Ishan Kishan - Indian batter

If he was Pakistani, he would be immortalized after an innings like this & play forever. In India, there is no guarantee that he will play the next game.

As I said two days back, India should open with him & Pant in LOIs. It will be game over for other sides.

Are you sure? Fakhar also pumped a 210 innings vs Zimbabwe in an ODI. He isn't immortalised and is currently out of favour.

Personally not a superfan of Pant but maybe if you stopped overly criticising him every single time he doesn't perform you wouldn't hear about him so often on here. :inti

Overly criticised? Are you living under the rock for the past couple of months? I used to criticise his shot selection and wicket throwing ability. Guess what, these are the things that have become the reason for his downfall in LOIs. Whenever I criticise I use stats to back it up. You are more than welcome to debate on the basis of stats. And I am not the only one who criticise him, most cricket fans these days are going after him lol. :inti

Terrific knock from Ishan Kishan..One of his kind..Loved the intent, aggression, clarity of mind..this is what we need in ODI World Cup.

Hopefully, he gets a consistent run now after hitting a fastest double century against the opposition that Dhawan has been struggling to put bat on bowl.

I always felt he has great potential based on whatever little I saw him play in the IPL. He and SKY should be given a longer rope in ODIs. Had SKY been playing yesterday, we could have got to 450+.

If Rohit is injured, Gill and Ishan can open. Need some young blood in the team. We won’t become the best ODI team (England will still be far superior), but at least we will become better.

Below should be the lineup in the WC. Bowling is very good for Subcontinent conditions. Batting is as deep as England's batting with explosive batsmen right through No.9. A lot of match winners. Out of 9 batsmen, even if 2 or 3 click, it will be an easy win for India.

Kishan
Gill
Kohli
Rohit (C)
SKY
KL Rahul (WK)
Pandya
Jadeja
Washington
Arshdeep/Umran
Bumrah

Kishan is the type of batsmen India has been missing at the top for a while now.

Below should be the lineup in the WC. Bowling is very good for Subcontinent conditions. Batting is as deep as England's batting with explosive batsmen right through No.9. A lot of match winners. Out of 9 batsmen, even if 2 or 3 click, it will be an easy win for India.

Kishan
Gill
Kohli
Rohit (C)
SKY
KL Rahul (WK)
Pandya
Jadeja
Washington
Arshdeep/Umran
Bumrah

Kishan is the type of batsmen India has been missing at the top for a while now.

Bowling is weak. Can’t rely on Pandya for giving 10 overs. Also, lacks wicket takers for the middle overs.

And I don’t think we need KL in the team, given that Kishan can keep.

Kishan
Gill
Kohli
Rohit (C)
SKY
KL Rahul (WK)
Pandya
Jadeja
Washington
Arshdeep/Umran
Bumrah

They need to give this team you posted a couple of series. Right now they’re way too quick to chop and change out of panic.

India’s talent and depth is incredible. Their reserve players are playing the type of knocks our first choice players cannot dream of.

So much talent that they avoided the whitewash versus Bangladesh. Just whitewashed by NZ.
Not everyone can whitewash them. Supra talent.

Bowling is weak. Can’t rely on Pandya for giving 10 overs. Also, lacks wicket takers for the middle overs.

And I don’t think we need KL in the team, given that Kishan can keep.

India does not have any awesome bowlers in their ranks. Whoever they play, they get carted. So its better to play bowlers who can also bat.

Jaddu and Sundar will not be easy to hit on Indian wickets. They can hold their own. If you include another pure bowler, the batting will become thin again. None of our top order bats can bowl a few overs of spin. India are missing Suresh Raina or UV type of batsmen.

KL Rahul will not be discarded. He is not an opener as he is mentally weak. He can come and smash a few when the others have set up things nicely for him. Also, India have invested too much in him. He will be there in the squad and you can mark it down.

They need to give this team you posted a couple of series. Right now they’re way too quick to chop and change out of panic.

BCCI got confused after the T20 WC humiliation. They thought Kohli and Rohit are still in their primes and will score at over 150 S/R. But both have shown that they are not capable of playing quick innings at the top. The bowling was a joke without Bumrah. Only Arshdeep was good enough and Shami in patches. Axar, Thakur, Chahal and Harshal have a good game once every 10 matches. So bowlers are getting rotated to see who can step up to partner Arshdeep and Bumrah.

Even a blind man can see that Rohit should not open anymore. You need 1 explosive opener and one steady scorer at the top. Almost all top countries have it like that. India are still 10 years behind it.

Last time you toured Bangladesh, you were white washed in the ODI series.

Nice pick. So hopefully it will help you understand better. This was a very poor pakistani team, trashed by a superior Bangali team.
Same as what happened here with India.
The difference is that I know it was a poor team, I will not claim that any of the players playing were the best at any thing, maybe apart from Saeed Ajmal, but he was finished. Where as indian cricket fans think Kishan is the next best thing, Kohli is the best ever, Dhawan/Sharma are the best ever, Iyer the current best, Sundar and Axar are on their way to be best ever, Umran is Akhtar/Lee and don't forget, Thakur is Kapil Dev level.

You guys have lost it just like the indian team.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION], I know you don't like newcomers talking too big. Any comment on Kishan who is talking about reaching 300. And that too after just having lost a series to Bangladesh.

It was a very much possible, it is not every day that you can have a batsman on 200 after 34 overs. With the way he was hitting the ball, he could have got there with ease.

I like this attitude. He was angry with himself after getting out, even though he had played a phenomenal knock.

He was not part of the side that lost the series, he was given a chance in the third ODI only & destroyed Bangladesh.

He has been waiting on the sidelines for too long because India keeps persisting with finished players like Dhawan, but this is how you respond when you finally get your chance.

He reminds me so much of de Kock with the way he plays.

It was a very much possible, it is not every day that you can have a batsman on 200 after 34 overs. With the way he was hitting the ball, he could have got there with ease.

I like this attitude. He was angry with himself after getting out, even though he had played a phenomenal knock.

He was not part of the side that lost the series, he was given a chance in the third ODI only & destroyed Bangladesh.

He has been waiting on the sidelines for too long because India keeps persisting with finished players like Dhawan, but this is how you respond when you finally get your chance.

He reminds me so much of de Kock with the way he plays.

So it's fine to talk big after being beaten by Bangladesh.

Nice pick. So hopefully it will help you understand better. This was a very poor pakistani team, trashed by a superior Bangali team.
Same as what happened here with India.
The difference is that I know it was a poor team, I will not claim that any of the players playing were the best at any thing, maybe apart from Saeed Ajmal, but he was finished.

He was a chucker all his career. It's just that his theft was caught later. A disgrace to the game.

Mobashir said:
Where as indian cricket fans think Kishan is the next best thing, Kohli is the best ever, Dhawan/Sharma are the best ever, Iyer the current best, Sundar and Axar are on their way to be best ever, Umran is Akhtar/Lee and don't forget, Thakur is Kapil Dev level.

Kishan has just scored a double century in an ODI as a newbie, it's justified for Indian fans to expect a lot from him in the future.

Kohli has already claimed his place as the greatest ever ODI batsman. His numbers suggest so. The only other batsman who can lay a claim to be better than him is Viv Richards.

No Indian fan considers Rohit the best ever, but a lot of them consider him better than any ODI batsman Pakistan has ever produced, and rightly so.

As for Dhawan, most of us want him to be dropped.

Terrific knock from Ishan Kishan..One of his kind..Loved the intent, aggression, clarity of mind..this is what we need in ODI World Cup.

Hopefully, he gets a consistent run now after hitting a fastest double century against the opposition that Dhawan has been struggling to put bat on bowl.

Too bad, he wasn't even in your top 18 Indian ODI players which you posted few weeks ago. :rabada2 :inti

"Ab 200 Kiya Hai To": Ishan Kishan Floors Reporters With His Response On Selection Question

India batter Ishan Kishan etched his name in the history books by scoring the 'fastest double hundred in ODI history' as he slammed 210 off 131 balls in the 3rd and final ODI against Bangladesh. Ishan earned plenty of praise for his astounding effort with the bat that earned India a 227-run victory. After the match, Ishan was asked whether the knock would automatically earn him a spot in India's ODI team for the forthcoming assignments. The southpaw gave a cheeky response as the entire press room broke into laughter.

"I don't know, I don't think these things," Ishan said in response to the journalist's question on cementing a spot in India's ODI team. "All I can do is perform when I get a chance. I don't want to talk. I want to let my bat do the talking. Whether there is a place for me or not. Kishan ended his answer on a cheeky note, suggesting since he has hit a double hundred, maybe he has solidified his position in the process.

"Ab 200 kiya hai to kya pata.. (Now I've scored a double century so who knows...)," he said before breaking into laughter.

In the presser, Ishan was also asked about his batting position. Though the left-hander mostly opens the batting, he said that being a young player, he can't ask the team management to make him play in a specific position.

"Batting position, I think, other players also come through having batted at different positions. So being a young player, I can't complain and demand that you must bat me at this particular position," Kishan said. "At this level, it's about making use of the opportunities that are provided to you. That's how big players are made."

After losing the ODI series 1-2, India will shift their focus to the Test series which starts on December 14.

NDTV

Suddenly, Kishan is in everyone's XIs.

IMO, we should have Prithvi Shaw as our white ball opener. Shaw and Kishan would make a great left-hand/right-hand pair.

I don't know that he will be in team for odi worldcup.But this is how should any one of the top order batsman play in odi cricket now a days.

This.

With Rohit & Dhawan at the top and Kohli at first down, we look like batting the way it was done a decade back.

Suddenly, Kishan is in everyone's XIs.

IMO, we should have Prithvi Shaw as our white ball opener. Shaw and Kishan would make a great left-hand/right-hand pair.

Actually he has lesser PR compared to Samson/Pant. Otherwise he had equal claim to this keeper/batsmen role.
He had to produce a massive innings to get the attention. I am sure he is not the last one like that. Could be Prithvi shaw next, Jaiswal.

Ishan Kishan 210 is like MS Dhoni 148 vs Pakistan moment. Really sets it up for him in LOIs. Question is how you stick with Dhawan still? Ishan is a left hander and an aggressive opener which is exactly what India needs in their lineup.

Dhoni got enough chances after the 148 he scored vs Pakistan because there wasn't enough competition there but this is not the case with Kishan. He will have to compete for his spot and that is where the problem of plenty comes for India.

They would want to give fair chances to Ishan, Gill, Dhawan, SKY, Pant and Samson all of them but in that case, they won't be able to develop any of them for the 2023 World Cup.

Purely on merit, Kishan and Gill both have surpassed Dhawan for a place in the team and Dhawan now doesn't even make it to the 18 best Indian players atleast one merit. Kishan's 210 has basically put Dhawan's career in danger as well as left Sanju Samson fans hopeless as well as homeless as their overhyped PR would no longer work because he is yet to play a knock that really puts his case strong.

The best 18 on merit as it stands now for India are :

Openers - Rohit, Gill, Kishan
Middle order - Kohli, Shreyas, KL, Pant, SKY
All rounders- Pandya, Jadeja, Sundar
Fast bowlers - Bumrah, Shami, Siraj, Umran/Prasidh, D Chahar/Shardul(anyone)
Spinners - Kuldeep, Chahal

Shikhar Dhawan doesn't make it to 18 as of now. :inti

Ishan Kishan 210 is like MS Dhoni 148 vs Pakistan moment. Really sets it up for him in LOIs. Question is how you stick with Dhawan still? Ishan is a left hander and an aggressive opener which is exactly what India needs in their lineup.

Dhoni got enough chances after the 148 he scored vs Pakistan because there wasn't enough competition there but this is not the case with Kishan. He will have to compete for his spot and that is where the problem of plenty comes for India.

They would want to give fair chances to Ishan, Gill, Dhawan, SKY, Pant and Samson all of them but in that case, they won't be able to develop any of them for the 2023 World Cup.

Purely on merit, Kishan and Gill both have surpassed Dhawan for a place in the team and Dhawan now doesn't even make it to the 18 best Indian players atleast one merit. Kishan's 210 has basically put Dhawan's career in danger as well as left Sanju Samson fans hopeless as well as homeless as their overhyped PR would no longer work because he is yet to play a knock that really puts his case strong.

The best 18 on merit as it stands now for India are :

Openers - Rohit, Gill, Kishan
Middle order - Kohli, Shreyas, KL, Pant, SKY
All rounders- Pandya, Jadeja, Sundar
Fast bowlers - Bumrah, Shami, Siraj, Umran/Prasidh, D Chahar/Shardul(anyone)
Spinners - Kuldeep, Chahal

Shikhar Dhawan doesn't make it to 18 as of now. :inti

So Kishan and Umran have made it to your 18 but you were laughing at me when I said the same before you even thought about it? :inti

'I have something in me. People want to see me at his place': India wicketkeeper on being compared to MS Dhoni

A star India wicketkeeper opened up on being compared to MS Dhoni, saying if people are saying some things, it is possibly because he is capable enough.

The void left by MS Dhoni in Indian cricket is yet to be filled. The only captain in history to win all three major ICC titles – Dhoni took Indian cricket to unprecedented heights and more importantly, made an entire country believe that India can win global tournaments. Post Dhoni's Champions Trophy win in 2013, India are yet to win an ICC title. It has been 9 years since and although Virat Kohli took India to the final of the 2017 Champions Trophy, the inaugural World Test Championship and the 2019 World Cup semifinal, an ICC trophy has eluded Indian cricket.

Captaincy and batting aside, after Dhoni, no India wicketkeeper has been able to cement his place in the team. Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson, Ishan Kishan and even KL Rahul have kept wicket but none you feel is a permanent solution. Among the three, Pant comes to closest but his dodgy form with the bat makes him an unsure pick in the XI. Samson, with his recent string of decent scores is finally beginning to come good, while Ishan is on the high of the recent double-century he scored against Bangladesh.

Ishan has had to wait for his chances in the Indian team, but after his magnificent double ton, it will be impossible to not consider him in the ODI squad. Ishan bats a lot like the Dhoni of fold and incidentally, both hail from Jharkhand as well. And when two people come from the same town into the same profession, comparisons are but obvious. Ishan opened up on being compared to the legendary Dhoni, saying that he takes it in a good stride and reveals that if he can achieve even half of what MSD has, he would be at peace with how his career would have panned out.

"I take it in a very positive way. I feel that when people are considering me with MS bhai, that means I have something in me. That's why they want to see me at his place. I just feel that if I can achieve even 70 percent of what he has done for the country, I will be happy. He has done so much, won us the World Cup, T20 World Cup, Champions Trophy... so much. But at the same time even I want to be in that situation where I make my team win," Ishan told OneCricket.

Ishan blasted 210 off 130 balls, and recorded the fastest ever double century in ODIs, surpassing Chris Gayle. But despite sizzling with the bat, Ishan remains grounded. The 23-year-old is currently playing the Ranji Trophy for Jharkhand in order to remain match ready for the limited-overs series against Sri Lanka starting January.

"I am still the same player. I have gotten that double hundred but the moment I completed it, the next day my mom called me and said 'It's done. Now you should forget about me'. She also said that you are now going for Ranji Trophy so score a hundred there as well. We did not win the ODI series but it was a great learning all over," added Ishan.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...ing-compared-to-ms-dhoni-101671620083067.html

Kishan has surpassed Samson and Dhawan in my opinion and should be in the reckoning for the 15 man squad.

Rohit
Kishan/Gill
Kohli
Shreyas/SKY
Pant
Pandya
Jadeja/Washington
Kuldeep
Shami/Prasidh or Umran
Bumrah
Siraj

That's 15. This may sent Samson fans into dizzy state but then they need to get over the delusion that he merits a place in India's best XI based on what he did vs Zimbabwe and Windies compared to some other guys who are playing only vs top teams like England and New Zealand overseas. :inti

1rsyRyq.png

Unimpressed with Ishan Kishan's mediocre run with the bat, former Indian opener Gautam Gambhir issued a hard-hitting statement about the wicketkeeper-batter amid the ongoing T20I series between India and New Zealand on Sunday. A lot was expected from Ishan after the Indian opener stunned the cricket fraternity with his sublime double-century in Bangladesh.

Despite the double ton, Kishan didn't get a chance in the Sri Lanka ODIs and only returned to the fold when New Zealand toured India. Though Kishan has regularly featured in ODI and T20I series against New Zealand, the premier batter has failed to serve another timely reminder to the national selectors in the World Cup year.

Reflecting on Kishan's recent performances ahead of the 2nd T20I against New Zealand, which India won by 6 wickets, former Indian opener Gambhir feels the youngster should focus on rotating strikes on a regular basis. Not only Kishan, but Gambhir think the entire batting united of the Hardik Pandya-led side has struggled against spin bowlers.

“It's not only one chink in his armour. Indian unit as a batting unit has struggled against spin. Just the ability to not be able to manoeuvre..it's easy to hit those big sixes but the ability to rotate strikes consistently. And there was enough purchase for spinners as well. It was pretty much evident when you got Michael Bracewell against Ishan Kishan,” Gambhir told Star Sports.

“I think these young players need to learn quickly how to rotate strike because, on a wicket like this, it's not gonna be easy to go down the ground and hit those big sixes. It's a surprise because of the way he batted in Bangladesh after scoring that double-hundred. He has struggled after that, everyone thought his graph will start growing up with the kind of innings he has played,” Gambhir added.

Kishan was cleaned up by New Zealand's Michael Bracewell for a forgetful score of 4 off 5 balls in the 1st T20I at Ranchi. After the hosts suffered a defeat in the 1st T20I, the Indian opener was involved in a run-out during India's successful run-chase at Lucknow. “He still has to work a lot against playing spin because people will use a lot of spin against him in the first 6 overs. Because he still manages to play fast bowling very well. The sooner he improves against spin, the better it's gonna be for him, especially in the T20 format,” Gambhir concluded.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...r-scoring-double-hundred-101675007565119.html

Excellent fifty by Ishan in IPL 2023 (Punjab Kings vs Mumbai Indians)

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">𝙎𝙈𝘼𝘾𝙆𝙀𝘿! <br><br>Fifty partnership up between Ishan Kishan & SKY<br><br>1️⃣0️⃣0️⃣ up for Mumbai Indians 🔥🔥<br><br>Follow the match ▶️ <a href="https://t.co/QDEf6eqX22">https://t.co/QDEf6eqX22</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/TATAIPL?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#TATAIPL</a> | <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PBKSvMI?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PBKSvMI</a> <a href="https://t.co/WL7fnpiI8b">pic.twitter.com/WL7fnpiI8b</a></p>— IndianPremierLeague (@IPL) <a href="https://twitter.com/IPL/status/1653805061867438080?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 3, 2023</a></blockquote>

India have named the replacement for the injured KL Rahul in their ICC World Test Championship 2023 Final squad.

The wicketkeeper-batter Ishan Kishan will take Rahul's place in the squad for the marquee clash against Australia at the Oval in June.

==

Will he get a chance to play?

Another brilliant showpiece by Ishan Kishan 59(39)

FwQ_UY_aAAAsZ3G

Impressive innings by him - unfazed by what was happening around him and now taking India to a position of strength

Really well played under pressure! Now needs to get a big score

India need to focus on Kishan till Pant is unavailable for keeper role.

KL is an awful cricketer. Samson is good for IPL level.

Rohit
Kishan
Gill( will do well at 3)
Kohli
S Iyer
Pandya
Jadeja
Axar/Washington
Shami
Bumrah
Siraj

If he's injured and not playing, it will weaken the Indian batting line up further. pant is injured as well. India will struggle for a keeper batsman for rest of Asia cup.

He has scored runs Today still I'm not convinced about him .he is a heck

He is a world class cricketer and he showed his class today against the Pakistan in difficult situation.

He has scored runs Today still I'm not convinced about him .he is a heck
he is so consistent with the bat, today it was his 4th consecutive 50 with very good strike rate so i think he is best WK batsman for India right now.

How do you keep him out of the side when Pant and Rahul come back?
I think he will play as an opener replacing rohit, along with jaiswal after wc .
There are many young people waiting for the place. It's very difficult for rohit and kl after wc.even kohli will be out of breath to hold his place.

Ishan , Jaiswal, tilak, Gaikwad,gill, pant,shreyas , iyer, pandya,sai sudharshan,Dhruv Jural will be forming the core batting in limited overs.Apart from 2 seniors, every one is 23 at max I believe. It's all rebuilding phase for next 2 years i think.

I think he will play as an opener replacing rohit, along with jaiswal after wc .
There are many young people waiting for the place. It's very difficult for rohit and kl after wc.even kohli will be out of breath to hold his place.

Ishan , Jaiswal, tilak, Gaikwad,gill, pant,shreyas , iyer, pandya,sai sudharshan,Dhruv Jural will be forming the core batting in limited overs.Apart from 2 seniors, every one is 23 at max I believe. It's all rebuilding phase for next 2 years i think.
In my opinion, Kohli has the potential to extend his career for at least another two years. He is exceptionally fit and can provide stability to the middle order.

But problem is he is not his old self.He has to step up a lot and some how dhruv jurel from delhi reminds me a lot of kohli. No risky business and proper shots with a calm head 😃.He was the captain in Asia emerging cup and played like kohli against bangladesh in a tough situation.

You forgot rinku singh. He is the best finisher for India in recent times.

Rinku and jaiswal are a must after wc in both odi’s and t20’s.

How did Haris Rouf get away with after making send off gesture to Ishan Kishan?
I think srinath or any Asian referre never took any action against Asian players. It's an unwritten rule I guess.Ranjan madhugalle also never took any action against Asian players atleast in marginal cases.

I’ve never seen a more ridiculous drop catch by a keeper at international level the way I saw Kishan shell one today

My God!

Kishan should be the opener, if India really wants to instil fear on other teams. He is a poor keeper though.

I would rate Iyer higher than Kishan as he is a well-balanced player with solid technique. Iyer tends to perform better on bouncy tracks compared to Ishan, whose performance may not be as strong in such conditions.

Did Ishan collect the ball in front of the stumps? or was it a harsh call by the umpire to give it a no-ball in the 3rd t20i again Australia?

1701192122818.png

'Mental Fatigue Due To...': Report Claims Ishan Kishan Has Taken 'Break From Cricket'

Team India will be without the services of three key players as they take on South Africa in a two-match Test series, starting December 26. While Ruturaj Gaikwad was reportedly released from the squad owing to a finger injury he suffered during the white-ball leg of the series, pacer Mohammed Shami has not travelled to the Rainbow Nation as he continues to recover from an ankle injury. Meanwhile, wicketkeeper-batter Ishan Kishan has pulled out from the series, citing "personal reasons".

While the BCCI did not reveal the exact reason behind Kishan's decision to pull out, the Indian Express has reported that the player made the call due to "mental fatigue", mainly due to non-stop travelling for tours.

"He informed the team management that he is having mental fatigue and wants a break from cricket for some time. Everyone agreed to it," the report said.

However, NDTV could not independently verify the truth of this claim.

Kishan has been part of every Indian squad this year. However, the player hasn't got the required game time in that period. He also played just two matches during the start of the World Cup, with Shubman Gill out of action due to dengue.

Earlier, the BCCI had revealed that Kishan has pulled out of the Test series due to "personal reasons".

"Ishan Kishan has requested the BCCI to be released from the upcoming Test series against South Africa citing personal reasons. The wicketkeeper has subsequently been withdrawn from the Test squad," BCCI secretary Jay Shah had stated in its press release.

As far as Kishan's replacement is concerned, KS Bharat will take his place in the squad.

"The men's selection committee has named KS Bharat as a replacement," the statement added.

India's squad for Tests: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna, KS Bharat (wk)
SOURCE: NDTV

'Mental Fatigue Due To...': Report Claims Ishan Kishan Has Taken 'Break From Cricket'

Team India will be without the services of three key players as they take on South Africa in a two-match Test series, starting December 26. While Ruturaj Gaikwad was reportedly released from the squad owing to a finger injury he suffered during the white-ball leg of the series, pacer Mohammed Shami has not travelled to the Rainbow Nation as he continues to recover from an ankle injury. Meanwhile, wicketkeeper-batter Ishan Kishan has pulled out from the series, citing "personal reasons".

While the BCCI did not reveal the exact reason behind Kishan's decision to pull out, the Indian Express has reported that the player made the call due to "mental fatigue", mainly due to non-stop travelling for tours.

"He informed the team management that he is having mental fatigue and wants a break from cricket for some time. Everyone agreed to it," the report said.

However, NDTV could not independently verify the truth of this claim.

Kishan has been part of every Indian squad this year. However, the player hasn't got the required game time in that period. He also played just two matches during the start of the World Cup, with Shubman Gill out of action due to dengue.

Earlier, the BCCI had revealed that Kishan has pulled out of the Test series due to "personal reasons".

"Ishan Kishan has requested the BCCI to be released from the upcoming Test series against South Africa citing personal reasons. The wicketkeeper has subsequently been withdrawn from the Test squad," BCCI secretary Jay Shah had stated in its press release.

As far as Kishan's replacement is concerned, KS Bharat will take his place in the squad.

"The men's selection committee has named KS Bharat as a replacement," the statement added.

India's squad for Tests: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna, KS Bharat (wk)
SOURCE: NDTV
Kishan has hardly played any cricket in last few months. Played 2 ODIs and 3 T20s during last 3 months.

If he has any other personal reasons to attend to then I stand corrected.

"Ishan Kishan Wasn't Happy...": Report Claims BCCI Selectors May Be 'Looking Beyond' India StarThe T20 squad vs Afghanistan

IND VS AFG series also features Sanju Samson and Jitesh Sharma, who will be the two wicketkeeper with Ishan Kishan being ignored for the shortest format.

"Ishan Kishan Wasn't Happy...": Report Claims BCCI Selectors May Be 'Looking Beyond' India Star wicket keeper.

The India vs Afghanistan T20I series starts on Thursday. It is the last T20I series that Indian cricket team will play before the 2024 T20 World Cup, which begins in June. This series and the IPL are likely to be the deciders for the final Indian cricket squad that will play in the 2023T20 World Cup. The biggest news coming from the team selection was the return of Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli into the T20I fold. Both veterans have not played any T20I sine the 2022 T20 World Cup. But with their selection, things have become very interesting. There was another call which has added to the intrigue - the absence of Ishan Kishan.

Ishan Kishan had wanted a break during the India vs South Africa series due to personal reasons.

The T20 squad also features Sanju Samson and Jitesh Sharma, who will be the two wicketkeeper with Ishan Kishan being ignored for the shortest format.

"Ishan wasn't happy that he was travelling without much game time. He is on a break right now and is vacationing. In any case, selectors are in all likelihood are looking beyond Kishan. It will be interesting if he is picked for England Test series where KS Bharat will be back behind the stumps," news agency PTI quoted a BCCI source as saying.

The report added that while Rohit's chances of leading India in the T20 World Cup has considerably brightened, the development comes across as a big blow to Hardik's captaincy ambitions at the global event in June. However, he has replaced Rohit Sharma as Mumbai Indians skipper for IPL 2024.

"Decisions on Rohit and Virat can't solely be taken by the selection committee. There is a lot at stake, broadcasters, sponsors and you can't pick one and drop the other. Ajit and his team needed to maintain a status quo," a former India selector told PTI on conditions of anonymity.

Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja, the two Test team certainties, have been rested and Ruturaj Gaikwad isn't fit to play yet.

All-rounder Shivam Dube has also been named in the squad in Hardik's absence.

The Afghanistan series will be India's last before the World Cup, which takes place right after the IPL.

Former South Africa captain Graeme Smith reckons leaving out the likes of Rohit and Kohli from any team is extremely tough. "I wouldn't want to be a selector. It's a very tough decision to leave out two players who have been incredible. Virat always comes back incredibly well. With the amount of talent that India has now, it is a difficult choice to make," said Smith on the sidelines of an interaction organised ahead of SA20.

India's Squad for 3 T20Is against Afghanistan: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar.

Source :NDTV

No one cares about his happiness, i maintain my absolute dislike for this hack.

Kishan has hardly played any cricket in last few months. Played 2 ODIs and 3 T20s during last 3 months.

If he has any other personal reasons to attend to then I stand corrected.
Prima donna got what he deserved, the boot from the team!

"Decisions on Rohit and Virat can't solely be taken by the selection committee. There is a lot at stake, broadcasters, sponsors and you can't pick one and drop the other. Ajit and his team needed to maintain a status quo," a former India selector told PTI on conditions of anonymity.

Confirmation that sponsors get a vote on who gets to play for India.

Sensational admission from a former selector. Basically destroys all integrity of the selection panel.

Confirmation that sponsors get a vote on who gets to play for India.

Sensational admission from a former selector. Basically destroys all integrity of the selection panel.
As if it was in any doubt. ICT is an advertising hoarding disguised as a cricket team.

:vk1

India cricket team head coach Rahul Dravid said regarding Ishan Kishan, during the pre match press conference ahead of 1st T20I against Afghanistan:

"No Absolutely not. Ishan Kishan was not available for selection. Ishan Kishan requested for a break in South Africa, which we agreed to and supported, recognised. He has not yet made himself available for selection. I am sure when he is available, he will play domestic cricket and make himself available for selection."

Why did they drop Ishan Kishan from the 5-test match series against England? I feel it's unfair to him. He's a young and talented batter, and these 5 test matches were a golden opportunity for him to elevate his career.

He thrown tantrums for not selecting him in the eleven and got side lined

India Cricket Head Coach Rahul Dravid in the media interaction post the 2nd Test against England:

"There is way back for anyone and everyone. I don't want to go on labouring about the Ishan Kishan point. Have tried to explain this as best as I can, the point was he had requested a break, we were happy to give him the break."

"Whenever he is ready, I didn't say he has to play domestic cricket, I said whenever he is ready, he needs to play some cricket and come back. The choice is his. We are not forcing him to do anything."

India Cricket Head Coach Rahul Dravid in the media interaction post the 2nd Test against England:

"There is way back for anyone and everyone. I don't want to go on labouring about the Ishan Kishan point. Have tried to explain this as best as I can, the point was he had requested a break, we were happy to give him the break."

"Whenever he is ready, I didn't say he has to play domestic cricket, I said whenever he is ready, he needs to play some cricket and come back. The choice is his. We are not forcing him to do anything."
Looks like Dravid does not favor Kishan. He likes Bharat more.

The sooner India gets rid of Dravid, the better it is for Indian cricket. His moronic team selection has nearly costed India the 2nd Test. Bumrah and Jaiswal saved his behind.