Is Misbah-ul-Haq the absolute worse thing to happen to Pakistan cricket ever?

In what universe are we forced to decide between sarfraz as captain vs. misbah as coach. misbah gave us success in tests but he damned our limited overs game for seasons to come.

2016 SF he was one of the largest reasons we lost that game, don't let the scoreboard fool you. should have been ousted from all limited overs games after that debacle.

on what basis does he deserve coach? what are his qualifications?

Misbah was a great cricketer and did a lot for us as test captain especially. But unfortunately Misbah the coach / selector has started out very disastrously. It’s a train wreck!

Dropping Abbas, Umar and Akmal and then not playing them in the 3rd T20, Imran Khan, Rahat Ali on the horizon, No Shinwari, Hafeez Malik ban, Timing of Azam captaincy before T20 wc.... All terrible decisions.

In what universe are we forced to decide between sarfraz as captain vs. misbah as coach. misbah gave us success in tests but he damned our limited overs game for seasons to come.

2016 SF he was one of the largest reasons we lost that game, don't let the scoreboard fool you. should have been ousted from all limited overs games after that debacle.

on what basis does he deserve coach? what are his qualifications?

he literally has no qualifications for the position of coach or selector. Even his biggest supporters can't argue that - its just a fact. Misbah has never been involved in managing / coaching at any level

he is a yes man, and seemingly well connected - so he got the positions.

He's good at looking defeated and coming out with sarcastic excuses. We have improved in these areas for sure.

Fostering a culture of intensity and genuine high morale and self belief are important traits of a high calibre coach. Misbah's character can never offer this. He was always the quiet unlikely captain.

Misbahs achievements as cap are overrated, we won tons of tests in uae due to saeed ajmal throwing us to victory, odi and t20 misbah was probably the worst captain we ever had arguably shouldn’t have even been in the loi teams. Always played horrible to watch cricket and now is amplifying this.

This! Especially the Ajmal part. Add Hafeez and his chucking too.

"Misbah ki waja sai bachun nay cricket dekhna chor di hai".
This is proper damage.

king misbah:Atleast Sarfaraz aur Mickey k time par kuch excitement to tha team main. Ab lagta h koshish hi nahi karte. Whitewash in T20 series and now this test series. Get ready guys for all time low rankings. King Misbah golden days are back when Pak team was 8 in odi and 7 in t20...

Was just thinking that in my early 20's I used to come so much on PP to point that Misbah il ruining our cricket. He was a poor batsman in every format, but that's fine, we have plenty of them.

His thinking, his selfishness killed our cricket.
Backed mediocre players like Asad Shafiq and Azhar Ali for a decade. Pushed for Azhar Ali to become the captain of Pakistan in ODI'S, now tests.

I can just go on and on but I really have enough of it and talking about him.

That is actually my first post regarding him since he has been named the boss of Pakistan cricket.

Thank you savior sahab for two outstanding innings defeats in Australia, but obviously everything and everyone else is blame other than this useless beghairat.

Ikhees toppon ki salami Misbah ul flop ke liyay

:salute :salute :salute

Thank you savior sahab for two outstanding innings defeats in Australia, but obviously everything and everyone else is blame other than this useless beghairat.

Ikhees toppon ki salami Misbah ul flop ke liyay

:salute :salute :salute

You should be the last person crying about Misbah.

He is the one who picked your hero Sarfraz and gave him a long run lol.

Misbah has been given way too much power and he has not earned it. He just doesn't have the qualifications right now.

They came in inheritance from Mickey’s regime. Misbah only dropped them and shown intent to find replacements but the replacements werent good enough.

They are not good enough to be playing now, especially with the T20 World cup coming up soon.
Pakistan Cant afford to take these 2 fake Experienced Players to another World Cup.

They are not good enough to be playing now, especially with the T20 World cup coming up soon.
Pakistan Cant afford to take these 2 fake Experienced Players to another World Cup.

I dont want them either but not much options are there. Ideally we should be selecting young batsmen who can accumulate and hit the boundaries when required, I cant think of many who have showed that and then performed in domestics. There are maybe few young players but they arent ready yet, however with PSL coming up and then national one day cup you never know someone might touch his potential.

Which replacements?

Haris Sohail, Umar Akmal, Ahmed Shehzad... failed

while Iftikhar has worked out decently well and Khushdil will get his chances hopefully.

This is pretty much what is available in T20s.

Haris Sohail, Umar Akmal, Ahmed Shehzad... failed

while Iftikhar has worked out decently well and Khushdil will get his chances hopefully.

This is pretty much what is available in T20s.

Harris is not a t20 batsmen. While the other 2 were bought in so that shameless misbah can bring back malik and cheater hafeez.

Haris was a poor selection especially at no3 and there are no two ways about it. Which middle order bastmen we have for T20s which you think are suitable? as I cant think of many if any.

Cheater Hafeez and Malik. Saif Badar, Zeeshan Malik, Hussain Talat. Adil Amin on top of my head. I agree that there are not many but by keep selecting these TTF's we are not finding one too.

Hussain Talat shouldn't have been dropped.
He batted decently in SA
His bowling is good enough for a couple of filler overs.
Malik And Hafeez will not be getting 3rd rate Spinners to smash and improve their strikerates in Australia

Cheater Hafeez and Malik. Saif Badar, Zeeshan Malik, Hussain Talat. Adil Amin on top of my head. I agree that there are not many but by keep selecting these TTF's we are not finding one too.

Agreed, this is in desperation to win and have something for the world T20. Saif Badar, Zeeshan Malik (He is an opener) need one breakthrough season. Regarding Hussain Talat I have mentioned him in the squad selection thread as well that he could have been their instead of one senior while I have mentioned Adil Amin on quite a few occasions as well, its a shame he couldnt do much in national T20 cup 2019 as he could have gotten his break if he would have showed something there.

Hussain Talat shouldn't have been dropped.
He batted decently in SA
His bowling is good enough for a couple of filler overs.
Malik And Hafeez will not be getting 3rd rate Spinners to smash and improve their strikerates in Australia

Hussain Talat was doing decently but in SA he let the team down in my opinion with playing at a lesser strike rate then required and then was unable to accelerate at the end maybe it was something to do with him being asked to bat at no 3. Still a decent player for LOIs and was in good form too but he should not go Shehzad's way and ignoring the team's requirement on occasions.

Loosing 5 T20s straight (Except for one draw) definitely forced the team management to have some of the old ingredients. Also not to forget that Ahsan Ali, Rizwan, Iftikhar, Khushdil arent much experienced too.

I still think that maybe one of Malik or Hafeez was enough and Talat could have come in.

Misbah has shown the world that he is totally incapable as a coach and selector. It reminiscence his captaincy, which was purely reactive and defensive, and led us to our world ODI & T20 ranking in history. Unfortunately, you can predict the same thing from Misbah the coach and selector now. He will bring down Pakistan cricket. This pathetic person broke the winning formula in selection that gave Pakistan #1 tanking in T20. He keeps going back to TTF in every single squad with 50% of the squad being new addition when compared to previous series. The latest Bangladesh T20 series selection is no different, with atlast 6 players selected who were not there in the previous series. His selection lacks consistency and vision, and his coaching is purely as defensive as his batting and captaincy.

Don't forget that any coach would've loved to take over the #1 T20 side from Mickey, and would've excelled. Hell, even a coachless Pakistan would've won the series had the same winning formula was selected.

Absolutely dark days ahead for Pakistan cricket with Misbah at helm.

Agreed, this is in desperation to win and have something for the world T20. Saif Badar, Zeeshan Malik (He is an opener) need one breakthrough season. Regarding Hussain Talat I have mentioned him in the squad selection thread as well that he could have been their instead of one senior while I have mentioned Adil Amin on quite a few occasions as well, its a shame he couldnt do much in national T20 cup 2019 as he could have gotten his break if he would have showed something there.

I'd say it's more about wanting to play his buddies rather than desperation and what's good for the team. There can never be an excuse to play two past it mediocre 40 year olds in T20s.

Hafeez averaged 50 in 2018 while Malik averaged 41 in 2018 in T20s. Just like others I also want youngsters in the team but when there arent much available I dont mind trying to go back to the winning ways for 2020 World T20. In the meantime if 2,3 youngsters step up then that would be great.

Misbah has shown the world that he is totally incapable as a coach and selector. It reminiscence his captaincy, which was purely reactive and defensive, and led us to our world ODI & T20 ranking in history. Unfortunately, you can predict the same thing from Misbah the coach and selector now. He will bring down Pakistan cricket. This pathetic person broke the winning formula in selection that gave Pakistan #1 tanking in T20. He keeps going back to TTF in every single squad with 50% of the squad being new addition when compared to previous series. The latest Bangladesh T20 series selection is no different, with atlast 6 players selected who were not there in the previous series. His selection lacks consistency and vision, and his coaching is purely as defensive as his batting and captaincy.

Don't forget that any coach would've loved to take over the #1 T20 side from Mickey, and would've excelled. Hell, even a coachless Pakistan would've won the series had the same winning formula was selected.

Absolutely dark days ahead for Pakistan cricket with Misbah at helm.

POTW for me.

Hafeez averaged 50 in 2018 while Malik averaged 41 in 2018 in T20s. Just like others I also want youngsters in the team but when there arent much available I dont mind trying to go back to the winning ways for 2020 World T20. In the meantime if 2,3 youngsters step up then that would be great.

Yeah he did good in 2018, so? Where's the current form that should have merited Hafeez inclusion? He's been failing badly in the last year never mind that he's not even played a T20I.

Ok, he had a good year by Hafeez standards but that was an opportunity to be retired on a high. Age has caught up with him now and the WC is a whole 2 years after what he achieved a couple of years ago.

Yeah he did good in 2018, so? Where's the current form that should have merited Hafeez inclusion? He's been failing badly in the last year never mind that he's not even played a T20I.

Ok, he had a good year by Hafeez standards but that was an opportunity to be retired on a high. Age has caught up with him now and the WC is a whole 2 years after what he achieved a couple of years ago.

Bro as said numerous times, I also dont want 38 and 39 years old in Pak team who were never that great players to start with. That being said Pak T20 middle order has been struggling and I cant point a particular youngster who can help with that. Bringing Hafeez and Malik back is a move to have something in the middle order. There are few young guys who can be pretty good in T20s but they are far from ready. Hussain Talat was definitely a close miss on selection.

He is becoming the worst with each passing day. The guy can’t coach so he relies on changing the combination to suit his narrative. His excuses are nonstop. One of those people who loves to claim there are no options available yet few months later he apparently u-turns all of that. Players will have even more insecurities for there selection. No one is safe. This guy does not know what to do. He does not know how to build players. The next three years will indeed be dark ones.

The guy has not one iota of administrative intelligence.

Captaining a bunch of immature and wimpish villagers is different than operating team operations.

Shown for what he truly is; a power-hungry talentless fool.

Misbah is the 2nd worst thing happened to Pakistan cricket, the worst was 2009 terrorist attack on SL players.

The worst was players who were caught in fixing in 1990's and PCB still kept them in the team instead of ban.

Yes

Single-handedly destroyed our limited overs cricket in this decade.

Took us back to 90s cricket with his pathetic defensive approach.

Won tests on UAE dustbowls where pitches neither suited batsmen nor bowlers hence rendering our players incapable of being competitive overseas where pitches had decent pace, bounce or spin.

He's respected like the 2nd coming of Imran Khan just because he "saved" Pak cricket after 2010 fiasco by not getting involved in controveries lol.

"Won tests on UAE dustbowls where pitches neither suited batsmen nor bowlers hence rendering our players incapable of being competitive overseas where pitches had decent pace, bounce or spin"

Ok, so what was he suppose to do about UAE dustbowls? No Team would come to Pakistan.

Not the worst thing and history is not so short that we can judge him entirely. However, his initial period as selector and coach has been atrocious and that is me holding back.

Misbah as coach and selector is anti misbah. He has played into media reports and found "phaaast bowlers yaar" and "yungsta beauties" ...while vindictively and seditiously bringing in veteran failures and nepotistic choices. If this careers in, the positive steps taken with Pakistans LO squad will be all bus destroyed.

Bloke doesn't have the credentials or the experience (ironic considering he's always harping on about experience) to be head coach never mind chief selector as well.

Added to his favouring of old mediocre friends and a boring, stale, outdated and defensive style of play - its a recipe for disaster.

selected Musa, Naseem Shah, Harris Rauf, and yet you people have problems with him

Pakistani supporters will never be happy but in the bowling department they should have included amir for musa

It's the batting I think people are complaining about

There was absolutely no way in the universe that he could have NOT selected Naseem Shah and Haris Rauf after their performances in the QEA and BBL respectively made them impossible to omit.

But the selection of Musa Khan with zero performances behind him was as atrocious as the inclusion of Imran Khan - both were 100% unjustifiable and seemingly either picks suggestive of gross incompetence or even misconduct.

And now we have Hafeez with no supporting domestic performances to justify his recall.

Misbah should be given clear KPIs - you can’t be permitted to pick old men or kids on a hunch.

Pakistani supporters will never be happy but in the bowling department they should have included amir for musa

It's the batting I think people are complaining about

That was such a petty decision just because he opted out of Test cricket. Musa is the reincarnation of Bilawal Bhatti.

He is one of the best things to happen to Pakistan cricket after the 2010 saga.

As for his current selector role, I have enjoyed his selections so far. He isn't afraid to kick out players who aren't performing. And it is clear he follows domestic cricket.

Really?

Which domestic First Class performances this year led to the Test squad selections of:

Musa Khan
Imran Khan
Kashif Bhatti
Iftikhar Ahmed

Between the four of them in First Class domestic cricket they had fewer than 100 runs and 10 wickets. Combined!

Or are you saying that he remembers domestic First Class cricket several years ago before three of the above went into age-related decline?

Really wish now Rauf selection did'nt happen and he continued to represent Melbourne Stars in the Big Bash League.
Like many Pakistanis I would rather watch a T20 Australian team than Pakistan XI rite now. Check the batting strike rate of these planted (not selected) jokes in the Pakistan XI, plus the way Bangladesh Board chairman played with PCB has already made this event controversial. Have'nt watched Pakistan match live since Misbah being inducted anyways so nothing to look forward to.

Ah yes, that must explain the selections of Imran Khan, Musa, Muhammad Irfan, Umar Akmal, Hafeez, Malik and Qadir.

What domestics? It's not good to be a blind follower.

Sure, selection of Hafeez, Shoaib and above all Musa and dropping of inform Amir should be very enjoyable for people take pleasure from demise of Pakistan team, they can;t ask for a better person.

I would rank the following above Misbah's appointment as coach to be the worst that happened to Pakistan cricket:

1. The match-fixing scandal in 2010
2. The attack on SL team bus
3. Inzamam taking his team off the ground in England during a match
4. Inzamam beating up a fan during a match (although I don't fault him, trolls deserve worse)
5. Bob Woolmer's tragic death during a tour
6. The many doping and ball-tampering (for reverse-swing) accusations in 90s and early 2000s
7. The 0-7 (I think) record with India in ODI World cups. Although I think this is overrated and bound to change soon, fans are hurt/elated (depending on who you ask) by this data point.
8. Misbah's error in T20 world cup final in 2007
9. Not winning as much as they should have when Pakistan had an incredible team in 80s and 90s (Wasim, Waqar, Inzi, Saqlain, Yousuf, Younis, Moin, Razaq, Shoaib, Anwar, Afridi etc)
10. Diplomatic tussles with BCCI and the lost court cases (BCCI is equally (or even more) at fault for this).

I would rank the following above Misbah's appointment as coach to be the worst that happened to Pakistan cricket:

1. The match-fixing scandal in 2010
2. The attack on SL team bus
3. Inzamam taking his team off the ground in England during a match
4. Inzamam beating up a fan during a match (although I don't fault him, trolls deserve worse)
5. Bob Woolmer's tragic death during a tour
6. The many doping and ball-tampering (for reverse-swing) accusations in 90s and early 2000s
7. The 0-7 (I think) record with India in ODI World cups. Although I think this is overrated and bound to change soon, fans are hurt/elated (depending on who you ask) by this data point.
8. Misbah's error in T20 world cup final in 2007
9. Not winning as much as they should have when Pakistan had an incredible team in 80s and 90s (Wasim, Waqar, Inzi, Saqlain, Yousuf, Younis, Moin, Razaq, Shoaib, Anwar, Afridi etc)
10. Diplomatic tussles with BCCI and the lost court cases (BCCI is equally (or even more) at fault for this).

Add one thing more
Lost 1987 world cup when they were favourites.

I had to re-check my calendar to see which day it was because I suspected it was April Fools Day after reading your last sentence.
Abid Ali, Kashif bhatti, Amad Butt, Fawad Alam , Naseem shahetc. All got selected after performing in domestic cricket. Inzamam would have kept picking Imam in tests and not picked anyone else.

curious to see who you think Misbah has 'kicked out' ?

So far he has just brought back a bunch of bums - list includes: Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Akmal, Imran Khan Snr, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Irfan, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Hafeez

The only player of note he has introduced is Naseem Shah

At this rate, we will see Kamran Akmal, Salman Butt, Sohail Tanvir playing for Pakistan in the next year

curious to see who you think Misbah has 'kicked out' ?

So far he has just brought back a bunch of bums - list includes: Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Akmal, Imran Khan Snr, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Irfan, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Hafeez

The only player of note he has introduced is Naseem Shah

At this rate, we will see Kamran Akmal, Salman Butt, Sohail Tanvir playing for Pakistan in the next year

He kicked out Sarfraz and brought in Rizwan, kicked out Fakhar and Amir. Previous management wouldn't have had the balls to do that.

are you really serious? he kicked out Sarfaraz from ODI and T20 because he was not performing in test just listen to your self bro, Fakhar was supposed to be kicked out because he was not performing at all. Rizwan was selected because they had no other option, to be honest, he selected Naseem, Haris, and Fawad as he came under pressure. Can you please justify his selection for Md Irfan, Shahzad, Umar Akmal, Imran khan, and Musa. Also can you please justify his selection tactics on selecting two newcomers on the important tour of Australia. bachon ki tarhan defend kernay better hai use some logic.

So Sarfaraz was setting the world on fire under Mickey? Why didnt Mickey show Sarfaraz the door?

Sarfraz was horrible in ODI and T20 cricket for a long time, averaging below 30 at a poor strike rate. Also his captaincy tactics were mediocre. Rizwan had been performing in domestic cricket.

Always thought Misbah was forced a crap team of Umar Akmal, Kamran Akmal, Ahmad Shahzad, M Haffez, Shoaib Malik, Wahab Riaz, and others and he had to manage to play with them.. so as an odi captain he had my sympathies...

But since he has come in as a coach, he has lost all my respect... the guy brings back the cancer that has been pushing our team down for good part of last decade... the Akmal brothers, Ahmad Shahzad, Haffez, malik and rahat ali and imran khan sr ....

the guys is just shameless... abs shameless .... there is no grain of respect left for this guy

Sarfraz was horrible in ODI and T20 cricket for a long time, averaging below 30 at a poor strike rate. Also his captaincy tactics were mediocre. Rizwan had been performing in domestic cricket.

that's why our T20 has been on Number 1 and when you say he is horrible ODI captain, look at Misbah`s record as an ODI captain then say something. At least we some fighting spirit in the team and not gifting matches. Misbah was a useless player in ODI and T20 and he is horrible as a selector because he doesn't have balls to select anyone on performance bases.

Yes, He is.

He has destroyed this decade of Pakistan cricket. Only time we were decent and interesting this decade was after his retirement. Still its hard to digest that Misbah and Waqar made Azhar Ali ODI captain after 2015 WC. Our ODI cricket was in shambles under him.

I liked him a lot as a cricketer but he seems to have no idea what to do in his current position. Just destroying his legacy at the moment.

Even when he was in the team he was far too conservative.

Misbah's tactics and style of play is far too defensive, boring, turgid and his team selections are an absolute joke. It's going to drive the fans away in droves.

His tactical template in LOI's is a proven failure as seen from his playing days. Dude hasn't learned anything and will continue to drive Pakistan cricket into the gutter.

Misbah and his selections have been a mixed bag. But everyone has an opinion and no matter what team he selects or anybody else for that matter their will always be criticism.

For me he had made some bold selections and some that are disappointing. Its a poisoned chalice no matter what you do.

Not sure I agree, worst thing to ever happen to Pakistan cricket ? There’s only one contender for that , and that’s someone else who Misbah has just recently recalled into the team given his reputation as a ‘minnow’ specialist.

Misbah and his selections have been a mixed bag. But everyone has an opinion and no matter what team he selects or anybody else for that matter their will always be criticism.

For me he had made some bold selections and some that are disappointing. Its a poisoned chalice no matter what you do.

Yeah, bringing back Hafeez , who is in his 4s now , is worst form of his life and not allowed to bowl, was a BOLD decision . Misbah had made many such bold decisions, selection that club level bowler Musa is another one.

Worst thing to happen to Pakistan cricket took a well oiled machine in IU who had reached the final three times winning it twice, and now been eliminated for the first time in the first round.

Thank you loser Misbah.... why don't you just get lost already

To make things worse this loser is the coach/selector of the national side.

Misbah, is the opposite of King Midas.

Everything he touches, turns to rust.

Worst thing to happen to Pakistan cricket took a well oiled machine in IU who had reached the final three times winning it twice, and now been eliminated for the first time in the first round.

Thank you loser Misbah.... why don't you just get lost already

To make things worse this loser is the coach/selector of the national side.

But but it's shadab fault.

We have seen enough to make the conclusion that Misbah is not a man to take Pakistan forward.

Can Indian team take Misbah as their coach, paid by PCB just for one series, that's the only way we can beat them.