Looking to purchase a new bat

Uzi

I'm looking to buy a new bat. Any recommendations?

Budget around £200.

I'm not too fussy on the brand. As long as it has a good sweet spot.

I am an all-rounder and usually bat between 6 and 8 positions.

My favourite shot is a straight 6. :afridi

Any advice would be appreciated.

Come to think of it, it is about time I upgraded my gloves and pads.

So any recommendations would be great.

Asalamalakium,

Hope you're well!

Many thanks for creating this thread bhai :)

Yaar you like to slog and go after every ball?! You don't like to play any ground strokes?

In this case Pakistani bats like MB Bubber Sher is very good but since you are in UK I will not recommend it because will be expensive to buy Pakistani bat from UK so I would say buy local bats.

Yaar if you like to go after every ball do you want a hitter bat? I mean a Twenty20 bat ?

Also what weight range range do you want ?

If you have any question please don't hesitate asking :)

Take Care

Come to think of it, it is about time I upgraded my gloves and pads.

So any recommendations would be great.

Budget? Any specific brand?

Also what type of pads and gloves do you want? Eg, wooden canes one (traditional style), modern style (a bit lighter than traditional design and are a bit stylish) and moudled pads (which are very light)

Also what gloves? Split (very flexible) or traditional (are a bit stiff)

Need to know more about your style.......what type of shots do u normally play (defensive, strokeplayer, slogger....etc) Your favourite shot that you play most often. Weight range?

Asalamalakium,

Hope you're well!

Many thanks for creating this thread bhai :)

Yaar you like to slog and go after every ball?! You don't like to play any ground strokes?

In this case Pakistani bats like MB Bubber Sher is very good but since you are in UK I will not recommend it because will be expensive to buy Pakistani bat from UK so I would say buy local bats.

Yaar if you like to go after every ball do you want a hitter bat? I mean a Twenty20 bat ?

Also what weight range range do you want ?

If you have any question please don't hesitate asking :)

Take Care

Thanks for the prompt reply.

I do tend to slog a bit, but I wouldn't say I'm a slogger overall. I do go quite hard at the ball.

Usually when I come in the platform has already been set and its time to play some shots.

Maybe a bat around 2lbs 10ozs.

Budget? Any specific brand?

Also what type of pads and gloves do you want? Eg, wooden canes one (traditional style), modern style (a bit lighter than traditional design and are a bit stylish) and moudled pads (which are very light)

Also what gloves? Split (very flexible) or traditional (are a bit stiff)

I don't have any specific brands in mind.

I'm not sure what the average price is for gloves and pads nowadays.

I would prefer flexible gloves and more modern style or even moulded pads. The lighter the better really.

Thanks for the prompt reply.

I do tend to slog a bit, but I wouldn't say I'm a slogger overall. I do go quite hard at the ball.

Usually when I come in the platform has already been set and its time to play some shots.

Maybe a bat around 2lbs 10ozs.

No worries!

Since you are in England and UK pitches have low bounce.

My suggestion would be buy Gray Nicolls Oblivion, why I am saying this is because it has low sweetspot and low sweetspot bat are ideal for slogging and slow/low pitches.

I would say go for a mid range which will be 5 Star and I have usually seen very nice and good looking 5 Star bats.

Bhai, but even then bhai I would say best thing is to go to a cricket store and see wide range of bats (make sure you do this with gloves on) and see which has the best feel in your hands. Feel is very very important because you want a bat that will feel good, it is possible that bats which feel good in my hands but might now feel good in your hands.

I don't know where are you but where are you located? Is there a cricket store near where you live?

I don't have any specific brands in mind.

I'm not sure what the average price is for gloves and pads nowadays.

I would prefer flexible gloves and more modern style or even moulded pads. The lighter the better really.

I would not suggest you top of the line pads and gloves as that could stretch your pocket a bit so would say go for mid range.

My personal favourite English brand when it comes to pads and gloves is GM, so I would buy GM 909 or GM Original Gloves as they are flexible and for pads I would say go for matching stuff (Original or 909).

But again would say drop down to a cricket store and try pads/gloves out and take your time and try different and various pads/gloves to get the ones that gives you best feel.

Is it possible for you to drop down to a cricket store and check out stuff?

Come to think of it......CD recommended exactly what I was going to recommend. Oblivion is a great bat......Iv'e picked up atleast 10 of em so far and for a bat with a low sweetspot.....the pickup is just amazing! Good for slogging too because its very thick and has massive edges!

yes oblivion is a tank and if you manage to time it tp perfection even a little jab at the ball will take you to the boundary!

yes oblivion is a tank and if you manage to time it tp perfection even a little at the ball will take you to the boundary!

'time to perfection even a little of the ball'....am confused now. how do u do that?

I don't know where are you but where are you located? Is there a cricket store near where you live?

Is it possible for you to drop down to a cricket store and check out stuff?

I am in north London. Cricket Direct is one store that is not too far off so I could probably visit them.

Thanks for the advice.

Anybody know of any other stores in and around London? Say up to 30 miles outside London.

I am in north London. Cricket Direct is one store that is not too far off so I could probably visit them.

Thanks for the advice.

Anybody know of any other stores in and around London? Say up to 30 miles outside London.

VKS, Morrant and the Lord's shop.

Thanks for the advice.

Ironically I just hung up the phone with Cricket Direct seconds before I read your post.

Sorry I am not from UK so can't help on that, SempreSami is a good guy for that :)

Cricket Direct does have some good bats as my club mate bought like 7 bats from them and the three which he received were really good. So good shout I would say.

I would say go for mid range pads and gloves as they offer good protection and are not bulky or heavy.

Yes, this bat.

Thanks for all your help guys. I will have to pay a visit to one of these stores to check out the stuff.

Uzi Bhai, did you manage to down to Cricket Direct ?

JazakAllah Khair

I haven't had a chance yet. I'm hoping to head up there sometime this week.

I will post here once I have looked at the equipment and bought them.

I have been to Cricket direct quite a few times as its very close to where I live (St Albans).
The staff are friendly and will let you test the products you want viewed or purchased. The only problem is they will only bring the equipment in small bundles so you won't be able to view everything in sight like in a conventional sports/cricket shop.

Uzi Bhai, did you manage to down to Cricket Direct ?

JazakAllah Khair

OK I have bought the bat, pads and gloves.

In the end I went to Morrant to look at and buy the stuff.

I have to say your recommendations were very good.

The Oblivion 5 Star bat had a great feel and balance to it and it will suit me perfectly.

When it came to the gloves and pads I went for Gray Nicolls 909.

Both were an excellent fit.

With these modern day bats that have the extratec (plastic sheet) on them and having the status 'pre prepared', do I have to oil the bat and knock it in? Or has it already been oiled and all I need to do is knock the bat in?

Great! I am glad you got everything right.

I think you made an mistake as there is no Gray Nicolls 909 pads, I think you are saying Gunn & Moore 909 pads and gloves?

No, you don't need to oil it. However, although it says 'Pre-Prepared' you will still have to knock it in. I would say knock on the toe and just below the stickers.

If it's convenient for you then do you mind posting pictures of your stuff? I hope I'm not asking for much of a trouble.

Bhai if you have any kind of question(s) please don't hesitate to ask me.

Sorry yes they are GM not Gray Nicolls.

No worries CD. I will take some pics and post them maybe tomorrow.

Thanks for your help thus far. No doubt I will probably ask you a few more things at some point.

Are these the normal 909 gloves or the ones with d3o in the lead fingers of the bottom hand?

Awesomesauce, let us know how they are when you wear them in, I'm quite interested in getting a pair.