Need Help with choosing a Bat

Ok, here are some pictures of my AS V10. Btw, the blade's color looks a bit uneven because I have applied a couple coats of oil. I think the edges absorbed the oil different than down the middle.

Anyway, one thing to note is that it comes with a 4 piece handle. Mine seems to have some damage to the rubber between the cane, as you can see in the picture (didn't notice it until I decided to take pictures for you!) AS could have done better, considering V10 is their top of the line bat (9 or 12 piece handle).

Still, overall not bad for the price at all. So now you can compare with the Bubber LE =)

AS V10.jpg

Grains.JPG

Profile.jpg

Handle.jpg

Looks great Salman Bhai. I really like its spine which runs all the way.

If you don't mind can you elaborate a bit more on handles? I mean how do you know how many cane handle is it?

I have a question. Do Import/Export duties play a role if I import my AS V-10 from Khalid Bhai. Will I have to shell out extra money for importing the Bat from Pakistan?

I would ask Khalid Bhai to use 12 Piece handle only. I am sure I will get a good product from him :D

I have a question. Do Import/Export duties play a role if I import my AS V-10 from Khalid Bhai. Will I have to shell out extra money for importing the Bat from Pakistan?

Good question.

Many people who have bought bats from Waqas Bhai and Khalid Bhai got there bats shipped to Canada and US and they did not get charged by customs.

From what I have experienced and noticed is that stuff which comes via courier is charged by customs whereas stuff coming via local mail is not charged by customs. For example, I got gloves shipped from Pakistan and they came via DHL and I had to pay customs at the end and more importantly stuff got treated. On the other hand, I got stuff via Pakistan Post and I never got charged.

Since it is cell phone number then someone will pick it up. Factory would be closed today due to Eid.

Let me know who you speak to.

Bubber Sher LE retails around Rs. 15,300 (Around $190).

Yeah, I will let you know who I speak to. I will call the number at around 11:00 PM (in California).

Good question.

Many people who have bought bats from Waqas Bhai and Khalid Bhai got there bats shipped to Canada and US and they did not get charged by customs.

From what I have experienced and noticed is that stuff which comes via courier is charged by customs whereas stuff coming via local mail is not charged by customs. For example, I got gloves shipped from Pakistan and they came via DHL and I had to pay customs at the end and more importantly stuff got treated. On the other hand, I got stuff via Pakistan Post and I never got charged.

So telling my parents to buy a bat from Jalandhar is still the best thing to do?

See those 3 black rubber strips? They are wedged between 4 pieces of cane. This is a 4 piece handle.

In the case of a 12 piece handle, each piece above would in turn be made up of 3 pieces that are glued together. So you'd get 4 x 3 = 12 piece handle.

For a 9 piece handle you would have 2 rubber strips instead of 3, rest is same as above.
3 x 3 = 9 piece handle.

More cane pieces usually means better shock absorption (depends on the quality of construction as well.)

I think 02thoeva had warned in one of his posts about AS handles being a bit subpar. Oh well, live and learn ...

b98154, you might want to get the handle issue sorted out with Waqas bhai before placing your order ...

So telling my parents to buy a bat from Jalandhar is still the best thing to do?

AS people use Pakistan Post and there so far people who live in US, Canada etc haven't been charged by customs.

Ask Salman Bhai if he got charged or not.

AS people use Pakistan Post and there so far people who live in US, Canada etc haven't been charged by customs.

Ask Salman Bhai if he got charged or not.

No I wasn't charged any customs. Indeed they sent by USPS Express Mail (must have a tie up with Pak Post I suppose).

Although, bat was stuck in customs for about 2-3 days in New York, but was cleared without needing any intervention from me. I was just tracking it online on usps.com. Packaging was pretty good, and the free bat cover it came in had really nice padding.

See those 3 black rubber strips? They are wedged between 4 pieces of cane. This is a 4 piece handle.

In the case of a 12 piece handle, each piece above would in turn be made up of 3 pieces that are glued together. So you'd get 4 x 3 = 12 piece handle.

For a 9 piece handle you would have 2 rubber strips instead of 3, rest is same as above.
3 x 3 = 9 piece handle.

More cane pieces usually means better shock absorption (depends on the quality of construction as well.)

I think 02thoeva had warned in one of his posts about AS handles being a bit subpar. Oh well, live and learn ...

b98154, you might want to get the handle issue sorted out with Waqas bhai before placing your order ...

Thanks for the explanation, I appreciate it.

Yes, many people have complained that AS uses cheap handles (special mention to ca_gold bhai)

Here is picture of all of my bats handle so among them which one has the best handle and worst?

JazakAllah Khair

• photo-12.jpg
    photo-12.jpg
    94.2 KB · Views: 232
I can't tell from this angle!! Can you take a picture from the top? All of your bats have atleast 4 pieces (3 rubber strips). From the top view you might be able to tell whether any of them are 12 piece ... You might have to look closely, the glued pieces kinda blend together and are sometimes hard to distinguish

Here you (sorry for the picture quality, it was taken from iPhone);

• photo 1-1.jpg
    photo 1-1.jpg
    86 KB · Views: 232
  • photo 2-1.jpg
    photo 2-1.jpg
    84.8 KB · Views: 234
No I wasn't charged any customs. Indeed they sent by USPS Express Mail (must have a tie up with Pak Post I suppose).

Although, bat was stuck in customs for about 2-3 days in New York, but was cleared without needing any intervention from me. I was just tracking it online on usps.com. Packaging was pretty good, and the free bat cover it came in had really nice padding.

Hmm interesting. I always thought you get charged by customs with the courier shipping as people around me (including me have been charged).

I guess it depends on luck. If you are lucky then you can escape if not then too bad.

3 x 3 = 9 piece handle.

Excuse me my arrogance but what do you mean when you say 'pieces'? Is it the bit in between the black strips?

Also what exactly is cane?

Hmm interesting. I always thought you get charged by customs with the courier shipping as people around me (including me have been charged).

I guess it depends on luck. If you are lucky then you can escape if not then too bad.

Ah Man, I don't wanna play with my luck :(

@Silecener Yes, each "bit" between the black strips (rubber) is a piece of cane. It's made from Sarawak cane from Malaysia, at least the good ones are ...

@CD bhai, sorry I still can't tell whether any are 12 piece. You can examine each handle closely around its circumference. If you see an abrupt change in shade, that's a sign that 3 smaller pieces have been glued together to make one bigger piece. FWIW, I like the handles on 2, 3 and 5 (going left to right). I would say #4 is poorly constructed. Look at the 4 pieces, they are so uneven in size...

Chorro yaar, it is too complicated :))

Interesting choices. I thought 5 was the worst (the one that says SH on top) as cracks have started to develop near the splice of that bat. Plus it is very thin. Technically I have 2.5-3 grips on it and it still feels think in my hand. Whereas handle on MB LE seem to be improved one compare to Bubber Sher. I also thought #4 (CA) handle was good as it felt nice in my hand.

By circumference worst looking handle is Newbery one.

JazakAllah Khair, for explaining though, I really appreciate it!

@Silecener Yes, each "bit" between the black strips (rubber) is a piece of cane. It's made from Sarawak cane from Malaysia, at least the good ones are ...

Cheers mate, I appreciate it!

Seems like you know a lot about cricket equipments, MashALLAH.

By the way, you have got a really good AS bat above. If you don't mind can you tell about rest of your kit? I mean what else have you got (in bats, pads, gloves etc).

Should see my brother's old Fearnley Nemesis, the handle only has one strip of cane in it.

Interesting. I have heard Screaming Cat and Laver both have two rubber strips.

But as explained by Salman Bhai you would feel quite alot of shock with those bats, won't you?

Very much so, older bats are less forgiving when you didn't find the middle.

Although I did cue end an attempted cut on a brand new ball with my GM Hero and I'm pretty sure the shock sent tremors through my entire skeleton. The bat sustained no damage at all, mind.

True.

I once used an old bat which older chaps at my club own (who use V200, V500 etc) and even when you middle the middle the shock is quite feel-able.

One thing I always note is that these old era bats have very good life span. I have seen cricketer13's GN Dynadrive which was initially Graham Gooch despite being 15+ year old bat it doesn't even have a single crack on it's face.

I did call, but no one picked up the phone. Even Khalid Bhai didn't pick up the phone. I guess they were celebrating Eid :)

Yes, they were :).

IF you are seriously interested and would buy MB LE (for sure) then I can hook you up one (only if you are interested in buying and will buy one for sure (ie. wont back out)). I know MB Malik owner quite well now so I can help you.

Yes, they were :).

IF you are seriously interested and would buy MB LE (for sure) then I can hook you up one (only if you are interested in buying and will buy one for sure (ie. wont back out)). I know MB Malik owner quite well now so I can help you.

I will seriously buy MB Bubber Sher LE if and only it is better than AS V-10. I have been contact with one Islamabad guy, who is offering me the bat for 15,000 PKR (including shipping). He asked for 19,000 at first. He also offered me IHsan Inferno 950 for 15,000. So, if I get a right price for MB Malik Bubber Sher LE from the factory, I will definitely buy it.

I will seriously buy MB Bubber Sher LE if and only it is better than AS V-10. I have been contact with one Islamabad guy, who is offering me the bat for 15,000 PKR (including shipping). He asked for 19,000 at first. He also offered me IHsan Inferno 950 for 15,000. So, if I get a right price for MB Malik Bubber Sher LE, I will definitely buy it.

I believe cricketer13 bhai would be the best person to answer your question whether MB LE is better or AS V10 as he has used both. I haven't used V10 yet so I am not too sure about it.

What's that Islamabad guy's name? Is he Armie (Armughan Altaf)?

Yes, that would be good if you post pictures here.

Since your budget is restricted I would say go for V10 as it is cheaper than MB LE and quality will be similar (hopefully). V3 and V10 are best Asian bat for it's value.

Here you (sorry for the picture quality, it was taken from iPhone);
Looking at the picture I think all ur bats have standard 4 piece handles. Few years ago bats like AS v3 and CA plus had 8/9 or 12 piece but nowdays bats generally have 4 piece handles. And I've checked all my current bats and all have 4 piece handle but couple of yrs back most of my bats had 9 or 12 piece handle.

Oh, how much is CA Plus 12000 LE (TRD TM Dilshan) at UTsports in Pakistan? I am wondering now if I only get one bat and increase my budget to 240 USD, will I get a better bat?

I would have ordered AS V10 two days ago if I had received Khalid Bhai's email :|
But now, I have started to look at almost all the bats that are under $250.

TRD goes around $240 at UT Sports in Karachi.

I think you have started to dislike V10. Let me tell you once again it is a quality stick and you won't regret by purchasing that.

But if you want something more expensive or better than V10 in terms of quality then it would be TRD and/or MB LE.

TRD goes around $240 at UT Sports in Karachi.

I think you have started to dislike V10. Let me tell you once again it is a quality stick and you won't regret by purchasing that.

But if you want something more expensive or better than V10 in terms of quality then it would be TRD and/or MB LE.

I have two MB LE (which I am looking to sell) so if you want one I can give one to you.

Actually, I have started to like AS V10, but I can get MB Bubber Sher LE for only 10-20 USD, I won't regret buying Bubber Sher at all. I know that AS V10 is a nice bat, but ... honestly Bubber Sher, Ihsan Inferno 950, and CA Plus bats have freaking nice looking stickers :P Now, I have started to like the stickers of AS V10 though :)

Sorry I am now confused.

Which one do you want Bubber Sher or Bubber Sher LE?

I can also vouch that you won't regret if you buy MB LE.

As far price is concerned you are right that you will have to pay additional $20-30 and you can probably get MB LE etc

Sorry I am now confused.

Which one do you want Bubber Sher or Bubber Sher LE?

I can also vouch that you won't regret if you buy MB LE.

As far price is concerned you are right that you will have to pay additional $20-30 and you can probably get MB LE etc

I am sorry for not being clear. I meant Bubber Sher LE. Between, I tried calling Khalid Bhai. And, he didn't pick up the phone. I will call him again at around 11:00 PM (PST).

So, Islamabad guy refused to give me Bubber Sher LE for 16,000 PKR now. He is offering me Ihsan Inferno 950 for 15,000 PKR. Should I get Ihsan Inferno 950 or AS V-10. The guy keeps insisting me that AS bats are bad, which is scaring me a bit now. I understand he is a business man he needs to say that to attract customers, but he was being very friendly. He told me he has played Cricket in Pakistan under Grade 2. I'll post some pics that he is about to send me. Here's his website:
http://www.smarkcoenterprises.com/home.htm

So, Islamabad guy refused to give me Bubber Sher LE for 16,000 PKR now. He is offering me Ihsan Inferno 950 for 15,000 PKR. Should I get Ihsan Inferno 950 or AS V-10. The guy keeps insisting me that AS bats are bad, which is scaring me a bit now. I understand he is a business man he needs to say that to attract customers, but he was being very friendly. He told me he has played Cricket in Pakistan under Grade 2. I'll post some pics that he is about to send me. Here's his website:
http://www.smarkcoenterprises.com/home.htm

I have seen this website before as well. If I remember correctly some one have dealt with him on this forum (I think).

His website tells us he is Australia based.

Because he is not stocking AS bats.

Pictures are from here and there. Some pictures are of UT Sports bat and some are of other sellers (although I am not sure if they have any link with them).

I have seen this website before as well. If I remember correctly some one have dealt with him on this forum (I think).

His website tells us he is Australia based.

Because he is not stocking AS bats.

Pictures are from here and there. Some pictures are of UT Sports bat and some are of other sellers (although I am not sure if they have any link with them).
I think he is a fraud. His website is Australia based. He does understand Urdu though. His email id is UK based. And, he told me more than 20 times that he will send me pics,
but never did. Do you know if someone who dealt with him got an original product?

I think he is a fraud. His website is Australia based. He does understand Urdu though. His email id is UK based. And, he told me more than 20 times that he will send me pics,
but never did. Do you know if someone who dealt with him got an original product?

lol what does Urdu have to do with any of this ?

I am not too sure if someone had dealt with him or not. As I said someone did bring up this website before and I really can't remember if they dealt or what. Sorry.

As SalmanK Bhai pointed buying from factory will give you peace of mind that the product is genuine etc. Khalid Bhai, might be busy with his family as it was Eid so he might be away from business for couple of days. Just be patience and he will answer it.

At first when he spoke Urdu, I thought he was actually from Sialkot. Lol. I understand that some people in Australia (or any other country for that matter) know Urdu/Hindi. Now, I realized that his identity has NOT been confirmed by Alibaba. There is a good chance that he does not even live in Pakistan. Khalid Bhai, on the other hand, is a "Gold Seller" on Alibaba, meaning that his identity has been verified (i.e. He is a trusted seller). I am still waiting for his respond though. Between, when I asked Mako Sports guy again about the pics, he told me that the pics on his website are the only ones the he has. Seemed like he made an effort to "google"
Bat pics but, most likely, failed. Lol.

lol what does Urdu have to do with any of this ?

I am not too sure if someone had dealt with him or not. As I said someone did bring up this website before and I really can't remember if they dealt or what. Sorry.

As SalmanK Bhai pointed buying from factory will give you peace of mind that the product is genuine etc. Khalid Bhai, might be busy with his family as it was Eid so he might be away from business for couple of days. Just be patience and he will answer it.

Yes. I have confirmed now that I will deal with Khalid Bhai now. I have spent hours talking to businessmen on Alibaba. Lol. The first one was Khalid Bhai. After spending my precious time that I could have used to do my homework (a big assignment that is due this Friday :(), I have come to the conclusion that the first person I talked to was/is the best. Now, I hope that I will learn "Patience is a virtue" without wasting my "qeemti waqat" :P

Question - if I order a plain G1 English Willow bat can it be made to my specifications?

I.e. If I tell them to put the most amount of wood possible in a bat weighing no more than 2.8 could they do it? *cough* sialkotshop.com *cough*

:fawad

Poison Bhai,

Yes, it is possible. Opener Bhai, got anplain custom bay made from Bhasarat Bhai (sailkotshop) and is happy with it.

Question - if I order a plain G1 English Willow bat can it be made to my specifications?

I.e. If I tell them to put the most amount of wood possible in a bat weighing no more than 2.8 could they do it? *cough* sialkotshop.com *cough*

:fawad

I've been shopping today at boundary sports (birmingham) and picked up a bargain, grade 1 plain bat, 2lb 8oz with big edges. I'll post some pics later on.

Goggy Bhai, what happened to your Apollo Sports bat? Did you get one then?

nahin yaar, it wasnt a pleasant experience. I think people have to be careful online when a deal seems too good to be true.

Anyways i managed to get a good deal at boundary, we had our club kit done by them and i went to check out some end of season sales, ended up buying a decent bat. I think my next purchase will be an albion helmet now...

Yes. I have confirmed now that I will deal with Khalid Bhai now. I have spent hours talking to businessmen on Alibaba. Lol. The first one was Khalid Bhai. After spending my precious time that I could have used to do my homework (a big assignment that is due this Friday :(), I have come to the conclusion that the first person I talked to was/is the best. Now, I hope that I will learn "Patience is a virtue" without wasting my "qeemti waqat" :P
What happen about your bat or any response from AS Sports

It is Armughan Altaf and not adnan ahmad. And i know, coz its me ;)

Lol. You closed your company? Why did you make a fake identity on Alibaba? I had a feeling that you were fake when I was chatting with you :P I already bought AS V10 and SG Cobra Select :) apne hi farmaya tha ki Mai Banda mast hu. Masti mai hi pata chalgaya ;)

Hello all,

Just a few observations on this thread.

The RBK Dhoni bat on page 1 is most definitely fake.

b98154, whats the name of that seller??

Hello all,

Just a few observations on this thread.

The RBK Dhoni bat on page 1 is most definitely fake.

b98154, whats the name of that seller??

MYCRICKETBAT from Amazon. I actually received my AS V10 today.

Here are the pictures of my AS V10;

photo-38.jpg

photo-39.jpg

photo-40.jpg

photo-41.jpg

photo-43.jpg

photo-44.jpg

photo-45.jpg

photo-46.jpg

photo-47.jpg

Very lovely stick I must say. It looks very nice and I hope it plays as good as it look. The spine looks very nice I must say.

Tell us more about it. How is it feeling in your hands ? Hows the balance, pickup etc ? Whats the weight ? Edge size ? etc.

You shouldn't have applied the fibretech on the face. When peeling off it does ruin the bat but make sure you peel from top right corner and all the way to bottom (bottom left corner).

Looks one of the best AS V10 I have ever seen. Looks like Khalid Bhai had sent you the best piece. At last, your wait was well worth :)

Very lovely stick I must say. It looks very nice and I hope it plays as good as it look. The spine looks very nice I must say.

Tell us more about it. How is it feeling in your hands ? Hows the balance, pickup etc ? Whats the weight ? Edge size ? etc.

You shouldn't have applied the fibretech on the face. When peeling off it does ruin the bat but make sure you peel from top right corner and all the way to bottom (bottom left corner).

Looks one of the best AS V10 I have ever seen. Looks like Khalid Bhai had sent you the best piece. At last, your wait was well worth :)

Yes, I am EXTREMELY happy with the bat. The ping is FREAKING awesome! Similar pickup to SG Cobra Select, but handle is more strong and thicker. I like the feel of thinner handle better since my hands aren't that big. But, it feels really good with gloves on. The weight is around 2.10. The edges are a little (by 0.5 cm perhaps) thicker than Cobra's edges. The edges have some wood peeling off, which is most likely due to the shipping and handling.

I don't know why I applied fibretech. I had 10 of them lying in my bedroom since they came free with SG bat.

I tried removing, but it peeled of a little piece of wood from the face of my lovely AS V10 :( Should I try to remove it from the top corner? Should I get Cleartech instead? or Should I leave it as it is?

Also, how is this bat? Click Here
Looks a fake to me because it is being sold by mycricketbat.com, but I can get it for 158 USD (shipped)after a Coupon Code Discount:)

Yes, I am EXTREMELY happy with the bat. The ping is FREAKING awesome! Similar pickup to SG Cobra Select, but handle is more strong and thicker. I like the feel of thinner handle better since my hands aren't that big. But, it feels really good with gloves on. The weight is around 2.10. The edges are a little (by 0.5 cm perhaps) thicker than Cobra's edges. The edges have some wood peeling off, which is most likely due to the shipping and handling.

I don't know why I applied fibretech. I had 10 of them lying in my bedroom since they came free with SG bat.

I tried removing, but it peeled of a little piece of wood from the face of my lovely AS V10 :( Should I try to remove it from the top corner? Should I get Cleartech instead? or Should I leave it as it is?

Also, how is this bat? Click Here
Looks a fake to me because it is being sold by mycricketbat.com, but I can get it for 158 USD (shipped)after a Coupon Code Discount:)
I'm glad you are liking your AS V10.

Hopefully I will buy AS bat one day :).

Hmm how little piece of wood is peeling off? Can you send a picture so I can get a better idea.

Yes, Cleartech is the best. The one I would recommend would be Gray Nicolls.

Fake, enough said :)

I'm glad you are liking your AS V10.

Hopefully I will buy AS bat one day :).

Hmm how little piece of wood is peeling off? Can you send a picture so I can get a better idea.

Yes, Cleartech is the best. The one I would recommend would be Gray Nicolls.

Fake, enough said :)

I tucked it with Fibretech.... IDK how to remove it :( Should I take the risk and slowly peel off the Fibretech as you suggested? I can also wait until I get Gray Nicolls Cleartech. I have an electrical sanding machine that would probably take care of the peeled off wood.

Luckily not major damage done.

Cut the fibers hanging off the bat and then sand it - first with rough sandpaper and then a fine one.

Luckily not major damage done.

Cut the fibers hanging off the bat and then sand it - first with rough sandpaper and then a fine one.

Thanks a lot! I will do that ASAP and post some pics tomorrow. I have one more concern about the bat. The wood looks a little dry since it's not very smooth even though it does look fine in the picture. Should I sand that area and then oil it? Khalid Bhai told me that the Bat is Ready To Play and has been oiled and knocked in. I don't want to over oil the bat.

sand and then put the pictures.

did he say it was oiled or did he say it was ready to play.

Ready to play just means the bat has been pressed post production so doesnt need knocking in.

Yet to come across a "ready to play" bat that was oiled by the company.

Also oiled bat goes a bit yellow.

If it feels dry it might be then. Most Pak bats are pretty dry (except CA which are changing as well).

will wait for the pics before saying for sure.

sand and then put the pictures.

did he say it was oiled or did he say it was ready to play.

Ready to play just means the bat has been pressed post production so doesnt need knocking in.

Yet to come across a "ready to play" bat that was oiled by the company.

Also oiled bat goes a bit yellow.

If it feels dry it might be then. Most Pak bats are pretty dry (except CA which are changing as well).

will wait for the pics before saying for sure.

Usually when you buy bats from the stores rather than the factory they are dry because they have been in the stores for a while, however, if you buy anything directly from the factory it is unlikely to get a very dry stick as you will most likely get a "fresh" bat.

I got three MB LE's and none of them required oiling.

Usually when you buy bats from the stores rather than the factory they are dry because they have been in the stores for a while, however, if you buy anything directly from the factory it is unlikely to get a very dry stick as you will most likely get a "fresh" bat.

I got three MB LE's and none of them required oiling.
KHalid Bhai told me that the bat was knocked in, oiled, and ready-to-play.
I have sanded and oiled the bat (1-2 coats only). I was trying to apply Gray Nicolls Extratec sheet, but failed. I realized now that recently oiled bats will repel adhesive tapes. I will wait for a day or two, and then apply it. I am about to send CD bhai some pics if he could post them for me. Thanks in advance CD bhai :)

• photo-18.JPG
    photo-18.JPG
    104.6 KB · Views: 81
  • photo-17.JPG
    photo-17.JPG
    146.9 KB · Views: 81
  • photo-19.JPG
    photo-19.JPG
    125.6 KB · Views: 84
  • photo-20.JPG
    photo-20.JPG