New Zealand v India | 3rd Test | Wellington | 3-7 Apr 09

Bublu Bhuyan said:
How about Raina ?
The more the better :)

Very talented but I am little doubtful for him at no 3 at the moment. Though I will be happy to be proved wrong.

Why do i get the feeling the some PPers (non Indians) are rooting for an Indian win?

Bublu Bhuyan said:
How about Raina ?

Raina looks more of an ODI player and dont think he would cope to well batting number 3 in test matches.

USaqaf said:
Why do i get the feeling the some PPers (non Indians) are rooting for an Indian win?

Didn't quite work out the way you wanted it did you? 3-0 to NZ?

Garuda said:
I agree with you that we still haven't got a replacement for Dravid (not talking about the Dravid of last 1-2 years). Dravid of before 2007 was what we need as our no 3.

But sometimes I feel current Dravid will always help us saving a match than winning a match. I will keep some match scenarios

First Innigs this test: He played almost 200 balls to score 30 odd runs and get out. If tail hadn't scored then there was no value of that long innings as it was not long enough to handle the innings at one end.

Chennai test against SA where Veeru scored 300 : If dravid hadn't taken ages to complete his 100 we could have had a chance to fancy a win. The declaration was too late to even think of getting SA all out. It was a flat pitch but again thats where you take chances if you give yourself more time.

Against England when India chased 387 in last innings within little over 3 sessions. Can we imagine Dravid playing his innings and we getting to the target. Yes he definitely can save matches for us any day.

Again, I am a good supporter of Dravid but I also feel test cricket is also about runs and not just time. If you play for time then you are making sure you are not loosing but if you play for run then you are playing for winning.

So depending on match situation you need to keep the scoring rate. Dravid was perfect in last test when he played for time and so did Gambhir. We shouldn't be playing that in this match. Its bad if we score 150 runs in more than two sessions tomorrow and don't loose wickets.
I am afraid the scenarios you suggested are unfair to certain extent. Remember, Dravid has been woefully out of form ever since the West Indies tour which India won 1-0. After that, I havent seen a single innings by him which was convincing like his usual self until the first test against NZ.

Its unfortunate that test cricket has changed so much these days that players with true calibre like Dravid are respected lesser. The kind of pitches that are prepared these days are a complete disgrace. Have a pitch where the bowlers want to bowl their hearts out and then you realize the value of having Dravid in your team. He automatically becomes a true match winner in such conditions. It is not his game to play at a S.R of above 60. There are others to do that.

One thing we donot respect enough regarding our recent success in the last few years is our ability to come back from situations where we are staring at defeat and saving the test. These are the games that win us trophies - against England, Australia, New Zealand - we showed fighting spirit. And more often than not, its players like Dravid who stand up in such situations.

USaqaf said:
Well 20million$ for a 2-0 win is a drop in BCCIs bucket.

Gimme a break. Can't handle India's success so you think we paid for these victories? That's insulting NZ too.

If we win against you will you say the PAK board sold out too?

USaqaf said:
Heres another information - BCCI paid Misbah half that amount to scoop it in the T20 final :O Cannot believe he would sell his country like that! But alas, what can you do!

invincible said:
we showed fighting spirit. And more often than not, its players like Dravid who stand up in such situations.

Dravid is one of the best in playing out sessions. It is impossible for Dravid to play like Sehwag. There was complaint about Dravid for the last 2 years mostly because he didn't get enough runs not because of his strike rate. As long as he scores runs it is irrelevant how fast he scores.

Tupac said:
Gimme a break. Can't handle India's success so you think we paid for these victories? That's insulting NZ too.

If we win against you will you say the PAK board sold out too?

What success do you speak of?

Youre still an average team , the problem is your media and mindset is ready to make mountains of molehills of success.
Plus its no secret that BCCI has pulled something off in NZ, first by threatening who commentates to what sort of pitches are prepared.

NZ cricket board is as bankrupt as PCB maybe worse, they desperately need money thats why they didnt take any ICL players who would have certainly strengthened the NZ team. So theyve decided who plays for NZ and who doesnt.Its also no secret that cricket is fading in NZ and this is all the more sad as NZ cricket is held at ransom and their players are being sacrificed.

So dont take the high road as if you dont think this is happening.

USaqaf said:

Youre still an average team , the problem is your media and mindset is ready to make mountains of molehills of success.
Plus its no secret that BCCI has pulled something off in NZ, first by threatening who commentates to what sort of pitches are prepared.

NZ cricket board is as bankrupt as PCB maybe worse, they desperately need money thats why they didnt take any ICL players who would have certainly strengthened the NZ team. So theyve decided who plays for NZ and who doesnt.Its also no secret that cricket is fading in NZ and this is all the more sad as NZ cricket is held at ransom and their players are being sacrificed.

If India is an average team then that makes pakistan a minnow.

Your posts sound like ... what you say? "Kuch jal raha hai"

invincible said:
Heres another information - BCCI paid Misbah half that amount to scoop it in the T20 final :O Cannot believe he would sell his country like that! But alas, what can you do!

lol half that amount? you should know pak players come cheaper than that ...

Would it be unfair to say that the current New Zealand top order is one of the worst ever seen in test cricket?

Saj said:
Would it be unfair to say that the current New Zealand top order is one of the worst ever seen in test cricket?

Yea. They are distinctly mediocre. They were thrown at the deep end. They don't have the temperament or technique for big stage.

Saj said:

nope , they are inexperienced ....mark my words , this will be a worldclass batting linup in 2-3 years time ....Ryder , Taylor , Flynn and Guptil , thats some serious talent imo....these guys are better than most youngsetrs i have seen coming up from other countries ..we are actually fortunate that we are playing them at this early stage of their careers !

IronMan2009 said:
Yea. They are distinctly mediocre. They were thrown at the deep end. They don't have the temperament or technique for big stage.

just wait and watch for couple of years , what they lack is temperament , not technique !

jusarrived said:
just wait and watch for couple of years , what they lack is temperament , not technique !

Mcintosh is an insult to be an opening batsman I wonder how he made a century with this half cock movement. Same way Guptill has some serious weakness off the backfoot. Top 3 are really poor. At the moment walking wickets at Test level. Yea.. they might become good players in future. So far no indication of that. Their middle order is a real good one though.

IronMan2009 said:
Mcintosh is an insult to be an opening batsman I wonder how he made a century with this half cock movement. Same way Guptill has some serious weakness off the backfoot. Top 3 are really poor. At the moment walking wickets at Test level. Yea.. they might become good players in future. So far no indication of that. Their middle order is a real good one though.

agreed about Mcintosh , he wont be in the team for too long ....Guptil though dosent have the greatest of techniques , looks gritty dont forget hes been very iunlucky with the umpiring as well in this series !

Flynn looks very compact yaar , far from poor ...hes the one who looks ready for test cricket ....Taylor and Ryder will take some time , they will need to be only a little more selective with their shots ...the talent is there , only time will tell weather they will convert it into performance !

USaqaf said:

What success do I speak of? We're currently Number 3 in both test and ODI rankings. We have not lost our last test series against Australia, South Africa, Pakistan, West Indies, England. We haven't lost an ODI series for almost a year now.

Show me one good piece of evidence that the BCCI has done any amount of interfering in the pitch preparation of NZ. The commentators sure, but what effect does that have on the cricket?

The NZ ICL players are NZ's problems. Why they didn't play them, I will never know.

Honestly this attitude is so loserish it's not even funny. Credit to people who deserve it, ie the Indian team. They've put in the work and they're reaping the rewards. Nothing to do with money.

I wonder if we beat you in the next test series, will you say Pakistan sold out as well? You still haven't answered my question.

USaqaf said:

How pathetic of you to stoop to such a level? I can understand that Pakistan cricket is in shambles but come on appreciate some good cricket and don't get so jealous. Remember that both India and NZ have to play on the same pitch...and the better team wins at the end of the day.

When you imply that BCCI buys wins by its $$$ influence, then it seriously undermines the efforts of players from both teams who work hard and take pride in representing their nation at the highest level.

Look within, have a bigger heart and give credit where it is due.

Comeon friends, let's give credit where it is due. Let's not make accusations and false assumptions. India has a really good team and they deserve it, because their boards invested in the proper players and worked diligently. They are reaping the benefits now.

India has done very well consistently for the past year and it will continue to do so with the kind of team they have. So what if I'm not from India, I am still rooting for the better of the teams to win, and that at the moment is India. When you make accusations such as BCCI had the influence to decide on the pitch, then guess what? Both the teams play on the same ground and the better of the teams will win. If you look at the rankings, there is a reason why India is ranked number 3 and NZ are ranked number 8, so who do you expect to win?

Just my 2 cents on this issue, and I apologize if I have hurt anyone's feelings, but let's give credit where it is due to India (just one person's view!).

I wonder if Jeetan Patel would have been a better option for Vettori in this test. The breeze and drift is helping the slower bowlers.

tdigi said:
I wonder if Jeetan Patel would have been a better option for Vettori in this test. The breeze and drift is helping the slower bowlers.

I don't think replacing Vettori would have been a good idea. NZ without Vettori look even more hopeless. He can be a useful batsman and at the same time, you never know before a test match how much Vettori's spin could come handy.

O Brien bowled the quickest over of the series last evening. Averaging 144 kph. for that over.

checkers.llvllaster said:
I don't think replacing Vettori would have been a good idea. NZ without Vettori look even more hopeless. He can be a useful batsman and at the same time, you never know before a test match how much Vettori's spin could come handy.

No not replacing Vettori but having 3 seamers and 2 spinners. :13:
and promote himself and McCullum up the batting order.

Gautam Gambhir has the tricolour on his gloves...:)

Dravid has completely lost the plot here, the guy has a SR of 14. This is not the situation to be playing extremely slowly like this, it's not like they are way behind hoping for a draw. He needs to adapt to the situation...

Ghambir 53(79) - Dravid 22(72)
India 91-1 after 26 overs - lead of 273
Dravid and Ghambir have very close career averages now (counting current innings). Ghambir 52.6 - Dravid 52.61

exciting match going on
Ghambir 76(117) - Dravid 42(112)
India 135-1 after 39 overs - lead of 317 runs

aur yey chakkkaaaa. Chakka maar dia hay Ghambir nay

Gambhir is really opening up now. If he continues for another 20 to 30 overs, he will be adding runs very quickly and by the end of today, India would have batted NZ out of the game...

While Dravid is trying his best to slow the RR :))

Every positive action has a equally negative reaction :13:

While Dravid is trying his best to slow the RR :))

if you check his SR has gone up to 40 from 14 in teh first half hour ...hes scoring close to 100sr now & still he is slowing rr ?

Ghambir 95(133) - Dravid 51(126)
Current partnership 149 runs, 42.0 overs, RR: 3.54 (Dravid 51, Gambhir 94)
India 163-1 after 44 overs @ 3.7 - lead of 345
last 10 overs 44-0
Dravid last 10 overs 15(30) which is not bad as Ghambir is scoring. This is only the 3rd day first session

India motoring along nicely.............. 165/1 (lead by 347)
Gambho on 95, Dravid 53..............

jusarrived said:
if you check his SR has gone up to 40 from 14 in teh first half hour ...hes scoring close to 100sr now & still he is slowing rr ?

Mere bhai, that was just a joke yaar! But in all reality, if you check his SR for the past 3 or 4 overs, it's going back down...

thats test cricket , there is never the need to hit every ball for a boundary !

jusarrived said:
thats test cricket , there is never the need to hit every ball for a boundary !

I agree with you, but India are in a very firm position now, and is it wise to be playing at SR of 40 in such a position?

1st session belongs to india........ 119 runs scored without loss of a wicket
India lead by 357........

Dravid did the same thing in the very next test at Multan :P. He declared when Tendulkar was at 194.

I agree with you, but India are in a very firm position now, and is it wise to be playing at SR of 40 in such a position?

our rr is up to 3.7 & we are still left with 3 days of test match left ...is there a need to score in T20 mode ? Dravid always plays the anchors role , which allows the other batsmen to play his shots ..its a team game yaar ,we have scored 120 runs in the first session , why complain ?

If every one plays like Sehwag india will often find themselves all out for 150 runs in 25 overs.

jusarrived said:
our rr is up to 3.7 & we are still left with 3 days of test match left ...is there a need to score in T20 mode ? Dravid always plays the anchors role , which allows the other batsmen to play his shots ..its a team game yaar ,we have scored 120 runs in the first session , why complain ?

Aree yaar, aap to gussa ho gaye...I wasn't complaining, like I said above that I was just joking. The RR is up to 3.7 because of the way Gambhir played, not Dravid.

India running rampant, the Hobbits will be chasing 800

Gambhir must be relieved to have some freedom unlike the last Test where he had to bat against his nature.

Aree yaar, aap to gussa ho gaye...I wasn't complaining, like I said above that I was just joking. The RR is up to 3.7 because of the way Gambhir played, not Dravid.

nah , just explaining ..you still dont understand ...the fact is even if he scores at 100sr , people will always complain , nuthing new !

jusarrived said:
nah , just explaining ..you still dont understand ...the fact is even if he scores at 100sr , people will always complain , nuthing new !

I understand your point yaar and like I said, I am NOT complaining, I was just JOKING. No more jokes on Dravid (for the next 5 minutes) :))

Although 500+ is a sure shot target, it would be interesting to see the 2nd innings batting of NZ. Vettori needs to do something. Promote McCullum and take responsibility himself. Vettori's captaincy lacks aggression.

IronMan2009 said:
Dravid is never going to play like Sehwag. He has played few times like that in Tests. Once in Sydney Test he made 91 in 114 balls. Ganguly declared the innings. His primary role is to prevent top order collapse and see off new ball at the fall of first wicket. He is rock solid in this series.

http://content.cricinfo.com/statsguru/engine/match/64062.html
Ganguly declared during the 2nd innings of that Sydney Test after Dravid was hit on the side of the helmet. He was bleeding as well.

that was a bold shot at 97 , only shewag is capable of doing something like that .....superb hundred for GG , his 6th and i think 4th in last 5-6 test matches !

Great anticipation from McCullum , while dravid misses another 100 in the series !

Last 12 overs run rate has been 1.8 :69:...doesn't matter much anyway.

I'm guessing that India will bat through to stumps and then bat for about half the morning session tomorrow, to try and get a lead of about 600. They will probably wait for Gambhir to get his 200. Drawing the match will win the series, and they will make sure there's no chance of defeat. As for the Hobbits, the day they chase down 400 - let alone 600 - in 5 sessions is the day I will run around Boston naked!

OZGOD said:
I will run around Boston naked!

ask your friend to capture it on camera and post it on youtube :))

Need some fireworks now from Dhoni and Yuvi...

jusarrived said:
nope , they are inexperienced ....mark my words , this will be a worldclass batting linup in 2-3 years time ....Ryder , Taylor , Flynn and Guptil , thats some serious talent imo....these guys are better than most youngsetrs i have seen coming up from other countries ..we are actually fortunate that we are playing them at this early stage of their careers !
I agree with you completely. Ryder and Flynn especially are going to be very good players in the test format. They are quite composed when they want to be and can accelerate at will. Taylor on the other hand will remain an enigma, maybe not as consistent as others but will surely turn up every now and then and make big scores. Add to these four - Vettori and McCullum and you have a decent batting line up.

jusarrived said:

Agree with you too, they showed what they are capable of in the last test.

McIntosh isn't up to much, they need to back How again, I know he's disappointed recently but he can play.

Also Franklin is a waste of space with bat and ball, if Oram can get fit, then things will be even rosier.

Vettori is a dumb captain. Why would he leave out someone who picked 10 wickets in his last 2 tests. Jeetan patel is very unlucky.

4th day, India increase their lead to 590 runs, 409-7, Dhoni 47*, Yuvriaj out for a quickfire 40 and Harbhajan for 0.

Zaheer Khan with another 4, he only averages 13 in tests, but recently has been a handy lower order performer.