My Newbery Krakatoa - Players Review

ca_gold

A bit old now but I thought I'd share it with you guys. Well I received my Newbery Krakatoa (players model) from Asad last week (week of April 20th 2010).

I asked for a light bat - was looking for something in the 2'7 or 2'8 range. This bat weighs in at 2'7.

Initial thoughts: This is a one good looking bat! There isn't a blemish on the face. Not sure what the difference between this and an SPS model would be. Maybe more grains? Either way i think i've got a beauty here.

I love the finish and the profile on it. I found it to be slightly more bottom heavy then my GN - but the bat pick ups and swings very well. I had two light net sessions with it and immediately fell in love with it. It's a class above the rest of my bats. it feels like i've gone from a honda to a mercedes (even if it's not the s class :p).

Service: once again asad bhai was fantastic. this is my third purchase from him. he once again emailed plenty of pics, he was always accessible. I probably exchanged another 40 emails with him for this bat and i think i got one of his best. it was a pleasure dealing with him and im hoping at this rate uzisports sponsors me next season ;)

hope you guys enjoy the pics.

DSC_0210.jpg

nb3.jpg

nb5.jpg

nb6.jpg

nb7.jpg

nb4.jpg

DSC_0228.jpg

nb8.jpg

Wow impressive! I still remember your bat was the reason why I bought Krakatoa as well (I basically copied you :D ).

To be honest, this bat can easily be graded as SPS, I believe that mark at the back was the reason.

Waisay how is this going at the moment?

mashallah nice bat with dramatic pics

Beautiful you guys are making me harder to wait un-till I get my new one.

This bat is absolutely gorgeous! I personally know CD, and i took his advice and a few other friends and finally got me a Newberry Krakatoa.
What amazes me the most is the quality of the bat as a whole. Ive seen pictures here on ca_gold's review and i personally held CD's Krakatoa and they look absolutely identical in quality. The grains are ruler straight, perfectly spaced out and everything.

This is easily the best 300 dollars Ive ever spent on a bat, and this coming from someone who spent 500 bucks on a kookaburra blade 950. Hell, I would even go on to say this bat feels better than the kookaburra i own.

Bought it today from Haagi sports for 300 flat.. and used the bat in the nets already. Shouldve knocked some myself and then played the spinners, but it was too tempting. But wow! for a bat that feels as light as this, the ping felt as good as my CA 10000 PLUS that is about 2'9. Not bad for a bat thats been bought the same day! I can only imagine how fast the ball will fly once Ive given it a proper knocking session or two.

Overall, fully satisfied. Thank you ca_gold for the pictures and CD for letting me have a feel of it before i bought it.

Bottom line: It is the mini cooper of bats. Light without thick edges and it still makes balls fly!
(This happens to be my first post by the way)

Welcome to PP ExtraCoverDrive (ECD) Bhai, I hope you enjoy your stay here :) Its great to have you here :)

Yaar why not put your own review, I'm sure people would be interested in it.

Do you know I saw ca_gold Bhai's Krakatoa and decided to buy it :)

Bottom line: It is the mini cooper of bats. Light without thick edges and it still makes balls fly!

Fully agreed! I'm not sure but my Gray Nicolls has probably 15mm edges but that bat is an absolute gun perhaps better than my 41 mm MB LE

This bat is absolutely gorgeous! I personally know CD, and i took his advice and a few other friends and finally got me a Newberry Krakatoa.
What amazes me the most is the quality of the bat as a whole. Ive seen pictures here on ca_gold's review and i personally held CD's Krakatoa and they look absolutely identical in quality. The grains are ruler straight, perfectly spaced out and everything.

This is easily the best 300 dollars Ive ever spent on a bat, and this coming from someone who spent 500 bucks on a kookaburra blade 950. Hell, I would even go on to say this bat feels better than the kookaburra i own.

Bought it today from Haagi sports for 300 flat.. and used the bat in the nets already. Shouldve knocked some myself and then played the spinners, but it was too tempting. But wow! for a bat that feels as light as this, the ping felt as good as my CA 10000 PLUS that is about 2'9. Not bad for a bat thats been bought the same day! I can only imagine how fast the ball will fly once Ive given it a proper knocking session or two.

Overall, fully satisfied. Thank you ca_gold for the pictures and CD for letting me have a feel of it before i bought it.

(This happens to be my first post by the way)

Welcome to PakPassion.Net!

Sounds great, why not post a review and pictures of it like CoverDrive have mentioned?

Cheers

lol...Too lazy to post a full review! and it doesnt help that i am terrible with photography :D
After seeing these amazing pictures of the ca_gold krakatoa and yours, mine will look dull in comparison.
I'll actually post a proper review after Ive had a few more practice sessions with the bat. Let the excitement settle, so the review is more honest.

lol...Too lazy to post a full review! and it doesnt help that i am terrible with photography :D
After seeing these amazing pictures of the ca_gold krakatoa and yours, mine will look dull in comparison.
I'll actually post a proper review after Ive had a few more practice sessions with the bat. Let the excitement settle, so the review is more honest.

:))) :))) No one is as good of a photographer as ca_gold bhai, I believe he bought a DSLR for it :))

Don't forget it on Saturday, the picture you had sent me in that its grains were straighter than mines to be honest. Your were dead straight!!!

I have been on PP for a long time but just for last few days I looked into this Equipment section. I think there are some great reviews, ppl with alot of knowledge and the most important thing they are willing to share their information. So great job guys.!! Now I have some questions and don't mean to hijack this thread...

1. I am interested in buying a Newbery bat (living in US) what are my best option so I can get a nice, genuine Newbery bat

2. Also I want to buy Bas Bow 20/20 pads (anybody knows where I can get them in US)?

xbox bhai,

Feel free to ask questions where ever you wish to, no need to ask :)

1. Me and ca_gold bhai bought got our bats from uzisports.co.uk and we paid 200 Pounds including shipping to Canada so I am assuming the shipping will be same to US as well.

2. ca_gold bhai is the best guy to answer as he bought his from US.

If you have any other question(s) please don't hesitate to ask :)

Hi!
if you are looking for a local US store, then try cricketstoreonline.com. they do free shipping on anything over 100 bucks for which your purchase of the bat from there will be sufficient.
Ive made a purchase from there and the customer service was pretty awesome.
if you buy the bat from UK or anywhere else, you'll end up paying for customs, and crazy shipping costs. Some of us here in Canada have hook ups to buying stuff from UK. Ask around. You shouldve started up a new thread so everyone else got exposure to your inquiry.

Hi!
if you are looking for a local US store, then try cricketstoreonline.com. they do free shipping on anything over 100 bucks for which your purchase of the bat from there will be sufficient.
Ive made a purchase from there and the customer service was pretty awesome.
if you buy the bat from UK or anywhere else, you'll end up paying for customs, and crazy shipping costs. Some of us here in Canada have hook ups to buying stuff from UK. Ask around. You shouldve started up a new thread so everyone else got exposure to your inquiry.

From my experience I would say it depends on your shipping method. For example, I believe stuff coming from courier is always stopped at customs whereas if regular mail is used such as Royal Mail it goes through without any customs.

I got gloves from Pakistan via DHL and in customs they were treated although the value declared was much lower than what Canadian custom allows for gift import but I still got charged.

Also are they from who you got your Blade 950 from ?

xbox bhai I agree with ECD bhai you should open a new thread :)

Ha my very close mate has the same bat i have played with it and the sound is really good when i middle the bowl but than newbery is quality

ExtraCoverDrive! good work mate. glad you liked the pics. you will love this bat. this actually my little brothers, and he loves it. i'd knock it a little before going nuts on the spinners & make sure your using good quality balls.

Ca_Gold has the best bat collection. Period.

He actually uses his bats effectively and scores lots of runs, unlike most other people with bat collections here.

Unnecessary comment really!
Last time I checked, this thread was about cricket equipment, not Stats at cricinfo. No one cares how many runs you score with it unless you're playing professionally and making money out of it.
Having said that, i'll admit: ca_gold has an amazing collection of bats.

Lol...its raining unnecessary comments!
But for the fun of it, lets see:
Why does it bother me?
Because, i can sense a lame jab at everyone here who owns cricket equipments.
Why does it bother me?
Because I take offense. I am not the greatest batsman in the world, but surely, I can try by getting myself everything a cricket store can buy to ensure i maximize my potential as a cricketer. But then you see lame comments meant to degrade you.
Why does it bother me?
Because we here on a cricket forum to share our love for cricket. Not petty high school insults.

why does it bother me he says.
sheesh

I feel bad for you, I apologize for hurting your feelings or exploiting any insecurities or stirring any under-lying emotions my comments may have caused.