"I've really not cracked the code regarding a Test match pitch, unfortunately": Ramiz Raja

We are becoming a brand of mediocrity mate

Stop being so delusional about our cricket being a brand!

The word brand was first used by Mickey and these others have hijacked it and destroyed it

Danish Kaneria

“Aapki dukan nahi chal rahi hai kya Ramiz Raja bhai ke hone ke wajah se? (Are you not able to run your business because of Ramiz Raja?) Najam Sethi will come, and your work will resume again?”

“You’ll get similar wickets in Pakistan’s home series whether Najam Sethi or Ramiz Raja or XYZ is the chairman. Nobody will give you grass because they know our team will fail on those tracks.

"There’s no mistake from the PCB chairman; it's Pakistan’s history; groundsmen are told to create supporting tracks. Don’t blame,”

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...-problem-with-ramiz-raja-101671350563235.html

Seems to be an odd sort of wicket so far, relatively flat, but there will be little spells where it abruptly does a bit and 2-3 wickets go down quickly.

In one of these aforementioned phases, balls are clearly turning for the spinners, and there is a hint of reverse swing with the old ball for the seamers.

Then there is another quiet period, where the pitch goes dormant again & the batters start building a partnership back up.

Can't keep blaming pitches - especially your own pitches. Australia, England and NZ had/have not toured Pakistan in 23, 17 and 20 years respectively and they all look better prepared than the clueless home side.

Yes and also Pakistan have had a lot of missed chances, dropped catches & fluffed stumpings and could have reviewed a few times to create opportunities when they didn’t / couldn’t do so.

This pitch is very slow and is hard work, but as New Zealand showed (and may show again), there are ten dismissals in the wicket for a team that plays with concentration and professionalism.

Seems Afridi's cracked the code!

See picture of NSK pitch from a-sports

Bouncy-pitch-prepared.jpg

Seeing the pic hard to differentiate between pitch and ground , field day ahead for NZ bowlers

Looks like in true Pakistani cricketing style, they'll prepare a green top which will be ideal for the NZ bowlers.

Make a green spicy bouncy wicket and may the best team win.

Well when you average 35 in your test career with the bat, and you are a batsman ,to be called, you surely haven’t cracked the code of test match pitch [MENTION=12704]Rameez[/MENTION]

Ramiz on pitches:

"Did I make those pitches? I did not give any instructions to make such wickets for the England Test series. You should do some homework before asking such questions."

Ramiz on pitches:

"Did I make those pitches? I did not give any instructions to make such wickets for the England Test series. You should do some homework before asking such questions."

Ramiz is proving to be an arrogant and despicable person. When he was appointed chairman, he made tall claims about improving the pitches and a big drama of hiring Australian curators.

He even claimed he carried a pitchmaking guide in his own pocket that he read every day !

Now he doesn't want to take responsibility.

Ramiz has cracked one this as a cricket professional, ie. speaking non stop irrespective of the logic in it. It's best he sticks to what he does best, TV commentary!

Shahid Afridi speaking on TV:

“The way Ramiz was speaking, I mean, I was shocked to listen to him saying that we cannot make tracks like these. International matches have been going on in Pakistan for such a long time, but then we say stuff like [this]. Ramiz said that he wanted a turning track. I feel in this weather; it would have been something big"

“T20s and ODIs, we’re fine, and pitches don’t come under that kind of scrutiny. But we’re still years away from preparing a great five-day pitch,"

“Rawalpindi’s track has always been for the fast bowlers with seam and bounce. Why did they even change it? If we are talking about the Rawalpindi pitch, I have never seen a track like this. I have seen a lot of domestic games as well there, but I have never seen a pitch like this which is so flat. It reminded me of Faisalabad or Sialkot track.

“The four big venues – Multan, Karachi, Lahore and Rawalpindi – I have seen fast bowlers enjoy those tracks because of the bounce. In fact, there was a time when we used to see a lot many fast bowlers coming from Rawalpindi.”

Ramiz Raja on his Youtube channel -

“It’s almost impossible to beat India on spinning tracks. The strategy is very successful. Pakistan also tried to prepare spin tracks and defeat the opposition, but it didn’t happen. Not only India kept the conditions right but also they trusted their execution and talent to destroy the Australian batting attack,” Raja said.

Is he out of his mind? When did Pakistan prepare spin tracks and even try to go for a result?

This is the issue with our administrators, they have no idea what they are doing most of time and try to play different agendas when not in a position of power.

Is he out of his mind? When did Pakistan prepare spin tracks and even try to go for a result?

This is the issue with our administrators, they have no idea what they are doing most of time and try to play different agendas when not in a position of power.

i remember him saying the same during pak's recent home test season. he said their motive was to make spinning tracks but the cold weather didn't allow them and the pitches ended up flat. i don't know how far we can trust him but i remember that was what his statement was.

When did it spin? Or is his head spinning?

Zaka Ashraf speaking in a presser:

“We have developed a training plan for pitch curators with Cricket Australia. We will first train curators and then send a head curator there so they can learn. Eventually we will build a team of curators. We will hopefully grow and train curators who can look after all the grounds in Pakistan.

Ramiz Raja speaking to TMS (BBC)

"I've really not cracked the code regarding a Test match pitch, unfortunately and am absolutely disappointed with this Rawalpindi pitch"

"The reason why I am stressing on drop-in pitches in Pakistan is because you will go to Multan and Karachi (for the second and third Tests), and you will get a similar flavour"

"We don't get bounce on our pitches which has to do with the clay and how we prepare a pitch; I don't know what's happening"

"T20Is and ODIs - we're fine and pitches don't come under such scrutiny, but we are still years away from preparing a great 5-day pitch"

"It is embarrassing for us, especially when you have a cricketer as chairman"

"This is not a good advert for cricket. We're a better cricketing nation than this."

"Ultimately, the only situation is a drop-in pitch. Which is extremely expensive if we're bringing it from abroad. Instead, we're developing soil here for drop-in pitches. That way, we can prepare square turners or bouncy wickets depending on what we want.

"This is not an issue of not leaving grass on the pitch. The grass looks good from the point of view of optics. We need to create bounce, which can happen without grass, as happens on Australian pitches. They don't leave lots of grass on the pitch. We get different pitches in Sydney, Melbourne and Perth.

"We have the same pitches because we get the same kind of soil. We've tried to bring a creator from abroad; we needed to bring a curator from Australia for the Lahore Test, because the situation had got out of hand. When I want a spinning pitch, we don't get that either, so it ends up being half and half. We don't want that."

"The board doesn't direct how pitches are made. I've left this to the thinktank. We look at our strengths and then the pitch and then make selections. I try and limit my involvement because otherwise I can't hold people accountable. For accountability you have to cede control. I aim to create a pitch that ends up defining our tactics so a template is set.

"We live in the dark ages of pitches in Pakistan. They aren't exposed in T20 and 50 overs but they are in Test cricket. We lived in an apartheid situation where teams didn't come here. Pakistan players had played 70 Tests without playing here. It's an achievement that we managed to stay afloat. We've tried everything, bringing in a curator from abroad. Pitches are the lifeblood of cricket in a country, but having said that, I've never seen batting like England's on Day 1 either."

"This will improve by next season. Unfortunately we'll see the same kinds of pitches for the New Zealand series."
if we have learnt our lessons?

"I've really not cracked the code regarding a Test match pitch, unfortunately and am absolutely disappointed with this Rawalpindi pitch"

Neither has his successor so Ramiz rest easy.

Azhar Mahmood On pitch curation by Tony Hemming:

"Tony is new here and we guided him that we don't need a flat (Phatta) wicket to bat on, instead we need a wicket that supports both spinners and fast bowlers which can make the game more competitive and that's what people love to see in cricket. For the next match, we are expecting a lively wicket that offers some pace and bounce."

The whole Ramiz and Babar to blame for pitches thing is very quiet now.

Genuine question — why are the pitches so dreadful in Pakistan ?
This seems to have been a recurring theme for literally decades, irrespective of the captain (not just a phenomenon of the Babar reign) — flat, lifeless pitches which are lead to boring cricket.

The Indian pitches are sporting (perhaps “too sporting” at times) but that is sooo much better than these roads.

I am sure Tony Hemming is being paid a lot — what is the solution ?

Azhar Mahmood On pitch curation by Tony Hemming:

"Tony is new here and we guided him that we don't need a flat (Phatta) wicket to bat on, instead we need a wicket that supports both spinners and fast bowlers which can make the game more competitive and that's what people love to see in cricket. For the next match, we are expecting a lively wicket that offers some pace and bounce."
Tony: I got it!

Genuine question — why are the pitches so dreadful in Pakistan ?
This seems to have been a recurring theme for literally decades, irrespective of the captain (not just a phenomenon of the Babar reign) — flat, lifeless pitches which are lead to boring cricket.

The Indian pitches are sporting (perhaps “too sporting” at times) but that is sooo much better than these roads.

I am sure Tony Hemming is being paid a lot — what is the solution ?
No one among fans or experts is really ready to look at this problem head on with an unbiased and genuine look.

You will see many guesses. But none have the factual reasoning and research on this topic done.

Cricket Board and team management might be working on it but we don't know how are they going about it, how much progress they have made or how long will it take.

why are the pitches so dreadful in Pakistan ?

5yrs of niazi bajwa and faiz ensured destruction of every institution in pakistan from cricket and to getting Pia banned In Europe.
Alongwith with giving Afghans and their kith and kin minions in fata Greenlight to attack the pakistan state once again .

Shan Masood in press conference after defeat in 1st Test Match against Bangladesh at Rawalpindi:

"Firstly, over four days, I'm not talking about the fifth day right now. I don't think the pitch was docile; I think the pitch had enough for the seamers. But if you look at the way they played, they were very disciplined in batting. In the end, we gave them a few chances as well when Mehidy Hasan Miraz and Mushfiqur Rahim were playing. There was a point where we got Mushfiqur Rahim out, but it was overturned. We got Shadman out, but it was overturned. At that point, I felt that we did a lot of good stuff, but as a bowling unit, where we lost the game was probably with the second new ball."

He knows the real auqat of this side.

On result oriented pitches, PAK will get beaten by all and sundry.

Better make flat roads and inflate Bobby's average and market him as the golden boy.

Rambo knew that PAK don't have what it takes to win Tests.

Better make flat roads and inflate Bobby's average and market him as the golden boy.

Lol what did the flat pitches do?

We still lost to Australia, England and barely escaped against NZ because of a Sarfaraz special.

But you lost only 1-0 to Australia and still held on vs NZ.

Straight whitewashes if pitches were like this

But you lost only 1-0 to Australia and still held on vs NZ.

Straight whitewashes if pitches were like this

There is a difference. The PCB was criticized for cowardly behaviour by producing dead placid tracks in those series, in this series there have been no complaints about the tracks.

I don't mind getting whitewashed with result oriented pitches at home. The game must be played honestly, fairly with equal opportunities for both sides.

There is a difference. The PCB was criticized for cowardly behaviour by producing dead placid tracks in those series, in this series there have been no complaints about the tracks.

I don't mind getting whitewashed with result oriented pitches at home. The game must be played honestly, fairly with equal opportunities for both sides.
You are a braveheart fan. But Rambo was PCB chairman. If PCT got whitewashed , he would be unfairly blamed.

So can't criticise him for dishing out such pitches. Rambo rightly focussed on white ball cricket.

You are a braveheart fan. But Rambo was PCB chairman. If PCT got whitewashed , he would be unfairly blamed.

So can't criticise him for dishing out such pitches. Rambo rightly focussed on white ball cricket.

Ehsan Mani and Wasim Khan in their tenures dished out sporting pitches at home during their tenures

Pakistan beat Bangladesh 1-0 in 2020, Sri Lanka 1-0 in 2020 and South Africa 2-0 in 2021.

Ehsan Mani and Wasim Khan in their tenures dished out sporting pitches at home during their tenures

Pakistan beat Bangladesh 1-0 in 2020, Sri Lanka 1-0 in 2020 and South Africa 2-0 in 2021.
SA are extremely weak in Asia. Haven't won a Test anywhere in Asia in over 10 years.

Anyway, Rambo dished out those pitches for NZ/OZ/ENG. Those teams are very much capable on Asian wickets.

We don’t need lectures from Indian fans on pitches. Also, this didn’t warrant a separate thread. Someone is having a slow day.

SA are extremely weak in Asia. Haven't won a Test anywhere in Asia in over 10 years.

Anyway, Rambo dished out those pitches for NZ/OZ/ENG. Those teams are very much capable on Asian wickets.

Please don't defend the loser Ramiz. In addition to the boring, flat, dull placid pitches he authorized for the Australian, England, New Zealand series, He caused massive damage to Pakistan Cricket by giving unparalleled powers to Babar Azam, the freedom to do what he wanted and created the clique of Babar, Rizwan, Shaheen, Shadab, Rauf etc and encouraged players to focus on T20 Cricket. It was also under his tenure where the PCB signed off on the ftps with the least amount of test matches vs other nations. Let's also not forget his commercial disaster PJL venture

Implication being Indian fans don't know anything about pitches?
They don’t. Plus, there are pros and cons of every pitch. Flat pitches are not good for Test cricket but neither are pitches that make mediocre spinners like Ashwin and Jadeja look better than Warne.

The pitches for this series have been very good. The best wickets Pakistan have produced in a Test series since SA 2021.

The problem for Pakistan goes beyond the pitch. They don’t do their basics right. Who in their right mind picks a 34 year old as captain who averages 28 after 67 innings.

That is beyond diabolical, and such a failed player should not be within a mile radius of the team let alone be the leader.

If Pakistan do basics right, they will do OK in home Tests in similar conditions. It is not rocket science - pick FC batsmen with the highest averages, pick fast bowlers with the lowest averages and spinners with the most experience.

Spinners without FC experience would almost never win you Test matches, but those with 200+ wickets in FC will always do something.

As far as Babar is concerned, he is going through a lean patch. Everyone goes through such patches. He is 29-30 and his best years are ahead of him. It has nothing to do with the pitches.

Exactly!

Much rather Pak went with spinning wickets against Eng rather than playing to survive with roads.

Let the batsmen get better or chucked out.

None of this statspadding.

Ramiz raja produces babar azam which his biggest sin. Since ramiz left babar didnt even scored a single test 50. He is at best on level of pat cummins the test batsman but made to look like second coming of brain lara on those pattas where even opposition batsmen outscored him. The guy radiates negative energy from every inch of his body.

Implication being Indian fans don't know anything about pitches?

You are making the same mistake which Pakistani posters here did for many years by engaging with “face” persona of Mamoon.
Now that he has turned “heel” the longer Indian posters will engage with him and give him reactions the longer he will stay heel.

Once he loses traction from Indian posters he will go back to being face and bully his usual Guinea pigs like Bilal guy.

Pakistan cricket, reflects the country. A SHAM

Excuses. Politically, Bangladesh is in a bigger Sham and so is Afghanistan who never get to even play at home.

Your cricket team is poor and you are hiding it under politics just bcoz your favourite party is out of power.

Excuses. Politically, Bangladesh is in a bigger Sham and so is Afghanistan who never get to even play at home.

Your cricket team is poor and you are hiding it under politics just bcoz your favourite party is out of power.
He didn't mention politics, he said the country. The country constitutes more than a political party, leader or politicians. It's everyone.

Our cricket team is not poor - it's a dreadful.

Thank you Ramiz for telling Babar , Rizwan and Shaheen there is no one better than them in Pakistan you are the gods . Nice ego boost .
What's worse isn't ramiz, It's that thr gullable actually believe babar is > Miandad.

Ramiz raja produces babar azam which his biggest sin. Since ramiz left babar didnt even scored a single test 50. He is at best on level of pat cummins the test batsman but made to look like second coming of brain lara on those pattas where even opposition batsmen outscored him. The guy radiates negative energy from every inch of his body.
Ramiz for all his faults knew how much the teams batsmen cud manage vs good bowling attacks on non patta/ railroad batting pitches. it took a mega toll on touring aussie nz bowlers who still managed to beat them. but in the first innings bobzy et al wud gets their 50s 100s when ball woudnt move

its the same script old pcb boards followed even when inzi elahi youhana anwar et al were world class batsmen.. pak wud have won a lot more with the kind of attack they had back. then

Reiterating. Can't keep blaming pitches.

And if you crack, Bangladesh whitewash happens, lol.

I hope, Pakistani does not go back to not cracking the pitch phase. It served no pupose.

I agree there isn't a surface that gives Pakistan a home advantage because we suck in every department.

Surely then the argument is prepare the cliched balanced Test match pitch, i.e. some grass to assist the seamers on Day 1, flattening out for the batsmen on Days 2 and 3 and spinners coming into the contest on Days 4 and 5.

Whether our curators have the skills and resources to consistently prepare such a pitch is another matter.

I agree there isn't a surface that gives Pakistan a home advantage because we suck in every department.

Surely then the argument is prepare the cliched balanced Test match pitch, i.e. some grass to assist the seamers on Day 1, flattening out for the batsmen on Days 2 and 3 and spinners coming into the contest on Days 4 and 5.

Whether our curators have the skills and resources to consistently prepare such a pitch is another matter.
I think that's what they tried to do in the first match. This so called "ideal" pitch is not feasible in this part of the world.

And PCB, and Tony Hemming, are trying to make such a pitch in August in this heat?

I don't think they should even be attempting that.

The closest thing to an ideal surface for PAK in these conditions is what you got in Multan against England.

PCB should be trying to replicate that imo.

This 180 degree overhaul is Mamoon's personality is actuallu quite hilarious :yk

What does he expect us to do, reboot our software and delete all that he posted and somehow start believing that his views took a U turn? Amazing.

The only caveat with his plan is that other people actually have brains.

The hypocrisy is staggering. Earlier, English and Indian fans blamed the pitch for Pakistan's batting struggles. Now, with their own team thriving, they're quick to belittle Pakistan's bowling, labeling it 'poor' and insignificant. The narrative has shifted: batters are now the heroes, and the pitch is conveniently forgotten.

What?

yes the pitch is poor, no doubt. But Pakistan's bowling is even worse. They can't even bowl 6 balls at the same line and length. We are playing t20 bowlers in test cricket. This is absolutely rubbish and humiliating.

Maybe it's time to not crack the code. But rather crack the pitch. Prepare a broken pitch that will lead to demerit points and will end the match within 2 days. That would be a better starting point.

Nobody blamed pitches for any Pakistani struggles. PAK simply suck at Test cricket.

Maybe its not the pitch but the balls. Why do they make pancakes and then play with the kookaburra. I believe India uses a local SG ball that is similar to the dukes. Why do we not just use a damn dukes ball for tests or develop one along the lines of the SG

Jason Gillespie, Pakistan's red-ball coach, shared his thoughts during the post-day 3 media conference:

"We've done well in patches, but it's a good surface to bat on."

"Bowlers always keep asking questions."

"We implemented our plans well today, and I'm pleased with that."

"On reflection, I'd like us to be a bit more patient, disciplined, and focused."

Incompetent ramiz raja we have cracked the code.

You are responsible for most pakistan losses at home in recent times

You created pitches to bump babars average so you could market him

Incompetent ramiz raja we have cracked the code.

You are responsible for most pakistan losses at home in recent times

You created pitches to bump babars average so you could market him
I am not sure because no one plays back to back tests on the same pitch.

Fresh pitch needs to be decent.