Narendra Modi visits Lahore

Columnist Kamran Shafi, a former Army Officer and later Benazir Bhutto's aide (I sort of know him because he's from Wah), once wrote about eating a meal prepared by Shahbaz Sharif's junior chef. Throughout the meal, he was told that this was merely the junior chef, the senior chef is miles ahead of him, and then Nawaz's junior and senior chefs are even better. Yet Shafi said it was by far the best meal he had had in his life. So you can imagine the sort of feast Nawaz has probably had prepared for this occasion.

yea there are lot of stories from mian family kitchen this is something where you can't beat them it's like a home ground for them.

Have to give it to Pakistani media, that they always welcome diplomatic talks and have taken the visit by Modi positively.

On the other hand we have the bikau, sickular Indian media which has a problem with anything Modi does. Congressi scrum are now complaining against Modi's Pakistan visit, and last month their leaders were talking about peace when they were in Pakistan.

I heard AAP is also complaining? Congress i understand they are main opposition but what is the issue with AAP they are only a Delhi based party and i don't think they do national politics?

AAP is the B team of Congress. They got to power by talking against Congress, but since then have kept silent on Congressi scandals. Their leader Kejriwal is the master of U turns.

Modi looks highly impressed
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Spent a warm evening with Sharif family at their family home. Nawaz Sahab's birthday & granddaughter's marriage made it a double celebration</p>— Narendra Modi (@narendramodi) <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi/status/680413875997507584">December 25, 2015</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Am personally touched by Nawaz Sharif Sahab 's gesture of welcoming me at Lahore airport and coming to the airport when I left.</p>— Narendra Modi (@narendramodi) <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi/status/680414259465945089">December 25, 2015</a></blockquote>

AAP is the B team of Congress. They got to power by talking against Congress, but since then have kept silent on Congressi scandals. Their leader Kejriwal is the master of U turns.

Are they spreading their political roots into other regions too or just limited to Delhi?

They have presence in Punjab, other than that they are happy ruling Delhi. Whenever I take an auto in Delhi, I always ask the driver about his opinion on Kejriwal, and they are all effusive in praising him.

Kejriwal's dream is to become PM, he just used Anna's anti-corruption crusade to jump start his career. It was disgusting to see him joining hands with the one of the most corrupt politician in India: Lalu prasad yadav who had made sure that Bihar is the most backward state in India. Kaha gaya Anti corruption stance of this scumbag??

Kejriwal's and every other politician's main opponent is Modi as nobody alone is bug enough to counter Modi fanbase in India. So, they all unite against him on any topic just like today they are creating havoc for his Pakistan visit.

Kejriwal's dream is to become PM, he just used Anna's anti-corruption crusade to jump start his career. It was disgusting to see him joining hands with the one of the most corrupt politician in India: Lalu prasad yadav who had made sure that Bihar is the most backward state in India. Kaha gaya Anti corruption stance of this scumbag??

Kejriwal's and every other politician's main opponent is Modi as nobody alone is bug enough to counter Modi fanbase in India. So, they all unite against him on any topic just like today they are creating havoc for his Pakistan visit.

thanks for the detailed post but IIRC Nitish Kumar is also sitting with lalu in Bihar and i think he is a clean face and Bihar saw some improvement under him in last few years?

They have presence in Punjab, other than that they are happy ruling Delhi. Whenever I take an auto in Delhi, I always ask the driver about his opinion on Kejriwal, and they are all effusive in praising him.

so they are kinda like MQM of Pakistan :yk MQM is happy to rule Karachi from almost 3 decades and not spreading to rest of Pakistan except a few sindh cities

thanks for the detailed post but IIRC Nitish Kumar is also sitting with lalu in Bihar and i think he is a clean face and Bihar saw some improvement under him in last few years?

Nitish Kumar didn't have any choice, he cut off his nose by splitting with BJP in Bihar as he wanted to become PM in the last elections and started targetting BJP and Modi like congress. In the end, Modi was elected as PM and thus Nitish needed new partner to survive in Bihar.

The reason for Nitish's existence is Anti-Lalu, so it was hilarious to see him go back to Lalu to form a Government. But Politician do what they have to do to remain in power. Nitish was much better than Lalu but now he won't have same freedom as Lalu will want to loot like before. All this just to fulfill his dream to become PM of India.

so they are kinda like MQM of Pakistan :yk MQM is happy to rule Karachi from almost 3 decades and not spreading to rest of Pakistan except a few sindh cities

Shiv Sena is more like MQM. AAP is unique, they are bit like PTI when it comes to taking moral high ground and having vocal fans on social media, but at least Imran Khan has done philanthropy and is accepted as honest by his detractors too, but Kejriwal has greed for power and money written all over him.

Bihar election is always caste based. Both Nithish and lalu are opportunists like any politician.

Nitish Kumar didn't have any choice, he cut off his nose by splitting with BJP in Bihar as he wanted to become PM in the last elections and started targetting BJP and Modi like congress. In the end, Modi was elected as PM and thus Nitish needed new partner to survive in Bihar.

The reason for Nitish's existence is Anti-Lalu, so it was hilarious to see him go back to Lalu to form a Government. But Politician do what they have to do to remain in power. Nitish was much better than Lalu but now he won't have same freedom as Lalu will want to loot like before. All this just to fulfill his dream to become PM of India.

Yea it's all a power game these politicians can go down to any level for that. To give you an example from our part of the world MQM is labeled terrorist party and have many cases against them built in different govt but somehow they always manage to sit in federal govt with every party including PPP, PMLN and the dictator Musharraf :yk

Shiv Sena is more like MQM. AAP is unique, they are bit like PTI when it comes to taking moral high ground and having vocal fans on social media, but at least Imran Khan has done philanthropy and is accepted as honest by his detractors too, but Kejriwal has greed for power and money written all over him.

Shiv Sena have highly educated people in their party? MQM is a middle class party of highly educated people many of their MNA / MPAa are medicals specialists. What i don't understand about Kejriwal is how come his manjan is still selling many thought his career was over after last time resignations? But he somehow managed to win almost every seat of Delhi again

Yea it's all a power game these politicians can go down to any level for that. To give you an example from our part of the world MQM is labeled terrorist party and have many cases against them built in different govt but somehow they always manage to sit in federal govt with every party including PPP, PMLN and the dictator Musharraf :yk

I guess MQM gets loads of votes, i have heard that they get votes as Mohajirs trust MQM and their leader. Is this true? or any other reason for them getting votes?

Yea they get majority of vote in Karachi specially the urdu speaking vote which is 50% of the karachi population that is around 20-25 million at the moment. Urdu speaking people are mostly those who came from india during partition (Muhajirs). There are 20 MNA (member national assembly) seats from Karachi which is 6 more seats than the whole Baluchistan province! and MQM currently have 17 out of those 20 seats and had similar numbers in previous elections too. MQM recently won local body elections too so Karachi mayor is again from MQM now just like last time. MQM is an interesting case they do have militant wing and always were involved in illegal stuff but you can't deny the fact that they are a party of middle class and enjoy the biggest vote bank in Karachi.

What about muslim vote? I think there is a big vote bank of muslims in UP and Bihar?

Nithish and Lalu made the formidable Muslim-yadav-Kurmi coalition to which majority of extremely backward classes (EBC) got attracted to. Bjp was concentrating on religious polarisation but was doing nothing to protect the EBC's interest. Moreover beef politics and Nithish's clean image helped in his favour.

Yea they get majority of vote in Karachi specially the urdu speaking vote which is 50% of the karachi population that is around 20-25 million at the moment. Urdu speaking people are mostly those who came from india during partition (Muhajirs). There are 20 MNA (member national assembly) seats from Karachi which is 6 more seats than the whole Baluchistan province! and MQM currently have 17 out of those 20 seats and had similar numbers in previous elections too. MQM recently won local body elections too so Karachi mayor is again from MQM now just like last time. MQM is an interesting case they do have militant wing and always were involved in illegal stuff but you can't deny the fact that they are a party of middle class and enjoy the biggest vote bank in Karachi.

Middle class is a joke, there party leaders are filthy rich now and have dual nationality

Shiv sena is more like JSQM, because they advocate for the interests of 'sons of the soil' while mqm claims to represent migrants

Nithish and Lalu made the formidable Muslim-yadav-Kurmi coalition to which majority of extremely backward classes (EBC) got attracted to. Bjp was concentrating on religious polarisation but was doing nothing to protect the EBC's interest. Moreover beef politics and Nithish's clean image helped in his favour.

indian politics always surprise me every province have totally different type of interest which make it hard to do national level politics as one party without sitting with other regional parties.

Middle class is a joke, there party leaders are filthy rich now and have dual nationality

Some MQM leader did made money but most share still goes to Altaf. But after the money laundering investigation in UK im not sure which method they are using now and how they are making it white or maybe now it's going to some other place.

Shiv Sena have highly educated people in their party? MQM is a middle class party of highly educated people many of their MNA / MPAa are medicals specialists. What i don't understand about Kejriwal is how come his manjan is still selling many thought his career was over after last time resignations? But he somehow managed to win almost every seat of Delhi again

He did what MQM does, go Mohalla to Mohalla meet everyone and got their vote but now he is the messiah of new immigrants to Delhi like people from UP,Bihar,Haryana and on religious level even Sikhs,Muslims support him.

There is a saying that corruption at lower level has reduced immensely but the guy has no idea how to run a Govn.

wow michael jackson one is a new pic for me but miandad one i remember it from past. thakerey even said he was a big fan of miandad.

You can find pics of Thackeray family with some of the Biggest personalities of Bollywood and even Cricketers from Mumbai like Tendulkar and Gavaskar.

Jackson coming to India in 1995 was moment of success . India was still emerging as a decent economy , Thackeray was in power in Mumbai at that time and his party did everything to make sure that the city concert was successful. It was not easy to get such a Global Superstar in a Lullu country at that time.

indian politics always surprise me every province have totally different type of interest which make it hard to do national level politics as one party without sitting with other regional parties.

True that population are way to diverse to vote in herds except 2015 when BJP got mind boggling numbers.Only 1984 i think had such polarized view because of Indira's death.

He did what MQM does, go Mohalla to Mohalla meet everyone and got their vote but now he is the messiah of new immigrants to Delhi like people from UP,Bihar,Haryana and on religious level even Sikhs,Muslims support him.

There is a saying that corruption at lower level has reduced immensely but the guy has no idea how to run a Govn.

Yea mohalla politics is an art but this also backfires for you at national level. Delhi assembly passed any bill under him for immigrants?

Some MQM leader did made money but most share still goes to Altaf. But after the money laundering investigation in UK im not sure which method they are using now and how they are making it white or maybe now it's going to some other place.

Most of their leaders now live in america (esp Chicago & Houston), they have big houses & luxury cars.

You can find pics of Thackeray family with some of the Biggest personalities of Bollywood and even Cricketers from Mumbai like Tendulkar and Gavaskar.

Jackson coming to India in 1995 was moment of success . India was still emerging as a decent economy , Thackeray was in power in Mumbai at that time and his party did everything to make sure that the city concert was successful. It was not easy to get such a Global Superstar in a Lullu country at that time.

His concert was cancelled. Coz apparently we couldn't handle a superstar :facepalm:

True that population are way to diverse to vote in herds except 2015 when BJP got mind boggling numbers.Only 1984 i think had such polarized view because of Indira's death.

That's what make the leader of these regional parties really important.

Money written all over him ? What money . What corruption he has done. He is very good leader & always approachable. I am from Delhi & I know how good he is. BJP bhakts cannot see any good opposition.

Most of their leaders now live in america (esp Chicago & Houston), they have big houses & luxury cars.

I heard Nadeem Nusrat (Altaf's number 2) moved to Houston a few months ago and MQM is setting up their HQ their now. I remember the big houses they had in london were registered under Altaf and his family member names and MQM leader use to say they are party assets and it always made me laugh how blindly they use to defend bhai and his assets.

Yea mohalla politics is an art but this also backfires for you at national level. Delhi assembly passed any bill under him for immigrants?

Not really but i guess his protest against land acquisition bill could be the reason someone can correct me if i'm wrong but i only remember some 3 education bills being passed.
Feel he is socialist and that always ends up blowing on our face.

That's what make the leader of these regional parties really important.

Its good too imo considering if there was a single national party the voices or regions might get silenced example is North East India because they hardly have any seats in Parliament their issues get ignored.

But they regional leaders can also hold the country back from progress.

Read this in Facebook. This is Ajit Doval's first Pakistan visit on visa. Lol

You cant really compare MQM and Shiv Sena .

If I am not mistaken MQM has been in power in Karachi for last 2-4 decades and is the dominant party in that region

Shiv Sena has come to power in Maharashtra only twice since 1947.Even now (the 2nd time) when they are in Govt BJP is the dominant partner .

Not really but i guess his protest against land acquisition bill could be the reason someone can correct me if i'm wrong but i only remember some 3 education bills being passed.
Feel he is socialist and that always ends up blowing on our face.

MQM have been doing politics on quota system from almost 3 decades now and they shared bed with all parties in fed govt and dictator but didn't done any thing to change this quota system.

Serious questions are being raised in certain factions of our media over Modi's hypocrisy. His speech in Kabul was mostly about terror sanctuaries across the border, thereby implying that Pakistan's behind all of it and later, he visidts Pakistan and roams in the palace hand in hand with Nawaz Sharif.

Hence, it safe to assume that he had his own vested interests, for which he visited Pakistan and nothing substantial could be concluded from it.

Money written all over him ? What money . What corruption he has done. He is very good leader & always approachable. I am from Delhi & I know how good he is. BJP bhakts cannot see any good opposition.

He is not corrupt but he is not a good leader,he is a socialist and his policies would bring about drastic consequences having said that IMO its always good to switch between socialism and capitalism and keep a balance so best of luck nevertheless.

You cant really compare MQM and Shiv Sena .

If I am not mistaken MQM has been in power in Karachi for last 2-4 decades and is the dominant party in that region

Shiv Sena has come to power in Maharashtra only twice since 1947.Even now (the 2nd time) when they are in Govt BJP is the dominant partner .

not only karachi but in federal and sindh govt too they have shared bed with every party including ppp, pmln and musharrafs party in federal govt for most of the time during last 2 and a hald decade

MQM have been doing politics on quota system from almost 3 decades now and they shared bed with all parties in fed govt and dictator but didn't done any thing to change this quota system.

Lol that's common in India as well "Quota" system Patels have been doing offlate, Gujjars and Jats did it in the past few years.

Worst thing is some parties are asking quota system even in Pvt companies not sure how that is gonna work.

Serious questions are being raised in certain factions of our media over Modi's hypocrisy. His speech in Kabul was mostly about terror sanctuaries across the border, thereby implying that Pakistan's behind all of it and later, he visidts Pakistan and roams in the palace hand in hand with Nawaz Sharif.

Hence, it safe to assume that he had his own vested interests, for which he visited Pakistan and nothing substantial could be concluded from it.

Don't worry he is not being spared in India as well there is not one positive news i'm seeing right now ,leaders are calling him undiplomatic.

Nawaz Sharif is joke of a leader. Modi has just said Pakistan is the chief sponsor of terrorism in Afghansitan and Nazaz is holding his hand as if they are taking part in Gay Pride.

Lol that's common in India as well "Quota" system Patels have been doing offlate, Gujjars and Jats did it in the past few years.

Worst thing is some parties are asking quota system even in Pvt companies not sure how that is gonna work.

Yea i remember the patel movement but here situation is different Z Bhutto implemented quota system in Sindh back in 70s that gives more opportunities to Sindhis in Karachi than urdu speaking people that are in majority and MQM have been politics over this for whole their life but done nothing to change it even after enjoying power for decades.

Its upto the MQM supporters to ask that but we are happy just "selecting someone our own" but not the right candidate, case is similar among desis.

There you go. Bear Hug :D

modi-sharif-hug1.jpg

Exactly, there were media reports regarding Modi taking digs at Pakistan while inaugurating the Parliament in Afghanistan.

And the next moment Nawaz called him over to Pakistan for mehmaanawaazey

I was happy when AAP won, it was a victory of democracy and an encouraging sign that if you reach at the grassroot levels, people can vote for you.

But let us talk about Kejriwal. What did he say about Shiela Dixit when she was the CM? And now he has absolved her of all corruption. He threw out Bhushan and Yadav because they had their own opinion. He makes allegations without providing proofs. Had to tender an unconditional apology to Gadkari after he took him to court. Promises lokpal, and then comes up with jokepal. Ignoring his other flip flops as I understand that with time you have to adjust as a politician, but I cannot ignore his hypocrisy.

Its upto the MQM supporters to ask that but we are happy just "selecting someone our own" but not the right candidate, case is similar among desis.

exactly thats how ppp plays sindh card and mqm play muhajir card because they know their supporter are not going anywhere

It was decided in NSA level talks.
about US and Russia.
Afghanistani Taliban,SCO,TAPI,CPEC, all signs are thre.

I also heard our new NSA (Gen Janjua) had a very fruitful meeting with his indian counterpart in bangkok. [MENTION=137142]JaDed[/MENTION]

It was pre planned for sure but i have my doubts about Russia and USA.

Russia recently started investing in Pakistan again and there is a reason for that they will never want bad security situation between pak-india.

This is a master stroke by Modi Saab. All these so called diplomacy is to show the world that he tried his best to be friendly with Pakistan. But, when the time comes like we see in yearly basis terrorists trying to cross over the Kashmir border and Indian army responding very strongly like it happened in the last year.

Does anyone remember his speech in the UN? He said he offered POK relief work when it got affected by rain.

He is going to do the same with the border issues. When things get heated, He is going to say to the world he tried his best by going to Pakistan but they kept sending terrorists inside. Wait and watch. This is what's going to happen.

Lol @ masterstroke.
whatevr i said an year ago in "parosi" forum about Modi ji / Indian policy . Its all happening right now.

Russia recently started investing in Pakistan again and there is a reason for that they will never want bad security situation between pak-india.

Valid reason ,business always paves the way for diplomacy so yeah makes sense also Jindal being there makes me think twice about the reason of the visit.
Feel there are lot of hidden deals taking place.

It was pre planned for sure but i have my doubts about Russia and USA.

It was Russia who agreed to give Pakistan a full membership of SCO.
Russia hav Intrest in CPEC. (you will know it in couple of years).
for that they want to see Stabilize Afghanistan and Friendly Pakistan-India.

Lol @ masterstroke.
whatevr i said an year ago in "parosi" forum about Modi ji / Indian policy . Its all happening right now.

Few hours back in Afghanistan he said Pakistan is harboring terrorism in Afghanistan. Lol. He is a master politician. When Pakistan wanted to speak about Kashmir, Indian spokesman said that they would only talk about POK. :)))

It was Russia who agreed to give Pakistan a full membership of SCO.
Russia hav Intrest in CPEC. (you will know it in couple of years).
for that they want to see Stabilize Afghanistan and Friendly Pakistan-India.

A country with an economy lower than that of India,USA,Japan and China is actually able to bring f us on the table to resolve Afghanistan and have friendly relationship between our countries is either laudable or laughable,future will tell us.

Russia or China have hardly any influence on Indian politics .Only US can pressure India if anything like diplomatic pressure is asserted

Nawaz has no guts or shame or any sort of self respect so not surprised by this.

I was all for this visit till I read your post.

Last night Modi was in Russia with Putin, this morning he was in Kabul with President of Afg, During the day he was in Pakistan and then in evening he was in delhi greeting Atal Ji on his birthday. Modi surely works round the clock.

BTW he was too impressed with the residence of Nawaz Sharif, he asked how many people live over there.

In the end it was a good surprise and will only bring good things in future regardless of the way events happened

I heard Nadeem Nusrat (Altaf's number 2) moved to Houston a few months ago and MQM is setting up their HQ their now. I remember the big houses they had in london were registered under Altaf and his family member names and MQM leader use to say they are party assets and it always made me laugh how blindly they use to defend bhai and his assets.

yes, Houston & Chicago is their new base

I was happy when AAP won, it was a victory of democracy and an encouraging sign that if you reach at the grassroot levels, people can vote for you.

But let us talk about Kejriwal. What did he say about Shiela Dixit when she was the CM? And now he has absolved her of all corruption. He threw out Bhushan and Yadav because they had their own opinion. He makes allegations without providing proofs. Had to tender an unconditional apology to Gadkari after he took him to court. Promises lokpal, and then comes up with jokepal. Ignoring his other flip flops as I understand that with time you have to adjust as a politician, but I cannot ignore his hypocrisy.

His u turns are still fewer than Modi's.

Few hours back in Afghanistan he said Pakistan is harboring terrorism in Afghanistan. Lol. He is a master politician. When Pakistan wanted to speak about Kashmir, Indian spokesman said that they would only talk about POK. :)))

Its what politicians do for domestic consumptions.
the ground realities are different.

So you are ok with him as long as he is better than Modi, even if it means doing the same things he accuses Modi of doing?
I have been disappointed with both Modi and Kejriwal post their election victories. But I believe Kejriwal is doing a better job in running Delhi than Modi in running India.

This is very strange relationship.

We have Narendera Modi coming to Pakistan on NS's birthday and granddaughter's wedding but yet there is no movement at national level. No trade, no meaningful talks. Heck India doesn't want to even play cricket.

I have been disappointed with both Modi and Kejriwal post their election victories. But I believe Kejriwal is doing a better job in running Delhi than Modi in running India.

My opinion is in stark contrast to urs expected more outta Kejri and nothing out of Modi and the results were opposite.

This is very strange relationship.

We have Narendera Modi coming to Pakistan on NS's birthday and granddaughter's wedding but yet there is no movement at national level. No trade, no meaningful talks. Heck India doesn't want to even play cricket.

I believe trade does go on, maybe not in massive way.

But yeah no cricket at least for a year or so given then the packed schedules.

Lahore: Prime Minister Narendra Modi's favourite dish Saag was among other vegetarian delicacies prepared for him during a lunch-cum-dinner at Jati Umrah residence of his Pakistani counterpart Nawaz Sharif.

"All dishes, including Saag, daal and vegetable food, were cooked in desi ghee," a source in the Jati Umra told PTI.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi with his Pakistani counterpart Nawaz Sharif at the latter's residence at Raiwind in Lahore on Friday. PTI / Twitter/@MEAIndia

He said Kashmiri tea was presented to the Indian premier.

Some 11 members of Modi's delegation accompanied him to the Jati Umerah who were issued a 72-hour visa.

However, over 100 other members of the delegations stayed at the Allama Iqbal International Airport.

There were refreshments at the airport for them.

When Modi reached at Jati Umrah Raiwind residence, located on the outskirts of Lahore, Sharif's son Hasan and other family members received him warmly.

The source said Sharif's mother also entered the hall where both premiers were holding the meeting along with his other family members.

"Modi touched the feet of Sharif's mother," he said.

Prime Minister Modi today visited Lahore on his way back home in a surprise visit - the first trip to Pakistan by an Indian premier in more than 10 years.

http://www.firstpost.com/world/saag...was-served-at-nawaz-sharifs-home-2560012.html

it seems more like a reunion of friends than a meeting with any actual agenda

what agenda will there be on a 4 hour trip? it was clearly something quite informal.

let's hope the recent thaw in relations leads to some tangible positive developments.