Is winning a Test series in India bigger than winning the Ashes for England?

Rajdeep

T20I Debutant
Runs
Post of the Week
Well, Ben Stokes think it his greatest win till date as captain.
----
----

England’s epic 28-run victory over India in Hyderabad left spectators stunned as Ben Stokes hailed it as his "greatest triumph as captain" to go one up in the five-match series.

The tourists completed a thrilling victory after vice-captain Ollie Pope notched a sensational 196 and debutant Tom Hartley (7-62) finished with a seven-wicket haul.

Stokes' decision to stick with Hartley after an expensive opening spell of bowling in the first innings raised some questions. But he repaid Stokes' faith in him by skittling India's top and middle order before holding his nerve at the death.

“Since I’ve taken captaincy on we've had some great victories and this is 100 per cent our greatest triumph since I've been captain,” Stokes said.

"To be honest, it's my first time here being in charge of a team in India and captain in these conditions. You may not see it, but I am a great observer of the game. I watched a lot of how Rohit Sharma set the field. I think that may have been obvious with our approach.

Last edited by a moderator:
The Brits and the Aussies aren't India, they take their ancient rivalries seriously. For India the pinnacle might be playing against England and Australia, but for those countries the Ashes will always be the greatest and most fiercely contested series.

That's not to say that it isn't a challenge to win in India, but then it was a challenge to win in Pakistan as well until recent history. We Brits snigger at how important you guys think it is to play us while devaluing your own local "Ashes " due to petty one-upmanship.