Jonny Bairstow v Jos Buttler v Sam Billings : The Battle for England ODI WK spot

Slog

Senior Test Player
Three keepers who would walk into most limited overs sides in the world. Who would be your pick?

There's also Ben Duckkett roaming in the background

Bairstow deserves to be there solely on the basis of his batting in both Tests and ODI's. No point in burdening a world class player with the burden of keeping. Billings and Buttler are obviously going to be regular features of the LOI squads so either of them can take up keeping, preferably Billings for me because that will cement his spot in the team and also because Buttler is a better batsman as of now and can hold onto his spot even if he fails in a series.

In my opinion, all three deserve to be there for the LOI's while Bairstow and Buttler need to be there for Tests. Bairstow, for me, is probably the best batsman in the entire English squad. Duckett should also be in the mix. Maybe not in the squads immediately but he's a serious talent. Should work on his game vs spin and work on his fitness. I'm not sure if he brings great fielding to the table.

Buttler to keeo and Bairstow as a specialist bat.

My XI would be: Roy, Hales, Root, Morgan, Buttler, Bairstow, Stokes, Woakes, Rashid, Plunkett, Wood.

Buttler to keeo and Bairstow as a specialist bat.

My XI would be: Roy, Hales, Root, Morgan, Buttler, Bairstow, Stokes, Woakes, Rashid, Plunkett, Wood.

Where is Moeen Ali? I reject your line up.

Three keepers who would walk into most limited overs sides in the world. Who would be your pick?

There's also Ben Duckkett roaming in the background

Out of the three if I had to pick one it would be Buttler

Rashid is the better spinner than Moeen who serves up more pies than a Greggs in Birmingham.

We don't sell pies in Birmingham, you will find them in every Bradford corner shop though. Rashid is marginally bowling better then Mo who has been learning the craft at the international level being a bat who bowls a bit :yk2 by the time he is done, Mo will be bowling better then Swann; Rashid will only decline from here, his greatest career highlight was taking a 5fer against Ireland; Sorry Markhor but he wont top that :mv

Bairstow. He does not have the flair of Butler but he is more consistent

In T20s Buttler is the best in terms of ability and form. But Billings and Duckett aren't too far behind and a poor run of form for Buttler may well see either one of them replacing him.

In ODIs it depends largely on the team balance they want. Buttler is preferred because their top and middle order has been performing wonderfully well and the lower order is more than capable which gives Buttler the license to play his natural carefree game. His position seems safe at the moment. If and when they need a more sturdy middle order bat they would go for Bairstow.

In tests, on present form Bairstow is miles ahead of Buttler, Billings and Duckett. And given their enviable bench strength and uncapped talent, don't see how any of the other three can play tests as a pure batsman or even keeper ahead of YJB.

Bairstow. He does not have the flair of Butler but he is more consistent

I tend to agree with this now. 4-5 months ago Buttler was far ahead but in recent months the story has changed. Buttler is still a beast but Bairstow is up there.

Am I the only one who thinks Bairstow and Buttler both should play and Morgan should be dropped? Maybe ibecause he's left handed (and the captain) but I feel that both these two are better and will keep getting better than Morgan.

It's such a luxury to be an England fan. As a Pakistani I'd take the sub that is Bairstow within a heartbeat.

Am I the only one who thinks Bairstow and Buttler both should play and Morgan should be dropped? Maybe ibecause he's left handed (and the captain) but I feel that both these two are better and will keep getting better than Morgan.

It's such a luxury to be an England fan. As a Pakistani I'd take the sub that is Bairstow within a heartbeat.

dude even Duckett would walk into our side

Butler obviously is the best of the lot.

Now, if you look at England batting, Hales and Roy will open, Root at 3 followed by Morgan, Butler, Stokes. I don't think Barstow has a chance to break it to top 6.

He can become a very good OdI player but this team has got enough resources already.

Butler's issue though is that he chokes a bit too much under pressure but the guy has got too many gears and turn the game in no matter of time.

Adam Foakes. One to watch out for. If bairstow doesn't sort his keeping out Foakes will replace him.
Touted by Some to be the best proper keeper from the English guys.

Adam Foakes. One to watch out for. If bairstow doesn't sort his keeping out Foakes will replace him.

It's Ben Foakes.

And I'm sure I can't be the only one eagerly awaiting the day that England's 6, 7 and 8 in Test cricket line up as:

Stokes
Foakes
Woakes

Buttler is an outrageous talent. He is the closest thing to de Villiers and is probably better than what he was at 26. It is time for England to unleash him in all formats. Bairstow is their second best batsman across formats and has to play, while Billings is very good but he doesn't improve the team at the moment.

It is time for Moeen to be dropped to the bench. He is an inferior all-rounder to Stokes, an inferior bowler to Rashid, and an inferior batsman to Bairstow. In addition, his part-time off-spin is only a little better than Root's.

Butler is an outstanding talent. He should keep the gloves in odis,Bairstow should replace Moen Ali. Billings is good, he's unfortunate to be playing at the same time as Bairstow and Butler.

Bairstow is a proper, proper, high class batsman. Suitable for Tests as well as ODIs.

Butler and Billings are LOI specialists, and very good LOI batsmen.

I'd play all 3 of them in the LOIs, as batsmen!! And any one of them can keep - maybe Butler.

It's Ben Foakes.

And I'm sure I can't be the only one eagerly awaiting the day that England's 6, 7 and 8 in Test cricket line up as:

Stokes
Foakes
Woakes

George Dobell, one of the most credible journalists around and one who follows county cricket property, reckons that he will be the best wicketkeeper batsman England will have. Better than the names mentioned in the OP

England's batting talent is incredible, especially when it comes to WK batsmen. These guys are also unfortunate to be playing in the same era.

Yep. Good day at the office for you. :najam

Indeed, Alec Stewart who works at Surrey rates Foakes very highly and says he's a future England keeper.

Bairstow has to come in as opener for Roy

Too early to discard Roy after only a blip in form.

IMO he is better than Hales who is too hit or miss for my liking (although he has become more consistent)

England have no weak link right now hence Bairstow and Duckett have to be on the bench for now - Butler is still no. 1 but not as consistent as the others and is probably looking over the shoulder for Bairstow.

Moeen had been in questionable form but his 75 in the warmup game means he should be given more chances.

Billing should come in place of Roy as opener, who is in woeful form. England has so many options. Billing is better opener than Roy. Buttler is one of the best power hitter in the game ATM, noway you can replace him, Baistrow is their best choice for test...England is doing the right thing for most part!!

How is this a battle? Buttler wipes the floor with both YJB and Sam Billings. Not a fair comparison.

Buttler is an outrageous talent. He is the closest thing to de Villiers and is probably better than what he was at 26. It is time for England to unleash him in all formats. Bairstow is their second best batsman across formats and has to play, while Billings is very good but he doesn't improve the team at the moment.

It is time for Moeen to be dropped to the bench. He is an inferior all-rounder to Stokes, an inferior bowler to Rashid, and an inferior batsman to Bairstow. In addition, his part-time off-spin is only a little better than Root's.

Drop Moeen? Lols pagalpan ki bhi hadd hoti hai yaar.

Moeen is an inferior batsman to Bairstow and his bowling is not better than Rashid. England will be stronger if they replace him with Bairstow. However, it is not possible after the injury to Woakes.

What you say is true but Moeen is the best #7 England have and as an all-rounder, he makes England that much more stronger. Bairstow is not a #7 batsman and if he replaces anyone it will be Root, Morgan or Buttler. Don't see that happening so Bairstow will have to sit this tournament out.

Roy is a very good opener but he is in poor form at the moment, unlike the other three. If he fails in the next game, Bairstow should replace him.

Billings is also very good hard hitting player with array of shots. England should not waste him.

Really this team is fantastic to watch as a cricket enthusiast, They have everything covered, From Class of Root to Muscle of Stokes.

Billings is also very good hard hitting player with array of shots. England should not waste him.

Really this team is fantastic to watch as a cricket enthusiast, They have everything covered, From Class of Root to Muscle of Stokes.

It is the best ODI batting lineup for almost a decade.

I wouldn't do a Pakistan, if I was the England management. Roy will come good soon enough. I get why people want to see Bairstow play but he just doesn't fit into the team at the moment. They could have possibly dropped Rashid and moved everyone after Root down a spot, slotting Jonny at #4 but it isn't possible now with Woakes injured and Stokes also at risk. Plenty of good players have had to sit on the bench because the team was stronger without them, Bairstow has to come to terms with this too.

Champions Trophy is not really a good time to lose your form. While Roy will definitely find his form sooner or later - could very well in the next game - but at this point, it is far from a bad idea to replace him with someone who is in the form of his life.

I wanted Buttler to replace Root at No.3 but after a hundred from Root, I don't think its possible. But I really want Buttler to bat higher up the order. He's too good a bat to playing so low. The ideal scenario for ODI's would be where Buttler bats at 3 and one of either Billings or Bairstow has the gloves. Roy, although far from being done as a player, is in woeful form which is why it is high time Billings comes into the mix.

Moeen is a better bowler than Bairstow (obviously as JB doesnt bowl) and a better batsman then Rasheed. So overall his spot in the team is merited on performance. He just helped them win against Proteas. Bairstow can come in, but then Roy has to sit out, not Moeen.