Karachi vs Lahore - which city is better to live in in Pakistan?

Which city is better to live in Pakistan?

Freaking Karachi has the 8 tallest buildings in Pakistan and here we have people saying Lahore has better infrastructure. :))

Karachi is a multi-national, multi-lingual, global level metropolis while Lahore is just a regional town center.

Lahore indeed has better infrastructure . No doubt about it.

who cares if:

you don't have water

you don't have good metro system

you don't have security

you don't have cleanliness

as long as you have tall buildings :yk

Learnt something new today .... number of tall buildings is direct measure of quality of life in that city...

If you goto Scandinavia, you don't really see really tall buildings.... they must have a really poor quality of life over there!

Learnt something new today .... number of tall buildings is direct measure of quality of life in that city...

If you goto Scandinavia, you don't really see really tall buildings.... they must have a really poor quality of life over there!

Did I say quality of life = number of skyscrapers? It is a sign of a growing economy and a metropolitan city.

exactly

the uae has more tall buildings than whole europe so that means that the quality of life there is of a much higher standard

karachities and their desperation to prove that they are still the alpha city in the country

exactly

the uae has more tall buildings than whole europe so that means that the quality of life there is of a much higher standard

karachities and their desperation to prove that they are still the alpha city in the country

When you dont have argument twist my words and say quality of life = skyscrapers.

Lahoris just cant compete :))

Did I say quality of life = number of skyscrapers? It is a sign of a growing economy and a metropolitan city.

it doesn't matter if its a metropolitan city or has a growing economy as long as it fails to provide a good standard of life

So the run down is

Security: Karachi

Skyscrapers: Karachi

Elite class areas: Karachi

Economy and GDP output: Karachi

Nightlife: Karachi

Food: Karachi

Greenery: Lahore :))

Better city to live in = better quality of life.

If you have no running water, poor transportation system, high crime rate.... how is that a better city to live in.

Food and social life is all subjective and debatable.

If you had same money.... would you live in Karachi or Lahore... and why would that be your choice?

Better city to live in = better quality of life.

If you have no running water, poor transportation system, high crime rate.... how is that a better city to live in.

Food and social life is all subjective and debatable.

If you had same money.... would you live in Karachi or Lahore... and why would that be your choice?

if you bring 10 foreigners and make them spend a month each in lahore and karachi

i guarantee you that at least 8 will say that lahore is better

One thing that got lost in mix. Most of Karachi has 24 hour power, while most of Lahore has 6-8 hour loadshedding. Better quality of life :)))

So why have so many businessmen moved to lahore from Karachi in the last few years due to security threats from the extortionsists ??
*Quoted the wrong post .

Lol say whatever you want, but in the future Karachi is the only Pakistani City which will join the Company of Global Economic Power house Cities from Asia like Shanghai, Tokyo, Singapore, Dubai, Doha, Macau, Kuala Lumpur etc not Lahore or Islamabad, Mumbai would join the List too in the future.

Small town people have this tendency to point faults in Global City Lifestyle, someone from Lahore once told me about how Lahoris live a more prosperous life because while Karachiites live in small Flats Lahoris live in Large Kothis, without even giving a thought to the fact that one 2 BHK Flat in an elite area in Karachi is worth 50 Kothis in Lahore. Choooti soch!!!!

Lol say whatever you want, but in the future Karachi is the only Pakistani City which will join the Company of Global Economic Power house Cities from Asia like Shanghai, Tokyo, Singapore, Dubai, Doha, Macau, Kuala Lumpur etc not Lahore or Islamabad, Mumbai would join the List too in the future.

Small town people have this tendency to point faults in Global City Lifestyle, someone from Lahore once told me about how Lahoris live a more prosperous life because while Karachiites live in small Flats Lahoris live in Large Kothis, without even giving a thought to the fact that one 2 BHK Flat in an elite area in Karachi is worth 50 Kothis in Lahore. Choooti soch!!!!

Bhai they have jangla metro = better quality of life :))

Karachi has three metro lines being constructed ATM and the Chinese just signed the deal to restart and reconstruct the KCR, but Lahore has better transportation = better quality of life :)))

Lahore has more greenery than Dubai. As per [MENTION=145243]Leo23[/MENTION], Lahore >> Dubai :))) :)))

Karachi Universities:

1. Aga Khan : best medical university in Pakistan

2. NUST: best engineering university in Pakistan

3. IBA: second best business university in Pakistan

4. FAST: best university for computer science in Pakistan

In comparison Lahore has, LUMS :)))

#cant compete

:salute

who cares if:

you don't have water

you don't have good metro system

you don't have security

you don't have cleanliness

as long as you have tall buildings :yk

And an economy. And industries. And highest tax collection. And being the financial capital :))

So why have so many businessmen moved to lahore from Karachi in the last few years due to security threats from the extortionsists ??
*Quoted the wrong post .

Is that actually true

In my office department of 30 people 13-14 are from Lahore

I see a lot of Lahores working here in Karachi

I think you're just making up stuff here

As is Lahore isn't a welcoming city so I don't really see many non punjabis moving there

Btw how much does a 1000 square yard house on average cost in DHA Lahore

Last I checked Karachi land value was significantly more than Lahore. Like not even comparative

That's a good question. And I guess since this is a cricket forum we can use examples of some of our most financially secure and succesful cricketers.

Would Wasim Akram be someone who had the luxury to make that decision? I'd say yes and do check what his choice was. He moved to Karachi with his Aussie wife even though he's from Lahore and obv there wasn't any compulsion for the move.

Or similarly what Afridi decided. (He actually moved to Lahore and then said Allah tauba and moved back to Karachi after only 3 months :)) )

So game , set, match. You have your answer

Karachi Universities:

1. Aga Khan : best medical university in Pakistan

2. NUST: best engineering university in Pakistan

3. IBA: second best business university in Pakistan

4. FAST: best university for computer science in Pakistan

In comparison Lahore has, LUMS :)))

#cant compete

:salute

Nust Best campuses are in Rawalpindi
Fast's Best campuses are in Lahore and Islamabad
Uet Lahore was by far the best engineering university in country until 1990 when Nust and Giki were created
add to this Government College Lahore had lot of prestige attached to it for long(many famous people got educated here)

That's a good question. And I guess since this is a cricket forum we can use examples of some of our most financially secure and succesful cricketers.

Would Wasim Akram be someone who had the luxury to make that decision? I'd say yes and do check what his choice was. He moved to Karachi with his Aussie wife even though he's from Lahore and obv there wasn't any compulsion for the move.

Or similarly what Afridi decided. (He actually moved to Lahore and then said Allah tauba and moved back to Karachi after only 3 months :)) )

So game , set, match. You have your answer

Abay yaar itna opar se math ah... Onko bhi thora muqa deh :)))

Is that actually true

As is Lahore isn't a welcoming city so I don't really see many non punjabis moving there

Ask those people who move to Lahore whether lahore is a welcoming city or not .

Yes there are lahois working in Karachi because companies like unilever have their head offices there but similarly many karachiites are working in advertising agencies in Lahore not to forget the businessmen like lala textiles who have had to shift to Lahore because of death threats

Uet Lahore was by far the best engineering university in country until 1990 when Nust and Giki were created
add to this Government College Lahore had lot of prestige attached to it for long(many famous people got educated here)

If you are talking about prestige then whole of Pakistan doesn't have as prestigious school as Karachi Grammar School.

And all of what you said is subjective. Government College Lahore :))) Should I go there to study inter matric?

In addition to the above LUMS and LSE are the best business schools in the country currently with the best job placement . Any unbiased person would tell you.

lol at karachi having better food than lahore :))

now i have heard it all

Karach wipes the floor with Lahore when it comes to food. Any unbiased person who has been to most good places to eat in both cities will tell you the same

Didn't want to get into Lahore - Karachi slugfest since both are Pakistan but the condensing tone of the Lahori posts really irked me.

Karach wipes the floor with Lahore when it comes to food. Any unbiased person has been to most good places to eat in both cities will tell you the same

I used to go to Lahore relatively often till 2012 or so. I'd sat

Is that actually true

Forget about the local bussinesman even Samsung Pakistan had to relocate their head office from Karachi to Lahore due to security reasons.

That is why Audi was looking to open their assembling plant in Karachi and packed up without even looking at Lahore when things didn't pan out. That's also why when an international chain comes to Pakistan they start with Karachi and then work their way to Lahore etc :))

[MENTION=138463]Slog[/MENTION] after our discussion on Frotoo the other day, I asked my Lahori friends about it. They didn't even have freaking Frotoo in Lahore. They had no idea what it was. That in itself makes Karachi>> Lahore :))

That is why Audi was looking to open their assembling plant in Karachi and packed up without even looking at Lahore when things didn't pan out. That's also why when an international chain comes to Pakistan they start with Karachi and then work their way to Lahore etc :))
Yes the head offices of major players have always been in Karachi . Thats why even people from Lahore who work for companies like Unilever have to move to Karachi but this is changing . It's worrying that a major name like Samsung had to shift base to Lahore and if you cant see why than good for you.

all of that is because of its huge size

now that is not a quality but something it inherited. when you compare the resources of karachi it has achieved nothing

on the other hand lahore has managed to overtake karachi in spite of having less than half of the resources

in terms of infrastructure and development karachi is still living in the 90s

if you go from karachi to lahore you would think you are in a new country

I missed this one

Karachi 'inherited' :))

Lahore schooling system needs work

The type of language and attacks on different Pakistani cities is really sad in this thread. We can do better in our debates especially when both are Pakistani cities and both should prosper.

I haven't visited Karachi when I was in Pakistan so can't comment. Karachi is far too south to warrant a tripwhen I am in Pakistan. I preferred Pindi/Islamabad to Lahore.

I have worked and lived in both places in past two years. Lahore, of course, has better infrastructure these days and is much cleaner and safer than Karachi. But it is losing its vibe because of a majority of its new development projects is being carried out the expense of its cultural identlty :facepalm:

Karachi, on the other hand, is more culturally/ethnically diverse and street food is palatable (more so than Lahore, with some overrated places in both cities). The city definitely has its own appeal with greater and better recreation spots and sea breeze feels heavenly in summer evenings. It's a great city to live in only of the security situation was better and if the infrastructure is developed to an extent that it can support its population (which it currently doesn't at the moment).

And since I have worked there, I have considered relocating to both cities. While it's conceivable to do so in Lahore (if ever needed), it would be a more difficult decision to do so in Karachi. Primarily because it will take me farther from most of my friends and relatives and secondly street crime in Karachi is what dissuades me. I myself witnessed a snatching incident every single month I lived there (while not even once living in Pindi/Isb most of my life). Although, I must say Karachi is a sort of city I wished I would have spent some years of my childhood in.

Having said that, being a Pindi boy has its own charm :amir

I have worked and lived in both places in past two years. Lahore, of course, has better infrastructure these days and is much cleaner and safer than Karachi. But it is losing its vibe because of a majority of its new development projects is being carried out the expense of its cultural identlty :facepalm:

Karachi, on the other hand, is more culturally/ethnically diverse and street food is palatable (more so than Lahore, with some overrated places in both cities). The city definitely has its own appeal with greater and better recreation spots and sea breeze feels heavenly in summer evenings. It's a great city to live in only of the security situation was better and if the infrastructure is developed to an extent that it can support its population (which it currently doesn't at the moment).

And since I have worked there, I have considered relocating to both cities. While it's conceivable to do so in Lahore (if ever needed), it would be a more difficult decision to do so in Karachi. Primarily because it will take me farther from most of my friends and relatives and secondly street crime in Karachi is what dissuades me. I myself witnessed a snatching incident every single month I lived there (while not even once living in Pindi/Isb most of my life). Although, I must say Karachi is a sort of city I wished I would have spent some years of my childhood in.

I think you're certainly right about which city one would want to grow up in

But but jinnay Lahore nahi vekhaye au jammiya ee nai :sree :sree

I would prefer Islamabad over the both but yet again I am from the UK. Issue with Karachi is the crime rate in the past few years has been a major issue. It's infrastructure is also not great. Lastly, I heard there is too much pollution and dirt.

Anyhow, some are saying Lahore is better then Karachi and vice versa and ppl getting heated. Istanbul is miles ahead of these cities; we should really improve the Pakistani cities as they are nothing great on the world stage.

[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=138463]Slog[/MENTION]

tallest buildings point is garbage

as i said europe has less tall buildings than the uae. does that make the uae a better place to live?

when it comes to unis karachi has a lead in medicine only. in other fields lahore is ahead of karachi

as far as load shedding is concerned that is another rubbish point. load shedding situation is more or less comparable in all the major cities of the country. the rich areas have light almost 24 hrs but the poor areas do suffer from load shedding

karachi is no different when it comes to electricity situation

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1507075/power-politics-leaves-karachi-streets-darkness/

an article from 20th september

Today, the streets of the country’s premier industrial and financial centre paint a gloomy picture of its future. Among the plethora of issues, such as heaps of garbage, sewage and much more, being faced by the residents on a daily basis is the absence of proper lighting on the city’s main thoroughfares. The city of lights has few functional lights — most of them remain on the blink due to a variety of reasons, adding to the countless miseries of Karachi’s residents.

These [lights] never work so we have to make arrangements on our own to brighten up the place so that people stop here and buy fruit,” said 18-year-old Muhammad Ashfaq, a roadside fruit vendor in Federal B Area. “From pedestrians to shopkeepers, everyone on both sides of the road gets affected by it but no one raises their voice,” he lamented.

Due to lack of illumination on the streets road accidents have become quite frequent and women and children fear travelling down dimly lit streets, causing a significant drop in the sales of local businesses.

Talking to The Express Tribune, other citizens shared similar views. Most fear travelling on the gloomy streets owing to rising incidents of street crime being reported. “I can’t just risk my life by walking down a place where they [muggers] can easily target me,” said a concerned resident of Yaseenabad.

even mayor of karachi voiced his concerns:

Criticising K-Electric (K-E), the mayor said, “There are issues with K-Electric as well, as sometimes the lights are turned off because of load-shedding in different areas.”

There is currently no mechanism in place to stop streetlights from being turned off during area-wise power cuts being carried out by K-E due to shortage of electricity, the power utility company’s spokesperson said.

"More than 60% of Karachi is exempt from routine load-shedding but a small fraction of the city is still facing the issue. However, we are working to improve our services in those areas,” said Sadia Dada, the director of marketing and communications at K-E.

not to forget more the power shortage in may

https://www.geo.tv/latest/143174-se...-parts-of-karachi-as-shortfall-reaches-600-mw

It appears that Karachi`s electricity woes are not going to disappear anytime soon as at least 25 percent of the metropolis is going through severe unannounced load-shedding due to a shortfall of 600 megawatts.

Gulistan-e-Jauhar, Malir, Shah Faisal colony, Tariq Bin Ziyad society, Model Colony, Nazimabad, Nagan Chowrangi and Federal B Area are the vicinities worst affected from the unannounced load shedding.

but but there is no electricity problem in karachi :)))

as far as metros are concerned "under construction" is not good enough

when you construct it and it is at lahore's level then we will talk. the fact that a city as huge as karachi still has metro "under construction" when smaller cities like lahore and islamabad have had them for a while now says everything

lahore is also much safer when it comes to street crime and there is no comparison when it comes to cleanliness

yes karachi has more multinational HQs but that is due to the fact that it is an industrial port city. but that does not reflect the standard of living.

and yes you can criticize shehbaz sharif all you want but you would kill to have a person like him work for karachi

I'm from a city where it's in people's genes to hate both Karachi and Lahore but if I had to pick one to move to, gun to my head, I'd take Karachi over Lahore any day of the week despite Lahore's far superior infrastructure.

And why would that be considering you find Lahore to have a better infrastructure.

I always find it puzzling why Lahore is so less diverse compared to Karachi and Islamabad or even Peshawar for that matter.

And why would that be considering you find Lahore to have a better infrastructure.

I always find it puzzling why Lahore is so less diverse compared to Karachi and Islamabad or even Peshawar for that matter.
My tolerance for religious nuttery is limited. I barely tolerate Islamabad, which is comparable to Karachi, but Lahore is a big no-no. That place is on a different level on this particular issue, second only to Multan.

Having tried both, I found Lahori chicken far superior to its Karachi counterpart.

jB3JG3Q.png

It would've made sense if you asked this question in 80's or 90's but now there's no contest to begin with as Lahore wins hands down!

As for modernisation and development so this myth that karachi is some how more modern or more consmopolitan than Lahore is in fact hyped up by the karachiites themselves (most of whom spend their entire lives living in Karachi without even visiting the rest of Pakistan).

The thing is that in Punjab superiority complex vis a vis the city you live in hardly exists so you would rarely see a Lahore looking down upon a Faisalabadi et al for living in a city that is more imporatnt than him/her.On the other hand karachiites have been suffering from this superiority complex since the independence and have passed it onto their next generations with an element of exaggeration to it and they have their own ethnic/migrational/insecure reasons for it!

Btw, these days when it comes to livability its not a question of Lhr vs khi but mostly [/b]Anywhere but Karachi[/b] :))

Livability03.jpg

This guy pretty much killed the thread in 2015 . 2 years have passed and the gap is wider.

Excellent post and like I said before street crime has really been suppressed over the past 2 years or so

There is no city on earth that can be classified as the best city for every person. Depending on your background, financial health, family status, life priorities -- Karachi, Lahore, or Timuktu can be the better city for you. Is Karachi or Lahore better for whom? White westerner with no ties to the country? Pak origin westerner looking to move back with family in either city? People with young kids? Those single and looking to focus on career?

No one can say it is either Karachi or Lahore for all the scenarios. Anyone who says that is clearly biased.

Lahore Lahore Aye.
If there is one city in Pakistan which I would really love to visit someday , its Lahore given the rich historical and cultural heritage it has not to mention the amazing food.
Karachi seems like poor man's Mumbai in comparison and Mumbai is a dump.