Moeen Ali - Performance Watch

lol acceptable....what are you smoking.....did you watch 2010 commonwealth games...indian crowd gave the biggest welcome to pakistani team....don't go generalising and saying big hearts nonsense...pakistani crowd is no better than Indian ...there are good and bad on both sides

no Pakistanis have bigger hearts than u
as I'm a kashmiri I know who have been better

Veyr fine player. Needs to be persisted with at the #3 position but he himself needs to reign his aggression in a little bit. His spin bowling is improving after every match.

Cricket has finally found a genuine all-rounder after a long time.

Lol at genuine all-rounder. This guy is as much of a Test cricketer as Hafeez is and inferior to him in limited overs.

I am interested to see how we fare against Moeen bhai's pies. Bilal7 will hope he does well just like he wished :amla bhai to score a few against us so that his average is not disturbed.

I won't compare him with Hafeez seeing how little he has played, I'll compare him with other newbs, like his closest competition, Ben Stokes and he's been far better. Playing out of position but has already did well as a test batsman.

Mamoon will keep hating on Moeen for as long as he lives since he has a beard. Just like he admitted to hoping that Amla keeps failing so that his inaccurate views can appear to be true. Didn't work out then and won't work out with Moeen either.

Why is it right for you but wrong for me?

You want the beards to do well even against your team, such obsession. How do you justify this obsession if you can justify my hate? :amla

I don't praise them irrationaly. Amla is a top class batsmen, one of the best of this generation and a future ATG. I do admire him as a person but don't need to use that in order to call him a super batsman. Ditto goes for Moeen but on a much smaller level as of now.

Someone has to do well against Pakistan, since we don't bowl teams out for under 50, may as well be Amla.

Hate is also a disease unlike admiration.

So you are admitting that you want :amla bhai and Moeen bhai to do well against Pakistan 'because someone has to do well'?

Merlin's beard, good grief. :amla

So you are admitting that you want :amla bhai and Moeen bhai to do well against Pakistan 'because someone has to do well'?

Merlin's beard, good grief. :amla

You still haven't admitted to wishing that both of them fail for the mere reason that they are pious Muslims and have beards. A really pathetic reason to hate on two decent individuals.

Don't see what's wrong with what I said? I want players like Boult, Rahane, Moeen, Johnson, Gayle and Mahela to do well against Pakistan too, since these are the players that I like the most from their respective teams and better it be them than tools like Warner, Sanga and Broad.

I don't want any opposition player to do well against Pakistan. How is that a crime?

You have intense likes though, want you favorites from others to do well against us. Do you get upset when they don't?

You don't want those opposition players to do well at all and actively hope that they fail. You don't want Pakistani players like Ajmal to do well either and I'm sure that you're hoping that he gets banned, you've alluded to as much yourself.

I have my own life to live and cricket is a hobby. Getting really upset and overly happy is not something that I do because of cricket.

I want every Pakistani to do well and yes I believe Ajmal getting banned will be good for the team in the long run because we will run him into the ground and play him till he becomes a liability.

Alright, continue to support the bhais against Pakistan. :amla

Bilal isnt supporting Moeen cuz he has a beard.

Bilal Shafayat has a beard yet no one supports him cuz hes rubbish.

We support Moeen and Amla becuase they are top cricketers and them being top human beings adds to it.

Take your hate else where.

Ajmal getting banned will be horrible for us, with teh WC coming up and the series against Australia on our doorstep. You obviously want him to get banned because you've had an agenda with him for a long time, its not for the betterment of the team.

Nothing wrong with wanting Amla bhai to be the one scoring a fifty in a South African loss against Pakistan, instead of that cry baby, De Kock.

I'm delighted that I have your support in this matter though.

Bilal isnt supporting Moeen cuz he has a beard.

Bilal Shafayat has a beard yet no one supports him cuz hes rubbish.

We support Moeen and Amla becuase they are top cricketers and them being top human beings adds to it.

Take your hate else where.

Beautiful post.

Top human beings because? ..... :amla

How many cricketers do you know personally? Maybe someone like du Plessis is a better human than both or even Root etc ?

Why are :amla bhai and Moeen bhai on a high pedestal?

Then you say it's not about the beard. :ibutt

How many cricketers do you know personally? Maybe someone like du Plessis is a better human than both or even Root etc ?

Arguing for the sake of it.

What the hell is wrong with you? Of course du Plessis or Root can be good human beings, all BD said that in his opinion they are top human beings. Bilal is right on this one, you're just feeding your huge ego which will be your downfall one day if you continue this way.

Why are the honors attached to :amla bhai and Moeen bhai specifically only? I'm yet to see a clean shaven cricketer get praise for being a good human being. How can you deny there is no beard bias?

Of course nothing wrong with it, but what's the point of beating around the bush? Yeah I do have a bias against beards because I think it provides unnecessary leverage and a license to piety.

The people who do have a bias for the beard should be open about it as well.

Many times it has been said Yk Is a good human. Flintoff is a good human.

Stop arguing for the sake of it.

Why are the honors attached to :amla bhai and Moeen bhai specifically only? I'm yet to see a clean shaven cricketer get praise for being a good human being. How can you deny there is no beard bias?

Of course nothing wrong with it, but what's the point of beating around the bush? Yeah I do have a bias against beards because I don't think they go well with an athlete. Looks quite odd to me.

So you're just gonna force your opinion on others?

Anyways, I think Johnson, Steyn, Kevin Pietersen, Misbah, du Plessis, Sachin etc. are all good human beings. There you go, now go by yourself a chocolate or whatever you like and enjoy.:baelish

So you're just gonna force your opinion on others?

Anyways, I think Johnson, Steyn, Kevin Pietersen, Misbah, du Plessis, Sachin etc. are all good human beings. There you go, now go by yourself a chocolate or whatever you like and enjoy.:baelish

Am I? :baelish

I'm just saying how it is and I expect the same from others.

Mamoon is filled with hate. Why bother replying to him. By now, you would have learned that he is not a normal citizen.

Veyr fine player. Needs to be persisted with at the #3 position but he himself needs to reign his aggression in a little bit. His spin bowling is improving after every match.

Cricket has finally found a genuine all-rounder after a long time.

#3 is too high for him in my opinion. He's better suited to be coming later in the pecking order.

Incorrect. I want others to open up about their biases when it is clear as daylight. :baelish

Of course everyone is entitled to his/her own opinion. :baelish

Why are the honors attached to :amla bhai and Moeen bhai specifically only? I'm yet to see a clean shaven cricketer get praise for being a good human being.
Of course nothing wrong with it, but what's the point of beating around the bush? Yeah I do have a bias against beards because I think it provides unnecessary leverage and a license to piety. .
the love for YK is an example. We all know what you think of that clean shaven cricketer getting praise :))

Love for Younis is/was down to the image that he had of an honorable team man and that myth has been busted emphatically. The bearded fellows are automatically elevated to the good human being status.

#3 is too high for him in my opinion. He's better suited to be coming later in the pecking order.

That can also be done since he is a versatile batsman.

Of course nothing wrong with it, but what's the point of beating around the bush? Yeah I do have a bias against beards because I think it provides unnecessary leverage and a license to piety.

LOL! Remember :yk? Remember how you attacked him with unclouth ferocity when he rightfully asked for a raise? Remember what I and many others here said about him?

These beard biases come into play when we're talking about Amla and Moeen, the people not the cricketers. There are several bearded cricketers in our domestic system but you don't see anyone talking about their selection in the national team, that is because they are not good enough cricketers.

My top five cricketer player list and top five pious individuals list will be vastly different with Amla being the sole common element.

Nice to see Mamoon getting flak from all quarters here and deservedly so.

Love for Younis is/was down to the image that he had of an honorable team man and that myth has been busted emphatically. The bearded fellows are automatically elevated to the good human being status.

Not automatically. Again, making strawmen arguments to argue for the sake of it.

Top 5 pious individuals list? seriously? :ibutt

I attacked and rightly so. Younis is an egomaniac and he can't whine like that in the media and force his way back into CAT A and the ODI team. Really poor of you to defend him and I guess you are still deluded about the impression that he's an honorable team man.

Somethings never change.......

Yeah which is why Amla and Mooen are referred to as good human beings even though 99.9% of the people on this forum have no personal connection. How do you know they are good human beings? :baelish

I attacked and rightly so. Younis is an egomaniac and he can't whine like that in the media and force his way back into CAT A and the ODI team. Really poor of you to defend him and I guess you are still deluded about the impression that he's an honorable team man.

Yes, I have a top five for everything.

I know they are good human beings by their conduct on and off the field. I also believe that a pious Muslim will no doubt be a good human being, such is the religion of Islam.

How do you know that they are not? Because that devilish Amla allowed Philander to scratch the ball? Lol.

As for Younis, it has already been established that he is well within his rights to ask for a promotion. He obviously felt that he deserved it and his case was strong enough for the PCB head to accept his request. The media reported this incident for their own benefit, Younis didn't go ut and tell them that he had filed a request.

I also believe that a pious Muslim will no doubt be a good human being, such is the religion of Islam.

And there lies the problem.

No religion in the world promotes evil. A pious Hindu, Christian, Buddhist etc are all good people too and some of them would be perhaps better than Amla and Moeen bhai as well but since they are Muslims, they have the piety certificate.

A devout Muslim is not superior to other human beings. All religions are equal and its just a matter of personal faith and what you believe in.

I don't know whether they are good or evil because nobody can say that with certainty about anyone but that doesn't mean that I should assume that they are great human beings just because they are staunch Muslims.

The association of 'good human being' with bearded Muslims couldn't be more discriminatory and unethical.

And forgive me for pointing it out that a team led by the great human Amla should indulge in cheating.

I also believe that a pious Muslim will no doubt be a good human being, such is the religion of Islam.

And there lies the problem.

No religion in the world promotes evil. A pious Hindu, Christian, Buddhist etc are all good people too and some of them would be perhaps better than Amla and Moeen bhai as well but since they are Muslims, they have the piety certificate.

A devout Muslim is not superior to other human beings. All religions are equal and its just a matter of personal faith and what you believe in.

I don't know whether they are good or evil because nobody can say that with certainty about anyone but that doesn't mean that I should assume that they are great human beings just because they are staunch Muslims.

The association of 'good human being' with bearded Muslims couldn't be more discriminatory and unethical.

So tell me when Faf became a practicing Buddhist, Hindu or Christian? I believe that Lara was a good human being, so was Sachin.

Once again, completely misinterpreting my and going off on an unrelated rant. You're talking about a different topic that is not relevant to the discussion that we're having (which is off-topic itself).

Amla will change the team when he leads them in more than 2 matches. The team still has elements of Smith's captaincy to them.

mods, could you please clean up this thread, to much trolling and pointless arguing which is not even relating to his performances.

when he does ok with the ball, doesnt score many runs. when he scores a few runs, no wickets.

mods, could you please clean up this thread, to much trolling and pointless arguing which is not even relating to his performances.

when he does ok with the ball, doesnt score many runs. when he scores a few runs, no wickets.

Better to contribute in every match rather than be a hero in one and a failure in another.

I wonder what happened to my post here.

Anyways, its not not just about being religious. How do you know du Plessis is not religious? does he have to hold a banner?

Secondly, its not even about being religious. You can be a good person even if you are not religious or even if you don't believe in God.

You don't need to have faith in God to be a good person. How often do you see people call Lara and Tendulkar good human beings? whereas when it comes to Amla and Moeen, they can't write 5 sentences without praising their character and you are guilty of it too.

Does beard make someone a great human? what have Amla and Moeen done to be considered great human beings? none of us know them personally.

I wonder what happened to my post here.

Anyways, its not not just about being religious. How do you know du Plessis is not religious? does he have to hold a banner?

Secondly, its not even about being religious. You can be a good person even if you are not religious or even if you don't believe in God.

You don't need to have faith in God to be a good person. How often do you see people call Lara and Tendulkar good human beings? whereas when it comes to Amla and Moeen, they can't write 5 sentences without praising their character and you are guilty of it too.

Does beard make someone a great human? what have Amla and Moeen done to be considered great human beings? none of us know them personally.

Quality Post. A high amount of pakistani muslims are involved in poor practices, cruelty and sins. Its about being a good person deep from the heart thats what religion tells. Surely no human being is perfect. Every posses their plus points as well as negatives. One must be humble, must mind his own business (Which most Pakistanis can't though), should be good overall and helping. Pakistanis claim to be very pro muslims and islamic but the fact is about no one follows the religion in the country truly and this country is one of most unislamic ones. Neither we follow west nor islam.

you're missing the point here. YK was considered a good man and all- obviously its been debunked recently but the point is that people appreciate players beard or no beard.

All the racist Indians booing Ali. I bet 99% of the India fans in the ground have never been to India.

The closest they have been to India is when they order a chicken tikka masala from Khan's Balti down the street and even that is a fake Indian curry.

60 runs in 40 balls so far against Lanka. (10 boundaries)

Everyone falling while Moeen bhai is scoring but this brilliant innings will come out in a lost match he can't chase 318 alone :(

I like him in Limited Overs, but he's not Test class. Basically an English Hafeez. Mediocre Test batsman and a mediocre Test bowler.

The brotherhood in Pakistan are in full force to make him one though, and it will be interesting to see which bhai garners more support in England vs SA matches now, it was a landslide before.

I like him in Limited Overs, but he's not Test class. Basically an English Hafeez. Mediocre Test batsman and a mediocre Test bowler.

The brotherhood in Pakistan are in full force to make him one though, and it will be interesting to see which bhai garners more support in England vs SA matches now, it was a landslide before.

I've known Moeen Ali for longer then 10 years. No-ones out in full force. He is a class act therefore deserves support. Why do you always have a problem when PP'ers support others?

I don't have a problem, it is others who do tbh, everyone will not singing his praises.

Yes I'm well aware of your personal connection with him which you don't need to advertise. It's similar to whatever your relation with Masood is.

A good and a natural LOI cricketer thanks to his desi roots, that's all.

The English Hafeez.

In what way? He's a wicket-taking bowler who will be hit for a few and lacks the control that Hafeez possesses. He is a wristy player who loves cutting, driving and flicking the ball but is weak against the short ball unlike Hafeez.

The only thing in common between the two is that they are both all-rounders.

This is the same guy who smashed a 50-ball 100 as a kid (that was the first I heard of him). Is pushing him up the order allowing him to fulfil that potential?

Can easily average 40+ with the bat in tests and around 30-32 with the ball. A genuine all-rounder and will be the best of his kind in a few years time, InshAllah.

Also heard some good stories about his interaction with fans so he's a top guy.

This thread to turn into a religion debate by people who want to keep religion and sport "separate" in 3...2...1...

In what way? He's a wicket-taking bowler who will be hit for a few and lacks the control that Hafeez possesses. He is a wristy player who loves cutting, driving and flicking the ball but is weak against the short ball unlike Hafeez.

The only thing in common between the two is that they are both all-rounders.

Both are very useful LOI cricketers but not Test class. Will have their moments though, like Hafeez today etc.

He is a good find for England because they don't produce many successful LOI cricketers. It would be interesting to see how he fares against us in the UAE next year in Tests. Should do well in ODIs.

Sooner or later though, he'll be 'England-ed', taught that nothing apart from test cricket matters, and then nothing aside from the five Ashes tests that happen every 18 months or so.

He'll then go the Graeme Swann way with the ODI side housing only the test discards like Bopara, Woakes and Tredwell.

Sooner or later though, he'll be 'England-ed', taught that nothing apart from test cricket matters, and then nothing aside from the five Ashes tests that happen every 18 months or so.

He'll then go the Graeme Swann way with the ODI side housing only the test discards like Bopara, Woakes and Tredwell.

This.
The english obsession with practically one test series in two years is unhealthy, and possibly a reason they never show up in big iCC events. Its probably a case of covering their short comings instead of working towards becoming a better LOI side.

When they won the T20 WC i thought there will be a change but that hasn't happened either.

Brilliant hundred today sadly the support at other end didnt help, definatley will have a long and sucsessful ODI and T20 career i reckon

Just seen the highlights of his innings, and forgetting about what role he has in the team or whether he's a one day specialist, the timing and purity of the vast majority of it was something to behold. The pick-up 6s over square leg were Anwar-esque, if that's not a cliche. Not to mention that backfoot punch through cover off Matthews.

Funnily enough the English commentators were comparing him to Anwar and Nasser Hussain said that Anwar was the best player he played against!

That's not surprising at all. The question mark about Moeen has always been whether or not he can make the big scores, he's got 2 international centuries already but needs to kick on. His FC century conversion rate isn't great, his style has never been under question however.

Failed miserably after a very good start for the series. Is not consistent enough to hold onto a spot in LOI's for too long. Would be interesting to see how he goes in the WC.

He is definitely over rated in this forum but, he is NO WAYYY getting dropped. Useful second spinner, and a handy batsmen. I know he got out 3 times to dilshan in this series including one bowled of first ball, but he is one of those players that doesn't need time to get going. He will play this WC for sure and should play this WC.

He's a good Limited Overs cricketer, but that's it.

Obviously his fame and popularity on this forum has more to do with his ethnicity and religion, but purely at a cricketing level, he's nothing special.

He's a good Limited Overs cricketer, but that's it.

Obviously his fame and popularity on this forum has more to do with his ethnicity and religion, but purely at a cricketing level, he's nothing special.

Not as good as Amla for sure

He is a mediocre bowler , and a steady batsmen but not exceptional

He is extremely aggressive which means that he'll get out for low scores often. If he can reign himself in a bit, he can become a very good batsman. Definitely the best opener that England have at the moment so no way is he getting dropped.

You give him respect he deserves, Moeen bhai won't harm you. Try to spank him around like other spinners, Moeen bhai will pawn you.