"My family is not permitting me to go to Pakistan" : Mushfiqur Rahim

Please note Harris Sohail’s ODI stats are post 2013, a year before the Mushfiq fanatics claim that the guy came into his own as a player.

Prove it with Stats. Otherwise you are deluding yourself with the anti Pakistan brigade

Okay tell me who you think are better than him in atleast 2 out of the three formats ? (Barring Babar of course).

Incorrect he averaged 48.68 in ODIs since 2014.

I doubt Haris Sohail could maintain that standard over a period of 5-6 years given his lack of fitness and laziness.

Also, Haris averages 46 after 41 ODIs, whereas Mushfiqur is averaging 50.82 from his last 51 ODIs (over 2017 - 2019).

As I said in my last post, if these facts don't change your mind then you're in denial.

Look if you want to focus on specific time frames and how that proves someone is overall a better player than you will have to accept Imam ul Haq is a better ODI batsman than Mushfiq. If you want to talk about the quality of the players then thats a completely different debate. Mushfiq is not in the same league as HS in terms of quality.

Okay tell me who you think are better than him in atleast 2 out of the three formats ? (Barring Babar of course).

Read my earlier posts. Ive listed all the batsmen who are better than him in all formats.

Right. So you think Haris Sohail, Azhar Ali, Asad Shafiq and Imam ul Haq are all better than Mushfiq in every format ?

My last post, engagement with you on this topic as you clearly do not take the effort to read my post. Read it properly and then ask me questions before you bring this tone with me.

I have travelled Pakistan at least 12 times in my life, 10 of those in between 2000 to 2013 and I actually like Karachi (mom was born there), particularly Clifton beach area; had been in couple of restaurants there. I had been in Islamabad few times as well and stayed in that Marriott hotel few months prior to that blast. These days, there is ab Air Canada direct flight from Toronto to Karachi, so last time I gave a thought that we’ll travel via Karachi with a day resting there; also Emeritus flight had a 14 hour transit at Dubai hence it wasn’t much of a delay & and cost would have been similar ..... my wife immediately said no travelling via Pakistan, not with kids.

You can say anything to anyone, but security perception is something that’s like pigeon in city squire - it flies away at one shot, but comes back one by one. PAK has to earn something hard way - it’s frustrating indeed, but patience is the key here - every forward move by even an inch is a success.

For Mushi, I am sure it’s his family, otherwise Mahmood is his bro in law (wives are siblings), and he’ll lead the side most likely. And, I can tell one thing - what Indian team suffered at Karachi from the crowds, fraction of that - BD team will return to airport direct from the ground. It’s not a threat, rather information for that intelligent people - you may not like it, but that’s reality.

i can understand what you are saying, ignore the trolls here, hope you and your family visit Pakistan someday.

Here's a challenge for you Mr Rana ji. Other than Babar, name me one batsman for Pakistan (in any format) who is superior to Mushfiqur with the bat?

challenge accepted: AVR : Average, SR: Strike Rate
for ODIs excluding babar,

Mushfiqur Rahim AVR: 36.3 SR: 79

Fakhar Zaman : AVR 46, SR: 95.
Abid Ali: AVR 47, SR: 97
Haris Sohail: AVR 46 SR:85
Imam Ul Haq: AVR 53 SR 86
Imad Wasim : AVR 41 ,SR 109

So Statistically as a pure batsman Rahim is inferior to any of our top 6 batters ( includiing babar)
hi position would be challenging for the keeper position vs Rizwan.

even then Rizwan has AVR 33, 3 runs less, but an SR of 89, which is 10 runs better. therefore, it is not a given that Rahim would start in a pakistani first XI in ODIs. I will do tests in the next post

So Statistically as a pure batsman Rahim is inferior to any of our top 6 batters ( includiing babar)

even then Rizwan has AVR 33, 3 runs less, but an SR of 89, which is 10 runs better. therefore, it is not a given that Rahim would start in a pakistani first XI in ODIs. I will do tests in the next post

Brother I would kindly disagree with mere stats. These boys have done well to be better than Mushy for the time being statistically but my argument is merely from the quality and impact of the player's point of view. I once again re-iterate that I would most likely pick Mushy over Fakhar and Imam in ODI even though the guys average 10-18 runs more than he does.

Would I pick Mushy over Azhar and Shafiq in Tests? No chance

Would I Pick him over Malik in T20is? No chance!

My last post, engagement with you on this topic as you clearly do not take the effort to read my post. Read it properly and then ask me questions before you bring this tone with me.

Bhai....

You told me to check your previous posts to know which players you think are better than him and I did just that. And to clarify and to prove my point by comparing the stats of the concerned players, I asked the above simple question. Now tell me where did I bring any kind of a tone ?

This is just lazy analysis. If you believe any of these players are superior to Mushfiqur in ODIs than I'm sorry you don't understand cricket.

Reason why Mushfiqur Rahim's average is lower is because he debuted at 16 when he was raw and wasn't quite international standard but he was picked because he was the best wicket-keeper Bangladesh had. It's obvious that his progression was stunted because he was playing for a team that was hopeless in the 2000s and early 2010s.

However in the last five years Bangladesh have become more competitive in ODIs and one of the reasons for that surge is due to Mushfiqur's excellence with the bat, having averaged just shy of 50 (48.68) since 2014.

Also. I actually like Imad Wasim but no one in the right frame of mind would compare him with Mushfiqur as a batsman.

Brother I would kindly disagree with mere stats. These boys have done well to be better than Mushy for the time being statistically but my argument is merely from the quality and impact of the player's point of view. I once again re-iterate that I would most likely pick Mushy over Fakhar and Imam in ODI even though the guys average 10-18 runs more than he does.

Would I pick Mushy over Azhar and Shafiq in Tests? No chance

Would I Pick him over Malik in T20is? No chance!

well of course lies lies and damned statistcs. you can never tell the whole picture. But its fun, to show one of bangladesh's best ever batsman being statistically inferior to some decent batsmen from pakistan.

goes to show how useless bangladesh is when it comes to batsmen, when one of their best batsmen averages less than 40.

I will go to Pakistan if security situation gets better: Mushfiqur

Bangladesh stalwart and former captain Mushfiqur Rahim revealed that he will not be available for the entire away series against Pakistan as he didn’t get the permission from the family for the tour.

But the 32-year-old wicketkeeper-batsman also said that he will tour Pakistan only if their security situation gets better and remains consistent.

“I have already informed Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) that I am not going to Pakistan for the upcoming series. I have submitted an official letter, and BCB accepted that. Not just T20Is, I am unavailable for the entire series,” Mushfiqur told the media after the final of just-concluded Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) final at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium on Friday.

“My family is afraid of the security condition of Pakistan. In this situation, I can’t go to Pakistan and play cricket there. It is always tough for me to sit down from a series of Bangladesh national team,” he added.

Mushfiqur also said that he had a proposal to play in Pakistan Super League (PSL) but he refused it because of the event will take place in Pakistan this time around.

“My family is not permitting me to go to Pakistan. Cricket is not bigger than the life. But at the same time, I would like to say that the situation of Pakistan is better than before. I toured Pakistan in 2008 before that incident (terror attack on Sri Lankan team in 2009). Pakistan is a wonderful place to play cricket. The wickets of Pakistan are batting-friendly and I will miss playing there. But if the situation gets better and remains better consistently, I would definitely love to go to Pakistan to play cricket,” Mushfiqur added.

Mushfiqur believes his vacant place will be filled easily and who will get chance will try his best for Bangladesh team. He concluded by saying: “There are many players who did well in BPL and in India series. I will expect them to play well in the upcoming series as well. It’s an opportunity for the young guys. It’s really tough to play good cricket against a team like Pakistan in their home. But I believe the boys will pose a strong challenge.”

http://unb.com.bd/category/Sports/i...ecurity-situation-gets-better-mushfiqur/41568

This really does indicate what the perception of Pakistan is in other countries and also shows what type of message is conveyed regarding Pakistan into countries like Bangladesh, etc. Still a long way to go for Pakistan as a country..

Is this guy seriously blaming Pakistan's security???

The number of deaths due to terrorism went from 12,000 in 2009 to 300 in 2019.

How much better does he think the security can get than this?

Just say that you're too scared to visit. Stop making dumb excuses

This really does indicate what the perception of Pakistan is in other countries and also shows what type of message is conveyed regarding Pakistan into countries like Bangladesh, etc. Still a long way to go for Pakistan as a country..

This is the right point. Perception is the keyword here. People don't have ulterior motives not to tour. Especially BD team which is desperate to play any match they can play, would not say No unless they genuinely have this perception. Not sure who can change it? But if it has to start somewhere that has to be with Imran Khan being a cricketer himself.

Can someone please tell me when Bangladesh stopped being Bangladesh and turned into Switzerland instead?

Absolutely laughable.

This is the right point. Perception is the keyword here. People don't have ulterior motives not to tour. Especially BD team which is desperate to play any match they can play, would not say No unless they genuinely have this perception. Not sure who can change it? But if it has to start somewhere that has to be with Imran Khan being a cricketer himself.

Perceptions never change in just a few years

There are so many perceptions about certain countries that are still there even though they're completely untrue.

It can take decades for a single perception about a certain country to change

I can't really comment on how good this guy actually is as I don't follow Bangladesh cricket much, is he like the same dufus that celebrated early against India in a WC match then was left in tears at the end? :))

Anyway, it's choice or his family's choice in this case it seems.

I firmly suspect that BCB probably has similar Drama’a. Just out of popularity and connections Tamim’s likely to lead in a Pakistan series which must have been hard to swallow for Our Mushy.

Hence the security Drama etc. In other words if his board agrees to tour and he still has reservation?

Citing security as your reason not to tour when all the data and experts suggest Pakistan is safe is like denying climate change or doubting vaccines when the science suggests they are real and effective.

You don't have to tour Pakistan, nobody is forcing you, but using security as your excuse is pathetic

Citing security as your reason not to tour when all the data and experts suggest Pakistan is safe is like denying climate change or doubting vaccines when the science suggests they are real and effective.

You don't have to tour Pakistan, nobody is forcing you, but using security as your excuse is pathetic

Iran is close by you know....

Whatever. Let the cricket start. Bangladesh needs to realise it is on that dangerous belt geographically. You never know they themselves might end up becoming a dangerous country for tourists. Things change pretty quickly in this day and age.

What about perception of BD when teams like Australia kept putting off their tour?

Whatever. Let the cricket start. Bangladesh needs to realise it is on that dangerous belt geographically. You never know they themselves might end up becoming a dangerous country for tourists. Things change pretty quickly in this day and age.

Terrorist attack can happen in any country, Bangladesh escaped one in NZ The security Pakistan would provide their team is less riskier than the situation they found themselves in NZ.

No one is judging him based on his decision.

The outrage is because he's implying Pakistan is not safe. Stats prove that it is.

No one looks at stats. It is all about perception.

Do you expect people to google the number of terrorist activities in the last X number of years and come to the conclusion that Pakistan is now safe?

They didn’t use statistics to conclude Pakistan is dangerous and they are not going to use statistics to conclude that Pakistan is apparently safe.

The problem for Pakistan is that it is still perceived as a dangerous country and it has no international credibility.

We might be the so-called #1 place to visit for this year, but hippies and food vloggers touring Pakistan will do little to change the image especially in the cricket fraternity.

After all, some hippies with GoPro cameras in their heads were not attacked. A cricket team was. People say that if the Royal Family can visit Pakistan then so can the England cricket team.

However, if the Royal Family gets attacked in Pakistan, they will never visit again.

Some mistakes are either forgivable or it takes a very, very long time for the stains to wash away. 2009 is not that far away, and terrorist activities were rampant until 2014-15.

Pakistan has not had decades of peace where it can legitimately call itself a safe country. All we have had are just a few years of stability, and it will take much longer for the perception and image of Pakistan to improve.

What about perception of BD when teams like Australia kept putting off their tour?

Don’t you guys get tiered of raising same issue and get exposed every time. Do you understand that, every time you guys raise this point someone will show you the difference, which won’t make you feel good.

OK, let me try once more - Australia declined to tour BD in 2017 as the aftermath of Holy Artizan attack, where 20+ foreigners were assassinated. But, within 3 months of that incident, England did tour BD for a full series and actually stayed in a hotel which is within sniper’s range from Holy Artizan. Aussies came back to complete their tour next summer, WHICH should tell everything about their perception.

This year, as per FTP, Aussies were scheduled to travel in February (not sure how & who fixed it), in the middle of Aussie season when they hardly travel - even SAF/PAK won’t get (PAK never got between Nov to February) their schedule that time. I am sure Aussies will come back sometimes in June-July.

The reason for Australia differing (not declining) the tours, one was indeed security precaution, which they completed after being convinced with the security measures/situation of Bangladesh. And the recent one is a conflict of overlapping schedule - absolutely no issues with security and few Aussies are roaming freely & partying tonight at the end of BPL.

In contrast, I don’t think I need to tell you again why 1998 it a significant year, when it comes to Australia - Pakistan cricket. Before raising any point, please try to understand first which one earns you browny point and which one exposes - this was quite a foolish post to be honest in this perspective, for which I was desperately trying to avoid posting - unfortunately you dragged me here.

^^ to add to my previous post, our fans need to have more empathy and sympathy for other boards and not just consider their selfish perspective.

Even if the other boards are willing to tour Pakistan, they are subjected to numerous hurdles because it is a massive to challenge to get everyone on board.

^^ to add to my previous post, our fans need to have more empathy and sympathy for other boards and not just consider their selfish perspective.

Even if the other boards are willing to tour Pakistan, they are subjected to numerous hurdles because it is a massive to challenge to get everyone on board.

I have read lots of trolling here in PP regarding the coaching staff of BCB - eventually, it is proved BCB was absolutely honest with this; out of 7-8 support staffs, so far only two have agreed to come.

Here naive people are questioning Mushi’s motive (& excuse), but reality is opposite - question should be, why the most important & senior most player of a team, who has a track record of playing for his team with a cracked rib is opting out of a tour?

why the most important & senior most player of a team, who has a track record of playing for his team with a cracked rib is opting out of a tour?

Attention seeking?

Pakistan has drawn enough attention in
last 10-12 years in this regard - Mushi is intelligent enough to know that he won’t add much weight into it.

Why did some of the Bangladeshi players put up their name of PSL?

Because he knows that they are lambs for slaughter without Shakib. A lot of these guys would skip the tour to save face instead of toiling

Yeah, Hafeez is waiting with knife and fork ready for a big feast. :yk

He should educate his family, he is the one with most information available about security to be provided for players not his family. Unless his family is from Hasina'a party with some grudge against Pakistan.

“It takes 20 years to build a reputation and five minuted to ruin it. " - Buffett

Pakistani fans need to have patience. Collective view of outsiders about Pakistan won't progress at same pace as Pakistani fans. It will take time. With more and more players visiting Pakistan, things will get closer to normal. Meanwhile , it's best to not mock anyone not wanting to visit Pakistan.

Security was an issue in Pakistan and it was due to credibility of Pakistani gov/officials. Credibility won't come back immediately after 1-2 tours, but each tour will simply add to this credibility. Happy to see progress being made to have normal cricket in Pakistan. Just cheer for all players/teams coming there and things will keep getting better.

Mushfiqur, may you and your family should come vacation in Pakistan. Stats and perception does suggest it is the #1 tourist spot in the world. Maybe then you can see the truth and not give bogus excuses of not touring with Bangladesh Team.

Bro, why are you dragging that dead horse, when it’s settled? BD (Amy player) player can always give their explanations here apart from the agent issue - the draft took place before finalisation of PSL schedule, they could have put a clause regarding travelling to PAK if selected, they could have observed the situation till PSL - it hardly matters. What draft, there are players who signed agreement knowing that part of PSL will be held in Pakistan.... then didn’t come with their team at the business end of the tournament.

Some of you are just dragging something from your vaunted ego - it’s settled, live in peace. Cricket is coming back to PAK and that’s the most critical point .... why some of you guys are desperate to tell the world that cricket is coming back but still some players are skeptic & touring team isn’t comfortable to stay in PAK for long - previous one played two Tests without any acclimatisation, almost from airport to ground, next one is playing two Tests is three trips ....

Just leave it - Mushi is too little for the broader perspectives here.

We Indians have a bigger bone to pick with Mushfiq, heck even we are not as dillusional as some of the pak fans. This guys is one of the best keeper batsmen playing cricket in 2020 today. I can only think of one or two keeper batsmen who gets the notch ahead of him (not by any means of a land slide either).

He doesn't want to tour, thats his decision. Just like how other 100's of players from different countries who doesn't want to tour Pakistan. Why is he getting shamed and attacked for it? Y'all need to take a chill pill with the drama, tour is happening, with our without their Premier players.

If Pakistan is safe according to the stats, why do they need presidential security for every cricket match which locks down the whole city in process?

Pakistan is safe if you want to visit your family or that stuff but it's currently not safe for international events, It would take some time for that to happen.

Apart from Babar, he is comfortably better than any batsman in Pakistan at the moment. It is a shame that he isn’t coming especially with Shakib unavailable as well.

The tour is already a joke with the scheduling and the absence of top players is only going to devalue it further.

Nevertheless, Mushfiq doesn’t owe anyone an explanation as long as he is not violating BCB code of conduct.

This matter is between him and BCB and not for Pakistani media and fans to speculate. We need to drop our false sense of entitlement. Foreign players are under no obligation to help the restoration of international cricket in Pakistan.

I know you hate the Pakistan team but please go easy on your hyperboles. It's one thing when you over-hype Indian players, some of them are actually good but completely another when you over-hype Mushfiqur Rahim, who has padded his already mediocre test average by hammering teams like Zimbabwe. He has reached some kind of respectability in ODIs after 12 years on the international circuit. And I would be interested in knowing how much he averages in ODIs too if you take out the runs against minnows. Haris, Shafiq, Azhar, Abid and even Rizwan are far better and/or more talented than him.

Huge miss, in the absence of Shakib, Mushfiqur was the MVP of their team. Love his batting, world class and probably second best WK bat in the world considering all formats.

If Pakistan is safe according to the stats, why do they need presidential security for every cricket match which locks down the whole city in process?

Pakistan is safe if you want to visit your family or that stuff but it's currently not safe for international events, It would take some time for that to happen.

I think you are making it appear too black and white and too overly simplistic. A lot of this has to do with the legacy of the attacks on the Sri Lankan team in 2009. That's why a lot of teams want the presidential security.

No one is judging him based on his decision.

The outrage is because he's implying Pakistan is not safe. Stats prove that it is.

Stats are irrelevant. I'm sure most Pakistanis wouldn't dare going to a country like Afghanistan. That's exactly how others see Pakistan. If Pakistan was a "safe" country then it wouldn't need to provide presidential security to other teams. It's so embarrassing to see.

Pakistanis need to learn how to be grateful instead of being arrogant all the time. No one, not one player, or any team owes anything to Pakistan.

It's his decision and between him and the BCB to talk about it.

Him coming to Pakistan or not, won't change the fact that Pakistan is relatively quite safe now.

Stats are irrelevant. I'm sure most Pakistanis wouldn't dare going to a country like Afghanistan. That's exactly how others see Pakistan. If Pakistan was a "safe" country then it wouldn't need to provide presidential security to other teams. It's so embarrassing to see.

Pakistanis need to learn how to be grateful instead of being arrogant all the time. No one, not one player, or any team owes anything to Pakistan.

But what is the situation in Afghanistan at the moment? Can we compare that with one in Pakistan?

I see your point about personal choice but its wrong to paint Pakistan like that.

I know you hate the Pakistan team but please go easy on your hyperboles. It's one thing when you over-hype Indian players, some of them are actually good but completely another when you over-hype Mushfiqur Rahim, who has padded his already mediocre test average by hammering teams like Zimbabwe. He has reached some kind of respectability in ODIs after 12 years on the international circuit. And I would be interested in knowing how much he averages in ODIs too if you take out the runs against minnows. Haris, Shafiq, Azhar, Abid and even Rizwan are far better and/or more talented than him.

In the last 5-6 years, he is averaging around 50 in ODIs. His averages against the top teams and Pakistan are the following:

Australia - 111
England 62
South Africa - 60
India - 35
New Zealand - 33
Pakistan 96

In fact, he averages 25 against Ireland so he has not boosted his numbers by bashing minnows. Those are outstanding numbers and he immediately walks into the Pakistan side and becomes our second best ODI batsman after Babar.

To say that Haris, Shafiq, Azhar, Abid (who has played less than 5 ODIs) and Rizwan are far better than him is a typical arrogant and ignorant viewpoint that you would expect from a section of Pakistani supporters who still believe that they are supporters of a top team. In other words, they cannot accept the reality - the reality that Pakistan is a deeply mediocre team in all formats and players of Mushfiq’s caliber would immediately improve the team.

Because it is personal choice. Some players might believe that security is not an issue anymore, some might be willing to take a small risk for money.

It all comes down to perception and our reputation. The world sees us as only marginally safer than war-torn countries like Afghanistan, Syria and Iraq. We are not seen in the same vein as countries like India and Sri Lanka.

That perception will only change with time and not by forcing statistics down people’s throats.

Another way to look at this is, 10 Sri Lankan players initially skipped the LOI leg of Pakistan tour. In case of BD it's one player. An improvement? Depends on how you look at it.

That's just very dissapointing. But there is no choice. Each to its own.
Hopefully Mushfiq comes back sometime later.

Bro, why are you dragging that dead horse, when it’s settled? BD (Amy player) player can always give their explanations here apart from the agent issue - the draft took place before finalisation of PSL schedule, they could have put a clause regarding travelling to PAK if selected, they could have observed the situation till PSL - it hardly matters. What draft, there are players who signed agreement knowing that part of PSL will be held in Pakistan.... then didn’t come with their team at the business end of the tournament.

Some of you are just dragging something from your vaunted ego - it’s settled, live in peace. Cricket is coming back to PAK and that’s the most critical point .... why some of you guys are desperate to tell the world that cricket is coming back but still some players are skeptic & touring team isn’t comfortable to stay in PAK for long - previous one played two Tests without any acclimatisation, almost from airport to ground, next one is playing two Tests is three trips ....

Just leave it - Mushi is too little for the broader perspectives here.

Because it is personal choice. Some players might believe that security is not an issue anymore, some might be willing to take a small risk for money.

It all comes down to perception and our reputation. The world sees us as only marginally safer than war-torn countries like Afghanistan, Syria and Iraq. We are not seen in the same vein as countries like India and Sri Lanka.

That perception will only change with time and not by forcing statistics down people’s throats.

The agent issue nonsense put up by BD players or the US/Iran issue put up by BD board is one of biggest nonsense in the history of nonsense. Don't you guys see BD board was on purpose playing a delaying and dirty tactic. Don't for the love of God bring back the 1971 hate story into this.

Of course it is a personal choice and no-one is bound to travel to Pak but the way it happened was dead stupid on part of BD.

Bravo to PCB's patience for putting up with it. I think BD will not on the priority invite list for tours going forward after this and it will have only itself to blame for trying to be over smart. They may have possibly bartered the Asia Cup hosting but thats the last thing they will ever gain ever.

The agent issue nonsense put up by BD players or the US/Iran issue put up by BD board is one of biggest nonsense in the history of nonsense. Don't you guys see BD board was on purpose playing a delaying and dirty tactic. Don't for the love of God bring back the 1971 hate story into this.

Of course it is a personal choice and no-one is bound to travel to Pak but the way it happened was dead stupid on part of BD.

Bravo to PCB's patience for putting up with it. I think BD will not on the priority invite list for tours going forward after this and it will have only itself to blame for trying to be over smart. They may have possibly bartered the Asia Cup hosting but thats the last thing they will ever gain ever.

What excuse/justification would you have preferred?

There are two different claims with the same meaning. He is better than everyone bar Babar and walks into the side in all formats.

What tall claims? It is pretty clear you haven’t watched him bat in the last 5 years. He is an excellent batsman and someone like him at 4 or 5 would clearly improve our team.

If he was Pakistani, you would have said he is rubbish!

Don’t you guys get tiered of raising same issue and get exposed every time. Do you understand that, every time you guys raise this point someone will show you the difference, which won’t make you feel good.

OK, let me try once more - Australia declined to tour BD in 2017 as the aftermath of Holy Artizan attack, where 20+ foreigners were assassinated. But, within 3 months of that incident, England did tour BD for a full series and actually stayed in a hotel which is within sniper’s range from Holy Artizan. Aussies came back to complete their tour next summer, WHICH should tell everything about their perception.

This year, as per FTP, Aussies were scheduled to travel in February (not sure how & who fixed it), in the middle of Aussie season when they hardly travel - even SAF/PAK won’t get (PAK never got between Nov to February) their schedule that time. I am sure Aussies will come back sometimes in June-July.

The reason for Australia differing (not declining) the tours, one was indeed security precaution, which they completed after being convinced with the security measures/situation of Bangladesh. And the recent one is a conflict of overlapping schedule - absolutely no issues with security and few Aussies are roaming freely & partying tonight at the end of BPL.

In contrast, I don’t think I need to tell you again why 1998 it a significant year, when it comes to Australia - Pakistan cricket. Before raising any point, please try to understand first which one earns you browny point and which one exposes - this was quite a foolish post to be honest in this perspective, for which I was desperately trying to avoid posting - unfortunately you dragged me here.
My post was not foolish at all, infact you have validated my point. Bangladesh reputation could have been ruined after that attack but indeed England did tour three months after, they dis not let the perception due to attack get in the way. And with Pak offering presidential security there is no excuse for any player especially when their board are satisfied with security. However, I respect Mushi's personal choice, but players opting out like that only delays in the improvement of Pak safety perception.

Bro I have already tried my best reasoning with him, its like banging your head against a brick wall. If we use the last 4-5 year theory then Harris Sohail and Fakhar Zaman go on par with Mushfiq. Imam Ul Haq is better than him

The guy literally disregards any achievements made by Pakistani players as he clearly has his pre-set agenda against them

The same person who is very quick at degrading Pakistani cricketers in this case seemed to have overlooked the fact that it took Mushfiq around 10 years at international cricket to find a way to score runs frequently whereas a lot of these Pakistani names have been thrown right into the deep end and had to fill in for some huge names to have left the game by 2009. Harris Sohail has genuine and tough runs in ICC world cups since he emerged in 2015. Asad Shafiq has not been great but name me a single knock played by Musfhiq that is far better than Shafiq's greatest knocks in Test Cricket?

One thing I know is that general public of Pakistan doesn't like when cricket matches are held here and the reason for that is the lockdown of the city due to the matches.

The same person who is very quick at degrading Pakistani cricketers in this case seemed to have overlooked the fact that it took Mushfiq around 10 years at international cricket to find a way to score runs frequently whereas a lot of these Pakistani names have been thrown right into the deep end and had to fill in for some huge names to have left the game by 2009. Harris Sohail has genuine and tough runs in ICC world cups since he emerged in 2015. Asad Shafiq has not been great but name me a single knock played by Musfhiq that is far better than Shafiq's greatest knocks in Test Cricket?

It’s a subjective question. I can name you a few knocks but you will dismiss them by naming a few Shafiq knocks because you have already made your mind up. I cannot convince you and you cannot convince me.

Anyway, I would say that Mushfiq’s 127 in India against Ashwin and Jadeja with massive scoreboard pressure and Bangladesh reeling at 100/4 was greater than any of Shafiq’s Test innings, simply because I don’t believe Shafiq can play spin well enough to cope with to score a hundred against Ashwin and Jadeja in India, that too when Pakistan are 100/4 in reply to India’s 600+ total.

Moreover, I never seen Shafiq bat with the same control and authority as I saw Mushfiq during his 159 in New Zealand.

And for the record, he had a better World Cup than Haris.

So shaheen, haris etc are rubbish.

Haris is nothing special by international standards and Shaheen has not proved himself to be world class yet. However, he could be.

Babar is the only world class player in Pakistan at the moment.

Thread is about Mushfiq and not coming to Pakistan.

One thing I know is that general public of Pakistan doesn't like when cricket matches are held here and the reason for that is the lockdown of the city due to the matches.

You're an Indian so you rely on information from social media to judge a situation but you're lacking common sense here.

There's only a lockdown around the stadium where the match is taking place, not over all of Pakistan. I thought that would be obvious

Lets get the record straight. Is Shaqib Ul Hassan a better Batsman than Babar Azam?

No, Babar is better. I don’t think Bangladesh have produced a better batsman than Babar so far.

You're an Indian so you rely on information from social media to judge a situation but you're lacking common sense here.

There's only a lockdown around the stadium where the match is taking place, not over all of Pakistan. I thought that would be obvious

You don't live in Pakistan but I have been in Pakistan when the matches were taking place there and there was a long security chain in Lahore which must have covered at least 10km from the stadium and stop this Indian thing again and again. I know more about Pakistan than you.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Individual choice - but Pakistan is safe for members of the British Royal Family, Luís Figo, Carlos Puyol, Kaka and Michael Holding, but not for Mushfiqur Rahim <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PAKvBAN?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PAKvBAN</a> <a href="https://t.co/D65Xkafr4a">pic.twitter.com/D65Xkafr4a</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1218522265748418560?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 18, 2020</a></blockquote>

Look, it is a personal decision and no one can make him travel anywhere, and his decision must be respected but his reason to not travel to Pakistan is stupid and should be criticized.

I know right :)) he's embarrassing himself

Haris is nothing special by international standards and Shaheen has not proved himself to be world class yet. However, he could be.

Babar is the only world class player in Pakistan at the moment.

He averages 50+ against SENA countries I believe but he's nothing special by international standards. You said good players and now it's world class. Changing goal posts as usual.