Is Karachi Kings' preference for the wrong players causing them to be a bad franchise?

Major

Last season, Karachi won only 1 game and lost its all other games. Much blame was placed on Babar Azam by Amir, Imad Waseem and a few fans.

The funny thing is, Karachi Kings once had the following players:

Babar Azam
Rizwan
Mohammad Harris
Abrar Ahmad
Iftikhar Ahmad
Usama Mir
Abbar Afridi

Colin Munro
David Wiese
Liam Livingstone
Sikander Raza
Colin Ingram
Ben Dunk
Cameron Delport
Noor Ahmad

All these talented guys were let go by Karachi Kings and ended up playing for other teams for a long period of time and teams were built around some of these guys. The youngsters mentioned ended up improving as cricketers.

Karachi King kept only three players, Imad, Amir and Sharjeel.
They had the audacity to blame Babar and say Rizwan wasn't good enough

Waseem Akram whines alot about players on the pavilion

who is calling the shots, looks like wasim bhai picking up the worst team combination with worst bowling line up in the tournament.

The best decision was to let go of Rizwan

It was the correct decision

Even Azam khan is better than Rizwan

And where is Karachi after that?

Rizwan is captaining a side, and takes his team to the play offs regularly. Look at his performance last season.

They are the worst run franchise commercially and from a sporting perspective and it is reflected by the players they pick.

I'm surprised Wasim has been getting away with this for so long.

They have no clue how to build or prepare a side.

I hope the franchise is taken away from these guys.

You will eat grass but keep hating him. Anyways he is getting lot of respect after leaving while as can't say the same for KK.

Karachi Kings last 13 matches in the Pakistan Super League:

Won 1
Lost 12

Problem is Wasim Akram has no clue on the players. He doesn't follow any domestic cricket and he can't bring the best of players. The players they let go is because of the same reason. Look at Andy flower on the opposite. He is able to bring out the best from even Shan and khushdil

They are the worst run franchise commercially and from a sporting perspective and it is reflected by the players they pick.

I'm surprised Wasim has been getting away with this for so long.

They have no clue how to build or prepare a side.

I hope the franchise is taken away from these guys.

Wasim has been getting a free salary from Karachi Kings for nothing. He is the President of the A-Sports Channel and he doesn't even work full time there because you see him go off on duties to various T-20 leagues world wide. It is criminal how he keeps getting away with things while everyone else gets the stick.

Karachi Kings last 13 matches in the Pakistan Super League:

Won 1
Lost 12

It is a disgrace that the word 'Karachi' is associated with these amateurs.

Do they even have a player development programme like other franchises or do anything to build their brand?

You have to look at the input from the likes of Wasim Akram.

What is he adding to the KK effort and plans.

Wasim Akram is wasting Salman Iqbal’s money and running potentially the most lucrative franchise into the ground. We talk about why National Stadium is always empty for KK games, well to be honest this team has nothing to do with Karachi. Not a single Karachiite is in the team and they do no local activities/talent hunts. However, this could be forgiven if they included good young talents with classy attitudes and willingness to play the game positively.

Instead Wasim has recruited notorious match fixers just like himself, unfit babloos, ancient uncles and toxic snakes, making this one of the most unlikeable teams in not just cricket, but any sport whatsoever. Watching Amir sledge and abuse simple teenagers, Imad Wasim continuously insult the Pakistan national team captain who has never said anything publicly against him & Sharjeel Khan struggling to move in the field, even the most passionate Karachiite would be turned away from this team. At this point ‘Waz’ should create a world record for most disgusting team and bring Wahab and Kamran Akmal into the team also.

Amazing how people are starting to take a lot of concern at KKs slump now that Amir and Imad are back

Where was this concern last year when Babar’s rubbish captaincy was exposed?

Amazing how people are starting to take a lot of concern at KKs slump now that Amir and Imad are back

You can't really blame them because you were the one trumpeting forecasts of great times for Karachi with Babar gone.

When you dish it out, then be prepared to get some back too.

thats the thing. was it reallly babar's captaincy that was the cause? Cause Babar is not the captain anymore, yet the results are still the same.

Wasim Akram is wasting Salman Iqbal’s money and running potentially the most lucrative franchise into the ground. We talk about why National Stadium is always empty for KK games, well to be honest this team has nothing to do with Karachi. Not a single Karachiite is in the team and they do no local activities/talent hunts. However, this could be forgiven if they included good young talents with classy attitudes and willingness to play the game positively.

Instead Wasim has recruited notorious match fixers just like himself, unfit babloos, ancient uncles and toxic snakes, making this one of the most unlikeable teams in not just cricket, but any sport whatsoever. Watching Amir sledge and abuse simple teenagers, Imad Wasim continuously insult the Pakistan national team captain who has never said anything publicly against him & Sharjeel Khan struggling to move in the field, even the most passionate Karachiite would be turned away from this team. At this point ‘Waz’ should create a world record for most disgusting team and bring Wahab and Kamran Akmal into the team also.

Spot on. Wasim is a fraud. He has no clue. He should stick to analysis. Legendary fast bowler but that doesn't mean He knows anything about running a franchise...

As for these Kings players..useless. a terrible team and combination...and then imad has the audacity to say they bowled well lol..joke..

Yes ofcourse. One franchise won the tournament convincingly and has been to multiple finals whilst the other fluked their way to a title based on the runs of the guy they traded away.

Guess which franchise Rizwan plays for

You can't really blame them because you were the one trumpeting forecasts of great times for Karachi with Babar gone.

When you dish it out, then be prepared to get some back too.

Patience

It’s a virtue

We'll get a clearer picture of KK at the end of this tournament I think.

If they flop again like last time, then they need a clear-out at the top and amongst the players. However if they go the way of Quetta, then nothing will change.

thats the thing. was it reallly babar's captaincy that was the cause? Cause Babar is not the captain anymore, yet the results are still the same.

Well, they were not even competitive under Babar

Today the overseas players let down Imad tbf

Babar’s captaincy absolutely played a part in their terrible season last year, but its role was overstated. In the first instance, Karachi are just terrible, terrible, terrible at forming a squad.

The best squads have effective local players and emerging players first and foremost. Why is someone like Aamir Yamin in their squad? Why is a Faisal Akram drafted if he never ever plays. Why is Qasim Akram dropped after 1 performance?

Why is the fast bowling attack Aamir + miscellaneous?!

I think their squad is better than last year, but they need to sort out their team combo quickly.

Imad is a good captain

InshaAllah things will get better for him

I have always maintained that Wasim is one of the worst cricketing analysts in Pakistan.

He has no clue how to build a team. He keeps retaining the toxic players and picks over-the-hill and TTFs in the draft.

They are starting to look rather silly now

All the trash talking by Wasim Amir and Imad at the national captain when they indirectly blamed him for the performances last year

Look at them now Looks like theyve been brought back down to earth Whats happened to Imads positive captaincy he was going on about?

All the trash talking by Wasim Amir and Imad at the national captain when they indirectly blamed him for the performances last year

Look at them now Looks like theyve been brought back down to earth Whats happened to Imads positive captaincy he was going on about?

His captaincy is still miles better than Babar’s

thats the thing. there was soo much trash talk by karachi and that to directed at babar. If you are going to trash talk atleast back it up with some performance. THey placed the whole blame on the one guy and now look.

They traded and gave away every player that turned out to be a match winner for other teams.

Well maybe he should have scored a 15 ball 17* and padded his stats a little bit at the back end of the innings

Probably would have made a difference between winning and losing the game…

Scoring 0 runs rarely wins you games…

No they come across as positive

They will start winning soon.

thats the thing. there was soo much trash talk by karachi and that to directed at babar. If you are going to trash talk atleast back it up with some performance. THey placed the whole blame on the one guy and now look.

They traded and gave away every player that turned out to be a match winner for other teams.

Exactly Its better to let your bat and ball do the talking because your gonna end up looking rather silly if you continue to lose like this

And imad has the audacity to court the t20 captaincy Bhai mere first perform and win some games for your team

Exactly Its better to let your bat and ball do the talking because your gonna end up looking rather silly if you continue to lose like this

And imad has the audacity to court the t20 captaincy Bhai mere first perform and win some games for your team

Imad has been performing

World class 80* in the first game
Beautiful bowling on a tough track for bowlers today

He has been the best cricketer so far in the PSL. Early days

Worse run franchise They scapegoated babar Will imad accept the blame as captain for the losses so far

Is Babar's captaincy any better for Pakistan? That's the question we need to ask ourselves.

I actually thank [MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION] for creating this thread because I know this is one thread I’ll be bumping quite regularly

Is Babar's captaincy any better for Pakistan? That's the question we need to ask ourselves.

We understand that many people have an unhealthy obsession with Babar but why do you feel it is necessary to ask ourselves this question?

Karachi's issues are shameful and go beyond peoples vendettas with individual players.

Wasim and the franchise owners must hang their heads in shame.

[/B]

We understand that many people have an unhealthy obsession with Babar but why do you feel it is necessary to ask ourselves this question?

Karachi's issues are shameful and go beyond peoples vendettas with individual players.

Wasim and the franchise owners must hang their heads in shame.

Major was wondering whether Babar's captaincy at KK was being affected by the players around him.

If that's really the case why is his captaincy so bad for Pakistan?

I'm pretty sure the vast majority of Pakistan fans here don't rate him as captain, so if they ridicule him for what it is does that mean they also have an unhealthy obsession?

How is Babars captaincy bad in internationals. Maybe tests but his record in white ball is decent and we have done well in most international tournaments. Maybe he let's the game slip and is not innovative but we do not have the personnel to be innovative.

4-3 loss at home v England

2-1 loss at home v New Zealand

That’s what happens when it’s not the C teams of nations I’m afraid. Although England did rest its key players when they were demolishing Pakistan in their back yard

World cup semis
Asia cup final
World cup final
Tri series in New Zealand

I would expect this england team to beat us at home. Probably shouldn't have lost to New Zealand. Other than that White ball results are okay.

He is not a tactical genius but he has built a competitive united team.

World cup semis
Asia cup final
World cup final
Tri series in New Zealand

I would expect this england team to beat us at home. Probably shouldn't have lost to New Zealand. Other than that White ball results are okay.

He is not a tactical genius but he has built a competitive united team.

Erm, no he hasn’t.

Pakistan’s semi final in 2021 was mainly due to winning the toss against India and NZ. Plus Asif Ali saving them against NZ and Afghanistan

Pakistan progressed to the final of the Asia cup because of Naseem’s freakish two sixes. They were beaten comprehensively by Sri Lanka twice following

Pakistan progressed to the next round of the 2022 World Cup because of South Africa’s choke to Netherlands

Yes, we should have lost 6-1 or 7-0 against England resting it’s best players. But we also lost comprehensively against them in the final

Persist with Babar actually. Abhi humne aur Zaleel hona hai it seems

Major was wondering whether Babar's captaincy at KK was being affected by the players around him.

I'm pretty sure the vast majority of Pakistan fans here don't rate him as captain, so if they ridicule him for what it is does that mean they also have an unhealthy obsession?

Babar probably asked KK to release Imad and Amir because then he could bring in a couple of more friends

They must have told him that this isn’t the Pakistan cricket team and Salman Iqbal isn’t Ramiz Raja or Muhammad Waseem

I’ve played lots of cricket and sport

It’s easy to be United behind a captain that will persist with you and his friendship circle regardless of how poor your performances are.

Of course we would look United if Usman Qadir, Shan Masood and Khushdil shah are getting free rides to NZ and Australia in 5* hotels because Babar loves unity

Chalo I disagree that the Karachi fiasco is down to captaincy. It's structural issues, poor analysis and shocking player picks such as Andrew Tye.

But if you feel that Karachi is let down by Babar and now Imad as captaincy then I respect your opinion.

This Franchise is the perfect example of how not to run a Franchise and how Big players don't necessarily translate into great coaches, mentors or managers. Wasim had great success at Kolkatta Knight riders but it appears he had a great team there to help him out unlike Karachi Kings.

Erm, no he hasn’t.

Pakistan’s semi final in 2021 was mainly due to winning the toss against India and NZ. Plus Asif Ali saving them against NZ and Afghanistan

Pakistan progressed to the final of the Asia cup because of Naseem’s freakish two sixes. They were beaten comprehensively by Sri Lanka twice following

Pakistan progressed to the next round of the 2022 World Cup because of South Africa’s choke to Netherlands

Yes, we should have lost 6-1 or 7-0 against England resting it’s best players. But we also lost comprehensively against them in the final

England won the final because shaheen afridi got injured- same logic as you.

Lol

They would have won whether he got injured or not. Otherwise Pakistan would have won their semi against Australia too with a fully fit Shaheen

Erm, no he hasn’t.

Its the players job to score runs wkts and help win matches

If Asif Ali hit those 6s against Afghanistan he wasnt saving anyone but performing his role

Ditto any other player actually putting in a performance

Pakistan has a pretty decent rep in intnl white ball cricket esp t20 world cricket where we have got to a semi and final. Its people like you that are making the team zaleel by your irrational and biased rants in every thread

Oh yes Australia only won the semi because umpire didn't give Marsh out and Hasan dropped a catch. They were lucky. Also same logic

Lol

They would have won whether he got injured or not. Otherwise Pakistan would have won their semi against Australia too with a fully fit Shaheen

Oh yes and Warner was clearly out?

In all honesty I would rather he not captain because of his value as a player but we have a history of non performing captains. As soon as someone becomes captain they dip massively. Sarfaraz and Azhar Ali being recent examples.

Chalo I disagree that the Karachi fiasco is down to captaincy. It's structural issues, poor analysis and shocking player picks such as Andrew Tye.

But if you feel that Karachi is let down by Babar and now Imad as captaincy then I respect your opinion.

I actually agree with your take on Karachi's struggles. I think that's the primary reason for them struggling.

Captaincy wise, I do think Imad is a better captain because he's a natural leader and also because he possess more tactical nous than Babar. The main problem he's had so far is that the overseas players like Wade, Vince, Cutting and etc are not clicking.

Babar's track record as captain is bad for every team he's led. That's the difference. I don't just look at the results. The eye test and the persona is important as well.

On the field he's a more reactive type of a captain rather than a proactive one because he doesn't really have a clue with how to use his bowlers and set his fields at different stages of the game, for e.g. he doesn't know when to go for the kill with his best bowlers when the opportunity arises. This could be for a number reasons but it's blindingly obvious to me he has poor game awareness.

Also as a captain, you should lead from the front as a batsman and be able to play selflessly for the greater good of the team. This is where Imad excels and where Babar fails.

In addition to the above, I believe there are two kinds of leaders. Those who are born with it (natural leaders) and those who've learnt it (Kane Williamson and Steve Smith). I always prefer natural leaders because they can have the charm to bring the best out of their players. Babar isn't a natural leader but a timid individual which is certainly not a desirable trait for a captain of his nation. It's for this reason why I've always been vehemently against his appointment as Pakistan skipper.

Imad might be just above average in terms of the skills he posses but the reason why he punches above his weight is because of his elite mentality. He believes he can win and outperform his opponents no matter what situation he's in. This calm nature of his helped Pakistan win against Afghanistan in that 2019 World Cup when he played a clutch knock under immense pressure. Most of the other players in his side (including Babar) would have crumbled in the same situation due to all the wickets at the other end because they just don't have that same mentality.

Babar is certainly more gifted and the better cricketer overall but I think his timid nature isn't bringing the best of his batting abilities and it's affecting the leadership as well as the unity of the Pakistan side. With that being case, it makes sense for him to be relieved from captaincy duties because the responsibility of leading and batting is simply too much of burden for him.

After Babar left Karachi
Now I support all other teams but not Karach.
Too much arrogance
0 performance

Lol

I actually agree with your take on Karachi's struggles. I think that's the primary reason for them struggling.

Captaincy wise, I do think Imad is a better captain because he's a natural leader and also because he possess more tactical nous than Babar. The main problem he's had so far is that the overseas players like Wade, Vince, Cutting and etc are not clicking.

Babar's track record as captain is bad for every team he's led. That's the difference. I don't just look at the results. The eye test is important as well.

On the field he's a more reactive type of a captain rather than a proactive one because he doesn't really have a clue with how to use his bowlers and set his fields at different stages of the game, for e.g. he doesn't know when to go for the kill with his best bowlers when the opportunity arises. This could be for a number reasons but it's blindingly obvious to me he has poor game awareness.

Also as a captain, you should lead from the front as a batsman and be able to play selflessly for the greater good of the team. This is where Imad excels and where Babar fails.

In addition to the above, I believe there are two kinds of leaders. Those who are born with it (natural leaders) and those who've learnt it (Kane Williamson and Steve Smith). I always prefer natural leaders because they can have the charm to bring the best out of their players. Babar isn't a natural leader but a timid individual which is certainly not a desirable trait for a captain of his nation. It's for this reason why I've always been vehemently against his appointment as Pakistan skipper.

Imad might be just above average in terms of the skills he posses but the reason why he punches above his weight is because of his elite mentality. He believes he can win and outperform his opponents no matter what situation he's in. This calm nature of his helped Pakistan win against Afghanistan in that 2019 World Cup when he played a clutch knock under immense pressure. Most of the other players in his side (including Babar) would have crumbled in the same situation due to all the wickets at the other end because they just don't have that same mentality.

Babar is certainly more gifted and the better cricketer overall but I think his timid nature isn't bringing the best of his batting abilities and it's affecting the leadership as well as the unity of the Pakistan side. With that being case, it makes sense for him to be relieved from captaincy duties because the responsibility of leading and batting is simply too much of burden for him.

How would you classify Misbah. I felt hafeez was a really good captain. I like Imads mentality, I'd like to see him as odi number 4.

Babar probably asked KK to release Imad and Amir because then he could bring in a couple of more friends

They must have told him that this isn’t the Pakistan cricket team and Salman Iqbal isn’t Ramiz Raja or Muhammad Waseem

This wouldn't surprise me one bit. Knowing that Babar is a timid individual, he would want his mates for greater security in order to build the comfort zone that he desires.

How would you classify Misbah. I felt hafeez was a really good captain. I like Imads mentality, I'd like to see him as odi number 4.

I don't know what it was. Only God knows.

They made a mess of the draft last season.

This time around they've got a better squad, but some of the picks are still weak. A few players who have flopped at other teams and ended up at KK.

Right move

No one has time to babysit players.

Not babysitting understanding what his role has been when he has played in previews seasons and national cup.Qasim should be batting down the order and bowling some overs.

4-3 loss at home v England

2-1 loss at home v New Zealand

That’s what happens when it’s not the C teams of nations I’m afraid. Although England did rest its key players when they were demolishing Pakistan in their back yard

Pakistan were also missing key playera likeFakhar, Shaheen and Shadab so were not full strength,resting players excuse has no value. Most top teams like England have big squads of quality players. Losing to England is no shame, even though I am no fan of Babar's captaincy.

Pakistan were also missing key playera like Shaheen and Shadab so were not full strength,resting players excuse has no value. Most top teams like England have big squads of quality players. Losing to England is no shame, even though I am no fan of Babar's captaincy.

Losing to England at home with your same outdated strategy of two anchors opening is shameful

It deserves crucifixion of biblical times!

Losing to England at home with your same outdated strategy of two anchors opening is shameful

It deserves crucifixion of biblical times!

Replacing two quality players with overweight palwaans isnt gonna mean this team will beat england or bring the world cup home

This is cricket Not khushti

Poor KK.
Got blown away by 2 overseas gun players.
TKC in first game and Munro in 2nd.

Selfish players from top to bottom crying to be in Pakistan team.

Sharjeel and Haider batted way too slow on a 200+ pitch

Malik did his best at 180SR, but that drop was criminal.

Amir 2nd game in a row is just abusing batsmen because he can’t generate any pace to worry newbies.

Imad seems like a lone soldier, even the foreign bunch just seems like some players collecting their pay check. Wade was making expressions on Tye bowling as if he was bowling 150Kph thunderbolts.

KK is hopeless, big let down so far.

Imad is only guy i would consider worthy of selection. Nawaz has been bottling it up lately so any competition is good. Rest of the team is crap including Fixmir.

They made a mess of the draft last season.

This time around they've got a better squad, but some of the picks are still weak. A few players who have flopped at other teams and ended up at KK.

its their preferences.

They have had all those players that became match winners in other teams. Heck, they had Mr. Cricketer of the year and Mr. T20 player of the year. They had Iftikhar AHmad aswell.

All three great players, yet they found issues in those players and not in the management itself.

You can give Karachi Kings Shaheen Afridi and Virat Kohli and even than this team would come dead last. The management clearly has no idea how to run things.

It only won a psl because Dean Jones was the coach there and was able to keep a few of the guys, but Salman Iqbal, Imad Waseem and Amir have totally destroyed this team

Babar’s captaincy absolutely played a part in their terrible season last year, but its role was overstated. In the first instance, Karachi are just terrible, terrible, terrible at forming a squad.

The best squads have effective local players and emerging players first and foremost. Why is someone like Aamir Yamin in their squad? Why is a Faisal Akram drafted if he never ever plays. Why is Qasim Akram dropped after 1 performance?

Why is the fast bowling attack Aamir + miscellaneous?!

I think their squad is better than last year, but they need to sort out their team combo quickly.

thats my point.

Babar Azam is not a good captain, that I agree with and have been saying that in the Pakistan team he shouldn't be the captain.

But to blame him for karachis bad performance was ridiculous. To make him the target and scape goat was also ridiculous. All KK had to do was kick Imad, Amir, Sharjeel and Waseem Akram out. Instead they kicked out the Cricketer of the year thinking he was the reason why they were bad.

I absolutely agree that their bowling is Amir and miscellaneous. And Amir himself doesnt want to improve, he wants to do his own routines..

Well guess what, new psl, and KK is still dead last.

The amount of trash talking this team did really got on my nerve and that too against the national captain. I dont like Babar's captaincy, but atleast show some respect. Imad and Amir would run on twitter to kiss up to Kohli yet the words were muted when Babar won ICC's top award.

Toxic team culture.

Remember, this is the same team under Shoaib Malik that did not allow Ravi Bopara bowl even though in the game before that he picked 5-6 wickets. Malik got dropped afterwards and Bopara was made captain...

Want them to lose every match. It was clearly not babars fault last season. He was scoring 50s regularly and guiding the team. Hoping to see peshawar and all other teams fighting it out but karachi

No offense people from karachi. I just dont like the players in this team. Problematic attitudes throughout