MIGs annual 3km Run Tamasha thread...

Good luck MIG!

What numbers are you doing atm?

Do I send the word to my bros to take care of those Ethiopian runners ???

Cool. The Last man standing.

Good Luck MenInG Gebrselassie for your 3km marathon this year.

aren't you too old to run in these marathons?

Thanks to all.

Had some extra cheese cake in preparation for this race today :)

Nah never too old to run (will come in handy when creditors come asking for money one day)

One week to go

The race is on 27th! I ran a test run today at same time as I will run on race day which is round 10am - almost died due to the heat :) 35-40C with high humidity

Good luck MiG.

35-40 can cause heatstroke, keep yourself hydrated.

Good luck,MIG!
Make PP proud and why don't you try faster? :p
And MIG can you tell me your age,if you don't mind. I have got a perception that you are too old. People here say that 'you are too old for such stuff...' ; 'MIG has watched World Cup 1987'. I hope you get what I mean. ;-) :D

Haha - All done.

No prizes - its for charity - took me longer but the heat was a killer.

Haha - All done.

You do this in UAE? Where was the race?
I live in UAE and the heat is a killer. You can't go down for 10 minutes and come back without sweating. #HotLikeHell

You do this in UAE? Where was the race?
I live in UAE and the heat is a killer. You can't go down for 10 minutes and come back without sweating. #HotLikeHell

Bahrain - my 3km leg started at 10am - bright sunshine - temps were around 30-35c

One guy collapsed in the heat but let me tell you, in that leg of the relay, I was the slowest

There are some super fit people around

Haha - All done.

Well done!

At the age of 115, uncle MenInG is an inspiration for us all:ibutt.

Bhaag Miggy Bhaag :))

there is this very old movie called AAA in which Amitabh says- aadmi aisa tab bhagta hei jab olypmic ka race ho ya police ka case ho :)))

BUMP

I have found out by my (moaqils) that man himself is starting to train yet again....

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/ZvEnIkz82A0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Time is Near.

Not too long to go now.

Just a short note to say that this year's run is dedicated to our team captain, Shaheed Samaii, who passed away a few weeks back. This was a tragic shock to the team and inshallah we will run this race in his honour.

Your good wishes are greatly appreciated.

Not too long to go now.

Just a short note to say that this year's run is dedicated to our team captain, Shaheed Samaii, who passed away a few weeks back. This was a tragic shock to the team and inshallah we will run this race in his honour.

Your good wishes are greatly appreciated.

All the best, sir. Keep us updated whenever this happens.

Truly saddened to read about your team´s captain´s death:(. May his soul rest in peace and may his beloved ones be granted patience. Amen.

Almost there

The race is on Friday 31st October.

More than the race, for the team, its the honor of running in memory of a dear friend that matters.

Pls join me in praying for my friend Shaheed - May ALLAH swt grant him the highest rank in Jannah - Ameen. He will be dearly missed.

Almost there

The race is on Friday 31st October.

More than the race, for the team, its the honor of running in memory of a dear friend that matters.

Pls join me in praying for my friend Shaheed - May ALLAH swt grant him the highest rank in Jannah - Ameen. He will be dearly missed.

May he rest peace and may god grant him the highest place in heaven!

What is the timing you are targetting today?

May he rest peace and may god grant him the highest place in heaven!

What is the timing you are targetting today?

Its horrific :) My 3km will take me close to 19min but its bloody hot around 1pm when I run , about 35+C

done! Was too hot - just about finished!

Hello!

Its time :)

27th November is the day....

Done and dusted :)

18:40 this time but guess age catching up!

BUMP!!!

Two months to go may be.

How is the practice [MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION]

If my memory serves me well, during my early childhood I used to be among audiences of a local famous race in Bahrain as one of my school friend used to participate.
[MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION] , does race track traverse through Esa Town and East/West Riffa ?

jYtrMpu.jpg

Not exactly 3Km or a marathon. Just a regular jog. [MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION]

If my memory serves me well, during my early childhood I used to be among audiences of a local famous race in Bahrain as one of my school friend used to participate.

[MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION] , does race track traverse through Esa Town and East/West Riffa ?

Its moved to Formula 1 circuit

And Yes am preparing for this years race!

Its moved to Formula 1 circuit

And Yes am preparing for this years race!

Left Bahrain after my inter exams, few years before they started work on F1 track. I plan to revisit by 2018/19 but then I have been planing this for last 15 years.

Good job MIG. You're a great motivation for everyone. Hope I can still be fit and running at that age. InshAllah!.

Race coming up on 28th October! Much warmer weather expected

Hope you get a nice old sweet, sub 16 time. :afridi

These days I'm bulking up, but earlier on in this year, I think I did 2 miles which are 3.2 km in 17-18 minutes on the thread mill, is that decent or slow ?

Pretty good man. Average is about 21 minutes I think. So you definitely run faster than Sharjeel. :inzi

Thats pretty good but remember, running out on hard surfaces like roads etc and the heat will slow you down. Personally speaking, I add about 2-3 mins to my Treadmill time for outside.

It's all about having muscle these days.

Most famous answer to this is :
"Q k main cigarette nahi peeta".
( "because I don't smoke" , from Wasim Akram commercial).

This became a default answer to many many questions.

The 90s early 2000s were a wonderful time.

3 kms wow.. In the Middle Eastern sun??

I'll faint three times before completing that marathon.

Race day approaching and unfortunately, father time seems to be catching up..... not able to come down below 20 mins but temps still hot

It doesn't matter. Just don't let it get over 30 minutes.

Hi All

Just to let you know I completed this race - our relay team was 129th out of 197 teams so not too bad

Personally speaking, my time was pretty horrific - 21mins but the heat was a killer for me - Just glad I completed the race!

:yk2

Hi All

Just to let you know I completed this race - our relay team was 129th out of 197 teams so not too bad

Personally speaking, my time was pretty horrific - 21mins but the heat was a killer for me - Just glad I completed the race!

Sometimes numbers don't matter. The fact that one is contributing something is the ultimate winner. 21 minutes, nevertheless, is a pretty decent.

Hi All

Well Done.

MIG Bhai fitter than half the Pakistan cricket team