"Lakh di laanat tere Kamraan Akhmal.. You should know the history of sikhs before u open ur filthy mouth": Harbhajan Singh

I don't understand the '12 o'clock' reference. However, if it is indeed offensive, Kamran Akmal is at fault and should issue an immediate apology.

Why, is it acceptable if it’s a non-cricketer?
Its about choosing your battles brother, Why will Bhajji risk his life by speaking openly against BJP politicians and moreover Bhajji always takes any derogatory comments on Sikhs personally. He was as indifferent to discrimination against Muslims as you are to the plight of minorities in Pakistan. No difference.

I dont understand the '12 baje gaye' reference.

Sikh armies used to save abducted women at midnight in the dark against the Mughals.

This became known as their tactic back then where they get extra strength as a smaller army. It is now used as a derogatory phrase to say Sikhs go "mad" or wild at midnight. Very inappropriate and especially from a cricketer.

This is why Harbhajan is saying they used to save their women from invaders too since Pakistani ancestors also come from the same land.

I don't understand the '12 o'clock' reference. However, if it is indeed offensive, Kamran Akmal is at fault and should issue an immediate apology.
It is a derogatory term in Punjabi to describe Sikhs as being mad or insane.

Sikhs say that is actually a reference to them attacking mughals at 12 o'clock but over time the meaning has changed to describe being mad or crazy.

Perhaps @JaDed who is Punjabi ( I think) or @hoshiarpurexpress can give more details.

Sikhs say that is actually a reference to them attacking mughals at 12 o'clock but over time the meaning has changed to describe being mad or crazy.

Perhaps @JaDed who is Punjabi ( I think) or @hoshiarpurexpress can give more details.
It is.. it’s a stupid phrase used against Sikhs, Kuch kuch Hota hai movie also had this crap as a joke.
This along with Joodi , Bara baj gaye are terms used against Sikhs as “joke”.

Why did Harbhajan speak up when BJP politicians use derogatory words against Muslims?
Because Harbhajan is a Sikh, he would had spoken out if BJP or some cricketer spoke against Sikhs like this.

Are Muslims not part of India? What’s your point?
They are and BJP sucks all the MPs that use derogatory remarks, but one’s own community one defends first, Harbhajan is defending his.

Don’t Pakistanis defend Muslims?

It is.. it’s a stupid phrase used against Sikhs, Kuch kuch Hota hai movie also had this crap as a joke.

Are the SantaBanta/Sardar jokes now deemed politically incorrect in this era ?

jaahil on the field, jaahil off it. the irony of making stupid comments whilst trying to call someone else stupid would surely be lost on someone as thick as akmal.

Kami was a poor cricketer and it turns out, he is a poor human being as well. My apologies to all Sikhs on behalf of such idiotic Pakistanis.

I would say in his defense though that Pathans are also the butt of similar jokes within Pakistani culture. They are called all sorts of names, akhrot, Khar damage, etc. So while this comment comes with the association of a religious identity, at the core it may not necessarily stem from religious bigotry. Only God knows what is in the heart, though but I still wanted to put it out there.

This is poor by Kamran. There is nothing wrong in being a bigot but at least have the courage to stand up for your bigotry.

He chickened out after one aggressive tweet by a triggered Sardaar.
Lahol wala quat!

I'm not understanding. What did Kamran say that was wrong? What exactly was wrong with it? Can somebody tell me?

They are and BJP sucks all the MPs that use derogatory remarks, but one’s own community one defends first, Harbhajan is defending his.

Don’t Pakistanis defend Muslims?
I have no issue with him defending his own. I don’t condone Akmal’s remarks either, I just find it amusing that he is getting riled up because a two bit cricketer made a comment on some random show. He’s just giving credibility to Akmal.

Yes its a derogatory term which was started by punjabi Muslims and even back in 90s some stupid Hindu brothers of ours used it.. especially during Emergency time in Punjab.

The reference is correct Shri Guru Gobind Singh Maharaj had devised this strategy to attack Mughals in the late nights.

Kamran Akmal should know better.

Pakistan may show to the world by opening Kartarpur corridor that they are not against minorities…. But Kamaraj Kamal’s statement shows how it is wrong…

Sikh armies used to save abducted women at midnight in the dark against the Mughals.

This became known as their tactic back then where they get extra strength as a smaller army. It is now used as a derogatory phrase to say Sikhs go "mad" or wild at midnight. Very inappropriate and especially from a cricketer.

This is why Harbhajan is saying they used to save their women from invaders too since Pakistani ancestors also come from the same land.
Why would they "save" Muslims? bajju is an extremist

Majority of former Pak cricket simply don’t know how to behave on tv. That’s why you often see them blurring out toxic and filthy things against former teammates or against different religions/countries.

I have no issue with him defending his own. I don’t condone Akmal’s remarks either, I just find it amusing that he is getting riled up because a two bit cricketer made a comment on some random show. He’s just giving credibility to Akmal.

You don’t understand the context. Listen to interviews of old Pakistani players like Shoaib, Yousuf, Wasim etc who tell how close Bhajji was with Pakistani players.
Kamran and Bhajji were good friends off the field and they used to eat together and spend time together after matches, hearing someone you consider a friend mock your community and be a bigot against your identity is something which will trigger any friend.

Yes its a derogatory term which was started by punjabi Muslims and even back in 90s some stupid Hindu brothers of ours used it.. especially during Emergency time in Punjab.

The reference is correct Shri Guru Gobind Singh Maharaj had devised this strategy to attack Mughals in the late nights.

Kamran Akmal should know better.

It was Hari Singh Nalwa who devised this plan of attack.

When did Sikh's ever save the Muslim's?. It was the Moguls who ruled India and the Sikh's with iron rod's including their Guru's for centuries. They would have their own country today if they were so tough. Ask Tara Singh who said "Jinnah would have been worshiped had he been a Sikh". Kamran Akmal is not worth listening too anyway.

Have rice bag jokes become politically incorrect? What times are we living in.

rice bag jokes ? Never heard of them, are they something u enjoy telling ? Maybe they are popular in the rightwing circles that you move in.

Santa Banta was created by the legendary jokester Khushwant Singh I believe. He had a good sense of humour, even about himself and his community.

rice bag jokes ? Never heard of them, are they something u enjoy telling ? Maybe they are popular in the rightwing circles that you move in.

Santa Banta was created by the legendary jokester Khushwant Singh I believe. He had a good sense of humour, even about himself and his community.
Just because someone is self deprecating (and many punjabis are), doesn't mean others can use such jokes to poke fun at the entire community. Any many Sikhs were still offended by Khushwant Singh's jokes.

Why do you have different reaction to rice bag jokes? Did it touch a nerve which you don't care about if the recipient of the joke is a sikh?

Humour is not an absolute, it is a subjective thing. What could be good humour for you may be offending to someone from another culture.

Kamran said it is 12'o clock now.. It was the other guy who said " should not give over to a sikh after 12"

How is it Kamran's fault??

maybe I am able to understand the whole thing.

I believe Ijaz Ahmed said something racist recently too. Looks like Pak-ex cricketers are playing their own version of World Cup against various cultures

Some of the comments here show why BJP and Modi did the right thing with CAA.

In a stable country Kamran would receive the Nupur Sharma treatment and never be seen again. In Pakistan we have people working out why Harbajhan is offended and questioning his intentions.

I believe Ijaz Ahmed said something racist recently too. Looks like Pak-ex cricketers are playing their own version of World Cup against various cultures
Yes. This is what he said.

Ijaz Ahmed speaking in an interview on a TV show:

“You should consider this: 80 percent of your cricket is now being played in remote areas or in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. If you were to form a team for Sindh, it would include six to eight Pathans. They lack both education and exposure. They wake up in the morning, pray with their father, uncle, or brother, and then return home. After that, they do not leave the house. When faced with such pressure, they struggle to cope.”

During my early school days in Delhi, some of the boys would tease the Sikh lads with this doggerel:

Sardarji ke joodi mein barah anday
Ek anda toot gaya, kal Sunday.

i heard phrases like Ghanti baj gayi, barah baj gaye used usually to say something like “we are screwed” etc, didn’t know it was a slur for Sikhs. Maybe it’s a Punjabi thing. Having said i have seen some of the clips of these shows, the comedians on this show are so cheap and vulgar that Kapil Sharma show looks like Shakespeare theatre in comparison. Many times I had to do double-take to make sure if they said that in live TV.

Wasn't aware of this slur before.

Seems to me one crass and offensive remark has been answered by another. Bringing sisters and mothers into your spat has no place in public discourse. Not even sure what he is referring to but surely he could have found better ways to express it.
They also have to play to the gallery by aggressively protecting the honour of ones community.

From one crass individual to another. This Harbhajan is the same guy who made racist slur on Symonds.

They also have to play to the gallery by aggressively protecting the honour of ones community.

From one crass individual to another. This Harbhajan is the same guy who made racist slur on Symonds.
Yep hypocrite of the highest order

It’s not the first time on Pakistan TV though, didn’t Sohail Tanveer say something about Hindu community despite being treated well in IPL. Also Waqar said stuff about reading namaz in the middle of non-believers. I think it’s the same anchor too. Seems like a repeat offender.

While this kind of stupid behavior shouldn’t be taken seriously,

We live in a day and age where the whole Nupur Sharma incident caused loss of lives and her life is pretty much going to be spent under threat, I mean Rushdie got attacked after how many years? On top of that every guy who can’t point Gaza on a map prays for Gaza (nothing wrong with that) but while they ignore happenings next door. So people have gotten more sensitive to catch every hypocrisy.

Desis in general have very colourful language, I have a theory that the inclusion of family members in curse words was invented in south Asia. Yes we know it became fashionable in the US rap scene during the 90's but that was using English language which means it was adopted from somewhere else, most probably a translation of such curse words involving mothers which have an ancient history in the Indian subcontinent.

I agree with @Mamoon here, once Akmal had been caught out on his bigotry he would have been better just owning it and pleading ignorance. Which would have been close enough to the truth since he's probably one generation from being a paindu.

It’s not the first time on Pakistan TV though, didn’t Sohail Tanveer say something about Hindu community despite being treated well in IPL. Also Waqar said stuff about reading namaz in the middle of non-believers. I think it’s the same anchor too. Seems like a repeat offender.

While this kind of stupid behavior shouldn’t be taken seriously,

We live in a day and age where the whole Nupur Sharma incident caused loss of lives and her life is pretty much going to be spent under threat, I mean Rushdie got attacked after how many years? On top of that every guy who can’t point Gaza on a map prays for Gaza (nothing wrong with that) but while they ignore happenings next door. So people have gotten more sensitive to catch every hypocrisy.
I am not defending Akmal, or even saying that since Harbhajan has also been guilty of the same, so it cancels out what Akmal did.

I think it is normalized on Pakistani TV as humour. There was a video where Rameez was laughing at a racist joke on TV. I guess he had not put on his english/western hat and has different behavior based on the company. I think they change their tolerance level based on the audience they are interacting with.

Desis in general have very colourful language, I have a theory that the inclusion of family members in curse words was invented in south Asia. Yes we know it became fashionable in the US rap scene during the 90's but that was using English language which means it was adopted from somewhere else, most probably a translation of such curse words involving mothers which have an ancient history in the Indian subcontinent.

I agree with @Mamoon here, once Akmal had been caught out on his bigotry he would have been better just owning it and pleading ignorance. Which would have been close enough to the truth since he's probably one generation from being a paindu.
Family member slurs is common across cultures, but the south asian culture is unique that it treats brother-in-law as a slur. It treats a relationship as a slur by default. If you have married someone, the wife is not your equal, but a mare that you have mounted and now her brother should always feel humiliated because you are married to his sister. Unique to desis.

The first reaction is to think this is something to do with education, someone was making a similar point about the Ijaz Ahmed comment in the cricket forum re pathans, but this isn't true. People assume this is some paindu trait, but if anything the city dwellers tend to be more vicious and inventive in Pakistan when it comes to these slurs. I would bet it is not much different across the border.

During my early school days in Delhi, some of the boys would tease the Sikh lads with this doggerel:

I know effin hated when ppl did that, as a kid I didn’t understand the implications, my maternal side has Sikhs with Turban and saw that they disliked it so much.

Worst is Delhi had a history of riots plus this teasing made so many Sikh boys cut of their hair, so glad it’s not like that anymore, only thing that remains the same os Delhi absolute trash toxic place.

In my personal experience I have found Delhi guys the most racist and with air of superiority. I first got exposed to them in college. Their first question (after asking all india rank) was to find my ethnicity, and then they would tell something racist and I would smile back. They would also use lot of mother sister abuses casually, and I slapped a few. Then I was counselled that no one would talk to me if I continued to slap someone in class or lab because they used a slur which was not considered a slur for them.

I thought I came from a slum, and these guys came from good families, with powder puffed fair skin, so I am the uncultured one and something is wrong with me. Then I learnt to adapt and became immune to slur words. In hind sight I think I should have continued to be the slum dog and continued to give more slaps to these uncultured brats from rich wombs.

I am not defending Akmal, or even saying that since Harbhajan has also been guilty of the same, so it cancels out what Akmal did.

I think it is normalized on Pakistani TV as humour. There was a video where Rameez was laughing at a racist joke on TV. I guess he had not put on his english/western hat and has different behavior based on the company. I think they change their tolerance level based on the audience they are interacting with.
Stereotype jokes, esteemed for their comedic allure, find ubiquitous acceptance on both sides of the border, championed by the world's premier stand-up comedians. However, the jovial atmosphere takes a sudden turn when one faction adopts the persona of a Karen or Kevin.

Sikhs are passionate and enthusiastic in a positive manner; I always connect with them well compared to Indians of other faiths, and I am not even Punjabi. If Sikhs have deemed a term derogatory, everyone must respect their decision and avoid using it.

Just because someone is self deprecating (and many punjabis are), doesn't mean others can use such jokes to poke fun at the entire community. Any many Sikhs were still offended by Khushwant Singh's jokes.

Why do you have different reaction to rice bag jokes? Did it touch a nerve which you don't care about if the recipient of the joke is a sikh?

Humour is not an absolute, it is a subjective thing. What could be good humour for you may be offending to someone from another culture.

Sikh don't have an inferiority complex, they can take a joke. You needn't speak on their behalf. They aren't an oppressed class like the Dalits.

I'm curious to know from the sikhs on here whether sardar/santabanta jokes were used maliciously against them in childhood or elsewhere.

As for ricebag jokes, I had to google them to know what they were. It's pretty tame and lame.

I'm sure most indians are unaware of it, its just bland sanghi humour and i'm not surprised .. given that they're obsessed with these mythical forced conversions.

Likely not willing to commit career suicide by denouncing the bigotry of the majority political party.
He is already retired and well settled , his wife has UK citizenship , so if he is afraid , this is spineless .

Commentary and other appearances still yield thousands, if not millions, in revenue. Morally, he would likely disapprove of the bigoted Hindutva narrative but may not feel inclined to issue a public condemnation.

Regarding Akmal's comment, he astutely condemned it publicly, as should anyone else. However, if similar comments were made by a prominent Hindutva politician, he might opt for silence.

Sikh don't have an inferiority complex, they can take a joke. You needn't speak on their behalf. They aren't an oppressed class like the Dalits.

I'm curious to know from the sikhs on here whether sardar/santabanta jokes were used maliciously against them in childhood or elsewhere.
I need not speak on their behalf.
But you can speak on their behalf.

Why do you have that special privilege?

As for ricebag jokes, I had to google them to know what they were. It's pretty tame and lame.

I'm sure most indians are unaware of it, its just bland sanghi humour and i'm not surprised .. given that they're obsessed with these mythical forced conversions.
Humour is subjective. But I was not comparing which joke is more humorous. I was saying that should people be free to make jokes on communities? You certainly seem to be in favour.

Sikh's often speak against Muslim history too using derogatory terms to describe our community. If you want respect then learn to give it first. They live and work in Muslim countries then call us names! No, way I am never having this at all. Historically, most Sikh's have been hostile towards Islam and Muslim's, that is a fact. Despite trying to conceal it is not always possible. When Sikh's and Hindu's argue they often start bashing Muslim's as a means to solve their differences and reconcile. Hey, it's not our fault that we had a genius like Quaid Jinnah and you had no one. It is not our fault that your Khalistan remains khaali! Harbhajan is another typical hypocrite Singh enjoying Dubai yet telling us how great they are.

"Only A 'Nalaayak Can...": Harbhajan Singh Launches Fresh Attack At Ex-Pak Star Kamran Akmal​

Former India spinner Harbhajan Singh gave ex-Pakistan wicket-keeper batter Kamran Akmal another stern reply over the racist joke that the latter had made at Sikhs during the India vs Pakistan T20 World Cup 2024 match. Akmal's attempt to demean India pacer Arshdeep Singh saw him become a target on social media, with Harbhajan also deciding to teach him a history lesson. Though Kamran later issued an apology, Harbhajan launched another attack at the Pakistani cricketer over his controversial remarks, calling him 'Nalaayak'.

"Kuch bhi ho sakta hai... Dekhein last over karna Arshdeep Singh ne hai. Waise uska rhythm nahi laga. 12 bajj gaye hai (Anything can happen. The last over will be bowled by Arshdeep Singh; he hasn't looked in a great rhythm. And It is already 12)," Akmal had said while laughing with other panellists on the show during the match.

He then issued an apology over the comments, saying: "I deeply regret my recent comments and sincerely apologise to Harbhajan Singh and the Sikh community. My words were inappropriate and disrespectful. I have the utmost respect for Sikhs all over the world and never intended to hurt anyone. I am truly sorry."

In a video shared by ANI, Harbhajan said that only a 'Nalaayak' like Kamran can make such a statement.

"This is a very absurd and childish statement that only a 'Nalaayak' can make. Kamran Akmal should understand that there is no need to say anything about anyone's religion and make fun of it. I would like to ask Kamran Akmal - Do you know the history of Sikhs, who are Sikhs and all the work that Sikhs have done to save your community, your mothers, sisters," Harbhajan said while speaking to ANI.

"Ask this from your ancestors, at 12 o'clock, the Sikhs used to attack Mughals and rescue your mothers and sisters, so stop talking nonsense. It is good that he understood so quickly and apologised but he should never again try to hurt any Sikh or any religion. We respect all religions, whether it is Hinduism, Islam, Sikhism or Christianity...".

If the Sikh's rescued us from the Muslim Moguls then how come we Pakistanis are Muslims!. Not saying it was a good thing but many Sikh Guru's were beheaded by the Muslim Mogul's that is deeply ingrained in the Sikh conscience. Harbhajan is often a crackpot, I remember him picking a fight with Sreesanth and that infamous racism row he had with Andrew Symonds where he allegedly called the late Aussie all rounder a "monkey". So these Sikh's saved us from "invaders", by that he means the Arab's and today these Sikh's die to live and work in the Gulf region!!. They love living with those who invaded and butchered them

I hope Harbhajan continues to express his hurt until Kamran is removed permanently from TV.

Keep going Bhajji!

Sikhs. He is concerned about jokes made about his religious community.
In the old days when I watched Bollywood films Sikhs were often portrayed as comics, idiots and jokers. I don't see Harbhajan crying over that. They should look closer to home instead of blaming Pak people.

I was looking forward to the pavilion show this time on A sports. Apparently its not on.

Pakistan tv is really a place of extremes, on one hand you had you had a show like The Pavilion, arguably the best during the WC. And now you have this.