away.

A disinterested, unfit Haris is still miles better than most of the ODI batsmen in the country.

When he is in form, he is clear of Babar as well.

I don't agree with the statement itself, but even if we assume that to be true, you have to prioritize good team culture over short-term rewards, as with the former you'll actually bear a fruitful future.

The way ECB dealt with Alex Hales just before the WC is a good modern example of how you demonstrate the importance of fostering a "team-first" environment and promote absolute commitment to the team's cause. There's a reason why players like Stokes, Curran, etc. have been popping in the ENG camp recently, who have very little regard for personal success and are only concerned with winning the game for their team in any capacity possible.

I don't agree with the statement itself, but even if we assume that to be true, you have to prioritize good team culture over short-term rewards, as with the former you'll actually bear a fruitful future.

The way ECB dealt with Alex Hales just before the WC is a good modern example of how you demonstrate the importance of fostering a "team-first" environment and promote absolute commitment to the team's cause. There's a reason why players like Stokes, Curran, etc. have been popping in the ENG camp recently, who have very little regard for personal success and are only concerned with winning the game for their team in any capacity possible.

You cannot establish standards when you are scraping at the bottom of the barrel. ECB could discard Hales because they are overloaded with batting talent in the shorter formats. They have more than a dozen modern batsmen.

Stokes did worse things than Hales but ECB did not pull the plug on his career because he is legendary material.

There are only 2-3 quality ODI batsmen in Pakistan and Haris is one of them. Pakistan cannot keep selecting inferior players just for the sake of team culture etc.

He is our best ODI player. Unfortunately, his fitness issues won't go away.