Is Karachi Kings' preference for the wrong players causing them to be a bad franchise?

KK unlike any other franchise is yet to produce a young player that they can associate with as KK's brand. Babar came closest to that but, he was already destined for what he achieved as well as reasonably established in international circuit so while KK deserve some credit but not all. Imad and Amir are in their 30s and were already established in international circuit, its not like KK brought them to light.

So KK is yet to develop a young player or any player in whiteball cricket which takes their brand forward and that has been reflective in their performances as well.

Other teams,

LQ (Shaheen, Rauf, Fakhar - All played for LQ before debuting for Pak)
IU (Shadab, Rumman, Asif, Wasim Jr, Talat (Not there anymore), again all played for IU before debuting for Pak)
PZ (Hassan Ali, Haider (both not there anymore but PZ brought them into eyes, Mohammad Haris)
QG (Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Hasnain, some credit for Naseem's white ball development)
MS (Shahnawaz Dahani, Mohammad Rizwan's growth in white ball format, Khushdil Shah)

One more time for you especially

Babar ho ya na ho, koi farq nahi parhta. God honest truth brother

Ok so have now established that KK did not end up on the floor in PSL 7 due to Babar.

I’m talking about batting

KK made good scores without Babar. It’s you people who say Pakistan would get bowled out less than 120 if Babar and Rizwan don’t play selfishly

They often had the strongest squads in the PSLs over the years particularly the early seasons and still flopped. I think they're just a franchise associated with failure and underperforming. Even the players are pointing knives at each other to who's at fault. It's a difficult thing to overcome. They've also tarnished their image with Amir, Sharjeel and Gibbs. Then public spat between Wasim, Imad and Babar. I can't imagine the Karachi camp is probably the most pleasant atmosphere to be in.

Change is needed.

Problem is that owners get too scared of taking on the likes of Wasim Akram etc at the helm.

They need to take bold decisions and leave the yaree dostee for dinner parties.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Karachi Kings last 14 matches in the Pakistan Super League:<br><br>Won 1<br>Lost 13<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PSL8?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PSL8</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1627002482869039104?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 18, 2023</a></blockquote>

They Karachi are not even sure what thier best XI is.Some of the overseas fast bowlers They have picked are club level cricketers.Malik should have bowled 1/2 overs it was also a mistake in dropping Qasim whilst he should have been brought down the order instead.

The KK owners ARY group are perhaps the most loaded among the Franchise owners but they at best devote 1-2 months to the Franchise in the year, no player development programs, no merchandising, no branding, no cafes, no perfumes, nothing and they are happy to accept mediocrity year after year and no urgency to change the players, coaching staff, management staff either.

Will be happy if some other investor can take over this franchise.

The KK owners ARY group are perhaps the most loaded among the Franchise owners but they at best devote 1-2 months to the Franchise in the year, no player development programs, no merchandising, no branding, no cafes, no perfumes, nothing and they are happy to accept mediocrity year after year and no urgency to change the players, coaching staff, management staff either.

Will be happy if some other investor can take over this franchise.

There is very little thinking from the top. If you ask me what each franchises strategy is, it’s clear:

ISLU: Aggressive, long batting orders with foreign top order and bowlers that can bat.

LQ: Formidable bowling with spare parts made from their own Player Development Programme

QG: Nadeem Omar’s franchise regulars (including LPL and T10 lads), a couple of big foreign names and a couple of emerging foreign players.

PZ: Formidable Foreign middle order, smart picks of young emerging cricketers from the domestic scene.

MS: Data.

KK: Apparent mentality monsters. And Vibes. That’s it.

I have said it before and will say it again. The problem is with clueless coach Wasim Akram. He's behind removal of players he doesn't like. Everyone who left this franchise has bloomed since Wasim has no idea of the local players. Even Inzi recently said that he gets angry so easily. He had dropped Malik from WT20 squad only to praise him in studio that he should be there. Again shows he has no clue. Wasim in his own time was involved in grouping and infighting, it's expected that he would be doing similar poltics here also.

What is wasim akram doing . He hardly knows domestic circuit . He is disinterested

Ramiz Raja takes a dig at KK management:

"Karachi Kings have to change their think tank and mentors because they are sticking with the same management for a number of years now and you have to put break at some point. They have to decide to make changes if they don’t end up in top three this season,"

"If you don’t make changes, it leads to mediocrity and that eventually hurts the Pakistan Super League"

I have said it before and will say it again. The problem is with clueless coach Wasim Akram. He's behind removal of players he doesn't like. Everyone who left this franchise has bloomed since Wasim has no idea of the local players. Even Inzi recently said that he gets angry so easily. He had dropped Malik from WT20 squad only to praise him in studio that he should be there. Again shows he has no clue. Wasim in his own time was involved in grouping and infighting, it's expected that he would be doing similar poltics here also.

M Wasim was the (official) chief selector for WT20, not Wasim Akram.

Anyways it's true Wasim Akram doesn't know jack about domestic players and KK as a whole do poor homework in selecting players, both domestic and international.

KK has a brilliant core of Imad, Sharjeel, Amir, out of which Sharjeel has not fired in three games. They needed better picks for the rest.

The least they can do next game is replacing 37-YO Tye, 45-YO Tahir and inconsistent Haider with Fuller (at least he has pace), Shamsi (has he joined PSL yet?) and Tayyab/Qasim

There is very little thinking from the top. If you ask me what each franchises strategy is, it’s clear:

ISLU: Aggressive, long batting orders with foreign top order and bowlers that can bat.

LQ: Formidable bowling with spare parts made from their own Player Development Programme

QG: Nadeem Omar’s franchise regulars (including LPL and T10 lads), a couple of big foreign names and a couple of emerging foreign players.

PZ: Formidable Foreign middle order, smart picks of young emerging cricketers from the domestic scene.

MS: Data.

KK: Apparent mentality monsters. And Vibes. That’s it.

KK this season does seem to have gone that route of batting heavy with aggressive top, with several bowlers who can bat - Imad, Yamin (strange Yamin did not get his chance at all yesterday), Fuller, Cutting all are all-rounders.

On paper Sharjeel, Wade, Vince, Malik, Imad are brilliant players who are all capable of high Strike Rates.

First two games most bowlers were poor, third game foreign bowlers were poor. Batting has not been abysmal. Main reasons for their poor start

Weakest overseas selections out of all the teams this season.

Their best overseas signing isn't getting a game at the moment - Tabraiz Shamsi.

Weakest overseas selections out of all the teams this season.

Their best overseas signing isn't getting a game at the moment - Tabraiz Shamsi.

Do you think its because the skipper is also a left arm spinner?

Shamsi turns the ball appreciably. Perhaps he fears being overshadowed.

Karachis overseas signings been a joke. They have no choice about Wade so now have to accommodate him to open. Wade, Tahir, Tye and Fuller. Absolutely poor recruitment.

Shahid Afridi made some strong comments. He said Wasim should either devote his full time to Karachi Kings including during the off season or he should make way for someone else who will. He can't keep his fingers in so many different pies and join the team at the last minute for the PSL. That's not professionalism. Don't think Wasim will like these comments from someone his junior.

Now Shahid Afridi on Wasim Akram's case - speaking on a TV show:

"Wasim Bhai should give time to Karachi Kings if he has taken responsibility. It's not possible to lead the team from Australia. It's part of professionalism, you should give your time"

[MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION] Aaryan Khanna

Report to base! Report to base!

I still think Shamsi should replace Tahir who was lucky to be bowling at the awful pair of Baig and Ghulam.

Akif Javed looked a lot better than Musa Khan.

However the overseas guys like Cutting and Tahir aren't at their best so far.

I wonder if Shamsi is due a game soon.

They won 1 in 10 last year

Comprehensively beaten in the other 9 under Babar

ok, so in 14 games this is there 2nd win.

Is this really something to be celebrating about?

Shahid Afridi made some strong comments. He said Wasim should either devote his full time to Karachi Kings including during the off season or he should make way for someone else who will. He can't keep his fingers in so many different pies and join the team at the last minute for the PSL. That's not professionalism. Don't think Wasim will like these comments from someone his junior.

Afridi didn’t sell an ICC trophy for a few quid though did he, I think the father son dynamic is a bit different with this one mate

Everyone was deeply concerned with Karachi this season

Awww. I hope you are all feeling better now ;)

[MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION] yar what’s the solution bro

Akif Javed is twice the bowler Musa is.They also should bring in Shamsi to replace Tahir.Tayyab Tahir should be in the xi aswell.

Everyone was deeply concerned with Karachi this season

Awww. I hope you are all feeling better now ;)

Of course we all are feeling better now as Karachi just won the final of PSL 8

2 wins in the last 14 games:broad

Seems as Lahore took them easy or may be they wanted to make this tournament open for all teams :ds

Mujhe bhi reham ata hai Karachi pe

I want them to do well, but first please get rid of Wasim Akram

Seems as Lahore took them easy or may be they wanted to make this tournament open for all teams :ds

Did you hear Shaheen’s post March interview?

“We chose to bowl first so that we could give everyone a chance to bat”

[MENTION=2016]Rana[/MENTION]

I am willing to put up with Imad and Amir as long as Wasim is gone.

Wish they were better at managing the local emerging talent. Qasim Akram was outstanding in the domestic t20 tournament but benched after one game in psl. Got to give promising talent confidence and enough rope to come good.

KK is a very interesting case study of how not to run a franchise. Sold initially as the most expensive franchise, the franchise was never developed as a brand. No growth plan. No fan engagement. No plans of developing academy. No plan for scouting local or international talent. No plans for making the franchise financially competitive or viable. What they have successfully managed to do is alienating Karachi fan base from PSL. Fans have little to no interest in watching KK play and it shows with the lack of people in the stadium. A Karachi vs Lahore match would have been sold out in the past but not for this game. Seems like fans have given up on the team.
What the owners don’t realise is if they don’t make KK a brand worth investing in, they will not find the buyers for the franchise when they inevitably decide to sell it. So they’ll have to sell it for peanuts. Which does not make any financial sense.

KK is a very interesting case study of how not to run a franchise. Sold initially as the most expensive franchise, the franchise was never developed as a brand. No growth plan. No fan engagement. No plans of developing academy. No plan for scouting local or international talent. No plans for making the franchise financially competitive or viable. What they have successfully managed to do is alienating Karachi fan base from PSL. Fans have little to no interest in watching KK play and it shows with the lack of people in the stadium. A Karachi vs Lahore match would have been sold out in the past but not for this game. Seems like fans have given up on the team.
What the owners don’t realise is if they don’t make KK a brand worth investing in, they will not find the buyers for the franchise when they inevitably decide to sell it. So they’ll have to sell it for peanuts. Which does not make any financial sense.

The owner Salman Iqbal is running KK as a small ancillary project to ARY. His main goal is the advertising, promotion of ARY and ARY bought the PSL rights for two years for $24 million.

Apart from 1-2 months, the Franchise stays closed for the remaining 10 months of the year.

When the PSL franchise contracts come up for renewal, the PCB should add legal provisions ie the franchise owners need to establish the minimum set of things ie player development programs, merchandising, resteraunts, cafes, the franchises being responsible for bringing their fans to the stadium, PCB having the right to step in to control nepotistic selections in players, coaches.

PCB should also offer incentives ie tax break negotiations with the government, discounts on franchise fee payments based on performances in the points table etc

The owner Salman Iqbal is running KK as a small ancillary project to ARY. His main goal is the advertising, promotion of ARY and ARY bought the PSL rights for two years for $24 million.

Apart from 1-2 months, the Franchise stays closed for the remaining 10 months of the year.

When the PSL franchise contracts come up for renewal, the PCB should add legal provisions ie the franchise owners need to establish the minimum set of things ie player development programs, merchandising, resteraunts, cafes, the franchises being responsible for bringing their fans to the stadium, PCB having the right to step in to control nepotistic selections in players, coaches.

PCB should also offer incentives ie tax break negotiations with the government, discounts on franchise fee payments based on performances in the points table etc

It’s amazing isn’t it. For a team that should have all the resources and talent pool to run PDP programmes, they don’t do anything.

I don’t think PSL/PCB should interfere in how the franchises decide to go about their business. Otherwise it will be a bit like politics where KK will end up blaming PCB and Vice a versa for the franchise’s failings.

The realisation comes from within KK’s ownership and management group. You can’t run a professional franchise like a seth.

Shahid Afridi there to congratulate KK

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 46.388%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/l4gvtg" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Shahid Afridi on KK win

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 50%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/rhxdd0" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

For all of Afridi’s antics/Shenanigans in his playing days, man’s aged like a fine wine, in terms of his maturity. Alhamdullillah, good for him.

Ramiz Raja:

“Karachi’s planning was better in this game. They didn’t score many runs but were up for the fight,”

“They didn’t play [Andrew] Tye, asked [Matthew] Wade to open the innings and Imad Wasim also looked in great touch with the bat. Despite Amir suffering an injury, Karachi’s other bowlers also stepped up,”

I actually thank [MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION] for creating this thread because I know this is one thread I’ll be bumping quite regularly

haan bhai? You got excited after winning your first game.. You again lost and this time to Rizwan :)))

All those players you hated left karachi, and yet Karachi is losing. And all those players who hated are winning.

one more loss and they are out of the tournament

Karachi Kings have lost 3 winnable games this season

First game vs Peshawar Zalmi, they fell short by 2 runs

Second game vs Quetta Gladiators, they fell short by 2 runs

Third game vs Multan Sultans, they have fallen short by 3 runs

If i was Wasim Akram, i would be having a real go at some of the selfish players in the team especially Malik.

First game vs Peshawar Zalmi, they fell short by 2 runs

Second game vs Quetta Gladiators, they fell short by 2 runs

Third game vs Multan Sultans, they have fallen short by 3 runs

If i was Wasim Akram, i would be having a real go at some of the selfish players in the team especially Malik.

The problems go all the way to the top....

You want Wasim to have a go at Malik....but who is going to have a go at Wasim?

He brought Malik in.

So selfish players like Malik?

You do realize he almost won 2 of the games you mentioned?

Imad can't stop taking digs at Babar for friendships, liking disliking and keeps playing deadweight like Malik who treats 125 kmph bowler like Allan Donald at peak.

haan bhai? You got excited after winning your first game.. You again lost and this time to Rizwan :)))

All those players you hated left karachi, and yet Karachi is losing. And all those players who hated are winning.

one more loss and they are out of the tournament

Chal cheeteh aaj tera din hai

That Niazi guy cost them 6 runs with his poor fielding early up

That has come back to haunt them

That Niazi guy cost them 6 runs with his poor fielding early up

That has come back to haunt them

I think Multan gave them 6 back too. Malik's inability to play pace and really poor recruitment cost them, Tahir, Wade, and Cutting are not top picks. Haider Ali at platinum is a joke. Having a rookie Pakistani batter as your emerging talent is a joke.

If they had some visionary thinking they could have built a team around Rizwan, kept Haris and Abrar. Babar going is okay, you can only have one of Babar and Rizwan. Like England have Malan

Wasim Akram not happy at the turn of events, surely this must be his last PSL stint with KK if they don't get to the playoffs?

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.094%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/e52575" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

I think Multan gave them 6 back too. Malik's inability to play pace and really poor recruitment cost them, Tahir, Wade, and Cutting are not top picks. Haider Ali at platinum is a joke. Having a rookie Pakistani batter as your emerging talent is a joke.

If they had some visionary thinking they could have built a team around Rizwan, kept Haris and Abrar. Babar going is okay, you can only have one of Babar and Rizwan. Like England have Malan

It still boggles my mind that they went for Imran Tahir in their platinum category. But because they did, they deserve to see the results of that.

I don’t think they have the philosophy of building their team around a 110 in the powerplay sr player

They are not Camilla Parker Bowles Victorians

Haider Ali is making umar akmal look like Virat Kohli at this point. Single handedly gave the whole match back to MS by getting Vince out and then not accelerating when Khushdil came to bowl. Malik sab did his bit for the cause. And to think that they traded Babar for these two washed up players. The sad part is that Vince will not be here next year.

Kk is playing best cricket among all teams ..however i sincerely believe a little shuffle is required in batting order
Vince
Haider
Tayyab
Shoaib
Imad
Wade
Aamer

Weakest collection of overseas players in the tournament.

Most are over the hill yet have been picked by KK.

Now they are stuck with them.

Can’t believe qasim Akram, one of the highlights of the domestic season, is carrying drinks.

Whereas the other highlights (Saim, Ihsanullah, Usama and v recently Abrar) are getting game time from their teams and helping them win games.

That’s the contrast.

I don’t think they have the philosophy of building their team around a 110 in the powerplay sr player

But they have a philosophy of playing grandpa's in the xi.

Can’t believe qasim Akram, one of the highlights of the domestic season, is carrying drinks.

Whereas the other highlights (Saim, Ihsanullah, Usama and v recently Abrar) are getting game time from their teams and helping them win games.

That’s the contrast.

Exactly my point i made you cant expect a emerging player to perform from game one pluss he should playing as a allrounder.

They've got a decent team, just been unfortunate with injuries.

Their best xi

Matthew Wade
James Vince
Sharjeel Khan
Shoaib Malik
Tayyab Tahir
Haidar Ali
Imad Wasim
Mohammad Umar
Mohammad Amir
Tabraiz Shamsi
Imran Tahir

2 pace bowlers only because Cutting and Tye aren’t good enough imo.

Shamsi hasn’t played a single game, ranked 6th in T20is.

Haidar Ali needs to be demoted down the order, 10-15 balls is enough for him.

Shoaib Malik shouldnÂ’t be coming after 4, heÂ’s pointless against pace, especially at the death overs.

Lol probably not. Wade is striking at 120 this season and Sharjeel is not striking at all plus leaking runs. I don't think they have a philosophy.

You talk as if they are some massively performing franchise. At least Parker Bowles didn't come last

Am disappointed with Wasim Akram yet again. Given that his Franchise has now lost 4 games out of 5 in the present season, should he not man up and attend at least one post match interview to take the heat away from the team and face tough questions? He was absent in the previous season and is absent this season as well. I expected better from such a big influential figure in the dug out.