Leicestershire v Pakistan | Tour Match | Leicester | July 8-9

Butt should retire now he has had plenty of practise in the past week. Need to have a look at hameed and malik also needs a few runs under his belt.

Good on Butt to retire out.

Would have preferred Umar Amin to come in though.

:six down the ground by Hameed, he thinks hes playing a 20 - 20 game

If this game is any guide amin is below the likes of farhat hameed in the pecking order.

IMMY69 said:
Hameed at 3 and Amin at 6 for the test match???
Amin has had a couple of knocks on this tour already, Hameed just flew in from Pakistan.

It's a practice match, the players are getting practice.

MAJID-SHAH said:
amin`ll proberly come up the order.

Sure but then you have to accomodate Umar Akmal and Malik too...
Since neither Malik or Amin have come in at three its looks more likely that Hameed has been penciled at number 3...With Malik at number 4 and Umar Akmal at number 5 (or vice versa) then surely Amin would be at number 6???

I dont know...its hard to guess really...I wish they'd played the actual test eleven for this game!

Easa said:
Amin has had a couple of knocks on this tour already, Hameed just flew in from Pakistan.

It's a practice match, the players are getting practice.

I know its a practice game but surely you have to play the batsman at their likely spots???

Look I'm only guessing here but generally you see international teams playing their batsmen at the spots they're likely to play in, especially since this the last warm up before the actual test match...

Who knows...

Test line up.
Butt
Farhat/ali/hameed
hameed/amin/ali
Umar
Malik
Kami
Afridi
Aamir
Gul
Asif
Dan.
So four guys are fighting for two spots.I reckon they will go with exp in hameed and farhat.

IMMY69 said:
I know its a practice game but surely you have to play the batsman at their likely spots???

Look I'm only guessing here but generally you see international teams playing their batsmen at the spots they're likely to play in, especially since this the last warm up before the actual test match...

Who knows...
International team yes Butt eleven no.

IMMY69 said:

Who knows...
And they have.

Look, the team is pretty much set in stone. There's one spot up for grabs - the number three position most likely - and that's going to be contested between Hameed and Amin. Amin already got a knock at the top of the order. Now it's Hameed's turn.

Simple enough.

Easa said:
And they have.

Look, the team is pretty much set in stone. There's one spot up for grabs - the number three position most likely - and that's going to be contested between Hameed and Amin. Amin already got a knock at the top of the order. Now it's Hameed's turn.

Simple enough.

yeah perhaps you're right! I just dont like the fact that our captain is sitting out this game and Gul is not getting enough practice with the red ball...

Other then that I agree that the team is pretty much set...

Easa said:
And they have.

Simple enough.

Yeah thats basically what it is
I think they're going to go with Hameed, although I personally want Amin to get a go

IMMY69 said:
yeah perhaps you're right! I just dont like the fact that our captain is sitting out this game and Gul is not getting enough practice with the red ball...

Gul did get 20 overs in vs Kent I think you have to find the right balance between underbowled and overbowled especially since its a hectic summer.

*sallu* said:
Yeah thats basically what it is
I think they're going to go with Hameed, although I personally want Amin to get a go
I would prefer Hameed geting a go first if he fails then Amin might get a longer run rather then he playing first.Hope it makes sense. :ibutt

Xoib said:
I would prefer Hameed geting a go first if he fails then Amin might get a longer run rather then he playing first.Hope it makes sense. :ibutt

I'm putting it out there now, Hameed is gonna be one of our top 3 batsmen on the tour of England. 350+ runs.

IMMY69 said:

Fair. But the captain does what he pleases - he'll be fine.

I would prefer Hameed geting a go first if he fails then Amin might get a longer run rather then he playing first.Hope it makes sense.
Same :91:

Plus I think Hameed might actually do well against what is predominantly a seam bowling attack.

So in all there are two people in this line-up(Malik and Farhat) who shouldn't have been there.

Fawad and one of Amin, Azhar, Hameed should have been preferred over them.

Rest of the team is more or less OK.

IMMY69 said:

Who knows...

Yeah butt thanks to PCB we don't know what we're going to get from Hameed, Amin, and Azhar. These three are just being thrown in randomly at the top order 1-2 weeks before the the big tests. So basically no one knows what the criteria for selection among these three players will be.

Experience might be one. But we know that's not quite the way to prefer Hameed or Farhat over the youngsters. Because it's a flawed and unjust way.

surprised to see that Hameed's last innings for Pakistan was 39 when opening out of a total of about 160 and he hasnt played a game since...

*syed59* said:
So in all there are two people in this line-up(Malik and Farhat) who shouldn't have been there.

Fawad and one of Amin, Azhar, Hameed should have been preferred over them.

Rest of the team is more or less OK.

Yeah butt thanks to PCB we don't know what we're going to get from Hameed, Amin, and Azhar. These three are just being thrown in randomly at the top order 1-2 weeks before the the big tests. So basically no one knows what the criteria for selection among these three players will be.

Experience might be one. But we know that's not quite the way to prefer Hameed or Farhat over the youngsters. Because it's a flawed and unjust way.

Although I dont like it and I may eventually be proven to be wrong, but my guess is that Farhat will definitely be opening with Butt.. I wouldnt blame the management either for this as Farhat does have the experience and contributed to some decent partnerships with Butt in Australia...

If I have it my way I would open with Butt and Hameed....

Azhar Ali showing a lot of patience, which might be a good sign.

I just hope its not a "Misbah-ul-Haq" kind of quality-less patience.

Hameed on fire meanwhile. I think he just wants to get a 50+ score as quickly as possible. Maybe he know the dangers of 75mph floaters and how one could sneak past his defense anytime.

IMMY69 said:
Although I dont like it and I may eventually be proven to be wrong, but my guess is that Farhat will definitely be opening with Butt.. I wouldnt blame the management either for this as Farhat does have the experience and contributed to some decent partnerships with Butt in Australia...

If I have it my way I would open with Butt and Hameed....

Yeah I think we all here are hoping something from Farhat. We look to be content with his 20's and 30's.

Lets see whether he contributes sufficiently to meet Pakistani new opening standards of 25+ scores or whether he goes on to score something more substantial.

But the fact will remain. The guy is a complete waste in our team remembering how awful his catching is.

hashbb said:
I think Azhar is getting a feel of the track and conditions

LOL
hes been at the crease for 2 hours now almost

He's trying to show his paitence at the crease but doesn't understand that this is a 2nd string county team which he should be putting away with ease to get a place in the side.

lol...Azhar bhai, out hojao, Amin aur Zulqarnain ko bhi batting karne do :P:P

Azhar Ali showing good patience at the crease which is a good sign of tempremant. Also Hameed getting into form could mean hes included.

Now if Azhar Ali does not have strokes at Test level he can't survive just by blocking the balls. Teams are too good and they ll get you out. I give him the benifits of doubt and hope with temperament he also has some shots to score runs. We have to keep in mind he started his career as a leg-spinner and used to bat at No.9. Goodluck and I wish his hard-work pays off.

our potential Test number 3s out there...I wonder who will win the battle for selection? ;-)

Ahmed Zulfiqar said:
our potential Test number 3s out there...I wonder who will win the battle for selection? ;-)

Hopefully neither

Amin ftw

I am worried for Azhar Ali...

Yes he's showing patience and application which is great. BUT he's playing against Leicestershire and should be putting the bowlers away, much like Butt and Hameed did...

If he cant play strokes against these bowlers then whats he going to do against the Aussies??? The pressure in the test match will be tenfold too...

Well i think if Amin gets runs then the top 3 should be:

Butt
Amin
Hameed

Simple As.

If they don't perform in the first match we have replacements in azhar Ali

Why is Azhar Ali not even picking up the singles??? Sorry guys but this is worrying...

Malik shouldn't be in test squad. But we know that will not happen but let see for how long Afridi selects him even if Malik is not performing.

cricinfo need to think!!!
their headline for this game....
'Butt falls but Pakistan steady'
HE WAS RETIRED OUT!!!

Azhar Ali showing good patience at the crease which is a good sign of tempremant. Also Hameed getting into form could mean hes included.

Showing patience is one thing, but scoring on the strike rate of 17. is not very good and that too against a county side. I mean what if he gets one good delivery and gets out.

I dont want players to hit out at every ball, but rotating strike is whats needed.

I hope Azahr isn't an other Misbah in making but only the tuk- tuk- version. He needs to start hitting boundaries after blocking the 100 ball.

At the game.

Despite Ali playing slowly, he has actually been middling the ball particularly off the spinner but overall too better than Hameed.

Abdullah22 said:
I hope Azahr isn't an other Misbah in making but only the tuk- tuk- version. He needs to start hitting boundaries after blocking the 100 ball.

He has said himself that he likes spending time at the crease. Pakistan need a batsmen such as him in the team, as other players can score around him.

SOSami said:
At the game.

Despite Ali playing slowly, he has actually been middling the ball particularly off the spinner but overall too better than Hameed.

this is good to know. we need a player like him in the team.

SOSami said:
At the game.

How is Yasir Hameed looking and is Azhar leaving a lot of balls or is he just hitting it straight to the fielders and mistiming it off the quicks?

Thanks

Atif said:
He has said himself that he likes spending time at the crease. Pakistan need a batsmen such as him in the team, as other players can score around him.

Absolutely...But he must also be able to rotate the strike!!!

SOSami said:
At the game.

good to know!

how was :butt's batting?

SOSami said:
At the game.

Did you notice any instructions being sent out for him to get a move on???

Well-timed four off the spinner through vacant third man by Hameed.

SOSami said:
At the game.

Thanks. Good to know that.

I think its time for Yasir Hameed to retire out, so other batsmen can get some practice tooo.