New Zealand v Bangladesh at Hamilton - Feb 15-19, 2010

Ayyub said:
remove him from captaincy i strongly believe shakib can make good side for all 3 formats and he is injury free also.
BCB boss (MP) is an arrogant one. He wants to teach Shakib a lesson. You know, how elders think they know everything. Just to keep a tight leash on Shakib they would not make Shakib permanent. That is what I think.

Now for Murtaza, he is as humble you can get for a fast bowler. He knows this is Shakib's team. He knows his postion in the team. He wouldn't take over even if he comes back for a series or two. Class act. Already told the board not to break the harmony with the team and not to appoint him back as a captain. Despite his clear message BCB Boss and his chamcha's are trying to undermine Shakib for his out spokenness.

Wassup with so many teams electing to field recently, not like it's working out (especially not for bangladesh here)

This is good batting by Bangladesh (regardless how flat the pitch is). I really hope they don't collapse after such a great effort.

Decent effort thus far by Bangla but unfortunately they're going to be well out of their depth in NZ more often than not.

Partnership of a hundred now,

Shakib and Mahmudullah are batting pretty well but they need support from other batsman not just Tamim

Decent comeback from BD, lets see if they can salvage a draw or maybe less than a 200 run loss.

Awesome batting display by Mahmudullah mashallah...only if we somehow can replace Ashraful.

i just saw the scorecard.........this score by the Bangladeshis really puts out batting in prospective.........we struggled so much against the same balling attack on the same tracks, against almost the same attacks

coy0607 said:
i just saw the scorecard.........this score by the Bangladeshis really puts out batting in prospective.........we struggled so much against the same balling attack on the same tracks, against almost the same attacks

bond

Bangladesh has been playing pretty good cricket for last few matches. They seem to be finally getting good number of promising players in their team. They do usually end up losing but now we witness a lot more fight backs from them. I wish they keep up the fighting spirit, turn more losses into victories and become a very strong cricket team.

If we can remove some dead woods we will compete. If we can get the politics out of the equation we will win inshallah.

Excellent Effort by Bangla. They may end up having to bat out last day though to save the match. Hope they can do it!

Bangladeshis chasing 404 to win in just over 100 overs.

Odds of Bangladesh chasing 404 down to win?

Well they did it in the first innings, what do you guys think can they do it again?

1-10000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000

To simply put it.. no.

A few of their players will play properly but the rest will dwindle away and crumble under the evident pressure that comes along with chasing.

If they are going to chase this down then they will need a double century from someone.

Junaid gone...unlucky there

8.2 UNBELIEVABLE! Bouncer catches the arm and balloons up in the arm, batsman looking all over for it as it drops behind him and into the stumps 51/2

Cover Drive said:
Wooww when I last checked it was 68/2. There collapse is worst than Pakistans

Nahin yaar I think we'll be holding that record for a while

Khabri420 said:
Nahin yaar I think we'll be holding that record for a while
Chaloo theek hai! Alhamdulilah we have a record in every area

The recent complete series whitewash is worst tour by any country. Previously it was held by Pakistan as wlel where they beat Bangladesh by 8-0 and even today it is Pakistan (9-0) :D

Cover Drive said:
Chaloo theek hai! Alhamdulilah we have a record in every area

The recent complete series whitewash is worst tour by any country. Previously it was held by Pakistan as wlel where they beat Bangladesh by 8-0 and even today it is Pakistan (9-0) :D

...and I think that record will remain safe for many decades to come :moyo :afridi

So bangladesh compete well for 3 1/2 days and then pretty much throw away whole test match with one bad batting session.

Such a shame!

Mushfiq and shakib need to put togther partnership of about 200 and mahmudlla still to come anything is possible.

anything is possible shakib and mushfiq still there. mahmadullah still to come and shahadad can give a few big hits. Shakib and Mushfiq must bat till lunch.

lol, funny thread. How many teams did chase down 400+ in the history of the game in the forth innings? Why put that much of expectation on a team which has yet to win against the top 8 (full strength)?

Summary of the day!!!

Catch dropped like fly. Easy ones. Guptill, McIntosh, Guptill again all in second innings. In the first innings, Guptil was dropped at 4. He went on to score 189. No 2nd slip McCullum at 86 went on to score 185. So the misery continued.

Umpiring: What a farce!! A Guptill (49) run out. Bailed off and the white line is still showing. The 3rd umpire said no. This is pure comedy central if you ask me. The commentators were stunned (all NZ crew). They could say anything for the next few deliveries and the game went on without commentary. :) Only against BD.

Batting: With all the cheating, lying, blame games all went out the window because of immaturity. Tamim thinks he is better than Viv Richards. Otherwise I can't explain his 150+ SR chasing 400+ with 4 sessions to go. 19 ball 31. What's the use? The coach was stunned.

The next innings I watch is Alma's and cry!! What would it take to have a brain like that? Yes, they are 20 year olds, but patience is something that can be taught in an early age. These boys don't even want to learn.

We now know what will happen. All too fimiliar. All I hope is Shakib gets a three figure. His maiden one in test. 90s and 80s he already got those.

Prodigy out shining the master

SLA head to head battle going on Live

You guys are missing it

Both captain

The Master, Vettori veteran
New kid in the block, Shakib Al Hasan

First 19 balls Shakib faced of Vettori was all dot balls

The next 10 balls fetched

. 4 4 4 6 . . 6 . 4

By the way, Vettori got bowled by Shakib in the first innings.

Shakib is just tearing up the NZ attack now. Full force on!!

End of 37 overs Bd was 102/5 With Shakib at 8*(37) 1 x 4

End of 50 over Bd 181/6 With 66* (76) 12 x 4s and 2 x 6s

Power and might with intention

It's an insult to a true master like Warne to call Vettori one.

At one point the Master had a stat

10 - 3 - 29 - 2

Now it is

16 - 5 - 62 - 2

I wouldn't call Vettori a master, maybe in ODIs but he's very over-rated as a test match cricketer imo. Still, good to see Hasan murdering his bowling. Another interesting point is that captain fantastic kept the field up for Mahmudullah, not wanting to get Shakib back on strike. :))

How many overs are left in the day?

Bangladesh need to keep wickets in hand so that if they do come within range they can just attack

Khabri420 said:
How many overs are left in the day?

Bangladesh need to keep wickets in hand so that if they do come within range they can just attack
So many overs left it is just not there.

Superb catch by Tuffey though

At least Patel gets his average to under 40, well bowled. :))

Shakib should take the singles. He needs to show some confidence in Shahadat - he has a pretty decent technique for a number 9.

BD-fan said:
154 in two session. :)

Naah!!!! Not enough wickets. :)

As long as Shakib is their you guys can do it, InshaAllah Bangladesh will beat the arrogant New Zealnd :)