Karachi vs Lahore - which city is better to live in in Pakistan?

Which city is better to live in Pakistan?

Lahore shouldn't change its culture and it can't because you cannot leave your roots, but my point is that Karachi is a much better representation of the Pakistani culture, because Lahore culture is heavily influenced by Indian culture.

Btw, I didn't get your point regarding Lahore being more similar to Delhi than Karachi, of course it is.

Most of the Karachiites live in the US so expect them to be clicking their itchy fingers for Karachi as they come online later. saadibaba will probably create 5 extra accounts just to boost the score.

You have to be neutral in such comparisons thats why i am not voting here

What's Karachi's culture? Sindh has its unique culture but Karachi? maybe you're talking about Target killing and ransoms...

I think he means it is more ethnically diverse so you get a bigger mix of cultures from all over Pakistan. The actual local culture would be Sindhi like you said.

I call BS on the above livability ranking.. it places the Canucks on top? yeah right.. and the Toronto and Calgary are their too but not the best city in Canada, Montreal!

Karachi is definitely more diverse than Lahore, but there has been little or no development in the city since the time Musharraf left. However, Lahore has massive amounts of money pumped into it by the chota Sharif. With that kind of development budget any city will start to shine.
You are little too late knowing that.

Aussies and Canucks have dominated the liveable citites for god knows how long. Don't be a hater.

I think he means it is more ethnically diverse so you get a bigger mix of cultures from all over Pakistan. The actual local culture would be Sindhi like you said.

being ethnically diverse is not a culture really. Most people from different provinces are laborers working in textile factories.

Lahore shouldn't change its culture and it can't because you cannot leave your roots, but my point is that Karachi is a much better representation of the Pakistani culture, because Lahore culture is heavily influenced by Indian culture.

Btw, I didn't get your point regarding Lahore being more similar to Delhi than Karachi, of course it is.

Not only are you undermining Lahore, but are discrediting India for it's own plethora of cultures. Pray tell, what is the Indian culture in tjis context? As far as I know, Lahore has nothing in common with the Maharashtra culture, neither with the various South Indian cultures, nor with the culture thriving in the Bengal region.

So please do define what is this Indian culture that Lahore seems to be influenced from, and why is it that the rest of India is not part of this distinct "Indian" culture itself?

I mean the Indian Punjabi culture/north-west India. Maharashtra is more towards the South.

Right. So Lahore is at fault for not tearing itself apart from the general culture embraced in a region where it was the regional capital for again, centuries on end? And just because of Partition now that half the said territory falls under a rival state, Lahore is now being maligned for being "heavily influenced" by their culture despite belonging to (if not giving birth to) the same culture?

Do you begin to see how absurd that all is beginning to sound?

Also, cosmopolitanism is most probably at the opposite end of the spectrum, quite further away from culture. Both have its advantages, but it doesn't mean one is subordinated to the other, or inferior to another

Of course its not Lahore's fault, who said it?

Its just that for this reason, it will be not detached from the Indian Punjabi culture and will not have its own identity unlike Karachi, which is why I consider it a true representation of what can be termed as Pakistan's culture.

Its the only city with its own identity.

Its just that for this reason, it will be not detached from the Indian Punjabi culture and will not have its own identity unlike Karachi, which is why I consider it a true representation of what can be termed as Pakistan's culture.

What about Pukhtoons who give more importance to Afghanis Atleast we Lahori accept that we are Pakistanis despite cultural similarities I have seen many Pathan still think they are Afghanis rather than Pakistani

My disgust at Pashtun nationalism has been well documented on this forum, and I've been the subject of much hate on their part, who accuse me for forgetting my roots.

Pashtun nationalism and the identity crisis some people have in Peshawar is disgusting, and plenty of them are present on this forum as well.

Laughable. So Lahore should overthrow its multiple centuries' worth of heritage out the window and invent a new identity? Why not ask Indian Punjab to do that? Or is the concept of Pakistaniat so weak as to not withstand its most populous province sharing similar history as that of one of the provinces of our rival?

Lahore was one of the active centers of the Pakistan Movement, we have the symbol of Pakistan in our backyard. Why is it valid to undermine Lahori culture and contributions to Pakistan just because it has something in common with a rival state - and while we're at the topic, why not draw attention to the fact that Lahoris apparently have no fault with being part of Pakistan - and Karachi, despite reflecting the supposedly "true identity" of cosmopolitan Pakistan, is often made the centre of separation politics?

Both are representations of Pakistan in all their glory and with all their fallacies.

Lahore shouldn't/can't overthrow its culture.

It is just a tad unfortunate to be so closely tied with India. Karachi holds the true spirit of Pakistan and I'm personally miffed that its no longer the capital.. but, I guess Ayub Khan had little choice, given the geographic location.

There's nothing unfortunate about that. Every Lahori asserts his/her Pakistaniat far more than his pre-supposed Indian-ness. I'm pretty sure that's the same case in Karachi.

The true spirit of Pakistan was barely conceived to its minute details of whether it'd be a modern cosmopolitan state or a federation of different provinces each revelling in it's own distinct culture whilst contributing to the state of Pakistan. Thereby it'd be a mistake to consider Karachi as the sole representative of true Pakistani identity when the fathers of the nation themselves never specified whether they favoured a cosmopolitan city or a cultural center to comprise and represent the spirit and identity of Pakistan.

I feel bad for leaving out Quetta and Peshawar in this debate, but at least for now there remains no reason to diss any cultural city and deem it not worthy of deserving the title of being Pakistani enough in this race. Lahore is as much Pakistani as any place else. Pakistan ought to celebrate ALL its cultures than alienate anyone for being more Pakistani or more Indian on the basis of sheer subjectivity.

Actually the musical group (if they can even be called a group) post "Lohr Lohr" fame made an even more ridiculous song about Karachi. It was dreadful. God knows why they decided to do that....maybe to capitalize on the supposedly huge market of songs lionizing cities or to look neutral. It was so insignificant that I don't even remember now how it went. At least "Lohr Lohr" had a catchy best and memorable hook to it.

Btw, Lahories always end up saying "Lohr Lohr ay" whenever you bring up the Karachi vs. Lahore debate. Hence the significance of the song.

Lohr lohr ae puttar. Jinhe lohr ni vekheya oh jamya hi nae

Super Karachi Express

<iframe frameborder="0" width="480" height="270" src="//www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x2fr2i5" allowfullscreen></iframe><br /><a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x2fr2i5_the-man-behind-the-cultural-tour-of-karachi_shortfilms" target="_blank">The man behind the "cultural tour" of Karachi</a> <i>by <a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/dawn-news" target="_blank">dawn-news</a></i>

<iframe frameborder="0" width="480" height="270" src="//www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x2fr2li" allowfullscreen></iframe><br /><a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x2fr2li_karachi-is-the-best-city-i-have-ever-been-to_shortfilms" target="_blank">"Karachi is the best city I have ever been to"</a> <i>by <a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/dawn-news" target="_blank">dawn-news</a></i>

http://www.dawn.com/news/1160206/ske-adventures-into-the-unexplored-corners-of-karachi

In fact, I'd claim the opposite. For most part, it's the Karachites' over-exaggerated effort to appear more 'sophisticated' that leads to such statements and generalisations. I see a lot of empty-bravado here, not in Lahore.

Lahoris are generally just khullay-dhullay, lively-hearted people. They express and celebrate it openly, with no holds barred and perhaps a tad too enthusiastically. Nevertheless, nothing about this reeks of 'insecurity or inferiority complex'. It's how we are, and no shame in celebrating our culture even if done in a paindoo song which no one takes seriously.

Also, the direct translation is 'You're not born yet', not 'Youre not good enough'.. Different meanings.. And bro, Karachiites have stooped to way lower statements and blogs than that to get their point across - if we're to take Express Tribune as an example.

You are right. Lahoris have no shame in celebrating their paindo culture. "Khulay Dullay Ballay Ballay". That overtly gaudy and crass culture really needs celebrating otherwise it will lose its kooool factor.

I remember going to a Lahori wedding. Never felt more out of place.

This is surprising to me, considering that most of Karachi's population identifies with the North Indian culture. Other than that, Karachi is the most diverse city in the country.

You are right. Lahoris have no shame in celebrating their paindo culture. "Khulay Dullay Ballay Ballay". That overtly gaudy and crass culture really needs celebrating otherwise it will lose its kooool factor.

Wow, so you think all of Lahore is like those hooligans in the 'Lahore Lahore ay' video? Tsk.

Lahore has evolved, and you are more out of touch than you'd like to believe. We've managed to evolve whilst remaining grounded to our frankness and openness.

But never mind that - Please kindly continue to revel in your overly stuffy, false-superiority, wanna-be-sophisticated Karachite culture and continue looking 'down' on Lahore - that's probably the only kooooool thing Karachiites can factually celebrate before their darling Altaaf bhai and his revered MQM ghunday shut down the city :baelish

Unless you're thinking of something else, paindoo is more or less a derogatory term in Pakistan :sanga

a derogatory term devised by the burgers and elitists who think anyone who comes from a village is uncivilized. it speaks more about those who treat it as a derogatory term.

Not really :baelish

See, it's become part of the lexicon of every Pakistani at least in the urban centers. Even the lower middle classes. Anyone deemed below anyone is automatically deemed paindoo irregardless of their affinity or connection to any village.

You're right in the sense that it started out as an elitist term. But atm, now it basically means anything gaudy or backward irrespective of the pind-connection.

See, it's become part of the lexicon of every Pakistani at least in the urban centers. Even the lower middle classes. Anyone deemed below anyone is automatically deemed paindoo irregardless of their affinity or connection to any village.

You're right in the sense that it started out as an elitist term. But atm, now it basically means anything gaudy or backward irrespective of the pind-connection.

It shows the mental backwardness of those people who use the term villager for anything they look down upon. Nothing wrong with being a paindoo or deyhati, but everything wrong with bigots who use this term for anything they see as backward.

If Karachi is a citie which hold many different nationalities and ethnicity, that will be the first city I'll move to if I ever return to Pakistan.

It shows the mental backwardness of those people who use the term villager for anything they look down upon. Nothing wrong with being a paindoo or deyhati, but everything wrong with bigots who use this term for anything they see as backward.

Lahore is not even a paindoo city, if you really want to see paindoos you have to go further out into the villages proper where you get the traditional folks still living pretty simple lives. Some people seem to be basing their opinion on the evidence of one video of someone singing "L'hore L'hore ay".

This coming from a Karachiites, I would much rather prefer to live in Lahore. I also believe given this choice to any sane man in Karachi, he would do the same.

Btw its pretty standard for Karachiite to write of Lahoris as bunch of paindus, mocking their accents and eating habits. Thats just based on stereotypes generated to make them feel better and superior. Most honestly woudnt know because they spend their wholes lives never leaving Karachi. Some adventurous ones might journey to Hyderabad but thats a rarity too.

I suppose the Karachi equivalent for a paindu would be a Maila.

These are men living in less affluent areas of Karachi. Invariably all support MQM. Despite claiming to be urdu speaking (which every karachiite does) they speak a lingo far away from urdu. Indulge in serious gutka and jaem consumption. On weekends one may find them on the beaches of clifton

Wow, so you think all of Lahore is like those hooligans in the 'Lahore Lahore ay' video? Tsk.

Lahore has evolved, and you are more out of touch than you'd like to believe. We've managed to evolve whilst remaining grounded to our frankness and openness.

But never mind that - Please kindly continue to revel in your overly stuffy, false-superiority, wanna-be-sophisticated Karachite culture and continue looking 'down' on Lahore - that's probably the only kooooool thing Karachiites can factually celebrate before their darling Altaaf bhai and his revered MQM ghunday shut down the city :baelish

Evolved? Lol....sure. Just because you've got a few more tall buildings and malls, some wannabe fancy restaurants and the red bus thing which btw is such an obvious copy of the London metro buses, the copycat follower nature so apparent in the whole enterprise, only a blind paindo Lahori will be unable to see it.

And since you mentioned MQM, you guys are pretty evolved as well while still voting for paindo Nawaz and Chote Shareef urf Khadam e Ala..lol and continuing to be the worst city for Qadyani's and Christian minorities....not to mention the araam gha for internationally wanted criminals like Hafiz Saeed and holding the distinction for being the only city where a visiting international cricket team got attacked...sure, very evolved indeed.

But don't let me spoil the party for the Khulla, comfortable in their skin happy go lucky Lahoris. Keep reveling yourselves in your blissfully ignorant paindoness, doing bhangra to the rhythm of self glorifying atrocious songs...of course you know by now which song I'm talking about.

Lohr Lohr ay, Lohr Lohr ay

(I just had to end my rant on that song...lol)

Karachi being a coastal and port city will always be better than Lahore even if it had nothing else. Sorry Lahoris you have to accept Karachi's strategic location. In the long run even towns like Gawadar will overtake Lahore.

How much does each city contribute to the nation's economy? I read that Karachi contributes around 25% of the nation's revenue, what about Lahore?

disclaimer: I like lahore.

Evolved? Lol....sure. Just because you've got a few more tall buildings and malls, some wannabe fancy restaurants and the red bus thing which btw is such an obvious copy of the London metro buses, the copycat follower nature so apparent in the whole enterprise, only a blind paindo Lahori will be unable to see it.

And since you mentioned MQM, you guys are pretty evolved as well while still voting for paindo Nawaz and Chote Shareef urf Khadam e Ala..lol and continuing to be the worst city for Qadyani's and Christian minorities....not to mention the araam gha for internationally wanted criminals like Hafiz Saeed and holding the distinction for being the only city where a visiting international cricket team got attacked...sure, very evolved indeed.

But don't let me spoil the party for the Khulla, comfortable in their skin happy go lucky Lahoris. Keep reveling yourselves in your blissfully ignorant paindoness, doing bhangra to the rhythm of self glorifying atrocious songs...of course you know by now which song I'm talking about.

Lohr Lohr ay, Lohr Lohr ay

(I just had to end my rant on that song...lol)

You do realise the Metro bus isnt a double decker now, right? Have you even seen one do its job? :facepalm:

All this while other Karachiites happily relocate to Lahore and continue on with their lives :rolleyes:

Like I said, continue on with the superior-than-thou attitude. Nevertheless, for someone eho hasnt visited Pak in 10 years, you'll def be in for a shock - far beyond a few restaurants and malls, I assure you :baelish

Also, no one does bhangra to Lahore lahore ay. Unless in your imagination - hmm.. wonder whose the real ignorant now :13:

Comeback and talk when Lahore starts handling 70% of the countries economy

It's fine the people of Karachi will keep working overtime for the betterment of the entire nation while you enjoy your lavish meals and naach parties..

And its people of Karachi who kill atleast one MQM worker everyday and It is the peope of Karachi who announce 3 days of mourning after every week

So even with all the strikes and bad haalat Karachi is able to produce so much more than Lahore.. makes sense if you have nihari and paye for breakfast everyday you won't want to work.

Who said that Karachi produces more? You can ask any foreigner he will say that he wold like to visit Lahore than Karachi

lol, typical moronic statement.

Karachi is the city which RECEIVES 70% of the country's economy, not handle or create it.

You do realise the Metro bus isnt a double decker now, right? Have you even seen one do its job? :facepalm:

All this while other Karachiites happily relocate to Lahore and continue on with their lives :rolleyes:

Like I said, continue on with the superior-than-thou attitude. Nevertheless, for someone eho hasnt visited Pak in 10 years, you'll def be in for a shock - far beyond a few restaurants and malls, I assure you :baelish

Poor comeback. No response to the pertinent points I raised but instead just focusing on the fact the buses in Lahore are not double deckers so we can't be the same, have you seen their color....lol.

Karachi has got its law and order problems and as soon as they get resolved I can assure all those Karachiities who relocated will be right back....btw, people of FATA and KP still prefer our city to yours. It's only Karachi that can boast a Pakhtun party ANP, an Urdu speaking party MQM, Sindhi party PPP along with Punjab centric parties like PTI and PML-N, and Islamic parties like JI fighting in elections and actually having a chance of winning. No where in Pakistan will you see that. So let's not talk about who's migrating where. Karachi is and will forever be the city of immigrants. That's what gives it it's charm and character.

lol, typical moronic statement.

Karachi is the city which RECEIVES 70% of the country's economy, not handle or create it.

I dont know what he is talking about Karachi is only in news nowadays for target killing or MQM

Also, no one does bhangra to Lahore lahore ay. Unless in your imagination - hmm.. wonder whose the real ignorant now :13:

Oh yeah, nowadays you guys have moved on to such classics like Ibrar's "Billo de ghar".

Lahore = Cheapness personified.

Can we call a truce? I hate it when we all argue like this. In the words of Rodney King, can't we all just get along?

Oh yeah, nowadays you guys have moved on to such classics like Ibrar's "Billo de ghar".

LOL I have never listened that song we are far more modernized than Karachi, I hope you had visited the areas like Lyari and Keamari in Karachi

Karachi gave Quaid-e-Azam, and he gave Pakistan. This fact itself should make Karachi the most special city in the country (its flaws notwithstanding).

Poor comeback. No response to the pertinent points I raised but instead just focusing on the fact the buses in Lahore are not double deckers so we can't be the same, have you seen their color....lol.

Karachi has got its law and order problems and as soon as they get resolved I can assure all those Karachiities who relocated will be right back....btw, people of FATA and KP still prefer our city to yours. It's only Karachi that can boast a Pakhtun party ANP, an Urdu speaking party MQM, Sindhi party PPP along with Punjab centric parties like PTI and PML-N, and Islamic parties like JI fighting in elections and actually having a chance of winning. No where in Pakistan will you see that. So let's not talk about who's migrating where. Karachi is and will forever be the city of immigrants. That's what gives it it's charm and character.

Oh I'm sorry, were you raising points? Really? You call this a debate? I could raise a hundred points of the like, ranging from target killings to Lyari gang wars to the deplorable crime situation, bhatta-khori, traffic-situation, pollution, whatnot. But being a laid-back Lahori, I tried to let that slide by which you clearly do not want. Kudos to you.

My friend, Karachi's law and order problems are a million times worse than Lahore's. And when they do get resolved, or when you see any inkling of ever seeing them resolved, do let me know. And while we're at it, may I remind you that it's this charming city boasting of such diversity is often made the centre of separation politics? How many times have you seen Lahore being made the centre of such political blackmailing.

But I digress. I still respect Karachi, it's a major Pakistani city. Yet I despise such arrogance exhibited by most of it's residents.

:80:

I get it now. I get it. SB has a weird fetish for obsolete, 90s Punjabi songs which he is obviously too embarrassed to admit, and is thus externalising them by projecting them onto Lahorites, and bashing them to reconcile his conflicting mind. :))

I am confused. Is the debate about which city is better for living, or about who is better, karachiites or lahoris? The first debate if fine, but the second one can only get dirty.

Someone who hasn't visited Pakistan in past ten years is not the right man to debate to. Local residents or someone who frequently visits these cities would give much better input.

I agree. Even the villagers or someone who has strong association with village life use this term. Heck even it's used withing the families. Brothers or sisters calling each other Paindoos if you do something stupid Lol

Okay, let's give this debate a twist: say something nice about the "rival" city. Being nice to others makes you feel good about yourself, trust me.

Being a cool and sophisticated Karachiitie let me be the first to compliment my rivals. I love the basant season in Lahore. Nothing quite like it in the whole world.

Oops, I forgot, you guys can't celebrate it like before anymore thanks to the influence of Islsmists!

My compliment may now feel more like burn. Lol.

:80:

I get it now. I get it. SB has a weird fetish for obsolete, 90s Punjabi songs which he is obviously too embarrassed to admit, and is thus externalising them by projecting them onto Lahorites, and bashing them to reconcile his conflicting mind. :))

I admit, those are some catchy tunes, lol.

Btw, obsolete for who.

It's a lost cause for some bro..

Appreciate your concern though :)

Being a cool and sophisticated Karachiitie let me be the first to compliment my rivals. I love the basant season in Lahore. Nothing quite like it in the whole world.

Oops, I forgot, you guys can't celebrate it like before anymore thanks to the influence of Islsmists!

Islamists ruining Basant?! What have you been watching, Fox News?! :))

It's all because of the stupid DORR. And go blame Musharraf for that!

I admit, those are some catchy tunes, lol.

Btw, obsolete for who.

For everyone else but you who can't seem to let go of songs that came out 20-25 years ago :facepalm:

Islamists ruining Basant?! What have you been watching, Fox News?! :))

It's all because of the stupid DORR. And go blame Musharraf for that

The dorr was used as an excuse. They could have easily regulated the type of dorrs and still went along with it.

An excerpt from BBC, is that acceptable to you.

The country's religious parties, traditionally against the festival for its supposedly Hindu origin, then started demanding that the ban be brought back.

They accused the Punjab government of allowing the sport on the orders of President Musharraf.

Blasphemy

A new twist was added to their protest this year when some members of the hardline Muslim Jamaat-e-Islami party declared that the festival was initiated in the memory of a Hindu who was hanged for blaspheming against the Muslim prophet Muhammad.

Fearing that the protests could lead to a breakdown in law and order, the Punjab government reimposed the ban.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/4792776.stm

The one good thing about the rise of MQM is the "crowding-out" of Jamiat and Jamat-e-Islami thugs.

The dorr was used as an excuse. They could have easily regulated the type of dorrs and still went along with it.

An excerpt from BBC, is that acceptable to you.

The country's religious parties, traditionally against the festival for its supposedly Hindu origin, then started demanding that the ban be brought back.

They accused the Punjab government of allowing the sport on the orders of President Musharraf.

Blasphemy

A new twist was added to their protest this year when some members of the hardline Muslim Jamaat-e-Islami party declared that the festival was initiated in the memory of a Hindu who was hanged for blaspheming against the Muslim prophet Muhammad.

Fearing that the protests could lead to a breakdown in law and order, the Punjab government reimposed the ban.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/4792776.stm

JI has nowhere near as much sway as you'd like to think. It was the dorr issue, becoming deadlier day by day. And Basant is not a Hindu festival, it's a Punjabi thing. No one in Lahore accepts any other reason apart from the dorr thing on this.

Contrary to popular belief all of Karachi doesn't support or vote for MQM.. infact the level of rigging that Karachi witnesses during general elections in unparalleled anywhere else in the country, but thats all for a different thread.

Lahore is developing at a substantial rate and will soon be at par with some of developing cities in Asia like Mumbai, Delhi, Kuala Lumpur etc (inshallah), mainly because their home boy is sitting in the PM office. That is one of the reasons why Karachiites despise your leader so much as well because nothing is spent in the biggest city in the country in the way of development.

The immediate need of the hour is for Karachi to have an integrated underground train and bus network but what does Nawazo do? Spend billions of rupees to build such projects in Lahore and Islamabad.

The one good thing about the rise of MQM is the "crowding-out" of Jamiat and Jamat-e-Islami thugs.

So one set of thugs is replaced by another set of thugs and that is a good thing?

Can't wait for the day when Altaf bhai is hand-cuffed in his London mansion and locked away for a long long time.

Stop blaming Islam at everything.Basant season is banned due to the doors used in it which can cut the hand or neck of a person

If you are talking about Indian culture then there is [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] who is saying that Lahore doesnt have its own identity or representation

Stop blaming Islam at everything.Basant season is banned due to the doors used in it which can cut the hand or neck of a person

Whatever it maybe, dorrs or Islamists, sad to see the one glorious thing about Lahore, gone. Why can't chota Sharif fix the dorr issue....heard he is a real revolutionary with all the Jalib poems in his repertoire. Maybe his bearded buddies don't want him to fix it....

It would've made sense if you asked this question in 80's or 90's but now there's no contest to begin with as Lahore wins hands down!

As for modernisation and development so this myth that karachi is some how more modern or more consmopolitan than Lahore is in fact hyped up by the karachiites themselves

The reason why Lahore is more developed and has progressed over the past 5 years is because it's the most favored city in Pakistan and even in Punjab, just ask the Multanis or Potoharis about "Takht-e-Lahore" -Karachi despite producing a large portion of the state's revunue doesn't get it's due share, especially for a city of nearly 20 million people with a budget as low as that of Larkana's, the city has been neglected by the rulers in Pindi and Larkana.

This.

You a lot of Karachites moving to Lahore but you will hardly see anyone from Lahore moving to Karachi.

Many Lahoris have moved Karachi over the past decade or two and even over the past few years, many of my relatives from Lahore,Sialkot,Faisalabad,Sargodha etc have moved to KHI, there are a lot of Chiniotis,Seraikis,Potoharis in Karachi, as well Hindkowans from Hazara/Mansehra -if Lahore had more opportunities then all the 5 million Pukhtuns in khi would've moved to Lhr which is nearer to their province.

From a personal experience, I find Karachities much more dignified and respectful. The chichorapan of Lahoris can be off-putting and they are very inspired by the Indian culture.
I don't think Lahori culture or Punjabi culture is that close to Indian culture, Punjabis are only 2% of India's population, they're a fringe minority who are over represented in Bollywood and Indian media for racial reasons, many people assume Punjabi culture reps India when in reality they're a small minority -the other cultures of India outside the Northwest are very different.

What's Karachi's culture? Sindh has its unique culture but Karachi? maybe you're talking about Target killing and ransoms...

lol that is some bigoted stuff that non-Lahoris find unappealing; KHI's culture is actually a mosaic of the different cultures of Pakistan,North India and even Afghanistan, target killings and extortionism no more represents khi than religious extremists and street gangsters like gullu butt represents Lhr.

The actual native culture of Karachi is Balochi culture; the Baloch are the natives of Karachi and many towns in the city retain Balochi names, you can still find some predominantly Baloch towns -the city itself was named after a Baloch girl named "Mai Kolachi".

being ethnically diverse is not a culture really. Most people from different provinces are laborers working in textile factories.

That's a load of bull, not all or even most of the people from different provinces are "laborers", most of the Punjabis are in Karachi for white collar jobs and business, the sames true for many Hindkowans and people from Azad Kashmir and Gilgit Baltistan(there are some who work as laborers but not most) -there are also many upper-class educated Pukhtuns, many Pukhtuns have been in khi since the 60s and 70s, some have lived for 2-3 generations now, then there people from interior Sindh who come from kinds of economic backgrounds, there are also Baloch Sardars in the khi who'd rathr live in Khi than Lhr for obvious reasons :yk

The largest constituency in Pakistan NA250 which also happens to be the most diverse voted for PTI, which gives credence to Khi's ethnic diversity.

Karachi's ethnic make up
picture.php

Karachi's expected to become majority Pashtun by 2045, Sindhis are making their way back too and there's a good chance Punjabis will outnumber Urdu-speakers.

I suppose the Karachi equivalent for a paindu would be a Maila.

These are men living in less affluent areas of Karachi. Invariably all support MQM. Despite claiming to be urdu speaking (which every karachiite does)
That isn't true by any means, there 36 different langauges spoken in Khi, in fact Urdu doesn't even pass the 50% threshold, it's some ignorant Karachiites from certain ethnicity who diseminate this misinformation and many from Khi do travel frequently to other parts of the country and even abroad.

Contrary to popular belief all of Karachi doesn't support or vote for MQM.. infact the level of rigging that Karachi witnesses during general elections in unparalleled anywhere else in the country, but thats all for a different thread.

Lahore is developing at a substantial rate and will soon be at par with some of developing cities in Asia like Mumbai, Delhi, Kuala Lumpur etc (inshallah), mainly because their home boy is sitting in the PM office. That is one of the reasons why Karachiites despise your leader so much as well because nothing is spent in the biggest city in the country in the way of development.

The immediate need of the hour is for Karachi to have an integrated underground train and bus network but what does Nawazo do? Spend billions of rupees to build such projects in Lahore and Islamabad.

+1

I forgot to add that Khi also has a large Gujarati community which has existed since pre-partition times, and then there's the tiny but tight-knit Parsi community.

I dont know from where these people read that Karachi produces 70% of Pakistani revenue.

If it was the case why Karachi had not become 'smart' city by now?

I forgot to add that Khi also has a large Gujarati community which has existed since pre-partition times, and then there's the tiny but tight-knit Parsi community.

So what Lahore also have large Christian population along with sizable Sikhs too

And to people who are saying that Lahoris are paindoos please visit Lyari,Nazimabad,Korangi someday

I dont know from where these people read that Karachi produces 70% of Pakistani revenue.

according to wiki
Karachi is referred as the financial capital of Pakistan; it accounts for most of Pakistan's revenue generation. It generates approximately 53.38% of the total collections of the Federal Board of Revenue, out of which 53.33% are customs duty and sales tax on imports.[1] Karachi produces about 30 percent of value added in large scale manufacturing[2] and 20%[3][4] of the GDP of Pakistan. In February 2007, the World Bank identified Karachi as the most business-friendly city in Pakistan.[5] In 2010, research by the global human resources company Mercer found Karachi to be the most inexpensive city in the world.[6]

why isn't it a "smart city" yet?well because it's budget is as low as that of a small town like Larkana, the city like any other city outside Punjab is neglected, don't act all naive when there's a lot of resentment towards the government in other provinces.

So what Lahore also have large Christian population along with sizable Sikhs too

Karachi has many Christians too, mostly Punjabi and Goanese Christians, and they live much safer than in Punjab lel, there also many Sindhi-Hindus, many of whom happen to be doctors.

Karachi has probably the highest percentage of Hindus and other minorities in the country.

Should ask this question from Nawazo.. why does he take all the money from here and invest in his hometown?

Whatever it maybe, dorrs or Islamists, sad to see the one glorious thing about Lahore, gone. Why can't chota Sharif fix the dorr issue....heard he is a real revolutionary with all the Jalib poems in his repertoire. Maybe his bearded buddies don't want him to fix it....

If everything you are going to blame on Islam than please dont talk about it.Basant has no issues with Islam or molanas

Those saying that Basant has been banned due to Islamists should really stop posting about lahore. Basant was banned simply due to two reasons.
1)Stupid dors they started to use. More and more people started dying. And needless to say power outages and losses in billions of rupees.
2)Increased usage of weapons.

Should ask this question from Nawazo.. why does he take all the money from here and invest in his hometown?

LOL 2 years before Zardari was in power and his hometown is supposed to be Karachi then why didnt he invest in Karachi?