Newbery Thruxton SPS - Review

ca_gold

Another old review of my bat;

As the season has finally drawn to a close - i thought i'd take some time and put a review of this Thruxton SPS i got from uzi sports a few months ago (in summer 2010).

The service, as usual, from Asad was fantastic. Sent plenty of pics, threw in some grips, scruff sheets, shipped immediately etc. Was a pleasure dealing with.

Details:
Weight - 2.85
Grains - Enough for me
Pickup - Feels very balanced. I prefer this profile/pick up more then a GT or Krakatoa.
Performance - Every one always rants and raves about the middle & the quality of Newbery, so not much has to be said. I just love the fact that mere pushes are getting me alot more runs then they used to.

Enjoy the pics.

kooks297.jpg

kooks296.jpg

kooks295.jpg

kooks294.jpg

Looks even better! Thruxton and Krakatoa were the bats among which I had to decide but seeing your Krakatoa I went for it!

The profile is lovely and looks big for its weight!

The only different between your Players and SPS I can see is of the number of grains!

WAASIF Bhai, do you know if Dushy is selling a SPS model of Newbery TT for $299 or its Players? If I'm correct TT is only in SPS, no ?

Ah okay, JazakAllah Khair :)

Yup, heard Asad Bhai is selling for 270 Pounds which I find a bit steep!

Waisay which bats do you have/use?

I dont really have a collection like you guys. I am currently using GN Xyphos that i bought last year and MB Sher thats about 3 yrs old.

Excuse me?! Like ca_gold bhai :)

Gray Nicolls bats have always been my favourite and they are superb!

Not bad yaar, I hope you don't get infected by ca_gold bhai and start to make a collection.

Astagfirullah ca_gold bhai :D:D

CA_Gold Bhai is a baller (or should I say batter). I would love to buy more bats and better equipent, but I have to control myself a lot.

The GN Xyphos I purchased from Qasra is really good, Its 2.8 and has a balanced pickup. CA_Gold helped me pick that stick. I usually open the innings and I am not a slogger, It suits my style with a mid sweet spot.

Gray Nicolls bats are proven to be guns! Seriously I have seen many GN and they are at there peak in second season and I personally believe the best GN for its value is 4/5 Star.

Great bat WAASIF Bhai :14:

It is feeling better this season indoors. I feel positive and confident with that bat.

Nice! You have some good bats in your crib!! I wonder how much you spend on your bats every month....

I held few Thruxton today at Hagee Sports and gosh these bats are amazing!! The sweetspot looks long, profile looks big more importantly pickup and balance was second to none.

To me this shape looked the best in Newbery's range

CAGold Bhai, how is this coming a long?

I held few Thruxton today at Hagee Sports and gosh these bats are amazing!! The sweetspot looks long, profile looks big more importantly pickup and balance was second to none.

To me this shape looked the best in Newbery's range

CAGold Bhai, how is this coming a long?

From what I seen, not too good.....

.....though that may have to do more with the batsmen. :yk

That 8 ball 22 ended because we won, if ca_gold had more balls to face, he would have murdered the bowling. He was eyeing Afridu's record that day :)