Movie 'Pathaan' faces wide spread boycott call in India

PakLFC

SRK's film "Pathaan"

SRK's upcoming film "Pathaan" teaser has been released. What do you guy's think about it? Doesn't really do much for me.

All uncles and aunties acting like youngsters and doing action scenes.

IN SRK's case, he is almost a grandpa. Man is 57 FGS. I don't understand what a 40 year old Deepika is still in this business. John Abraham is also pushing 50 now.

[MENTION=142169]PakLFC[/MENTION]

PP's own self proclaimed sharpshooter and defender of Islam and Pakistan

since when its become Halal ?

Trailer is rubbish..

Just mindless shooting and action without any context whatsoever

This teaser doesn't tell us anything about the movie. It looks like brainless action with little to no plot.

It seems its a Indian Spy movie. Something tells me that SRK plays the role of a Hindu guy who goes by his spy name Pathan. That way Bollywood can appeal to Muslim viewers while also placating Hindu audience a bit.

I find it funny that they named this movie "Pathaan". Who knows maybe SRK is playing a character that's from the KPK region.

Should be moved to bollywood thread, any reason for it being a lone thread?

This isn’t Bahubali or RRR to have its own thread.

its a teaser not a trailer

No one will watch the film if they show plot in teaser itself

its a teaser not a trailer

No one will watch the film if they show plot in teaser itself

It doesn't show the premise. The only thing that stands out in this teaser is SRK doing something he has done a million times before.

When I watch a trailer or even a teaser I expect to know about the basic premise. Boom, cars, explosions, old actors, etc, that's the only thing people will get from this.

They have to convince people that this movie will have a decent story because Bollywood movies don't normally provide that from my experience.

Usual maar patayi glorifying violence by and old man! How about making a film on peace for a change?. By the way I won't be wasting a penny on this garbage whenever it's released. Just wanted to know what other passionate ones here thought. The Bollywood thread here is somewhat obsolete. Even "The Legend of Maula Jatt" though Lollywood got it's own thread.

What a horrendous teaser What wrong with bollywood? All that money and they waste it with films showing no originality or story

Just compare this junk with the maula jatt teaser which got people talking and generated so much interest and hype

No wonder people in india are turning to south indian films. Bollywood has lost its way big time

Shahrukh is a such a flop now. I was watching some of his movies from the 90s and 00s recently and he was on a different level back then. Now, he is trash just like Bollywood. He hasn't had a hit movie in a while and I am convinced that this Pathan movie is another box office flop.

What is a near 60 year old doing playing action hero? He needs to do an Amitabh and grow a grey french beard and start playing dad roles. The guy is still playing these action hero and romantic roles, like he is still 30. He needs to evolve as an actor.

IN SRK's case, he is almost a grandpa. Man is 57 FGS. I don't understand what a 40 year old Deepika is still in this business. John Abraham is also pushing 50 now.

Deepika is 36, not 40.

Shahrukh is the Tom Cruise of India back with the equivalent of the 20th Mission Impossible movie. Plot doesn’t matter, story doesn’t matter, just in it for a good time.

Trailer looked like a Michael Bay movie.

Last military themed movie that I liked from Bollywood was Fanaa.

BWood was good up until 2009-10 and now is just a crap shoot.

Surely even the Indian audience have got bored with these over the top vmax stunts which is why so many Bollywood films are flopping. The "wow" factor is no longer there particularly when old men try to be teenagers. Much prefer films like "Padmaavat" for it's mature and interesting content then such meaningless dross. With netflix, youtube and streaming available people have so many options for entertainment nowadays like never before. I can't even tell the difference between Bollywood actors and actresses anymore so similar do they appear:)):)):))

This is the problem when these directors make movies but don't watch movies

Will be another bad movie from Bollywood.. South Indian cinema will rule the roost now.. Even in Punjab South movies are super duper hit.

Will you also say the same for Hollywood uncles and aunties who do action scenes? :inti

I think Srk looks good in it but the movie just looks meh considering the recent history of Yash Raj.

Teaser doesn’t say as much but I think it’ll mainly be interesting for SRK’s comeback after 5 years.

AFAIK it’s from the same team behind the Tiger series with Salman and the Waar series with Hritikh, basically it’ll not be an Oscar winning movie or something and tbh I don’t think that the team itself has such ambitions.

It’ll be an action-thriller mainly banking on its action scenes and "charismatic" characters, stuff you don’t need your brain for and which could be a very good one time watch if handled decently.

I think Srk looks good in it but the movie just looks meh considering the recent history of Yash Raj.

I bet there is at least one song where SRK spreads his arms out while leaning back in his trademark pose while Deepika Aunty runs in to his arms and hugs him.

Yet another film has become a subject of Twitter’s boycott trend. Soon after the first single from Pathaan, Besharam Rang was unveiled on Monday, a section of netizens started the ‘Boycott Pathaan’ trend on Twitter. Some shared a screenshot of a particular scene from the song where Deepika is seen wearing a saffron-coloured outfit and SRK holding her from the back. Others compared Pathaan to Kantara. Yet another section of netizens blamed Bollywood’s lack of ideas.

https://www.indiatoday.in/movies/bo...ka-padukones-besharam-rang-2309096-2022-12-14

SRK's Response:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">EXCLUSIVE:<br>Listen to The Baadshah’s speech at <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/KIFF?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#KIFF</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/KIFF2022?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#KIFF2022</a> here!<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ShahRukhKhan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ShahRukhKhan</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SRK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SRK</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pathaan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Pathaan</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/BesharamRang?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#BesharamRang</a> <a href="https://t.co/eNtDEbZHNx">pic.twitter.com/eNtDEbZHNx</a></p>— Shah Rukh Khan Universe Fan Club (@SRKUniverse) <a href="https://twitter.com/SRKUniverse/status/1603373529785053185?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 15, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

i googled this for reaserch purposes and can conclude Deepika is unequivocally a stunner, however, khan baba standing around doing nothing looks wrong with her, couldn't they have found a proper age dude for the role? also khan baba needs to chill on the peds.

peds?

he must also really love it when they start attacking his house and kids.

Attacking houses is common. Never heard of attacking kids. All of these Bollywood biggies are in bed with local and central politicians. This is all a side show. The way every Bollywood movie is getting twitter boycotted, I sometimes feel that all of this is preplanned.

Deepiks is as overrated as it gets. I am talking about her looks only. Apart from that, she is a decent actress.

she is attractive but yeah she is nowhere as beautiful as other indian actresses. Its a shame though that looks are a yardstick for someone being a good filmstar in india. Katrina Kaif would not have had so many roles if she was not pretty.

performance-enhancing drugs, hes on test, and maybe harder stuff too. i mean its his choice but from an aesthetic pov i think hes just gone a tad too far.

guess its subjective mate, i dont watch any bollywood so dont really know the actresses, but i know her and think shes pretty.

she is attractive but yeah she is nowhere as beautiful as other indian actresses. Its a shame though that looks are a yardstick for someone being a good filmstar in india. Katrina Kaif would not have had so many roles if she was not pretty.

It's a yardstick in literally every cinema(unfortunately) except for Broadway and stage. Are you saying the American Sweetheart are not based on looks?

MerylStreep to Michelle Pfeiffer I can't recall a famous actress(cinema) not being pretty.

Katrina gets a lot of roles coz of dancing which is unfortunately a core part of Indian cinema. Looks wise even Yana Gupta,Poonam Dhillon and so many are who flopped but Katrina alone survived.

Looks are subjective, grace on screen is permanent and last graceful actress of Hindi cinema was Madhuri Dixit who knew how to create magic on screen with dance, eyes dialogues.

To me looks wise Vidya Balan, Kareena Kapoor, Aishwarya rai are good looking.

I didn't like WAR either so I doubt I'll like this, it's a sad fact Siddharth Anand has gone this route, I thought he started well with Salaam Namaste,Bachna Ae Haseeno, Anjaana Anjaani but from Bang Bang he seems obsessed with weird Spy movies.

On the topic BJP is a joke

It's a yardstick in literally every cinema(unfortunately) except for Broadway and stage. Are you saying the American Sweetheart are not based on looks?

MerylStreep to Michelle Pfeiffer I can't recall a famous actress(cinema) not being pretty.

Katrina gets a lot of roles coz of dancing which is unfortunately a core part of Indian cinema. Looks wise even Yana Gupta,Poonam Dhillon and so many are who flopped but Katrina alone survived.

No its not. Its only a desi thing. There might be roles for such actresses in every cinema but thats not all there is when it comes to non desi cinema.
Just look at the female oscar winners list and then look at bollywood whatever awards you have winners list. You will know whats going on there.

You may have an odd Nana Patekar, Irrfan, Nawaz, Shabana Azmi but you dont have the consistency of winners like Hanks, Streep, etc in Hollywood. Bollywood is ALL based on looks.

The word 'netizens' only used by Pakistanis and Indians, totally gets on my nerves for some bizarre reason

I think all BOLLYWOOD films should be banned for objectifying women the way they do. I know pakistanis are the largest consumers of this crap after india but someone has to say it out loud.

Why do they want it banned?

because a female hindu character in saffron sari was dirty dancing around the male muslim hero.

if it was a saffron pagri wearing dude doing the same with a green clad muslim female lead, they wouldnt have any probems with it. In fact, that movie will probably their version of oscars or whatever.

Near 60 year old Shahrukh should either retire or start playing dad roles. Dude is still playing the role of a heartthrob, like we are still in 1995.

And speaking of looks, Deepika isn't really good looking.

Near 60 year old Shahrukh should either retire or start playing dad roles. Dude is still playing the role of a heartthrob, like we are still in 1995.

60 year olds can play action heroes too as long as they act their age.. Liam Neeson, Bruce Willis, even Bacchan has shown it can be done.

SRK is same age as Amitabh Bachhan was in Movie Mohabbatein which released in year 2000. Amitabh played the role of Aishwarya's father back then and here SRK is romancing with 6 packs abs

:23:

60 year olds can play action heroes too as long as they act their age.. Liam Neeson, Bruce Willis, even Bacchan has shown it can be done.

But that is the problem with Shahrukh. He still acts like a 30 year old. There is a reason that his recent movies have all flopped.

Seems like the bjp anti muslim narrative has spilt into bollywood too

First amir khans film was boycotted and now shahrukhs

Good try but Entire bollywood is getting boycotted from Akshay to Arjun to Varun , Ananya, Deepika’s solo film was also boycotted.

But that is the problem with Shahrukh. He still acts like a 30 year old. There is a reason that his recent movies have all flopped.

SRK needs to play a more senior role. It is creepy when a person close to 60 behaves like someone in his 30's.

Deepika is truly overratted , I doubt she would come into 20 most beautiful actress ever in Bollywood.

That is where Dilip Kumar progressed beautifully , I feel Shah Ruk Will find it hard to emulate that.

Amid 'Pathaan' Row, Congress MP Calls Shah Rukh Khan A "Rashtra Bhakt"

Amid the controversy over the song 'Besharam Rang' from upcoming Bollywood film 'Pathaan' for its costumes, Congress MP Rajeev Shukla came out in support of Bollywood actor Shah Rukh Khan and said that he comes from a family of freedom fighters and he is a "rashtra bhakt" (patriot).

Speaking to ANI on Friday, the Congress MP said, "Shah Rukh Khan always remains positive and he comes from a family of freedom fighters. He comes from a family which is nationalist. Whatever he has said is right. He is a rashtra bhakt."

Earlier, while addressing the inauguration event of the Kolkata International Film Festival 2022. (KIFF), Khan without mentioning anything related to the Besharam Rang controversy emphasised that as negativity has increased social media consumption but individuals like him won't be affected and continue to remain positive.

"Cinema and infact the advent of articulation through social media platforms have now become a foremost expression of human experience and emotion. The collective narrative of times is shaped by social media and contrary to the belief that the spread of social media will affect cinema negatively," the Bollywood actor had said.

He added, "I believe cinema has a more important role to play now. Social media is often driven by a certain narrowness of view that limits human nature...I read somewhere negativity increases social media consumption and thereby increases its commercial value as well...Such pursuits enclose collective narrative making it divisive and destructive."

"Cinema exposes the vulnerability of human nature by telling stories in the simplest form as they are lived. It allows us to know each other better in a way it's best placed to sustain a collective counter-narrative that speaks to the larger nature of humankind," SRK continued.

After concluding his speech, Shah Rukh tweaked his Pathaan dialogue in order to urge people to focus on positivity.

"We haven't been able to meet for a while, but the world is becoming normal now. We are all happy and I am the happiest. And I have no qualms in saying, that no matter what the world does, me and you, and all positive people in the world are alive," SRK had said in Hindi.

'Besharam Rang' was dropped online on December 12, and soon it triggered a fresh controversy.

While several liked the peppy track, there were also who found 'Besharam Rang' objectionable over the use of saffron and green costumes.

A slew of activists in Indore even staged a protest against Pathaan and Besharam Rang song and set effigies of Deepika and Shah Rukh on fire.

Madhya Pradesh Home Minister Narottam Mishra has also made his objections to the song clear.

Talking to the media, Narottam Mishra said, "The costumes in the song at first glance are objectionable. It is clearly visible that the song of the film 'Pathaan' has been shot with a dirty mindset."

Mishra's statement came two days after the song was released.

NDTV

A lot of ageism posts in here. Why can't a bloke nearing 60 be a hero? Not all 60 year olds look like they're on their last legs.

Or any bloke of any age for that matter? The point about him acting with Deepika, he has done so many times even going as far back as the mid 2000's, so that is moot point.

After Row In Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Case Against "Pathaan" In Bihar

A complaint petition was filed before a court in Bihar's Muzaffarpur district, seeking an FIR against Bollywood actors Shah Rukh Khan and Deepika Padukone for "hurting religious sentiments" of Hindus in a song of their upcoming film 'Pathaan'.

Sudhir Ojha, a Muzaffarpur-based lawyer, filed the case before the CJM court on Friday, which will hear the matter on January 3.

"The song 'Besharam Rang' of the film 'Pathaan' is objectionable and it hurts the sentiments of the Hindu community," Mr Ojha later told reporters.

The song has seen a controversy in some parts of the country after it was released, with protests being held over the content in it.

Madhya Pradesh Home Minister Narottam Mishra had recently frowned upon the colour of the attire of Deepika Padukone and actor Shah Rukh Khan in the song, calling for its "rectification".

There have been protests against the actors at a few places, including in Indore.

NDTV

Good try but Entire bollywood is getting boycotted from Akshay to Arjun to Varun , Ananya, Deepika’s solo film was also boycotted.

Nope People not going to watch a film of Arjun or Akshay because of poor reviews or prefering a different style of cinema or hero isnt the same as actively encouraging a boycott of a film online or outside cinema halls like they did with amir and shahrukh

A lot of ageism posts in here. Why can't a bloke nearing 60 be a hero? Not all 60 year olds look like they're on their last legs.

Or any bloke of any age for that matter? The point about him acting with Deepika, he has done so many times even going as far back as the mid 2000's, so that is moot point.

why cant a woman of 40 be a heroine ?

SRK needs to play a more senior role. It is creepy when a person close to 60 behaves like someone in his 30's.

That is where Dilip Kumar progressed beautifully , I feel Shah Ruk Will find it hard to emulate that.

SRK is same age as Amitabh Bachhan was in Movie Mohabbatein which released in year 2000. Amitabh played the role of Aishwarya's father back then and here SRK is romancing with 6 packs abs

:23:

I doubt Shahrukh is capable of reinventing himself like Amitabh or Dalip Kumar did in their old age. Watching his recent movies, it seems as if he is still trying to relive the glory days of the 1990s and 2000s.

Nope People not going to watch a film of Arjun or Akshay because of poor reviews or prefering a different style of cinema or hero isnt the same as actively encouraging a boycott of a film online or outside cinema halls like they did with amir and shahrukh

Plz go check if you want.. boycott bollywood is the word, Jhanvi Kapoor gets the worse of it inspite of good luck jerry which was excellent.

India is obsessed with South Indian cinema. Deepika padukone got the worst of it:

https://thewire.in/film/modi-follow-twitter-chhapaak

https://www.thequint.com/neon/hot-t...ng-gunjan-saxena-janhvi-kapoor-makes-no-sense

The 3 successful movies of original hindi speaking in last 2 years:
Kashmir files lol
Drishayam 2
Bhool bhulaiya 2

everything is flopping left right and center and trash movies of South are also becoming hit, these are facts end of the day.

I doubt Shahrukh is capable of reinventing himself like Amitabh or Dalip Kumar did in their old age. Watching his recent movies, it seems as if he is still trying to relive the glory days of the 1990s and 2000s.

He is , he gave a glimpse of it in “the Fan”, I have expectations with Dunki which is Rajkumar’s movie.

Only one who can’t reinvent is Salman Khan the guy is a one trick pony who is bad even at that.

It will be interesting to see how ShahRuk proggress from here.

I was surprised how good SRK still looks to be honest, when I saw him in those pictures of him on here at Umrah. Deepika is definitely a looker, maybe they are needing to bring back old timers like SRK because the new breed of replacements just don't measure up.

I'm not saying he looks bad, just that his face and body are a tad incongruous. guys like tom cruise and hugh jackman are also on peds but pull off the look better imo

I think some people just age better. I don't know what peds are, but if they are what I think they are, then maybe there just aren't better alternatives.

Such stupidity only happens in India. Deepika was wearing saffron during the said song that is apparently an insult to Hindu emotions the Hindu nutcases tell us!! Why is the anger directed at SRK when it was an Hindu actress wearing it? I don't see Muslim's making a fuss if a dancer wears green or Christians crying over the crucifix being worn inappropriately. These Hindu hardliners have completely lost touch with reality.

SRK should start playing mature roles now. Approaching 60 he don't look good dancing around with much younger girls. "Pathaan" won't offer the viewer anything now at all. Same old boring songs and over the top action scenes. Yawn, yawn the movie is set to be a big flop I feel. This is why one day SRK is making Umrah then the next some Hindu shrine to keep everyone in India happy. Next he's set to visit some Church followed by the Golden Temple.

Google Bollywood actresses without make up! They are anything but beautiful.

He is , he gave a glimpse of it in “the Fan”, I have expectations with Dunki which is Rajkumar’s movie.

Only one who can’t reinvent is Salman Khan the guy is a one trick pony who is bad even at that.

I completely forgot about The Fan. That was a good movie. Shahrukh should now do more roles like that or the role he played of a sports coach in Chak De India.

As for Salman, he has always been a terrible actor, in my opinion. His only selling points are his looks and his body, which gets him a lot of attention from the girls. As an actor, he is the worse of the three big Khans. Shahrukh and Aamir are way better than Salman.

It's weird how BJP are so fixated on banning fading old stars of Bollywood of a certain lineage. The biggest selling movie from the subcontinent is the Pakistani smash hit The Legend of Maula Jatt. I hear that's going to be banned too. I wonder what is the connection?

The biggest selling movie from subcontinent is RRR and thats why its gotten golden globe nomination as well because it was sellable.

I completely forgot about The Fan. That was a good movie. Shahrukh should now do more roles like that or the role he played of a sports coach in Chak De India.

As for Salman, he has always been a terrible actor, in my opinion. His only selling points are his looks and his body, which gets him a lot of attention from the girls. As an actor, he is the worse of the three big Khans. Shahrukh and Aamir are way better than Salman.

Yes that’s why I will give Pathan a watch too , I can see shades of old SRK in it.. I think he loses the hunger but with his son’s fiasco and everything I think he has a point to prove again.

There are reasons why SRK took over from AMITAB, Amitabh had the energy and among recent ones its SRK and they promoted Bollywood across the world.

Although now South stars have taken Indian cinema across.

Deepika lip sang "besharam rang" whilst dressed in saffron supposed Hindu colours. This according to Hindu zealots means Hinduism is being called besharam!!:sarf_facepalm

Found this on Twitter :))

• IMG_0719_Original.jpg
    IMG_0719_Original.jpg
    70.8 KB · Views: 269
because a female hindu character in saffron sari was dirty dancing around the male muslim hero.

if it was a saffron pagri wearing dude doing the same with a green clad muslim female lead, they wouldnt have any probems with it. In fact, that movie will probably their version of oscars or whatever.

Yep, somewhat like in the movie "Criminal"
A muslim female dumping her Burka and ending up in arms of a Hindu, was hit because to many hindus, it depicted the actual reality of India

Deepika lip sang "besharam rang" whilst dressed in saffron supposed Hindu colours. This according to Hindu zealots means Hinduism is being called besharam!!:sarf_facepalm

Yep they've gotta see the khajuraho mandir, and get more inspiration from Hinduism.