Junoon - Vital Signs - Strings

Vegitto1

Ankhon ke sagar, dil dil Pakistan, Sayonee and many more songs from these three bands have found themselves on our playlist.

Even now, a large part of my playlists consists of music from these three. So I ask you to rank these bands and then rank their lead signers.

For me its in this order:

Band

1. Junoon
2. Strings
3. Vital Signs

Singers

1. Shahzad Roy
2. Bilal Maqsood
3. Ali and Salman

Ankhon Ke Saagar was by Fuzon.

Shehzad Roy never sang for any of the above mentioned bands.

Ali Azmat was the best of them all due to his range.

As for best band, Junoon all the way. They were way ahead of their time.

Haha those are some serious typos - I meant Junaid Jamshed and Raz jo ankhon mein.

Can I get the award for “failed topic started of the year”

Junaid is underrated as a singer. A lot of people to this day think that he was picked because of his good looks. Idk what [MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION] thinks about it but this is where a dose of nostalgia would be amazing.

Also I thought highly of Ali but then I heard his album recently and he lacks a lot of things as a singer. Yes he does the "Sayoooooooooo neeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee" kinda stuff better than anyone else but the melody and tone and even the pitch of his voice just doesn't really cut it for me.

Strings as a band were limited - they had two hit songs - and they lived off of them. They just released a comeback album and it has good songs but it's still almost the same as what it used to be even tho Kapadia's voice has a rasping charm to it.

Ali's puraani jeans aur guitar made him a super star. Also a few songs here and there from Awaaz and Faakhir were charming but as singers both were technically limited but they knew their limitations and were masters of making catchy almost jingle like melodies and sticking to them. Nazia Zohaib were probably the duo that were well ahead of their time and should have left a bigger legacy.

To me it will probably be after adding a few people

1. Nazia and Hassan
2. Vital signs (as a band and not Junaid's solo career)
3. Junoon (even tho personally I never really liked their sufi rock)

Sajjad Ali (even tho "babyia o baby, teri marzi nahi chalni" and "tumhaaray aur meray ghar k beech main hai laari adda, laari adda" kinda songs didn't suit him, was and is also a good singer. Everyone else kinda fuses into a big blob but some songs were and still are good.

Junaid is underrated as a singer. A lot of people to this day think that he was picked because of his good looks. Idk what [MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION] thinks about it but this is where a dose of nostalgia would be amazing.

Also I thought highly of Ali but then I heard his album recently and he lacks a lot of things as a singer. Yes he does the "Sayoooooooooo neeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee" kinda stuff better than anyone else but the melody and tone and even the pitch of his voice just doesn't really cut it for me.

Strings as a band were limited - they had two hit songs - and they lived off of them. They just released a comeback album and it has good songs but it's still almost the same as what it used to be even tho Kapadia's voice has a rasping charm to it.

Ali's puraani jeans aur guitar made him a super star. Also a few songs here and there from Awaaz and Faakhir were charming but as singers both were technically limited but they knew their limitations and were masters of making catchy almost jingle like melodies and sticking to them. Nazia Zohaib were probably the duo that were well ahead of their time and should have left a bigger legacy.

To me it will probably be after adding a few people

1. Nazia and Hassan
2. Vital signs (as a band and not Junaid's solo career)
3. Junoon (even tho personally I never really liked their sufi rock)

Sajjad Ali (even tho "babyia o baby, teri marzi nahi chalni" and "tumhaaray aur meray ghar k beech main hai laari adda, laari adda" kinda songs didn't suit him, was and is also a good singer. Everyone else kinda fuses into a big blob but some songs were and still are good.

Seriously? So you heard one album and that too of their more recent work which was still great. The range and depth that Ali possesses is almost unmatched in Pakistani pop culture. Also I have heard him live many times and he sounds the same if not better. I would suggest you hear their older albums like Andaaz, Talaash, Inquilaab etc.

Junaid Jamshed on the other hand just hid behind the music and did not dare to experiment or try his range as he would have been found out. I once heard him live and he had the music turned up to the max with him just whispering in the background. Good for soft pop hits but no where near the level of Azmat.

Even Kapadia had much better vocals than JJ but he is Tier 2 too.

JJ probably had the sweetest most melodious voice by a male singer in Pakistan and I am not just talking about pop music. The more I hear I am, the more I am amazed by his talent.

Ali's voice and range suits rock music and Junoon wouldn't be Junoon without him.

Strings made some good songs but at times they seem to be more influenced by Bollywood music.

In any case, this is very vast topic. It would serve this thread well if someone can dig up the posts where me and [MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION] reminisced quite comprehensivly about Pakistani Pop music and mainly Vital Signs and Junoon.

Seriously? So you heard one album and that too of their more recent work which was still great. The range and depth that Ali possesses is almost unmatched in Pakistani pop culture. Also I have heard him live many times and he sounds the same if not better. I would suggest you hear their older albums like Andaaz, Talaash, Inquilaab etc.

Junaid Jamshed on the other hand just hid behind the music and did not dare to experiment or try his range as he would have been found out. I once heard him live and he had the music turned up to the max with him just whispering in the background. Good for soft pop hits but no where near the level of Azmat.

Even Kapadia had much better vocals than JJ but he is Tier 2 too.

It's not a recent album, it's that I've heard recently. Agreement isn't necessary at all, feel free to like Azmat as much as possible. His voice just doesn't work for me, and the sufi rock is something that I don't and can't like at all.

ab kia karain agar nahi pasand tau? :(

It's not a recent album, it's that I've heard recently. Agreement isn't necessary at all, feel free to like Azmat as much as possible. His voice just doesn't work for me, and the sufi rock is something that I don't and can't like at all.

ab kia karain agar nahi pasand tau? :(

Bhai app pasand kare naa kare aap ki marzi, bus mazaa na uraaiye. :virat

Never did and won't ever do. Even the part of my post that you highlighted, I said that Ali doesn't cut it for me. No question on his legacy.

Junoon as a band is still the creator of my all-time favorite song which is - I know you aren't asking but anyway - "khwaab" and when the lyrics go as "raat dhalni to hai, aanay ujaalay to hain" a part of me smiles with content.

So yeah, that's why they are number 3 in my list and hope you'll understand that as well. Cheers.

No offense to Vital Signs but at best it feels like they had two good songs, Aitebaar and Dil Dil Pakistan.
Rohail did much better with Coke Studio than Vital Signs,not a fan of JJ.

Junoon easily for me,can still listen to many of their song, Saeen and Zamanay Ke Andaaz being the favs.

Strings was good and Faisal has very good voice,but don't think they ever punch above their weight.

Amir zaki was great. Really feel sorry for the he lived (had no money and was hit by depression) but hes songs are great.

I love koi ane wala hai and aitbar .
Also till the last week I never knew "mehendi ki raat" was junaid jamshed's original song due to remake sung by indian girl band.

Junoon just about edges Vital Signs for me, but Strings are nowhere near them.

Vital Signs is a band I heard through Pakistani cricket fans.

However Strings and Junoon used to be regular on Indian MTV.

Junoon with Ali Azmat were a truly world class band. Just heard one of his solo songs yesterday after years and ironic that this thread popped up today.

In any case, this is very vast topic. It would serve this thread well if someone can dig up the posts where me and [MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION] reminisced quite comprehensivly about Pakistani Pop music and mainly Vital Signs and Junoon.

Indeed, we’ve discussed these topics in-depth on several threads, including the Rohail-Zaki rift; the Rohail-Salman rift; the Salman-Ali rift; NFP almost luring Ali away to form Mahaz, an outright political band; Nusrat Hussain’s role in both the Signs and Junoon; the Signs’ eternal quest for a steady guitarist; Assad’s role as Rohail’s designated henchman; Assad’s short stint as the Junoon bassist; Rizwan being shunted aside from the Signs for not being pretty enough; Arshad Mehmood and EMI and their contribution to the early scene; Malcolm Goveas vs Gumby on drums; Shehzad Amjad’s lyrics on Inquilaab and his disgust at Jazba-e-Junoon; Fifi Haroon’s cameo on Jogia; Jeera Blade, the mythical sixth Vital Sign; Nadeem Jafri’s contention that he was a full-fledged Junoon member rather than a session player, and much much more.

With all due respect, the other posts on this thread reveal a very superficial knowledge of these acts. These whippersnappers would be well advised to peruse those other threads. I would bump those threads, but arthritis gets in the way.

Oh, and the TV serials the band members have starred in; Brian’s love for nihari; Samina Ahmed playing Yoko Ono in the Junoon breakup; Salman’s brother Sherry’s instrumental role in said breakup; Signs’ straight copy of UB-40’s Red Red Wine on Volume 1; Mekaal as Junoon bassist; Geetar ‘93 and the seminal role it played in the emergence of the Pakistani music video; JJ’s various love interests; that time Rohail shaved his head; Aamir Zaki’s sister Abida Zaki starring in a Signs video, the list goes on and on...

Indeed, we’ve discussed these topics in-depth on several threads, including the Rohail-Zaki rift; the Rohail-Salman rift; the Salman-Ali rift; NFP almost luring Ali away to form Mahaz, an outright political band; Nusrat Hussain’s role in both the Signs and Junoon; the Signs’ eternal quest for a steady guitarist; Assad’s role as Rohail’s designated henchman; Assad’s short stint as the Junoon bassist; Rizwan being shunted aside from the Signs for not being pretty enough; Arshad Mehmood and EMI and their contribution to the early scene; Malcolm Goveas vs Gumby on drums; Shehzad Amjad’s lyrics on Inquilaab and his disgust at Jazba-e-Junoon; Fifi Haroon’s cameo on Jogia; Jeera Blade, the mythical sixth Vital Sign; Nadeem Jafri’s contention that he was a full-fledged Junoon member rather than a session player, and much much more.

With all due respect, the other posts on this thread reveal a very superficial knowledge of these acts. These whippersnappers would be well advised to peruse those other threads. I would bump those threads, but arthritis gets in the way.

Oh, and the TV serials the band members have starred in; Brian’s love for nihari; Samina Ahmed playing Yoko Ono in the Junoon breakup; Salman’s brother Sherry’s instrumental role in said breakup; Signs’ straight copy of UB-40’s Red Red Wine on Volume 1; Mekaal as Junoon bassist; Geetar ‘93 and the seminal role it played in the emergence of the Pakistani music video; JJ’s various love interests; that time Rohail shaved his head; Aamir Zaki’s sister Abida Zaki starring in a Signs video, the list goes on and on...

Wow, what a jog down memory lane. If I could hire an intern, I would have him collect all those posts into one mega thread and make it compulsory reading for anyone interested in Vital Signs and Junoon before they make another thread about them on PP. As a matter of fact, I would make it a habit to read that thread at least every year myself.

Great thread.

Junoon were great and made some phenomenal songs but their hard guitar rock style wasn't to my taste and Salman would never compromise on that. That's why when they (most of the Vital Signs members) did Naya Paksitan it was too rock sounding for me and that Vital Signs sound was missing and it was needed but obviously Rohail wasn't involved. I had hoped he would have sorted his differences with Salman.

Strings were good but they stuck to the same sound. If you've heard one String's songs then you've heard them all. They didn't experiment too much and I got bored of them.

Awaz made some awesome catch pop songs. Mai na maanu haar, jaane kaun thi hasina, Fraudieye, etc were great catchy pop songs in an era 92-96 that was all about catchy Pakistani pop songs.

Sajjad Ali is an awesome singer and really he is a gem.

Shazad Roy, Hadiqa etc all played their part in the 90s and gave us all great joy.

But for me, without a shadow of a doubt Vital Signs were and still are the greatest pop act of all time from Pakistan. Nothing comes close.

From their album production quality, lyrics, killer tracks to their sheer ability to touch the heartstrings of people, through theirbpatriotic and love song....really it was just amazing.

Junaid,Shezad and Rohail had a great working chemistry and a genuine brotherhood during that time. Yes there were ups and down but that's life.

Four fantastic albums. Yes their first one sounds dated from the late 80s but I wouldn't have it any other way. I still listen to Musafir, Pyar, Do Pal Ka Jeevan etc.

Even their last released commercial track Maula is just epic and a fitting example of what Vital Signs were all about i.e. giving the people of Pakistan joy and optimism with their songs.

Wow, what a jog down memory lane. If I could hire an intern, I would have him collect all those posts into one mega thread and make it compulsory reading for anyone interested in Vital Signs and Junoon before they make another thread about them on PP. As a matter of fact, I would make it a habit to read that thread at least every year myself.

I've read almost all of those threads but not all because there were so many of them. It's hard to collect threads on this forum so it's not something that would pop up.

There's this drama by the name "Dhundlay rastay" available on youtube which is a must see if you are into Vital signs.

People should make new threads, it's good to refresh the memory lane from a different perspective all the time. Not everyone needs to know proper background before forming an opinion, naivety has a certain charm to it as well.

Yes, I agree. It can be quite amusing to hear an uninformed and immature perspective as well. Something that happens quite a lot on these forums.

Talking about Vital Signs, I found this conversation/lecture with Rohail Hayat on Youtube at Harvard in 2015 post his Coke Studio stint. Its a bit long but interesting to watch. He should be teaching classes somewhere.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/DKfy01zedX4?rel=0" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Yes I saw this video a few years ago.

Rohail has disappeared from mainstream attention over the last few years. I'd read that he had a few personal issues and is spending time away from music. I wish him well.

I was surprised he didn't make any statement( not that he had to) when Junaid died. I had read that he posted a short two line statement on the comments section of an article on Junaid at the PakTribune site. He said something along the lines of "Junaid was a great colleague and will be missed". I dearly hope that it wasn't him but some random poster. You've practically been with Junaid like a brother over all these years and that's the comment you come out with after his death.

Rohail is said to still dealing with personal issues, probably all culminating from his divorce after Coke Studio Season 6. That was a bit of a shock, since he got married well before the rest of Vital Signs, when he was barely out of his teens, and him and Amber had been through thick and thin together.

As for Junaid’s passing, he may well have condoled with the family, and didn’t feel the need to make a public statement.

Yes I saw this video a few years ago.

Rohail has disappeared from mainstream attention over the last few years. I'd read that he had a few personal issues and is spending time away from music. I wish him well.

I was surprised he didn't make any statement( not that he had to) when Junaid died. I had read that he posted a short two line statement on the comments section of an article on Junaid at the PakTribune site. He said something along the lines of "Junaid was a great colleague and will be missed". I dearly hope that it wasn't him but some random poster. You've practically been with Junaid like a brother over all these years and that's the comment you come out with after his death.

I really don’t think Robail had been in touch with Junaid after he joined the Tableghi Jamaat. Rohail was completely missing from the song Salman Ahmed made within JJ, Shahi and Shoaib Manaoor called Chand Sitara. Understandable since Rohail and Salman never got back on good terms post Salman’s departure from the band after their debut album but I feel Rohail never connected with JJ after the breakup of Vital Signs or vice versa.

Regardless, Rohail is known for his privacy and staying out of the spotlight nature. Totally opposite of Salman who made a big hue and cry after JJ’s death, commenting on it publicly on TV shows, giving public statements, performing with JJ’s son on award shows and portraying as if he was JJ’s best friend. For many reason, I prefer Rohail’s approach over Salman’s.

Rohail is said to still dealing with personal issues, probably all culminating from his divorce after Coke Studio Season 6. That was a bit of a shock, since he got married well before the rest of Vital Signs, when he was barely out of his teens, and him and Amber had been through thick and thin together.

As for Junaid’s passing, he may well have condoled with the family, and didn’t feel the need to make a public statement.

I heard he ran away from home and got married against family’s wishes. Must be heartbreaking for them to depart after being together for so long and like you said after being through so many ups and downs. In one of his extended interviews on Dawn, Rohail talked about the financial struggles he and the whole group went through even when they were the most popular band in the country.

I don’t know if they ran away, but they did get married very early, and against their families’ wishes. I remember my older female cousins really upset at learning he was already taken, but not as bad as when Junaid tied the knot in 1992z

There’s the story Rohail has narrated a number of times from around 1991, when they were recording Volume 2. He stayed at the EMI office because he couldn’t afford rent, and had to borrow money from relatives to eat. Back then, they all had other careers, and I remember my parents even knowing what each of them did, to exhort me to study harder. Rohail even did a stint as interpreter at the British embassy. The only one who put career over music was Nusrat, who was an airline pilot. I wonder if he rues that decision now.

I do know that Rohail embraced Junaid's brother Humayun at Islamabad airport a month after Junaid died. They both happened to see each other and were catching flights. So it gives me comfort to know that.

I think Junaid's death coincided with personal problems that Rohail was going through at the time but I'm sure he misses Junaid immensely.

Honestly I'm glad Salman left Vital Signs and started Junoon. He achieved great success with Junoon but him leaving really allowed the Vital Signs sound to take off and Rohail has alot to do with that. Salman did awesome guitar work on Vital Signs 1 though.

But Salman has never been my cup of tea. He's his own cheerleader and publicity seeker. I remmebr when Ali Azmat said he practically begged the UN for Junoon to get a gig at some UN event. It was embarrassing. I don't doubt his love for Junaid but honestly him promoting his Junaid tribute documentaries and appearing on award shows etc. It was commendable yet felt abit strage. To me he was using Junaid's name to get some sort of career reinvention for himself.

He also needs to get rid of his red hat and long coat. It just looks silly now and he needs to move on.

I do know that Rohail embraced Junaid's brother Humayun at Islamabad airport a month after Junaid died. They both happened to see each other and were catching flights. So it gives me comfort to know that.

I think Junaid's death coincided with personal problems that Rohail was going through at the time but I'm sure he misses Junaid immensely.

Honestly I'm glad Salman left Vital Signs and started Junoon. He achieved great success with Junoon but him leaving really allowed the Vital Signs sound to take off and Rohail has alot to do with that. Salman did awesome guitar work on Vital Signs 1 though.

But Salman has never been my cup of tea. He's his own cheerleader and publicity seeker. I remmebr when Ali Azmat said he practically begged the UN for Junoon to get a gig at some UN event. It was embarrassing. I don't doubt his love for Junaid but honestly him promoting his Junaid tribute documentaries and appearing on award shows etc. It was commendable yet felt abit strage. To me he was using Junaid's name to get some sort of career reinvention for himself.

He also needs to get rid of his red hat and long coat. It just looks silly now and he needs to move on.

Cannot agree more with everything you’ve said.

I also find Salman’s “Sufi” pose as pretentious and a put-on. His whole act including the getup and spiel quoting Bulle Shah verses etc. reeks of pseudo-intellectualism. On the other hand, Rohail seems genuinely invested in the theory of music and it’s psychological effects. Regardless, Junoon still remains a very important and influential part of my childhood.

I don’t know if they ran away, but they did get married very early, and against their families’ wishes. I remember my older female cousins really upset at learning he was already taken, but not as bad as when Junaid tied the knot in 1992z

There’s the story Rohail has narrated a number of times from around 1991, when they were recording Volume 2. He stayed at the EMI office because he couldn’t afford rent, and had to borrow money from relatives to eat. Back then, they all had other careers, and I remember my parents even knowing what each of them did, to exhort me to study harder. Rohail even did a stint as interpreter at the British embassy. The only one who put career over music was Nusrat, who was an airline pilot. I wonder if he rues that decision now.

Rohail probably would not have had a successful career outside music since as far as I know he never really finished his studies and worked odd desk type jobs like you stated. As for Nusrat, wonder what he really wanted out of his life. If fame and passion for creating music was not something that appealing to him than really there was very little allure to being part of a pop/rock band in Pakistan at that time when it comes to financial stability and having a steady career.

I have some distant family ties with Junaid’s family. Vaguely remember him singing at one of my Mamoo’s mehndi function with the local for rent musical group, like the ones who perform at peoples weddings etc. That was before he got big with Vital Signs. I also remember my parents explaining to me that Junaid despite being in Vital Signs had to finish his studies to become an engineer.

Rohail probably would not have had a successful career outside music since as far as I know he never really finished his studies and worked odd desk type jobs like you stated. As for Nusrat, wonder what he really wanted out of his life. If fame and passion for creating music was not something that appealing to him than really there was very little allure to being part of a pop/rock band in Pakistan at that time when it comes to financial stability and having a steady career.

I have some distant family ties with Junaid’s family. Vaguely remember him singing at one of my Mamoo’s mehndi function with the local for rent musical group, like the ones who perform at peoples weddings etc. That was before he got big with Vital Signs. I also remember my parents explaining to me that Junaid despite being in Vital Signs had to finish his studies to become an engineer.

Nusrat returned to music later on, but didn’t make too much of a mark, or any mark for that matter. In the early 2000s, he was interviewed by Fasi Zaka for On the Fringe, and he reminisced quite a bit about both bands. I’ll try to find that episode on YouTube. He is like the Pakistani version of Pete Best, one of the original Beatles: if only he had stuck to it...

The shaadi circuit was a big thing back in the day, and it actually remained a bone of contention between Junaid and Rohail, even after they achieved a fair bit of fame. Junaid was fine with milking it, but Rohail, the brooding, elusive artist, was vehemently opposed to it. Likewise, Ali left Jupiters because they were a fixture on the shaadi circuit.

Just remembered the first time I actually met Ali and Salman (won't go into details). It was in Dubai at Al Nasr Lesuireland and our family was one of the sponsors. I was a "bodyguard" due to that. Was only 13 or so at the time and 5'4"ish, but it was alright as had the tallest security guard (was around 7'5" and very famous in the area) in the Gulf standing next to me.

[MENTION=2071]saadibaba[/MENTION], found the show I was talking about earlier:

Scroll to about 5:00 in the first video to get to Nusrat’s interview:

And the final part... apparently we can only add two videos per post...

[MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION]

Thanks for sharing. Finally got a chance to watch the interview. It brought back memories when I was part of a rock band in college and was struggling to take our group to the next level. Things fell apart as they usually do with such bands. The vocalist lost interest, the keyboardist skipped town, the guitarist (myself) and the drummer were left to our own devices. We auditioned a few guys but things never really worked out. Then the vocalist returned and we end up making a few original songs. Even toured a recording studio to figure out the cost involved with recording a song, met Awaz there. Ultimately, were unable to get the funds and the vocalist ended up losing interest again. Oh well, not everyone can have a fairytale ending.

Nusrat is a talented guy for sure and almost has a six degrees of Kevin Bacon quality to him. Ultimately, not just Beatles but every rock band has come into existence in similar fashion. The two guys know some other guy who knows this third guy who has heard about this fourth guy and on and on. The timing of Vital Signs and Junoon was one of the biggest factor into making them music legends. End of dictatorship, beginning of a new political and social age. A pre-internet and Youtube era that started with the PTV Music 89 variety show and in my opinion ended with Ali and Salman falling apart. Those denim clad lads with amazingly good looks and a fresh new sound. They were amazing, they were incredible, they were our Beatles.

[MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION]

Thanks for sharing. Finally got a chance to watch the interview. It brought back memories when I was part of a rock band in college and was struggling to take our group to the next level. Things fell apart as they usually do with such bands. The vocalist lost interest, the keyboardist skipped town, the guitarist (myself) and the drummer were left to our own devices. We auditioned a few guys but things never really worked out. Then the vocalist returned and we end up making a few original songs. Even toured a recording studio to figure out the cost involved with recording a song, met Awaz there. Ultimately, were unable to get the funds and the vocalist ended up losing interest again. Oh well, not everyone can have a fairytale ending.

Nusrat is a talented guy for sure and almost has a six degrees of Kevin Bacon quality to him. Ultimately, not just Beatles but every rock band has come into existence in similar fashion. The two guys know some other guy who knows this third guy who has heard about this fourth guy and on and on. The timing of Vital Signs and Junoon was one of the biggest factor into making them music legends. End of dictatorship, beginning of a new political and social age. A pre-internet and Youtube era that started with the PTV Music 89 variety show and in my opinion ended with Ali and Salman falling apart. Those denim clad lads with amazingly good looks and a fresh new sound. They were amazing, they were incredible, they were our Beatles.

Awesome read. Really enjoyed that. Just to be part of that era and your personal experience must have been special for you and bring back great memories. I certainly enjoyed reading it.

[MENTION=22846]Nusrat is a talented guy for sure and almost has a six degrees of Kevin Bacon quality to him. Ultimately, not just Beatles but every rock band has come into existence in similar fashion. The two guys know some other guy who knows this third guy who has heard about this fourth guy and on and on. The timing of Vital Signs and Junoon was one of the biggest factor into making them music legends. End of dictatorship, beginning of a new political and social age. A pre-internet and Youtube era that started with the PTV Music 89 variety show and in my opinion ended with Ali and Salman falling apart. Those denim clad lads with amazingly good looks and a fresh new sound. They were amazing, they were incredible, they were our Beatles.

What struck me was the lack of bitterness on his part over how Salman has, over the years, repeatedly and belatedly taken credit for being one of the composers of Dil Dil Pakistan, although he does mention it in the interview. All of us who actually grew up in that period remember Nusrat in the video, circa 1987. The album, Vol 1, came a year later, in 1988, and yes, Salman played on the album. But he was not in any way involved in the composition.

Salman gets away with it because most of the audience was born well after that period, the same way he gets away with blatantly copying riffs off of records the youngsters haven't heard, and on at least one song, copying his own riff, but changing the scale.

What struck me was the lack of bitterness on his part over how Salman has, over the years, repeatedly and belatedly taken credit for being one of the composers of Dil Dil Pakistan, although he does mention it in the interview. All of us who actually grew up in that period remember Nusrat in the video, circa 1987. The album, Vol 1, came a year later, in 1988, and yes, Salman played on the album. But he was not in any way involved in the composition.

Salman gets away with it because most of the audience was born well after that period, the same way he gets away with blatantly copying riffs off of records the youngsters haven't heard, and on at least one song, copying his own riff, but changing the scale.

Yes, he does not appear bitter or jealous of anyone. The song he sang in the interview was pretty good. Wonder what he would have created and produced if he would have stuck with Vitals or Junoon.

I was not aware of the Air Wolf theme reference in the Dil dil song. I was very young when Air Wolf first aired in Pakistan and only vaguely remembered the theme. I searched it on Youtube and still don't get it. I guess it wasn't a copy but maybe the string melody was kinda similar. I much prefer the Knight Rider theme over that.

As for copying stuff. Vitals "Samjhana" was a blatant copy of Red red wine.

I just thought of another copy I had picked up a while back . Junoon's song Ghaflat in the Talash album...listen to the lead guitar opening riff and then listen to this old Bollywod song "Hum the jinke sahare".

Talking about copies and influences, Rohail's fascination with Pink Floyd can be seen all over the Hum Tum album, most prominently in the title track which plays like is a faster version of Floyd's Us and Them, even literally translating the song's title in Urdu, Hum Tum - Us and Them. The triangle floating around the Hum Tum video looks like a tribute to Floyd's The Dark Side of the Moon album cover. The merging of songs with each other to create a continuous operatic experience is also very much a Floydian signature.

[MENTION=2071]saadibaba[/MENTION], speaking of blatant copies (as opposed to influences), I remember the time the older brother of a friend played Red Red Wine on his cassette “deck,” (as they were called back then), and I was appalled... that UB40 had copied our very own VS without giving them credit in the liner notes. I had to be convinced that it was the other way round, and still had lingering doubts for weeks afterwards.

The opening riff on Mera Mahi on Inquilaab has Aerosmith “influences,” if that is the right word, but the first time Salman really got criticized was for Pappu Yaar on Dewaar. By that time, the audience was sophisticated enough and had heard enough music to call him out for it.

Now, influences (as opposed to blatant lifting of riffs, motifs, and whatnot) are far more numerous, which is understandable. We’ve discussed Rohail’s Floyd influences on other threads too (including the infamous falling out with Zaki over David Gilmour’s sloppy playing at a London concert), but I wanted to mention the earliest detectable Floydian undertones on a VS album: four years before Hum Tum, Volume 2 featured a song Hum Rahey Raahi. Not only was it psychedelic, it was the first time they had experimented with a raag, in this case Aiman.

Aiman, as music theory aficionados will tell you, is best listened at dusk, and the ascending and descending scales of the raag (the aaroh and the avaaroh) differ by a note: ascending, it is the standard major scale, but descending, it is the Mixolydian mode, with a minor instead of a major seventh note. It was my favorite raag to experiment with on the guitar, because that difference of the one note means you get a root chord with a minor seventh, and a minor fifth chord in a descending progression.

Hum Rahay Raahi is a seminal track in the Pakistani canon, as is its video. Sadly, not many remember it, or have even heard it.

Now, influences (as opposed to blatant lifting of riffs, motifs, and whatnot) are far more numerous, which is understandable. We’ve discussed Rohail’s Floyd influences on other threads too (including the infamous falling out with Zaki over David Gilmour’s sloppy playing at a London concert), but I wanted to mention the earliest detectable Floydian undertones on a VS album: four years before Hum Tum, Volume 2 featured a song Hum Rahey Raahi. Not only was it psychedelic, it was the first time they had experimented with a raag, in this case Aiman.

Aiman, as music theory aficionados will tell you, is best listened at dusk, and the ascending and descending scales of the raag (the aaroh and the avaaroh) differ by a note: ascending, it is the standard major scale, but descending, it is the Mixolydian mode, with a minor instead of a major seventh note. It was my favorite raag to experiment with on the guitar, because that difference of the one note means you get a root chord with a minor seventh, and a minor fifth chord in a descending progression.

Hum Rahay Raahi is a seminal track in the Pakistani canon, as is its video. Sadly, not many remember it, or have even heard it.

Very informative post. I’m learning to play classical guitar and will keep this info at hand.

Hun Rahay Rahi probably belonged in the 4th album with its baseline keyboard progression and that laid back Gilmour inspired guitar riffs across the song. Is it’s video one with an avalanche of pigeons everywhere and the pink Cadillac. A little over the top for me but it was all Shoaib Mansoor so can’t really blame Vitals for it. Great song but I still prefer Hum Tum over it as my all time favorite Vitals song followed by Hum Rahay and Musaafir.

[MENTION=2071]saadibaba[/MENTION], speaking of blatant copies (as opposed to influences), I remember the time the older brother of a friend played Red Red Wine on his cassette “deck,” (as they were called back then), and I was appalled... that UB40 had copied our very own VS without giving them credit in the liner notes. I had to be convinced that it was the other way round, and still had lingering doubts for weeks afterwards.

The opening riff on Mera Mahi on Inquilaab has Aerosmith “influences,” if that is the right word, but the first time Salman really got criticized was for Pappu Yaar on Dewaar. By that time, the audience was sophisticated enough and had heard enough music to call him out for it.

Yes Pappu Yaar ripped U2's Pop. If Salman really wanted to copy stuff, he should have picked up some obscure band's song and not a band whose as big and global as U2. Even plagiarist can get lazy at times.

I heard Samjhana before Red red wine as well. Didn't had the same reaction as yours but was surprised why a band as talented as Signs felt the need to copy an above average song from an above average band.

Since Strings is mentioned in this thread as well and we are talking about blatant copying and influences. A song on their second album called "Maine tum se kaha tha" has ripped the last chorus part of Under Pressure by Queen and David Bowie.

Come to think of it, Pappu Yaar has more "Hold me thrill me kiss me kill me" by U2 as well in it than Pop. Or maybe an amalgamation of both songs....anyways very much U2 "inspired"

Very informative post. I’m learning to play classical guitar and will keep this info at hand.

Hun Rahay Rahi probably belonged in the 4th album with its baseline keyboard progression and that laid back Gilmour inspired guitar riffs across the song. Is it’s video one with an avalanche of pigeons everywhere and the pink Cadillac. A little over the top for me but it was all Shoaib Mansoor so can’t really blame Vitals for it. Great song but I still prefer Hum Tum over it as my all time favorite Vitals song followed by Hum Rahay and Musaafir.

Classical guitar! So similar yet so different to the steel string. There’s something so evocative about the nylon strings: the decay of the note being so quick, you get to play far more notes than on a steel string with the long sustain. I’ve never owned one, but I’m mulling buying a cheap Ramirez to be able to jam with my 12-year old, who started playing two years ago. I sold my last steel string years ago, but I get the urge to play every so often. What brand did you buy? Tell me all about it.

Yes, Hum Rahay Raahi is the one with the pigeons and the Cadillac. I felt it showed Rizwan to be a really underrated player. Lest we forget, he played on more VS songs than their other four guitarists.

Classical guitar! So similar yet so different to the steel string. There’s something so evocative about the nylon strings: the decay of the note being so quick, you get to play far more notes than on a steel string with the long sustain. I’ve never owned one, but I’m mulling buying a cheap Ramirez to be able to jam with my 12-year old, who started playing two years ago. I sold my last steel string years ago, but I get the urge to play every so often. What brand did you buy? Tell me all about it.

Yes, Hum Rahay Raahi is the one with the pigeons and the Cadillac. I felt it showed Rizwan to be a really underrated player. Lest we forget, he played on more VS songs than their other four guitarists.

I have a Yamaha C-40 considered the ideal beginners classical guitar. Ive had it for a while. My significant other gifted it to me sometime ago but I never got into it till recently. I plan to upgrade once I feel I will be sticking to playing the classical guitar for good. I am currently going through the standard Christopher Parkening Vol. 1 book right now. I've played electric before, a Fender Stratocaster during my band days so I know my way around the guitar but finger picking and learning to read music is new to me. Its like learning a new language. Very immersive experience once you are in the middle of a piece and reach that stage when your brain in so no longer thinking about whats on the page and the eyes and fingers and moving effortlessly in sync together. Good stress relief. I eventually want to branch into jazz guitar so I may end up buying a Gibson ES-175 or one of Ibanez Pat Metheny series guitars.

Hum Rahay Raahi is one of my favourite Vital Signs songs. There is something really special about it and you're right it's one of the least talked about Vital Signs songs.

I really believe Vital Signs 2 is their best album. It's softer to listen to than Hum Tum (which itself is an all time great album) but it contains some of the greatest tracks to have ever been made by a Pakistani pop act. Tere liye hai mera dil in my opinion hasn't been bettered by any other Pakistani act since. Ajnabi, Hum Rahay Raahi, Yaad Karna and Naraz......these tracks are Vital Signs at their finest.

Not to take anything away from the pappu bacha Vital Signs/Strings songs, (singing about purani jeans and what not,) but this song actually made me wake up and take notice of thew world and started my teenage rebellion at the time (also till date to an extent).

I still wake up in a cold sweat sometimes with the words "Sadar Sahab ka tayarra aaj hawa me "fut" gaya" ringing in my ears.

Zahni ghulami sai, kaash ho hum azaad.