Member Interview : shaz619

Abdul

ODI Debutant
Runs
Many thanks to [MENTION=46929]shaz619[/MENTION] for his insightful responses.

PakPassion.net : Tell us a bit about yourself? I've heard you mention that you are only half Pakistani in origin. What's the other side and how was it like growing up?

Shaz619 : Am the stylin, profylin, jet flyin, kiss stealing nature bear WOOOOOOO! I have 20inch pythons, carry a snake in my backpack and often take a shovel with me on visits to India and especially Manchester [MENTION=132916]Junaids[/MENTION]. Seriously though, I am a student in the field of aeronautics/aerospace who is contemplating what career to get into once my studies end this summer. I grew up in an inner city region of Birmingham and was initially raised in a council estate. My father was from Jamaica and my mother is from Pakistan. My nana was a poor farmer who worked very hard, saved the little he earned and made some smart investments. Then he fought in WW2 for the British Army but when he returned to Pakistan he was no longer fit to work because he had lost his eye sight in the line of duty so he sold some land he had bought in order to send my mom and a few relatives to England. Shortly after he would pass away.

In England, my mother and father met at school and it was a very complicated relationship mainly because certain relatives were against a Pakistani woman and a Black man being together; however the two were deeply in love and fought tooth and nail to get themselves in a position where they could get married. Tensions declined a little when my dad converted to Islam and our relatives got to know him better. It’s really weird but my mom was a bigger cricket fan while my dad cared little for sports beyond boxing! I was exposed to the world of Pakistan cricket thanks to my mom’s fandom of Imran Khan who was such a big star in those days even amongst the casual fan base.