Narrow escape for India [184/6] as they defeat Bangladesh [145/6] by 5 runs (DLS) in Group 2 clash

Can't wait to see India get knocked out. Close wins against teams like PAK and BD show how bad this team is. Hopefully Finn Allen and Glenn Phillips will slaughter this team .

On a good batting track with normal pace our bowling was exposed by Litton Das. I have huge respect for that guy as a batsman. BD needs more batsmen like him. What an authoritative knock.

I expected them to be bundled out quicker even after the rain break.

Rain break only increased the chance of BD winning with Litton das still batting. You gotta say that run out made all the difference. Single most important event of the match.

Lol if this is how India is winning against Bangladesh, rest assured they will be out in the semis. And you were laughing at Zimbabwe winning against Pakistan, look at your boys almost lost it against minnow Bangladesh

The same Zimbabwe that beat Pakistan lost to Netherlands today. Anything can happen in a T20I.

Anyway, Pakistan plays its big game against SA tomorrow, and have to face a very competitive Bangladesh later, and they have to win both to have even the slimmest chances of going to the semis.

The last thing Pak fans should do now is to laugh at anyone, not just at India. :))

85 runs 9 overs 10 wickets. I thought writing was on the wall. You could win with singles and twos with occasional boundary.

Yeah exactly what you said. They didn’t use their heads well. Afif started the collapse. Needed a partnership, take the game deeper with 2-3 batsmen left. Couldve won. Mosadekk came out like his life depended on going for every ball. Panicked. Didn’t need too as Taskin and Nurul shower thats how you can get close and within a chance if you take it deep. T20 doesnt mean hit every ball.

keRlwam.png

Virat Kohli | Player of the Match: Pretty close game. Not as close as we would have liked it to be. A good day with the bat. When I went in there was a bit of pressure. I didn't want little mistakes to curb my instincts. I am in a happy place. I don't want to compare it with the past. As soon as I knew the WC is in Australia, I was grinning from ear to ear. Good cricketing shots will be the key here is what I know. Hitting through the line is what I do in every format. It is just an extension for me. I love playing at this ground. This makes me feel at home. When I come to Adelaide, I am meant to enjoy myself and keep batting.

Yeah exactly what you said. They didn’t use their heads well. Afif started the collapse. Needed a partnership, take the game deeper with 2-3 batsmen left. Couldve won. Mosadekk came out like his life depended on going for every ball. Panicked. Didn’t need too as Taskin and Nurul shower thats how you can get close and within a chance if you take it deep. T20 doesnt mean hit every ball.

Panic is the operative word. You you could see from their wrong shot selection. Every dot ball panic level increased. And another thing, they thought it was okay to keep going as they had plenty of wickets in hand without realizing how it will add more pressure.

I do not understand DLS at times.

BD scored 145 in 96 balls, which sounds pretty good. Maybe the rain delay means an increase in their target in 16 overs.

Can't wait to see India get knocked out. Close wins against teams like PAK and BD show how bad this team is. Hopefully Finn Allen and Glenn Phillips will slaughter this team .

Yes, Ind bowling is full of toothless trundlers. The Dutch have a better bowling attack.

Virat Kohli | Player of the Match: Pretty close game. Not as close as we would have liked it to be. A good day with the bat. When I went in there was a bit of pressure. I didn't want little mistakes to curb my instincts. I am in a happy place. I don't want to compare it with the past. As soon as I knew the WC is in Australia, I was grinning from ear to ear. Good cricketing shots will be the key here is what I know. Hitting through the line is what I do in every format. It is just an extension for me. I love playing at this ground. This makes me feel at home. When I come to Adelaide, I am meant to enjoy myself and keep batting.

Should have been Rahul for that run out.

Across formats Kohli at Adelaide oval

10 matches 14 innings 907 runs 75.58 avge 5 centuries 3 fifties.

Well played BD. Innings in two halves and some luck Indias way. India fielded and caught pretty well though under pressure so credit to the players.
I loved how Liton approached the power play

On a good batting track with normal pace our bowling was exposed by Litton Das. I have huge respect for that guy as a batsman. BD needs more batsmen like him. What an authoritative knock.
Isn't Litton Das is a wicket keeper? Should've played Soumya Sarkar instead of Nurul.. Soumya - Litton opening combo is way better than Shanto-Litton .

They went bowling heavy in order to restrict India to a manageable total.

Highlights of the game

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/nwqmsj" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Shakib Al Hasan | Bangladesh captain: It's been the story when we play against India, we are almost there but we don't finish the line. Both teams enjoyed it, it was a great game and that's what we wanted. At the end someone has to win and someone has to lose. He's [Litton Das] our best batter going around. The way he batted in the powerplay gave us a lot of momentum and gave us the belief that we could chase this with the short boundaries here. If you look at India's top four, they are very dangerous. Our plan was to get those 4 and that's why we bowled Taskin through. Unfortunately he did not pick wickets but he was very economical. Not much, we have been very relaxed and not talking too much about cricket in this World Cup. We have one more match to go and we want to concentrate on that.

Once again India pressurise the umpires and they give in again, might as well put India through to the final every tournament

Why not give them the cup then. Also did BCCI win a lottery recently? They failed to buy wc 2019 and the previous WT20 in Dubai of all places lol.

All close calls have gone against India.

Axar then, DK today were out by bare hands (ball not in hands), yet in which angle 3rd umpire found it out is baffling...

Today also a catch was taken by DK, but umpire said ball bounced. If ball hits glove (on the ground) it can bounce then too!

If at all, decisions have gone AGAINST Ind all through

I agree. Nurul should be dropped. Litton is a proper keeper. He should keep.

I would play Soumya or Miraz over Nurul. They can bowl too.

What about Pakistan?

They have the most chance of qualifying after SA, IND. If they beat SA tmrw AND SA lose Netherlands, PAK vs BD becomes a knockout and IND automatically qualifies.

If PAK beat SA and SA beat Netherlands, PAK will qualify if India lose to ZIM.

NRT doesn't matter for Pakistan.

They have the most chance of qualifying after SA, IND. If they beat SA tmrw AND SA lose Netherlands, PAK vs BD becomes a knockout and IND automatically qualifies.

If PAK beat SA and SA beat Netherlands, PAK will qualify if India lose to ZIM.

NRT doesn't matter for Pakistan.

Pakistan need to beat Ban in both cases.

I think Bangladesh got what they wanted out of this tournament.

The main task was to beat Netherlands and Zimbabwe. Anything beyond that is just a bonus considering the heavyweight teams they have in the group (South Africa, India, and Pakistan).

If they can beat Pakistan last game, that would be nice. But, most likely, Pakistan would beat them.

I agree. Nurul should be dropped. Litton is a proper keeper. He should keep.

I would play Soumya or Miraz over Nurul. They can bowl too.

How many chances will you give Soumya. He scores a couple of beautiful boundaries and gets out. That's not good enough even for T20s.

All close calls have gone against India.

Axar then, DK today were out by bare hands (ball not in hands), yet in which angle 3rd umpire found it out is baffling...

Today also a catch was taken by DK, but umpire said ball bounced. If ball hits glove (on the ground) it can bounce then too!

If at all, decisions have gone AGAINST Ind all through

Don't bother. Minnows for a reason, the whine and cry is usual.

How many chances will you give Soumya. He scores a couple of beautiful boundaries and gets out. That's not good enough even for T20s.

Is Nurul doing any better? Soumya at least doesn't waste balls.

He can bowl too. Can chip in with some part-time overs.

Good option for T20.

Litton is very talented. Their best bat. He has issues with consistency but has a gift of great timing. Brings his best against India. BD as a team are nervous wrecks. But against India, they play freely as if they don't care about a loss. That's until they can sniff victory. Then the nerves play a role and they forget the reason why they come so close. Playing fearless cricket. If they continue that, they will win close games.

Well he better than others . And if he clicks he'll score runs fast too..

Is Nurul doing any better? Soumya at least doesn't waste balls.

He can bowl too. Can chip in with some part-time overs.

Good option for T20.

That bowling part is over rated too. I didn't see Shakib try him even during Zim game. I saw Soumya in 2015 WC and thought BD found a gem but he has been a disappointment.

The main task was to beat Netherlands and Zimbabwe. Anything beyond that is just a bonus considering the heavyweight teams they have in the group (South Africa, India, and Pakistan).

If they can beat Pakistan last game, that would be nice. But, most likely, Pakistan would beat them.

Another great thriller between the two sides. Great chase orchestrated by Litton Das. If he were to be there game was BD's. India has been missing run outs from 1 feet 2 feet recently. Suddenly an unbelievable direct hit happened. One of these days BD will end up on the right side. They played better cricket than india. Top bowling by Taskin.

Bangla really had a chance to make it to semi. What a good fight and came down crashing so quickly when put under a bit of pressure. They had the game in their hand and they simply gift wrapped it to India. I wasn't expecting Bangla to even play this well and bring it to the last ball, or perhaps India being an average team made it a thriller.

Pak vs Bangla game should be interesting if Bangla played like today (and if Pak beat SA). They both eventually will be counting on Zimbabwe beating India, highly impossible but we said the same thing about todays game and look how Bangladesh brought the game till the last ball for the so called cricket power house, more like a load shedding house which gets inconsistent power :p

That bowling part is over rated too. I didn't see Shakib try him even during Zim game. I saw Soumya in 2015 WC and thought BD found a gem but he has been a disappointment.

I think captains don't utilize his bowling properly.

He should bowl during 6th-15th overs. Can chip in with 2 overs of part-time overs. Slow medium bowling can be useful on certain pitches.

The gap between the teams is bigger than it looks. It was Litton's freakish innings that made it look close. Even for the quality of deliveries bowled, this was an uber high impact innings.

Indeed.

Without Litton, BD probably would've lost by 50+ runs. It was really a one man show as far as batting was concerned.

The Super 12 encounter between India and Bangladesh in Adelaide on Wednesday went right down to the wire as Rohit Sharma's men edged out Shakib Al Hasan and Co. by five runs (DLS method).

KL Rahul and Virat Kohli dominate Bangladesh bowlers

Rahul set the tone for India's innings with some breathtaking shots right from the beginning. He was still going at a run-a-ball but things changed when he hit two sixes and a four off Shoriful Islam in the ninth over of the innings.

Rahul reached his fifty after playing 31 deliveries but he got dismissed immediately as he was caught out by Mustafizur Rahman off Shakib Al Hasan.

Kohli also carried his rich vein of form forward. He became the highest run-scorer in the history of the T20 World Cup when he took his 16th run in this innings and also went on to play yet another magnificent 44-ball knock of an unbeaten 64, his third fifty of this tournament.

Suryakumar Yadav also looked in great touch once again but his innings was cut short on 30 from just 16 deliveries. India did encounter some hiccups as they lost the wickets of Dinesh Karthik and Axar Patel in quick succession but Ravichandran Ashwin played an excellent cameo of 13* from just six deliveries to help India to a commanding total of 184/6.

Litton Das threatens to take the game away from India

India set a daunting target for Bangladesh but Litton Das made it look like a cakewalk initially as he took the Indian new ball attack to the cleaners. Das reached his 50 in just 21 deliveries and took Bangladesh's score to 60/0 at the end of the powerplay. The Tigers were 66/0 after seven overs when rain interrupted the game. The target was reduced to 151 from 16 overs via the DLS method and Bangladesh lost Das immediately after the resumption. He made 60 from just 27 deliveries to put Bangladesh in the driving seat.

Bangladesh lose the way in the middle but Nurul, Taskin take the game close

Bangladesh lost their way completely after the match resumed following a brief rain interruption. They lost six wickets for just 40 runs after being 68/0 and a big loss looked imminent. But Nurul Hasan and Taskin Ahmed played fighting knocks to take the game too close for India's comfort. Nurul remained unbeaten on 25 from 14 deliveries while Taskin made 12* from seven deliveries as Bangladesh fell just six runs short of the revised target.

This win has now strengthened India's chances of securing a semi-final berth. They are placed at the top of Group 2 right now with a pretty good NRR of +0.730 and will take on Zimbabwe in their final Super12s match in Melbourne on November 6.

ICC

I do not understand DLS at times.

BD scored 145 in 96 balls, which sounds pretty good. Maybe the rain delay means an increase in their target in 16 overs.

The DLS method assumes that at the time of the revision of the overs, where were india, and based on available resources, and based on the eventual target they attained, what could they have attained if asked to bat the limited overs. But i presume you know this already.

If you are curious, you can download the paper where this methodology was presented and program a small excel workbook with the formula. its quite trivial actually.

I think captains don't utilize his bowling properly.

He should bowl during 6th-15th overs. Can chip in with 2 overs of part-time overs. Slow medium bowling can be useful on certain pitches.

Good strategy. For some reason Shakib seems to stick with 5 bowlers.

Another great thriller between the two sides. Great chase orchestrated by Litton Das. If he were to be there game was BD's. India has been missing run outs from 1 feet 2 feet recently. Suddenly an unbelievable direct hit happened. One of these days BD will end up on the right side. They played better cricket than india. Top bowling by Taskin.

I agree. Luck wasn't our way today. Unfortunately Liton was on the striking end of run out. And that throw and hitting the wicket was more of a luck rather than skill . But it was a close game ,I didn't expect that honestly. Bangladesh just can't finish things against India. Another heart break for us.

It was a good game. The rain interruption broke the momentum Bangladesh had. It was always the case that a few wickets changed the complexion of the game. Litton Das was batting beautifully. What a daring batting performance. The other Bangladeshi batters just imploded.

When the conditions are not conducive to swinging, Indian pacers are really mediocre. After the WC, hope the Indian team reinvents its bowling lineup. Otherwise, it is going to be difficult to remain a good team.

Bangladesh robbed.

Bcci running cricket through their agents like Erasmus.

Think India will win the WC now.

These close wins are what can inspire a team and make them believe they can come back from any position, and makes them used to high pressure.

First the Pakistan game and now this one. In both games India looked beat for the majority of the 2nd innings but ended up winning.

Think India will win the WC now.

These close wins are what can inspire a team and make them believe they can come back from any position, and makes them used to high pressure.

First the Pakistan game and now this one. In both games India looked beat for the majority of the 2nd innings but ended up winning.

They are not winning it. I know no t eam is perfect. india carries too many old passengers like DK. Rohit himself look like a teletubby unfit.

Bd showed, how poor India's bowling actually is. I don't see India advancing beyond semis

Pak attack is of much superior quality. IMHO, BD will struggle to even make run a ball.

Yeah. Pakistani attack is world class definitely.

But, they have to try.

It depends on the venue. If t is Adelaide oval you can use the pace and clear the square boundaries easily. Some of the field set batting strategy (except panic batting in the end) seemed to be from Coach Jamie siddons. Almost perfectly executed it

Difficult to predict what would have happened, but it seems like the rain stemmed Bangladesh's flow with the bat.

Could have been interesting without the rain delay.

It depends on the venue. If t is Adelaide oval you can use the pace and clear the square boundaries easily. Some of the field set batting strategy (except panic batting in the end) seemed to be from Coach Jamie siddons. Almost perfectly executed it

Just checked. BD vs PAK game is at Adelaide.

The rest of the Bangladesh wasted an absolutely scintillating innings by Liton Das. What a pity!

KL Rahul gave the ball a serious whack today and then removed the danger man with a direct hit and almost decided the game there and then. He belongs to an elite class of some highly skilled and capable minnow-bashers. Could well have been given the Man of the Match award, perhaps.

I predicted 13 hours before the match that he´ll make Bangladesh cry *see the attached screenshot below*, and it came to pass with much ease. :))

Screenshot.jpg

Despite the good start Bangla would most likely have lost a few quick wickets no matter what. This is the norm in T20 Cricket. The pivotal moment was Das getting run out by a brilliant throw. Bangla would have won it had he stayed at the crease an over or two more. Some good catches taken by India too unlike our useless lot who couldn't catch a cold. India won it fair and square. They'll go out in the semi's though, insha Allah!

Shhhh. Don't jinx us. After eons indian fielders took some decent catches.

India doesn't deserve to be in the Semi Final alongside Pakistan

India haven't been very fluent.

I think they should face New Zealand in semi-final. New Zealand are always a great team when they face India.

Weird. Cricinfo shows Pakistan has higher NRR.

that screenshot was most probably taken immediately after the match got finished. i have seen, ICC updated the table in two steps, first the points and then the NRR. all this happened within 5min and this screenshot must have been taken between those two steps. check the same standings on ICC site now, shows india has +0.730 as you said.

I actually do not think india have been convincing. A bit of luck here and there and they could have easily ended up losing to both Pak and BD and would have been booking their tickets for home. Eng and NZ had some slip upsa here and there but whoever India faces in the semis will be the favourites as opposed to India.

India team appears to be lesser than the sum of the individual parts.

Bangladesh wicket-keeper Nurul Hasan was at the center of attention during the nail-biter against India at Adelaide Oval in the Twenty20 World Cup 2022 Wednesday.

Right-handed batter Nurul went to the middle with Bangladesh needing another 51 runs in 25 balls with six wickets in hand chasing a revised total on 151 in 16 overs in a rain-interrupted game.

Nurul remained in the middle till the last ball of the innings alongside Taskin Ahmed.

The duo, with Nurul on the driving seat, added 37 off 19 for the seventh wicket but the effort fell short by five runs [Duckworth/Lewis method].

Bangladesh needed 20 runs in the last over which Nurul took close, hitting a six and a four. Nurul was unbeaten on 25 off 14 with Taskin not out on 12 off seven.

Bangladesh earlier made a flying start to the 185-run chase with Liton Das leading the charge with his rampaging strokeplay.

Bangladesh had posted 66 in seven overs without loss before the rain interruption.

“It was a close game. We [Nurul and Taskin] were confident that we will be able to chase it down in the last over but we were short of a boundary. We had a good momentum to start the chase but lost it to the rain. It was unfortunate we lost the game,” said Nurul while speaking to the media at the ICC mix zone in Adelaide.

Nurul informed that the the batters took extra risks to meet the asking rate, which was more than nine runs when the game resumed following rain delay.

The stumper-batter however, admitted that calculations had gone wrong, resulting in wrong shot selections.

“There is no way but to take risks when you need nine or 10 runs in an over. We tried to take that risk. Everyone tried to be calculative but the situation in the middle doesn't always support you. Your calculations will not always work,” said Nurul.

With two defeats in four games, Bangladesh to remain in contention for a semi-final spot have no option but to win their last game in the phase, against Pakistan, at the same venue this Sunday.

They also need to hope that India and South Africa lose the remainder of their games.

Dhaka Tribune

Bangladesh gave the Indian cricket team a huge scare in the Group 2 match of the T20 World Cup 2022 on Wednesday. Until rain halted the proceedings in the match, Bangladesh had India on the ropes. With the score reading 66/0 in 7 overs, the Bangla Tigers were 17 runs ahead of India by DLS method, but the play resumed and Rohit Sharma's men changed the course of the game. Before the play resumed, Bangladesh skipper Shakib Al Hasan was spotted having a hilarious conversation with the umpires. He even got into an interesting Q&A with a reporter in the press conference on the same subject.

Bangladesh didn't seem to be too keen to see the play resume quickly after the rain stopped but the officials gave the game a go-ahead after assessing the situation. Litton Das' run-out proved to be the game-changer for India as Bangladesh batters lost steam after his dismissal.

A journalist, during the press conference with Shakib, asked the Bangladesh skipper some hilarious questions about the resumption of play after the rain. Throughout the chat, Shakib had a smile on his face as he heard the questions.

Here's how the conversation went:

Journalist: "Did you really try not to play after the rain?"

Shakib: "Do we have any option?"

Journalist: "No, that's the reason. Did you try to convince them?"

Shakib: "Convince whom?"

Journalist: "Umpires and Rohit Sharma..."

Shakib: "Do I have the ability to convince the umpire?"

Journalist: "Accha. Then you were discussing the rivers of Bangladesh?"

Shakib: ....

Journalist: "Did you discuss something about the rivers in Bangladesh or something? What were you talking!?? Can you kindly explain?"

Shakib: "OK now you are asking the right question. Umpire called both the captains and told us the targets, how many overs remaining, playing rules..."

Journalist: "That's all, and you all accepted it?"

Shakib: "Yes"

Journalist: "Beautiful, thank you"

NDTV

Sunil Gavaskar:

“Oh absolutely, at that particular point in time, they were 66 in seven overs, so we are taking about more than nine runs per over and they were scoring quite comfortably with 10 wickets in hand. And suddenly, when the target was reduced by almost 33 runs, they somehow seemed to have panicked. The asking rate was still the same as when they began their innings.”

"Instead of playing smart cricket, they tried to hit a six just about every ball, trying to target the short square boundaries. The Indians bowled cleverly, just out of the arc of the big shots. Hence, the shots, which otherwise would have gone for sixes were caught at long on and deep mid-wicket"

"I would say Bangladesh lost the game rather than India winning the game. Yes, India kept their nerves, but it was Bangladesh’s batting where they panicked and tried to play too many glory shots. If they had played smart cricket, worked the ball around for twos, they would have got 10 runs an over and that's all that they needed"

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...-vs-ban-at-t20-world-cup-101667448897764.html

2016 World T20
2018 Asia Cup final
2018 Nidahas Trophy final
Now this one..
Bangladesh always comes close to beating India but can't finish.

In the end, a loss by five runs goes to suggest that there was more time in the game than the Bangladesh batsmen thought. They just needed one of their batsmen to bat intelligently, to run the ones and the twos and to look for a boundary an over, and they would've got more and more closer to the target, and that would've set panic amongst the Indian team. Sheer stupidity on the part of their batsmen, and I'm in particular disappointed with Shakib. The match was set for him by Liton Das to see the team home, but he simply didn't bring his experience into the game.

Anyway, over to Aaron Finch to punish Afghanistan tomorrow. The man shows no mercy to the minnows.

Respect to Bangladesh. They fully deserved to win here. What a performance!

Pakistan, watch out!

BD seems to lift their game against India in world cup events..couple of very close matches now

Vs Pakistan it will be same old same old BD again unless Pak does a Pak